Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Straightening teeth

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.   

Straightening teeth involves using a brace to improve the appearance and function of crooked or crowded teeth. This area of dentistry is called orthodontics.

You will meet the orthodontist carrying out your treatment to discuss your care. It may differ from what is described here as it will be designed to meet your individual needs.

Orthodontic treatment is used to straighten or move your teeth to improve their appearance or function. It can also help to keep your teeth and gums healthy by spreading the pressure of your bite out evenly. Straight teeth are easier to clean and are less vulnerable to tooth decay and gum disease.

Orthodontic treatment usually involves wearing a brace on your teeth. This puts gentle pressure on specific teeth to move them into the right place. You will usually need to wear a brace for between six months and two years. During this time, your orthodontist (a dentist who specialises in straightening teeth) will monitor you closely and make adjustments to the brace.

Sometimes, if there isn't enough room in your mouth, you may need to have teeth taken out before starting orthodontic treatment. If your condition is very severe, you may need to have jaw surgery to correct your bite, but this is rare.

Orthodontic treatment is usually carried out during childhood, but adults can have it as well.

You will usually be referred to an orthodontist by your dentist. The best time to have an orthodontic assessment is after you’ve lost your milk (baby) teeth, but before all your adult teeth come through (usually around the age of 10 or 11). By this time, your jaw will have grown enough for your orthodontist to see whether your new adult teeth have enough room to come through.

At your initial appointment, your orthodontist will do a detailed dental examination. You may have X-rays of your teeth taken. These show your orthodontist how your facial bones and teeth are developing. He or she may also make moulds of your teeth and take photographs.

If your orthodontist thinks you need treatment, he or she will talk you through your options.  

There are several different kinds of brace. Some can be removed, while others are fixed to your teeth. Your orthodontist will discuss which type of brace is most suitable for you.

Removable braces

Removable braces are made of plastic and usually have wire clips and springs to move specific teeth. They are most commonly used to move your upper teeth.

You will need to take your brace out to clean it, but otherwise you should wear it at all other times, including meal times and at night. Eating with a removable brace can feel awkward at first, but it gets easier with practice.

You can clean your brace by brushing it gently with a toothbrush and toothpaste. Do this at least three times a day after you’ve brushed your teeth. Make sure you wash it over a sink full of water so that it’s less likely to get damaged if you drop it.

Aligners are removable, plastic moulds that are used to move your teeth into place. They are made from clear plastic so aren’t very noticeable. You usually wear a set of aligners for two weeks before having them replaced with a new set. You need to wear your aligners for at least 22 hours a day. You should only remove them for eating, drinking, brushing and flossing. Aligners are only suitable if you have all your adult teeth.

Fixed braces (sometimes called 'train tracks') can't be removed from your teeth – except by your orthodontist when your treatment is finished. They are made of small brackets that are glued to your teeth with filling material and are joined together with a wire. Fixed braces are usually made of metal, but can also be made of plastic or ceramic. You may need to have small elastic bands attached to your brace – these are used to keep the wires in place and are often available in different colours. Fixed braces can be used on both your upper and lower teeth.

You may need to wear headgear with your brace. This is a frame with wires that come out of your mouth and attach your brace to a headband. The headgear is used to move your back teeth when your front teeth are being straightened. You may only need to wear it in the evening or at night. Although it can take some time to get used to, headgear is an essential part of orthodontic treatment for some people. If you need to have this, ask your orthodontist to show you a photograph so you know what to expect.

Sometimes an orthodontic mini-screw can be used to help straighten your teeth more effectively. Mini-screws are put into your jawbone and are attached to your brace for several months. Your orthodontist will give you an injection of local anaesthetic before the mini-screws are put in. After the procedure, your mouth may ache for around 24 hours.

Once your treatment is finished, the brackets and filling material from the brace are cleaned off your teeth.

Having a brace fitted doesn't hurt, but your teeth will probably feel tender for a few days after. If you find it’s particularly uncomfortable, you may wish to take over-the-counter painkillers such as paracetamol or ibuprofen. Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your pharmacist for advice. If your brace rubs your lips, or the inside of your cheeks, ask your orthodontist for some special wax that can help to ease this.

It usually takes a few days to learn to speak normally with a brace. You may have problems saying certain words to start with. Some people find it helps to practise by reading aloud.

When you have a brace fitted, there are some foods and drinks you need to avoid. These include:

  • chewing gum and other sticky, chewy foods such as toffees, because they get stuck in your brace and may damage it
  • sweets, fruit juice and fizzy drinks (including the diet varieties)

If you eat any hard or crunchy foods, such as apples, cut them into small pieces before you eat them.

When you play sports you will need to take your removable brace out and wear a gum shield for contact sports if you have a fixed brace. You may also have to take your removable brace out if you play a musical instrument such as the flute or trumpet. If you wear a fixed brace, you may find it difficult to play these kinds of instrument at first, but you will soon learn to adapt.

You will usually need to visit your orthodontist every four to six weeks so that he or she can check your brace and adjust it if necessary.

Orthodontic braces don't cause tooth decay, but they can trap food in your mouth. Your teeth can be permanently damaged if they aren't kept clean, so you need to take extra care when brushing. To help prevent tooth decay, brush your teeth and brace thoroughly three times a day with a fluoride toothpaste. Your orthodontist may also give you a fluoride mouthwash to use.

If your brace breaks, make an appointment to see your orthodontist as soon as possible. You will also need to continue visiting your dentist for regular check-ups.

If your jawbones are in the wrong position, you may need to have jaw surgery (orthognathic surgery). This will help to move them into the right place so that your teeth can bite together properly. Your teeth may also need to be moved into the correct position using a brace, either before or after you have surgery. If you need more information, ask your orthodontist.

1. Can adults have their teeth straightened?

Answer

Yes, adults can have orthodontic treatment to correct dental problems such as crooked teeth and overbites.

Explanation

Adults can have orthodontic treatment to straighten their teeth – this may be to help improve the appearance of their teeth, or the way they bite together. Having orthodontic treatment will depend on the condition and position of your teeth and gums. If you have other dental problems such as tooth decay or gum disease, these must be treated before you have a brace fitted. In adults, the jawbone is no longer growing, so you may need jaw surgery before or after you get your brace, but this is rare.

Orthodontic treatment usually takes between six months and two years to complete, but can take longer depending on the sort of problems that need correcting. Ask your dentist for more information about orthodontic treatment.

2. Can I have braces that aren't noticeable?

Answer

Depending on the type of brace you need, you may be able to have one that isn’t particularly noticeable. Your orthodontist will be able to let you know what your options are.

Explanation

If you have a fixed brace, you may be able to have one made of a material that isn’t particularly noticeable. For example, ceramic brackets are transparent, so are less noticeable than metal ones. Although this option is often favoured by adults, it’s generally more expensive.

You may be able to have braces known as aligners. These are removable, see-through, plastic moulds that are also sometimes called ‘invisible’ braces. Each set of aligners is replaced every two weeks with a new set. You will need to wear them during the day and night, but you can remove them when you eat, drink and brush your teeth. This treatment option is also costly and you must have all of your adult teeth. Ask your dentist or orthodontist about the best option for you.

3. How much will it cost to have my teeth straightened?

Answer

The cost of orthodontic treatment varies. Ask your orthodontist to provide you with a written estimate of the costs involved.

Explanation

Orthodontic treatment can be provided by the NHS for children up to the age of 18 if your dentist thinks it would be beneficial. However, adults will usually have to pay for private orthodontic treatment.

The cost of private treatment will vary depending on what kind of treatment you need. It will also depend on the experience of your orthodontist, and where the practice is located.

If you decide to have private treatment, your orthodontist will assess your teeth, discuss your options and give you an idea of the cost. 

Further information

Sources

  • Orthodontic treatment. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthodontic treatment (braces). British Dental Health Foundation. www.dentalhealth.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Braces. British Dental Association 3D Mouth. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Removable appliances. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Fixed braces. British Dental Association: Smile. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Headgear. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthodontic mini-screws. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , published 2009
  • Retainers. British Dental Association: Smile. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Living with my brace. British Dental Health Foundation. www.dentalhealth.org, accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthognathic surgery. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011

You might also like

Colic

Colic is inconsolable crying in a healthy newborn baby with bouts of fussiness and irritability.

Read more

Giving up smoking

Giving up smoking brings many immediate and long-term benefits.

Read more

Superfoods

This article explains why some foods are described as ‘superfoods’ and the truth behind the hype.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

矯牙

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

矯牙指配戴牙箍改善牙齒不齊或擠疊的不良外觀和功能,這種牙科程序稱為牙齒矯正(Orthodontics)。負責治療的矯牙牙醫會先向患者解釋護理詳情。由於具體治療方法因應個別需要安排,所以或與下述程序不同。

矯牙治療可將牙齒矯正或移位,從而改善牙齒的外觀或功能,此外並可平均分散咬合壓力,保持牙齒及牙齦健康。整齊的牙齒更易清潔,蛀牙和牙周病的風險也較低。

接受矯牙治療一般須配戴牙箍,令目標牙齒承受輕微的壓力,令它們移正。配戴牙箍的時間通常為六個月至兩年,其間矯牙牙醫會密切監察和調整牙箍。

假如口腔空間不足,便可能須要先拔除一些牙齒才可開始矯牙治療。情況嚴重的話,更可能要接受上下顎骨修正手術改正咬合,但這種情況則比較罕見。

矯牙一般在兒童期進行,但成人亦可以進行矯牙。

牙醫一般會轉介須要矯牙的病人到矯牙牙醫。接受矯牙評估檢查的最佳時間是乳齒已脫落但恒齒尚未長出(即約10至11歲)。此時上下顎骨已發育完全,矯牙牙醫可鑑定是否有足夠位置讓恒齒長出來。

首次約見時,矯牙牙醫會詳細檢查病人的牙齒,並可能照X光,以便牙醫看清楚面部骨骼及牙齒的發育情況。此外,矯牙牙醫亦可能為病人造牙模和拍照。

如矯牙牙醫認為病人須要治療,便會講解各種選擇方案。

牙箍分為多種,有些可以拆除,其他則固定在牙齒上。矯牙牙醫會與病人商討,一同選擇最適合的類型。

可拆除式牙箍

可拆除式牙箍採用塑膠質料,一般裝有鋼絲夾和彈簧,可令指定的牙齒移位。這種牙箍最常用於矯正上排牙齒。

牙箍除了定時脫下清潔外,必須全日戴着,包括進食和晚上睡覺。戴着可拆除式牙箍吃東西初時會很不習慣,但熟習了就沒有問題。

牙箍可用牙刷和牙膏輕輕清擦,每日三餐擦牙後也須清潔牙箍。由於牙箍很容易損壞,清洗時應先在洗手盤注滿水,然後在其上清擦,萬一不慎掉下也不易破損。

隱形牙套是可拆除的塑膠模,可令牙齒移至正確位置。隱形牙套用透明塑膠製造,不易察覺。隱形牙套一般可連續配戴兩星期,然後再換新牙套,而每日最少戴22小時,只在吃喝、擦牙和用牙線清潔牙縫時脫下。隱形牙套只適合已長齊恒齒的人士。

固定牙箍(又稱「火車軌」)不可自行脫下,必須在治療完畢後由矯牙牙醫拆除。這種牙箍由兩個小托架鉗成,用牙填料黏緊在牙齒上,再用鋼絲連合。固定牙箍通常是金屬質料,但亦有塑膠或陶瓷製造的款式。矯牙牙醫或會在牙箍加裝幼小橡皮圈作結紮線,藉此牢固鋼絲確保不會移動,這些橡皮圈有多種顏色可供選擇。固定牙箍可用於矯正上排或下排牙齒。

配戴固定牙箍的病人或須同時配戴矯牙頭箍。頭箍是一個鋼絲架,連接由口部伸出的固定牙箍,在矯正前方牙齒的同時也令後方牙齒移位。矯牙頭箍通常只需在晚上或睡覺時配戴,雖然最初很難適應,但對某些矯牙病人來說卻是不可或缺的一環。假如您須要配戴矯牙頭箍,牙醫會展示一些照片向您講解,讓您知道頭箍的外觀及作用。

有時候,牙醫會用微植體輔助牙齒矯正。微植體會植入顎骨連接牙箍,保留在該處數月。矯牙牙醫會先為病人注射局部麻醉劑,然後植入微植體,手術後口部或會疼痛,約24小時便漸漸消失。

完成治療後,牙醫會清除牙齒上的托架和牙填料。

牙托是一種牙箍,有助於矯牙療程後維持牙齒在正確位置。牙托分為可拆除式及固定式,假如不戴牙托,牙齒或會移回原來位置。

牙托通常須配戴最少六個月,初時全日配戴,然後只需晚上睡覺時配戴。一般來說,年紀較大的人須要配戴牙托更長時間,詳情請諮詢矯牙牙醫。

裝配牙箍不會造成痛楚,但其後數天牙齒或有點酸痛,假如十分不適,可服食止痛成藥如撲熱息痛(Paracetamol)或布洛芬(Ibuprofen)。服用藥物時必須閱讀隨附的病人資訊指南,如有疑問應諮詢藥劑師。假如牙箍磨擦嘴唇或面頰內側造成不適,可請矯牙牙醫處方特別的軟蠟舒緩。

配戴牙箍後通常要數天才可以適應如何正常說話,開始時或有某些發音問題。不妨大聲朗讀以作練習。

裝配牙箍後,不宜吃喝某些飲食:

  • 嚼香口膠及其他黏性或須使勁咀嚼的食物,例如拖肥糖,否則會黏在牙箍上造成損壞
  • 糖果、果汁及汽水(包括健怡飲品)

堅硬或爽脆食品如蘋果等應切成小塊進食。

運動時應脫下牙箍,配戴固定牙箍的人士如進行肢體碰撞的劇烈運動,必須戴上護齒膠。玩笛子或喇叭等樂器時可脫下可拆除式牙箍;配戴固定牙箍的人士最初玩這些樂器時或會感到困難,但相信很快便會習慣。

配戴牙箍的人士須每隔四至六星期見矯牙牙醫一次,檢查牙箍和按需要作出調整。

矯牙牙箍不會引致蛀牙,但會令食物卡在口腔。牙齒若不妥善清潔,可能造成永久損害,因此擦牙時必須特別小心。為防止蛀牙,應每日三次用含氟牙膏徹底清潔牙齒和牙箍。矯牙牙醫或可提供含氟潄口水。

若牙箍破裂,應儘快約見矯牙牙醫,此外並應如常見牙醫作例行牙齒檢查。

顎骨位置不正的病人可能須要接受顎骨手術(正顎手術),糾正顎骨位置從而改善牙齒咬合。病人或要在手術前或後配戴牙箍移正牙齒,有關詳情請諮詢矯牙牙醫。

1. 成人也可以矯牙嗎?

可以,成人也可以接受矯牙治療糾正牙齒問題,例如牙齒不齊或咬合不正。

成人也可以接受矯牙治療糾正牙齒問題,治療有助改善牙齒的外觀或咬合。病人是否須要矯牙,主要視乎牙齒及牙齦的狀況和位置。假如尚有其他牙齒問題如蛀牙或牙周病,則必須先行處理才可以配戴牙箍。成人的顎骨已停止發育,因此配戴牙箍之前或之後可能要進行顎骨手術,但這種情況較罕見。

整個矯牙療程通常為期六個月至兩年,但有時候療程會維持更長時間,視乎須糾正問題的類別而定。有關矯牙的詳情請諮詢牙醫。

2. 可選用不顯眼的牙箍嗎?

您或可選擇不易為人察覺的牙箍,但這要視乎所需牙箍的類別而定。有關可供選擇的牙箍款式,請向矯牙牙醫查詢。

固定牙箍可選用不太顯眼的物料。例如透明的陶瓷托架便比金屬托架更不顯眼。這種牙箍受成人歡迎,但一般價格較高。

您亦可使用隱形牙套。這類可拆除的透明塑膠模又稱「隱形牙箍」,每副可配戴兩星期,然後更換全新的牙套。隱形牙套必須日夜配戴,但吃喝及擦牙時可以脫下。這種治療方案也相對昂貴,而且只適合已長齊恒齒的人。有關最適合的矯牙方案,請諮詢牙醫或矯牙牙醫。

3. 矯牙需要多少費用?

矯牙治療費用差異甚大,應請矯牙牙醫提供費用估計。

更多資料

來源

  • Orthodontic treatment. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthodontic treatment (braces). British Dental Health Foundation. www.dentalhealth.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Braces. British Dental Association 3D Mouth. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Removable appliances. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Fixed braces. British Dental Association: Smile. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Headgear. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthodontic mini-screws. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , published 2009
  • Retainers. British Dental Association: Smile. www.bdasmile.org , accessed 8 June 2011
  • Living with my brace. British Dental Health Foundation. www.dentalhealth.org, accessed 8 June 2011
  • Orthognathic surgery. British Orthodontic Society. www.bos.org.uk , accessed 8 June 2011

相關文章

嬰兒百日哭

百日哭指健康新生嬰兒陣發性不安及焦躁而嚎哭不止,這種情況的成因不明,雖然會令家長或育嬰人員苦惱不已,但對嬰兒無害。

閱讀更多

戒煙

香煙除含有會令人上癮的尼古丁外,還含有許多其它的對健康有害的有毒物質。戒煙可以帶來很多即時及長遠的益處。

閱讀更多

超級食物

究竟何謂超級食物?本文為您解說為甚麼有些食物被稱為「超級」,熱捧背後又有甚麼故事。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。