Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Circumcision

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Your specialist has recommended that you have a circumcision and this factsheet provides some standard information and advice about the procedure. However, you should always follow the instructions of your own specialist.
If you have any unanswered questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to ask your specialist or nurse for more information. It is natural to feel anxious, but often knowing what to expect can help.

 

Circumcision is a simple operation to remove the foreskin from the penis. The foreskin is the sleeve of skin around the tip (glans) of the penis.

The procedure is routinely carried out as a day case, with no overnight stay. It is usually performed under a general anaesthetic - this leaflet describes this method.

Circumcision can also be successfully performed under local anaesthetic. You do not have to fast beforehand and can generally go home sooner than after a general anaesthetic.

Your specialist or hospital will give you some information about when and how to check into hospital.

In some cases, you may be invited to attend a pre-admission clinic for some routine tests.

Before you come into hospital your circumcision, you will be asked to:

  • Have a bath or shower at home on the day of your admission
  • Remove any jewellery
  • Follow the fasting instructions given by your specialist or hospital.
  • Typically, you must not eat or drink for about six hours before a general anaesthetic. However, some anaesthetists allow occasional sips of water until two hours before

When you arrive at the hospital, a nurse will explain how you will be cared for during your stay and will perform some simple tests such as checking your pulse and blood pressure and testing your urine. Your surgeon and anaesthetist will also visit you. This is a good time to ask any outstanding questions about your treatment.

Consent

You will be given a consent form to sign. By doing this, you confirm that you understand what the procedure involves, including the benefits and risks, and give your permission for it to go ahead.

Please refer to further information below regarding the possible side-effects and complications of this procedure. You need to know about these in order to give your informed consent.

About the operation

Once you are soundly asleep, the foreskin is pulled forward and cut so that it can be removed. The skin is stitched together, and a loose dressing is applied. The stitches are dissolvable and do not need to be removed. The operation usually takes 10 to 20 minutes.

At the end of the operation, and before you wake up, the surgeon will give you a long-acting local anaesthetic, either by injection, or by applying gel to the area. This makes the operation site pain-free for a few hours after surgery.

Back on the ward

You will need to rest on your bed until the effects of the anaesthetic have passed. The local anaesthetic will last for up to eight hours. If you are sore after this, you may require painkillers, which can usually be taken every four to six hours. Please discuss this with your nurse, surgeon or anaesthetist.

When you feel ready, you can begin to drink and eat, starting with clear fluids such as water or apple juice.

Going home

If your operation has been planned as a day case, you will be able to go home once you have made a full recovery from the anaesthetic. It is also best if you try to pass urine before you go home.

You will need to arrange for someone to drive you home and then stay with you for the first 24 hours. If you stay overnight following your operation, you will asked to be ready to leave your room the next morning.

Before you are discharged, the nurse will advise you about caring for surgical wounds, hygiene and bathing. The nurse will also give you a contact telephone number for the hospital, in case you need to ask for any further advice.

After you return home

If you need them, continue taking painkillers as advised by the hospital. A general anaesthetic can temporarily affect your coordination and reasoning skills, so you should avoid driving, drinking alcohol, using power tools, making any vital decisions or signing legal documents for 24 hours after the operation.

As you will be quite sore, you need to be prepared to take it easy for a few days. Don’t do any strenuous exercise, lifting or carrying.

The day after your operation, try to get out of bed and take regular walks around the house. It is most comfortable to wear loose clothing such as boxer shorts, or a dressing gown with no underpants or trousers, because the rubbing of clothing may make the wound sore. To stop clothes sticking to the operation site, you can apply a little Vaseline.

You should try to keep the area dry for 48 hours after the operation. After this, take warm baths, without adding bubble bath or oils, once or twice a day. It is important to keep the tip of the penis clean to stop it crusting over, which can prevent you from passing urine.

The stitches will dissolve and drop out in the bath over a period of up to three weeks. The wound may bleed slightly or ooze until all the stitches have dissolved, and will take about two weeks to heal.

You should avoid driving for five to seven days, or until you feel could perform an emergency stop without feeling discomfort.

Circumcision is generally a safe surgical procedure. For most people, the benefits in terms of improved symptoms are greater than the disadvantages. However, all surgery does carry some element of risk. This can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

Side-effects

Examples of short-lived side-effects include nausea or vomiting as a result of the general anaesthetic. There is also likely to be some pain, swelling and bruising of the skin around the penis, which may last for several weeks. There may also some be bleeding.

Complications

This is when there are problems during or after the operation. Most people are not affected.

The main possible complications of any surgery are bleeding during or very soon after the operation, infection, and an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic.

Specific complications of circumcision are uncommon but can include infection, which can usually be treated with antibiotics, and excessive bleeding from the operation site, which may require further treatment in theatre.

The chance of complications depends on the exact type of operation you are having and other factors such as your general health. You should ask your surgeon to explain how these risks apply to you.

1. My son is being circumcised. Will the foreskin grow back?

No, your son's foreskin wont grow back.

The foreskin is the sleeve of skin that surrounds the head of the penis. At birth, your son's foreskin will be stuck to the head of his penis, but it gradually separates and can usually be pulled back by the time he is three.

If you choose for your son to have a circumcision, his foreskin will be removed. Once it has been taken away, it can't grow back.

2. Will circumcision protect me against sexually transmitted diseases?

No, having a circumcision won't stop you from getting STIs.

STIs are passed from person to person through unprotected sex. It's thought that having a circumcision may help to reduce the risk of:

  • certain STIs being passed on through heterosexual intercourse (sexual intercourse between a man and woman)
  • passing the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection from a woman to a man
  • passing the genital herpes virus on
  • passing the human papilloma virus (HPV) on – the virus that causes cervical cancer

 

Although circumcision may reduce the risk of you getting certain infections, it doesn't guarantee complete protection. It's therefore important to practise safer sex. You should always use a condom when having sexual intercourse with a new partner.

3. Will circumcision affect my ability to have an erection?

Circumcision shouldn't affect your ability to have an erection, but you may find it painful to start with after the procedure.

Circumcision involves removing the foreskin from your penis. Your penis may feel painful and swollen for about a week after the procedure but it shouldn't affect your ability to have an erection. However, having an erection will be painful for a while because of your healing wound. You should usually wait for around four to six weeks after the procedure before having sex or masturbating. It's also important to know that the nerve endings on your penis that are responsible for sexual arousal won’t be affected after the circumcision.

If you're having problems achieving or sustaining an erection (known as impotence), it's important to look at other factors that could be causing this. Psychological problems such as feeling anxious, stressed or depressed can influence your sex drive and performance. Also, after a circumcision it's possible that you may be concerned about how your penis looks or worried about your partner's reaction.

Lifestyle factors such as smoking and drinking too much alcohol can also affect your ability to get and keep an erection. Alternatively, there may be physical causes such as diabetes, high blood pressure or high cholesterol.

If you have impotence after your circumcision, talk to your GP. He or she will be able to advise you about suitable treatments.

4. Will circumcision cause premature ejaculation?

No, a circumcision shouldn't cause premature ejaculation.

Premature ejaculation is when a man ejaculates sooner then he, or his partner, would like, usually within two minutes. Circumcision shouldn't cause premature ejaculation.

If you're experiencing premature ejaculation and it's causing problems in your relationship, then it's important to look at other factors that could be causing this.

There are medical conditions that can interfere with ejaculation such as changes in your prostate gland, diabetes and neurological disorders. Psychological problems such as feeling anxious or stressed can also influence ejaculation. For example, you may ejaculate sooner than you want to if, during sex, you're in a hurry or scared of being discovered or heard by other people.

If you ejaculate prematurely and it's affecting your relationship with your partner, speak to your GP. He or she will be able to advise you about suitable treatments.

Further information

 

Resources

  • Johnson P. Childhood circumcision. Surgery 2005; 23:338-40. doi:10.1383/surg.2005.23.9.338
  • Manual for early infant male circumcision under local anaesthesia. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published 2010
  • Management of foreskin conditions. British Association of Paediatric Surgeons. www.baps.org.uk, published 2007
  • Male circumcision: guidance for healthcare practitioners. The Royal College of Surgeons of England. www.rcseng.ac.uk, published May 2000
  • The law and ethics of male circumcision – guidance for doctors. British Medical Association. www.bma.org.uk, published November 2007
  • Circumcision (child). British Association of Paediatric Surgeons. www.baps.org.uk, published 2007
  • Lane T, South M. Preputioplasty. J R Soc Med 2003; 96(12):619. doi:10.1258/jrsm.96.12.619
  • Holman JR, Stuessi KA. Adult circumcision. Am Fam Physician 1999; 59(6):151–48. www.aafp.org
  • Impotence or erectile dysfunction. Sexual Advice Association. www.sda.uk.net, published August 2011
  • Ejaculation problems. Sexual Advice Association. www.sda.uk.net, published June 2011
  • Personal communication, Mr Raj Persad, Consultant Urologist, Spire Bristol Hospital, 29 September 2011

You may also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

包皮環切術

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

醫生曾建議你接受包皮環切術,而這內容正為你提供有關手術過程的資料。但無論如何,你應依照醫生的指示。

如果這內容未能解答你所有問題,或者你仍有任何疑慮,請隨時向你的醫生或護士查詢。手術前通常會感到緊張,事先知悉各項細節有助消除疑慮。

包皮環切術是一個將包皮從陰莖切除的簡單手術。包皮是包圍陰莖末端(陰莖頭)的皮膚。

手術會安排在日間進行,病人無需留院。手術一般透過全身麻醉進行。這裏只會介紹上述手術。

包皮環切術也可以透過局部麻醉進行,手術前無需禁食。接受局部麻醉的病人,通常可以比接受全身麻醉的病人早些回家休養。

醫生或院方會告訴你辦理入院手續的時間和方法。在某些情況下,你可能需要先到門診作一些入院前的例行檢查。

到醫院做包皮環切術前,你需要:

  • 於入院當天洗澡
  • 脫下首飾
  • 依照醫生或醫院的指示禁食
  • 一般而言,接受全身麻醉前的6個小時內不可飲食。可是,部分麻醉師會酌量允許病人喝少許清水,直至進行麻醉前的2小時為止。

抵達醫院後,護士會向你說明手術期間及前後的安排,以及為你作一些簡單測試,如檢查脈搏、血壓和進行尿液測試等。醫生和麻醉師會跟你見面,若你對手術尚有任何疑慮,請於此時提出。

同意書

你要簽署一份同意書。證明你明白手術的風險, 好處與壞處 , 並同意進行手術。很多病人會因為知道手術可能帶有風險而感到有點不安,所以你必須充分了解才作出決定。

要知道更多有關手術可能出現的副作用和併發症,請參閱下文。

關於手術的問題

當你熟睡後,醫生會隨即拉出並切割包皮。移除包皮後,醫生會用針線把皮膚縫合,再敷上一層薄薄的葯棉。縫合傷口的針線日後會自動溶解,無需拆除。手術一般需時10分鐘至20分鐘。

手術後,醫生會在你醒來前以注射或敷藥的方式,在動手術的部位進行效力較持久的局部麻醉,使你於手術後的數小時內不會感到痛楚。

手術後

你會由手術室被送回休息室,並在周詳的監察下從麻醉狀態中甦醒過來。然後,你會回到病房,護士會照料你,檢查接受手術的部位,以及定時為你量度血壓和脈搏。

回到病房

你需要臥床休息,直至麻醉藥的效力消失。局部麻醉的效力可長達8小時。如果你之後感到痛楚,可能需要服用止痛劑,一般每4至6小時服食一次。請與護士、醫生和麻醉師商量。

當你精神感到好一些,便可恢復飲食。請先飲用清淡的流質,如水或蘋果汁。

回家

如果你的手術在日間進行,你可在麻醉效力徹底消失後回家。你應在回家前嘗試小解。

我們建議你安排親友陪你回家,並於隨後的24小時陪伴左右。如你在手術後住院,你可準備在第二天早上離開。

出院時,護士會指導你護理縫針位置和保持衛生的方法,也會告訴你洗澡時要注意的事情。護士會給你一個醫院的聯絡電話號碼,作有需要時使用。

回家後

如有需要,你可繼續依照醫院的建議服食止痛藥。全身麻醉或會暫時影響協調和判斷能力,所以你應該在手術後的24小時內,避免駕駛、喝酒、使用費力的工具、作出任何重要的決定和簽署法律文件。

由於你會感到疼痛,你需要休息數天。切勿做劇烈運動、舉重或提重物。

你可嘗試在手術翌日起床活動,並定時在屋內走動。你應穿著寬身衣服,如短運動褲,或沒有內裡或睡褲的睡袍,因為衣服磨擦會令傷口疼痛。你可塗少許凡士林,以防止衣服黏著手術的部位。

你應在手術後的48小時內保持手術位置乾爽。接著,你可每天浸1至2次暖水浴,但不要在浴缸內加入泡泡或油分。你必須保持陰莖的末端清潔,避免結痂,妨礙排尿。

縫合傷口的針線會在3個星期內溶掉,並於洗澡時脫落。傷口會輕微出血或滲出少量液體,直至所有針線溶掉為止。傷口一般要2星期才能痊癒。

你應避免在手術後的5至7天內駕駛,或當剎車時你沒有感到任何不適,才可恢復駕駛。

包皮環切術大致上是一個安全的手術。對大部分人來說,這種手術可改善病徵,好處遠遠大於壞處。不過所有手術都帶有風險,分別為副作用和併發症。

副作用

短期的副作用包括由全身麻醉引起的噁心或嘔吐。手術後陰莖周圍會疼痛、腫脹或出現皮膚瘀傷等,甚至流血。這些現象可能會持續數星期。

併發症

這是手術中或手術後出現的問題,大部分人都不受影響。

部分併發症在任何手術都有機會出現,包括在手術中或手術後出血、受感染,以及對麻醉劑反應過敏。

包皮環切術特有的併發症並不常見,其中包括感染,通常可以抗生素治療;若手術位置過量出血,則可能需再作手術。

出現併發症與否,視乎手術類型及整體健康狀況等其他因素。你應向醫生查詢手術的風險程度。

1. 我的兒子準備割包皮,手術後包皮會再長嗎?  

不會,包皮不會再長。  

包皮是包圍陰莖龜頭的一層皮膚,男孩出生時包皮緊貼龜頭,其後便會漸漸分離,到三歲左右就能往後翻。   如打算讓兒子動手術,包皮便會割除,一旦割去包皮便不能再長回。  

2. 割包皮可預防性病嗎?  

不能,即使割了包皮亦不能預防感染性病。  

性傳染疾病是透過不安全性行為而人傳人。有說割包皮有助減低以下風險:  

  • 某些透過異性性行為(男女性交)傳染的性病
  • 女性將後天免疫力缺乏症病毒傳給男性
  • 傳播生殖器疱疹
  • 傳播人類乳頭狀瘤病毒(導致子宮頸癌的病毒)  

雖然割包皮可能會減低某些感染風險,但卻不能保證完全防護這些疾病,所以最重要是注重性行為安全,與新性伴侶性交必須使用安全套。  

3. 割包皮會影響勃起嗎?  

割包皮應不會影響勃起能力,但完成手術初期勃起或會感到痛楚。  

割包皮手術指切除陰莖的包皮,手術後一星期陰莖或會感到疼痛或腫大,但一般不會妨礙勃起,但由於傷口正在癒合,所以勃起時或會感到痛楚。手術後,病人通常應等候四至六星期方可進行性行為或自慰,另一點值得注意的是割包皮並不會影響引起性衝動的陰莖神經末梢。  

如勃起或維持勃起有困難(即陽萎),必須一併考慮其他因素,這種情況可能是焦慮、壓力或抑鬱等引致,這些心理問題影響性慾和性功能。此外,接受割包皮手術後,病人或會擔心陰莖的外貌改變或伴侶的反應。  

生活因素,例如過量吸煙及喝酒也會影響勃起和耐久度,此外亦可能有生理成因,例如糖尿病、高血壓或高膽固醇。  

病人接受割包皮手術後如出現陽萎,應諮詢醫生,商討如何作適當治療。  

4. 割包皮會造成早洩嗎?  

不會,割包皮不會造成早洩。  

早洩指男性在未達到自己或性伴侶希望射精的時間便射精,通常是不足兩分鐘。割包皮不應造成早洩。  

若有早洩問題且影響到與伴侶的關係,必須同時考慮其他可能的成因。  

有些疾病會干擾男性射精,包括前列腺病變、糖尿病及腦神經疾病等,此外焦慮或壓力等心理問題亦有影響。例如,性交時若很匆忙、害怕被發現或被人聽見,都可能會早洩。  

若有早洩問題且影響到與伴侶的關係,應諮詢醫生,商討如何作適當治療。    

索取更多資料

 

參考資料

  • Johnson P. Childhood circumcision. Surgery 2005; 23:338-40. doi:10.1383/surg.2005.23.9.338
  • Manual for early infant male circumcision under local anaesthesia. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published 2010
  • Management of foreskin conditions. British Association of Paediatric Surgeons. www.baps.org.uk, published 2007
  • Male circumcision: guidance for healthcare practitioners. The Royal College of Surgeons of England. www.rcseng.ac.uk, published May 2000
  • The law and ethics of male circumcision – guidance for doctors. British Medical Association. www.bma.org.uk, published November 2007
  • Circumcision (child). British Association of Paediatric Surgeons. www.baps.org.uk, published 2007
  • Lane T, South M. Preputioplasty. J R Soc Med 2003; 96(12):619. doi:10.1258/jrsm.96.12.619
  • Holman JR, Stuessi KA. Adult circumcision. Am Fam Physician 1999; 59(6):151–48. www.aafp.org
  • Impotence or erectile dysfunction. Sexual Advice Association. www.sda.uk.net, published August 2011
  • Ejaculation problems. Sexual Advice Association. www.sda.uk.net, published June 2011
  • Personal communication, Mr Raj Persad, Consultant Urologist, Spire Bristol Hospital, 29 September 2011

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。