Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Urge incontinence

Urinary incontinence is the unintentional leaking of urine. Urge incontinence is when you have a sudden and urgent need to pass urine that is usually followed by an uncontrollable leak.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

A sudden intense need to pass urine and having to rush to get to the toilet is called 'urgency '. If you have urge incontinence, you may leak if you don’t get to a toilet in time. Most often urge incontinence is caused by an overactive bladder (the muscles contract involuntarily before the bladder is full), although sometimes the cause is never found. Urge incontinence is the most common type of incontinence in older people.

Other types of urinary incontinence include the following.

  • Stress incontinence – when you suddenly leak urine because of an increase of pressure on your bladder. This could be from sneezing, coughing or lifting something heavy.
  • Mixed urinary incontinence – when you unintentionally pass urine because of both stress and urge incontinence.
  • Overflow incontinence (also known as chronic urinary retention) – this happens when your bladder doesn't empty properly, causing urine in it to spill out. It can be caused by weak bladder muscles or a blocked urethra (the tube that carries urine from your bladder out of your body). Overflow incontinence is rare in women.
Urge incontinence is a sudden, intense urge to urinate, followed by an involuntary loss of urine. Your bladder muscle contracts and you may find that you only have a few seconds’ warning that you need to pass urine. You may not be able to reach a toilet in time and as you result, you may leak urine unintentionally.
Some people have a similar feeling of urgency when they hear running water. You may also need to urinate more often than other people, including throughout the night.
If you have any of these symptoms, see a doctor.
 

Urge incontinence can be temporary or permanent. It can be caused by your lifestyle, underlying medical conditions or physical problems. However, often there is no clear cause.

Causes of temporary urge incontinence include those listed below.

  • An infection in your urinary tract, such as cystitis. Your urinary tract consists of your kidneys, two ureters (the tubes that connect each kidney to your bladder), your bladder and your urethra.
  • Alcohol and caffeine. These are diuretics (which cause the body to lose water by increasing the amount of urine your kidneys produce) and bladder stimulants, meaning that they can cause you to need to urinate suddenly.
  • Overhydration – drinking a lot of fluid increases the amount of urine you produce.
  • Constipation.
  • Medicines, such as sedatives, muscle relaxants and blood pressure medicines.

It’s thought that persistent urge incontinence may be caused by changes in a part of the brain that controls urination. These changes disrupt the nervous system's ability to control the bladder.

Causes of permanent urge incontinence include:

  • diseases that affect your nerves, such as multiple sclerosis and Parkinson’s disease
  • the menopause – in postmenopausal women, a lack of oestrogen contributes to thinning of the vaginal tissue, which causes irritation and can worsen urinary urgency
  • an illness or injury that interferes with mobility – this makes it harder for you to get to the bathroom quickly
  • brain disorders, such as stroke and dementia
  • bladder cancer or bladder stones
  • irritable bowel syndrome
Your doctor will first ask you about your symptoms and medical history. He or she will usually do a test on a sample of your urine to check that your incontinence isn’t being caused by an infection in your urinary tract. Your doctor may also do a blood test to check that your kidneys are working properly.
Your doctor may ask you to keep a ‘bladder diary’ for at least three days. This involves recording how much you drink, when you pass urine, the amount of urine you produce, whether you had an urge to urinate and the number of times you unintentionally leak.
You may be referred to a urologist (a doctor who specialises in identifying and treating conditions that affect the urinary system) or, if you're a woman, a gynaecologist (a doctor who specialises in women’s reproductive health) or urogynaecologist (a doctor who focuses on urinary and associated pelvic problems in women).
Your doctor may examine you. A rectal (back passage) examination will check if you’re constipated or whether the nerves to your bladder are damaged. In men, a rectal examination will determine if the prostate is enlarged. If you’re a woman, your doctor will check for weakness of your pelvic floor and look for a prolapse – this is when organs near your vagina, such as your womb, bowel or bladder, slip down from their normal position.
Examining you may also enable your doctor to determine if you have a problem with mental function or an underlying condition, for example, multiple sclerosis, that may be causing your incontinence.
You may need to have urodynamic testing. These tests measure the pressure in your bladder and the flow of urine. A thin, flexible tube, called a catheter, is inserted into your bladder through your urethra. Water is then passed through the catheter and the pressure in your bladder is recorded.
 

Self-help

There are several ways you can help yourself if you have been diagnosed with urge incontinence. These include the following.

  • If you’re overweight or obese, lose excess weight. Exercising and eating healthily can help you to lose excess weight. The World Health Organization recommends doing 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week.
  • Try not to have too much caffeine, or have decaffeinated coffee or tea instead.
  • Eat plenty of fruit and vegetables, and other foods that contain fibre. This will help stop you from becoming constipated.
  • You might need to drink more or less fluid. Your doctor will be able to advise you on this.
  • Pass urine frequently so you don’t get a full bladder.
  • Wear absorbent pads to absorb any leaks – you can buy these from drugstores (pharmacies) and some supermarkets.

Your doctor may recommend bladder training, either alone or in combination with other therapies. Bladder training involves relearning how to urinate, and how to ignore or suppress the need to pass urine by gradually increasing the time between urinating. It’s most often used by women with urge incontinence, however, it’s also used for stress and mixed incontinence.

Physical therapies

Your doctor will usually ask you to do pelvic floor muscle exercises (Kegel exercises). These exercises, if done correctly, can strengthen your bladder muscles and help you control urinating. To do pelvic floor muscle exercises, squeeze the muscles you would use to stop urinating and hold for a count of three. Your doctor will recommend that you do these exercises frequently for several months. These exercises are helpful, but more commonly used to help stress incontinence.

If you're having problems doing your pelvic floor muscles, your doctor or nurse may recommend biofeedback. Biofeedback therapy uses a computer and electronic instruments to tell you when you're using the right pelvic floor muscles.

If you’re a woman, your doctor might recommend vaginal cones. These are weights that you hold in your vagina that help you strengthen the pelvic floor.

Medicine

Your doctor might prescribe you medicine if pelvic floor muscle exercises and bladder training haven’t been effective.

Anticholinergics are the most commonly prescribed medicine for urge incontinence. They relax your bladder muscles and help reduce the number of times you need to pass urine. Anticholinergics are available as tablets, a liquid or a patch. The two most commonly prescribed medicines in this category are oxybutynin and tolterodine. Newer drugs in this category include solifenacin, darifenacin, fesoterodine and trospium. Your doctor might consider these medicines if oxybutynin and tolterodine aren’t effective.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

Non-surgical treatments

Botulinum A toxin (eg Botox) can be injected into your bladder to help relax its overactive muscles. A flexible tube-like instrument called a cystoscope is passed through your urethra into your bladder and a fine needle is used to inject the botulinum A toxin. This procedure can be done under either a general anaesthetic (meaning you will be asleep during the procedure) or a local anaesthetic (this completely blocks pain from the area and you will stay awake during the procedure). The effects last for nine to 12 months.

You may be offered neuromodulation (also known as sacral nerve stimulation) if physical treatments or medicines don’t work for you. This involves stimulating the nerves to your bladder and helps to correct wrong or unwanted messages sent along these nerves. A small device is surgically implanted under the skin and fat of your lower back to stimulate your sacral nerve with mild electrical pulses.

You might be offered percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation. This stimulates the nerves responsible for bladder control. A small, fine needle is inserted at your ankle near your tibial nerve. This is then connected to a stimulator device and electrical impulses travel along your nerves to help retrain your bladder function.

Surgery

If other treatments haven’t been effective, you may wish to consider surgery. As with every procedure, there are some risks associated with having surgery for bladder problems. Talk to your doctor or surgeon about your options and the risks that are associated with each one.

Surgical options include the following.

  • Bladder augmentation. This is a major operation that increases the size of your bladder. Your surgeon will cut open your bladder and sew a patch of tissue taken from your bowel between the two halves. You will need to stay in hospital after your operation for about 10 days, but it can take up to four months to completely recover.
  • Detrusor myectomy. This is a major operation that involves removing some or all of the outer muscle layer that surrounds your bladder. This procedure aims to reduce the number of bladder contractions you have and the strength of them. About half of all people who have this operation are cured and around two-thirds have improvements in their symptoms. This procedure is not commonly practiced.

Ask your doctor for advice on your treatment options.

Sources
Incontinence. Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. www.csp.org.uk , accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com , published August 2007
Urgency and urge incontinence. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation. www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org, accessed 3 November 2011
Stress urinary incontinence. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation. www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org, accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence in women. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.www.kidney.niddk.nih.gov , published September 2010
Personal communication, Mr Raj Persad, Consultant Urologist, Bristol Royal Infirmary, 5 December 2011
Urgency and urge incontinence treatments. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation.www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org , accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence in women. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com , published April 2011
Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk  
Urinary incontinence treatment and management. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com , published October 2011
Personal training for your pelvic floor muscles. The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. www.csp.org.uk , published April 2011
Incontinence – urinary, in women. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk , published June 2009
Physical activity and adults. World Health Organization. www.who.int , accessed 17 October 2012
 

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

急切性尿失禁

尿失禁指無意間漏出小便,患者突有急切尿意,通常不久小便會不由自主地漏出。
以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。
 

突然有強烈尿意,必須立即如廁,這種情況稱為「急切」。患有急切性尿失禁的人如不及時如廁,小便可能不受控制地漏出。急切性尿失禁許多時都是膀胱過度活躍所致(膀胱尚未滿溢肌肉便不由自主地收縮),但亦有些病例沒法確定成因。急切性尿失禁是長者最常見的失禁情況。

其他尿失禁包括以下:

  • 壓力性尿失禁膀胱壓力增加導致突然漏尿,壓力成因包括打噴嚏、咳嗽或提起重物。
  • 混合性尿失禁因壓力及急切性尿失禁而不由自主地排尿。
  • 滿溢性尿失禁(又稱慢性尿滯留) — 即膀胱無法正常排清,導致尿液溢出,成因可能是膀胱肌肉軟弱或尿道(由膀胱輸送尿液排出體外的管道)堵塞。女性出現滿溢性失禁較罕見。
 
急切性尿失禁指突然有迫切須要排尿,然後尿液不由自主地漏出。患者的膀胱肌肉收縮,每次小便急時只有數秒緩衝時間,尿液便會排出,許多時趕不及上廁所,導致不自主地漏尿。
有些人聽見流水聲也有類似的尿意,此外患者也比一般人尿頻,晚上睡覺也須要起床如廁。
如有上述徵狀,應見醫生。
 
 

急切性尿失禁的徵狀分為暫時性或永久性,成因包括生活習慣、相關的疾病或身體毛病,但很多病例也沒有明確病因。

出現暫時急切性尿失禁的成因包括以下:

  • 泌尿道發炎,例如膀胱炎。尿道由腎臟、兩條輸尿管(由每側腎臟連接至膀胱的管道)、膀胱及尿道組成。
  • 酒精及咖啡因。兩者都是利尿劑(令腎臟產生更多尿液,導致身體流失水分)和膀胱刺激劑,即飲後會忽然急須如廁。
  • 水分過多飲大量飲品會使身體製造更多尿液。
  • 便秘。
  • 藥物,例如鎮靜劑、肌肉鬆弛劑及降血壓藥。

醫學界認為持續急切性尿失禁可能是腦部控制排尿的部分發生變化。這類變化會影響神經系統控制膀胱的能力。

永久急切性尿失禁的成因包括:

  • 影響神經系統的疾病,例如多發性硬化及柏金遜症。
  • 更年期更年期後婦女雌激素下降,導致陰道組織薄化,引起刺激不適,令急切性尿失禁更嚴重。
  • 妨礙行動的疾病或傷患患者更難迅速到廁所小便。
  • 腦部疾病,例如中風及腦退化。
  • 膀胱癌或膀胱石。
  • 腸易激綜合症。
 

醫生會詢問患者的徵狀和病歷,通常會安排驗小便,看看失禁是否泌尿道感染所致。此外,醫生或會安排病人驗血,確定腎功能正常。

醫生或會請病人做最少三天的「膀胱記錄」,即記下飲水分量、小便時間、尿量、是否急切性排尿和不由自主漏尿的次數。

醫生可能轉介患者到泌尿專科醫生(專門鑑定及治療影響泌尿系統疾病的醫生),或如屬婦女則可能轉介見婦科醫生(專門診治女性生殖系統疾病的醫生)或泌尿婦科醫生(專門診治女性泌尿及相關盆腔疾病的醫生)

醫生或會為病人進行檢查。探肛檢查可確定患者是否便秘或連接膀胱的神經有否受損。男性做探肛檢查可確定前列腺有沒有腫大。醫生會檢查女性患者的骨盆底是否鬆弛或下垂,即陰道附近的器官如子宮、腸道或膀胱下滑移離正常位置。

透過檢查,醫生亦可確定患者的心理功能是否正常,又或有沒有潛在疾病,例如多發性硬化,以致造成失禁。

患者或須進行尿動力檢測,量度膀胱壓力及尿流量。醫生會將幼軟導管經尿道插入膀胱,然後透過導管注水,記錄膀胱的壓力。

 

自我護療

確診急切性尿失禁的人士可採取以下多項措施自我護療:

  • 超重或肥胖的患者應減去多餘體重。運動和注意飲食健康是減肥的有效途徑。世界衛生組織建議一星期做150分鐘(兩個半小時)溫和運動。例如,您可每星期最少做五天運動,每次30分鐘。
  • 避免攝取太多咖啡因,或改飲無咖啡因的咖啡或茶。
  • 多吃蔬果及其他富含纖維的食物,防止便秘。
  • 患者或須增加或減少飲水,醫生會提供指示。
  • 經常小便,確保膀胱不會滿溢。
  • 使用吸尿墊吸納漏出的尿液藥房(藥店)和部分超級市場均有售。

醫生亦可能建議進行膀胱功能訓練,這項訓練可獨立或配合其他治療進行。膀胱功能訓練指重新學習如何排尿、如何漸漸延長每次小便相隔的時間,學習不理會或抑壓尿意。膀胱功能訓練最常見的對象是急切性尿失禁婦女,但它對壓力性及混合性尿失禁也有幫助。

物理治療

醫生通常會指示病人做骨盆底肌肉運動(凱格爾運動)。正確地運動骨盆底肌肉可強化膀胱肌肉,有助控制排尿。骨盆底肌肉運動的動作是緊緊收縮可制停小便的肌肉,提緊並數至三。醫生會建議持續數月經常做這類提肛運動。這類運動十分有效,但一般用於改善壓力性尿失禁。

假如患者無法做骨盆底肌肉運動,醫生或護士或會建議生物反饋治療。生物反饋治療指利用電腦及電子儀器顯示患者是否正確地運用骨盆底肌肉。

醫生可能建議女性患者置入陰道錐體,然後學習用陰道夾緊,藉此強化骨盆底。

藥物

如骨盆底肌肉運動及膀胱功能訓練成效欠佳,醫生或會處方藥物。

抗膽鹼(Anticholinergics)是最常見的急切性尿失禁處方藥物,可鬆弛膀胱肌肉,減少需要小便的次數。抗膽鹼分為藥片、液劑或藥貼,這類處方藥物最常見的例子是奧昔布寧(Oxybutynin)及托特羅定(Tolterodine),至於新藥則有索非那新(Solifenacin)、達非那新(Darifenacin)、弗斯特羅(Fesoterodine)及曲司(Trospium)。假如奧昔布寧(Oxybutynin)及托特羅定(Tolterodine)療效未如理想,醫生或會考慮處方這些新藥。

病人服藥應諮詢醫生意見,並細閱藥物的病人須知說明。

非手術治療

患者可注射肉毒桿菌毒素(例如Botox)到膀胱使過度活躍的肌肉鬆弛。醫生會將軟管狀的膀胱鏡和一根幼針經尿道插入膀胱,注射肉毒桿菌毒素。這個程序可全身麻醉(即患者全程處於睡眠狀態)或局部麻醉(患處完全不感到痛楚,患者全程清醒),藥效可維持九912個月。

如物理治療或藥物的療效均不理想,醫生可能採用神經調節法(又稱神經刺激法),即刺激膀胱的神經,促進糾正神經發出的錯誤或不必要訊息。病人須接受手術,由醫生在下背皮膚和脂肪下植入細小裝置,藉着溫和電脈衝刺激骶神經。

醫生亦可能採用經皮脛神經刺激法,刺激負責控制膀胱的神經。治療時,醫生會在病人的足踝脛神經附近插入幼針,然後接駁刺激儀器,輸入電脈衝沿神經流動,促進控制膀胱功能。

手術

若其他治療方法均無效,患者可考慮做手術。一如任何其他外科程序,做手術處理膀胱問題亦涉及風險。患者應與醫生或外科醫生研究所有選擇方案,以及每個方案的相關風險。

以下是患者可考慮的手術:

  • 膀胱擴大手術(Bladder Augmentation)。這項大型手術可增大膀胱的尺寸。外科醫生會切開病人的膀胱,在兩邊中央縫上一片取自腸道的組織。手術後患者須住院約10天,完全康復則最長需時四個月。
  • 切除部分逼尿肌(Detrusor Myectomy)。這項大型手術涉及切除膀胱周圍的部分或所有外肌肉層,目的是減低膀胱收縮次數和減輕收縮的強度。約半數接受這項手術的患者完全痊癒,徵狀得以改善的則有三分之二。這項手術並非常用。

患者應諮詢醫生關於可選擇的治療方案。

 
來源
Incontinence. Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. www.csp.org.uk , accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com , published August 2007
Urgency and urge incontinence. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation. www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org, accessed 3 November 2011
Stress urinary incontinence. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation. www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org, accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence in women. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.www.kidney.niddk.nih.gov , published September 2010
Personal communication, Mr Raj Persad, Consultant Urologist, Bristol Royal Infirmary, 5 December 2011
Urgency and urge incontinence treatments. The Bladder and Bowel Foundation.www.bladderandbowelfoundation.org , accessed 3 November 2011
Urinary incontinence in women. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com , published April 2011
Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
Urinary incontinence treatment and management. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com , published October 2011
Personal training for your pelvic floor muscles. The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. www.csp.org.uk , published April 2011
Incontinence – urinary, in women. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk , published June 2009
Physical activity and adults. World Health Organization. www.who.int , accessed 17 October 2012
 
 

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。