Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Common dieting mistakes

There always seems to be a new diet claiming to outshine all others and miraculously help you to instantaneously lose weight. However, although the array of products and services out there may make high claims, do they really work? More often than not they don’t and some can even be dangerous, starving your body of the nutrients that it needs.

This article highlights some common mistakes people make when trying to lose excess weight and gives advice on how to get it right.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

This method where you hugely cut down how much you eat is popular because it’s seen as a quick fix, but sadly there's no such thing. Crash diets might help you to lose a few pounds at first, but they won't help you to stay a healthy weight in the long run. Usually as soon as you stop restricting your calorie intake, you will put the weight straight back on again.

This happens because if you lose weight too quickly, you tend to lose a lot of lean body tissue – muscle – as well as fat. When this happens, your body starts to work more slowly, meaning that it needs fewer calories to function day-to-day. That's why the weight piles back on so quickly once you go back to your usual eating habits. Your body has adjusted to a lower calorie intake, so the extra calories are stored as fat.

If you’re overweight and want to lose some, the trick is to set realistic goals. Losing weight at a rate of about 0.5 to 1kg (1 to 2lb) per week is about right.

The ‘cabbage soup diet’, the ‘maple syrup diet’, the ‘blood group diet’ – no sooner does one fad diet lose popularity than another one comes along, promising to help you lose weight through one method or another. Eating a healthy, balanced diet is essential for good health and cutting out entire food groups, as advertised in some diets, can be dangerous. No single food contains all the nutrients and fibre you need to stay healthy, so it's important to eat a range of foods from the five main food groups.

If you’re trying to lose weight, rather than cutting something out completely try to eat less fat and sugar and replace them with more of other groups (such as fruit and vegetables). Weight for weight, fat has more than twice the calories of carbohydrates and protein. So remember to satisfy your hunger with bread, potatoes, rice and pasta when trying to lose excess weight.

Try to find low-fat alternatives to creamy sauces and buttery toppings, and choose cooking methods that keep the overall fat content low. And don't forget that a mountainous portion of healthy pasta still stacks up a lot of calories. Serving food on smaller plates can help you to eat sensible portion sizes.

Also watch out for ‘reduced-fat’ foods. These may not be low in fat at all – a ‘reduced-fat’ product must just have a third less fat than the standard product, so it may still be high in fat (‘75 percent fat-free’ still means the food is a quarter fat). Alternatively, the product may contain lots of salt and sugar.

Although diets such as the Atkins diet advocate cutting out fruit and vegetables, it’s important to aim to include at least five portions of these in your daily diet. Not only are fruit and vegetables rich in essential vitamins, minerals and fibre, but steamed, boiled or raw, they are both filling and low in calories.

Most people find it easier to lose weight by using a two-pronged approach that combines a lower-calorie diet with increased physical activity. However, some activity is less useful than others. Exercising until it hurts and you ‘feel the burn’ sits firmly in the less useful category, especially if you’re starting to be active for the first time, or are returning to exercise after not doing any for a long time. A relatively unfit person running hard for 10 minutes a couple of times a week is unlikely to shift much weight – and in fact, it could even be dangerous.

According to the UK Department of Health, to stay healthy you need to do at least 30 minutes of moderate exercise, such as brisk walking or swimming, on five or more days a week. You can break this up into several shorter chunks of 10 to 15 minutes throughout the day if that's easier for you. If you’re overweight or obese, you will probably need to do more than this.

Moderate activity should increase how fast your heart beats and make you feel slightly warm and a little out of breath. If you're not sure if you're doing enough or the right sort of physical activity, talk to your GP.

 

You don't become overweight by eating the occasional chocolate bar or cream cake if you have an otherwise healthy, balanced diet. Both putting on weight and slimming down to a healthy weight (and then maintaining it) really come down to lifestyle habits.

Successful weight loss is more about shifting these patterns than poring over the precise calorie content of every food you eat. Make sure that you eat a healthy, balanced diet and build some activity into your daily life, such as walking the kids to school instead of driving or taking the stairs instead of the lift. It should be a simple way to help you reach a healthy weight and, more importantly, to stay there.

If you find it difficult to go it alone, remember that support is available. You could join a reputable slimming club, or see your GP. He or she may be able to refer you to a nurse or dietitian for further advice.

 
  • Set yourself a realistic plan to lose excess weight and make changes that you can stick to in the long-term.
  • Ensure you eat a healthy, balanced diet that incorporates all food groups.
  • Build physical activity into your daily routine.
  • Make wider changes to your lifestyle to help you achieve your weight-loss goals.

Further Information

Sources

  • So you want to lose weight...for good. British Heart Foundation, 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Healthy weight loss. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published 2009
  • Astrup A, Larsen TM, Harper A. Atkins and other low-carbohydrate diets: hoax or an effective tool for weight loss? Lancet 2004; 364(9437):897–99. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(04)16986-9
  • Beat the bulge this New Year. From the Twelve Days of Xmas to the selection box of fad diets. The British Dietetic Association. www.bda.uk.com, accessed 3 August 2010
  • Carbohydrates, proteins and fats. Merck Manuals. www.merck.com/mmhe, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Be active, be healthy: A plan for getting the nation moving. Department of Health, 2009. www.dh.gov.uk

You might also like

Healthy Eating

The amount and type of food you eat has a major influence on your health. Eating a well-balanced diet can reduce your risk of various diseases as well as help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Read more

High Cholesterol

Cholesterol is a type of fat (lipid) made by the body. It's essential for good health and is found in every cell in the body. However, having a high cholesterol level in the blood (hypercholesterolaemia) can increase the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Read more

Obesity in adults

Obesity is a condition in which excess body fat affects a person's health. It usually happens because a person eats too many calories (energy) and doesn't do enough physical activity. Obesity increases the risk of a number of health problems including cancer, heart disease and type 2 diabetes.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

常見節食謬誤

減肥餐單不斷推陳出新,經常也有新的神奇節食法,聲稱勝過所有其他餐單,可讓您即時變得窈窕。可是市面的減肥產品和服務多得令人眼花繚亂,而且都聲稱功效驚人,究竟是否真的有效?答案是十居其九都沒有效,有些更會令身體得不到所需的營養,危害健康。

本文討論一般人着手減去多餘體重時常犯的錯誤,同時提供正確的指引。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

這種大量減低食量的減肥法非常流行,因為許多人認為它是減肥速成法,可惜減肥其實沒有捷徑。地獄式節食初期或會讓您減去數磅,但長遠來說不能維持健康體重,通常一旦停止限制卡路里攝取量,磅數便會馬上反彈。

這是因為體重下降得太急,導致大量瘦體組織 — 肌肉 — 連同脂肪流失。此時身體機能會減慢,即日常活動所需的卡路里數量下降。正因為這樣,一旦恢復慣常飲食習慣體重便會急速回升。您的身體早前已適應了較低的卡路里攝取量,所以多餘卡路里都會儲存為脂肪。

超重人士如欲減肥,要訣是定下務實的目標,即約每星期減0.5至1公斤(1至2磅)左右。

椰菜湯餐單、楓樹糖漿餐單、血型減肥餐單,流行的時尚減肥餐單多如恒河沙數,一款過時即有另一款補上,讓您永遠也不愁沒有減肥新法。健康均衡的飲食是保持身體健康的關鍵,部分餐單提倡完全戒吃某類食物,這樣可能危害健康。世上沒有任何一種食物富含人類所需的全部營養及纖維,所以飲食必須多元化,確保涵蓋五大類食物。

若您想減肥,不應完全戒吃某類食物,應該嘗試少吃脂肪和糖,以其他類別的食物取代(例如水果及蔬菜)。按同樣重量計算,脂肪的卡路里比碳水化合物和蛋白質多兩倍,所以若要減肥,切記肚子餓時吃麵包、馬鈴薯、飯和意大利粉充飢。

試試以低脂醬汁代替忌廉汁和牛油甜醬,同時採用健康的烹調方法,將整體脂肪攝取量降低。別忘記,意大利粉雖然健康,但假如份量驚人卡路里同樣很高。用較小的餐碟用膳,可養成習慣吃合理份量的食物。所謂「低脂」食物也要提防,這類食品未必是低脂。任何食品只需比普通產品少三分之一脂肪,便可列為「低脂」,事實上脂肪含量依然十分高(75%去脂指該食品仍有四分之一脂肪),此外低脂食品可能含大量鹽及糖。

雖然有些減肥法如阿特金斯餐單(食肉減肥法)提倡戒吃蔬果,但其實日常必須最少進食五份蔬果。蔬果不僅富含必要的維他命、礦物質和纖維,而且可蒸、煮或生吃,既飽肚又低卡路里。

雙管齊下減肥對大部分人都有顯著功效,即一方面減少攝取卡路里,另一方面增加運動量,但有些運動的減肥效果不太好,好像拚命運動直至身體酸痛和有「灼熱感」便是顯著例子,特別是首次開始做運動,又或停了很久再做運動,實在不宜。體能較差的人每星期做兩次劇烈跑步運動10 分鐘,不會取得甚麼減肥效果,更可能危害健康。

英國衛生部指出,要保持健康必須每星期五天或更頻密地做溫和運動,每次最少30分鐘,例如競步或游泳等,此外亦可將每日運動的時間分成多段,每段10至15分鐘,以配合個人生活習慣。超重或肥胖人士的運動量可相應提高。溫和運動會令心跳加速,身體微微發熱,並輕微氣喘。假如不肯定運動量是否足夠或選擇的運動是否適合,可諮詢醫生。

只要平常飲食均衡健康,偶爾吃一條巧克力或一件忌廉蛋糕不會令體重上升。變成肥胖和將體重減至健康水平(同時維持健康體重)都與生活習慣有密切關係,要成功減去多餘體重,秘訣在於改變飲食習慣,而不是數算每件食物的卡路里。您應確保日常飲食健康均衡,並經常運動,例如與小朋友一同步行上學,不要駕車,又或不乘電梯改行樓梯,總之找個簡單的方法讓您達到健康體重,更重要的是經常保持健康體重。

假如覺得獨自減肥很困難,別忘記您可以尋求支援。您可參加有信譽的健美會,又或見醫生,由他/她轉介到護士或營養師提供其他指導。

  • 定下切實可行的計劃減去多餘體重和作出改變,確保計劃可持之以恒
  • 確保飲食健康均衡,涵蓋所有食物類別
  • 將運動融入日常生活
  • 在生活上作出更大改變,達到減肥目標

更多資料

來源

  • So you want to lose weight...for good. British Heart Foundation, 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Healthy weight loss. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published 2009
  • Astrup A, Larsen TM, Harper A. Atkins and other low-carbohydrate diets: hoax or an effective tool for weight loss? Lancet 2004; 364(9437):897–99. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(04)16986-9
  • Beat the bulge this New Year. From the Twelve Days of Xmas to the selection box of fad diets. The British Dietetic Association. www.bda.uk.com, accessed 3 August 2010
  • Carbohydrates, proteins and fats. Merck Manuals. www.merck.com/mmhe, accessed 29 July 2010
  • Be active, be healthy: A plan for getting the nation moving. Department of Health, 2009. www.dh.gov.uk

相關文章

健康飲食

日常進食的食物分量和種類對健康有莫大影響。注意日常飲食均衡,便可減低多種疾病的風險,還可維持健康體重。

閱讀更多

高膽固醇

膽固醇是人體製造的一種脂肪(脂質),存在於每個細胞內,是維持健康的重要元素,血液中的膽固醇含量過高(高膽固醇症)會增加患上心臟病和中風的風險。

閱讀更多

成人肥胖症

肥胖症是因體內脂肪過多而危害健康的情況,成因通常是攝取過多卡路里(熱量)而運動不足。肥胖會增加患上多種疾病的風險,包括癌症、心臟病及二型糖尿病。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。