Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Introducing the cardiovascular system

A constant supply of oxygen is needed to keep the body functioning. The cardiovascular system - made up of heart, lungs and blood vessels, and the blood that circulates through these - is responsible for getting oxygen into your body, and circulating it everywhere its needed.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

cardiovascular system

Oxygen enters the body through your mouth and nose, and is breathed into the lungs, where its absorbed into the blood. The heart then pumps this oxygen-rich blood through a network of blood vessels, your arteries, to tissues - organs, muscles and nerves - all around the body.

When blood reaches these tissues, it releases the oxygen, which is then used to produce energy. In exchange, the tissues give up waste products - including carbon dioxide and water - which are, in turn, absorbed and carried away by blood.

This used - or deoxygenated - blood then travels along veins, back towards your heart. Your heart pumps this blood back to your lungs, where it picks up fresh oxygen, and starts the cycle once again.

 

 

An adult humans heart weighs about 300g, and is roughly the size of a clenched fist. It lies in the centre of the chest, surrounded by a protective membrane called the pericardium. In an average day, it pumps nearly 8,000 litres of blood.

Its a muscular organ, divided vertically into left and right sides. The left side is slightly larger because it has more work to do.

The right side of the heart receives deoxygenated blood from elsewhere in your body. It pumps this blood to the lungs, to pick up more oxygen. This oxygenated blood then returns to the left side of the heart, which pumps it out to the rest of your body.

Each side of the heart is further divided into an upper chamber - or atrium - and larger lower chamber, called a ventricle. Blood flows from the atria to the ventricles through a one-way valve. Your heart works like a pump, with its muscular walls contracting to force the movement.

At rest, a healthy adult breathes between six and seven litres of air into the lungs every minute. These lungs consist of spongy tissue - that flank the heart in the chest cavity (thorax).

The diaphragm - a sheet of muscle, which separates the chest from the abdominal cavity - forms the floor of the thorax. Its responsible for inflating and deflating the lungs as you breathe.

From the nose and mouth, air passes into the trachea (windpipe) - through the larynx - or voice box - and into each lung, through two airways called your bronchi. These divide into smaller airway - called bronchioles - which divide again, into alveoli. These are air sacs with walls just one cell thick - its here that the gases oxygen and carbon dioxide can filter into and out of the blood. This process - known as gaseous exchange - involves molecules of oxygen and carbon dioxide binding to haemoglobin, one of the components of your blood.

There are about seven million alveoli in your lungs, providing a vast surface area - around the size of a tennis court if opened out - where gas exchange can take place.

This whole system depends on a process of circulation.

Basically, deoxygenated blood flows towards your heart through two large veins, called the venae cavae. As your right atrium contracts - with the beating of your heart - your tricuspid valve opens, and this deoxygenated blood flows straight into your right ventricle. Your right ventricle then contracts - the second phase of a heart beat - and the tricuspid valve shuts, while the pulmonary artery opens.

The deoxygenated blood is pumped out of your right ventricle, and down your pulmonary artery towards your lungs. Before your next heart beat, your pulmonary valve closes to prevent this blood flowing back into your heart.

When it reaches your lungs, your blood is replenished with oxygen, before being sent back towards your heart, through your pulmonary vein and into your left atrium. On this side of your heart, its the mitral valve which controls blood flow.

This shuts behind the blood, and then your bicuspid valve opens to allow the blood to be pumped from your left ventricle into your aorta, and off on its way round the rest of your body.

From your aorta, numerous arteries divide into smaller arterioles. Eventually, the blood arrives in the smallest vessels - the capillaries. These allow exchange of oxygen, carbon dioxide and other waster products between the blood and the tissues.

Deoxygenated blood is then conveyed in small, then larger, veins back towards your heart for the whole cycle to begin again. All along the way, one-way valves prevent the backflow of blood in your veins.

As blood travels around the body, it is under pressure. This pressure can be measured - usually in the brachial artery in your arm.

Blood pressure is expressed. The top figure - or systolic reading - is a measure of the pressure in your artery when the heart is contracting and squeezing blood out. The bottom figure - the diastolic reading - is the pressure when your heart is filling.

Like all muscles, your heart requires a regular supply of blood. This is delivered by your left and right coronary arteries. Its when these become furred up with a fatty deposit called plaque that your heart muscle stops receiving enough blood to work properly.

The result can be:

  • Angina
  • High blood pressure
  • Heart attack
  • Heart failure

 

See separate facts sheets on these topics.

Your lifestyle over the long term plays an essential part in maintaining cardiovascular health. Follow our tips for keeping the risks to a minimum:

If you smoke, give up - smoking causes serious damage to your heart and blood vessels

Exercise regularly - preferably, most days. This does not mean you have to join a gym - moderate intensity activity, such as brisk walking, should be enough

Eat healthily - a healthy diet is high in complex carbohydrates (bread, pasta, potatoes, rice) and fruit and vegetables, and low in saturated fat.

1. What sorts of exercises can I do to keep my heart healthy?

You can improve the health of your heart (your cardiovascular fitness) through different types of physical activity or exercises.

The best kind of exercise for your heart is aerobic activity – this means that it involves or improves the use of oxygen by your body. This is essential for improving your cardiovascular fitness. Aerobic activity can be any repetitive exercise that involves the large muscle groups of your legs, shoulders or arms.

The recommended healthy level of physical activity is 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week in bouts of 10 minutes or more. Moderate means your breathing is faster, your heart rate is increased and you feel warmer. At this level of activity, your heart and lungs are being stimulated and this goes towards making you fitter.

Good forms of cardiovascular exercise include running, aerobics, cycling and swimming. It's important to realise that exercise can also include all kinds of day-to-day activities such as:

  • gardening
  • climbing stairs
  • walking
  • vacuuming

If you are overweight or have a medical condition, check with your GP before starting an exercise programme. He or she will be able to advise you on the best way to increase your physical activity.

2. I have diabetes and I have heard this can affect my heart. Do I need to take special precautions?

If you have diabetes, you have a higher risk of developing heart disease. However, your GP can advise you how you can reduce your risk by making lifestyle changes and controlling your diabetes.

If you have diabetes, you're more likely to have high blood pressure and high levels of fats in your blood. Diabetes can also affect the heart muscle itself, making it a less efficient pump and making it more likely that you will develop heart disease. So, if you have diabetes, your GP will probably prescribe medicines to treat some of the risk factors that you may have. For example, he or she may give you medicines to lower your blood pressure and cholesterol level or aspirin to reduce the risk of blood clotting. If you smoke, your GP will also encourage you to stop smoking.

If you have high levels of triglycerides (a type of fat) and cholesterol in your blood, you have a greater risk of heart disease. The risk is particularly high if you also have a low level of HDL cholesterol (high-density lipoprotein, or 'good' cholesterol), which is more likely if you have diabetes. You may need to take a medicine known as a statin to reduce your cholesterol levels, and you may also need to have another medicine to control your triglyceride levels. Cutting down on fats in your diet, particularly saturated fats (which are found mostly in meat and dairy products), will also help.

High blood pressure is common in people with diabetes and it's important to control it. If you have diabetes, you should aim to have a blood pressure below 130/80mmHg, or lower than that if your kidneys are already damaged. You may be able to control your blood pressure by losing excess weight, doing more exercise and cutting down on alcohol and salt, although you may need to take medicines too.

Being physically active may help to reduce the amount of medicine or insulin you need to take for your diabetes, and can help reduce the risk of heart disease. It's important to monitor your blood glucose carefully as you start to build up your level of physical activity because you may need to change the dose of your medication. Your GP can advise you about this.

3. Can too much stress in my life really cause heart disease?

Stress isn't the only cause of heart disease but when combined with other risk factors, such as smoking, lack of physical activity, and high blood cholesterol, it can act to increase your risk of developing it.

Many people think that heart disease is caused by years of stress. However, there is no evidence to show that stress alone causes heart disease, even though stress can cause your blood pressure to increase.

However, the way you try to cope with stress may increase your risk of developing heart disease. Stress can encourage less healthy behaviour, such as smoking, drinking too much alcohol, and over-eating.

Sources of stress can include relationships, work, health, financial problems, and major events such as moving house, bereavement or divorce.

A good way of identifying your sources of stress is to keep a diary and write in it when you are feeling stressed. This might help you to work out why you feel more stressed on some days than others. Once you have identified the possible causes of your stress, you can then take steps to tackle them and change how you respond to stressful situations.

If you can't change a source of stress, aim to try and change your attitude towards it. Think about how you respond when you find yourself in a stressful situation. Then try and think about how you could change both your physical and mental response to it.

A balanced diet and regular physical activity can help you to feel more ready to cope with potentially stressful situations. It's also important to learn how to relax – yoga and other relaxation techniques may help.

Talking to friends, colleagues or family members about any worries you have can help. If you think you are stressed or very anxious, talk to your GP who will be able to help you decide on the best way to deal with it.

Further information

Sources

  • The heart – technical terms explained. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • The way your lungs work. British Lung Foundation. www.lunguk.org, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010
  • Blood pressure. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • CVD risk assessment and management. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Physical activity and your heart. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
  • Diabetes. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010
  • Diabetes – type 2. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 25 Septemeber 2010
  • Cardiovascular disease. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010
  • Coping with stress. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

認識心血管系統

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

我們需要持續不斷的氧氣供應來維持身體的運作。我們的心血管系統包括心臟、肺部、血液和血管。血液在系統中循環,負責提取氧氣進入你的身體,並輸送到需要氧氣的地方。 

血管網絡

氧氣由口鼻進入人體,於肺部被血液吸收。心臟會把含氧量高的血液泵出,通過血管網絡(動脈)到達全身的組織,包括器官、肌肉和神經。

當血液到達身體組織時,便會釋出氧氣,製造能量;然後組織內的廢物,包括水和二氧化碳,會被血液吸收帶走。

用過或「脫氧」的血液會由靜脈輸送回心臟。心臟把這些血液泵回肺部,在那裏提取新鮮氧氣,又再開始血液循環。

成年人的心臟大概重300克,約一個拳頭大小。它位於胸部中央,有一層保護膜包圍,名為「心囊」。心臟每天平均約泵8,000公升血液。

心臟是由肌肉組成的器官,分為左、右兩邊。左邊的工作量較多,所以比較大。

右邊心臟收集由身體其他部位而來的脫氧血液,然後泵到肺部以提取更多氧氣。含氧的血會返回左邊心臟,再由此泵到身體其他部位。

每邊心臟分為上面的心房和下面大一點的心室。血液經過單向的瓣膜,由心房流至心室。心臟如水泵般操作,肌肉壁的收縮帶動血液的流動。

健康的成年人處休息狀態時,每分鐘會將六至七公升空氣吸進肺部。肺部由海綿狀的組織組成,位於胸腔的側面,接連著心臟。

橫隔膜是一層分隔胸部和腹部的肌肉,位於胸腔底部,負責在呼吸時令肺部膨脹和收縮。

空氣由鼻孔和口腔,經氣管、喉和兩條名為「支氣管」的導氣管,到達每邊肺部。支氣管分為細小的導氣管,稱為「細支氣管」,而細支氣管則再細分為肺胞。圍著肺胞的只有一層細胞,是氧氣和二氧化碳進出血液的地方。這過程稱為「氣體交換」。過程中,氧氣和二氧化碳的分子會與血色素結合。血色素是血液的一部分。

肺部約有700萬個肺泡,總表面面積約一個網球場大小,使氣體交換可在龐大的表面面積上進行。

整個心血管系統的運作都與血液循環息息相關。基本上,脫氧的血液由兩條大靜脈(腔靜脈)流向心臟。當右心房收縮時(與心跳同步),三尖瓣會打開,脫氧的血液會流入右心室。右心室收縮時(心跳的第二階段),三尖瓣會關閉,肺動脈則會打開。

脫氧的血液會由右心室泵進肺動脈,直達肺部。在下一次心跳前,肺動脈的半同瓣會關上,防止血液由肺靜脈倒流至心臟。

血液到達肺部時,會再補充氧氣才回到心臟,含氧血液會由肺靜脈流回左心房。血液是否流入左心房是由僧帽瓣控制的。

血液流過後,僧帽瓣會隨之關上。二尖瓣會打開,讓血液可由左心室泵入大動脈,然後流到身體其他部分。

由大動脈起,很多動脈分成更細小的動脈,最後血液到達最細小的微絲血管。微絲血管讓血與組織之間的氧氣、二氧化碳及其他廢物可作交換。

脫氧血液會由細小的靜脈輸送至大靜脈,再返回心臟,整個循環又會重新開始。在整個過程裏,單向的瓣膜阻止血液在靜脈中倒流。

血液在身體裏循環,造成壓力,稱為血壓。血壓通常在肱動脈量度。血壓分上壓──量度心臟收縮擠出血液時動脈所受的壓力;和下壓──血液注入心臟時的壓力。

一如其他肌肉,心臟需要不斷的血液供應。血液由左、右冠狀動脈輸送。當它們因名為「斑」的脂肪積聚而瘀塞時,心肌便得不到足夠血液供應,不能正常運作,並可能產生以下情況︰

  • 心絞痛
  • 高血壓
  • 心臟病發作
  • 心臟衰竭
  • 請參考有關以上病症的其他單張。
  • 注意心血管健康

我們長期的生活模式對維持心血管的健康十分重要。以下方法可把患心血管病的機會減至最低:

如果你吸煙,應該戒掉,因為吸煙對我們的心臟和血管造成嚴重損害

經常運動,最好是每天做運動。你不一定要加入健身中心,也不需要做太劇烈的運動,一般運動如徑步已經足夠

養成健康的飲食習慣,多吃含豐富複合碳水化合物的食物(如麵包、麵條、薯仔和米飯)以及蔬果,盡量少吃含飽和脂肪的食物

1. 做哪種運動可以保持心臟健康?  

各種運動均有助改善心臟健康(心肺功能)。  

最有益心臟的運動是帶氧運動-這類運動涉及或改善身體運用氧氣的能力,對提高心肺功能必不可少。帶氧運動是任何涉及腿部、肩部或手臂大組肌肉的重複動作運動。  

建議的健康運動量是每星期做150分鐘(兩個半小時)的適度運動,每次維持10分鐘或更長時間。「適度」的意思是令您呼吸加快,心跳加速及身體變暖。在這種運動量之下,心肺會受到刺激,令您的身體更健康。  

對心血管有益的運動包括跑步、健美操、騎自行車和游泳。要明白到運動亦包括日常生活的各種活動,例如:

  • 園藝
  • 上下樓梯
  • 步行
  • 吸塵  

 

假如您身體超重或患病,開始運動計劃之前,請先諮詢醫生的意見。醫生會告訴您增加體力活動的最佳方法。  

2. 我患糖尿病,聽說這會影響心臟。我需要採取特別的預防措施嗎?  

 如果您有糖尿病,患心臟病的風險會較高。不過,您的醫生會告訴您如何改變生活方式以控制糖尿病,減低風險。  

假如您患糖尿病,便更可能會有高血壓和高血脂。糖尿病更可能會影響心臟肌肉,減低心臟泵血效率,令您更容易患心臟病。所以,如果您有糖尿病,您的醫生或會為您處方藥物,應付潛在的風險因素。例如,醫生或會為您處方藥物,以降低血壓和膽固醇水平,或處方阿士匹靈,減低凝血風險。假如您是吸煙者,醫生會鼓勵您戒煙。  

如果您的血液中含高水平三酸甘油酯(一種脂肪)和膽固醇,患心臟病的風險就更大;假如HDL膽固醇(「高密度脂蛋白」,或稱「好」膽固醇)水平同時偏低,患心臟病的風險會特別高。如果患有糖尿病,這種情況就更容易會出現。您也許需要服用他汀類的藥物,以降低膽固醇水平,另外還可能需要另一種藥物,以控制三酸甘油酯水平。減少進食脂肪,尤其是飽和脂肪(多存在於肉類和乳製品),也會有幫助。  

高血壓常見於糖尿病患者,有必要加以控制。假如您有糖尿病,目標血壓應低於130/80mmHg;假如腎臟已經受損,目標血壓應更低。您可利用減重的方法控制血壓,多做運動,減少飲酒,減少吃鹽,亦有可能要同時服藥。  

多做運動有助減少所需服用糖尿病藥物或胰島素的份量,亦有助降低心臟病的風險。重要的是,當你開始增加運動量時,便要小心監測血糖水平,因為您可能要調節藥物劑量。您的醫生會為您提供這方面的意見。  

3. 生活壓力太大真的會導致心臟病嗎?  

壓力並非心臟病的單一成因,但壓力與其他風險因素,如吸煙、缺乏運動和高血脂加在一起,就會構成影響,增加患心臟病的風險。  

很多人認為,患心臟病是長年累月承受壓力的結果。不過,儘管生活壓力會使血壓增高,但沒有證據顯示,單憑壓力因素會導致心臟病。  

不過您嘗試應付壓力的方式卻可能會增加患心臟病的風險。壓力會促使人養成不健康的習慣,例如吸煙、酗酒及暴食。  

壓力的來源包括人際關係、工作、健康、財務問題,以及生活中的大事,如搬家、親友喪事或離婚等。  

識別壓力來源的好方法是寫日記,每次感受到壓力,就記下來。這樣或可幫您了解到為甚麼在某些日子會特別感受到壓力。一旦認定受壓力的可能成因,就能採取措施解決問題,並改變應付壓力的方法。  

假如無法改變壓力的源頭,就嘗試改變自己的態度,切想自己如何應付壓力,然後嘗試思考如何改變自己的生理和心理反應。  

均衡飲食及定期運動,能令您感到已準備就緒,應付潛在的壓力。學習如何放鬆自己也同樣重要,做瑜伽及學習其他減壓技巧亦可能奏效。  

與朋友、同事或家人傾訴自己的憂慮也會有幫助。如果您覺得自己受到壓力,或感到十分焦慮,請即諮詢醫生意見。您的醫生會助您找出最佳的應對方法。

索取更多資料

來源

  • The heart – technical terms explained. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • The way your lungs work. British Lung Foundation. www.lunguk.org, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010
  • Blood pressure. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • CVD risk assessment and management. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Physical activity and your heart. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 23 September 2010
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
  • Diabetes. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010
  • Diabetes – type 2. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 25 Septemeber 2010
  • Cardiovascular disease. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010
  • Coping with stress. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 25 September 2010

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。