Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

High Cholesterol

Cholesterol is a type of fat (lipid) made by the body. It's essential for good health and is found in every cell in the body. However, having a high cholesterol level in the blood (hypercholesterolaemia) can increase the risk of heart disease and stroke.

About two in three adults have a cholesterol level that is higher than recommended. Having high cholesterol affects your heart and blood vessels and increases your risk of developing cardiovascular disease (CVD). High cholesterol causes fatty deposits (known as plaques) to build up inside your blood vessels.

In time, the blood vessels supplying your heart may become so narrow that they can't deliver enough oxygen to the heart muscle, particularly when you're exerting yourself. This can cause you to feel chest pain (angina). If a fatty plaque breaks off, it may cause a blood clot which can block blood flow to your heart (heart attack) or brain (stroke).

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Cholesterol is transported around your body attached to a protein in your blood. This combination of fat and protein is called a lipoprotein. There are different types of lipoprotein, depending on how much fat there is in relation to protein.

HDL (high-density lipoprotein)

A small amount of cholesterol is transported as HDL, which is mostly protein and not much fat. The role of HDL is to transport excess cholesterol from the tissues (including the walls of arteries) to the liver for disposal. As HDL helps prevent cholesterol building up in your blood vessels, you have a decreased risk of heart disease if you have high levels of this type. HDL is considered to be the "good" type of cholesterol. Women tend to have higher HDL levels than men. HDL can be increased by physical exercise.

LDL (low-density lipoprotein)

Most of your body's cholesterol (around 70 percent) is transported in this form. It consists mainly of fat, with not much protein. LDLs are chiefly involved in transporting cholesterol from the liver to the cells. High levels of LDL are associated with an increased risk of CVD as LDL causes cholesterol to be deposited in your blood vessels. LDL is considered to be the "bad" type of cholesterol.

VLDL (very low-density lipoprotein) and chylomicrons

These lipoproteins account for a small percentage of your body's cholesterol, but they are rich in triglycerides and transport them to the tissues.

Triglycerides

Triglycerides are a different type of fat, mostly coming from fats in your food. Energy from food that is eaten and not used immediately is converted into triglycerides and transported to fat cells for storage. This provides you with an important source of stored energy.

Although most triglycerides are stored as fat, low levels are also found in your blood. A raised level of blood triglycerides together with high LDL can increase your risk of heart disease, particularly if you have diabetes.

Total cholesterol (TC)

Having a high TC level is a risk factor for future health problems. However, it's important to consider the relative amounts of HDL and LDL. This is often referred to as the TC:HDL ratio. You should aim for a high level of HDL and a low level of LDL (a low TC:HDL ratio).

 

A high cholesterol level may only be revealed if you develop symptoms of heart disease. Sometimes, yellow patches (known as xanthomas) may develop around your eyes or elsewhere on your skin - these are cholesterol deposits and indicate that you have high cholesterol levels in your blood.

There is an increased risk of heart disease, arterial disease and strokes. Your GP will discuss possible complications of high cholesterol with you.

There are several factors that may contribute to you having high blood cholesterol. These include:

  • a diet high in saturated fat and cholesterol
  • a lack of exercise - this can increase your LDL levels and decrease your HDL levels
  • family history - you're more likely to have high cholesterol if you have a close male relative aged under 55 or a female relative aged under 65 affected by heart disease
  • being overweight
  • age and gender - your cholesterol levels generally rise with increasing age, and men are more likely to be affected than women
  • drinking more than the recommended daily amount of alcohol

Rarely, high cholesterol can be caused by a condition which may run in your family - this is called 'familial hypercholesterolaemia'. About one in 500 people have this condition.

Other conditions such as poorly controlled diabetes, certain kidney and liver diseases, and an underactive thyroid may also cause high cholesterol. Some medicines such as beta-blockers, steroids or thiazides (a type of diuretic) may also affect blood lipid levels.

Measuring cholesterol involves a blood test. Usually you will be asked not to eat for 12 hours before the test so that your food is completely digested and doesn't affect the test. A blood sample may be taken either by a needle and a syringe, or by a finger prick. You can have this test done at your GP surgery, at hospital, or as part of a health assessment examination.

Home-testing kits for cholesterol are also available but may not be very accurate. Speak to your pharmacist about your result if you choose to use a kit.

The amount of cholesterol in your blood is measured in units called millimoles per litre of blood, usually shortened to 'mmol/litre', 'mmol/L' or 'mM'. Current UK guidelines state that it's desirable to have a total cholesterol level under 5mmol/L, and an LDL level under 3mmol/L. However, you should aim to have a total cholesterol level under 4mmol/L and an LDL level under 2mmol/L if you're at high risk of heart disease.

Who should have a cholesterol test?

You should have your cholesterol levels regularly checked by your GP if you have CVD (or are at high risk of CVD) or if you have a family history of high cholesterol.

There are two ways to help lower high cholesterol. The first is with lifestyle changes including changing your diet, managing your weight and increasing exercise. The second is to combine lifestyle changes with cholesterol-lowering medicines.

Self-help

Healthy eating can reduce cholesterol. Your diet should be low in saturated fats in particular, and low in fat overall. Biscuits, cakes, pastries, red meat, hard cheese and butter all tend to be high in saturated fats, so cut down on these foods.

Some foods contain cholesterol. These foods include eggs, prawns and offal such as liver and kidneys. This type of cholesterol is known as dietary cholesterol and it has a much lower effect on blood cholesterol than saturated fat in your diet. You don't need to cut down on these foods unless your doctor has advised you to.

It's also important to eat plenty of fibre, especially soluble fibre, which is thought to lower cholesterol. Soluble fibre is found in fruits and vegetables, beans and oats. Aim to eat at least five portions of fruit and vegetables each day. Foods containing substances called plant sterols or stanols may help to lower cholesterol.

If you're overweight, an excess weight loss plan may help you to reduce your LDL levels and increase your HDL levels. Increasing your physical activity may enhance the cholesterol-lowering effects of diet.

As high cholesterol can increase your risk of heart disease, you should reduce any additional risk of developing heart disease, eg by stopping smoking.

Medicines

Your GP may prescribe cholesterol-lowering medicines if you already have heart disease, or are at high risk of getting it because you have other risk factors. The aim of treatment is to reduce your total cholesterol levels by a quarter or to less than 4mmol/L.

The main group of medicines for lowering cholesterol are the statins. Available statins include atorvastatin (Lipitor), fluvastatin (Lescol), pravastatin (Lipostat), rosuvastatin (Crestor) and simvastatin (Zocor). They work by reducing the production of cholesterol in the liver. These medicines can have side-effects such as indigestion and muscle pains.

Other types of medicines to reduce cholesterol include fibrates, nicotinic acid and cholesterol-absorption inhibitors such as ezetimibe (Ezetrol), but these are generally less effective than statins or have more side-effects. Your GP can tell you more about these medicines and suggest the most suitable treatment for you.

 
You may be able to prevent the development of high cholesterol by maintaining a healthy weight, eating a healthy diet, stopping smoking, not drinking excessive amounts of alcohol and taking regular exercise. However, if your family has a history of high cholesterol, it may be difficult to prevent yourself from having it too.

1. How do the fats in my food affect my cholesterol levels?

Fat is a good source of energy but eating too much of the wrong types of fat increases your cholesterol levels and therefore your risk of heart disease.

Some fat is an essential part of a healthy diet but it's important that you don't eat too much of it and that you're careful about the type of fat that you eat.

The fat in your blood is turned into cholesterol by your liver. The cholesterol then enters your blood to be transported around your body. Not all cholesterol is bad for you; there is a harmful form and a protective form. The harmful form of cholesterol is known as LDL or low-density lipoprotein. The protective form of cholesterol is known as HDL or high-density lipoprotein.

You should reduce the amount and type of fat that you eat to help reduce your cholesterol level. There are different types of fat in food.

  • Saturated fats - these increase cholesterol levels. Examples of foods high in saturated fat include cakes and biscuits, pastry, meat products and hard cheese.
  • Trans fats - these have a similar effect on cholesterol levels as saturated fats. Foods containing hydrogenated vegetable oil, which must be listed in the ingredients list on the label, might contain trans fats. Trans fats currently don't need to be labelled separately on food labels. They can be found in biscuits and cakes, fast food and some margarines.
  • Mono-unsaturated fats - these help lower harmful cholesterol levels. Examples of foods high in mono-unsaturated fats include olive oil and rapeseed oil.
  • Polyunsaturated fats - these lower both harmful and protective cholesterol levels. Examples of foods high in polyunsaturated fats include sunflower oil and soya oil.

When you're shopping for food, compare the labels so you can pick those with less total fat or less saturated fat. Try and choose lower fat versions of dairy foods, such as semi-skimmed or skimmed milk, and reduced-fat yoghurt, whenever you can.

There is a particular type of polyunsaturated fat called omega-3 which can help to reduce your cholesterol levels. You can get omega-3 fats from:

  • oily fish, such as kippers, mackerel, sardines and salmon
  • certain oils, such as rapeseed, walnut and linseed oil
  • fish-oil supplements

You should aim to eat at least one portion of oily fish per week, although you should limit this to a maximum of two portions per week if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.

If you're worried about high cholesterol, ask your GP for advice.

2. What is the "normal" level of cholesterol that I should have in my blood?

Cholesterol plays an important role in your body's cells. However, too much cholesterol in your blood can increase your risk of heart problems. If you're not receiving any medicines to reduce your cholesterol levels, you should aim for a total cholesterol level of 5mmol/L or less. If you're at risk of developing heart disease, then your GP may advise you to aim for a total cholesterol level under 4mmol/L.

Most cholesterol is made by your body and this fatty substance plays an essential role in how every cell in your body works. Cholesterol is transported around your body attached to a protein in your blood. This combination of fat and protein is called a lipoprotein and there are several types of lipoprotein, depending on how much protein there is in relation to fat.

Nearly three-quarters of your body's cholesterol is transported in your blood as low-density lipoproteins (or LDL). LDL is considered to be the "bad" type of cholesterol as it causes cholesterol to be deposited in your blood vessels. Smaller amounts of cholesterol are transported in high-density lipoproteins (or HDL) and very low-density lipoproteins (or VLDL). HDL is considered to be the "good" type of cholesterol as it helps prevent cholesterol building up in your blood vessels. VLDLs are rich in triglycerides, a different type of fat from cholesterol, which mostly come from fats in your food.

Generally, the levels of cholesterol in your blood are considered by your GP as part of your overall cardiovascular risk. The following fat levels are generally regarded as being desirable if you're not receiving any cholesterol-reducing medicines.

  • Your total cholesterol should be 5mmol/L or less and your total cholesterol/HDL cholesterol ratio should be 4.5 or less.
  • You should aim to have an LDL cholesterol level (while fasting) of 3mmol/L or less, while your HDL cholesterol level should ideally be 1.2mmol/L or higher.
  • The level of triglycerides in your blood when fasting should ideally be 1.5mmol/L or less.

It's important to remember that there are different types of fat in food, each of which can affect your cholesterol levels.

  • Saturated fats increase your cholesterol levels. Foods typically high in saturated fat include cakes and biscuits, pastry, meat products and hard cheese.
  • Trans fats have a similar effect on cholesterol levels as saturated fats. Trans fats can be found in biscuits and cakes, fast food and some margarines, although they don't need to be shown on food labels.
  • Mono-unsaturated and polyunsaturated fats can help to lower your cholesterol level. Olive oil and rapeseed oil are both high in mono-unsaturated fats. Sunflower oil and soya oil are both high in polyunsaturated fats.

You should aim to reduce your cholesterol level by reducing the overall amount and type of fat that you eat. When you're shopping for food, compare the labels so you can pick those with less total fat or less saturated fat. Try and choose lower-fat versions of dairy foods, such as semi-skimmed or skimmed milk and reduced-fat yoghurt, whenever you can.

If you want to cut down on fats in your diet, you can compare the labels of different food products and choose those with less total fat and less saturated fat. Foods high in fat typically have more than 20g fat per 100g, whereas low-fat foods have 3g of fat or less per 100g. For saturated fat, which increases cholesterol levels, a high level is more than 5g of saturates per 100g. Food low in saturated fats contain 1.5g saturates or less per 100g.

  • Reducing your blood cholesterol. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 260
  • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2010. www.bnf.org/bnf/index.htm, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Lipid modification. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Cardiovascular risk assessment and the modification of blood lipids for the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. www.nice.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Eat well, be well. Saturated fat. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • What is cholesterol? British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Eating for your heart. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 21 September 2010
  • Trans fats. Eat well, be well. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Fat. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Unsaturated fat. Eat well, be well. Food standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Oily fish. Eat well, be well. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Statins – All the same? Heart UK. www.heartuk.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • CVD Risk assessment and management. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 16 September 2010

You might also like

Food allergy

If you have a food allergy, your body's immune system mistakes particular foods, for example eggs or nuts, as harmful. An allergic reaction to food can cause a range of symptoms.

Read more

High Cholesterol

Cholesterol is a type of fat (lipid) made by the body. It's essential for good health and is found in every cell in the body. However, having a high cholesterol level in the blood (hypercholesterolaemia) can increase the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Read more

Hepatitis B

Hepatitis B is a virus carried in your blood and body fluids which infects and damages your liver.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

高膽固醇

膽固醇是人體製造的一種脂肪(脂質),存在於每個細胞內,是維持健康的重要元素,血液中的膽固醇含量過高(高膽固醇症)會增加患上心臟病和中風的風險。

平均每三名成年人便有兩人的膽固醇高於建議水平。高膽固醇會影響心臟和血管,導致脂肪積聚在血管內(脂肪斑塊),增加患上心血管疾病的風險。

輸送血液往心臟的血管會隨着時間而漸漸狹窄,令心肌供氧不足,特別是勞累時情況更為嚴重。此時患者可能會感到胸痛(心絞痛)。如脂肪斑塊破裂,則可促成血栓形成,堵塞通往心臟或腦部的血管,造成心臟病發作或中風。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。  

膽固醇靠黏附於血液中的蛋白質被輸送到人體各部份。這種脂肪和蛋白質的結合體稱為脂蛋白。視乎黏附於蛋白上脂肪量的多少而將脂蛋白分為不同種類。

高密度脂蛋白

人體中有少量膽固醇以高密度脂蛋白的形式傳送,其主要成份為蛋白而非脂肪。高密度脂蛋白負責將人體組織(包括動脈壁)中的過量膽固醇輸送到肝臟進行處理。高密度脂蛋白可防止膽固醇在血管中積聚,較高水平的高密度脂蛋白有助於減低患上心臟病的風險。高密度脂蛋白被視為「好」膽固醇。女性的高密度脂蛋白水平通常比男性高,另外多做運動可增加體內的高密度脂蛋白。

低密度脂蛋白

人體內大部份膽固醇都是以低密度脂蛋白(約70%)的形式傳送,其主要成份是脂肪,只含少量蛋白。低密度脂蛋白主要負責將膽固醇由肝臟輸送到細胞。因低密度脂蛋白會導致膽固醇在血管內積聚,所以低密度脂蛋白水平增高會增加患上心血管疾病的風險。低密度脂蛋白被視為「壞」膽固醇。

極低密度脂蛋白及乳糜粒脂蛋白

只有很小比例的膽固醇以這類脂蛋白形式傳送,但富含三酸甘油脂,並將其輸送到各組織。

三酸甘油脂

三酸甘油脂主要來自食物中的脂肪。食物中不被身體即時應用的能量會轉化為三酸甘油脂而輸送到脂肪細胞儲存,作為身體重要的能量儲備。

儘管大部分三酸甘油脂會儲存為脂肪,但仍有少量留在血液。血中三酸甘油脂和低密度脂蛋白水平同時增高會增加患上心臟病的風險,尤其是糖尿病患者更應特別注意。

總膽固醇

總膽固醇水平偏高會增加日後健康的風險。但一併考慮高密度脂蛋白和低密度脂蛋白的相對數量同樣重要,稱為總膽固醇與高密度脂蛋白(TC:HDL)比率。其比率偏低為好,即高密度脂蛋白偏高而低密度脂蛋白偏低。

高膽固醇一般直至有心臟病徵狀出現才會被發現。有些人會在眼周或其他部位的皮膚出現由膽固醇沉澱而形成的黃色瘤這是,顯示血膽固醇含量偏高。
高膽固醇會增加患上心臟病、動脈疾病及中風的風險。您可以向醫生諮詢有關高膽固醇可能引起的併發症。

造成高膽固醇的可能成因包括:

  • 日常飲食中飽和脂肪及膽固醇含量過高
  • 缺乏運動 - 導致低密度脂蛋白水平上升,高密度脂蛋白水平下降
  • 家族史 - 家族中如有55歲以下男性近親或65歲以下女性近親患有心臟病者,其出現高膽固醇血症的機會相應偏高
  • 超重
  • 年齡及性別 - 膽固醇水平會隨着年齡增加,男性比女性較易受影響
  • 每日飲高於建議份量的酒精飲品

一種名為家族性高膽固醇血症的家族遺傳病亦會引致高膽固醇,但較為罕見,每500人約有一人患有此症。

其他病況如糖尿病控制不善、某些腎臟及肝臟疾病和甲狀腺功能減退亦可能導致高膽固醇。此外部份藥物,例如β受體阻劑、類固醇及噻嗪類藥物(一種利尿劑)也可能影響血脂水平。

要量度膽固醇水平必須驗血。你一般會要求在檢查前禁食12小時,以確保所有食物已完全消化而不會影響驗血結果。通常會採用靜脈抽血,檢查可在醫生診所、化驗所及醫院進行,身體檢查項目通常也包括膽固醇檢查。

血膽固醇水平是以每公升血液所含毫摩爾作為單位,即簡稱mmol/litre、mmol/L或mM。英國現行的總膽固醇水平指引是低於5mmol/L和低密度脂蛋白水平低於3mmol/L,然而心臟病高危人士最好保持總膽固醇水平低於4mmol/L和低密度脂蛋白水平低於2mmol/L。

誰應檢測膽固醇水平?

心血管疾病患者或高危人士,或家族有高膽固醇遺傳病史的人士應定期由醫生檢測膽固醇。

降低膽固醇共有兩種方法。第一是改變生活習慣,包括調整飲食、控制體重及多做運動;第二是改變生活習慣之餘服用降膽固醇藥物。

自我護療

健康飲食有助降低膽固醇。日常飲食中應特別注意降低脂肪總攝取量,特別是飽和脂肪。餅乾、蛋糕、酥餅、紅肉、硬芝士和牛油容易含有大量飽和脂肪,所以應減少進食。

有些食品含有膽固醇,包括蛋、蝦及肝腎等內臟。這類膽固醇稱為膳食膽固醇,對血中膽固醇的影響遠低於飲食中的飽和脂肪,除非醫生囑咐否則不用減吃這類食品。

日常亦須多吃纖維,特別是據說可降低膽固醇的水溶性纖維。水果和蔬菜、豆類及燕麥均含有水溶性纖維,每日應吃五份水果及蔬菜,此外含有植物固醇(plant sterols)或酯類(Stanols)的食物亦有助降低膽固醇。

超重人士應考慮展開減肥計劃,藉以降低低密度脂蛋白和提升高密度脂蛋白,多做運動可增加低膽固醇飲食的成效。

由於膽固醇偏高會增加心臟病風險,您應儘量減少其他可能誘發心臟疾病的風險,例如戒煙。

藥物

醫生或會為心臟疾病患者或受其他風險因素影響的高危人士處方降膽固醇藥物。這類藥物治療的目標是降低總膽固醇四分之一,或維持於4mmol/L以下。

他汀類藥物是最常用的降膽固醇藥,市面有售的藥品包括阿伐他汀(膽固清)、氟伐他汀(益脂可)、普伐他汀(Lipostat)、瑞舒伐他汀(冠脂妥)及辛伐他汀(舒降之)。這類藥物可減少肝臟製造膽固醇,但可能引起副作用,例如消化不良及肌肉疼痛。

其他可降低膽固醇的藥物包括纖維酸類、菸鹼酸及膽固醇吸收抑制劑如依折麥布(易降醇),然而這類藥物療效一般遜於他汀類或副作用較多。有關上述藥物的資料和哪種藥物最適合您,可請教醫生。

維持理想的體重、注意飲食健康、戒煙、不過量飲酒和經常做運動有助預防高膽固醇,但若家族有高膽固醇遺傳病史,則可能很難避免。

1. 食物中的脂肪如何影響膽固醇水平?

脂肪是良好的能源,但進食過多無益脂肪會令膽固醇水平升高,繼而增加患上心臟病的風險。

有些脂肪是維持身體健康的要素,重要的是不應過量攝取及注意日常進食的脂肪類別。

血液裡的脂肪由肝臟轉化為膽固醇,然後經血液輸送到身體各部份。不是所有膽固醇都是壞東西,有些對身體有害,有些具有保護作用。有害的膽固醇稱為低密度脂蛋白,具有保護作用的膽固醇稱為高密度脂蛋白。

要降低膽固醇水平,必須減少攝取個別類型的脂肪。食物所含的脂肪不盡相同:

  • 飽和脂肪 - 這類脂肪會提高膽固醇水平,例子包括高飽和脂肪類食品,如蛋糕及餅乾、酥餅、肉類製品和硬芝士。
  • 反式脂肪 - 一如飽和脂肪,反式脂肪同樣會導致膽固醇水平升高。標籤列明含氫化植物油的食品可能含反式脂肪。目前並無明文規定在食品標籤獨立標明反式脂肪含量。餅乾和蛋糕、快餐食品及某些植物牛油都含有反式脂肪。
  • 單元不飽和脂肪 - 有助降低壞膽固醇水平,含單元不飽和脂肪的食物包括橄欖油及葡萄籽油。
  • 多元不飽和脂肪 - 降低好和壞膽固醇水平,含多元不飽和脂肪的食物包括葵花籽油及大豆油。

選購食品時應比較標籤上的資料,選擇總脂肪量和飽和脂肪含量較低的品種,同時盡量選購低脂奶類產品,好像半脫脂或脫脂奶及低脂乳酪。

奧米加三是一種特別的多元不飽和脂肪,有助降低膽固醇水平。以下食物含有奧米加三:

  • 脂肪魚類,例如鱒魚、鯖魚、沙甸和三文魚
  • 某些油類,如葡萄籽油、胡桃油和亞麻籽油
  • 魚油營養保健品

每星期最少要吃一份脂肪魚類,但孕婦或正哺乳的婦女每星期不宜吃多於兩份。

如擔心有高膽固醇問題,應諮詢醫生的意見。

2. 甚麼才算是血「正常」的膽固醇水平?

膽固醇對人體細胞極為重要,但血液含有太多膽固醇會增加患上心臟疾病的風險。若目前沒有服用任何降膽固醇藥物的話,應儘量維持總膽固醇水平於5mmol/L或以下。假如屬心臟疾病高危人士,醫生可能會建議保持總膽固醇水平低於4mmol/L。

大部分膽固醇都是人體自行製造,這種脂質對身體每個細胞都很重要。膽固醇黏附於血液中的蛋白輸送到全身,這種脂肪蛋白混合物稱為脂蛋白。脂蛋白分為多類,視乎黏附於蛋白的脂肪量而定。人體幾乎四分之三膽固醇都是低密度脂蛋白。這種脂蛋白被視為「壞」膽固醇,因為它導致膽固醇在血管積聚;其餘少量膽固醇分別為高密度脂蛋白和極低密度脂蛋白,前者是可防止膽固醇在血液積聚的「好」膽固醇,後者含大量三酸甘油脂,是與膽固醇不同的另一類脂肪,主要來自飲食中的脂肪。

通常醫生會根據病人的血膽固醇水平評估整體心血管疾病風險。沒有服用降膽固醇藥物的人士,應儘量達到以下的理想脂肪水平:

  • 總膽固醇水平5mmol/L或以下,總膽固醇/高密度脂蛋白比率4.5或以下;
  • 低密度脂蛋白水平(禁食)3mmol/L或以下,高密度脂蛋白1.2mmol/L或以上;
  • 禁食時血三酸甘油脂水平以1.5mmol/L或以下為理想。

請切記食物中的脂肪分為多類,它們對膽固醇水平的影響各有不同。

  • 飽和脂肪會令膽固醇水平上升。典型的高飽和脂肪食品包括餅乾、蛋糕、酥餅、肉類製品及硬芝士。
  • 反式脂肪跟飽和脂肪一樣,會導致膽固醇水平上升。餅乾及蛋糕、快餐食品及某些植物牛油都含有反式脂肪,但食品標籤不一定標明。
  • 單元不飽和脂肪及多元不飽和脂肪均有助降低膽固醇水平。橄欖油及葡萄籽油均含豐富單元不飽和脂肪;葵花籽油及大豆油含有豐富多元不飽和脂肪。

只要減少進食脂肪和減少攝取脂肪的種類,便可降低整體膽固醇水平。選購食品時應比較標籤上的資料,選擇總脂肪量和飽和脂肪含量較低的品種,同時儘量選購低脂奶類產品,好像半脫脂或脫脂奶及低脂乳酪。

要奉行低脂飲食,平常應多比較不同食品的標籤,從中選擇總脂肪和飽和脂肪含量較低者。高脂肪食物平均每100克含超過20克脂肪,低脂食品則只有3克。飽和脂肪亦會令膽固醇水平上升,每100克超過5克的含量已屬偏高。低飽和脂肪食物每100克的飽和脂肪含量只有1.5克或以下。

  • Reducing your blood cholesterol. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 260
  • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2010. www.bnf.org/bnf/index.htm, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Lipid modification. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Cardiovascular risk assessment and the modification of blood lipids for the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. www.nice.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Eat well, be well. Saturated fat. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • What is cholesterol? British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Eating for your heart. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 21 September 2010
  • Trans fats. Eat well, be well. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Fat. British Nutrition Foundation. www.nutrition.org.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Unsaturated fat. Eat well, be well. Food standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • Oily fish. Eat well, be well. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 20 September 2010
  • Statins – All the same? Heart UK. www.heartuk.org.uk, accessed 22 September 2010
  • CVD Risk assessment and management. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 16 September 2010

相關文章

食物過敏

食物過敏指身體免疫系統誤認個別食品(例如蛋或堅果)為有害。食物過敏反應可導致多種不適徵狀。

閱讀更多

高膽固醇

膽固醇是人體製造的一種脂肪(脂質),存在於每個細胞內,是維持健康的重要元素,血液中的膽固醇含量過高(高膽固醇症)會增加患上心臟病和中風的風險。

閱讀更多

乙型肝炎

乙型肝炎是一種由血液及體液攜帶的病毒,會導致肝臟感染和受損。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。