Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Having your heart valve replaced

Your operation involves replacing a damaged valve in your heart with one made of synthetic material (a mechanical valve) or animal tissue (usually from a pig).

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Your operation involves replacing a damaged valve in your heart with one made of synthetic material (a mechanical valve) or animal tissue (usually from a pig).

Heart valves open and close to make sure blood flows in and out of the four chambers of the heart in the correct direction. If they are damaged (through infection or disease) they either do not open properly or do not close tightly enough. Both problems mean the heart has to pump harder. A new valve will relieve this strain and ease symptoms such as breathlessness and angina.

The operation is performed under a general anaesthetic, which means you will be asleep during the procedure. You will need to stay in hospital for about a week after your operation.

heart valve replaced

Your specialist or hospital will give you some information about when and how to check into hospital.

Before you come into hospital, you may also be asked to:

  • Attend a pre-assessment clinic for routine tests two or three weeks before your operation,
  • Have a bath or shower on the day of your operation,
  • Remove any make-up, nail varnish and bulky or sharp jewellery. Rings and earrings that you would prefer not to remove can usually be covered with sticky tape,
  • Follow the fasting instructions in your admission confirmation letter. Typically, you must not eat or drink for about six hours before a general anaesthetic. However, some anaesthetists allow occasional sips of water until two hours beforehand,
  • Inform the hospital if you are taking anticoagulant medication such as warfarin – you will need to stop taking this before surgery.

After you have been shown to your room, your nurse will check you have been well since the pre-assessment. Your specialist and anaesthetist will also visit you. This is a good time to ask any outstanding questions about your treatment.

The nurse will help you prepare for theatre and will do some tests such as taking your blood pressure and pulse, and may ask you for a urine sample. You may also have a chest X-ray and an electrocardiogram (ECG) – this measures electrical activity in the heart. Men may be asked to shave their chest to prevent hairs getting caught in the wounds. You may be asked to wear compression stockings to help prevent blood clots forming in the veins in your legs.

Consent

Before going to the theatre, you will be given a consent form to sign. By doing this, you confirm that you understand what the procedure involves, including the benefits and risks, and give your permission for it to go ahead.

About the operation

Typically, your specialist will make a cut, about 25 cm long, down the middle of your sternum (breastbone) and open your rib cage to reach the heart. The heart is slowed or stopped (using medication) and blood is re-routed to a heart-lung machine. The machine takes over the pumping action of the heart, maintaining blood circulation and adding oxygen to the blood.

Next, your specialist will open the heart chamber, remove the faulty valve and sew an artificial one in its place. Blood is then redirected back to your heart and the heart is restarted. Your rib cage is rejoined with wires and your chest is closed with dissolvable stitches.

The operation usually lasts about two to three hours.

After your operation

You will be taken from the operating theatre to the intensive treatment unit (ITU) where you will be closely monitored for around 24 hours. You will be connected to machines that record the activity of your heart, lungs and other body systems.

A tube in your mouth passes through to your lungs and is connected to a ventilator to help control your breathing until your lungs have recovered from the procedure. It is uncomfortable but not painful, and you will still be quite sleepy while it is in place. This will be removed once you are alert and can breathe by yourself.

There will be tubes in your chest to drain fluid and blood into a bag beside your bed. These will be removed after a day or two. You will also have drips in your arms or neck providing you with fluids and medication, including antibiotics and pain relief. Another tube (catheter) will drain your urine into a separate bag. These tubes will be taken out after a couple of days.

Once the medical team are happy with your progress, you will return to your room.

Back on the ward

A nurse will make you comfortable. He or she will continue to monitor your blood pressure, temperature and pulse at regular intervals. You may need to inhale oxygen through a mask to help you breathe comfortably. When you feel ready, you can begin to drink and eat.

Your anaesthetist will discuss pain relief with you. You'll have tests on your heart during this time. You will be asked to wear compression stockings to help prevent blood clots forming in your legs.

A physiotherapist will visit you daily and encourage you to do gentle exercises and to take deep breaths and cough up any fluid in your lungs. These will help speed up your recovery and prevent chest infections. After four or five days, you will need to increase your activity and may be shown exercises in the gym. The physiotherapist will recommend exercises for you to do at home.

Going home

You will need to make arrangements to be driven home. Before you go home, a nurse will advise you about caring for surgical wounds, and bathing. A follow-up appointment in the outpatient clinic will be made for you for about six weeks later.

After you return home

If you need them, continue taking painkillers as advised.

You will need to take it easy and should expect to feel tired and a little breathless at first. Avoid strenuous exercise and lifting as these may strain the healing sternum. You can take baths and showers as usual.

If you have a synthetic valve, you will need to take anticoagulant medication as instructed. This may be daily, for life.

You should not drive until you feel confident that you could perform an emergency stop without discomfort – probably after about one month.

The wires holding your chest together are permanent and the stitches will dissolve. Your breastbone takes up to three months to heal.

The benefits of a heart valve replacement in terms of prolonged life and improved symptoms are generally greater than the disadvantages. However, it is a major operation with some element of risk. This can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

Side-effects

These are the unwanted but mostly temporary effects of a successful treatment. Examples of side-effects include feeling sick as a result of the general anaesthetic and painkillers. Your chest area may be painful. Mechanical valves are made of a hard material so you may hear a clicking sound as it open and shuts.

Complications

This is when problems occur during or after the operation. Most patients are not affected.

Possible complications of any surgery are excessive bleeding during or soon after the operation, infection, and an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic. Its also possible for blood clots to form and block the valve. These clots can break off and block an artery (blood vessel) which can lead to a heart attack or stroke. If you develop a clot you may need further surgery or medication through a drip to dissolve the clot (thrombolytic therapy). Clots are more likely if you have a mechanical valve, but taking anticoagulants help prevent them.

It's possible that you may have an irregular heart beat (arrhythmia), which can be treated with drugs and is usually temporary. Your new valve can become infected and inflamed ("endocarditis"). This can damage your heart and you will be given antibiotics in hospital to help prevent such infection.

Replacement valves can wear out or become damaged. Although the type of valve you have is unlikely to affect your long-term survival, tissue valves tend to wear out sooner than mechanical valves making further surgery more likely.

There is around 1-2% risk of death during or soon after this procedure. The risk depends on the exact operation performed and your general health.

1. Will I need to continue with any treatments after I have surgery?

Yes usually, but this depends on the type of surgery you have and your health before the operation. You may need to take medicines such as antibiotics and anticoagulants after your surgery. You may also need to continue taking other medicines for your heart valve disease such as ACE inhibitors (eg ramipril) or diuretics (eg furosemide).

After your valve replacement surgery you may need to take anticoagulants such as warfarin. These medicines help stop blood clots from forming. The length of time you will need to take these for depends on the type of replacement valve that you had.

If you had a biological valve, then you will only need to take anticoagulants for a few weeks. After this, you will need to take aspirin to reduce the risk of clots forming around your replacement valve.

If you had a mechanical valve, then you will need to take anticoagulants for the rest of your life. This is because these valves are made from artificial material and so clots are more likely to form around them.

You may also need to take anticoagulants for a few weeks if you have a specific form of arrhythmia (a disturbance of the normal electrical rhythm of your heart) called atrial fibrillation. You may be prescribed anticoagulants if you have had, or are at increased of, a stroke. While you are taking anticoagulants, you will need to have regular blood tests to ensure that you are on the correct dose. It's very important that you are on the correct dose of anticoagulant as too much of these medicines can lead to bleeding.

If you are at risk of infection, your doctor or surgeon may give you antibiotics before and after your operation to prevent your valve from becoming infected. If your valve becomes infected, the infection can spread to the lining of your heart (endocarditis). Endocarditis is a serious condition that can lead to damage to the heart valves.
To help prevent infection, you should practice good dental hygiene and have regular dental checkups. This stops the bacteria in your mouth from entering your bloodstream.
Your GP will advise you about taking anticoagulants after your operation. For information about preventing endocarditis, consult your GP.

2. Is there anything I can do to speed up my recovery?

Yes, there are some things you can do. You can take measures such as joining a cardiac rehabilitation programme to help your recovery. It will take up to three months to recover completely, so you will need to take things easy until then.

It can take up to three months to recover fully from heart surgery and during this time you will need to build yourself back up to normal.

For the first six weeks after your operation, you should limit the amount of alcohol you drink. One unit per day is a sensible limit. The effects of alcohol can be greater if you are taking certain medicines, and alcohol can interfere with certain medicines. Always ask your GP for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

You may be recommended to take part in a cardiac rehabilitation programme. This will cover exercise, relaxation and lifestyle changes that can help you recover. For example you may get advice on:

  • diet and healthy eating
  • how to recognise stress
  • how to stop smoking
  • medicines
  • returning to work

For advice on cardiac rehabilitation programmes, ask your GP or contact the British Heart Foundation.

3. When can I start exercising after surgery and what is suitable for me?

Your physiotherapist will help you to start moving about two days after your surgery. Once you get home, you should build your activity levels up slowly until you are back to your usual level of activity.

It's important to keep active when you get home after your surgery. Try to do the same amount of exercise at home as you did with the physiotherapist at the hospital.

It's important to rest properly too. When you sit down, make sure that you have your feet raised, on a stool for example. Your legs should be supported, so don't sit too far away from the stool. You should set aside specific times to rest and make sure that you stick to them.

After the first few days, you can start to increase the amount of exercise you do. Gentle walking is a good way to do this. Ask your physiotherapist for information about suitable exercises and how to build up your levels of activity.

The best kind of exercise for your heart is aerobic activity. Aerobic activity can be any repetitive exercise that involves the large muscle groups of your legs, shoulders or arms.

It's very important to increase your levels of physical activity gradually. You shouldn't do any strenuous or vigorous activity such as weightlifting as this can put a strain on your heart.

With any exercise, you may want to involve your partner, family or friends to make it more fun.

You should stop exercising immediately if you feel:

  • pain
  • dizzy or light-headed
  • sick
  • unwell
  • very tired

If you develop any of these symptoms and they don't go away after a few minutes, you should see your GP.

4. My doctor says that I have a mitral valve prolapse. What is this and do I need treatment?

About five in every 100 people have a mitral valve that is slightly misshapen and leaks. You won't usually need treatment unless you have symptoms such as palpitations or chest pain.

A mitral valve prolapse can be a cause of a heart murmur (a noise from your heart caused by irregular blood flow) but doesn't usually cause serious problems. If you have a heart murmur, your GP will refer you to a cardiologist (a doctor specialising in identifying and treating conditions of the heart and blood vessels) to find out exactly what is causing it.

A mitral valve prolapse doesn't usually have any symptoms but you may have chest pain (angina) or palpitations (an unpleasant awareness of the heartbeat, often described as a thumping in the chest).

You won't usually need treatment unless it's causing you problems. Your GP may prescribe you beta-blockers (eg bisoprolol) to help with your chest pain and palpitations.

5. Will I need to make any lifestyle changes after heart valve surgery?

If your heart valve disease was caused by coronary artery disease, which reduced the blood supply to the heart causing the valves, to stop working as they should, then you need to take measures to stop this getting worse.

Damage to the heart valves can be caused by coronary artery disease. If this has happened to you, you should change your lifestyle to prevent coronary heart disease from getting worse. You should:

  • stop smoking if you smoke
  • eat a healthy, balanced diet
  • maintain a healthy weight
  • stay active

A healthy, balanced diet is part of reducing cholesterol levels and high blood pressure. You should change your diet to a low fat, low salt diet that includes plenty of fruit and vegetables.

If your repaired valve becomes infected, the infection can spread to the lining of your heart (this is known as endocarditis). Endocarditis is a serious condition that can lead to heart failure. After a heart valve repair operation, and for the rest of your life, you will need to take measures to prevent infection.

The most common way for bacteria to get into your blood is from your mouth when you have dental treatment. To help prevent infection you should practice good dental hygiene and have regular dental checkups. This stops the bacteria in your mouth from entering your bloodstream.

For information about preventing endocarditis and about reducing cholesterol levels and high blood pressure, talk to your GP.                         

Further information

Sources

  • At a glance guide to the current medical standards of fitness to drive. Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA). www.dvla.gov.uk, accessed 14 January 2010
  • Balloon valvuloplasty for aortic valve stenosis in adults and children. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), July 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Balloon dilatation of pulmonary valve stenosis. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), June 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Having heart surgery. British Heart Foundation, January 2005. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Heart valve disease. British Heart Foundation, May 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 56th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2009:100
  • Kumar P, Clark M. Clinical medicine. 6th ed. Elsevier, 2005:768
  • Percutaneous pulmonary valve implantation for right ventricular outflow tract dysfunction. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Personal communication, Dr Tim Cripps, Consultant cardiologist, Bristol Royal Infirmary, 10 February 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, Kendrick T. Oxford handbook of general practice. 2nd ed. Oxford:Oxford University Press, 2007:354-55
  • Thoracoscopically assisted mitral valve surgery. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), December 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Tuladhar SM, Punjabai PP. Surgical reconstruction of the mitral valve. Heart 2006; 92:1373-77. doi: 10.1136/hrt.2005.067421
  • Vahanian A, Baumgartner H, Bax J, et al. Guidelines on the management of valvular heart disease. Eur Heart J 2007; 28:230-68.
  • Physical activity and your heart. British Heart Foundation. October 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Heart valve disease. British Heart Foundation. August 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Longmore M, Wilkinson I, Turmezei T, et al. Oxford handbook of clinical medicine. 7th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008 

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

進行更換心瓣手術

手術時,心臟裡受損的心瓣膜會用合成物料(機動性心瓣膜)或動物組織(一般是用豬隻組織)製成的心瓣膜更換。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

手術時,心臟裡受損的心瓣膜會用合成物料(機動性心瓣膜)或動物組織(一般是用豬隻組織)製成的心瓣膜更換。

心瓣膜開合的作用是確保血液流進和流出四個心房室的方向正確。若心瓣膜受損(如受感染或患病),便可能開合不妥,令心臟泵動時更費勁。更換新的心瓣膜便可紓緩這壓力,減輕呼吸困難和心絞痛的病徵。

手術通常在全身麻醉下進行,病人在手術時維持睡眠狀態。手術後,你需要住院約一星期。

心瓣膜更換

醫生或院方會告訴你入院的時間和程序:

抵達醫院前,你需要:

  • 手術前二至三星期到醫院作例行檢查
  • 於入院當天洗澡
  • 卸妝、洗甲,以及脫下所有首飾。不能脫下的戒指和耳環,可用膠布貼上。
  • 遵照入院通知書上的指示禁食。病人一般在接受全身麻醉前六小時內不可飲食。可是,有些麻醉師准許病人喝少許清水,直至手術前兩小時。
  • 如有服食抗凝血藥物如華法令(warfarin),便須通知醫院,並於手術前停止服用。

進入病房後,護士會替你檢查從入院前作檢查至今的身體狀況。醫生和麻醉師會跟你見面,假如你尚有問題,請於此時提出。

護士會為你作手術前的準備,並會替你做檢查,如量度血壓和脈搏,也可能向你提取尿液樣本。你也需要照胸X光和心電圖(用來量度心臟的電流活動);男士可能需要剃掉胸毛,避免毛髮有礙傷口。你可能需要穿上壓力襪,避免腿部靜脈形成血塊。

同意書

你會收到一份同意書。簽署後,代表你明白這手術所附帶的好處和風險,並贊成進行手術。

手術程序

一般醫生會在病人胸骨中心切1個25cm長的切口,並把胸廊打開到達心臟。醫生會用藥物把你心臟減慢或停止跳動;血液會被轉移到心肺機器,它會取代心臟的泵血作用,維持血液循環及把氧氣輸送到血液中。

然後,醫生會把你的心房打開,移除損壞的心瓣膜,並縫上人造的心瓣膜。完成後,醫生會將血液轉流到你的心臟,心臟便會回復跳動。然後,胸廊會用金屬線連起,胸口切口會用可溶性的縫線縫合。

手術一般需時約兩至三個小時。

手術後

你會由手術室被送到深切治療部,接受約24小時的周詳監察。那時,你會被接駁上記錄心臟、肺部和身體其他系統的機器上。

你的口中會被插進管子,它是到達肺部的;管子會連接到呼吸機,控制你的呼吸,直至肺部功能恢復。它會令你不適,但不會帶來痛楚;當你清醒及可自行呼吸時,管子便會被移除。

你的胸口也會插上數條引流管,將液體和血液排到床邊的袋中。引流管會於一至兩天後被移除。你的手臂上或頸項上也會插上點滴,用來輸送液體和藥物,包括抗生素和止痛藥;另一條導管會把你的尿液排到另一個袋裡。這些管子會在數天後被移除。

當醫護人員滿意你的康復進度時,便會把你送回病房。

回到病房

護士會照料你,讓你感到舒適一點,並定時為你測量血壓、體溫和脈搏。你可能需要用面罩吸入氧氣,使呼吸更順暢。當你感到好一些,便可恢復飲食。

麻醉師會與你討論止痛的問題,你會在此時接受心臟測試。你可能需要穿上壓力襪,避免腿部形成血塊。

物理治療師會每天探望你,鼓勵你做溫和的運動、作深呼吸和把肺內的液體咳出來;這些可加速康復和避免肺部感染。4至5天後,你需要增加運動量;或許會有專人於健身室為你示範一些可做的運動。物理治療師會建議你一些可在家中做的運動。

回家

你需要安排別人送你回家。出院前,護士會教你如何護理傷口和沐浴。你會在大約6個星期後回到門診部覆診。

回家後

如有需要,可依照指示繼續服用止痛藥。

你需要多休息,並預期最初幾天會感到疲倦和有少許呼吸困難。你應避免做劇烈運動和提重物,因為這樣會使癒合中的胸骨受壓。你可照常沐浴。

如果你換上了合成心瓣膜,便需依照指示服用抗凝血藥物,那可能是終生每天都要服用的。

請勿駕駛,直至你確定自己不會在剎車時感到不適,這可能是手術後最少一個月的時候。

縫合胸口的金屬線不會被拆除,而縫線則會自動溶掉。胸骨需要3個月才能癒合。

更換心瓣膜可延長生命和改善病徵,好處比壞處多。可是,這種大型手術不免有風險,分別為副作用和併發症。

副作用

這是成功治療帶來的影響,但大部分都是暫時性的。這手術的副作用包括全身麻醉和止痛藥帶來的不適;你可能會感到胸口疼痛。由於機動性心瓣膜以堅硬的物料製造,所以開合時你或會聽到聲響。

併發症

這是手術期間或之後出現的問題,大部分病人都不受影響。

任何手術都可能出現的併發症包括手術期間或之後大量出血、感染及對麻醉劑反應過敏。血凝塊形成及堵塞心瓣膜的情形也可能發生;血凝塊會脫落,堵塞動脈,導致心臟病發或中風。如果血凝塊形成了,你需要接受進一步手術治療,或透過從滴漏注入體內的藥物溶解血凝塊(溶解血栓的治療)。如果你替換的是機動性心瓣膜,形成血凝塊的可能性會更大,但可以抗凝血劑預防。

如果你出現心律不整,可用藥物治理,而且通常是暫時性的。新的心瓣膜有機會受感染和發炎,使心臟受損;醫生會在醫院裡給予抗生素,以預防感染。

更換的心瓣膜會耗損。雖然心瓣膜的種類不會對性命有長期影響,但組織性心瓣膜一般比機動性心瓣膜耗損得較快,增加病人作進一步手術治療的機會。

手術期間或之後的死亡率約1%至2%。風險視乎手術類型和整體健康狀況而定。

1. 手術後還須繼續治療嗎?  

通常是須要的,但這視乎您接受了甚麼手術,以及手術前的健康狀況而定。在手術後您可能須要服用抗生素及抗凝血劑等藥物;亦可能須要繼續服用治療心瓣膜病的藥物,如血管緊張素轉化酶抑制劑(例如:雷米普利)或利尿劑(例如:呋塞米)。  

接受更換心瓣膜手術後,您可能要服用抗凝血劑,例如華法令。這些藥物有助防止血凝塊的形成,服藥期長短視乎更換心瓣膜的類型而定。  

如果您換上的是生物瓣膜,只須服用抗凝血劑數星期,其後便須服用阿斯匹靈,以減低新瓣膜周圍形成血凝塊的風險。  

如果您換上的是機械性心瓣膜,便須終身服用抗凝血劑,因為機械性心瓣膜以人造材料製成,周圍較易形成血凝塊。  

如果您患心房纖維顫動,亦即心律不正的一種 (心臟節律異常),便可能須服用抗凝血劑數星期。如果您曾經中風,或患上中風的風險增加,醫生亦可能會為您處方抗凝血劑。服用抗凝血劑須要定期驗血,確保服用劑量正確。服用抗凝血劑,劑量必須正確,服用過量會導致出血。  

如果您有受感染的風險,在接受手術前後,醫生或外科醫生可能會為您處方抗生素,以防瓣膜受感染。瓣膜萬一受感染,便可能會擴散到心臟內腔,引致心內膜炎。心內膜炎是嚴重病症,足以導致心瓣膜受損。  

要避免受感染,應保持良好的口腔衛生,定期檢查牙齒,以防細菌經口腔進入血液。  

手術後,醫生會向您講解如何服用抗凝血劑,您亦可請教醫生預防心內膜炎的方法。  

2. 有甚麼方法可以加快康復?  

有許多方法可以加快康復,例如參加心臟康復計劃。此計劃為期三個月,直至您完全康復為止,所以在這段期間請勿焦急,慢慢康復。  

心臟手術後可能要待三個月才能完全康復。在這段期間,您要令身體強壯起來,回復正常的健康狀況。  

接受手術後的六個星期,必須限制飲酒的份量,每天不可超過一個單位的酒精量。某些藥物有可能加重酒精的影響力,而酒精亦會影響某些藥物的效用。您應請教醫生的意見,以及細閱隨藥物附上供服用者參考的資料單張。  

醫生可能會建議您參加心臟康復計劃,包括運動、減壓和改變生活方式,以助康復,例如: 

  • 健康飲食
  • 如何辨識壓力
  • 如何戒煙
  • 藥物資訊
  • 返回正常工作  

 

您可請教醫生,了解有關心臟康復計劃。  

3. 手術後何時可以開始做運動?適宜做些甚麼運動?  

手術後大約兩天,物理治療師便會給您指導,助您開始活動。出院回家後,應慢慢增加活動量,直至回復日常水平。  

手術後返回家中,身體必須保持活動,並依照物理治療師在醫院時的指導做適量的運動。  

適當的休息亦非常重要。坐下來的時候,應抬高雙腳,例如放在凳子上,承托著小腿,不要坐得離凳子太遠。您應安排特定的休息時間,確保依照時間表作息。  

經過首數天後,便可開始增加運動量,散步是個好方法。請向物理治療師查詢有關適合您的運動,以及如何逐步增加運動量。  

最有益心臟的運動是帶氧運動。帶氧運動是任何牽涉腿部、肩部或手臂的大組肌肉群的重複動作運動。  

您必須逐步增加運動量,但不應進行舉重等劇烈運動,因為這會令心臟過勞。  

您亦可與伴侶、家人或朋友一起做運動,提高趣味性。  

如果出現以下情況,應立刻停止運動:  

  • 疼痛
  • 頭暈或昏眩
  • 生病
  • 不適
  • 非常疲倦  

如果出現以上徵狀,而持續數分鐘後仍未減退,便須立刻見醫生。  

4. 醫生說我患上二尖瓣脫垂。這是甚麼病?須要治療嗎?  

每一百人之中便有五人出現輕度的二尖瓣形狀異常或關閉不全,除非有心悸或胸痛等徵狀,通常都不須要治療。  

二尖瓣脫垂是出現心雜音(血液在心臟不正常流動所產生的聲音)的原因之一,但通常不會引致嚴重問題。如果有心雜音,醫生會把您轉介到心臟科醫生(專門診斷和治療心臟及血管病),找出引起心雜音的確實原因。  

二尖瓣脫垂通常不會有任何病徵,但也可能會引發胸痛(心絞痛)或心悸(感覺到自己的心跳,通常形容為胸部受捶擊的不適感)。  

除非令您出現問題,否則二尖瓣脫垂通常不須要治療。醫生或會為您處方β腎上腺素受體阻斷劑,例如比索洛爾,以減輕胸痛和心悸。  

 5. 接受心瓣膜手術後,須要改變生活方式嗎?  

如果您的心瓣膜病是由冠狀動脈病引發的,即輸送到心肌的血液量減少而導致瓣膜未能正常運作,便應採取措施,以防病情惡化。  

冠狀動脈病可能導致心瓣膜受損。在此情況下,您應改變生活方式,以防冠心病惡化。您應該:  

  • 如果您是吸煙者,便應該戒煙
  • 飲食健康均衡
  • 保持健康的體重
  • 多做運動  

健康均衡的飲食有助降低膽固醇水平和高血壓。您的飲食習慣應改為低脂低鹽,並進食大量水果蔬菜。  

如果換上的瓣膜受感染,感染可能會擴散到心臟內腔,引發心內膜炎。心內膜炎是嚴重病症,足以導致心臟衰竭。接受心瓣膜手術後,您必須採取措施,慎防感染。  

最常見的感染途徑是牙科治療時,細菌從口中進入血液。為防止感染,您應保持口腔衛生,定期檢查牙齒,防止細菌經口腔進入血液。  

有關預防心內膜炎和降低膽固醇及高血壓的資訊,請向醫生查詢。    

索取更多資料

來源

  • At a glance guide to the current medical standards of fitness to drive. Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA). www.dvla.gov.uk, accessed 14 January 2010
  • Balloon valvuloplasty for aortic valve stenosis in adults and children. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), July 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Balloon dilatation of pulmonary valve stenosis. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), June 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Having heart surgery. British Heart Foundation, January 2005. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Heart valve disease. British Heart Foundation, May 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 56th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2009:100
  • Kumar P, Clark M. Clinical medicine. 6th ed. Elsevier, 2005:768
  • Percutaneous pulmonary valve implantation for right ventricular outflow tract dysfunction. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Personal communication, Dr Tim Cripps, Consultant cardiologist, Bristol Royal Infirmary, 10 February 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, Kendrick T. Oxford handbook of general practice. 2nd ed. Oxford:Oxford University Press, 2007:354-55
  • Thoracoscopically assisted mitral valve surgery. The National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), December 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Tuladhar SM, Punjabai PP. Surgical reconstruction of the mitral valve. Heart 2006; 92:1373-77. doi: 10.1136/hrt.2005.067421
  • Vahanian A, Baumgartner H, Bax J, et al. Guidelines on the management of valvular heart disease. Eur Heart J 2007; 28:230-68.
  • Physical activity and your heart. British Heart Foundation. October 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Heart valve disease. British Heart Foundation. August 2009. www.bhf.org.uk
  • Longmore M, Wilkinson I, Turmezei T, et al. Oxford handbook of clinical medicine. 7th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008 

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。