Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Hepatitis B

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Hepatitis B is a virus carried in your blood and body fluids which infects and damages your liver.

Hepatitis B is an inflammation (swelling) of your liver and is caused by infection with the hepatitis B virus.

Hepatitis B is relatively uncommon in the UK. Areas where it’s more common include South Asia, East Asia, sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, the Far East and Southern Europe.

Hepatitis B

 

Hepatitis B can be acute or chronic. When describing an illness, the terms ‘acute’ and ‘chronic’ refer to how long a person has it, not to how serious a condition is. Acute hepatitis B is typically over within three months. Chronic hepatitis B is a long-term illness that can sometimes last for the rest of the affected person’s life. Up to one adult in 10 who gets infected with the hepatitis B virus develops a chronic infection. 

Hepatitis B has an incubation period of about five to 22 weeks. The incubation period is the time from when you’re exposed to the virus to the start of your symptoms. However, some people have mild symptoms or don’t have any at all. These people are still infectious and can unknowingly pass on the disease to others.

If you do have symptoms, they may be similar to those of flu and include:

  • a mild fever
  • tiredness
  • aching limbs and/or joint pains
  • loss of appetite
  • feeling sick and vomiting
  • a reluctance to drink alcohol or smoke

You may also develop jaundice, which makes your skin and the whites of your eyes yellow. This is caused by a yellow-coloured substance in your blood called bilirubin. Bilirubin is usually broken down by your liver, but this doesn't happen if your liver is affected by hepatitis. Jaundice can also cause your urine to darken and your skin to itch.

These symptoms aren't always caused by hepatitis B but if you have them, see your GP. 

The younger you are when you become infected with hepatitis B, the more likely you are to develop a chronic infection. The hepatitis B virus infects the cells in your liver, causing inflammation (swelling and tenderness) and fibrosis (scar tissue). If you have hepatitis B for a long time, inflammation and fibrosis continue to spread. Over time, usually after many years, this can lead to cirrhosis (scarring of the liver). If you have cirrhosis, you’re at risk of developing liver failure or liver cancer.

A rare complication of acute hepatitis B is liver failure (known as fulminant hepatitis). This can be fatal. However, if caught early enough, it can be treated with a liver transplant. 

Hepatitis B is caused by the hepatitis B virus. It can spread between people by contact with an infected person’s blood or other body fluids, for example, semen or vaginal fluid.

The virus can survive outside your body for up to seven days. During that time, the virus can still cause infection if it enters the body of a person who isn’t immune.

The hepatitis B virus can be spread:

  • from mother to baby (usually during childbirth)
  • through sharing contaminated needles and syringes to inject drugs
  • through sharing razors or toothbrushes that are contaminated with small amounts of infected blood
  • through an open wound
  • from contaminated tattooing equipment that isn't sterilised properly
  • by receiving blood from an infected donor in countries where blood isn't tested
  • by having unprotected sex

Hepatitis B can also be spread from accidental needle stick injuries, so if you’re a healthcare worker it’s important to take precautions. 

If you think you have been exposed to the hepatitis B virus, contact your GP. He or she will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history. Hepatitis B can be detected by a blood test. A sample of your blood will be sent to a laboratory for testing to find out if you're infected with the hepatitis B virus. A blood test can detect parts of the virus and measure the activity of the virus and how many viruses are present in your blood. The blood test can also determine if you have been recently infected (acute hepatitis B).

If results show that you're infected with hepatitis B, your GP will refer you to a hepatologist (a doctor who specialises in identifying and treating conditions that affect the liver) to have additional tests. For example, a liver function blood test can measure substances in your blood that indicate any liver damage. You may need to have a liver ultrasound scan so that your doctor can look at an image of your liver. You may also need to have a liver biopsy (small sample of tissue taken) to determine how severe the inflammation is and whether any scarring or cirrhosis has developed if you have chronic hepatitis B. 

Most people with acute hepatitis B recover without treatment, within about four to 12 weeks. It's important not to spread it to others. Cover any cuts with a dressing and don’t:

  • have unprotected sex
  • donate blood
  • share any needles, syringes, razors or toothbrushes as they may be contaminated with small amounts of infected blood

As your liver won't be working properly, it's important not to drink any alcohol until your liver has fully recovered.

If you have chronic hepatitis B, your doctor will aim to prevent your condition progressing to cirrhosis and end-stage liver disease. You may not need treatment straight away if there are low levels of the hepatitis B virus in your blood and little liver damage. Your doctor will monitor you and start treatment if there are signs of the disease progressing.

Medicines

There are two types of medicines to treat chronic hepatitis B:

  • interferon medicines
  • antiviral medicines

Interferon is a protein that is naturally produced by your body when you’re infected with a virus. It prevents the virus multiplying inside your cells. Treatment with interferon can prevent the hepatitis B virus causing more liver damage. The most common interferon medicine is peginterferon alfa-2a. This is an injection that you have once a week for 48 weeks.

Antiviral medicines also stop the hepatitis B virus from multiplying in your body. Your doctor may prescribe medicines on their own or in combination.

  • Entecavir – given as a tablet once a day.
  • Enofovir disoproxil fumarate – given as a tablet once a day.
  • Amivudine – given as a tablet or as an oral solution once a day for at least a year.
  • Adefovir dipivoxil – given as a tablet once a day.
  • Telbivudine – given as a tablet once a day.

These medicines aren't suitable for everyone. Your doctor or specialist nurse will advise you on which treatment is best for you. Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

These medicines don’t cure chronic hepatitis B, but help to suppress the virus and allow your liver to recover. You will usually need to take medicines long term.

Hepatitis B vaccine

If you think you're at risk of getting hepatitis B, for example if you’re going on holiday to a high-risk area, contact your GP or a travel clinic to discuss whether you should have a vaccination against the disease. If you're at risk of getting hepatitis B at work, speak to your employer about getting vaccinated.

It can take up to six months to get full protection and you will receive a course of three injections.

If you’re pregnant and have hepatitis B, your baby should have the hepatitis B vaccine soon after he or she is born. The first dose will be given within 24 hours of you giving birth and two more doses will be given at one and two months, with a booster dose at 12 months.

Hepatitis B immunoglobulin

Hepatitis B immunoglobulin (HBIG) is an injection of antibodies against the hepatitis B virus. If you have been exposed to the hepatitis B virus, your doctor may advise you to have an immunoglobulin injection as well as the vaccine. It's more effective the sooner it's given after exposure to the virus, usually within 48 hours.

Hepatitis B immunoglobulin can also provide short-term protection for newborn babies who are at risk of getting hepatitis B from their mother during childbirth. 

1. I have tested positively for hepatitis B. What does that mean?

Answer

There are various blood tests to check for hepatitis B. Different tests indicate if you have an acute or chronic infection, if you're immune to further infection, and if you might pass the disease on to others. If you test positive for hepatitis B, your doctor will also carry out further tests to see if the virus is affecting or damaging your liver.

Explanation

Hepatitis B infection is detected by the hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) test, which is a blood test that looks for the virus in your bloodstream.

A positive test result means that you have hepatitis B, but you will need further tests to find out if you have been recently infected (acute hepatitis B) or if you have chronic hepatitis B.

You will need additional tests to find out how active the virus is and how infectious you are. It's possible to do a test that counts how many viruses are present in each millilitre of your blood (the hepatitis B virus DNA test, also known as the viral load test). Other tests can tell if you're immune to hepatitis B. This might be because you had hepatitis B in the past and recovered from it or because you had a vaccination.

If you test positive for active hepatitis B infection, your doctor may ask you for another blood sample to carry out a liver function test, although this may have been routinely done during your initial hepatitis B test. This test measures certain enzymes and proteins in your blood and allows your doctor to monitor the progress of the disease; for example, whether you have a damaged or inflamed liver.

Your doctor may also discuss the possibility of referring you for a liver ultrasound scan or biopsy, where a small sample of liver tissue will be taken and checked in a laboratory for any liver damage.

2. How does hepatitis B differ from hepatitis A, C, D and E?

Answer

Hepatitis is a general term meaning inflammation (swelling) of your liver. There are five types of hepatitis virus – A, B, C, D and E. Hepatitis B, C and D may develop into chronic infections lasting for more than six months, resulting in long-term liver problems.

Explanation

Hepatitis A, B, C, D and E are all viruses that attack and damage your liver. The hepatitis A and E virus is usually found in the faeces of an infected person. You usually get hepatitis A and E infections from close personal contact with an infected person or by eating or drinking contaminated food or water. Certain types of shellfish (eg mussels, oysters and clams), and food that has been washed in water contaminated by sewage can contain the virus.

Hepatitis B, C and D are spread when an infected person's blood enters your bloodstream. Hepatitis B can also be spread through contact with an infected person’s semen or other bodily fluid. Hepatitis D is an incomplete virus, which means you must already have the hepatitis B infection for it to survive in your body. Only around one in 20 people with hepatitis B also have hepatitis D.

Hepatitis B, C and D infections can cause long-term liver problems, but hepatitis A and E infections are short-lived and usually get better without treatment. There are vaccines available that can protect you from hepatitis A and hepatitis B infection, but there is currently no vaccine to protect you from hepatitis C, D or E.

Because hepatitis B, C and D can cause long-term damage to your liver, it's important that you see a hepatologist (a doctor who specialises in liver diseases) as you may need to take medicines to treat these infections.

3. If I have hepatitis B, how long will I remain infectious?

Answer

If you have hepatitis B, you will remain infectious for as long as the virus can be detected in your bloodstream. This will vary from person to person. It may only be a few weeks in someone who has acute hepatitis B and makes a full recovery, to a lifelong infection in someone with chronic hepatitis B.

Explanation

Hepatitis B is an infectious disease and is easily passed to other people through body fluids, such as blood, semen and vaginal fluid.If you have chronic hepatitis B, you may be a carrier of the virus for life.

If you're infected with hepatitis B, it’s important to try and minimise the risk of infecting other people.

  • Don’t have unprotected sex (always use a condom).
  • Don’t donate blood.
  • Don’t share needles, syringes, razors or toothbrushes (as they may be contaminated with infected blood). The hepatitis B virus can survive outside your body for up to seven days, so dispose of anything that could be contaminated with your blood.
  • Cover any cuts with a waterproof dressing.

Hepatitis B isn't spread by casual contact such as touching hands and kissing, or sharing towels and eating utensils.

If you have chronic hepatitis B infection, ensure that your partner and close contacts are vaccinated to protect them from getting the disease.

Your GP will monitor your condition and, if necessary, refer you to an infection specialist or a hepatologist (a doctor who specialises in liver diseases) for blood tests. A positive result for hepatitis B surface antigen indicates that you have hepatitis B, but further tests are required to find out how active the virus is and how infectious you are. 

Further information

Sources

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

乙型肝炎

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

乙型肝炎是一種由血液及體液攜帶的病毒,會導致肝臟感染和受損。

乙型肝炎是指肝臟因受乙型肝炎病毒感染而導致發炎(腫脹)。

乙型肝炎在英國相對罕見,但在南亞、東亞、撒哈拉以南非洲地區、中東、遠東及南歐則較常見。

關於乙型肝炎

乙型肝炎分為急性或慢性兩類。疾病屬「急性」或「慢性」是根據病人患病的時間長短而定,與嚴重性無關。急性乙型肝炎的病程一般不會超過三個月,而慢性乙型肝炎則是長期疾病,有些患者會終生受疾病影響。每10名成人感染乙型肝炎後約有一人成為慢性患者。

乙型肝炎潛伏期為5至22星期。潛伏期指由患者接觸到病毒到開始呈現徵狀之間的時間,不過有些患者徵狀輕微或甚至毫無徵狀,他們仍然有傳染力,可能會不自知地將病毒傳給他人。

乙型肝炎的病徵與感冒相似,包括:

  • 發低燒
  • 疲倦
  • 四肢及/或關節酸痛
  • 食慾不振
  • 不適及嘔吐
  • 厭惡酒精或香煙

此外亦可能出現黃疸(Jaundice),令皮膚及眼白泛黃。這是血液裡一種名為膽紅素(Bilirubin)的黃色物質引起,膽紅素一般由肝臟分解,如患上肝炎,分解能力便會受到影響。黃疸也可能令小便變深色和皮膚痕癢。

上述徵狀不一定是乙型肝炎造成,但如發現徵狀應看醫生查明成因。

感染乙型肝炎時年紀愈輕,演變成為慢性感染的機會便愈大。乙型肝炎病毒會感染肝臟細胞引致發炎(腫脹及疼痛)和肝纖維化(疤痕組織)。假如患乙型肝炎已很長時間,發炎及纖維化會持續蔓延,長年累月會出現肝硬化(肝臟疤痕),肝硬化可能會演變為肝衰竭或肝癌。

急性乙型肝炎的其中一種罕見併發症是肝衰竭(稱為暴發性肝炎(Fulminant Hepatitis)),嚴重者足以致命,但假如及早發現則可透過換肝治療。

乙型肝炎由乙型肝炎病毒引起,可由帶菌者的血液或其他體液傳播他人,例如精液或陰道液。

乙型肝炎病毒離開人體可以生存長達七天,其間若進入沒有抗體的人體內,仍可造成感染。

乙型肝炎病毒的傳播途徑包括:

  • 透過母體傳染給嬰兒(通常在分娩期間)
  • 共用受污染的針及針筒注射藥物
  • 共用染有少量受感染血液的剃刀或牙刷
  • 傷口
  • 未經徹底消毒的受污染紋身工具
  • 在血液未有經過檢測的國家接受帶菌者輸血
  • 不安全性行為
乙型肝炎亦可透過針刺受傷意外傳播,因此醫護人員必須採取預防措施。 

假如您懷疑自己已接觸到乙型肝炎病毒,應聯絡醫生進行檢測。他/她會詢問您的徵狀和為您檢查,另亦可能詢問您的病歷。

乙型肝炎可透過驗血檢測。醫生會為您抽取血液樣本,交到化驗所檢驗,以確定是否有乙型肝炎病毒。驗血可探測病毒的部分和量度病毒活動及血液內病毒的數量,此外並可確定是否近期受到感染(急性乙型肝炎)。

如乙型肝炎驗血結果呈陽性,醫生會轉介患者到肝病專科醫生(專門診治影響肝臟疾病的醫生)進行其他測試,例如接受肝功能血液檢測,量度血液所含的物質,界定肝臟有否受損。患者或須接受肝臟超聲波掃描,以便醫生檢視肝臟造影,此外醫生亦可能安排肝臟活片檢查(抽取一小片活組織)鑑定發炎的嚴重程度,以及慢性乙型肝炎患者的肝臟是否有疤痕或硬化。

大部分急性乙型肝炎患者無須治療也會痊癒,病程一般持續4至12星期。患者必須注意不要將病毒傳染給他人,如有傷口應貼膠布,此外還要避免:

  • 進行不安全性行為
  • 捐血
  • 共用任何針、針筒、剃刀或牙刷,這些用具或沾有少量受感染血液
因肝炎患者的肝功能未能正常運作,所以直至完全康復之前切勿飲酒。

 

至於慢性乙型肝炎患者,醫生的治療目標是防止肝炎演變為肝硬化及末期肝病。患者如血液只帶有少量乙型肝炎病毒而肝臟大致沒有受損,則不須要即時接受治療。醫生會監察病情,一旦有病情加重跡象即開始治療。

藥物

慢性乙型肝炎可使用兩種藥物治療:

  • 干擾素藥物(Interferon Medicines)
  • 抗病毒藥物(Antiviral Medicines

 

干擾素是我們感染病毒時身體自然製造的蛋白質,可制止病毒在細胞內繁殖。使用干擾素可防止乙型肝炎病毒對肝臟造成更多損害。最常用的干擾素藥物是聚乙二醇Alfa-2a干擾素(Peginterferon Alfa-2a),屬於注射藥物,每星期注射一次,連續注射48星期。

抗病毒藥物亦可制止乙型肝炎病毒在體內繁殖。醫生或會處方一種或多種藥物:

  • 恩替卡韋(Entecavir) - 藥片,每日服一次。
  • 替諾福韋(Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate) - 藥片,每日服一次。
  • 拉米夫定(Amivudine) - 藥片或口服液,每日服一次,最少服用一年。
  • 阿德福韋(Adefovir Dipivoxil) - 藥片,每日服一次。
  • 替比夫定(Telbivudine) - 藥片,每日服一次。

 

這些藥物並非所有病人也適合,要知道哪種最適合您,應諮詢醫生或專科護士。請諮詢醫生的意見,並且詳閱藥品說明書上的病人須知。

上述藥物不能治癒慢性乙型肝炎,但有助抑制病毒讓肝臟康復。患者通常也需長期服藥。

如您認為有機會染上乙型肝炎,例如即將到高危地區外遊,請聯絡醫生或旅遊診所,請教醫生是否須要注射預防疫苗。假如您有因工作而感染乙型肝炎的風險,應與僱主商討安排注射預防疫苗。

疫苗需時六個月才可全面發揮功效,並分三次注射。

患有乙型肝炎的孕婦分娩後,嬰兒必須在出生後盡快注射預防疫苗,以免感染。新生嬰兒第一次注射時間為出生後24小時內,其後分別在一個月和兩個月時注射第二及第三次,然後在12個月時注射加強劑。

乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白(HBIG)

乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白(HBIG)是一種對抗乙型肝炎病毒的注射抗體。醫生會建議曾接觸乙型肝炎病毒的病人同時注射乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白和預防疫苗。接觸病毒後愈快注射功效便愈佳,通常為48小時內。

乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白亦可為新生嬰兒提供短期保護,防止他們在出生時經母體感染。

1. 我經檢測證實有乙型肝炎,這代表甚麼?)

檢測乙型肝炎有多種驗血方法,分別測試是急性或慢性感染、是否有免疫能力不會再受感染,以及會否傳染他人。如乙型肝炎的檢測結果呈陽性,醫生一般會安排病人接受其他測試,以確知病毒是否對肝臟造成影響或損害。

乙型肝炎表面抗原測試(HBsAg)可探測病人是否感染乙型肝炎,這是一種查找血液中病毒的驗血檢測。

如檢測結果呈陽性,便顯示您已染上乙型肝炎病毒,但仍須進行其他測試,才可確定是否最近感染(急性乙型肝炎)還是屬於慢性乙型肝炎。

要知道病毒的活躍程度和您的感染程度,患者須進行其他測試。例如可測試每毫升血液的病毒數量(乙型肝炎病毒基因測試,亦稱為病毒量測試)。此外還有其他測試,可確定您是否因為過去曾患乙型肝炎或注射疫苗而對病毒免疫。

如檢測證實為活性乙型肝炎,醫生會再次為病人驗血檢定肝功能,有時最初檢測乙型肝炎時已包含這項測試。這項測試可量度血液中某些酵素及蛋白的數量,讓醫生監察病況進展,例如肝臟是否受損或發炎。

醫生亦可能轉介患者進行肝臟超聲波掃描或活組織切片檢測,即切取一小片肝臟組織,在化驗室檢驗肝臟是否受損。

2. 乙型肝炎和甲型、丙型、丁型及戊型肝炎有何分別?)

肝炎泛指肝臟發炎(腫脹)。肝炎分為甲、乙、丙、丁、戊五種,其中乙、丙及丁型可演變為慢性感染,病程持續超過六個月,並可引致長期肝病。

甲、乙、丙、丁及戊型肝炎都是攻擊和損害肝臟的病毒。甲型及戊型肝炎病毒通常存在於受感染患者的糞便,一般透過與帶菌者親密接觸、進食不潔食物或飲不潔的水傳播。某些貝殼類(如青口、蠔及蜆)和經污水清洗的食物便可能帶菌。

乙、丙及丁型肝炎是透過帶菌者的血液進入他人體內造成感染。乙型肝炎亦可以透過帶菌者的精液或其他體液傳染他人。丁型肝炎是不完整病毒,即只可在乙型肝炎病毒帶菌者體內生存。每20名乙型肝炎患者中約有一人同時患有丁型肝炎。

乙、丙及丁型肝炎可導致長期肝臟疾病,甲型和戊型則只會造成短期影響,通常無須治療亦會痊癒。甲型和乙型肝炎現已有預防疫苗,而丙、丁或戊型肝炎則暫時未有。

由於乙型、丙型和丁型肝炎可能導致肝臟長期受損,所以必須由肝病專科醫生評估病情,因為部分患者須服用抗病毒藥物治療感染。

3. 患上乙型肝炎,傳染性會維持多久?)

如您是乙型肝炎患者,當病毒還存在於血液,您的傳染性仍會持續。具體的傳染期因人而異,急性病例數星期便可痊癒,慢性帶病毒患者則可能終生也有傳染性。

乙型肝炎是傳染疾病,很容易透過體液人傳人,例如血液、精液及陰道液。如您是慢性乙型肝炎患者,您可能終生帶有病毒。

如您是乙型肝炎患者,請採取下列措施保障他人:

  • 切勿進行不安全性行為(必須使用安全套);
  • 切勿捐血;
  • 切勿共用針、針筒、剃刀或牙刷(這些用品可能沾有受污染血液)。乙型肝炎病毒可在體外生存長達七天,因此若任何物品染有患者的血,必須棄置;
  • 如身上有任何傷口,應貼防水膠布。

 

乙型肝炎不會透過握手觸摸、輕吻、共用毛巾或食具等日常接觸傳染。

如您是慢性乙型肝炎患者,請確保您的伴侶和身邊的人已注射預防疫苗,以免他們受到感染。

您的醫生會監察您的病況,如有需要則轉介至感染疾病專科醫生或肝病專科醫生進行血液檢測。若乙型肝炎表面抗原測試結果呈陽性,便表示您患有乙型肝炎,至於病毒有多活躍和感染程度,則須進行其他測試確定。

更多資料

來源

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。