Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Glandular fever

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Glandular fever (also known as infectious mononucleosis) is an infection caused by the Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). This virus belongs to the herpes group, and like other varieties of herpes, it can infect a person without causing any symptoms. It is very common and by the age of 40, most adults carry EBV in their blood, showing they have been infected at some time.

When symptoms do occur, most people recover from glandular fever within a few weeks. In a very small number of cases, however, it can lead to serious complications.

The symptoms are most likely to develop if the infection takes place during adolescence or young adulthood. The virus is contagious - it is passed from one person to another in saliva (hence its popular name the kissing disease). However, kissing is not the only means of spreading the infection. Coughing and sneezing can leave droplets of infected mucus or saliva suspended in the air to be inhaled by other people. Sharing food or drink from the same container as an infected person can also spread the virus. In rare cases, blood transfusions have been known to spread the infection.

Once a person has been infected, the symptoms take about 4-6 weeks to appear. They generally include one or more of the following:

  • A sore throat
  • Swollen tonsils
  • Swollen lymph nodes (glands) in the neck or - less commonly - in the armpits and groin
  • Fever
  • Flu-like symptoms with a temperature, aches and pains, headaches and loss of appetite
  • Fatigue, which may be intense
  • A rash, which is usually not itchy
  • Swollen eyes

Most of these symptoms disappear after 2-4 weeks although the fatigue can last for several weeks or months, and may cause the person affected to feel low or dispirited. Once recovered, however, people do not usually get glandular fever again.

These are very rare but include swelling and possible rupture of the spleen, hepatitis (inflammation of the liver) causing jaundice and anaemia (a deficiency of red blood cells)

If the symptoms suggest you, or your child has glandular fever, consult your GP. Glandular fever can usually be diagnosed with a blood test, known as a Paul Bunnell or Monospot test. If for any reason this test is inconclusive, additional blood tests, such as EBV antibody tests, can be done. In addition, a throat swab (a sample of saliva and mucus taken from the throat) can rule out other throat infections.

There is no specific medical treatment for glandular fever - see advice on home treatment, below. As glandular fever is a viral illness, antibiotics have no effect. The body's own immune system produces antibodies to fight viruses. GP sometimes mistake the symptoms of glandular fever for a bacterial infection and prescribe antibiotics, which can result in a widespread rash.

Occasionally, if the tonsils become enlarged enough to interfere with swallowing or breathing, a stay in hospital and treatment with steroids may be necessary. Surgery is extremely rare and only necessary if the spleen ruptures and has to be removed.

Home treatment:

  • rest at home and drink plenty of fluids, especially water and fruit juices.
  • avoid stress and vigorous exercise, which can delay recovery (for this reason, glandular fever can present a real problem to students at examination time).
  • avoid contact sports for 6-8 weeks as the spleen may be enlarged.

Adults can take paracetamol, ibuprofen or aspirin for fever and headaches, and gargle with aspirin to help reduce the discomfort of a sore throat. Children under 12 must not be given aspirin and recent advice suggests it should be avoided for teenagers too. Paracetamol or ibuprofen formulations are preferable and liquid formulations (eg Panadol or Nurofen) are available for children.

The virus is present in the throat during infection and for up to a year afterwards. Once the infection has passed it tends to remain dormant for a long period although it can reactivate.

There is currently no vaccine to prevent glandular fever. To prevent spreading the virus:

  • Avoid kissing and any close contact with someone who is currently or has recently been infected.
  • Do not share crockery, clothing or towels with someone who is known to have glandular fever.

1. Can glandular fever cause depression?

It's common for people to feel tired and worn out when they have glandular fever. As a result, some people may feel unhappy and depressed for the duration of the illness and for sometime afterwards. There are several things you can do if glandular fever is making you feel depressed.

If you're feeling depressed, it's important that you find a way to share your feelings with a friend, family member or school/college counsellor.

You may not feel well enough to do vigorous exercise, but you should try gentle walks. Eat a well balanced diet and don't smoke or drink excessive amounts of alcohol. Try to take care of yourself by doing things that make you feel good. You should set yourself realistic goals.

If you continue to feel low - for two weeks or more - and have the other symptoms of depression such as intrusive feelings of guilt or worthlessness, poor sleep, and reduced sex drive, you should talk to your GP. There are a number of treatments available for depression including guided self-help and exercise programmes. Antidepressants are available if your depression is severe or has lasted for a long time.

2. My boyfriend has glandular fever and I'm worried that I will get it. When can we start kissing again?

It's hard to predict how long a person will be infectious so there is no easy answer.

Glandular fever is known as the 'kissing disease' as it can be passed though saliva.

People infected with Epstein-Barr virus can spread the infection to others for a number of weeks before they have glandular fever and some can become long term carriers, spreading the virus, without ever developing symptoms themselves.

The time from when your boyfriend is infected with the virus to developing symptoms (the incubation period) can be anything up to six weeks. If you kissed your boyfriend within this time, you will already have been exposed to the virus and so it may be too late to prevent yourself becoming ill.

However, there is also a good chance that you will have only a mild response to the infection, or that you had EBV as a child and so are immune to getting glandular fever.

On balance, if your boyfriend feels well enough to be kissing, you probably shouldn't worry too much about the risk of infection now.

3. Does glandular fever cause chronic fatigue syndrome?

It was previously thought that infection with Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) caused chronic fatigue syndrome. Research now suggests that Epstein-Barr virus (that causes glandular fever) may not cause chronic fatigue syndrome. However, a full recovery from glandular fever can be slow.

The symptoms of glandular fever, including tiredness and feeling under-the-weather, can last for several weeks and usually clear up within four months. In some people the symptoms can last for longer.

The majority of individuals with glandular fever don't develop chronic fatigue syndrome, but a small number of people do go on to develop it. However, there is no clear evidence to suggest that this is a direct result of glandular fever.

Further information

Sources

  • Fauci A, Kasper D, Longo L, editors. Harrison's principles of internal medicine 17th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2008
  • Rea TD, Russo JE, Katon W, et al. Prospective study of the natural history of infectious mononucleosis caused by Epstein-Barr virus. J Am Board Fam Pract. 2001 Jul-Aug;14(4):234-42
  • Longmore M, Wilkinson IB, Turmezei T. Oxford handbook of clinical medicine. 7th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 58th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2008
  • Simon C, Everitt H, Kendrick T. Oxford Handbook of General Practice. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006: 915
  • Murtagh J. General practice. 2nd ed. Sydney: McGraw-Hill, 1997: 171-173
  • Epstein-Barr virus and infectious mononucleosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. www.cdc.gov, accessed 25 October 2009
  • Glandular fever. Health Protection Agency. www.hpa-nw.org.uk, accessed 26 October 2009
  • Depression. The Royal College of Psychiatrists. www.rcpsych.ac.uk, accessed 26 October 2009

You might also like

Antibiotics

Some antibiotics work by killing bacteria. They usually do this by interrupting the chemical processes that the bacteria use to make their cell walls. Penicillin is an example of an antibiotic that works in this way.

Read more

Benefits of exercise

Regular exercise is an important part of a healthy lifestyle. People who lead an active life are more likely to live longer and less likely to develop serious diseases such as heart disease, cancer and diabetes. Exercise not only makes you physically fitter, it also improves your mental health and general sense of wellbeing.

Read more

Healthy Eating

The amount and type of food you eat has a major influence on your health. Eating a well-balanced diet can reduce your risk of various diseases as well as help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

腺熱

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

腺熱,亦稱為「傳染性單核細胞增多症」,是由愛─巴氏病毒(EBV)引致的感染。此病毒屬於疱疹類,像其他疱疹種類一樣,能傳染人而不引起任何病徵。EBV非常普遍,大部分成年人到40歲時,血液中都帶有EBV,顯示他們曾一度受到感染。

病徵出現時,大部分人的腺熱可在數星期內痊癒。但在少數的病例裏,它卻可導致嚴重的併發症。

在青少年或少壯時期感染EBV,病徵會有較大機會出現。腺熱的病毒是透過接觸傳染的,它由一個人的唾液傳給另一個人,所以它俗稱「接吻病」。事實上,接吻並非傳播病毒的唯一途徑,咳嗽和打噴嚏可留下受了感染的黏液和唾液於空氣中,使其他人在呼吸時無意間一併吸入體內。與受感染的人共用器皿分享食物或飲料,也可傳播病毒。此外,也有人曾在輸血時受到感染,但這種情況甚為罕見。

當患者感染了病毒,病徵約需4至6星期後才出現。一般包括以下其中一個或多個症狀:

  • 喉嚨痛
  • 扁桃腺腫脹
  • 頸部淋巴核(「腺」)腫脹,或腋下和腹股溝的淋巴核腫脹(後兩者較少見)
  • 發燒
  • 類似流感的病徵:發燒、疼痛、頭痛和沒有食慾
  • 疲勞(可達嚴重程度)
  • 出疹(通常並不痕癢)
  • 眼睛腫脹

這些病徵大部分會在2至4個星期後消失,但疲勞卻可持續數星期或數月,患者因而會感到情緒低落或沮喪。不過,患者一旦康復,通常都不會再受感染。

腺熱極少出現併發症,但也有例外。可能出現的併發症包括脾臟腫脹甚至破裂,另外還有肝炎以及肝炎導致的黃疸和貧血(缺乏紅血球)。
如果病徵顯示你或你的孩子患上腺熱,你便應找醫生診治。腺熱通常可由血液檢驗診斷出來,稱為「保一邦二氏試驗」或Monospot test。如果基於某些原因,這項檢驗的結未能作準,則可採用其他血液測試,如EBV抗體試驗。除此之外,咽喉拭子(從咽喉取出唾液和黏液的樣本)可以排除其他咽喉感染的可能性。

現時未有專門的醫療法可治療腺熱,請看下文有關家庭療法的建議。由於腺熱是由病毒引起的疾病,使用抗生素不會有效。身體的免疫系統其實會產生抗體來對抗病毒。普通科醫生有時會把腺熱的病徵錯誤判斷為細菌感染而給予抗生素處方,結果可能引致皮疹擴散。

有時候,扁桃腺增大到足以干擾吞嚥或呼吸,患者可能需要住院及接受類固醇治療。施手術的機會微乎其微,除非脾臟破裂了要被切除時,才需要施手術, 否則極少情況需要動手術。

家庭療法

  • 在家裏休息,喝大量飲料,特別是開水和果汁
  • 減低壓力或作劇烈運動,這樣做會拖慢康復的進度。因此,學生若於考試期間患上腺熱,影響可以很大
  • 在6至8星期內避免做需要身體接觸的運動,以免脾臟增大
  • 成人可以用撲息熱痛(paracetamol)、異丁苯丙酸(ibuprofen)或阿士匹靈(aspirin)來治理發燒和頭痛。用阿士匹靈潄口可幫助減低喉痛所帶來的不適。12歲以下的小孩一定不可用阿士匹靈,最近甚至有人建議青年人也應避免使用,他們比較適合服用paracetamol或 ibuprofen。小孩宜服用水劑藥物,如醋氨酚(Panadol)或Nurofen

感染期間,病毒會在咽喉裏停留一段時間,最長可達一年。不過,痊癒之後,病毒儘管有機會活化,實際上往往只會長時間保持休眠狀態。

現在沒有疫苗可預防腺熱,但以下方法可防止傳播腺熱病毒:

  • 避免與最近或曾經受感染的人有任何親密接觸和接吻
  • 不要與患有腺熱的人共用器皿、衣服或毛巾

1. 腺熱會引發抑鬱症嗎?  

腺熱患者通常會感到疲倦乏力。因此,有些人在患病期間及病癒後一段期間可能會感到不快樂和抑鬱。如果您患上腺熱而感到抑鬱,您可參考以下的解決方法:  

如果你感到抑鬱,應設法向朋友、家人或學校輔導員傾訴。  

您未必有足夠體力做劇烈運動,但亦應嘗試去散步。保持均衡飲食,不要吸煙或過量喝酒。小心照顧身體,做有益身心的事,並為自己訂立實際可行的目標。  

如果情緒低落維持兩周或以上,並有抑鬱症的徵狀,例如感到內疚或人生無意義、睡眠質素欠佳和性慾不振,便應向醫生求診。現時有多種方法治療抑鬱症,包括在指導下進行的自我療法和運動訓練。如果抑鬱情況嚴重或持續較長時間,則可服用抗抑鬱藥。  

2. 我的男朋友患腺熱,我擔心會被傳染。我們要待何時才可以再接吻?  

很難預測患者的傳染期會維持多久,這個問題實在不容易解答。  

腺熱是透過唾液傳染的,所以又稱為「接吻病」。  

如果感染愛─巴氏病毒(EBV),在腺熱病發前數星期已有可能會傳播病毒。有些人更會成為長期帶菌者,甚至於未出現病徵時傳播病毒。  

您的男朋友由感染病毒到出現病徵,潛伏期可能長達六個星期。如果您與男朋友在這段期間接吻,您已經接觸到病毒,要預防感染可能已經太遲了。  

不過,這很可能只屬輕微感染,假如您小時候曾經感染過愛─巴氏病毒,便會對腺熱免疫。  

總的來說,如果您的男朋友已康復得有接吻的意欲,便不用過份憂慮受傳染的風險。  

3. 腺熱會否導致慢性疲勞綜合症?  

一般人以往認為感染愛─巴氏病毒會導致慢性疲勞綜合症,但最新的研究指出,愛─巴氏病毒(EBV)(能引致腺熱)未必會導致慢性疲勞綜合症,但患腺熱可能要較長時間才能完全康復。  

腺熱的徵狀如疲倦體弱可能會持續數星期,通常於四個月內能完全康復,但有些患者的徵狀會持續更長時間。 

大部分腺熱患者不會出現慢性疲勞綜合症,只有少數會出現這種徵狀。不過,沒有明確證據顯示腺熱會直接引發慢性疲勞綜合症。  

索取更多資料

來源

  • Fauci A, Kasper D, Longo L, editors. Harrison's principles of internal medicine 17th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2008
  • Rea TD, Russo JE, Katon W, et al. Prospective study of the natural history of infectious mononucleosis caused by Epstein-Barr virus. J Am Board Fam Pract. 2001 Jul-Aug;14(4):234-42
  • Longmore M, Wilkinson IB, Turmezei T. Oxford handbook of clinical medicine. 7th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 58th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2008
  • Simon C, Everitt H, Kendrick T. Oxford Handbook of General Practice. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006: 915
  • Murtagh J. General practice. 2nd ed. Sydney: McGraw-Hill, 1997: 171-173
  • Epstein-Barr virus and infectious mononucleosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. www.cdc.gov, accessed 25 October 2009
  • Glandular fever. Health Protection Agency. www.hpa-nw.org.uk, accessed 26 October 2009
  • Depression. The Royal College of Psychiatrists. www.rcpsych.ac.uk, accessed 26 October 2009

相關文章

抗生素

有些抗生素會殺滅細菌。這些藥物通常會中斷細菌建造細胞壁的化學過程,令細菌死亡。盤尼西林就是這種藥理的抗生素。

閱讀更多

運動的好處

經常運動是健康生活的關鍵之一,注重運動的人往往較長壽,而且患上心臟病、癌症及糖尿病等危疾的風險也較低。

閱讀更多

健康飲食

日常進食的食物分量和種類對健康有莫大影響。注意日常飲食均衡,便可減低多種疾病的風險,還可維持健康體重。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。