Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Knee replacement

Your specialist has recommended that you have a knee replacement, this leaflet provides some standard information and advice about the procedure. However, you should always follow the instructions of your own specialist.

If you have any unanswered questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to ask your specialist or nurse for more information. It is natural to feel anxious, but often knowing what to expect can help.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

During a knee replacement, the damaged or worn parts of the thigh and shin bones that form the knee joint are replaced with metal and plastic parts that glide over each other smoothly. It is a major operation, and you will be in hospital until you are able to walk safely with the aid of sticks or crutches. This is typically between five and ten days.

A knee replacement operation is usually performed under a general anaesthetic. For more information on general anaesthesia, please see the separate leaflet.

Knee replacement

Your specialist or hospital will talk to you about admission procedure, however before you come into hospital, you will also be asked to:

attend a pre-assessment clinic for routine tests two or three weeks before your operation. This will be an opportunity for you to ask any questions. A physiotherapist will also talk to you about your home requirements, so that any necessary arrangements for aids and services can be made in advance of your admission. Strengthening the leg muscles through exercise before surgery can also speed up your recovery and the physiotherapist will discuss this too

have a bath or shower on the day of your admission

remove any make-up, nail varnish and bulky or sharp jewellery. Rings and earrings that you would prefer not to remove can usually be covered with adhesive tape

follow any fasting instructions given to you. Typically, you must not eat or drink for about six hours before a general anaesthetic. However, some anaesthetists allow occasional sips of water until two hours before

After you have been shown to your room, your nurse will check if you have been well since the pre-assessment. Your surgeon and anaesthetist will also visit you. The surgeon will use a pen to clearly indicate the leg to be treated. This is good time to ask any outstanding questions about your treatment.

The nurse will help you prepare for surgery and will do some simple tests such as taking your blood pressure and pulse, and may ask you for a urine sample. You may be asked to put on compression stockings to help prevent blood clots from forming in the veins of your legs.

Consent

You will be given a consent form to sign. By doing this, you confirm that you understand what the procedure involves, including the benefits and risks, and give your permission for it to go ahead.

Please see the later for further information about the possible side-effects and complications of this procedure. You need to know about these in order to give your informed consent.

About the operation

An incision, usually around 6-12 inches (15-30 cm) long is made down the front of the knee. The replacement joint is attached to the bones with a special cement. The kneecap may either be replaced or trimmed before the surgeon closes the incision with stitches or clips. Fine plastic drainage tubes may be left in place for up to 48 hours after the operation.

The operation usually takes between one and two hours, and your relatives should expect you to be away from your room for at least three hours.

After your operation

You will be taken from the operating theatre to a recovery room, where you will come round from the anaesthetic under close supervision. After this, you will be taken back to your room, where a nurse will make you comfortable. When you feel ready, you can begin to drink and eat, starting with clear fluids such as water or fruit juice.

Back on the ward

During your stay in hospital, every effort is made to keep any discomfort to an acceptable level and your anaesthetist will discuss arrangements for pain relief. After the first week, you will probably only need mild painkillers.

The physiotherapist will visit you daily to guide you through exercises. Generally, you will be encouraged to move your new knee from the first day after the operation. You may be asked to use a "continuous passive motion" machine. This continuously and gently moves your knee, gradually increasing the amount of movement each day.

By the time you go home, you will be able to walk with sticks or crutches and will have learned how best to move about and manage daily tasks.

Going home

You will need to make arrangements to be driven home. Before you go home, a nurse will advise you about caring for surgical wounds, hygiene and bathing. A follow-up appointment in the outpatient clinic will be arranged for you.

After you return home

If you need them, continue taking painkillers as advised by your specialist or the hospital. Your knee will probably be sore for around six weeks.

You will be able to move around your home and manage stairs, but you will find that some routine daily activities are difficult for a few weeks and will need to ask family or friends to help. For example, you may not be able to go shopping for the first few weeks. When you are not walking, you should rest with your leg raised to help prevent swelling in the leg and ankle.

If you work, you will probably not be able to return for at least six weeks after your operation. You will not be able to drive until your specialist advises you that it is safe.

Its crucial that you continue with the exercises recommended by the physiotherapist, as these will promote healing and help you recover more quickly. Your new knee will continue to get better for at least six months.

 

A knee replacement is a commonly performed and generally safe surgical procedure. For most people, the benefits in terms of pain reduction and improved mobility are far greater than the disadvantages. However, all surgery does carry some element of risk. This can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

Side-effects

These are the unwanted but mostly mild and temporary effects of a successful treatment. Examples of short-lived side-effects include feeling sick as a result of the general anaesthetic and painkillers. After a knee replacement operation, the knee may be sore on moving and swollen for up to three months. The outer side of the knee and scar are likely to stay numb. Sometimes this is permanent.

Occasionally, a blood transfusion is required to replace blood lost after the surgery.

In the longer term, the artificial joint will not last forever and, after years of use, a further operation may be needed.

Complications

This is when problems occur during or after the operation. Most people are not affected.

The main possible complications of any surgery are bleeding during or soon after the operation, infection, and an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic.

Specific complications of a knee replacement include:

  • problems with healing: in about 5% of cases the incision may not heal properly, increasing the risk of infection. Plastic surgery may be required
  • instability: in 1-2% of cases it is not possible to make the new knee fully stable and a knee brace may have to be worn
  • dislocation: in about 1% of cases the kneecap becomes dislocated after knee replacement surgery
  • a buildup of scar tissue: occasionally this restricts movement. Another operation may be performed to break down the scar tissue. In rare cases, the loss of movement may be permanent
  • blood clots: for up to six weeks after the operation, it is possible to develop a blood clot (known as a deep vein thrombosis or DVT) in the veins of the leg. This clot can break off and cause a blockage in the lungs. In the majority of cases, this is treatable, but it can be a dangerous condition. You may be given medicines or compression stockings to help prevent a DVT

The chance of complications depends on the exact type of operation and other factors such as your age and general health. You should ask your surgeon to explain how these risks apply to you.

 

1. How long will my knee replacement last?

Almost all knee replacements last at least 10 or 15 years, and some as long as 20 years.

Replacements joints are designed to last for a long time. The modern materials used are strong enough to stand up to the requirements of young and active people.

Currently just over nine out of 10 artificial joints used for knee replacement last for 10 years or more. However, there is increasing research into the design and material of replacement knee joints to make them last longer.

You should have an X-ray on your knee at least every five years after your operation. If your replacement joint is loosening or breaking, you may need another operation to correct this.

2. Are there any sports/activities I shouldn't take part in after my knee replacement?

Once you are fully recovered you can do exercise and sport. However you shouldn't take part in high-impact exercises such as running and jumping.

During your recovery your physiotherapist will recommend exercises for you that will improve your strength and range of motion. You should do these for at least two months after your operation.

As you recover you can start swimming and do more walking to strengthen your muscles around the joint. You can gradually start cycling but if you feel any pain than you must stop and allow yourself more time to recover.

When you have made a full recovery, you can have a more active lifestyle. However it's important that you don't take part in high-impact activities or contact sports. So you shouldn't do sports such as football, rugby, basketball, squash, skiing or anything involving squats, jumping or weightlifting. But you can do low-impact sports such as golf, bowls or gentle doubles tennis or dancing.

Regular exercise will help to improve and maintain your mobility. When returning to any sport it's important to take your time to rebuild your strength and co-ordination.

You may find that you can't return to your chosen sport at the same level as you were before. Your risk of injury is greatly increased if you take part in competitive, rather than recreational, sport.

Your doctor, surgeon or physiotherapist will be able to give you more information about what activities are suitable.

3. What can I do to make my recovery easier?

You should try to be as fit and healthy as possible before your operation and prepare your home for when you return.

If you are having a knee replacement it's a good idea to try to be as fit and healthy as possible before your operation to speed up your recovery.

If you smoke you will be asked to stop, as smoking can increase your chances of getting a wound infection and slows your recovery. If you are overweight your doctor may recommend a weight-loss programme.

You can exercise to strengthen your upper body. This will help you to get around after the surgery when using walking aids such as crutches.

If it's possible you should try to strengthen your leg muscles. Strengthening the muscles around your knee will speed your recovery and will make it easier to perform the postoperative exercises.

Your surgeon or physiotherapist will be able to recommend exercises for you.

It's a good idea to prepare your home for when you return from hospital. This may mean rearranging furniture to make it easier to move around, and placing commonly used items at arm level so you don't have to reach for them. It's also a good idea to stock up on non-perishable food such as frozen or tinned items, so that you don't need to go shopping immediately after your surgery.

You may need someone to help during the first few weeks after surgery. It's a good idea to arrange to have a friend or family member stay with you for a couple of days after the operation.

Further information 

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
    http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/booklet/thr_report.cfm?thread_id=9&topcategory=knee
  • British Association for Surgery of the Knee
    www.baskonline.com
  • Arthritis Research Campaign (arc)
    0300 790 0400
    www.arthritisresearchuk.org

 

Sources

  • Total knee arthroplasty. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 22 August 2010
  • Knee surgery. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 2 August 2010
  • Total knee replacement. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Osteoarthritis. Clinical Knowledge Summaries www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Surgical treatment of osteoarthritis of the knee. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Is there any evidence that smoking impairs wound healing? Trip Answers. www.tripanswers.org, accessed 7 September 2009
  • Total knee replacement: a guide for patients. British Orthopaedic Association www.boa.ac.uk, accessed 29 July 2010; 2 August 2010
  • Jacobs W, Clement DJ, Wymenga AAB. Retention versus sacrifice of the posterior cruciate ligament in total knee replacement for treatment of osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004803.pub2
  • Activities after a knee replacement. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 3 August 2010
  • Preparing for joint replacement surgery. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 2 August 2010

You might also like

Hip replacement

If your specialist has recommended that you have a total hip replacement, this leaflet provides some standard information and advice about the procedure. However, you should always follow the instructions of your own specialist.

Read more

Back pain

Back pain is an extremely common complaint - its estimated that over 60% of people suffer from it at some time in their lives. And its one of the main reasons for taking time off work.

Read more

Fractures

A broken bone is known as a fracture. This can be a crack, buckle or crumple in the structure of the bone, or a complete break, producing two or more fragments.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

膝關節置換手術

當醫生建議您接受膝關節置換手術時﹐您可參考本單張提供的有關此檢查的一般資料和建議。但在任何情況下,您當以醫生的指示為準。

如果本單張未能解答您所有問題,或者您讀後仍有任何疑慮,請隨時向您的醫生或護士查詢。一般人在接受手術前都會感到緊張,而事先知悉各項與手術相關的細節有助消除您的疑慮。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。  

 

 

手術時,醫生會將構成膝關節的大腿骨及小腿骨的受損或撕裂部分,換成由金屬及塑料等材料組成的可互相順暢滑動的人工關節。膝關節置換手術屬於較大的手術,您通常要留院五至十天,直至您可用手杖或拐杖穩步行走,才可出院。

膝關節置換手術通常在全身麻醉下進行。如您欲了解更多有關全身麻醉的資料,請翻閱其他相關單張。

膝關節置換

醫生或院方會向您說明有關入院的程序。到醫院做手術前,您需要:

手術前兩至三個星期到醫院接受手術前檢查。您可利用此機會提出任何有關手術的問題。物理治療師會跟您商討您的家居需要,讓您可於入院前安排好所需的輔助和服務。另外,物理治療師還會跟您商討有關在手術前加強腿部肌肉鍛煉,以加速手術後復原的問題

於入院當天在家洗澡

卸妝、洗甲,以及脫下所有首飾。不能脫下的戒指和耳環,可用膠布貼上

依照醫生的指示禁食。通常在全身麻醉前6小時內不可飲食。也有一些麻醉師准許病人在手術前喝少量清水,但手術前2小時應完全禁飲禁食

抵達醫院後,護士會檢查您的身體狀況與兩至三周前的手術前檢查時有無變化。負責手術的醫生和麻醉師會跟您見面,醫生並會用記號筆標記清楚哪一側膝關節需要接受手術,若您對手術尚有任何疑慮,請於此時提出。

護士會幫您作好手術前的準備,為您作一些簡單測試,如檢查脈搏、血壓,並提取尿液樣本。您可能需要穿上壓力襪,以防止在腿部的靜脈內形成血栓。

同意書

手術前您會被要求簽署一份手術同意書。在您簽署同意後,即代表您已經明白該手術所可能產生的效果及附帶的風險,並同意接受手術。

欲知更多有關本手術可能產生的副作用及併發症的資料,請參考本單張的背頁。在您簽署同意之前﹐應該全面了解與手術有關的情況。

有關手術的問題

手術切口一般位於膝關節的前方,長約6-12寸(15-30厘米),而用於更換的人工關節會用特制的骨水泥固定於骨上,另外醫生可能會根據病情需要對膝蓋骨進行修整甚至更換。在縫合切口後,醫生會將一條幼細的引流管放置在您的手術部位並留置48小時。

膝關節置換手術通常需要一至兩小時,所以請告訴親友您最少要在三小時後才能回到病房。

手術後

手術後﹐您會被先送往恢復室在周詳的監察下等待從麻醉狀態下恢復至清醒狀態,然後被送回病房。此時,病房護士會繼續照料您。 當您感到好一些時,可恢復飲食。應先飲用清淡的液體,如清水或蘋果汁。

回到病房

留院期間,醫護人員會盡量紓緩您的不適。麻醉師會和您商討減輕痛楚的方法。一星期後,您可能只需服用藥性溫和的止痛劑。

物理治療師會每天探訪您,指導您進行康復鍛煉。他們一般會鼓勵您在手術後第一天開始活動新關節。您可能需要借助「持續輔助活動」器械,此器械可以持續且溫柔地活動您的膝關節,而活動量則可逐日增加。

當您可以倚靠手杖或拐杖步行﹐可以週圍行動及處理日常事務時﹐您便可以回家了。

出院

我們建議您安排親友送您回家。出院時,護士會指導您如何護理癒合中的傷口,保持個人衛生,也會告訴您洗澡時要注意的事情;院方亦會為您安排日後到門診覆診的日期。

回家後

如有需要,可依照醫生或醫院的指示服用止痛藥。膝部的疼痛可能會持續大約六個星期。

您可以在家中走動及上落樓梯,但在手術後最初的幾個星期內,您可能會發現即使做日常活動您仍會感到困難而需要他人的協助。例如,您在此期間或許不能外出購物等。當您不走動時,應將腿部抬高,以避免下肢和足踝腫脹。

您可能於手術後最少六星期內不能上班。未經醫生認可﹐您不可駕駛車輛。

繼續依照物理治療師的建議進行鍛煉是非常重要的,這樣能促進癒合,令您盡早復原。您最少要六個月才能逐漸適應新的膝關節。

膝關節置換手術是一項頗常見且安全的手術。對大部分人來說,因改善病徵而得到的好處遠遠多於壞處。但是,所有手術都帶有風險,分別為副作用和併發症。

副作用

指手術雖然成功,但可能產生暫時性的不良後果,其大部分都是輕微及短暫的。例如由於使用全身麻醉藥或止痛藥而引起的不適。在手術後的三個月內,接受手術的膝關節可能會在活動時感到疼痛及出現腫脹。膝關節的外側及手術瘢痕部位可能會出現麻痺,有些更可能成為永久性。

有些人可能需要接受輸血以補充手術中流失的血液。

長遠而言,人造關節不可永久使用。若干年後,可能需要再次接受置換手術。

併發症

指在手術中或手術後出現的問題,但大部分人都不會遇上。部分併發症在任何手術中都有機會出現,包括手術中或手術後大量出血、感染,以及對麻醉劑過敏。

膝關節置換手術特有的併發症包括:

  • 傷口癒合不良:約5%的手術切口不能妥善癒合﹐而使感染機會增加。此時可能需要通過整型外科手術予以處理
  • 關節不穩定:約1%-2%的患者﹐更換人工膝關節後不能使之完全穩定,因而可能需要穿上膝部支具
  • 脫位:約1%的患者會在膝關節置換手術後出現膝蓋骨脫位
  • 瘢痕組織增多:偶爾會限制關節活動,患者可能需再次手術以鬆解瘢痕組織。極少數情況下,關節活動的減退可能是永久的
  • 血凝塊:在手術後的六個星期內,均有可能在腿部的靜脈內形成血凝塊,稱為深靜脈血栓形成。血凝塊可能會脫落,造成肺部阻塞。大部分此種情況是可以治癒的,但病情也可以十分嚴重。醫生可能會為您處方藥物或建議您穿上壓力襪,以避免深靜脈血栓的形成

是否出現併發症,取決於您所接受的手術類型及整體健康狀況等多項因素而定,您應就您的個別情況向醫生查詢有關詳情。

1. 人工膝關節能維持多久?  

幾乎所有人工膝關節都可以用上10至15年,有的更可長達20年。  

人工膝關節是為長期使用而設計的,採用現代物料製造的,強度足以符合年輕人和活躍好動者的需求。  

現時用於膝關節置換的人工關節當中,九成可使用10年或以上。不過,對人工膝關節設計與用料的研究越來越多,務求能延長人工關節的使用年期。  

手術後,膝部至少每5年要接受X光檢查一次。假如更換的關節鬆動或破裂,就可能要再動手術以矯正。  

2. 置換膝關節後,是否不宜進行某些運動或活動?         

完全康復後,便立即可以做運動。但不應參與高衝擊運動,如跑步和跳躍。  

在恢復的過程中,物理治療師會為您推薦一些運動,以改善關節活動的力度和範圍。接受手術後,您應至少持續做這些運動達兩個月。  

於康復期間,您可以開始游泳,以及多做步行運動,強化關節周圍的肌肉;也可以逐步開始騎自行車。但感到疼痛的話就必須停止,給自己更多時間復原。  

完全恢復後,您便可以過更活躍的生活,但切勿參與高衝擊活動或涉及身體接觸的運動。所以不應參與足球、欖球、籃球、壁球、滑雪或任何有下蹲、跳躍、舉重動作的運動。你可以參與低衝擊運動,如高爾夫球,草地滾球、悠閒式網球雙打或舞蹈。  

經常運動有助改善和保持活動能力。重新參與任何體育項目,都要花時間鍛鍊好身體的力量和協調能力。  

重新參與愛好的運動項目時,您或會發現自己不能回復原來的水準。假如您參與競賽而非悠閒式的運動,受傷風險會大大增加。  

您的醫生、外科醫生或物理治療師會給您更多資訊,讓您了解有甚麼活動是適合您的。  

3. 如何令復原更容易?  

手術前儘量保持體能和健康,家居裝置安排妥善,為出院作好準備。  

如果您即將要接受膝關節置換手術,手術前應儘量保持身體健康,以助加快復原。  

如果您有吸煙的習慣,醫生便會要求您戒煙,因為吸煙會增加傷口感染,阻慢康復進度。如果您超重,醫生可能會為您建議減重計劃。  

您可以做運動強化上半身,這有助您接受手術後使用拐杖等助行器具。  

如可能的話,應設法強化腿部肌肉,這有助加速復原,手術後做物理治療運動亦會更容易。  

外科醫生或物理治療師會為您建議合適的運動。  

手術前適宜先將家居裝置安排妥當,為自己出院回家作好準備。您可能要重新置放家具,方便走動;把常用物品放置於垂手可及的高度,以免做出危及傷口的動作。儲備一些不易變質腐爛的食物,例如急凍或罐頭食品,手術後就不必馬上去購物了。  

手術後,您可能需要別人幫助,安排親友同住幾個星期是明智之舉。    

索取更多資料

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
    http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/booklet/thr_report.cfm?thread_id=9&topcategory=knee
  • British Association for Surgery of the Knee
    www.baskonline.com
  • Arthritis Research Campaign (arc)
    0300 790 0400
    www.arthritisresearchuk.org

 

來源

  • Total knee arthroplasty. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 22 August 2010
  • Knee surgery. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 2 August 2010
  • Total knee replacement. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Osteoarthritis. Clinical Knowledge Summaries www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Surgical treatment of osteoarthritis of the knee. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Is there any evidence that smoking impairs wound healing? Trip Answers. www.tripanswers.org, accessed 7 September 2009
  • Total knee replacement: a guide for patients. British Orthopaedic Association www.boa.ac.uk, accessed 29 July 2010; 2 August 2010
  • Jacobs W, Clement DJ, Wymenga AAB. Retention versus sacrifice of the posterior cruciate ligament in total knee replacement for treatment of osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004803.pub2
  • Activities after a knee replacement. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 3 August 2010
  • Preparing for joint replacement surgery. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. www.orthoinfo.aaos.org, accessed 2 August 2010

相關文章

髖關節置換手術

當醫生建議您接受髖關節置換手術時,您可參考本單張提供的有關此檢查的一般資料和建議。但在任何情況下,您當以醫生的指示為準。

閱讀更多

腰背痛

腰背痛是一種極度普遍的病症,估計有超過60%的人士會患上腰背痛, 同時亦是員工請病假的一個主因。

閱讀更多

骨折

骨頭的折斷稱為「骨折」。骨折時,骨的結構會出現裂縫、變形或凹陷,甚至完全斷裂,造成兩塊或以上的碎片。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。