Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Breast lump removal

Overgrowth of tissue in the breast can cause breast lumps. Where lumps are filled with fluid they are known as cysts. Surgery is needed to remove small breast lumps that don't go away on their own or cysts that keep coming back. The operation is known as a lumpectomy or wide local excision.

It is routinely performed under general anaesthetic as a day case or with just one night's stay in hospital.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Your specialist or hospital will give you some information about when and how to check into hospital.

Before you come into hospital, you may be asked to:

  • Have a bath or shower on the day of your admission,
  • Remove any make-up, nail varnish and bulky or sharp jewellery. Rings and earrings that you'd prefer not to remove can usually be covered with adhesive tape,
  • Follow the fasting instructions given in your admission confirmation letter. Typically, you must not eat or drink for about six hours before a general anaesthetic. However, some anaesthetists allow a few sips of water until two hours before.

When you arrive at the hospital, a nurse will explain how you will be cared for during your stay, and will perform some simple tests such as checking your pulse and blood pressure, and testing your urine.

Your surgeon and anaesthetist will also visit you. The surgeon may use a pen to mark the breast to be treated. This is a good time to ask any outstanding questions about your treatment.

You may be asked to wear support stockings to help prevent blood clots forming in the veins in your legs.

Consent

Before going to the theatre, you will be given a consent form to sign. By doing this, you confirm that you understand what the procedure involves, including the benefits and risks, and give your permission for it to go ahead.

You will be taken from your room on a bed or trolley to the anaesthetic room where you'll be put off to sleep.

A cut slightly bigger than the lump is made over or near the lump, allowing it to be removed completely. In some cases, a margin of healthy tissue around the lump may also be removed. The cut is then closed up with very fine stitches. The operation usually takes between 45 and 60 minutes.

The lump is sent to a laboratory for testing (biopsy).

After your operation

You will be taken from the operating theatre to a recovery room, where you will come round from the anaesthetic under close supervision. After this, you will return to your room, where a nurse will make you comfortable. He or she will assess the operation sites and monitor your blood pressure and pulse at regular intervals.

Back on the ward

You will have tubes running out of small holes in the skin near the operation site. These drain fluid and blood into a bag beside your bed. You will also find a drip in your arm to keep you hydrated. This will be removed when you've started drinking enough fluid.

You will normally have a small dressing over the operation site. You will need to rest until the effects of the general anaesthetic have passed. If you are sore, you may require painkillers. These can usually be taken every four to six hours. Please discuss pain relief with your nurse, surgeon or anaesthetist.

When you feel ready, begin to drink and eat, starting with clear fluids such as water or apple juice.

Going home

If your operation has been planned as a day case, you will be able to go home once you have made a full recovery from the anaesthetic. However, you will need to arrange for someone to drive you home and stay with you for the first 24 hours.

If you stay overnight after your operation, you may leave your room by the next morning. Before you are discharged, your nurse will advise you about caring for the healing scar, bathing, diet and exercise. He or she will give you a contact telephone number for the hospital, in case you need to ask for any further advice, and will make an appointment for you to have any stitches removed as an outpatient.

Another appointment will be made with your surgeon to discuss the biopsy results and any further treatment required.

After your return home

If you need them, continue taking painkillers as advised by the hospital. A general anaesthetic can temporarily affect your co-ordination and reasoning skills, so you should avoid driving, drinking alcohol, making any vital decisions or signing legal documents for 24 hours afterwards.

You should be able to resume driving when you feel confident that you could perform an emergency stop without discomfort.

You will need to take it easy and should expect to tire easily at first. You should be able to return to light activities the day after your operation, and should try to use the arm on the side of the operation to prevent it from getting stiff.

Where possible, avoid using aerosol deodorants, perfume and talcum powder, as these can irritate the wound area.

Use a supportive bra without underwires. You may also be advised to wear a bra at night for a week. If you play sport, you should wear a supportive sports bra for at least a month after your operation.

Breast lump removal is generally a safe procedure. For most people, the benefits are much greater than any disadvantages. However, like all surgery, there are some risks. These can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

Side-effects

These are the unwanted, but mostly mild and temporary, effects of a successful procedure. Examples of side-effects include feeling sick as a result of the general anaesthetic or painkillers. Bruising and some swelling are common after breast lump removal. The skin around the operation site can change colour, and sometimes a lump will appear under the scar – both of these should disappear within six weeks.

Your arm and shoulder may also feel sore and stiff, particularly if the lump was removed from the upper, outer part of the breast. You may feel "pins and needles" or numbness in the underarm skin because nerves here can be irritated or damaged during the operation. This is usually temporary. If it is severe, contact the hospital for further advice.

Complications

This is when problems occur during or after the operation and most people are not affected. The possible complications of any operation include an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic, excessive bleeding, or a blood clot in a vein in the leg (deep vein thrombosis).

The main complication specific to breast lump removal is infection, which can usually be treated with antibiotics. Signs of infection include bleeding, redness, high temperature, increasing pain, discharge or hardness in the breast.

Sometimes fluid can accumulate at the site of the operation under the arm (known as seroma), which can feel uncomfortable and push your arm away from your side. If this occurs, you should contact the hospital as you may need to have the fluid drained.

The chance of complications depends on the exact type of operation you are having and other factors such as your general health. Please ask your surgeon to explain how these risks apply to you.

 

American Cancer Society
Benign breast conditions
http://www.cancer.org/docroot/CRI/content/CRI_2_6X_Benign_Breast_Conditions_59.asp?sitearea=

National Cancer Institute
http://www.cancer.gov/cancerinfo/understanding-breast-changes/page5

You might also like

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Read more

Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding is when a mother gives her baby breast milk to meet her child's nutritional needs for healthy growth and development.

Read more

Preparing for Pregnancy

A woman's body goes through many changes over the nine months of pregnancy and the developing baby makes increasing demands.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

乳房腫塊切除

乳房組織過度生長可形成乳房腫塊。充滿液體的腫塊稱為「囊」;當細小的乳房腫塊不能自然消散,或囊重覆生長時,便需用手術切除。這種手術稱為「腫塊切除術」或「局部切除術」。

手術通常在全身麻醉的狀態下進行,一般會安排作日診,病人也可能需要住院一天。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。  

醫生或醫院有關方面會告訴你入院的程序和時間。

到醫院做手術前,你需要:

  • 於入院當天洗澡。
  • 卸妝、洗甲,以及脫下所有首飾。不能脫下的戒指和耳環,可用膠布貼上。
  • 遵照入院通知書的指示禁食。病人一般在接受全身麻醉前6小時內不可飲食。可是,有些麻醉師准許病人喝少許清水,直至手術前的2小時。

抵達醫院時,護士會向你解釋手術護理的程序,並替你做一些簡單測試,如檢查脈搏、血壓和提取尿液樣本。負責手術的醫生和麻醉師會和你見面,若你對手術尚有任何疑慮,請於此時提出。

你可能需要穿上壓力襪,避免血凝塊在腿中靜脈形成。

同意書

進入手術室前,你會收到一份同意書。在同意書上簽署,代表你明白這手術所附帶的好處和風險,並贊成進行手術。

你會躺在床上或坐在輪椅上,由病房被送到麻醉室,接受麻醉而進入睡眠狀態。

醫生會在腫塊上方或附近開一個比腫塊稍大的切口,以徹底切除腫塊。在某些情況下,腫塊周圍一些健康的組織也可能會被切除。接著,醫生會用極幼細的縫線縫合切口。手術一般需時45至60分鐘。

腫塊會被送到實驗室作活組織切片檢查。

手術後

你會由手術室被送回休息室,並在周詳的監察下從麻醉狀態中甦醒過來,然後被送回病房。護士會照料你,檢查你接受手術的位置,並且定時觀察你的血壓和脈搏。

回到病房

你手術部位附近會插上小管道,將液體和血液排出,並引到病床邊的袋子內。你的手臂會插有靜脈滴注,以保持體內水分充足。滴注會在你能夠飲用足夠水分後被除掉。

手術位置一般會敷上小塊的葯棉。這時你需要休息,直至麻醉劑的效力消失。如果你感到痠痛,你可能需要服食止痛劑,通常每四至六小時服食一次。詳情請向護士、醫生或麻醉師查詢。

當你感到好一些,便可恢復飲食。應先飲用清淡的液體,如水或蘋果汁。

回家

如果手術屬日診,你可以在麻醉藥效力消退後回家。可是,你需要安排別人送你回家,以及在24小時內陪伴你。

如果手術後需要留院,你可於翌日早上出院。出院前,護士會給你一些有關護理癒合中的傷口、洗澡、飲食和運動的建議,也會給你一個醫院的聯絡電話號碼,讓你有需要時可隨時聯絡醫護人員,並且會替你預約到門診部拆除縫線。

護士會另外替你安排一個預約時間,屆時醫生和護士會告訴你活組織切片檢查的結果,並研究是否需要作進一步治療。

回家後

如有需要,你可繼續依照醫院的指示服用止痛藥。由於全身麻醉藥會對你的協調和判斷能力造成短暫影響,所以在手術後24小時內,你應避免駕駛、喝酒、作出任何重要的決定,或簽署法律文件。

在你確定剎車時不會感到不適後,才可再次駕駛。

你應多作休息,並預期起初會容易感到疲倦。手術後翌日,你可恢復簡單的活動;你應多活動在手術部位那邊的手,以免它變得僵硬。

由於噴霧清香劑、香水和爽身粉會刺激傷口,因此應盡量避免使用。

你應穿戴有支撐性但沒有鐵線的胸圍;醫生可能會建議你連續一星期於晚上穿戴胸圍。假如你經常做運動,你需於手術後最少一個月內穿戴有支撐性的胸圍。

切除乳房腫塊是一項大致上安全的手術。對大部分人來說,手術的好處遠遠多於壞處。可是,所有手術都帶有風險,分別為副作用和併發症。

副作用

成功的治療常附帶副作用,但大多數副作用都是暫時性和輕微的,其中包括因全身麻醉藥或止痛劑引起的不適。切除乳房腫塊後,一般會有青瘀和腫脹的情況出現。手術部位周圍的皮膚可能會有顏色轉變,可能會在疤痕下方有腫塊出現,但這些現象會於六個星期內消失。

手臂和肩膊可能會感到痠痛和僵硬,尤其是當腫塊位於乳房較上和較外的位置。由於手臂內側皮膚的神經線可能在手術中受到刺激或損壞,因此,這些部位可能會有針刺和麻痺的感覺。這情況通常是暫時性的;如情況嚴重,應通知妳的醫生。

併發症

這是手術中或手術後出現的問題,大部分人都不受影響。部分併發症在任何手術中都有機會出現,包括對麻醉劑產生意料之外的反應,過量出血或血凝塊於腿中靜脈形成(稱為深層靜脈血栓形成)。

切除乳房腫塊特有的併發症主要有乳房感染,通常可用抗生素治理。感染的表徵包括傷口出血或呈現紅色、發熱、痛楚加劇、乳房流出分泌物或硬化。

有時液體會在手臂下方的手術位置積聚,稱為「皮下漿液瘤」。皮下漿液瘤會令你感到不適,並且會將你的手臂和身體分隔開。如有這種情況,你應聯絡醫院,安排把液體抽出。

出現併發症與否,視乎手術類型及整體健康狀況等其他因素而定。你應就你的個別情況向醫生查詢有關詳情。

American Cancer Society
Benign breast conditions
http://www.cancer.org/docroot/CRI/content/CRI_2_6X_Benign_Breast_Conditions_59.asp?sitearea=

National Cancer Institute
http://www.cancer.gov/cancerinfo/understanding-breast-changes/page5

相關文章

乳癌

乳癌指乳房出現含有癌細胞的腫瘤。乳房腫瘤是由于細胞生長異常失控而形成的腫塊,可以是惡性(癌性)或良性(非癌性)。每10宗乳房腫瘤病例中九宗為良性。

閱讀更多

母乳育嬰

母乳育嬰指母親以自己的天然母乳餵育嬰兒,為小寶寶提供健康發育和成長所需的營養。

閱讀更多

懷孕前的準備

女性的身體於懷孕的9個月期間會有很多轉變,而成長中的嬰兒對母體的需求也日益增加。要懷孕過程順利,應保持身體在最佳的健康狀態。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。