Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Food allergy

If you have a food allergy, your body's immune system mistakes particular foods, for example eggs or nuts, as harmful. An allergic reaction to food can cause a range of symptoms.

Food allergy is sometimes confused with food intolerance or food poisoning. These can make you feel ill but they aren't usually harmful in the same way that a true food allergy might be.

Food allergies in young children are more common than in adults, but many children outgrow them by school age. It's possible to develop a food allergy as an adult, even if you never had allergies as a child.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

If you have a food allergy, your body mistakes certain foods as harmful, and produces antibodies. This is known as sensitisation and may not cause symptoms. However, the next time you eat the food, the antibodies are ready to react with it. This causes the body to release chemicals, which lead to a range of physical symptoms known as an allergic reaction.

Some food allergies result in immediate, severe and even life-threatening symptoms (such as severe peanut allergy), whereas others cause symptoms which may take longer to develop (for example, gluten allergy, also known as coeliac disease).

You may get some or all of the following symptoms:

  • itching and/or swelling of your lips, mouth, tongue and throat
  • skin reactions (eg swelling and itching, eczema and flushing)
  • diarrhoea, feeling sick, vomiting and bloating
  • coughing
  • wheezing or shortness of breath
  • runny nose
  • sore, red and itchy eyes

You may also have symptoms that affect your whole body, such as:

  • extreme tiredness
  • arthritis

These symptoms can be caused by problems other than food allergy, so you should visit your GP for advice.

Sometimes people have an allergic reaction to food that is triggered by exercise. Not eating for a couple of hours before exercise may prevent this problem.

Some people develop a severe, whole-body allergic reaction called anaphylaxis, or anaphylactic shock; a rare but potentially fatal allergic reaction. Symptoms can include dizziness, a rapid pulse, a rapid drop in blood pressure and swelling of the airways and throat, making it difficult to breathe. This could result in loss of consciousness if left untreated.

Problem foods include peanuts, tree nuts (including macadamia and Brazil nuts, pecans, cashews, pistachios, almonds, hazelnuts and walnuts), fish and shellfish, cows' milk, eggs, soya and wheat.

If you have one food allergy, you may also react to other foods (cross-reactivity). For instance, if you're allergic to prawns, other shellfish may also affect you. People with hay fever or an allergy to latex may also have a cross-reaction to certain foods.

The diagnosis of a food allergy isn't always straightforward. Many food allergy symptoms can also be caused by a number of other conditions and it may take some time before the problem food is identified and your doctor can confirm that you have an allergy.

Your GP will ask you about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history. Some examples of questions you might be asked are listed below.

  • How quickly did the reaction start?
  • Did you take treatment (eg antihistamines) and did it work?
  • Do you always get this reaction to the food? How much did you eat?
  • Did anybody else eating the food get ill?
  • How was the food cooked and stored?
  • Do you have a family history of eczema, asthma, hay fever or food allergy?


If an allergy seems likely, your GP may refer you for testing at a specialist allergy clinic.

Elimination and challenge diets

An allergy specialist may ask you to remove the suspected allergy food from your diet and replace it with another food. If your symptoms improve, a diagnosis can usually be made.

To confirm this diagnosis, your doctor may then ask you to re-introduce the food back into your diet. If you have had severe allergy symptoms in the past, this will be done under medical supervision in hospital.

It's important, particularly for children, that you don't cut out food groups without first getting medical advice, as you could risk missing out on essential nutrients.

Skin prick tests

In a skin prick test, an extract of the suspect food is put on a small patch of skin, usually on your forearm or back, and a very small, fine scratch is made. If redness and swelling develops around the scratch, the test is positive for that food.

However, you can develop a positive reaction to this type of test without having allergic symptoms when you eat the food. These 'false positives' mean that the test isn't always completely reliable, so it's usually used in combination with other tests.

Again, there is a small risk if you have had severe allergic reactions in the past and therefore these tests are always carried out in hospital.

Blood tests

Blood tests are useful if you have a severe food allergy and are at risk of anaphylaxis or if you have extensive eczema or dermatitis and can't have a skin test. The RAST (radioallergeosorbent) test measures levels of food-specific antibodies in your blood. This test can result in false positive results (as in skin prick tests), or in false negative results (when your body produces antibodies but they aren't circulated in the blood).

Unproven allergy tests

Numerous tests that claim to detect allergies are available by mail order or online, through health food shops, sports centres and complementary practitioners. These include hair testing, electro-acupuncture, and various kinds of blood test.

There is no scientific evidence to prove that these tests have any value in diagnosing or managing food allergy. They can be expensive, and may give a worrying false positive result, or false reassurance. For this reason, the Royal College of Pathologists of UK recommends that you don't use them.

Managing food allergies

Some people outgrow their food allergies, especially children. However, this is unlikely with allergies to nuts and fish.

The only treatment for food allergy is not to eat the problem food. A registered dietitian can help you identify and remove a problem food from your diet and replace it with alternatives, to make sure you don't miss out on essential nutrients. Your dietitian can also explain what you need to look for on food labels and when eating out. Symptoms of mild food allergies, such as a rash or runny nose, may be treated with antihistamines. However, it's important that you only take medicines for your allergy on the advice of your doctor. Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your pharmacist for advice.

Emergency treatment

People with severe food allergies who are at risk of anaphylaxis need to take certain precautions. Despite reading menus and ingredients lists carefully, it's easy to eat a problem food by accident. Even a tiny amount of a problem food can trigger a severe reaction.

  • Make sure that your doctor teaches you how to cope if you have an allergic reaction.
  • Wear a bracelet or carry a card that gives details about your allergy.
  • Carry a pre-loaded adrenaline syringe (eg EpiPen). You must know how to use it in case you have an anaphylactic reaction. Check regularly to make sure that it's in full working order and within its expiry date. If you use this, you must always seek medical attention immediately afterwards.
  • Let your family, friends and work colleagues know of your allergy, and how they can help in the event of an emergency.
  • If your child has a severe allergy, you must make sure that all their carers and teachers have the knowledge and ability to react correctly in an emergency. 

1. How can I prevent my child from developing food allergies and will they grow out of them?

There are no proven ways to predict whether your child will have food allergies or to prevent your baby from developing them. However, a child born into a family with a history of allergies is more likely to develop food allergies than a child with no family history.

Food allergies are more common in children than in adults. In most cases, a food allergy won't continue into adulthood but will disappear altogether or will be replaced by a different kind of allergy (such as an allergy to pollen, dust mites etc). The most common food allergies in children are to peanuts and tree nuts (such as Brazil nuts, hazelnuts and walnuts), cows' milk, hens' eggs, wheat, fish and soya.

Pregnancy and breastfeeding

If you're pregnant or breastfeeding and are on a restricted diet because of a severe food allergy, you should check with your dietitian that you're getting all of the nutrients you need to stay healthy while pregnant or breastfeeding.

Babies are, to a certain extent, exposed to the foods eaten by their mothers when in the womb and during breastfeeding. The British Nutrition Foundation recommends that women who are pregnant and breastfeeding shouldn't eat peanuts or peanut-containing foods if there is a close family history (mother, father or siblings) of allergies such as food allergy, asthma, eczema or hay fever. If there is no family history of allergy, there is no need to prevent exposure to peanuts in babies, in fact some researchers believe, preventing a child from eating peanuts may put him/her at greater risk of developing an allergy. This is because if babies are exposed to tiny quantities of peanut during pregnancy and breastfeeding, it may help them to tolerate peanuts in the future. Research into this area is ongoing.

It has been shown that breast-fed babies are less likely to develop allergies or eczema than bottle-fed babies. The World Health Organization (WHO) recommending that babies are exclusively breastfed for the first six months of life. Breast-fed babies receive all the nutrients they need from their mother's milk, together with hormones and growth factors to help them develop, and antibodies which help protect them from infections.

Weaning

Talk to your health visitor about how and when to start introducing solid foods into your baby's diet (weaning). Usually, weaning isn't advised until a baby is six months old. When weaning your baby from breast or infant milk to solid foods, you should introduce new foods gradually. It's best to introduce foods one at a time and watch your baby's response carefully - keeping a food diary may help identify which foods are liked or disliked by your baby, and which foods cause any sort of reaction.

If you have a family history of allergy to a particular food, you should talk to your doctor or dietitian before introducing it to your baby. It is recommended that children with parents or siblings who have allergies shouldn't be given peanuts or foods containing peanuts until they are at least three years old. As with pregnancy and breastfeeding, if there is no family history of allergy, there is no need to stop young children eating peanuts, although you shouldn't let children under the age of five eat whole peanuts (or other types of nuts) in case they choke.

You shouldn't give wheat, rye or barley-based foods to babies younger than six months if there is someone in their family who can't eat foods containing gluten (ie they have coeliac disease).

Older children

Many children grow out of their food allergies by the time they are six or seven. However, some allergies (including fish and peanut allergies) are likely to continue into adulthood. If your child has been diagnosed with a food allergy at an early age and is under the care of an allergy specialist, it may be worth asking about having him/her re-tested in case his/her allergy has resolved.

2. I have just been diagnosed with a peanut allergy - what precautions should I take with my meals?

After diagnosis of any food allergy, it's important to get as much information as possible about how you can identify the problem food and what you should do if you're accidentally exposed to it.

Ask your GP or allergy specialist to refer you to a dietitian who will show you how to identify problem foods and how to ensure you have a healthy, well-balanced diet without them.

It is the law in Hong Kong that every pre-packed food must be clearly labelled to show whether they contain any of the eight substances, namely cereals containing gluten; crustacea and crustacean products; eggs and egg products; fish and fish products; peanuts, soybeans and their products; milk and milk products (lactose included); tree nuts and nut products; and sulphite in concentrations of 10 parts per million or more, which are known to cause allergy. Whenever you buy a pre-packed food, always check the label first, even if you have bought the product before - the recipe or method of manufacture might have changed since you last bought it. If you buy your groceries online, detailed product information and ingredient lists may not be available on the website - always check the labels of the products you have bought when they are delivered.

It's much more difficult to make sure that foods which aren't pre-packed don't contain peanuts or other problem foods. Examples of these are the foods that you might buy from sandwich shops, deli counters, salad bars, butchers, bakers or anywhere that food is weighed and sold loose. These foods won't have detailed ingredient and allergy labelling, and are also at increased risk of cross-contamination from foods which do contain peanuts or other problem foods. It may be safer, particularly if you have a severe allergy, never to buy foods which aren't pre-packed.

Eating out

If you're invited for a meal prepared by friends or family, make sure they are aware of your food allergy and which foods you can't eat. Ask them to check the ingredients they use with you. If appropriate, take your own food with you.

Before booking a table at a restaurant, it's important to inform them of your allergy and make sure that they can provide you with a meal that won't give you problems. When you arrive at the restaurant, tell the waiter, waitress and chef about your allergy and make sure they appreciate how serious it is. Don't rely on the menu for accurate descriptions of the dishes - nuts may be present in the food but not as a main ingredient and therefore may not be mentioned on the menu. Before ordering any food, carefully check the ingredients with the waiter or waitress and ask them to double-check with the chef - preferably, you should speak to the chef yourself. If there is any doubt as to the suitability of a particular dish, don't order it.

Particular dishes to watch out for in restaurants are listed below.

  • Malaysian, Chinese and Indian dishes - these often contain nuts or are cooked using nut oils.
  • Salads - these can be garnished with nuts or dressed with nut oils.
  • Desserts - nuts are often used as garnishes or may be present in the form of ground almonds or in the dessert base where they aren't immediately obvious.
  • Food in self-service areas - these are at risk from cross-contamination (as in non pre-packed foods).


Before travelling and eating abroad, it's a good idea to learn how to tell people about your food allergy, learn the words to look out for on menus and become familiar with local dishes which contain nuts. You can get translation cards in many different languages which will help you.

Medicines

It's important to check the ingredient lists of any medicines you take, whether this is off-the-shelf or over the counter from a pharmacy, or if it's a prescribed medicine. Your pharmacist can contact the manufacturer of your medicine to check whether the medicine contains peanuts (often as peanut oil), or if they are used in the manufacturing process.

Emergency treatment

If you have a severe allergy, you will probably have been prescribed an adrenaline pen (EpiPen) to use in case of accidental exposure to your problem food. Always have two adrenaline pens with you and check them regularly to make sure they are within their expiry dates. It's very important that you're comfortable with using your adrenaline pen and are confident that you will be able to do so in an emergency. If you have any concerns about using your adrenaline pen, discuss them with your doctor and ask for more training on how to use it. If you ever have to use your adrenaline pen, it's vital that you seek medical attention immediately afterwards.

Make sure your friends, family and work colleagues are aware of your allergy and know what to do in an emergency.

If you need any further information about your food allergy, talk to your GP or allergy specialist.

3. I ate shellfish at a restaurant last night and have been sick and have a rash on my skin - is this a food allergy?

Food allergy and food poisoning can often result in very similar symptoms and it can be difficult to decide which of these conditions is causing the symptoms.

Diarrhoea, feeling sick, vomiting and gastrointestinal discomfort can all be symptoms of both food allergy and food poisoning. However, there are some symptoms which you often get in food poisoning but not in food allergy and vice versa.

The common symptoms of food poisoning include diarrhoea, feeling sick, vomiting, abdominal cramping, pain, bloating and fever.

The common symptoms of food allergy are diarrhoea, feeling sick, vomiting and bloating, but you may also, or instead, have coughing and wheezing, runny nose, sore, red and itchy eyes, itching and/or swelling of your lips, mouth, tongue and throat, skin reactions (swelling, itching, rash, eczema), fainting and collapse.

These symptoms may also be caused by problems other than food allergy or food poisoning. Your GP is the best person to advise you as to whether you have a food allergy, food poisoning or another condition and what treatment you need.

In addition to thinking about the types of symptoms you're experiencing, consider the following points.

  • If you have had similar symptoms with this type of food before, it's possible that you may have a food allergy or an intolerance to this type of food.
  • If you have a history of allergic disease, or someone in your close family does, you're more likely to have allergies.
  • If other people eating the same food have had similar symptoms, this suggests that there was a problem with the food itself. Contact the restaurant and/or the local health department to find out if they have had any other similar reports. 

You might also like

Indigestion

Indigestion is the term used to describe pain and discomfort in the upper abdomen or chest that can develop after a meal. The medical term for it is dyspepsia.

Read more

Food hygiene

Good food hygiene isn’t just something for restaurants to worry about.

Read more

Diabetes type 2

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

食物過敏

食物過敏指身體免疫系統誤認個別食品(例如蛋或堅果)為有害。食物過敏反應可導致多種不適徵狀。

食物過敏有時很容易與食物不耐症或食物中毒混淆,後兩者也會導致不適,但通常不會像食物過敏對身體造成損害。

年幼兒童出現食物過敏的病例比成年人多,但許多小朋友到了入學年齡食物過敏反應也會漸漸消失。童年時從未試過過敏的成年人也可能出現食物過敏。

 以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

食物過敏患者的身體誤認某些食物為有害物質,因此製造抗體,這稱為致敏作用而可能毫無徵狀。不過,當下次進食這種食物時,抗體便會作出反應,令身體產生化學物,造成一連串徵狀,亦即過敏反應。

有些食物過敏反應會即時引致嚴重或甚至有生命危險的徵狀(例如嚴重花生過敏症),其他病例的徵狀則慢慢浮現(例如麩質過敏症,又稱乳糜瀉)。

患者可能出現部份或所有下列徵狀:

  • 唇部、口部、舌頭及喉嚨痕癢及/或腫脹
  • 皮膚過敏反應(例如腫癢、濕疹及臉紅潮熱)
  • 腹瀉、作嘔、嘔吐及腹脹
  • 咳嗽
  • 氣喘
  • 流鼻水
  • 眼痛、眼紅及痕癢

此外亦可能有影響全身的徵狀:

  • 極度疲倦
  • 關節炎

上述徵狀不一定是食物過敏,所以應請普通科醫生作出診斷。

有些患者的食物過敏反應是由運動誘發,最好的預防方法是避免在運動前兩小時進食。

有些患者會出現稱為過敏性休克的全身性過敏反應。這種反應很罕見,但足以致命,徵狀包括頭暈、脈搏加速、血壓急劇下降、氣管及喉嚨腫脹導致呼吸困難,如不就醫可引致昏迷。

可能造成過敏的食物包括花生、木本堅果(包括澳洲胡桃和巴西果仁、山核桃、腰果、開心果、杏仁、榛子及合桃)、魚類及貝殼類、牛奶、蛋、大豆及小麥。

對一種食物過敏的人,也可能對其他食物產生過敏(交叉反應)。例如,若您對蝦過敏,其他貝殼類亦可能令您不適。花粉症患者或對乳膠過敏人士亦可能對某些食物出現交叉反應。

診斷食物過敏並不容易,許多徵狀都與多種其他疾病相似,醫生可能需要花點時間才能找出致敏元凶,確診患者對食物過敏。

普通科醫生會詢問您的徵狀和為您檢查,他/她亦可能詢問您的病歷。以下是他/她可能詢問的事項:

  • 是否很快出現反應?
  • 有接受治療嗎(如抗組織胺)?療效如何?
  • 是否每次吃這種食物也有過敏反應?這次吃了多少?
  • 其他人進食後有不適嗎?
  • 食物是否煮熟和妥善儲存?
  • 家族有濕疹、哮喘、花粉症或食物過敏病史嗎?

如普通科醫生認為很可能是食物過敏,便可能轉介您到過敏專科診所接受檢測。

排除及食物激發試驗

過敏專科醫生可能會指示患者停止進食懷疑致敏的食物,以其他食物取而代之,假如停食後過敏情況改善,便可以作出診斷。

為確診食物過敏,醫生通常會請患者再吃這種食物。假如以往曾有嚴重過敏反應,醫生會安排入院在嚴密監控下試驗。

食物過敏患者,特別是兒童,未經醫生指導不應完全避免進食任何一類食物,否則可能會導致身體缺乏某些必需的營養素。

皮膚點刺測試

皮膚點刺測試是將少量懷疑造成過敏的食物放在小範圍皮膚上,通常是前臂或背部,然後輕輕用針刺刮,如刮痕周圍出現紅腫,便可以證實那種食物導致過敏。

然而,若患者的測試結果呈陽性,但進食指定食物時卻沒有過敏反應,便屬於「假陽性」。換言之,此測試並非百分百準確,所以一般會配合其他測試一同進行。

另外,過去曾有嚴重過敏反應的患者接受此測試可能造成風險,所以通常會安排在醫院進行。

驗血

嚴重食物過敏並可能出現過敏性休克的患者,或身體有廣泛濕疹或皮炎不能接受皮膚測試的患者,可透過驗血檢測。放射過敏原吸附測試可量度血液中針對個別食物種類的抗體水平。這種檢測也可能出現假陽性結果(如同皮膚點刺測試),或假陰性結果(身體有製造抗體但不存在於血液)。

未經驗證的過敏測試

市面有無數聲稱可探測過敏症的測試,由健康食品店、體育中心及補充療法治療師發售,消費者可以郵購或在網上訂購。這些測試包括頭髮測試、電針和不同類型的驗血檢測。

現時並無任何科學證據證明這些測試能有效診斷或控制食物過敏。部份產品十分昂貴,而且可能出現假陽性結果,引起不必要的憂慮,又或出現假陰性,令患者失去警覺。

控制食物過敏

有些食物過敏患者的病情會隨着年齡好轉,當中以兒童患者居多,但對果仁和魚類過敏卻一般不易自然消失。

要避免食物過敏,唯一方法就是不要進食致敏的食物。患者可請教註冊營養師找出日常飲食中的問題食物,然後以其他食物替代補充日常的主要營養。營養師還會指導患者選購食物時應查看甚麼標籤項目,以及出外用膳時應注意甚麼。輕微食物過敏,例如紅疹或流鼻水,可服用抗組織胺紓緩。然而服用抗敏藥必須聽從醫生指示,並請嚴格依照藥品說明書的病人須知指示服用,如有疑問請諮詢藥劑師。

緊急治療

可能出現過敏性反應的嚴重食物過敏患者必須採取某些預防措施。有時候儘管已仔細閱讀菜牌或成份表,仍會不慎進食問題食物。這些食物即使份量極少,亦足以引發嚴重的反應。

  • 請醫生指導如何應付過敏反應。
  • 佩戴手鐲或隨身攜帶說明卡,列出個人食物過敏詳情。
  • 隨身攜帶注有腎上腺素的針筒。為確保遇到過敏性休克反應時懂得如何使用,請熟習操作方法,同時經常檢查針筒是否操作良好,藥物是否已過有效期。使用針藥後,必須立即就醫。
  • 告訴家人、朋友及同事您有食物過敏症,指導他們在緊急情況下如何應對。
  • 子女有嚴重食物過敏後反應的家長必須確保照顧人員和老師知道他們的情況,以及懂得如何應付緊急情況。

1. 怎樣預防子女出現食物過敏,他們長大後會好轉嗎?

現時沒有任何經驗證有效的方法可以預測小朋友會否有食物過敏,亦很難預防小寶寶出現食物過敏,但若家族有食物過敏遺傳史,小寶寶出現食物過敏的風險會高於其他兒童。

兒童比成年人較易患上食物過敏症,大部份患者的過敏均不會持續至成年,過敏會完全消失,又或變成另一種過敏(例如對花粉或塵蟎過敏等)。最常見的兒童食物過敏是花生和木本堅果(例如巴西果仁、榛子及合桃)、牛奶、雞蛋、小麥、魚類及大豆。

懷孕及授乳

孕婦或授乳母親如因嚴重食物過敏而須嚴格控制飲食,應請教營養師您是否營養充足均衡,確保在妊娠或授乳期保持健康。

尚未出生的胎兒和吃母乳的嬰兒不多不少也會受母親的飲食影響。英國營養基金會建議孕婦和授乳母親如近親(父母或兄弟姊妹)有食物過敏、哮喘、濕疹或花粉症等過敏病史,應戒吃花生或含花生的食品。如家族無過敏病史,便毋須避免讓嬰兒進食花生。有些研究學家更指刻意禁止小童吃花生,可能增加他/她日後對食物過敏的風險,這是因為嬰兒若在母親懷孕及授乳期間接觸過少量花生,日後對花生有耐受性。有關這方面的研究仍在進行中。

研究亦發現吃母乳的嬰兒出現食物過敏或濕疹的機會低於吃奶粉的嬰兒。世界衛生組織(世衛)建議婦女在嬰兒頭六個月完全餵母乳。吃母乳的嬰兒可從母乳中攝取所有必要養份,並且促進發育的荷爾蒙及生長因子,還有不同抗體防禦感染。

戒奶

有關何時開始餵固體嬰兒食物(戒奶),可請教保健員。一般嬰兒未滿六個月不宜戒奶。小寶寶從母乳或幼兒奶粉轉渡至固體食物的過程應循序漸進,固體食物最宜逐一嘗試餵食,小心觀察小寶寶的反應。媽媽可每日寫食物記錄,確定小寶寶喜歡和不喜歡的食物,以及引起任何反應的食物。

如家族有任何一種食物的過敏病史,嘗試給小寶寶進食這種食物時應先諮詢醫生或營養師的意見。如父母或兄弟姊妹有過敏症,小寶寶三歲前不宜進食花生或任何含有花生的食物。如妊娠和授乳一樣,如家族沒有過敏病史,毋須禁止小童吃花生,但未滿五歲的兒童不適宜吃花生(或其他果仁),因為容易哽噎。

未滿六個月的嬰兒,如有家族成員對麩質食物過敏(乳糜瀉患者),便不應進食小麥、黑麥或以大麥製造的食品。

較年長兒童

許多兒童到了六、七歲,食物過敏症便會自然痊癒,但有些過敏則會持續到成年(包括魚類及花生過敏)。如兒童在小寶寶時已經被診斷患有食物過敏,並由過敏專科醫生護理,家長應要求重新檢測,看看是否已自行痊癒。

2. 我剛被診斷對花生過敏,日常飲食應注意甚麼?

確診對任何食物過敏的人士應儘量多了解相關的資訊,以界定問題食物,從而學習不慎誤吃過敏食物時應如何處理。

您可請普通科醫生或過敏專科醫生轉介營養師。營養師可指導患者如何界定問題食物,以及怎樣確保禁食某些食物也能保持飲食均衡。

香港法律規定所有預先包裝食品在標籤上清楚註明是否含有八種既知可引致過敏的食物,即麩質、甲殼類及甲殼類製品、蛋及蛋類製品、魚及魚類製品、花生、大豆及豆類製品、奶及奶類製品(包括乳糖)、木本堅果及果仁製品,以及含量達百萬份之十或以上的亞硫酸鹽。購買包裝食品時,必須小心閱讀標籤,即使以往亦曾購買同樣的食物,烹調方法或製作過程亦會不時改變,所以應小心為上。如在網上訂購食品雜貨,網站可能不會詳細列明產品資料及成份,產品送到家中時應仔細閱讀標籤。

至於沒有包裝的食物,要鑑定是否含花生或其他問題成份並不容易。例如在三文治快餐店、熟食店、沙律吧、肉食店、餅店或其他散秤或散賣食物商店購買的食物,這些食物都沒有詳細的成份和過敏提示標籤,此外還可能受含有花生或其他問題成份的食物交叉污染,所以食物過敏人士,特別是嚴重患者,切勿購買任何非預先包裝的食品。

出外用膳

若朋友或家人邀請您到家中用膳時,請確保他們知道您有食物過敏,不可吃某些食物。請提示他們檢查食物材料,如可以的話則自備食物。

在食肆預訂座位時,應通知對方您有食物過敏,確保食肆可提供不含問題成份的食物,不會令您過敏。到達食肆時,告訴侍應及廚師您有食物過敏,確保他們明白稍有不慎便會造成嚴重後果。點菜時切勿單看菜單的描述,食物可能含有果仁,若非主要成份,菜牌一般不會說明。點菜之前,先詳細詢問侍應所有成份,並叮囑他再詢問廚師作實,最理想當然是親自與廚師說一聲。假如不肯定個別菜餚或是否適宜進食,便不要點選。

在食肆用餐時,應特別留意以下食品:

  • 馬來、中國及印度菜 - 這些菜式一般含果仁,也常用果仁油烹調。
  • 沙律 - 常以果仁伴碟或用果仁油混拌。
  • 甜品 - 常以果仁伴碟或採用碎磨杏仁或在底部藏有果仁,即時不會發覺。
  • 自助食品 - 有交叉污染風險(情況跟非預先包裝食品相同)。

到海外旅遊和用餐之前,最好先告訴他人您有食物過敏,學習菜牌常用的成份名稱,了解哪些當地菜式含有果仁。您可購買多種語言的翻譯便攜卡,方便溝通。

藥物

任何購自藥房的成藥或非處方藥物,又或任何處方藥物,必須先小心查看成份,方可服用。藥劑師可聯絡藥品製造商,核實成份中是否有花生(花生油常用於藥物),又或製藥過程中有否使用花生。

緊急治療

醫生通常會為嚴重食物過敏患者處方腎上腺素抗敏針(EpiPen)隨身攜帶,以在不慎進食問題食物時緊急抗敏。患者應時刻攜帶兩支抗敏針,並經常檢查是否操作正常和針藥是否已過有效期。患者必須熟習使用抗敏針,遇上緊急情況才可以順利操作。如對腎上腺素抗敏針有任何疑問,應諮詢醫生和請他/她多加指導,確保手勢純熟。一旦使用針藥後,必須立即就醫。

告訴家人、朋友及同事您有食物過敏症,指導他們在緊急情況下如何應對。

如欲了解關於食物過敏的其他資料,請諮詢普通科醫生或過敏專科醫生。

3. 昨晚在餐廳吃了貝殼類海產,一直作嘔,皮膚出紅疹,是否食物過敏?

食物過敏和食物中毒的徵狀有時極之相似,所以很難憑徵狀清晰界定。

食物過敏和食物中毒均會引致腹瀉、作嘔、嘔吐和腸胃不適,但某些食物中毒的徵狀不會見於食物過敏,反之亦然。

食物中毒的常見徵狀包括腹瀉、作嘔、嘔吐、腹絞痛、痛楚、腹脹及發燒。

食物過敏的常見徵狀包括腹瀉、作嘔、嘔吐及腹脹,但亦會伴隨或純粹咳嗽及氣喘、流鼻水、眼痛、眼紅及痕癢及/或唇、口、舌及喉腫脹、皮膚過敏反應(腫癢、紅疹及濕疹)、暈厥及昏迷。

上述徵狀亦可能是食物過敏或食物中毒以外的其他疾病引起。要知道究竟是食物過敏、食物中毒還是其他疾病,以及需要如何治療,最好諮詢普通科醫生。

除了留意徵狀,患者還可以考慮以下各點:

  • 以往進食同一種食物是否有類似徵狀。您可能對這種食物過敏或不耐。
  • 有過敏症病史或近親有這種疾病的人士,食物過敏的風險相應較高。
  • 若其他人進食這種食物後也有類似徵狀,問題便可能出在食物本身,請聯絡食肆及/或衛生部門詢問是否有其他顧客在該食肆用餐後感到不適。

相關文章

消化不良

「消化不良」指用餐後上腹部或胸口感到痛楚和不適。胸口有時或會感到灼熱,稱為「胃灼熱」。

閱讀更多

食物衛生

食物衛生不僅食肆要關注,所有烹調食物的人士都應注意。無論是烹調高手,還是只懂在家用微波爐煮食或弄一件焗豆多士,都必須認識安全和衛生的煮食之道。

閱讀更多

二型糖尿病

二型糖尿病是終身疾病,患者的身體對天然荷爾蒙胰島素無反應,以致無法完善調節血糖數量,其成因通常是肥胖所致。二型糖尿病又稱非胰島素依賴型糖尿病。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。