Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Gallbladder removed

This factsheet is for people who are planning to have gallbladder surgery (cholecystectomy), or who would like information about it. 

The gallbladder may need to be removed if it becomes diseased or damaged. Your care will be adapted to meet your individual needs and may differ from what is described here. So its important that you follow your surgeons advice.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Your gallbladder is a small, pear-shaped pouch in the upper right part of your abdomen (tummy). It stores bile, which is a fluid made by your liver, and used to help digest the fats that you eat. Bile is made of cholesterol, bile salts and waste products, and gallstones can form when these substances are out of balance. Gallstones can give you abdominal pain (particularly after a fatty meal), make you feel sick and give you a fever (a temperature higher than 37.5C). Your gallbladder may need to be removed if it becomes damaged by gallstones. If you have your gallbladder removed, bile dribbles continuously into your gut rather than only being released after meals.

Your GP may press gently with his or her fingers just below the ribs on the right side of your chest. This area may feel tender if you have an inflamed gallbladder. A blood sample may be taken from you for testing.

Your GP may send you for further tests including:

  • ultrasound scan - this uses sound waves to produce an image of the inside of your body
  • HIDA (hepatobiliary iminodiacetic acid) scan - X-ray images of the gallbladder are taken following injection of iodine dye

What are the alternatives?

If your symptoms are mild, or if surgery isn´t possible for medical reasons, there may be alternatives to having surgery to remove gallstones. Your surgeon will discuss any possible alternative treatments with you.

A gallbladder operation is usually done using keyhole surgery (laparoscopic cholecystectomy), which means your surgeon wont have to make a large cut in your abdomen.

Keyhole surgery is usually carried out as a day case, but you may need to stay overnight in hospital. The operation is done under general anaesthesia which means that you will be asleep during the procedure.

Your surgeon will explain how to prepare for your gallbladder surgery. For example, if you smoke you will be asked to try to stop as smoking increases your risk of getting a wound or chest infection and slows your recovery.

You will be asked to follow fasting instructions. Typically you must not eat or drink for about six hours before a general anaesthetic. However, some anaesthetists allow occasional sips of water until two hours beforehand.

At the hospital your nurse will explain how you will be cared for during your stay. Your nurse may check your heart rate and blood pressure, and test your urine.

You may be asked to wear compression stockings to help prevent blood clots forming in the veins in your legs.

Your surgeon and anaesthetist will visit you before your operation. This is a good time to ask any unanswered questions. Your surgeon will ask you to sign a consent form. This confirms that you understand the risks, benefits and possible alternatives to the procedure and have given your permission for it to go ahead.

During the laparoscopic operation, your surgeon will make two or three small cuts (about 5 to 10mm long) through the skin of your abdomen. One cut will be above, or just below, your navel (tummy button), and the others on the right side of your abdomen.

Your surgeon will then inflate your abdomen using carbon dioxide gas to make it easier to see your internal organs. He or she will then pass a laparoscope (a long, thin telescope with a light and camera lens at the tip) through one of the cuts. This allows your surgeon to view your internal organs on a monitor.

Specially adapted surgical instruments help move the internal organs and allow your surgeon to cut and remove the gallbladder. X-ray images may be taken during the operation, so that your surgeon can see if any gallstones are blocking your bile duct.

Afterwards, the instruments are removed and the gas is allowed to escape through the laparoscope. The skin cuts are closed with dissolvable stitches and covered with a dressing.

The operation takes 60 to 90 minutes.

You will be taken from the operating theatre to a recovery room, where you will come round from anaesthesia under close supervision. You will then be taken back to your room, where your nurse will check the wounds and record your heart rate and blood pressure at regular intervals.

You will need to rest until the effects of the general anaesthetic have passed. You may need pain relief to help with any discomfort as the anaesthetic wears off. If you do have any discomfort, discuss it with your nurse.

Dissolvable stitches will usually disappear in around one to three weeks, but this can take up to six weeks, depending on the type of stitches you have. Your nurse will give you some advice about caring for your healing wounds before you go home. You may be given a date for a follow-up appointment. You may also be given special compression stockings to wear after surgery to decrease the possibility of blood clots forming in your legs.

General anaesthesia temporarily affects your coordination and reasoning skills, so you must not drive, drink alcohol, operate machinery or sign legal documents for 48 hours afterwards. If youre in any doubt about driving, please contact your motor insurer so that youre aware of their recommendations, and always follow your doctor/surgeons advice.

If you need pain relief, your doctor may prescribe you painkillers such as paracetamol or ibuprofen. Follow the instructions in the patient information leaflet that comes with the medicine and ask your pharmacist for advice. Your surgeon may give you painkillers when youre discharged from hospital.

You can return to your usual activities, including going back to work, after about a week. However, some people may need to rest for longer while others can return to work after a few days. Follow your surgeons advice about driving. You shouldn´t drive until you´re confident that you could perform an emergency stop without discomfort.

Gallbladder removal is commonly performed and generally safe. However, in order to make an informed decision and give your consent, you need to be aware of the possible side-effects and the risk of complications of this procedure.

Side-effects

These are the unwanted but mostly mild and temporary effects of a successful treatment. An example of a side-effect is feeling sick as a result of the anaesthetic or painkillers.

You may feel some pain in your abdomen and shoulders. This is caused by the gas used to inflate the abdomen and usually disappears within 48 hours.

Many people have diarrhoea after having their gallbladder removed, because the bile salts irritate your digestive system. Eating plenty of high-fibre foods such as brown rice, wholemeal bread and pasta can help you absorb excess water and make your bowel movements firmer. Your GP may suggest the use of bulking agents such as methyl cellulose (Celevac) or Fybogel or may prescribe a medicine called colestyramine (Questran).

Complications

This is when problems occur during or after the operation. Most people aren´t affected but the main possible complications of any surgery are an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic, excessive bleeding, infection or developing a blood clot in a vein in the leg (deep vein thrombosis, DVT). Most people are given compression stockings to wear during the operation to help prevent this.

There is a chance your surgeon may need to convert your keyhole procedure to open surgery. This means making a bigger cut on your abdomen. This will only be done if it is impossible to complete the operation safely using the keyhole technique.

Possible complications include the following.

  • You may have pain in your abdomen, bloating, wind and diarrhoea, which may need further investigation and treatment.
  • Rarely, your bile duct or other organs may become damaged during surgery. If this happens you may need further surgery.
  • Blockage of a blood vessel with a bubble of carbon dioxide gas may occur.

The exact risks are specific to you and differ for every person, so we havent included statistics here. Ask your surgeon to explain how these risks apply to you.

1. I have recently had my gallbladder removed and have had diarrhoea ever since - is this due to my operation?

You may have diarrhoea after having your gallbladder removed. This is usually caused by bile flowing directly from your liver into your small bowel as it can't be stored in your gallbladder. You may also find that you need the toilet more frequently. Diarrhoea usually improves within two weeks of having your gallbladder removed, but it can last for over a year. Your GP can offer you advice on the best ways to manage your diarrhoea.

Diarrhoea following gallbladder removal is common and can make everyday life more difficult. If you have diarrhoea for long periods of time, it can be very distressing. However, there are some things that you can do to help yourself.

  • Eat a high-fibre diet containing foods such as cereals, fruits and vegetables, and nuts. This will help to absorb excess water and bulk up your faeces, making them less soft.
  • Try not to eat foods that can make diarrhoea worse. These include spicy and fatty foods and dairy products.
  • Reduce the amount of caffeine you drink by having decaffeinated tea or coffee or naturally caffeine-free drinks such as water.
  • Ask your GP to recommend antidiarrhoea medicines to reduce the number of times you have to visit the toilet.
  • Wear a small pad in your underwear - this might help you to feel more confident.

If you have diarrhoea for long periods of time, it can make you feel very weak and tired. You can become dehydrated because food is passing quickly through your bowel before your body has time to absorb the benefits of the vitamins, minerals and water. It's very important that you drink as much water as you can. It's also important to drink plenty of fluid if you're increasing the amount of fibre you eat. Speak to your GP for advice on how to reduce your risk of becoming dehydrated.

Before you try any over-the-counter (OTC) medicines to help with your diarrhoea, it's very important that you talk to your GP. He or she will need to find out what is causing your diarrhoea in order to decide on the best medicine to give you. Some medicines will need to be prescribed by your GP.

Common medicines used to help with diarrhoea are:

  • loperamide hydrochloride (Imodium)
  • co-phenotrope (Lomotil)
  • codeine phosphate

These medicines work by slowing down the time it takes for food to pass through your digestive system. Using them may not get rid of your diarrhoea completely but may help to make it less severe.

2. Will having my gallbladder removed affect how I can digest food?

You can manage very well without a gallbladder. After you have had your gallbladder removed, bile dribbles continuously into your intestine rather than only being released after meals. You shouldn't have any problems digesting food after having your gallbladder removed.

If you have had surgery to your abdomen, it can be a shock to your system. Usually, you don't have to stop eating particular foods after gallbladder surgery, but some people can get increased wind (gas), bloating or diarrhoea after meals for two to three weeks following gallbladder surgery.

Your doctor may advise you to eat a low-fat, high-fibre diet. Fats in your diet can make you produce more bile and you will produce less if you eat a low-fat diet. Dietary fibre can give you protection from the constant dribble of bile into your intestine that follows gallbladder removal. Dietary fibre may also reduce symptoms of diarrhoea as it bulks up your faeces and makes them firmer. Sources of dietary fibre include brown rice, wholemeal bread and pasta. It's important to drink plenty of fluid if you're increasing the amount of fibre you eat.

Contact your GP if you have any concerns regarding your diet after having your gallbladder removed.

3. How much time will I have to spend off work after having my gallbladder removed?

If you have had a laparoscopic cholecystectomy (removal of the gallbladder using keyhole surgery), you may be allowed to return home on the same day but usually it will be the day after your operation. You will probably be fit enough to return to work about one week after your operation, depending on the nature of your job. If you had open surgery, your recovery time will be longer than with laparoscopic cholecystectomy and you will usually resume daily activities and return to work in three to five weeks.

Gallbladder removal is a major abdominal operation and you will feel a certain amount of pain after surgery. You should start feeling better once you reach home, so contact your GP if the pain doesn't gradually start to go away during the week following your operation. Your surgeon or nurse will advise you as to when you can remove your dressings and wash or shower.

Your level of activity will depend on how you feel. Gradually increase your level of activity during the week after your operation depending on how you feel. If you're taking medicines for any pain, you may not be able to drive. Ask your GP or pharmacist if you're unsure whether you can drive or not.

If you have had a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, you will usually be able to return to daily activities and work within about a week of your operation. If your job involves manual labour or heavy lifting, you may need a bit more time away from work. Contact your GP if you're unsure what amount of activity you should be doing.

If you have had open surgery, your recovery time will be longer than with laparoscopic cholecystectomy. Open surgery is a major operation which requires a longer stay in hospital followed by several more weeks at home to recover.

You might also like

Colonoscopy

A colonoscopy is an examination of the lining of the colon (large bowel) using a flexible, tube-like telescope called a colonoscope. This instrument is carefully passed through your rectum (back passage) and into the colon.

Read more

Indigestion

Indigestion is the term used to describe pain and discomfort in the upper abdomen or chest that can develop after a meal. The medical term for it is dyspepsia.

Read more

Work-related stress

Work-related stress is the negative reaction that occurs when demands at work exceed the ability to cope. It can also be caused by other problems at work, such as feeling inadequate or having poor working conditions.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

膽囊切除手術

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

本內容專為準備進行手術切除膽囊(膽囊切除術)或需要相關資訊的人士提供。膽囊如有疾病或受損,便可能須要切除。醫生會視乎您的個人情況提供不同的治療,所以具體程序或與下述略有不同。請依照醫生指示配合治療。

膽囊是位於腹內右上方的一個細小的梨形囊袋,負責儲存膽汁,即肝臟製造的汁液,用於消化飲食中的脂肪。膽汁由膽固醇、膽鹽和肝臟廢物組成,假如成份失衡可能結成膽石。膽結石會導致腹痛(特別是進食肥膩食物後),患者會作嘔和發燒(體溫超過攝氏37.5度)。假如膽囊因結石受損,可能須要動手術切除。切除膽囊後,膽汁不會只在餐後分泌,而是不斷滴流到腸道。

醫生為您檢查時,會用手指輕按您右胸肋骨對下位置,假如膽囊發炎,這個位置一觸即痛。醫生或須抽取血液化驗。

醫生亦可能轉介您到化驗所進行其他檢測:

  • 超聲波掃描- 利用聲波檢查體內器官
  • 亞氨基二乙酸肝膽管掃描- 注射碘染色劑後進行膽囊X光造影

其他療法

若病徵輕微或礙於其他健康問題不宜做手術,亦可以考慮透過其他方法清除膽石。外科醫生會跟您研究其他可行的治療方法。

切除膽囊一般採用微創手術(腹腔鏡膽囊切除手術),即毋須在腹部開大型切口。

微創手術通常屬於日間外科手術,但您或須留院一晚。手術須要全身麻醉,患者在手術期間會處於睡眠狀態。

外科醫生會指示您如何做好手術前的準備。例如吸煙人士應儘量停止吸煙,否則可能會提高傷口或胸部發炎的風險,妨礙痊癒。

患者還須遵照醫生指示禁食。全身麻醉手術的病人通常在手術前約六個小時內不可飲食,但亦有部份麻醉師允許病人喝少量的水,直至手術兩個小時前才完全停止。

入院後護士會說明您留院其間的護理程序。護士會為您量度心律、血壓和驗尿。

患者或須穿加壓襪防止腿靜脈血凝結。

手術前外科醫生和麻醉師會先來探望,此時若有任何疑問可詢問清楚。外科醫生會請您簽署同意書,確認您明白手術的風險、好處和其他可採取的選擇方案,並且同意醫生進行手術。

進行腹腔鏡膽囊切除手術期間,外科醫生會在病人腹部皮膚開兩至三個小切口(約5-10毫米長),其中一個切口在肚臍之上或剛對下位置開切,另一個切口位於腹部右側。

然後醫生會利用二氧化碳氣體令病人的腹部充氣,以便可以清楚看見體內器官,然後將腹腔鏡(末端裝有燈和攝影鏡頭的幼長伸縮鏡)穿過其中一個切口放進體內,從顯示器觀察內臟情況。

醫生會利用特製的專用儀器移開體內器官,然後切除膽囊。手術期間或會拍攝X光片,讓醫生看看是否有膽石阻塞膽管。

切除後,醫生便會取出儀器,讓氣體透過腹腔鏡排出,再用可溶性縫線縫合傷口,並用敷料包紮。

整個手術需時60至90分鐘。

病人會由手術室轉送到復甦室休息,由醫護人員緊密監察。麻醉藥消退後病人便會甦醒,再轉送到病房,由護士檢查傷口和定期記錄心律及血壓。

病人需要一直休息,直至麻醉藥完全消散。在此期間您可能感到不適,或須服食止痛藥。假如真的感到不適,請告訴護士。

可溶性縫線一般會在一至三個星期消失,但亦有一些病人需時六個星期,視乎縫線的類型而定。出院前護士會指導病人如何護理癒合中的傷口,有些醫院會安排預約進行跟進檢查,此外醫生或會囑咐手術後病人穿特製的加壓襪,以減少腿部血液凝結。

 

全身麻醉會短暫影響您的協調和推理能力,所以手術後48小時內不應駕車、喝酒、操作機器或簽署法律文件。如對駕車有任何疑問,請聯絡您的汽車保險公司諮詢建議,同時謹記醫生/外科醫生的囑咐。

如需要鎮痛,醫生可能會處方樸熱息痛或布洛芬這類鎮痛藥。請嚴格依照藥品說明書的病人須知指示服用,並諮詢藥劑師的意見。出院時外科醫生亦可能會處方鎮痛藥。

通常病人在手術後一個星期左右便可恢復正常活動,包括上班。部份病人或需要休息更長的時間,但亦有些病人只需三數天便可復工。駕車方面,請遵照醫生的建議,同時必須確保即使緊急剎車也不會造成任何不適,才可以恢復駕駛。

切除膽囊是常見的手術,一般也安全,但為確保您擁有充分資訊來決定是否同意進行手術,您應了解這個手術的副作用和可能出現的併發症。

副作用

這是手術成功後的不良副作用,但通常徵狀輕微,而且只會維持一段短暫時間,例子包括麻醉藥或止痛藥導致作嘔。

病人腹部和肩部也可能感到疼痛,這是受腹部充氣的氣體所引致的不適,通常會在48小時內消失。

許多病人切除膽囊後出現腹瀉,這是因為膽鹽刺激消化系統所致。此時應多進食高纖食物如糙米、全麥麵包和義大利麵等,以助吸納大量水份,令排便更結實。您的普通科醫生或會建議使用增積劑如甲基纖維素(Celevac)或Fybogel,又或處方名為硝膽胺的藥物(Questran)。

併發症

這是手術期間或事後出現的問題。大部份病人都不會出現這類併發症。任何手術都會出現的併發症有麻醉藥反應、出血、感染或下肢深靜脈血栓。為預防這類情況,醫生多會安排病人在手術期間穿加壓襪。

外科醫生亦可能將微創手術轉為開腹手術,即在腹部開大切口。通常只有微創技術無法安全完成手術的情況下,醫生才會改用開腹手術。

以下是可能出現的併發症:

  • 病人或會感到腹部痛楚、腫脹、脹氣和肚瀉,須要進一步查究原因和治療。
  • 偶爾也有病人的膽管或其他器官因手術而受損,以致須要進行另一次的手術。
  • 此外也可能出現二氧化碳氣泡堵塞血管的情況。

有關的風險因人而異,故這裡不提供統計數據。有關個人的具體風險,請詢問您的醫生。

 

1. 我最近切除了膽囊,自此一直腹瀉,這是否與手術有關?

切除膽囊後可能會腹瀉,這通常是因為膽汁不再儲存於膽囊而直接由肝臟流入小腸,此外您如廁也可能較頻密。腹瀉通常會在膽囊切除兩個星期後減輕,但亦有部分病人經常腹瀉長達一年多。有關調理腹瀉不適的最佳方法,應請教您的普通科醫生。

病人在膽囊切除手術後腹瀉頗為常見,這會為日常生活增添不便。假如腹瀉持續多時,病人會感到十分苦惱,以下的方法或可助您減輕煩惱:

  • 儘量選擇高纖飲食,例如穀類、水果、蔬菜和堅果。高纖食物可吸納多餘水份,令 大便變得結實,不致太稀散。
  • 避免進食加劇腹瀉的食物,包括辛辣和肥膩食品和奶類食品。
  • 減少咖啡因攝取量,改喝不含咖啡因的茶或咖啡,又或水等天然無咖啡因飲品。
  • 請普通科醫生建議適合的止瀉藥,減少如廁的次數。
  • 在內褲加衛生棉墊,不用擔心突然腹瀉弄污衣服。

腹瀉持續多時會令人感到虛弱疲倦,由於食物迅速經過腸道排出體外,身體根本來不及吸收食物所含的維他命、礦物質和水份,容易導致缺水,所以必須盡量多喝水,此外高纖食物吃多了也該多喝水。有關如何降低脫水風險,請諮詢普通科醫生。

試服任何成藥止瀉之前,切記先請教普通科醫生,由他/她找出腹瀉成因以選擇最適合的藥物。某些藥物必須由普通科醫生處方。

常用的止瀉藥包括:

  • 鹽酸洛哌丁胺(Imodium)
  • Co-phenotrope (Lomotil)
  • 磷酸可待因

這些藥物可減慢食物經過消化系統的時間。服用後不一定可以完全止瀉,但卻有紓緩作用。

2. 切除膽囊後會影響消化能力嗎?

人沒有膽囊也沒有甚麼問題,切除膽囊後,膽汁不像以往只在餐後分泌,而是不斷滴流到腸道,所以切除膽囊不應引致消化問題。

腹部進行外科手術可能擾亂體內系統。一般來說切除膽囊的病人手術後不用戒吃任何食物,但部分病人手術後兩至三個星期餐後, 噯氣、腹脹或腹瀉情況會變得嚴重。

醫生可能叮囑您多吃低脂高纖食物。飲食中脂肪含量高的話,身體必須製造更多的膽汁,注意低脂飲食膽汁便會相應減少。手術後膽汁不斷流入腸道,食用纖維可發揮防護作用,此外食用纖維亦可增加大便體積令其結實,藉此紓緩腹瀉徵狀。含有食用纖維的食物包括糙米、全麥麵包及意大利麵。若增加纖維攝取量,別忘記多喝水。

如對切除膽囊後日常飲食有任何疑問,請聯絡您的普通科醫生。

3. 做膽囊切除手術後需要休息多少天?

接受腹腔鏡膽囊切除手術(微創手術)的病人可以即日出院,但也可能會留院一天休息,手術後約一個星期體能恢復後便可以上班,但具體情況須視乎您的職業的工作性質而定。假如採用開刀手術,康復的時間會比微創手術長,通常三至五個星期便可以恢復正常活動和復工。

切除膽囊後不多不少也會感到痛楚。出院回家後情況便會漸漸改善,所以若手術後一個星期痛楚仍持續不退,便應看醫生。外科醫生或護士會告訴您何時拆除衣服、清潔身體或淋浴。

您的活動能力視乎個人感覺。假如精神好,手術後那個星期便可以開始恢復日常活動。如須服用止痛藥便可能不宜駕車,如不肯定能否駕駛,請諮詢醫生或藥劑師。

接受腹腔鏡膽囊切除手術的病人,通常手術後約一個星期便可以恢復正常生活及上班。假如工作涉及體力勞動或須要提取重物,則需多休假幾天。假如不肯定能否應付工作的勞動量,應詢問醫生。

接受開刀手術的病人,康復時間會比微創手術長。通常出院後還須在家休養數個星期。

相關文章

結腸鏡檢查

結腸鏡檢查是利用可彎曲的管狀結腸鏡檢查結腸(大腸)壁,醫生會謹慎的把儀器從你的直腸插入結腸。

閱讀更多

消化不良

「消化不良」指用餐後上腹部或胸口感到痛楚和不適。胸口有時或會感到灼熱,稱為「胃灼熱」。

閱讀更多

工作壓力

工作壓力是當工作量超出個人負擔能力時出現的負面反應,有時工作上遇到難題亦會產生壓力,例如自覺無法勝任或工作環境惡劣。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。