Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Hay fever and allergic rhintis

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Hay fever is one of the most common allergic conditions. Most people who suffer from hay fever are under 40, and the condition gradually decreases with age.

There are practical things you can do to avoid unnecessary exposure to pollens. And there are many treatment options available, including tablets, nose drops and sprays, and eye drops.

Some people become sensitive to substances they come into contact with (allergens) and suffer symptoms like wheezing, sneezing and itchy eyes. Allergens such as grass and tree pollens are only around for short periods and produce seasonal symptoms (hay fever). Others - such as house dust mite - never disappear, and produce year-round (perennial) symptoms.

Hay fever, asthma and eczema are all related allergy-based conditions and the tendency to develop them runs in families. People with hay fever often have a close relative with one or other of these conditions.

When someone with hay fever comes into contact with allergens, their body produces increased amounts of immunoglobulin E (IgE), a type of antibody. IgE binds to certain cells throughout the body and activates them to release the chemical histamine. This chemical is responsible for the symptoms of sneezing, stuffy nose (rhinitis) and itchy eyes and throat. Most people suffer only a few weeks of mild discomfort, but for an unlucky few, the symptoms can be severe and last for months.

Hay fever can make asthma worse, and some people who are not usually asthmatic may become wheezy.

Most people with hay fever are allergic to grass and oilseed rape pollens, which appear from April to August each year. People who are sensitive to pollen from the trees hazel, yew, elm and alder may develop symptoms from January to April, and people with nettle allergy symptoms can be affected from April to mid-September.

If you have symptoms like those of hay fever but you have them after the hay fever season is over, they are likely to be due to an allergen that is present throughout the year. This is called perennial allergic rhinitis.

House dust mite is a common cause, but there are others, including allergens from animals such as cats, dogs, and horses. Certain foods, drugs and chemicals can also be involved.

If you suffer from rhinitis all year round, you may want to have tests done to find out what allergens you are sensitive to. Ask your GP whether these are available locally.

Once you have discovered what you are allergic to, the first step is to avoid those allergens as much as possible. For people with hay fever, this means closing doors and windows (including car windows and sunroofs) when the pollen count is high, and avoiding gardening. Close-fitting sunglasses sometimes help, too.

If you are allergic to house-dust mite, simple measures such as vacuuming bedroom carpets, the bed sheets and the mattress may help. You should remove anything likely to harbour dust (such as rugs or soft toys) from the bedroom, and keep your home well-humidified. Theres little scientific evidence to suggest that filters, air sprays and special shampoos can help, but dust-proof covers may do so.

Even if you take all the steps you can to avoid the allergens you are sensitive to, you cant normally avoid it altogether, and there is a wide range of treatments to help with the symptoms. You may need to use a combination of treatments for the different symptoms. Many treatments are available over the counter from pharmacists. However, if they do not work, there are other treatments which your doctor can prescribe.

Nose sprays and drops

Nose sprays can help control stuffiness and sneezing. They include steroid-based ones, such as beclometasone (Beconase), and anti-histamines, such as azelastine (Rhinolast). These are available on prescription. Nasal decongestants can be helpful for occasional use, but continued use can, itself, cause congestion.

Eyedrops

Eye drops containing the anti-inflammatory sodium chromoglycate (eg Opticrom) can help to prevent itchy eyes.

Tablets

Antihistamine tablets help to control allergy symptoms. They can be bought over the counter or prescribed by your GP. The newer, non-sedating antihistamines, such as cetirizine (Zirtac) or loratadine (Claratyn or Boots Hay Fever and Allergy Treatment) are now more popular than the older preparations such as chlorpheniramine (Piriton).

Treating severe cases

If you have severe hay fever, medication from a pharmacist may not be enough to deal with the symptoms. Or you may need fast relief (for example, if you have to sit an exam). In these cases, you may need a prescription-only steroid treatment taken as tablets or injection. These are not suitable for everyone, as there are a number of important possible side-effects.

Curing an allergy

If none of the drugs available can properly help you control the symptoms of hay fever or allergic rhinitis, immunotherapy is an option. This aims to make you immune to the allergen, and consists of a series of allergen injections, increasing in strength each time.

Immunotherapy is specialist treatment that is only available in appropriately-equipped clinics or hospitals.

 

British Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology.
http://www.allergyfoundation.com

American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology
http://www.aaaai.org

You might also like

Asthma in children

Asthma is a common condition that causes coughing, wheezing, tightness of the chest and breathlessness.

Read more

Cold and flu

Influenza - or flu - causes similar symptoms to a cold but tends to be a more severe illness. Although it is also self-limiting in most people, flu can be dangerous for people who are frail or have a weakened immune system.

Read more

Sinusitis

Sinusitis is an infection or inflammation of the membranes that line the nasal passages and sinuses, the air-filled spaces at the front of the skull.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

花粉熱與鼻敏感

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

花粉熱是最普遍的敏感性疾病。大部分患有花粉熱的人年齡不超過40歲。發病的機會隨年齡而減少。

要避免跟花粉有不必要的接觸,有很多可行的辦法。花粉熱也有很多治療方法,包括使用片劑、滴鼻劑、噴霧或滴眼劑。

有些人對接觸的東西(敏感原)產生敏感,引發病徵,如喘氣、打噴嚏和眼睛痕癢。有些敏感原,如草和樹的花粉,只會短期存在,也因此只會產生季節性的病徵(花粉熱)。另一些敏感原,如屋塵蟎,則剛好相反,長期存在,終年不散,它們引發的病徵自然也無季節之分。

花粉熱、哮喘和濕疹彼此相關。三者都是由敏感引起的疾病,並且都經常會在家族中遺傳。花粉熱患者,通常都有親屬患有以上其中一種病。

當花粉熱患者接觸到敏感原時,他們的身體會多產生E型免疫球蛋白。E型免疫球蛋白是一種抗體,它會黏附身體裏某種細胞,刺激該種細胞釋放出一種名為「組胺」的化學物質。這化學物質會令人打噴嚏、鼻塞(鼻敏感)以及眼睛和喉嚨痕癢。大多數人數星期內會感到輕度不適,但少數不幸的人會有嚴重病徵,而且持續數月。

花粉熱可以使哮喘惡化,而沒有哮喘病的花粉熱患者也會常常喘氣。

大部分花粉熱患者都會對草和油菜的花粉敏感,病徵會在每年四月至八月出現。對榛樹、紫杉、榆樹和赤楊的花粉敏感的人,會在一月至四月出現病徵。對蕁麻科植物敏感的人,會在四月至九月中發病。

如果你有近似花粉熱的病徵,而花粉熱季節已經過去,你很可能已患有由整年都存在的敏感原引起的鼻敏感。

屋塵蟎是引起鼻敏感最常見的原因。其他敏感原包括個別的動物(如貓、狗和馬)、食物、藥物和化學物質。

如果你整年都有鼻敏感的病徵,你可透過檢驗找出引致你患病的是哪種敏感原。你可詢問醫生有沒有提供這些測試。

你找到你的敏感原後,便應盡量避免接觸它們。花粉量高時,花粉熱患者應關閉門窗,包括車窗及天窗,避免園藝工作,甚至佩戴緊貼的太陽眼鏡。

如果你對屋塵蟎敏感,可採取簡單的措施,如以吸塵器清掃睡房地毯、被單和床墊。你應該清除睡房內任何可能藏有塵埃的東西,如地毯或柔軟的玩具,名同時也要保持家居濕度適中。現時尚未有充足的科學証據証明使用過濾器、空氣噴霧劑或特別的洗髮水有實質效用,但使用防塵套則或有幫助。

一般而言,即使你已採取所有步驟來防止接觸敏感原,你還是難以完全避免接觸到它的。有很多種療法可幫助減輕病徵,你可能需要針對不同病徵,結合使用不同療法。很多藥物可以在藥房買到,但若你發覺幫助不大,你可要求醫生處方其他藥物給你。

鼻噴霧和滴鼻劑

鼻噴霧可以幫助控制鼻塞和打噴嚏。它們包括類固醇種類的(如倍氯米松)及抗組織胺種類的(如氮卓斯汀Beconase),兩者都可由醫生處方。偶爾使用解除鼻塞劑會有幫助,但持續使用反而可能會造成鼻塞。

滴眼劑

滴眼劑含有抗發炎的Sodium Chromoglycate (如 Opticrom),可防止眼睛痕癢。

片劑

抗組織胺(Antihistamine)片劑有助控制敏感的病徵,可於藥房購買或由普通科醫生處方。較新和沒有催眠作用的抗組織胺,如西替利 (Zyrtec)或loratadine (Claratyn or Boots Hay Fever and Allergy Treatment)比早年的配方,如chlorpheniramine (Piriton) 較多人服用。

治療嚴重的病例

如果你患有嚴重的花粉熱,藥劑師處方的藥物可能不足以消除你的病徵。另外,在某些情況下, 你也可能需要立刻得到舒緩, 例如為了應付考試等。遇上這些情況,你可能需要接受醫生處方的類固醇治療(以片劑或注射形式服用)。這些類固醇可能會引起嚴重的副作用,故此並不適用於所有人。

「醫治」敏感

如果巿面上供應的藥物沒有一種真正能幫助你控制花粉熱或鼻敏感的病徵,你可選擇免疫療法。這種療法要注射多次敏感原,強度會逐次增加,使你對那些敏感原產生免疫能力。

免疫療法是專科治療,只由已配備適當儀器的診所或醫院提供。

British Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology.
http://www.allergyfoundation.com

American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology
http://www.aaaai.org

相關文章

兒童哮喘

哮喘是常見的疾病,患者會咳嗽、氣喘、胸憋悶和呼吸困難。兒童患上哮喘,約三分之二會隨年齡增長自然痊癒,但哮喘若不妥善治療,可能會對氣管造成永久的損傷。

閱讀更多

感冒和流行性感冒

感冒期間流鼻水、喉嚨痛或鼻塞,是由於呼吸系統上部(上呼吸道)感染了病毒。

閱讀更多

鼻竇炎

鼻竇炎是指覆蓋於鼻腔通道及鼻竇(位於顱骨前部充滿空氣的空腔)表面之黏膜的感染或炎症。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。