Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

ACE inhibitors and angiotensin II receptor blockers

ACE inhibitors and angiotensin II receptor blockers

Angiotensin converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors and angiotensin II receptor blockers (ARBs) are medicines that are mainly used to treat high blood pressure (hypertension) and heart failure. They can also reduce the risk of kidney damage in people with diabetes.

 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

Why would I take ACE inhibitors and ARBs?

Your doctor may prescribe ACE inhibitors or ARBs if you have:

  • high blood pressure
  • heart failure or have had a heart attack
  • diabetes
How do ACE inhibitors and ARBs work?

There are systems in your body that work together to keep your blood pressure at a level high enough to get enough oxygen and nutrients around your body. ACE inhibitors and ARBs lower your blood pressure by acting on one of these systems; the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system.

Sensors on your kidney can detect when your blood pressure drops too low. When this happens, a chemical called angiotensin I is released into your blood. On its own, angiotensin I doesn't have much effect. But when angiotensin I meets angiotensin-converting enzyme in the blood, it is converted into angiotensin II.

Angiotensin II narrows your blood vessels. It also acts on the adrenal glands to trigger the release of aldosterone. Aldosterone makes your body hold on to water. The extra volume of fluid in your blood and the narrowing of the blood vessels cause your blood pressure to rise. ACE inhibitors and ARBs work on these systems to act in the following ways.

  • ACE inhibitors block the action of ACE so that angiotensin I isn't converted to angiotensin II.
  • ARBs block the action of angiotensin II by stopping it from interacting with your blood vessels and adrenal glands.

Without angiotensin II, your blood vessels remain relaxed and the hormone aldosterone isn't released, so your blood pressure can be kept low.

How to take ACE inhibitors and ARBs

ACE inhibitors and ARBs are only available on prescription from a doctor. They usually come as tablets, which you take once a day.

Many people with high blood pressure or heart problems need to take more than one medicine. ACE inhibitors may be prescribed in combination with other medicines, such as a diuretic or a calcium-channel blocker.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

Special Care

Your doctor may not prescribe ACE inhibitors or ARBs if you're pregnant or breastfeeding. If you are African-Caribbean and have high blood pressure, ARBs may not work so well for you, so your doctor may give you a different medicine.

ACE inhibitors and ARBs may be unsuitable if you have a problem with the arteries that supply your kidneys (renal artery stenosis). This is because they may affect the way your kidneys work. Also, if you have heart failure and your kidneys are affected as a result, ACE inhibitors and ARBs may not be suitable. However, if it's best to take these medicines, your doctor may ask you to have a blood test before you start them and then again in the first month of treatment. This is to check how well your kidneys are working.

Side-effects of ACE inhibitors and ARBs

Side-effects are the unwanted effects of taking a medicine. This section does not include every possible side-effect of ACE inhibitors and ARBs. Please read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine for more information.

The most common side-effects of ACE inhibitors and ARBs are low blood pressure and a reduction in kidney function. Other side-effects include:

  • tiredness
  • headache
  • dizziness
  • skin rashes
  • hay fever-like symptoms (sneezing, blocked or runny nose, itchy eyes)
  • swelling of your sinuses (sinusitis)
  • sore throat
  • a persistent dry cough
  • feeling sick or vomiting
  • indigestion
  • diarrhoea or constipation

In general, ARBs cause fewer side-effects than ACE inhibitors. If you have side-effects, it's important to talk to your doctor or the healthcare professional who prescribed your medicine before you stop taking it.

Interactions of ACE inhibitors and ARBs with other medicines

Some medicines can enhance the effects of ACE inhibitors and ARBs, resulting in very low blood pressure (hypotension). Check with your doctor or pharmacist before you take any other medicines or herbal remedies at the same time as ACE inhibitors or ARBs.

You may find herbal remedies helpful but it's important to remember that natural doesn't mean harmless. Herbal remedies contain active ingredients and may interact with other medicines or cause side-effects. Don't start taking any herbal remedies without speaking to your doctor or pharmacist first.

Names of common ACE inhibitors and ARBs

All medicines have a generic name. Many medicines also have one or more brand name. Generic names are in lower case, whereas brand names start with a capital letter. The main types of ACE inhibitors and ARBs are shown in the table.

 

Generic names

Examples of common brand names

ACE inhibitors

captopril

Capoten, Capozide*

cilazapril

Vascase

enalapril

Innovace, Innozide*

imidapril

Tanatril

lisinopril

Zestril, Carace Plus*, Lisicostad*Zestoretic*

moexipril

Perdix

perindopril

Perindopril

quinapril

Accupro, Accuretic*

ramipril

Tritace, Triapin**

trandolapril

Gopten, Tarka**

Angiotensin II receptor blockers

candesartan

Amias

eprosartan

Teveten

irbesartan

Aprovel, CoAprovel*

losartan

Cozaar, Cozaae-Comp*

olmesartan

Olmetec, Olmetec Plus*, Sevikar**

telmisartan

Micardis, Micardis Plus*

valsartan

Diovan, Co-Diovan*

*with a diuretic;** with calcium-channel blocker

Common Questions

Why does my age affect whether I am prescribed an angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitor?

 

Answer

ACE inhibitors may not be as effective at reducing blood pressure in people over the age of 55 compared to people who are younger. So if you are aged 55 or over, your doctor will try to control your blood pressure with another type of medicine first.

 

Explanation

ACE inhibitors seem to be better at lowering blood pressure in younger people. This is thought to be because younger people with high blood pressure may have a higher level of a chemical called renin in their bodies. Your body needs renin to make angiotensin I – which is converted into angiotensin II. It is the effects of angiotensin II that raise your blood pressure.

Medicines such as ACE inhibitors that affect the renin-angiotensin system are therefore thought to have a better effect in younger people.

ACE inhibitors are also not as effective at lowering blood pressure in African-Caribbean people, because people in this ethnic group tend to have lower levels of renin than Caucasian people, for example.

If you have high blood pressure and are over 55 or are African-Caribbean, your doctor will usually prescribe a diuretic or a calcium-channel blocker first to try to control your blood pressure. If you don't respond to this medicine, he or she may then also prescribe an ACE inhibitor.

 

How do ACE inhibitors help people with diabetes?

Answer

If you have diabetes, ACE inhibitors help to protect your kidneys from becoming damaged as a result of your condition.

 

Explanation

If you have diabetes, you are at higher risk of getting kidney disease. This is because the high levels of glucose associated with diabetes can damage the small blood vessels in your kidneys.

High blood pressure can cause further damage to your kidneys. So if you have diabetes, it is especially important to keep your blood pressure under control. ACE inhibitors are recommended to control blood pressure in people with diabetes, as they seem to offer better protection against kidney disease than other medicines for high blood pressure.

If you have diabetes, your doctor will prescribe an ACE inhibitor or an angiotensin II receptor blocker if tests show you have early signs of kidney disease or high blood pressure.

 

Can I drink alcohol when I’m taking ACE inhibitors or angiotensin II receptor blockers (ARBs)?

 

Answer

If you've been prescribed an ACE inhibitor or an ARB, you should always check with your doctor whether it is safe for your to drink alcohol and how much.

 

Explanation

ACE inhibitors and ARBs are mainly used to treat high blood pressure. These medicines block the actions of chemicals released by your kidneys that work to increase your blood pressure. Alcohol relaxes your blood vessels and slows your heart rate.

If you are taking ACE inhibitors or ARBs, alcohol can enhance the effects and lower your blood pressure too much. Low blood pressure is a common side-effect in people taking ACE inhibitors and ARBs and drinking alcohol makes it even more likely to happen.

You may feel dizzy, light-headed and your blood pressure may drop to a point where you faint or have a heart attack.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

 

Do angiotensin II receptor blockers (ARBs) increase your risk of cancer?

 

Answer

No, ARBs don't increase your risk of cancer.

 

Explanation

In 2010, a study published in the Lancet Oncology suggested that people taking ARBs had a slightly increased risk of cancer compared to those not taking the medicine. The researchers had looked at information from five clinical trials.

In response, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) carried out a safety review of ARBs. The FDA looked at 31 randomized clinical trials, evaluating data from a total of over 84,000 people taking ARBs. The FDA found no evidence to suggest ARBs increased the risk of cancer.

If you're taking ARBs and have any concerns, it's important to talk to your doctor or the healthcare professional who prescribed your medicine before you stop taking it.

Further Information
Sources
  • ACE Inhibitors – blood pressure medication. British Blood Pressure Association.www.bpassoc.org.uk, published May 2009
  • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 61st ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2011
  • Hypertension: management of hypertension in adults in primary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006.www.nice.org.uk
  • Hypertension in people who do not have diabetes mellitus – managing ACE inhibitors. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, published July 2009
  • Chronic heart failure: management of chronic heart failure in adults in primary and secondary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Type 2 Diabetes. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008.www.nice.org.uk
  • Alcohol. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2011
  • FDA Drug Safety Communication: No increase in risk of cancer with certain blood pressure drugs – Angiotensin Receptor Blockers (ARBs). US Food and Drug Administration.www.fda.gov, published 6 March 2011
  • Personal communication , Dr Timothy Cripps, Consultant Cardiologist, Bristol Heart Institute, 13 July 2011
  • Ma TKW, Kam KKH, Yan BP, et al. Renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system blockade for cardiovascular diseases: current status. British Journal of Pharmacology 2010; 160:1273–92. doi:10.1111/j.1476-5381.2010.00750.x

You Might Also Like

Diabetes type 1

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

Diabetes type 2

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

Impaired fasting glycaemia

Impaired fasting glycaemia (IFG) is sometimes called pre-diabetes. This is when blood glucose levels in the body are raised, but are not high enough to mean that the person has diabetes.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑兩種藥物主要用於治療高血壓和心臟衰竭,此外並可降低糖尿病患者腎臟受損的風險。

 

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

為甚麼需要服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑?

如患者有以下情況,醫生或會處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑:

  • 高血壓
  • 心臟衰竭或曾有突發性心臟病
  • 糖尿病
血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑如何發揮療效?

人體內有多個系統一同工作,令血壓達到一定水平,足以為全身供應氧氣和養分。血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑會抑制其中一個系統,即腎素-血管緊張素-醛固酮系統,從而降低血壓。

血壓若降得太低,腎臟的感測體可探測得到。此時便會釋放一種名為血管緊張素I的化學物。血管緊張素I本身並無太大作用,但當遇到血液中的血管緊張素轉化酵素,便會轉化為血管緊張素II

血管緊張素II會導致血管狹窄,同時影響腎上腺,觸發分泌醛固酮。這種物質令身體保留水分,而體液過多和血管狹窄會令血壓上升。血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑正是針對以上系統,發揮下列作用:

  • 血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑可抑制血管緊張素轉化酵素的作用,防止血管緊張素I轉化為血管緊張素II
  • 血管緊張素II受體對抗劑可制止血管緊張素II與血管和腎上腺產生相互效應,發揮抑制作用。

血管內沒有血管緊張素II便可保持擴張,亦不會釋放荷爾蒙醛固酮,血壓可維持於低水平。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑應如何服用?

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑必須由醫生處方,一般為藥丸,每日服一次。

許多有高血壓或心臟問題的人士都需要服用多種藥物。醫生或會處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑配合其他藥物一起服用,例如利尿藥或鈣拮抗劑。

服藥前應先諮詢醫生意見,並細閱藥品說明書的病人須知指示。

特別護理

如患者是孕婦或正在哺乳的母親,醫生可能不會處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑。非洲-加勒比裔的高血壓病人服用血管緊張素II受體對抗劑療效可能欠佳,所以醫生可能處方其他藥物。

如輸送血液到腎臟的動脈出現問題(腎動脈狹窄),亦不適宜服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑,因為這類藥物可能影響腎功能。此外,心臟衰竭以致影響腎功能的病人也不適宜服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑。但若醫生認為最好還是服用,便會在開始服藥前驗血,然後在服藥滿一個月時再次驗血,檢查腎臟功能。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的副作用

副作用是服用藥物的不適反應。本文並未詳列血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑可能引致的所有副作用,有關詳情請參閱藥物說明書的病人須知指示。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑最常見的副作用是低血壓和腎功能弱化。其他副作用包括:

  • 疲倦;
  • 頭痛;
  • 頭暈;
  • 皮膚紅疹;
  • 類似花粉症徵狀(打噴嚏、鼻塞或鼻水、眼睛發癢)
  • 鼻竇腫大(鼻竇炎)
  • 喉嚨痛;
  • 持續乾咳;
  • 作嘔或嘔吐;
  • 消化不良;
  • 腹瀉或便秘。

一般來說,血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的副作用比血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑少。患者如有副作用,必須告知處方藥物的醫生或專業保健人員,不可擅自停藥。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑與其他藥物的相互作用

某些藥物可促進血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的功效,導致血壓降至極低水平(低血壓),所以若考慮同時服用其他藥物或中草藥,必須先徵詢醫生或藥劑師意見。

草藥可能也甚有療效,但請緊記天然草藥不一定無害。有些草藥方含有活性成分,可能與其他藥物產生相互作用或引起副作用。服用任何草藥之前必須諮詢醫生或藥劑師。

常見血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的名稱

所有藥物均有學名,有些藥物同時有一個或多個品牌名稱。學名採用全小寫,品牌名稱則首字母大寫。下表列出各類主要的血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑:

學名

常見品牌名稱例子

血管緊張素轉絕化酵素抑制劑

captopril

Capoten,Capozide*

cilazapril

Vascase

enalapril

Innovace, Innozide*

imidapril

Tanatril

lisinopril

Zestril, Carace Plus*, Lisicostad*Zestoretic*

moexipril

Perdix

perindopril

Perindopril

quinapril

Accupro, Accuretic*

ramipril

Tritace, Triapin**

trandolapril

Gopten, Tarka**

血管緊張素II受體對抗劑

candesartan

Amias

eprosartan

Teveten

irbesartan

Aprovel, CoAprovel*

losartan

Cozaar, Cozaae-Comp*

olmesartan

Olmetec, Olmetec Plus*, Sevikar**

telmisartan

Micardis, Micardis Plus*

valsartan

Diovan, Co-Diovan*

 

*含利尿藥;**含鈣拮抗劑

 

問:醫生決定是否處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑時為甚麼考慮病人的年齡?

 

答:55歲或以上人士服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑降血壓,功效不及年紀較輕的人,所以假如您已屆55歲或以上,醫生或會考慮先嘗試用其他藥物控制血壓。

年輕病人服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑降血壓的功效似乎較好,醫學界相信這是因為年輕人血壓升高可能是體內一種名為腎素的化學物水平偏高所致。您的身體需要腎素來製造血管緊張素I,它會轉化為血管緊張素II,後者會導致血壓上升。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑這類藥物對腎素-血管緊張素系統產生作用,所以相信年輕病人服用療效較佳。

此外,非洲-加勒比裔人士服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑降血壓療效也不太理想,原因是這些族裔的人士腎素水平往往低於其他人,例如白種人。

55歲或以上非洲-加勒比裔人士如有高血壓,醫生通常會先處方利尿藥或鈣拮抗劑試行控制血壓,假如對藥物沒反應,才會處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑。

 

問:血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑對糖尿病患者有何幫助?

 

答:糖尿病患者服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑可保護腎臟免受損害。

糖尿病病人較易患腎病,這是因為糖尿病會導致血糖增加,損害腎臟的小血管。

高血壓亦可能加劇腎臟受損,所以糖尿病患者必須控制血壓。血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑保護腎臟的功效比其他降血壓藥物為佳,所以醫生建議糖尿病患者服用這類藥物來控制血壓。

假如您有糖尿病,並經檢測證實有早期腎病或高血壓病徵,醫生會處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑。

 

問:服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑期間可以喝酒嗎?

 

答:若正服用處方的血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑,必須諮詢醫生能否喝酒,以及可以喝多少分量。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑主要用於治療高血壓。這類藥物可抑制腎臟分泌導致血壓上升的化學物。酒精會令血管擴張,減慢心跳。

正在服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑或血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的人士喝酒會加強藥物的作用,導致血壓過低。血壓過低是血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑及血管緊張素II受體對抗劑常見的副作用,喝酒便更容易出現這種副作用。

您可能感到頭昏腦脹,血壓降至極低水平,令您昏倒或心臟病突發。

務請諮詢醫生意見,並細閱藥品說明書的病人須知指示。

 

問:血管緊張素II受體對抗劑會增加癌症風險嗎?

 

答:不會,血管緊張素II受體對抗劑不會提高癌症風險。

醫學期刊《Lancet Oncology》於2010年發表的研究報告指服用血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的人士患癌症的風險比其他人略高。研究人員搜集了五次臨床試驗的數據進行分析。

有見於此,美國食品及藥物管理局展開了血管緊張素II受體對抗劑的安全評估研究,經過進行31次隨機臨床試驗的結果,同時評估超過84,000名正服用血管緊張素II受體對抗劑人士的資料,結果並無發現任何證據顯示血管緊張素II受體對抗劑會增加癌症風險。

假如您正服用血管緊張素II受體對抗劑而心存任何疑問,必須諮詢處方藥物的醫生或專業保健人員,不可擅自停藥。




以上內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

 
更多資料
來源
  • ACE Inhibitors – blood pressure medication. British Blood Pressure Association.www.bpassoc.org.uk, published May 2009
  • Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 61st ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2011
  • Hypertension: management of hypertension in adults in primary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006.www.nice.org.uk
  • Hypertension in people who do not have diabetes mellitus – managing ACE inhibitors. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, published July 2009
  • Chronic heart failure: management of chronic heart failure in adults in primary and secondary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Type 2 Diabetes. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008.www.nice.org.uk
  • Alcohol. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2011
  • FDA Drug Safety Communication: No increase in risk of cancer with certain blood pressure drugs – Angiotensin Receptor Blockers (ARBs). US Food and Drug Administration.www.fda.gov, published 6 March 2011
  • Personal communication , Dr Timothy Cripps, Consultant Cardiologist, Bristol Heart Institute, 13 July 2011
  • Ma TKW, Kam KKH, Yan BP, et al. Renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system blockade for cardiovascular diseases: current status. British Journal of Pharmacology 2010; 160:1273–92. doi:10.1111/j.1476-5381.2010.00750.x

相關文章

一型糖尿病

糖尿病是一種慢性疾病,表現為血液中的糖分失控。當體內缺乏天然胰島素時,就會引致糖尿病。

閱讀更多

二型糖尿病

二型糖尿病是終身疾病,患者的身體對天然荷爾蒙胰島素無反應,以致無法完善調節血糖數量,其成因通常是肥胖所致。二型糖尿病又稱非胰島素依賴型糖尿病。

閱讀更多

空腹血糖異常

空腹血糖異常又稱糖尿病前期,患者的血糖值偏高,但尚未達到糖尿病水平。空腹血糖異常指身體無法正常地有效利用葡萄糖。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。