Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Head lice

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Head lice are wingless insects that live on the scalp and neck. They are grey or brown, have six legs and are about 2 mm long when fully grown. There can be up to 12 adult head lice on an infested scalp at any one time. They may be embarrassing and occasionally uncomfortable but head lice are not generally a cause of illness.

Head lice live for about three weeks and the female can lay up to six eggs a day. She attaches them to the hair near the scalp and they hatch 7-10 days later. The unhatched eggs, which are called nits, are a yellow-white colour and are often mistaken for flakes of dry skin or dandruff. However, unlike dandruff, the nits stick to the hair and are difficult to remove.

Headlice should only be treated with insecticides when a living, moving louse has been found.

 

 About 80% of head lice infections are amongst children aged 4-16 years. They are usually caught via head-to-head contact, or more rarely by sharing hairbrushes, combs or hats. However, head lice cannot survive for long away from the scalp and those found in clothing are usually dying.

Head lice can be found in all types and lengths of hair. It is a common mistake to associate a head lice infection with dirty hair. They are equally happy living in clean hair.

Head lice infestation can cause an itchy head or neck or a rash, which is often worse behind the ears or on the back of the neck. However, a person may have been infested for several months before the itchiness is noticed, and some people may not report itching at all. Its important to check anyone who has been in contact with a confirmed case of head lice so that all cases can be treated and reinfestation prevented.

Other signs of head lice infection are nits stuck to the hair as they grow out, and the louse droppings, which look like a fine black powder and may be seen on pillows or sheets. If nits or droppings are spotted then further investigation is required.

Head lice are easier to detect on wet hair. The hair should be combed in sections using either a fine-toothed comb or a special nit comb – available from pharmacists. The hair may be easier to comb if conditioner is used (this should be rinsed off afterwards). It is important to comb the entire length of the hair from root to tip. After each stroke, the comb should be checked for lice. The hair may also be combed over a piece of paper or a bowl of water, which can then be checked for lice.

If a living head louse is found, its a good idea to tape it to a piece of paper and get the infection confirmed by a health professional (a school nurse or pharmacist, for example), who can advise on suitable treatments.

 Once a headlice infection is confirmed there are a number of treatments available:

  • Insecticides
  • Thorough and frequent combing (bug-busting)
  • "Alternative" treatments

The insecticides and alternative head lice treatments can be strong chemicals with the potential to cause side-effects. They should only be used on a confirmed head louse infection. When a confirmed infection is found in a household, all family members should be checked and anyone who has lice should be treated. Because of potential side-effects it is not a good idea to treat the whole family as a preventive measure. Insecticides and alternative treatments should only be used according to the instructions.

Insecticides

Some types are available over the counter, such as Malathion Vickmans and Quellada.

These insecticides are available in shampoos, lotions and liquids or cream rinses. Shampoos are not considered effective. The most effective insecticides are alcohol-based lotions, but these are not suitable for everyone. Liquids or cream rinses are water-based and are recommended for young children and for people who get asthma or eczema. Pregnant or breast-feeding women should check with their doctor or health visitor before using insecticides.

Resistance to insecticides has been reported and if one treatment fails, then another should be tried. A health professional or pharmacist can advise which is the best insecticide to use in a given area.

The treatment involves rubbing the insecticide lotion onto the scalp and hair and leaving it for a minimum of 12 hours before washing out. This will kill the living lice, but may not kill the eggs. The treatment should be repeated a week later to destroy any lice that have since hatched.

Combing, or "bug busting"

This is a method of removing lice with the regular use of a fine-toothed comb. Its effectiveness has not been scientifically tested, but success has been reported where families are highly motivated and follow the instructions carefully. This treatment method requires four sessions over two weeks. The advantages of this method are that it avoids the use of strong chemicals, and lice cannot become resistant to it. It can also be used for routinely checking the hair for infection.

"Alternative" treatments

These such as those containing essential oils (including tea-tree), herbal extracts or homeopathic tinctures are also available. There is little robust scientific evidence for these treatments, but some people find them helpful. It is worth bearing in mind that even "natural" chemicals can cause side-effects, such as irritating the scalp.

Whichever treatment is used, a follow up check using a nit comb should be carried out a few days afterwards. The presence of eggs does not mean that the treatment has failed. And even if a live adult louse is found, this may be due to reinfestation rather than failure of the treatment.

However, treatment does sometimes fail – usually because of incorrect or inadequate use. If this happens, the infestation will have to be retreated, possibly with a different method.

The best way to prevent head lice spreading is to check regularly and treat as soon as diagnosis is confirmed. "Contact tracing" is essential so that reinfestation can be avoided. This means that schools and nurseries and friends and relatives such as grandparents should be informed and the whole family checked. The use of repellents is not recommended.

1. Do head lice bite?

Yes, they feed by biting your skin and sucking blood from your scalp.

Head lice feed on blood about five times a day, mixing it with their saliva, but the biting doesn't hurt and many infestations cause no symptoms at all. Sometimes the biting can cause itching. Some people have an allergic reaction to the bites and this can make the itching worse.

2. Can head lice spread to my body?

No, it's very unusual for head lice to move onto your body or other areas of hair such as your eyelashes or eyebrows.

Adult head lice can't survive for very long if they are removed from your head and so wouldn't be able to live on another part of your body. There is a different type of louse, called the body louse that looks the same as a head louse but lives mainly in clothing and bedding, moving on to your skin when they want to feed.

You will usually only get body lice if you have dirty clothes or if you don't change them very often. A third type of louse, also known as 'crabs' live in pubic hair, but can spread to other hair. It is mostly sexually transmitted.

If you're concerned then you should see your GP for advice.

3. Are electronic combs good at treating head lice?

Electronic combs aren't recommended because they can be expensive and can't completely get rid of head lice.

Electronic combs can kill live head lice by electrocuting them. But they can't kill the eggs so can't be used to completely get rid of head lice. If you do wish to use an electronic comb then you should use it when your hair is clean and dry and follow the instructions that come with it carefully.

Further information
  • Community Hygiene Concern
    http://www.nits.net
  • National Center for Infectious Diseases
    http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dpd/parasites/headlice/default.htm
  • Health Protection Agency
    http://www.hpa.org.uk
  • Community Hygiene Concern
    01908 561 928
    http://www.chc.org
  •  

    Sources

    • Head lice. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 28 October 2009
    • Roberts, R. Head lice. N Engl J Med 2002 346:1645-50
    • The prevention, identification and management of head lice infection in the community. Health Protection Agency, 2007. www.hpa.org.uk
    • Head Lice: Evidence based guidelines based on the Stafford report. Public Health Medicine Environmental Group, 2008. www.phmeg.org.uk
    • Head Lice: a report for Consultants in Communicable Disease Control (CCDCs). Public Health Medicine Environmental Group. www.phmeg.org.uk, accessed 28 October 2009
    • Simon C, Everitt H and Kendrick T. Oxford handbook of general practice. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006: 675
    • Update on treatments for head lice. DBT 2009; 47:50-2. doi:10.1136/dtb.2009.04.0014
    • Parasitical preparations. Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. w.bnf.org, accessed 28 October 2009
    • Does dimeticone clear head lice? DTB 2007; 45:52-5. doi:10.1136/dtb.2007.45752
    • Nash B. Treating head lice. BMJ, 2003; 326(7401): 1256. doi:10.1136/bmj.326.7401.1256
    • Drug Safety Update. MHRA. www.mhra.gov.uk, accessed 1 November 2009
    • Head lice: factsheet for schools. Health Protection Agency. www.hpa.org.uk, accessed 1 November 2009
    • Beers MH, Fletcher AJ, Jones TV, et al. The Merck Manual of Medical Information. 2nd ed. New York: Pocket Books, 2003:1219

You might also like

Healthy Eating

The amount and type of food you eat has a major influence on your health. Eating a well-balanced diet can reduce your risk of various diseases as well as help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Read more

Pharyngitis (sore throat)

Pharyngitis is the medical term used to describe an infection or inflammation of your throat.

Read more

Superfoods

This article explains why some foods are described as ‘superfoods’ and the truth behind the hype.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

頭蝨

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

頭蝨是一種沒有翅膀的昆蟲,寄居於頭皮和脖子上。牠有灰色或棕色的身體和六隻腳,完全長成時約長2毫米;在頭皮上同時寄生的成年頭虱可多達12隻。頭蝨令人感到尷尬,偶爾會令人不舒服,但一般都不被當成一種疾病。

頭蝨能存活約三星期。雌性頭虱每天可產卵六粒,牠會將卵附在靠近頭皮的頭髮上,七至十天後卵便會孵化。未孵化的卵是黃白色的,常會使人誤以為是皮膚乾燥剝落的薄片或頭皮屑。可是,與頭皮屑不同,這些幼卵會黏在頭髮上,難以被清除。

當你發現活生生的頭蝨時,才應使用殺蟲劑消滅牠。

約80% 感染頭蝨的個案都發生在4至16歲的小孩身上。小孩通常是因與其他人頭部接觸,或共用頭刷、梳或帽子而傳染,不過後者情況較少見。頭蝨在離開頭皮後存活時間很短,在衣服上發現的頭蝨通常都是垂死的。

頭蝨可生長於任何種類和長度的頭髮中。一般人誤以為頭蝨只會在骯髒的頭髮中生長,但牠們在乾淨的頭髮中都同樣能夠生長。

頭蝨叢生可令患者的頭和脖子痕癢或出疹,通常耳朵或頸項背部的情況會比較嚴重。可是,患者可能要到頭虱寄生了數個月後,才會覺得痕癢;有些人甚至完全感覺不到痕癢。因此,最重要找出所有曾跟患者接觸的人,都需要接受治理,預防再度感染。

其他頭蝨感染的跡象,包括幼卵長大後黏附在脫落的頭髮上,以及其排泄物像黑色粉末般脫落,留在枕頭或被單上。如果你發現幼卵或頭蝨脫落,便需作進一步檢查。

頭蝨較容易在濕髮中發現。你應用細齒梳子或特別用來梳頭蝨的梳(可於藥房購買),把頭髮分層梳理。如果使用護髮素,便會梳得容易一點(梳完後應沖洗護髮素)。梳理頭髮時,你必須由髮根梳至髮尖,然後檢查梳子上有沒有頭蝨。梳髮時也可放一張白紙或一碗水在頭髮下面,以檢查有沒有頭蝨。

如果找到活頭蝨,最好用膠紙貼在白紙上,並拿給醫護人員辨認(如校護或藥劑師),他們會因應情況給你適當治療。

如果証實染上頭蝨,可用以下治療方法:

  • 殺蟲劑
  • 使用專門用來梳頭蝨的梳徹底及頻密的梳頭以除蝨
  • 另類療法

殺蟲劑及另類療法可能會使用強力的化學物,而引致副作用,所以只適合於已証實感染頭蝨的病人。當家中某成員証實受到頭蝨感染後,所有家人都應接受檢查,而其他染上頭蝨的人亦要接受治療。由於藥物有潛在的副作用,所以不應對所有家人進行預防性治療。殺蟲劑及另類療法的使用應嚴格依照指示進行。

殺蟲劑

有些殺蟲劑可在藥房購買,如Malathion Vickmans 及Quellada。

這些殺蟲劑通常以洗髮水、乳液,液體或膏狀清洗劑的方式出售。洗髮水一般都不太有效;最有效的是含酒精的乳液,但並不適合所有人;液體或膏狀清洗劑屬水性,適合小孩子和患有哮喘或濕疹的人士。懷孕或喂母乳的女性在使用殺蟲劑前,應詢問醫生或醫護人員的意見。

某些地方曾發現頭蝨對殺蟲劑出現抗藥性。如果一種療法失敗,患者應嘗試另一種療法;應向保健人員或藥劑師咨詢適用於當地的殺蟲劑。

治療方法是在頭皮和頭髮上塗上殺蟲劑乳液,然後等待至少12小時才沖洗。這可殺掉頭蝨,但由於未必能殺掉頭蝨的卵,所以應在1星期後重複使用同樣方法,以殺掉任何孵化了的頭蝨。

梳頭除蝨

指定期運用細齒梳子清除頭蝨。雖然沒有科學根據,但積極且小心依照指示進行的家庭卻不乏成功的例子。此治療方法需分四節,於兩星期內進行。其好處是避免使用強力化學物,而且頭蝨不會產生抗藥性;這方法也可用於例行檢查頭髮有沒有染上頭蝨。

另類療法

另類療法包括使用香精油(如茶樹油)、草藥提煉物或順勢療法用的酊劑等。這些療法並未有足夠的科學根據,但有些人卻認為有效。但你必定要留意,即使是天然化學物也可能有副作用,如刺激頭皮。

無論使用那一種療法,開始後數天應用頭蝨梳檢查1次。如發現仍然有卵,並不代表療法失敗;即使發現到成年頭蝨,也可能是因為頭蝨再感染,而不是治療失敗。

但治療有時確實會失敗,這通常是因為使用方法不當或使用分量不足。若果如此,患者需要重新接受治療﹐可能需採用另外的治療方法。

防止頭蝨擴散的最佳方法是作定期檢查。証實感染後應盡快治理。對與患者接觸過的人進行追蹤是防止頭蝨再感染的基本措施。即是說,患者應讓學校、托兒所、朋友及親屬(如祖父母)知道自己的情況,並安排全家人接受檢查。此外,不推薦使用驅蟲劑。

1. 頭蝨會叮人嗎?  

會,頭蝨會叮您的皮膚,從頭皮吸血,賴以為生。  

頭蝨每天會吸血約五次,牠們以唾液混合宿主的血液,但宿主被叮咬不會感到痛楚,不少頭蝨滋生的情況亦沒有引起任何徵狀。被頭蝨叮咬時,或會感覺痕癢,有些人對叮咬過敏,導致痕癢加劇。  

2. 頭蝨會蔓延至全身嗎?  

不會。頭蝨走到睫毛、眉毛等其他長有毛髮的身體部位或其他部位是非常罕見的。  

頭蝨成蟲一旦離開宿主的頭部,就無法長時間存活,因此不能在人體其他部位生存。另一種蝨子,稱為體蝨,外貌與頭蝨相同,但主要存活於衣服和被褥上,進食時才跳到您的皮膚上。  

一般來說,只有衣服骯髒,或者不經常更換衣服,才會有體蝨。第三種蝨子又稱「蟹蝨」,喜歡躲在陰毛叢中,但亦會滋生到其他毛髮,主要經性接觸傳播。  

如果對有關情況感到憂慮,應請教您的家庭醫生。  

3. 電梳對清除頭蝨有效嗎?  

不建議使用電梳,因為電梳價格昂貴,卻不能完全去除頭蝨。  

電梳能將活的頭蝨電死,但不能殺滅蟲卵,所以不能完全清除頭蝨。如果您仍選擇使用電梳,應確保頭髮清潔乾爽,並遵照產品說明,小心使用。    

索取更多資料

Community Hygiene Concern
www.nits.net

National Center for Infectious Diseases
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dpd/parasites/headlice/default.htm

Health Protection Agency
http://www.hpa.org.uk

Community Hygiene Concern
01908 561 928
http://www.chc.org

來源

  • Head lice. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 28 October 2009
  • Roberts, R. Head lice. N Engl J Med 2002 346:1645-50
  • The prevention, identification and management of head lice infection in the community. Health Protection Agency, 2007. www.hpa.org.uk
  • Head Lice: Evidence based guidelines based on the Stafford report. Public Health Medicine Environmental Group, 2008. www.phmeg.org.uk
  • Head Lice: a report for Consultants in Communicable Disease Control (CCDCs). Public Health Medicine Environmental Group. www.phmeg.org.uk, accessed 28 October 2009
  • Simon C, Everitt H and Kendrick T. Oxford handbook of general practice. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006: 675
  • Update on treatments for head lice. DBT 2009; 47:50-2. doi:10.1136/dtb.2009.04.0014
  • Parasitical preparations. Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. w.bnf.org, accessed 28 October 2009
  • Does dimeticone clear head lice? DTB 2007; 45:52-5. doi:10.1136/dtb.2007.45752
  • Nash B. Treating head lice. BMJ, 2003; 326(7401): 1256. doi:10.1136/bmj.326.7401.1256
  • Drug Safety Update. MHRA. www.mhra.gov.uk, accessed 1 November 2009
  • Head lice: factsheet for schools. Health Protection Agency. www.hpa.org.uk, accessed 1 November 2009
  • Beers MH, Fletcher AJ, Jones TV, et al. The Merck Manual of Medical Information. 2nd ed. New York: Pocket Books, 2003:1219

相關文章

健康飲食

日常進食的食物分量和種類對健康有莫大影響。注意日常飲食均衡,便可減低多種疾病的風險,還可維持健康體重。

閱讀更多

咽喉炎(喉嚨痛)

咽喉炎是醫學術語,意指喉嚨感染或發炎。口鼻後端就是咽喉,它與食道(由口部通至胃部的管道)、氣管(氣道)及聲帶(喉)連接。

閱讀更多

超級食物

究竟何謂超級食物?本文為您解說為甚麼有些食物被稱為「超級」,熱捧背後又有甚麼故事。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。