Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Healthy weight for adults

Weighing too much or too little can damage your health and cause serious conditions such as heart disease and cancer. Therefore, it is a good idea to keep an eye on your weight. This article explains how to work out whether you are a healthy weight and what changes you can make if you are not.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Maintaining a healthy weight is an important way to make sure you stay in good health and reduce your likelihood of developing a number of long-term health problems.

Being overweight or obese increases your risk of developing health problems including coronary heart disease, stroke, type 2 diabetes, osteoarthritis and some types of cancer. If you are underweight, you may be more likely to develop other health problems, such as osteoporosis.

 

There are several different ways of working out whether you are a healthy weight. The most commonly used measurement is body mass index (BMI). Your waist circumference and body shape can also indicate whether you may be at an increased risk of developing health problems.

If you are not sure whether you are a healthy weight, check with a doctor or nurse.

BMI

BMI takes into account your weight and height and is, in general, a good indicator of how much body fat you have.

To find out your BMI, calculate your weight in kilograms divided by the square of your height in metres.

Using this system, if your BMI is:

  • less than 18.5, you are underweight
  • between 18.5 and 22.9, you are a healthy weight
  • between 23 and 24.9, you are overweight
  • between 25 and 29.9, you are obese
  • over 30, you are morbidly obese

If your BMI is 23 or over, it is a good idea to try to lose excess weight in order to prevent serious health problems from developing. Your health may be already at risk if you have a BMI of 25 or more.

BMI does not apply to everybody, for example, it is not used for pregnant women or children. Children’s weight changes a lot as they grow, so their age and sex are taken into account when working out whether or not they are a healthy weight. BMI cannot be applied to pregnant women as they are gaining weight because of their growing baby.

BMI may also be unsuitable for people with a lot of muscle. For example, athletes and people who play a lot of sport may have a BMI of over 25 but have very little body fat.

If you belong to certain ethnic groups (for example, if you are of Asian descent), the BMI ranges above may not be appropriate for you. Speak to a doctor for more information.

Body shape and waist circumference

Where you store fat on your body is an important indicator of whether or not your weight is a risk to your health – this may be a better measure in people who do a lot of sport. Storing fat around your abdomen (tummy) and waist (apple-shaped) is thought to be worse for your health than storing it around your thighs and bottom (pear-shaped). If you are apple-shaped, you are at a higher risk of developing coronary heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure (hypertension).

If you are carrying excess fat around your abdomen, it is possible that your waist circumference is greater than is healthy. According to the World Health Organization, men with a waist measurement of 102 cm (40 inches) or more, and women with a waist measurement of 88 cm (34.5 inches) or more, have the greatest risk to their health. Again, these guidelines may vary from country to country.

 

Your weight is determined to some extent by your genes and how easily you put on weight, but also by the balance between what you eat and drink and how active you are. The energy that your food provides, which you use up walking, running or even sitting still, is measured in calories.

  • You will gain weight if you take in more calories than you use up.
  • You will lose weight if you use up more calories than you take in.
  • You will maintain your weight if you balance the calories you take in with the calories you use up.

But what does this mean for you, and what changes can you make if you weigh too much or too little?

If you are a healthy weight

Aim to maintain your weight through a combination of eating a healthy, balanced diet and doing regular physical activity.

A healthy, balanced diet means basing your meals around starchy foods, preferably wholegrain varieties, eating lots of foods high in fibre and at least five portions of fruit and vegetables a day – aim for these food groups to make up two-thirds of your diet. Try to limit how much you eat of foods that contain lots of fat, sugar and salt. Do not skip meals as your body will respond by storing fat to prevent against starvation. Instead, eat regular meals, especially breakfast, and make sure your portion sizes are appropriate.

Try to do some physical activity every day. The World Health Organization recommends the healthy level of physical activity for adults is 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week in bouts of 10 minutes or more. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week. Alternatively, you can do 75 minutes of vigorous intensity activity over the course of a week.

It is important that you include at least two weekly activities to build up muscle strength, such as exercising with weights. Try to spend as little time as possible being inactive.

If you are overweight or obese

Your risk of health problems such as heart disease, diabetes and cancer is higher if you are even a little overweight and the more overweight you are, the greater your risk of these diseases. This risk increases even further if you do not do any physical activity.

Losing excess weight and getting active will be very beneficial for your health. To lose weight, you need to burn off more calories through physical activity than you take in from food and drink. The best way to do this is by increasing how much exercise you do and reducing how much you eat.

Eat a healthy, balanced diet and cut down on foods containing fat and sugar. If you do not exercise, start by building physical activity into your usual daily routine, for example, walking to work instead of driving or taking the stairs instead of the lift. Gradually increase how much you do until you reach the weekly recommendation of 150 minutes.

If you are underweight

There are many reasons why you may be underweight. These include medical conditions, such as anorexia nervosa, in which you have a distorted idea of your body shape and weight, and try to limit how much you eat (or stop eating completely) and over-exercise. You may also be at risk of malnutrition if you have a long-term medical condition such as cancer or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Older people may be underweight through not eating enough, possibly because they find it difficult to prepare or eat meals, or they have a reduced appetite.

If you have a very restricted diet, you may not be getting all the vitamins and minerals that your body needs to be healthy. This can lead to health problems such as heart arrhythmia (palpitations) and osteoporosis. Try to increase your calorie intake through eating a balanced and nutritious diet, in order to gain weight and get back into a healthy weight range for your height. A doctor or a dietitian may give you advice and information about how to do this.

Unexplained weight loss or being unable to put on weight can sometimes be a symptom of an underlying health problem. If you find it difficult to put on weight or if you have lost a lot of weight in a short time, see a doctor.

 

Further information

Sources

  • What are the health consequences of being overweight? World Health Organization. www.who.int, published November 2006
  • Who is at risk of osteoporosis and broken bones? National Osteoporosis Society. www.nos.org.uk, accessed 12 September 2012
  • BMI calculator. Weight Wise. www.bdaweightwise.com, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Obesity and overweight. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published July 2009
  • Need to lose weight? Weight Wise. www.bdaweightwise.com, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Energy intake and expenditure. www.nutrition.org.uk, published July 2009
  • How do genes control weight? Genetics of Obesity Study. www.goos.org.uk, accessed 3 December 2012
  • A healthy varied diet. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published January 2012
  • Getting into a regular eating pattern. Weight Concern. www.weightconcern.org.uk, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Start active, stay active. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published July 2011
  • Obesity and overweight. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published May 2012
  • So you want to lose weight... for good. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, published 2009
  • Eberhardie C. Nutrition in older people. Nursing Times 2009. www.nursingtimes.net
  • The effects of under-eating. National Centre for Eating Disorders. www.eating-disorders.org.uk, published 2009
  • Signs and symptoms of cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support. www.macmillan.org.uk, published February 2012
  • Information about Crohn’s disease. Core. www.corecharity.org.uk, published February 2011
  • Waist circumference and waist-hip ratio: report of a WHO expert consultation. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published December 2008

You might also like

Healthy Eating

The amount and type of food you eat has a major influence on your health. Eating a well-balanced diet can reduce your risk of various diseases as well as help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Read more

Heart attack

A heart attack, also known as myocardial infarction or coronary thrombosis, happens when a coronary artery (a blood vessel that supplies the heart with blood) carrying oxygen-rich blood to the heart is blocked.

Read more

Liver cancer

Cancer that starts in your liver is called primary liver cancer. About 1,800 people are diagnosed with liver cancer each year in HK.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

成人健康體重

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

體重過重或過輕都會危害健康和引致心臟病及癌症等嚴重疾病,因此大家應多加注意,保持健康體重。本文為您講解如何評估體重是否健康,同時怎樣改變生活習慣調節體重至健康水平。

保持理想體重是常保健康的重要一環,還可減低患上多種長期疾病的機會。

超重或肥胖增加出現健康問題的風險,包括冠心病、中風、二型糖尿病、骨性關節炎和某類癌症。假如您體重過輕,則較易患上另一些疾病,例如骨質疏鬆。

評估體重是否健康有多種方法,最常用的量度基準是體重指數(BMI)。您的腰圍和體形亦可顯示您患病的風險是否偏高。

假如不肯定體重是否健康,可請教醫生或護士。

BMI

BMI以您的體重和身高作為依據,一般可作為體內脂肪量的可靠指標。

BMI的計算方法是將體重(公斤)除以身高(平方米)。

 

按照這個系統,亞洲成年人的BMI
  • 低於18.5為體重過輕
  • 介乎18.5至22.9屬於健康體重
  • 介乎23至24.9屬於超重
  • 介乎25至29.9屬於肥胖
  • 超過30屬於病態肥胖

若BMI達到23或以上,建議減去多餘體重以預防嚴重疾病。BMI達到25或以上的人士可能早已有健康風險。

BMI並非所有人也適用,例如孕婦或兒童便不宜以BMI評估體重。兒童發育期間身體不斷變化,因此評估體重是否健康時必須考慮他們的年齡和性別,至於孕婦則因為體內胎兒發育而體重上升。

肌肉較多的人也不宜以BMI評估體重。例如運動員和積極運動的人士,BMI可能超過25但其實體內脂肪極少。

體形和腰圍

您儲存脂肪的身體部位是重要的指標,可顯示您的體重會否構成健康風險 — 這種評估方法特別適用於熱愛運動的人士。醫學認為脂肪儲存在腹部(肚)及腰間(蘋果形)比儲存在大腿和臀部(梨形)風險較大,蘋果形的人較容易患冠心病、糖尿病及高血壓。

腹部有過多脂肪的話,腰圍可能已超出健康上限。根據世界衛生組織指引,男性腰圍102厘米(40吋)或以上和女性腰圍88厘米(34.5吋)或以上,患病風險都較高,但這些指引也會因國家而異。

我們的體重不多不少由遺傳基因,以及是否容易致肥而決定,此外還要考慮日常飲食習慣和運動量。食物為我們提供熱量,我們步行、跑步或甚至靜靜坐着也會消耗熱量。熱量是以卡路里作為量度單位。

  • 卡路里攝取量多於消耗量會導致體重上升
  • 卡路里攝取量少於消耗量會導致體重下降
  • 卡路里攝取量與消耗量均衡,體重便可保持穩定

但是在實際生活中這是甚麼意思?體重過重或過輕的人應怎樣調節生活習慣改善體重?

假如您擁有健康的體重

透過健康均衡的飲食和經常運動,以維持體重在正常水平。

健康均衡飲食指平常飲食以澱粉質食物為主,最好是全麥穀糧,並要多吃高纖食物,每天最少吃五分蔬果 — 這些食物應佔日常所有飲食三分之二。高脂肪、高糖及高鹽食物應儘量少吃。切勿不吃某一餐,否則身體會儲存脂肪來避免飢餓。相反,您應每日定時進餐,特別不可不吃早餐,進食的分量必需適中。

嘗試每日也活動一下。世界衛生組織建議成人保持健康的適量運動是每星期合共150分鐘(2.5小時),每次10分鐘或以上。您可每星期最少五天每天做30分鐘運動,亦可在一星期內做75分鐘劇烈運動。

每星期必須最少做兩次強健肌肉的運動,例如負重鍛煉。儘量減少賦閑不活動的時間。

假如您超重或肥胖

即使只是輕微超重,患上心臟病、糖尿病及癌症的風險也會提高。超重愈嚴重,患病風險便愈高。假如您缺乏運動,患病風險便更高。

減肥和做運動對健康有極大裨益。減肥必須靠運動燃燒卡路里,確保燃燒的卡路里數量比從飲食攝取的多。最有效方法是加大運動量和減少食量。

日常飲食必須注意健康均衡,少吃含脂肪和糖分的食物。假如您沒有運動的習慣,現在好應開始把運動融入日常生活。例如,每日步行上班,不要駕車,又或從樓梯步行上樓,不要乘搭電梯。記着要按步就班,漸漸提高運動量,直至達到每星期150分鐘的標準。

假如您體重過輕

體重過輕的原因很多,當中包括多種疾病,例如厭食症,即對自身體形和體重有扭曲的想法,於是限制食量(或甚至完全拒絕進食)和運動過度。此外,長期病患者,例如癌症或慢性阻塞性肺病患者,亦可能出現營養不良的風險。長者可能因為煮食或進食有困難或食慾下降,以致吃得不夠,也有導致體重過輕的問題。

嚴格控制日常飲食的人士可能缺乏某些身體必需的維他命和礦物質,以致影響健康。這或會引起健康問題,例如心律不正(心悸)及骨質疏鬆。您應嘗試攝取更多卡路里,日常飲食注意均衡營養,體重便可回復符合身高的健康水平。醫生或營養師可提供更多關於透過健康飲食改善體重的建議和資料。

要是體重無故下降或沒法增磅,可能是某些疾病的徵狀。假如總是沒法增加體重或短期內體重驟降,便應見醫生。

更多資料

來源

  • What are the health consequences of being overweight? World Health Organization. www.who.int, published November 2006
  • Who is at risk of osteoporosis and broken bones? National Osteoporosis Society. www.nos.org.uk, accessed 12 September 2012
  • BMI calculator. Weight Wise. www.bdaweightwise.com, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Obesity and overweight. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published July 2009
  • Need to lose weight? Weight Wise. www.bdaweightwise.com, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Energy intake and expenditure. www.nutrition.org.uk, published July 2009
  • How do genes control weight? Genetics of Obesity Study. www.goos.org.uk, accessed 3 December 2012
  • A healthy varied diet. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, published January 2012
  • Getting into a regular eating pattern. Weight Concern. www.weightconcern.org.uk, accessed 12 September 2012
  • Start active, stay active. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published July 2011
  • Obesity and overweight. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published May 2012
  • So you want to lose weight... for good. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, published 2009
  • Eberhardie C. Nutrition in older people. Nursing Times 2009. www.nursingtimes.net
  • The effects of under-eating. National Centre for Eating Disorders. www.eating-disorders.org.uk, published 2009
  • Signs and symptoms of cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support. www.macmillan.org.uk, published February 2012
  • Information about Crohn’s disease. Core. www.corecharity.org.uk, published February 2011
  • Waist circumference and waist-hip ratio: report of a WHO expert consultation. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published December 2008

相關文章

健康飲食

日常進食的食物分量和種類對健康有莫大影響。注意日常飲食均衡,便可減低多種疾病的風險,還可維持健康體重。

閱讀更多

突發性心臟病

突發性心臟病,又稱心肌梗塞或冠狀動脈栓塞,發生於輸送富氧血液到心臟的冠狀動脈(輸送血液到心臟的血管)出現堵塞。

閱讀更多

肝癌

在肝臟原發的癌症稱為原發性肝癌。香港每年約有1,800人確診肝癌。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。