Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Thyroid Cancer

The risk of developing thyroid cancer in women is fairly constant between the age of 30 and 55, after which the risk falls. But for men, the risk of developing thyroid cancer goes up with age until 75 years. South Asian women are at a higher risk of developing thyroid cancer.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

The thyroid gland is an endocrine gland. It produces hormones that travel around your body in your bloodstream. Hormones are chemicals produced by the body to help control how your cells and organs work. They are sometimes called chemical messengers.

The main hormones produced in your thyroid gland are thyroxine (T4) and triiodothyronine (T3). They influence the speed at which your body processes and uses energy. This is sometimes called your metabolic rate. Hyperthyroidism (overactive thyroid) and hypothyroidism (underactive thyroid) are common problems associated with the levels of T3 and T4. Another hormone, called calcitonin is produced in your thyroid gland. Calcitonin works with parathyroid hormone, which is made by the parathyroid glands. Together they help to control the amount of calcium in your body, which is important for healthy bones and nerves.

The thyroid gland is in your neck in front of your windpipe. It's quite small and flat and often difficult to see or feel.

thyroid gland

Cancerous tumours can grow through your thyroid gland and sometimes spread to other parts of your body (through your bloodstream or the lymph system) where they may grow and form secondary tumours. This spread of cancer is called metastasis.

Benign tumours aren't cancerous and don't spread to other areas of the body.

There are four main types of thyroid cancer. These are listed below. The papillary and follicular types are sometimes grouped together and are called differentiated thyroid cancer.

  • Papillary thyroid cancer is the most common type of thyroid cancer. It's usually slow growing and is most common in women and in younger people.
  • Follicular thyroid cancer is less common than papillary thyroid cancer and usually affects slightly older people. It can spread to other parts of the body such as the lung or bones.
  • Anaplastic thyroid cancer is also rare. It tends to grow more quickly than other types of thyroid cancer and can be more difficult to treat. About three in 20 people with thyroid cancer have this type. It's more common in older people and women.
  • Medullary thyroid cancer is rare and affects about one in 20 people with thyroid cancer. For around one in every four people with medullary thyroid cancer it's a hereditary condition, which means it's passed down through family generations. It can spread to other parts of body, such as the lungs and bones.

It's also possible to get another type of cancer, called lymphoma in your thyroid gland, although this is rare.

Lumps in the thyroid gland are quite common. For example, nine out of 10 women over the age of 70 will have a thyroid lump. If you have thyroid cancer, you may have some of the following symptoms:

  • a painless lump in your neck, which gradually gets bigger
  • difficulty swallowing
  • breathing problems
  • a hoarse voice

Medullary thyroid cancer can cause other symptoms including diarrhoea and redness of the face.

These symptoms can be caused by problems other than thyroid cancer. If you have any of these symptoms, visit your GP for advice.

The causes of thyroid cancer aren't fully understood at present. There are, however, certain factors that make developing thyroid cancer more likely. The following factors may increase your risk of the disease.

  • History of non-cancerous (benign) thyroid disease, such as an enlarged thyroid or inflammation of the thyroid.
  • Radiotherapy to the neck area, particularly if this was done at a young age.
  • Not enough iodine in the diet.
  • An inherited bowel condition called familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP).
  • Family history of medullary thyroid cancer.

Your GP will ask you about your symptoms and will examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history and arrange initial blood tests. If your GP thinks you may have a thyroid tumour then you will be referred to a doctor who specialises in thyroid cancer for further tests. The main tests may include the following.

  • A blood sample to check, for example, the thyroid hormone levels in your blood.
  • An ultrasound scan of your neck which uses sound waves to produce an image of the thyroid.
  • A biopsy of a lump in your thyroid. A biopsy is a small sample of tissue. Your doctor may use an ultrasound scan to guide a needle to the thyroid lump to take a biopsy. Alternatively, a small operation may be performed under general or local anaesthesia, where a small cut is made in your neck and a biopsy is taken from the thyroid gland This will be sent to a laboratory for testing to find out if the cells are benign (not cancerous) or cancerous.

The results of your tests will decide the treatment you need. If you have cancer, you may need to have other tests to assess if the cancer has spread. The process of finding out the stage of a cancer is called staging.

The treatment for thyroid cancer depends on the type, size and stage of thyroid cancer you have.

Surgery

An operation to remove all or part of the thyroid gland is the most common treatment for thyroid cancer. This is called a thyroidectomy. Lymph glands near your thyroid gland may also be removed. The type of surgery you have will depend on how far the cancer has spread.

Radioactive iodine treatment

Most people will need to have radioactive iodine treatment after surgery. This is to make sure that all the cancer cells are destroyed. Radioactive iodine is swallowed as a drink or tablet or it can be injected into your body. The thyroid cancer cells take in the radioactive iodine and this kills them, without affecting other cells in your body.

This treatment is given in hospital and you may need to stay there for a few days in a single room. This is because you will remain slightly radioactive for a few days after the treatment and should limit the time you spend with other people.

External radiotherapy

Radiotherapy is a treatment to destroy cancer cells with radiation. A beam of radiation is targeted on the cancerous cells, and shrinks the tumour. It may be the first course of treatment for anaplastic thyroid cancer, or may be used along with radioiodine in other types of thyroid cancer. Radiotherapy can also be used to treat a tumour, or part of a tumour that can't be removed with surgery. Radiotherapy is given as a course of treatment over a number of weeks.

Chemotherapy medicines

Chemotherapy uses medicines to destroy cancer cells. It's not often used to treat thyroid cancer but may be used if the cancer has spread or comes back after other treatment.

After your treatment

If you have had surgery to remove your thyroid gland, or if you have had some of the other treatments for thyroid cancer, you will need to take hormone replacement medicines for life. This is to replace the hormones that would have naturally been in your body if your thyroid gland was working normally.

You will need have regular check-ups with your doctor to make sure you are healthy and to spot any signs of the cancer returning.

Question: Will I need follow-up appointments once my thyroid gland has been removed?

 

Answer: Yes, you will need to have regular tests and check-ups, possibly for several years. These will check that the thyroid cancer has been treated successfully and hasn't returned.

 

Explanation: You will need to have a blood test four to five months after surgery to remove your thyroid gland to check how much thyroglobulin protein is in your blood. This test will then be repeated every six to 12 months.

Thyroglobulin is produced by a healthy thyroid gland to make thyroid hormones, but it's also produced by papillary or follicular thyroid cancer cells. Once you have had your thyroid gland removed and radioactive iodine has destroyed any remaining cancer cells, your body shouldn't produce any more thyroglobulin. A blood test should show that you have only a very low level of thyroglobulin in your bloodstream, or none at all.

Measuring the change in your thyroglobulin levels over a period of time is more useful than a single blood test. If the blood tests show that your thyroglobulin levels are rising after a thyroidectomy, this may be because you still have some cancer cells in your body. You may be given a radioactive iodine scan to see if any cancer cells are present. After the radioactive iodine scan, you may need further treatment to remove the cancerous or normal thyroid cells.

If the radioactive iodine scan doesn't find any cancer cells, but you still have thyroglobulin in your blood, this may be because the surgery failed to remove all of your healthy thyroid gland cells.

Radioactive iodine scans don't always detect thyroid cells so you may need to have a PET/CT scan. This uses two sorts of imaging at the same time - positron emission tomography (PET) and computerised tomography (CT) - to provide images of your body and detect changes in cells that could be cancerous.

For the PET part, you will be given an injection of a small amount of a radioactive substance (usually a form of sugar) and then the CT uses X-rays and a computer to create detailed images (scans) of the inside of your body.

 

Question: Do levothyroxine tablets cause side-effects?

 

Answer: Levothyroxine tablets return your natural hormone levels to a healthy level if your thyroid gland has been removed. They are unlikely to cause side-effects unless you're given too much of the hormone. However, levothyroxine can interact with various other medicines.

 

Explanation: Side-effects are the unwanted effects of taking a medicine. If you have side-effects, it's important to talk to your doctor or the healthcare professional who prescribed your medicine before you stop taking it.

Thyroxine is a hormone produced by the thyroid gland. It helps your body work at the best pace to keep you in good health. If your thyroid gland has been removed or is underactive, you will no longer produce thyroxine and you will need replacement hormones. Levothyroxine tablets, taken every day, will provide your body with the thyroxine it needs to stay healthy.

Levothyroxine tablets can also prevent papillary or follicular thyroid cancer from coming back, as they stop your body from producing thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH). TSH usually stimulates the thyroid gland to produce more thyroid hormones, but also encourages thyroid cancer cells to grow.

It's important to take levothyroxine regularly as without it you will develop symptoms of an underactive thyroid gland. These symptoms include gaining weight and feeling cold and tired.

Most people take levothyroxine as a tablet once a day, usually in the morning. The exact dose varies from person to person, but is usually between 50 and 200mcg a day. You may start with a low dose of 25mcg a day). It can take a few months to get the dose right. You will probably have regular check-ups with your GP to make sure you're taking the right dose of thyroid hormone replacement.

As long as the levothyroxine dose is suitable for you, you shouldn't have any side-effects. However, very high doses can cause symptoms such as diarrhoea, being sick, chest pain, muscle cramps and sweating. If you have any of these symptoms, speak to your GP. Reducing the dose should stop these side-effects.

Levothyroxine can interact with other medicines you're taking, for example, warfarin and amiodarone. The amount of levothyroxine getting into your bloodstream may be reduced by antacids (medicines you take for indigestion or heartburn), iron tablets and some other medicines. Always tell your GP or pharmacist if you're taking other medicines while you're taking levothyroxine.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

 

Question: Will surgery for thyroid cancer affect my voice or cause any other side-effects?

 

Answer: Surgery to remove all or part of your thyroid gland (thyroidectomy) may cause changes in your voice such as hoarseness. The risk of this being permanent is rare. The level of calcium in your blood may also be low for a short period of time because the parathyroid glands that control this lie near to your thyroid gland and may be bruised during surgery.

 

Explanation: Your thyroid gland lies just in front of your voice box (larynx) and vocal cords. Sometimes removing your thyroid gland can damage the nerves supplying your voice box. This may make your voice sound hoarse and weak for a few weeks or even months after the operation. You may also find it difficult to make high-pitched sounds, which can affect your singing voice.

These voice problems affect about one in every 250 people who have this operation. In a very small number of people, the voice changes can be permanent.

Your parathyroid glands are small delicate glands found behind your thyroid gland. Sometimes these can get damaged during the operation to remove your thyroid gland.

The parathyroid glands control the level of calcium in your blood. If they are damaged, your calcium levels may fall. This can cause twitching or jerking muscles. You may also feel tingling in some parts of your body, including your hands and fingers.

Low calcium levels affect three out of every 10 people who have a thyroidectomy. Usually low calcium levels are temporary and the parathyroid glands will start working again. However, if a blood test shows that your calcium levels continue to be low, you will probably be prescribed calcium supplements (and sometimes extra vitamin D) until they return to a healthy level.


  • Source
    • Thyroid cancer: risks and causes. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Types of thyroid cancer. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • The thyroid gland and thyroid cancer. Royal College of Physicians, 2007.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • Thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Thyroid cancer symptoms. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Guidelines for the management of thyroid cancer. British Thyroid Association and Royal College of Physicians, 2007.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • External radiotherapy. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Follow-up after treatment for thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • UK guidelines for the use of thyroid function tests. British Thyroid Association, 2006.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • Thyroid hormone replacement after surgery for thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 58th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, September 2009
    • Hypothyroidism - management. What drug interactions can occur with levothyroxine? Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Life after thyroid surgery. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009

You might also like

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is used to destroy many different types of cancer at various stages. Chemotherapy medicines can stop cancer cells dividing and reproducing. Your healthy cells can repair the damage caused by chemotherapy, but cancer cells can't and eventually die.

Read more

Hay fever and allergic rhintis

Hay fever is one of the most common allergic conditions. Most people who suffer from hay fever are under 40, and the condition gradually decreases with age.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

甲狀腺癌

女性在3050歲期間患甲狀腺癌的風險相對穩定,但其後風險便會下降;男性患此症的風險則一直隨着年齡提高,直至75歲為止。南亞裔婦女患甲狀腺癌的風險特別高。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

甲狀腺是內分泌腺體,負責製造通過血液運行全身的荷爾蒙。荷爾蒙是身體製造的化學物,有助控制細胞及器官機能,又稱通訊化學物。

甲狀腺製造的荷爾蒙主要包括甲狀腺素(T4)及三碘甲狀腺氨酸(T3)。這兩種荷爾蒙主導身體處理和使用熱能的速度,即所謂新陳代謝率。T3T4水平偏差常會引起甲狀腺機能亢進(甲亢)和甲狀腺機能低下(甲低)。除此之外,甲狀腺還會製造另一種荷爾蒙,稱為降血鈣素,它與副甲狀腺製造的副甲狀腺荷爾蒙一同控制人體內的鈣量,維持骨骼及神經系統健全。

甲狀腺位於頸部氣管前方,腺體扁小,平常難以觀察及觸摸到。

甲狀腺

甲狀腺的癌腫瘤可能會穿過腺體,擴散到身體其他部位(通過血管或淋巴系統),在該處生長和形成繼發性腫瘤,這種擴散稱為癌轉移。

良性腫瘤指非癌性而不會擴散到身體其他部位。

甲狀腺癌分為以下四大類,其中乳頭狀和濾泡狀甲狀腺癌有時會合併為一類,稱為分化甲狀腺癌:

  • 乳頭狀甲狀腺癌是最常見的甲狀腺癌,腫瘤生長速度一般很緩慢,最常見於女性及年青人。
  • 濾泡狀甲狀腺癌不及乳頭狀甲狀腺癌常見,一般只見於年齡較大人士。這種甲狀腺癌可擴散到身體其他部位,例如肺部或骨骼。
  • 退行發育甲狀腺癌亦很罕見,生長速度往往比其他類型甲狀腺癌快,治療有一定難度。每20名甲狀腺癌患者中約三人患有此症,其中長者及女性較多。
  • 髓質性甲狀腺癌很罕見,每20名甲狀腺癌患者中只約一名患有此症,而每四名髓質性甲狀腺癌患者中約一名屬於遺傳性,即家族世代遺傳。這種癌症可擴散到身體其他部位,例如肺部或骨骼。

此外甲狀腺還可能出現另一種癌症,稱為淋巴瘤,但病例甚罕有。

甲狀腺出現腫塊很常見,例如每1070歲以上婦女中有九名也有甲狀腺腫塊。甲狀腺癌的徵狀如下:

  • 頸部有無痛腫塊,漸漸變大
  • 吞嚥困難
  • 呼吸困難
  • 聲音沙啞

髓質性甲狀腺癌可能另有其他徵狀,包括腹瀉及面紅。

以上徵狀不一定是甲狀腺癌引致。如有察覺應請教醫生。

醫學界尚未確實掌握甲狀腺癌的成因,但某些因素會增加患甲狀腺癌的機會。以下人士患甲狀腺癌的風險相對偏高:

  • 以往曾患非癌性(良性)甲狀腺疾病的人士,例如甲狀腺腫大或發炎。
  • 頸部曾做放射性治療,特別是年輕患者。
  • 日常飲食碘攝取量不足。
  • 一種名為家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症的遺傳腸疾病患者。
  • 有髓質性甲狀腺癌家族遺傳病史的人士。

醫生會詢問您的徵狀和為您檢查,亦會詢問您的病歷和安排初步驗血。如醫生認為病人患上甲狀腺癌,或會轉介患者到甲狀腺癌專科醫生作進一步檢查。最常見的檢查包括:

  • 驗血檢查血液中甲狀腺荷爾蒙水平等。
  • 頸部超聲波掃描,即透過聲波產生甲狀腺的造影。
  • 甲狀腺腫塊活組織切片檢查:活組織切片指切除一小片組織。醫生會藉着超聲波掃描導入刺針,抽取甲狀腺腫塊的活組織,此外亦可全身或局部麻醉進行小手術,在頸部開切小口,抽取甲狀腺腫塊的活組織。活組織會交送化驗所化驗,以確定細胞屬良性(非癌性)或癌性。

醫生會根據患者的檢查結果選擇適當的治療。若腫瘤屬癌性,患者可能需要接受其他檢測,評估癌細胞是否已擴散。評估癌症發展階段的程序稱為癌症分期。

甲狀腺癌的治療方法視乎甲狀腺腫瘤的類型、大小及分期而定。

手術

治療甲狀腺癌,最常用的方法是全部或部份切除甲狀腺,即甲狀腺切除術(Thyroidectomy)。甲狀腺周圍的淋巴腺亦可能一併切除。具體的手術形式視乎癌症擴散程度而定。

 

放射性碘療法(Radioactive Iodine Treatment)

大部分患者手術後都需要接受放射性碘療法,以確保殺滅所有癌細胞。放射性碘可採用藥水或藥片形式,亦可注射到病人體內。甲狀腺癌細胞攝取放射性碘後便會死亡,身體其他細胞則不會受損。放射性碘治療是住院服務,患者或要入住單人病房數天,因為治療後數天患者的輻射性會偏高,所以不應長時間與他人接觸。

 

體外放射性治療(External Radiotherapy)

放射性治療是透過輻射殺死癌細胞,即用輻射束瞄準癌細胞發射,令腫瘤縮小。這可以用作退行發育甲狀腺癌的第一線治療,亦可配合放射性碘療法治療其他類型的甲狀腺癌,此外亦可治療無法以手術切除的腫瘤或部分腫瘤。放射性治療是一個療程,通常為期數星期。

 

化療藥物(Chemotherapy Medicines)

化療是利用藥物毀滅癌細胞,但甲狀腺癌病例一般較少採用這種療法,除非癌細胞已擴散或接受其他療法後復發。

 

治療後

患者切除甲狀腺或接受其他甲狀腺癌治療後,必須終身服用荷爾蒙補充藥物,以替代甲狀腺正常應製造的荷爾蒙。

患者並要定期覆診,確保健康狀況良好及查找是否有癌症復發跡象。

問:切除甲狀腺後要覆診嗎?

 

答:要,您應定期接受檢測和覆診,為期大概數年。醫生會檢查甲狀腺癌的治療是否成功,而且沒有復發。

切除甲狀腺的患者應在手術後四至五個月驗血,檢測血液甲狀腺球蛋白水平。驗血檢查應每六至12個月做一次。

健康的甲狀腺會產生甲狀腺球蛋白,用於製造甲狀腺荷爾蒙,但乳頭狀或濾泡狀甲狀腺癌細胞也會製造甲狀腺球蛋白。病人切除甲狀腺並接受放射性碘療法殺滅任何殘餘癌細胞後,身體便不應再製造甲狀腺球蛋白,所以驗血應顯示血液甲狀腺球蛋白水平極低或甚至全無甲狀腺球蛋白。

患者宜在一段長時間內定期監察甲狀腺球蛋白水平,這比只做一次驗血成效更好。假如驗血結果顯示甲狀腺切除手術後甲狀腺球蛋白水平上升,可能是因為體內尚有癌細胞,醫生或會安排做放射性碘掃描,查找任何癌細胞。完成掃描後,患者可能要再接受治療,以清除癌性或正常甲狀腺細胞。

若放射性碘掃描沒有發現任何癌細胞,但患者血液依然有甲狀腺球蛋白,原因可能是手術並未完全切除所有健康的甲狀腺細胞。

放射性碘掃描未必可發現甲狀腺細胞,所以醫生或會建議做正電子/電腦雙融掃描(PET/CT Scan),即同時使用兩種造影技術,製造體內造影,探測可能屬癌性的細胞變化。

進行正電子掃描(PET)需注射少量放射性物質(通常為糖劑),電腦斷層掃描(CT)則透過X光及電腦產生體內造影(掃描)

 

問:左甲狀腺素(Levothyroxine)藥片會產生副作用嗎?

 

答:病人切除甲狀腺後,服用左甲狀腺素藥片可以令自然荷爾蒙恢復健康水平。若非荷爾蒙劑量過多,一般不會有副作用,但左甲狀腺素與其他藥物同服則可能產生交互作用。

副作用指服藥後的不良反應。病人如對藥物有副作用,必須告知處方的醫生或專業醫護人員,不應自行停藥。

甲狀腺素是甲狀腺製造的荷爾蒙,可確保身體以最佳的進度運作,維持健康良好。若甲狀腺切除或功能減退,便無法製造甲狀腺素,此時病人需要補充荷爾蒙。每日服用左甲狀腺素藥片可提供必要的甲狀腺素,維持身體健康。

左甲狀腺素藥片亦可抑制促甲狀腺激素(甲促素),從而預防乳頭狀和濾泡狀甲狀腺癌復發。甲促素通常會刺激甲狀腺製造更多甲狀腺荷爾蒙,但同時亦會促進癌細胞生長。

患者必須定時服食左甲狀腺素藥片,否則可能出現甲狀腺功能減退徵狀,包括體重上升,怕冷和疲倦。

一般患者每天只需服用一片左甲狀腺素藥片,通常是早上服用。具體劑量因人而異,但一般每天介乎50200mcg(微克)。開始時每天可能只服25mcg(微克)的低劑量。有時候病人要服藥數月才可調節到適當的劑量,所以應定期覆診,確保甲狀腺荷爾蒙補充劑量理想。

只要左甲狀腺素藥片適合病人,便不會產生任何副作用,但若劑量極高則會引致不適,例如腹瀉、嘔吐、胸痛、肌肉抽搐和出汗。假如有上述徵狀,應請教醫生,調低劑量或有幫助。

左甲狀腺素與其他藥物同服或會產生交互作用,例如華法林(Warfarin)和胺碘酮(Amiodarone),此外抗酸藥(紓緩消化不良或胃灼熱的藥物)、鐵質藥片和某些其他藥物也會令進入血液的左甲狀腺素份量減少。服食左甲狀腺素的病人如同時服用其他藥物,必須告知醫生或藥劑師。

請諮詢醫生意見,並詳細閱讀藥物隨附的說明資料。

 

問:甲狀腺癌手術會否影響嗓音或引起其他副作用?

 

答:病人完全或部分切除甲狀腺(甲狀腺切除術)後嗓音或會發生變化,例如聲音沙啞,但一般不會永久改變,此外血鈣水平亦會暫時偏低,原因是負責控制血鈣的副甲狀腺很接近甲狀腺,手術中可能碰傷。

甲狀腺位於聲匣(喉部)和聲帶前方,有時候切除甲狀腺會損及連接聲匣的神經,以致手術後數周或甚至數月聲音沙啞微弱,難以發出高音,歌唱效果不佳。

250名接受這種手術的病人中,約有一名會出現這個問題,當中少數人的聲音會永久改變。

副甲狀腺是甲狀腺後方的一個幼小腺體,手術期間容易受損。

副甲狀腺負責控制血鈣水平,一旦受損鈣水平便會下降,導致肌肉抽搐或痙攣,此外病人身體某些部位或有針刺感,例如手和指頭。

10名接受甲狀腺切除手術的病人中約三名出現低鈣情況,通常只屬暫時性,副甲狀腺不久即會恢復機能。但若驗血結果顯示鈣水平持續偏低,醫生便會處方鈣補充劑(有時會額外補充維他命D),直至鈣水平回復正常為止。


  • 來源
    • Thyroid cancer: risks and causes. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Types of thyroid cancer. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • The thyroid gland and thyroid cancer. Royal College of Physicians, 2007.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • Thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Thyroid cancer symptoms. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Guidelines for the management of thyroid cancer. British Thyroid Association and Royal College of Physicians, 2007.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • External radiotherapy. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Follow-up after treatment for thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • UK guidelines for the use of thyroid function tests. British Thyroid Association, 2006.www.british-thyroid-association.org
    • Thyroid hormone replacement after surgery for thyroid cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 58th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, September 2009
    • Hypothyroidism - management. What drug interactions can occur with levothyroxine? Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 30 November 2009
    • Life after thyroid surgery. Cancer Research UK.www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 30 November 2009

相關文章

化療

化療在不同病期對多種癌症進行殺滅,適用於不同病期,化療藥物可制止癌細胞分裂繁殖。患者體內的健康細胞可修復化療造成的損害,而癌細胞則不能,所以最終會死亡。

閱讀更多

花粉熱與鼻敏感

花粉熱是最普遍的敏感性疾病。大部分患有花粉熱的人年齡不超過40歲。發病的機會隨年齡而減少。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。