Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) is a condition that causes fatigue severe enough to interfere with a person's normal life. It is the term used to describe what used to be known as ME (myalgic encephalomyelitis).

In the past, doctors tended to believe that chronic fatigue syndrome was related to depression and that the symptoms were "all in the mind." But most experts now agree that chronic fatigue syndrome is a distinct disease with physical symptoms. Although poorly understood, CFS is real and can be disabling for many people who have it. It can affect any age group including school children and the elderly, but it most commonly affects young adults. Chronic fatigue syndrome is most commonly seen in female ages 30 to 50.

The cause of CFS is unknown but can't be passed from person to person.

Some people appear to develop CFS after a viral or bacterial infection, though it is not the same as the normal fatigue that often follows immediately after a bad infection like ‘flu. Glandular fever is a common trigger.

CFS may also follow distressing life events such as bereavement, divorce, or redundancy.

Some doctors believe CFS may be linked to disorders that affect the bodys natural defence system (immune system) and to abnormalities of the hormonal (endocrine) system. There is evidence indicating that CFS involves the nervous system as well. However, the exact significance of these factors in chronic fatigue syndrome, if any, is not clear, as there is no definite scientific evidence.

Some doctors believe that there is a strong psychiatric or psychological element to CFS. They claim that many cases may be depression in another form.

The main symptom of CFS is a new, severe fatigue that lasts for over six months and does not improve after rest. It is disabling all or most of the time. Even normal physical activity exacerbates the feeling of tiredness.

People who have CFS may also have other symptoms such as:

  • forgetfulness, memory loss, confusion, or difficulty concentrating,
  • sore throat,
  • tender lymph nodes in the neck or armpits,
  • muscle pain,
  • joint pain without redness or swelling,
  • headaches,
  • unrefreshing sleep (waking up feeling tired or unrested) or trouble getting to sleep,
  • fatigue that lasts more than 24 hours after exercise or exertion at a level that the person was previously able to manage without fatigue.

Other symptoms may include:

  • feeling hot or feverish even though temperature may be normal
  • sensitivity to light or sound
  • orthostatic hypotension, which causes light-headedness or dizziness as a result of a drop in blood pressure when standing or sitting up from a reclining position.
When a doctor examines people with CFS, they have no physical abnormalities. Diagnosis of CFS is made by taking a medical history, and by ruling out other possible conditions. Blood tests may help to rule out other illnesses, and in people with CFS the results will be negative. There is no test that diagnoses CFS positively.

Often, simply making the diagnosis of CFS and explaining what this means will help the person affected enormously. It is important to be aware that the cause of CFS remains a mystery and that there is no simple cure. Recovery may take months, or even years, but most patients do recover.

With chronic fatigue syndrome, treating both physical and psychological factors is important. To help with the physical aspects, the following may be beneficial:

  • Gentle exercise - getting regular gentle exercise helps relieve and control symptoms. Most people with CFS can only tolerate light exercise, so follow a "graded exercise programme", which means starting with an activity that can be done comfortably, and increasing the level of activity every few days. Getting too much exercise or increasing the level of exercise too quickly can make symptoms worse.
  • Painkillers - Pain relievers such as ibuprofen, aspirin or paracetamol may help relieve muscle and joint pain, headaches, and other physical symptoms. Some prescribed painkillers can become addictive and should only be used in the most severe cases on a short-term basis. Long-term use of any medication should be under the supervision of a doctor.
  • Daily routine - Adjusting the daily schedule to improve sleep habits may help.

To help with the psychological aspects, the following may help:

  • Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) – this is the most successful treatment for CFS. CBT helps people identify how their thoughts affect their behaviour. It can help people to develop ways to cope more successfully with fatigue and other symptoms of CFS. Referral to a psychiatrist for this treatment does not mean that the doctor believes it is "all in the mind".
  • Antidepressants – these may be beneficial for some people with CFS where depression is a significant symptom.

Complementary treatments

Complementary medicine such as relaxation therapy, acupuncture, special diets or mineral supplements may alleviate symptoms. However, although some people may find them useful, there is no scientific evidence that these are effective.

People with CFS need a regular review every couple of months by either a specialist or their general practitioner. If any new symptoms appear, treatment will need to be reassessed. For people with CFS who do not respond to these treatments may be referred to a team including a physician, psychiatrist, psychologist, occupational therapist, physiotherapist and liaison nurse.

With or without treatment, most people who have CFS find that their symptoms get better over time and that they are able to resume normal daily activity within 1 to 2 years. Some people will continue to have symptoms for many years.

The ME Association
http://www.meassociation.org.uk/

National ME Centre
http://www.nmec.org.uk/

Chronic Fatigue and Immune Dysfunction Syndrome Association of America, Inc.
 www.cfids.org

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Infectious Diseases
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/diseases/cfs/index.htm

You might also like

Common vaginal infections

Itchiness, soreness and a vaginal discharge can be signs of infection. However, it is quite normal and healthy for women of childbearing age to have a vaginal discharge.

Read more

Depression treatments

Depression is increasingly common in our society, but unlike other common illnesses, many people do not seek help to deal with it.

Read more

Healthy weight for adults

Weighing too much or too little can damage your health and cause serious conditions such as heart disease and cancer.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

慢性疲勞綜合症

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

慢性疲勞綜合症可導致患者嚴重疲累,以致影響個人的正常生活。慢性疲勞綜合症亦稱為「肌痛性腦脊髓炎」。

以往,醫生一般相信慢性疲勞綜合症跟抑鬱症有關,出現的都是與精神問題有關的病徵。但現在大多數專家均認同慢性疲勞綜合症屬於獨立病症,帶有生理上的病徵。雖然人們對慢性疲勞綜合症普遍缺乏認識,但此病卻確實存在,而且會嚴重影響患者。任何年齡的人士,包括學童及長者,都有機會患上此病症,其中以青年人,尤其是年齡介乎30至50歲的女性,最為普遍。

 慢性疲勞綜合症的成因未明,但不會透過人體傳染。

一些人在病毒或細菌感染後,表面看似患上此病,但其實慢性疲勞綜合症有別於一般較嚴重的感染(如流感)後的疲累。腺熱是此病常見的誘因。

慢性疲勞綜合症可能會於經歷喪親、離婚或被革職等不愉快的事件後出現。

一些醫生認為慢性疲勞綜合症可能跟人體的自然免疫系統疾病以及荷爾蒙系統的問題有關。有證據顯示慢性疲勞綜合症跟神經系統也有關係。可是,由於至今尚未發現有關的科學證據,因此我們仍未能確定這些因素跟慢性疲勞綜合症實際上有多少關連。

部分醫生認為慢性疲勞綜合症與精神和心理因素有著莫大關係。他們指出有許多病例其實可能是另一種形式的抑鬱症。

慢性疲勞綜合症的主要病徵是出現前所未有的嚴重疲勞,而且這情況維持超過六個月,即使休息過後也沒法改善。患者的生活會因而時刻或經常受到影響,甚至進行正常活動後也會加重疲倦的感覺。

慢性疲勞綜合症的患者也會有其他病徵,包括:

  • 健忘、喪失記憶、精神紊亂或難以集中精神
  • 咽喉痛
  • 頸部或腋下淋巴結疼痛
  • 肌肉痛
  • 關節痛,但沒有紅腫
  • 頭痛
  • 睡眠後仍精神不振(醒來後仍感到疲倦,或感覺像未曾休息),或難以入睡
  • 進行以往做完後不會感到勞累的運動或費力活動後感到疲倦,而且疲倦的感覺持續超過24小時。

其他病徵包括:

  • 體溫正常,但有發熱或發燒的感覺
  • 對光線或聲音敏感
  • 直立性低血壓,即患者由蹲著身子站起來或坐起來時,血壓會下降,導致患者輕微頭痛或暈眩。
醫生替慢性疲勞綜合症患者進行身體檢查,會發覺他們並沒有生理問題。診斷慢性疲勞綜合症,主要是透過分析患者的病歷和排除患有其他疾病的可能性。血液測試可幫助排除患有其他疾病的可能性。慢性疲勞綜合症患者的血液測試結果會呈陰性。目前尚未有任何測試可藉呈現陽性結果來診斷慢性疲勞綜合症。

直接將診斷告訴慢性疲勞綜合症患者,並向患者解釋此病症,往往會對他有極大幫助。患者要知道慢性疲勞綜合症的成因仍然未明,而且也沒有簡易的治療方法。患者可能要數個月,甚至數年的時間才可痊癒,但大部分患者都能康復。

治療慢性疲勞綜合症的要訣是,必須對生理和心理的因素同樣重視。生理方面有以下建議:

  • 輕柔的運動:定時做輕柔的運動可幫助患者減輕和控制病徵。大部分慢性疲勞綜合症患者只能做輕量的運動,所以應按照分級的運動計劃進行︰開始時作一些較容易的運動,每隔數天增加運動的強度。運動過量或迅速增加運動量都會令病情惡化。
  • 止痛藥:如異丁苯乙酸、亞士匹靈或撲息熱痛,可幫助減輕肌肉痛、關節痛、頭痛以及其他生理病徵。有些經處方的止痛藥會令人上癮,只適宜在最嚴重的病例中短暫使用。如需長期使用藥物,必須由醫生監督。
  • 日常習慣:調整每天的活動時間表,以改善睡眠的習慣。

心理方面有以下建議:

  • 認知行為治療:這是治療慢性疲勞綜合症最有效的療法。認知行為治療幫助患者明白他們的思想怎樣影響他們的行為,從而更有效地幫助患者找出應付疲勞以及其他病徵的方法。患者如被轉介到精神科醫生接受此治療,並不代表醫生把病徵全盤歸因於精神有問題。
  • 抗抑鬱症藥物:對於有明顯抑鬱症病徵的慢性疲勞症患者有幫助。

補充性治療

補充性治療,如放鬆治療、針炙、特別的食療或礦物質補充劑,可能會減輕病徵。有個別患者認為這些方法對他們有幫助,但至今仍未有科學根據證明它們確有療效。

慢性疲勞綜合症患者每隔數個月便需到專科醫生或普通科醫生處覆診。如果出現任何新的病徵,醫生便要重新考慮治療方法。對藥物沒有任何反應的慢性疲勞綜合症患者,或會被轉介到一隊包括醫生、精神科醫生、心理醫生、職業治療師、物理治療師和護士的醫療隊伍。

無論有否接受治療,大部分慢性疲勞綜合症患者的病徵會隨時間而得到改善,他們都能於一至兩年內恢復正常生活。不過,也有些患者會持續多年受此病的病徵困擾。

The ME Association
http://www.meassociation.org.uk/
National ME Centre
http://www.nmec.org.uk/

Chronic Fatigue and Immune Dysfunction Syndrome Association of America, Inc.
 www.cfids.org

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Infectious Diseases
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/diseases/cfs/index.htm




本資訊謹用作參考用途,如欲索取詳細意見及專業建議,請向您的私人醫生查詢。

相關文章

常見的陰道感染

痕癢、疼痛和陰道分泌物都是陰道感染的表徵。可是,處於生育年齡的女性有陰道分泌物是健康和正常的。

閱讀更多

治療抑鬱症

在香港,患上抑鬱症的人有上升的趨勢,但很多抑鬱症患者不會像其他疾病的患者般尋求別人的幫助和適當的治療。

閱讀更多

成人健康體重

體重過重或過輕都會危害健康和引致心臟病及癌症等嚴重疾病,因此大家應多加注意,保持健康體重。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。