Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Alzheimer's disease

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

Dementia is a broad term for the deterioration of brain function resulting in memory loss, reduction in language skills and behavioural and emotional problems. Alzheimers disease is the most common type of dementia, accounting for more than half of all cases. Alzheimers disease is rare before the age of 60 but the risk of developing it increases with age. Around 25% of people over 80 years old have the disease. As the population ages, the number of people with Alzheimers disease, and other dementias, will increase.

The cause of Alzheimers disease remains uncertain. It is likely that no single factor is responsible but that a variety of factors, which may differ from person to person. Since people whose parents or siblings develop the disease appear at greater risk of developing it themselves, there may be a genetic component. However, no straightforward pattern of inheritance has been found. Its known that head injury is a risk factor and that Alzheimers disease often affects people with Downs Syndrome.

Some researchers have suggested that people who exercise their brains (doing crosswords and other mental agility exercises) are less likely to develop the disease. But there is no firm evidence to show that environmental factors play a part in the development of the disease.

Whatever the underlying cause, Alzheimers disease is the result of the destruction of nerve cells (neurones) in the brain. These nerve cells cannot be replaced, so the person with Alzheimers disease gets progressively worse as more cells are destroyed. This process causes the breakdown of the brains communication systems. When functioning normally, the brain exchanges signals from other parts of the body, and other parts of the brain, across the gaps (synapses) that exist between nerve cells. These signals are essential for brain activity such as language and problem solving. They are also involved in controlling motor functions, such as instructing muscles when and how to work.

These message signals cross over these gaps with the help of chemicals known as neurotransmitters, including acetylcholine. Doctors believe that nerve cell destruction causes a reduction in acetylcholine, leading to impaired transmission of nerve signals. Drugs that boost the amount of acetycholine are used to limit the impact of the disease.

The onset of Alzheimers disease is often difficult to pinpoint as it starts with forgetfulness and difficulty in finding the right word, common problems associated with the ageing process.

In these early stages, those closest to the person with Alzheimers disease may notice personality changes. For example, a previously cheerful person may become irritable and even aggressive and may no longer be able to cope with the demands of a busy life.

As the disease progresses, loss of memory, difficulty in completing simple tasks, and more overt personality changes, often combined with depression, become more evident. Mathematical and verbal skills decline, which may mean that a person is no longer able to read instructions or count their change. Conversation can become empty and meaningless. Sometimes people with Alzheimers may become paranoid, believing, for example, that their carers are trying to poison them or that their partner is being unfaithful. The sense of time and place can also be lost, with sufferers getting dressed in the middle of night or wandering off and becoming lost, even on once-familiar territory. This can cause a great deal of stress and upset for the persons carers and family who, in effect, have lost the person they once knew.

During the late stages of the disease, people with Alzheimers may become totally dependent upon others for their care. Walking can become difficult, confining a sufferer to bed. He or she may become incontinent, experience hallucinations and become increasingly unaware of their surroundings. It is at this stage that residential care, with round the clock nursing, is often considered.

The average duration of the disease is about ten years, with a range of between 3-20 years from diagnosis and death. Often the cause of death in a person with Alzheimers is another illness, such as pneumonia, which becomes more common in people who are bed-bound and so less resistant to infection.

There is no single test for Alzheimers disease and diagnosis depends in part on excluding other potential causes of dementia. These include vascular dementia (often known as multi-infarct dementia or MID), dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB), fronto-temporal dementia (including Picks disease), Parkinsons disease, and alcohol-related dementia (Koraskoffs syndrome).

In a person with suspected of having Alzheimers, the GP will try to establish some of the symptoms such as memory loss and verbal impairment. Physical examination and blood and urine tests may be carried out to help exclude other causes of dementia. If the GP is unable to make a diagnosis, a referral will usually be made to a specialist (a neurologist, a care of the elderly physician or a psychiatrist) for more specialist tests.

These tests may include the Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE). This is a series of questions and tests looking at memory, language and mathematical skills. Other investigations may include a brain scan, typically magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Some people may also be referred to a memory clinic specialising in mental state assessments.

Unfortunately, no cure has yet been found for Alzheimers disease. However the disease can be managed with drug treatment, non-drug treatment and support from a range of services.

Drug treatment

The introduction of a new class of drugs called cholinesterase inhibitors is the first time there has been an effective drug treatment for Alzheimers. Cholinesterase breaks down and destroys acetylcholine, the neurotransmitting chemical. Cholinesterase inhibitors help to prevent this breakdown and so promote a more plentiful supply of acetylcholine. There are three drugs available in this class: Aricept (donepezil hydrocholoride), Exelon (rivastigmine) and Reminyl (galantamine). In people in the early to middle stages of the disease, they may slow down the progression of symptoms.

Sometimes anti-depressants are prescribed to help treat the depression that can be associated with Alzheimers disease. The inappropriate prescribing of potent psychiatric drugs (neuroleptics) used to manage challenging behaviour, of people in residential care, has been recognised and criticised.

Non-drug treatment

There are other techniques for helping to cope with Alzheimers disease. These include techniques known as reality orientation, reminiscence therapy and validation therapy. Art and music therapies are also used, but their effectiveness is not proven.

Services

Help and support in terms of respite care (giving carers a break), social services and residential care is an important part of the overall care of someone with Alzheimers disease.

1. I have been diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment. Does this mean I will develop Alzheimer's disease?

No, a diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment doesn't mean that you will necessarily develop Alzheimer's disease. Mild cognitive impairment (MCI) is a relatively new term used by doctors and describes age-related exaggerated absent-mindedness. If you have this, it means you have some problems with your memory, but it doesn't mean that you have dementia.

MCI isn't a specific medical condition or disease. People with it don't usually have any other signs or symptoms of dementia. It's very common to have memory problems, particularly as you get older, and most people will have this at some time in their lives.

There can be a number of reasons why you may have developed memory problems. With age, memory becomes more inefficient. However, exaggerated forgetfulness can also be caused by stress, anxiety, depression or a physical illness. It's important to see your GP if you have memory problems.

Although many people with MCI find their memory improves or remains stable and they don't go on to develop dementia, for some it can be an early symptom of Alzheimer's disease.

There aren't any tests to find out the cause of MCI or to tell if it will lead to Alzheimer's disease or another type of dementia. Talk to your GP if you're worried about MCI and Alzheimer's disease.

2. Does aluminium cause Alzheimer's disease?

Doctor's don't yet know exactly what causes Alzheimer's disease, but it's thought to be a combination of factors. At the moment, there is no direct evidence to show that aluminium causes the condition.

Aluminium is a metal found in some of the foods we eat and in drinking water. It's also used to make packaging, cooking pots and pans and some medicines. The aluminium that you eat or drink passes through your body and very little of it is taken in.

During the 1960s and 1970s researchers discovered a possible link between aluminium and Alzheimer's disease. Since then, more research has been done that found some links but hasn't shown that aluminium causes dementia. It's difficult for researchers to be more sure of the effects of aluminium because Alzheimer's disease is a common condition that has many causes, and because aluminium is found in many places in our environment.

3. Can ginkgo biloba help improve my memory?

Ginkgo biloba is a herbal remedy traditionally used to improve memory. The results of research on the effects of taking ginkgo biloba to treat Alzheimer's disease are uncertain. Some research shows that it may help to improve symptoms whereas other research shows no effects.

Ginkgo biloba comes from the maidenhair tree and has been used in traditional Chinese medicines for many years. A number of research trials have looked at whether or not ginkgo biloba may be able to treat dementia. The results of this research have been mixed, some showing that it may help to improve symptoms and other research showing no effect. A recent study by the Alzheimer's Society found that ginkgo biloba didn't slow down the development of dementia or have any effect on the quality of life or mental ability and thinking of people taking it.

Ginkgo biloba can cause bleeding if you take it with warfarin or aspirin and it may also cause health problems if mixed with some other medicines. Don't start taking any herbal remedies without speaking to your GP or pharmacist first.

Further Information

Sources

  • Management of patients with dementia. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), February 2006. www.sign.ac.uk
  • What is Alzheimer's disease? Alzheimer's Society. www.alzheimers.org.uk, published January 2011
  • Treatments. Alzheimer's Research Trust. www.alzheimers-research.org.uk, accessed November 2010
  • Dementia. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published March 2010/span>
  • Donepezil, galantamine, rivastigmine (review) and memantine for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2006 (updated August 2009). www.nice.org.uk

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

阿茲海默氏症

癡呆泛指腦部功能衰退,如喪失記憶,語言能力下降,並出現行為或情緒上的問題。在英國,估計約有50萬至70萬人患上不同類型的癡呆症,其中過半數所患的是阿茲海默氏症,因此阿茲海默氏症是最普遍的癡呆症。

很少人在60歲前患上阿茲海默氏症,同時,年紀越大,患上此症的機會越高。80歲以上的高齡人士當中,約25%患有阿茲海默氏症。 隨著人口老化,患上阿茲海默氏症或其他癡呆症的人數將會上升。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

 

 

導致阿茲海默氏症的原因仍未能確定,但我們相信它是由多種而非單一因素引起,而這些病因更會因人而異。由於父母或兄弟姊妹患有阿茲海默氏症的人會有較大機會患上此病,所以此病可能與基因有關,但是現在還未找到直接的遺傳模式。此外,頭部受傷或患有唐氏綜合症的人,亦有較大機會患上阿茲海默氏症。

有些研究員認為,勤於思考(如經常玩填字遊戲或從事其他需要多動腦筋的活動)的人,較少患上阿茲海默氏症。但現在仍未有充分証據顯示環境因素可令人患上阿茲海默氏症。

無論病因是什麼,所有阿茲海默氏症患者都有腦部神經細胞壞死的情況。因為那些壞死的細胞不能更換,所以患者的病情會隨著更多神經細胞壞死而逐步惡化,使腦部的通訊系統受破壞。腦部正常操作時,身體各部分或腦部各部分的訊息,能藉著跨越神經細胞之間的空隙(突觸),達到訊息交換的目的。這些訊息對各類腦部活動,如運用語言和解決問題,是很重要的;對運動神經功能的控制,如指揮肌肉何時及如何操作,也需要這些訊息。

身體或腦部訊息得以跨越細胞之間的空隙,有賴名為「神經傳遞素」的化學物質,如乙醯膽鹼。醫生相信,神經細胞若受破壞,腦部的乙醯膽鹼水平便會下降,影響神經訊息的傳遞。能增加乙醯膽鹼量的藥物,有助減輕病情。

阿茲海默氏症何時始發是很難界定的,因為它開始時通常是健忘或找不到適當的詞匯表達自己,而這些都是衰老的常見問題。發病初期,與患者最親密的人可能會發現患者性格有變。例如,一個向來愉快的人可能變得容易發怒,甚至情緒容易激動,或許再也不能應付繁忙生活的要求。

病情繼續惡化,病人會喪失記憶,做簡單工作也有困難,而且明顯地性情大變,往往連帶出現抑鬱。患者的數學和語言表達能力也會下降,可能再也不能閱讀一般的手冊或處理金錢的找續。有些阿茲海默氏症患者會變成偏執狂,常常懷疑照顧他們的人想毒害他們,或臆測伴侶不忠。患者也可能會喪失時間和空間觀念,半夜起床更衣,或漫無目的地走到街上,然後迷路,連自己本來熟悉的道路也認不出來。這些改變會令病人的親屬和關心他的人壓力重重,非常苦惱,彷彿失去了一個他們曾經很熟悉的人。

在患病後期,阿茲海默氏症患者可能需要完全依賴別人照顧。行動或會變得困難,以致終日躺在床上。他們會失禁,產生幻覺和逐漸留意不到周圍發生的事情。在這些情況下,可考慮安排病人入住有24小時看護的療養院。

此病平均會持續約10年,由診斷到死亡之間為3至20年不等。阿茲海默氏症患者通常死於其他疾病,如肺炎,原因是長期?床的人抵抗力較弱,容易感染這些疾病。

阿茲海默氏症沒有簡單的診斷方法。診斷時,首先要排除其他癡呆病的可能性,包括血管性痴呆症(又稱「多發梗塞性痴呆症」)、有內維體的痴呆症、額顳葉型痴呆症、柏金遜症和酒毒性癡呆症。

若一個人被懷疑患上阿茲海默氏症,醫生便會先去看看他有沒有相關的病徵,如失憶或語言能力下降。身體檢查、血液和尿液化驗亦可幫助排除其他癡呆的病因。如果普通科醫生不能作出診斷,病人會轉介到專科醫生(神經科、老人科或精神科醫生)作更專門的檢查,包括簡短智能測驗。

這測試包括一連串的問題和測驗,以評估病人的記憶、語言和數學能力。其他檢查包括做腦素描,而最典型的腦素描方式是磁力共振。

直至現在仍未有方法令阿茲海默氏症患者完全康復,但此病能靠藥物和非藥物治療以及其他支援服務來控制病情。
藥物治療

「乙醯膽鹼酯解脢抑制劑」是一種新藥,能有效治療阿茲海默氏症。乙醯膽鹼酯解脢可分解、破壞乙醯膽鹼(神經傳遞素),而「乙醯膽鹼酯解脢抑制劑」則抑制這分解過程,藉此增加乙醯膽鹼的供應量。

此藥主要分為三種:Aricept (donepezil hydrochloride) 、Exelon (rivastigmine) 和Reminyl (galantamine)。初期至中期患者服用此類藥物,有助減慢病情惡化的速度。

有時醫生會為病人開抗抑鬱藥,以控制由阿茲海默氏症引發的抑鬱。

非藥物治療

治療阿茲海默氏症還有其他方法,包括「重返現實世界認知」,「回憶治療法」和「確實治療法」,也可採用藝術和音樂治療法,但成效未經證實。

服務

在阿茲海默氏症病患者的整體照顧上,不應忽略社工服務和入住療養院的重要性,因為這些安排不但對病人有好處,也可讓照顧者有機會歇息。

1. 我被診斷患上輕度認知功能障礙(MCI),將來是否會變成阿茲海默氏症?

不,確診輕度認知功能障礙不一定表示將來會患阿茲海默氏症。 輕度認知功能障礙是醫學界近年開始使用的新名詞,意指與年齡相關的嚴重失神。患者的記憶衰退,但卻非腦退化症(前稱癡呆症)。

輕度認知功能障礙並不是具體的身體狀況或疾病,患者通常沒有腦退化症的其他徵兆或徵狀。記憶衰退是極常見的問題,特別是年紀老邁,大部分人遲早也會出現這種情況。

記憶不好可能是多項原因所致,而隨着年齡增長,記憶力便會漸漸下降,但極度善忘亦可能是壓力、焦慮、抑鬱或生理疾病引起,所以如有記憶問題應請教醫生。

許多有輕度認知功能障礙的人士記憶力都會好轉或維持穩定,不會演變為腦退化症,但有時這確是阿茲海默氏症的初期病徵。

現時並沒有任何測試可找出輕度認知功能障礙的成因,或評估日後會否演變為阿茲海默氏症或其他腦退化症。若您對輕度認知功能障礙或阿茲海默氏症感到憂慮,請諮詢醫生。

2. 鋁會導致阿茲海默氏症嗎?

醫學界目前尚未確知甚麼引致阿茲海默氏症,但相信成因有多項。現時沒有直接證據顯示鋁會造成阿茲海默氏症。

有些食物含有鋁,食水也含鋁,此外鋁亦是包裝、煮食鍋具和某些藥物的原料。從日常飲食攝取的鋁會通過體內然後排出,被身體吸收的分量極少。

於1960至1970年代,研究學者發現鋁可能與阿茲海默氏症有關,其後進一步的研究亦找到一些連繫,可是仍未能證明鋁引致腦退化症。由於阿茲海默氏症是多項原因導致的常見疾病,而鋁廣泛存在於環境,所以研究學者很難確定鋁對這種疾病的影響。

3. 銀杏有助記憶嗎?

銀杏是常用於幫助記憶的草藥,醫學界曾研究銀杏治療阿茲海默氏症的成效,但未能取得確切結論。有些研究顯示銀杏可改善記憶力衰退的徵狀,但其他則未發現任何功效。

銀杏是白果樹的果實,中醫自古以來都以銀杏入藥。過去有多項研究試驗曾嘗試檢定銀杏是否可用於治療腦退化症,所得結果不盡相同,有些研究發現它可幫助記憶,有些則無發現任何成效。老年癡呆症協會近期進行的一項研究發現,銀杏不能延緩腦退化症進展,亦不能改善腦退化症患者的生活質素、心理和思考能力。

銀杏若與華法林(Warfarin)或阿士匹靈(Aspirin)同服可能導致出血,若與其他藥物共服亦可能損害健康。服用任何草藥之前,請先諮詢醫生或藥劑師意見。

索取更多資料

 來源

  • Management of patients with dementia. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), February 2006. www.sign.ac.uk
  • What is Alzheimer's disease? Alzheimer's Society. www.alzheimers.org.uk, published January 2011
  • Treatments. Alzheimer's Research Trust. www.alzheimers-research.org.uk, accessed November 2010
  • Dementia. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published March 2010/span>
  • Donepezil, galantamine, rivastigmine (review) and memantine for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2006 (updated August 2009). www.nice.org.uk

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。