Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Anaesthesia

Anaesthesia

The word anaesthesia is derived from a Greek word, meaning absence or loss of sensation. Anaesthesia is one of the most significant developments of modern medicine because it allows once-unbearable medical procedures to be performed while the patient is relaxed and asleep.

Anaesthetists are medical doctors with further training in the specialised field of anaesthesia. They also have expertise in intensive care medicine and pain relief, and are responsible for pain control and anaesthesia for women in labour. However, most of the work of an anaesthetist is in preparing hospital patients for surgery, then caring for them during the operation.

There are 3 principle types of anaesthesia:

  • General anaesthetic - putting people to sleep, and keeping them asleep for surgery or other medical procedures
  • Regional anaesthetic - numbing an area of the body
  • Local anaesthetic - numbing a small part of the body

Often a combination of the above techniques is used to ensure that the minimum doses of drugs are used to ensure successful anaesthesia and a quick recovery.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

General anaesthesia
Thanks to development of new, safer anaesthetic drugs and sophisticated monitoring equipment, modern anaesthesia is now very safe. Several million general anaesthetics are successfully performed each year. A recent study showed that deaths due to an anaesthetic problem occurred in only 5 per million operations.
What happens during a general anaesthetic?

The anaesthetist is responsible for the general welfare of the person having surgery. He or she gives a variety of drugs that have different effects with the overall aim of ensuring you are soundly unconscious, will have no memory of the operation (amnesia) and suffers no pain (analgesia).

Anaesthesia usually begins when the anaesthetist injects a drug through a fine plastic tube (cannula) inserted into a vein in the back of the hand. Within a few seconds, this sends you quickly and smoothly to sleep. Its known as the induction of anaesthesia. It is also possible to induce anaesthesia with anaesthetic gases, breathed through a mask.

To maintain this unconsciousness, the anaesthetist gives a mixture of oxygen and anaesthetic gases to breathe. This makes sure you are unconscious throughout the operation and will not remember anything about it. This element of anaesthesia is known as maintenance.

It is sometimes necessary to have muscle-relaxing drugs. This is often to allow the surgeon to perform the operation by relaxing the bodys natural muscle tone, which is present even when asleep. When a muscle relaxant is used, the anaesthetist also has to control breathing for the patient. To do this, a plastic tube is inserted into the windpipe (trachea) and a machine called a ventilator inflates and deflates the lungs in a highly accurate and controlled rhythm.

A general anaesthetic can interfere with the bodys natural cough reflex, which normally helps prevent anything but air entering the breathing system. When this protection for the airway is affected, the contents of the stomach could seep back into the throat during an operation and be inhaled, causing damage to delicate lung tissues. This helps to explain why you are obliged to have nil by mouth for about six hours before an operation.

The anaesthetist will also use strong painkilling drugs to control pain during and after surgery.

 

Monitoring the patient

The anaesthetist is able to monitor precisely your condition. For example, the rate and electrical activity of the heart, blood pressure and the amount of oxygen in the blood are measured continuously. Its also possible to measure the exact composition of the gases breathed in and out. This helps to ensure the correct acid/alkaline balance of the blood and the correct dose of anaesthetic gases.

 

Waking up

When the anaesthetic gases are stopped, you begin to emerge or recover quite quickly. A drug is given to reverse the effects of any muscle relaxant used and, for all but very major operations, such as open heart surgery, you will be breathing normally soon after the operation is over.

 

Side-effects

Most people have no problems following their operation and anaesthetic. Indeed, many operations are now planned as day cases, with no overnight stay in hospital.

Serious complications of an anaesthetic are very rare. However, some people experience minor temporary side-effects. These depend on a number of factors including the general health of the patient and the type and length of the operation.

A little drowsiness is common but this usually wears off quickly, particularly if the operation was short. Some patients can experience some discomfort after their operation, but this can be relieved by giving painkilling drugs as injection(s) or tablets.

As a result of modern anaesthetic drugs, nausea after an operation is less common than it was. Anti-sickness medicine may also be given if the operation itself, or the painkillers used, are known to be common causes of nausea.

Regional anaesthesia

A general anaesthetic is not always necessary or advisable. Depending on the type of operation, its possible for the anaesthetist to use techniques to completely numb specific parts of the body. This is known as regional anaesthesia and is used increasingly frequently to avoid the possible side-effects of general anaesthesia. Regional anaesthesia can also be useful in people who are too frail to undergo a general anaesthetic.

An injection of a small amount of a local anaesthetic drug is given near to the nerves that supply a part of the body. The local anaesthetic temporarily prevents nerves from sending any messages to the brain - where pain is registered - so the part of the body is completely insensitive to pain.

A spinal anaesthetic is one of the most common types of regional anaesthesia. It involves an injection of local anaesthetic into the fluid that surrounds the nerves in lower part of the spine and is used for operations below the waist or in the pelvic region. The patient will be completely numb from the waist down for a couple of hours or so.

An epidural anaesthetic is a related technique, where a narrow plastic cannula is left in position near to the nerves in the back. This means that the anaesthetist can give repeated doses of local anaesthetics (and painkillers), without further injections. This makes it useful for longer operations. By being able to increase the dose as required, a lower overall dose of medication can be given so that pain is controlled without complete loss of feeling. As the cannula can be left in place for up to several days, an epidural can be useful for postoperative pain relief and for labour pain.

Similar techniques are used to numb other parts of the body. For example, the arm can be numbed with an injection into the upper arm or armpit to allow a broken wrist to be treated.

Local anaesthetics
For operations on a small area of the body, it is possible to simply inject local anaesthetic at the site of the operation. This technique is often performed by the surgeon or GP in minor surgery units, and is usually only used for short, simple operations such as stitching a wound or removing a mole, or other skin lesion.
Further Information

The Association of Anaesthetists
http://www.aagbi.org/public.html

American Society of Anesthesiologists 
http://www.asahq.org/patientEducation/

You Might Also Like

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Learn more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

麻醉法

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

麻醉(anaesthesia)一詞源於希臘文,意思是沒有知覺或失去感覺。麻醉學是現代醫學其中一項最重大的發展。它讓病人可以在放鬆甚至睡眠的狀態下,接受一些從前令人苦不堪言的療程。

麻醉師受過麻醉科的專科訓練。他們專門研究有關深切治療藥物和舒緩痛楚的問題,亦負責為快將分娩的孕婦進行麻醉,以減輕她們在分娩期間所受的痛楚。事實上,麻醉師最主要的工作是為將要接受手術的病人進行麻醉,並在手術過程中照料他們。

麻醉主要分為三大類:

  • 全身麻醉令病人進入睡眠狀態,直至手術以及其他醫療程序完結為止
  • 區域麻醉麻醉病人身體某個範圍
  • 局部麻醉麻醉病人身體某個部位

以上技術通常會混合使用,務求以最少分量的麻醉藥達致最理想的麻醉效果,並且令病人於手術後能盡快恢復知覺。

嶄新安全的麻醉藥和精密的監察儀器令現代的麻醉技術十分可靠。每年有數以百萬計的人士成功接受全身麻醉。最近有研究指出,在100萬宗手術中,因麻醉出現問題而導致死亡的手術只有5宗。

全身麻醉的程序

麻醉師要對接受手術的病人的權益負責。麻醉師使用不同的麻醉藥,令病人在手術中失去知覺,手術後他們會對手術毫無記憶(記憶缺失),亦不會感到痛楚(痛覺缺失)。

 

麻醉師通常會把麻醉藥經由病人手背上的幼細膠管(套管)經靜脈注入身體。數秒後,麻醉藥會使病人迅速而順利地進入睡眠狀態。這是麻醉程序中的誘導部分。氣體麻醉藥亦可用作誘導麻醉,方法是透過面罩將氣體吸入體內。

 

為了令病人在手術中保持麻醉狀態,麻醉師會讓病人吸入混合氧氣和麻醉藥的氣體,確保他們在手術過程中沒有任何知覺而且手術後不會記得手術的情況。這是麻醉程序中的維持部分。

 

為了讓醫生能順利進行手術,麻醉師有時會使用鬆弛肌肉的藥物來放鬆病人自然收緊的肌肉。因為即使在睡眠的時候,肌肉仍會維持一定的收縮狀態。使用這類藥物時,麻醉師須控制病人的呼吸,方法是把一條膠喉的兩端分別接駁到病人的氣管和呼吸機,以極為準確及有規律的擴張和壓縮病人的肺部。

 

全身麻醉會防礙自然的咳嗽反射。咳嗽反射能阻止空氣以外的物質進入呼吸系統。氣管的保護機制一旦受到抑制,胃部內的東西便會在手術中倒流至咽喉,並且由肺部吸入,破壞肺部的微細組織。因此病人在接受手術前的6個小時內絕對不可飲食。

 

麻醉師亦可能會使用強力止痛劑,減輕病人手術時和手術後的痛楚。

 

觀察

麻醉師能準確監察病人的身體狀況,包括定期量度病人的心跳速度、測量心臟的電流活動以及量度血壓和血液的含氧量。此外,麻醉師也會準確量度病人吸入和呼出的空氣的成分,目的是令體內血液的酸鹼度保持平衡,並確保使用的氣體麻醉劑分量適中。

 

恢復意識

病人在停止吸入麻醉氣體後很快便會恢復意識。這時麻醉師會利用藥物使病人的肌肉回復正常收縮狀態。除了一些大型手術,如剖開心臟的手術以外,病人的呼吸一般會於手術後不久即回復正常。

 

副作用

大部分人在接受手術和麻醉後不會有任何副作用。事實上,現在很多手術被安排為日診,病人不需留院。

麻醉後出現嚴重併發症的情況是十分罕見的。可是,有些人會出現一些輕微而短暫的副作用。副作用的嚴重程度通常取決於多種因素,包括病人的健康狀況以及手術歷時多久。

手術後感到有少許睡意是很平常的,但這情況通常會很快消失,特別是在一些歷時較短的手術之後。有些病人在手術後可能會感到不適,注射或服用止痛藥可有效舒緩不適的感覺。

現代麻醉藥減少了以往病人手術後感到噁心的情況,如果已知道手術本身或止痛劑是導致噁心的原因,病人可能需要服用止嘔藥。

並非所有病人都需要進行全身麻醉,對某些病人亦不適用。麻醉師可視乎手術的種類,麻醉身體某一部分,這便是區域麻醉。區域麻醉日漸普遍,因為它可避免全身麻醉帶來的副作用,而且適用於身體虛弱、不宜接受全身麻醉的病人。

麻醉師會將少量的局部麻醉藥注射到身體要接受麻醉的部位附近的神經。這些麻醉藥能暫時防止神經傳遞信息到大腦。由於腦部是辨認痛楚的地方,所以身體接受了麻醉的部位便不會感受到痛楚。

脊柱麻醉是其中一種最常用的區域麻醉。這種麻醉方法主要應用於一些腰部以下或盤骨位置的手術。麻醉師會把局部麻醉藥注入包圍脊椎底部的脊髓神經的液體內,病人腰以下的部位會失去感覺數小時。

硬膜外(epidural)麻醉與脊髓數小時相似。麻醉師會把一條幼小的膠管插入病人背部的神經,並透過這膠管重複注入麻醉藥或止痛劑,代替打針注射。這種方法特別適用於歷時較長的手術。由於麻醉藥的分量可在手術中途按需要增加,因此麻醉師可酌量減少麻醉藥,令病人一方面感受不到痛楚,但又不至於完全失去感覺。

由於這膠套管能在病人身上保留數天,所以硬膜外麻醉對舒緩手術後以及分娩帶來的痛楚十分有效。

類似的麻醉技術也可應用於身體其他部位,例如把麻醉藥注入上臂或腋下,以進行對折斷手腕的治療。

假如手術的範圍很小,麻醉藥可直接注射到手術涉及的部位。局部麻醉通常直接由醫生或負責小型手術的普通醫生進行,這適用於歷時較短的手術,如縫合傷口、脫痣或切除其他受損皮膚。

索取更多資料

The Association of Anaesthetists
http://www.aagbi.org/public.html

American Society of Anesthesiologists 
http://www.asahq.org/patientEducation

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。