Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Amniocentesis

Amniocentesis is a procedure that involves testing the amniotic fluid to detect genetic abnormalities in a developing baby (fetus).

You will meet the doctor carrying out your procedure to discuss your care. It may differ from what is described here as it will be designed to meet your individual needs. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Amniocentesis involves taking a small sample of the amniotic fluid surrounding the baby in your womb. This fluid is then tested in a laboratory.

Amniotic fluid contains cells and various substances from your developing baby that can provide information about his or her health and development. 

Amniocentesis is usually used to identify chromosome disorders, such as Down's syndrome (trisomy 21) and Edward's syndrome (trisomy 18).

Chromosomes are structures that contain genes - these contain the instructions for life and are inherited from parents. Normally, our cells contain 46 chromosomes: 23 inherited from each parent. Sometimes a mistake is made during cell division. This is most likely to occur when the sperm or egg is being formed and can cause there to be more chromosomes present. Most people who have Down's syndrome have an extra chromosome 21 and most people with Edward's syndrome have an extra chromosome 18.

Amniocentesis can sometimes be used to test for other conditions as well. If you get an infection during pregnancy, such as cytomegalovirus (CMV), amniocentesis can detect if the baby has also been infected. The procedure may also be done if you have a family history of a specific condition. These conditions include:

  • musculoskeletal conditions, such as Duchenne muscular dystrophy
  • blood disorders, such as haemophilia, thalassaemia or sickle cell anaemia

You will usually be offered amniocentesis if:

  • a screening test has suggested that you have a high risk of your baby having a birth defect or Down's syndrome
  • you're over 35 and have missed an earlier screening test - your risk of having a baby with a genetic disorder increases after this age
  • you have a history of certain disorders in your family
  • there is a possibility of a genetic disorder, for example if you or your partner have an inherited condition such as sickle cell anaemia

Amniocentesis can also be used to find out the baby's sex. This is important if you or your partner is a carrier of a sex-specific disease, such as haemophilia or Duchenne muscular dystrophy (both of these are more likely to occur in boys). 

Amniocentesis is sometimes used to check whether your baby is at risk of rhesus (RhD) disease. As well as the blood groups A, B, AB and O, RhD is another way to categorise the type of blood you have. You will either be RhD-positive or RhD-negative - this means respectively that you carry the D antigen on your red blood cells or you don't.

An antigen is a type of protein that can cause your immune system to react. If your immune system doesn't recognise an antigen, it will produce antibodies to attack it. Antibodies are proteins produced by your immune system that usually fight against viruses and bacteria.

Your baby won't necessarily have the same blood type as you. Therefore, you may be RhD-negative but your baby may be RhD-positive. If this happens and your blood comes into contact with your baby's blood, your immune system will react to the RhD antigen on your baby's blood cells and make antibodies against it (anti-D antibodies). These antibodies can then cross into your baby's bloodstream. This is called sensitisation and can cause problems for your baby (for example, anaemia).

Amniocentesis can monitor whether your immune system has reacted against your baby's blood and give more information about his or her health.

If your blood is RhD-negative, you will usually be given an injection of an antibody called anti-D after amniocentesis. This is because during amniocentesis there is a risk that some of your baby's blood may enter your bloodstream, causing your body to make anti-D antibodies. The injection helps to stop your immune system from reacting to your baby's blood but it won't harm your baby. You may be offered further injections if necessary. 

Amniocentesis is usually done after 15 weeks of pregnancy, when you're in your second trimester. 

Before deciding to have an amniocentesis, it's worth thinking about what the results will mean to you.

If the results show that your baby has normal chromosomes and no other obvious problems, this is reassuring. However, amniocentesis can't test for every disease or guarantee that your baby will be born completely healthy.

If the amniocentesis results are show there is a problem, you will need to make some decisions. These will be based on what the results of the amniocentesis mean for you, your family and your unborn baby. You will need to think about several things including:

  • whether to continue with or terminate the pregnancy (abortion)
  • where to have your baby - for example, if your baby may need surgery soon after birth, your doctor may advise that you give birth in a hospital where the staff are experienced in this

These decisions may be difficult, and it's a good idea to discuss the issues with your partner, family, doctor, genetic counsellor or your midwife before deciding to have an amniocentesis.

Your doctor or midwife will explain how to prepare for your test.

Amniocentesis is usually done as a day case and can take up to half an hour. The test can be slightly uncomfortable so your doctor may use a local anaesthetic to numb the skin where the needle will be inserted.

Your doctor will discuss with you what will happen before, during and after your procedure, and any pain you might have. This is your opportunity to understand what will happen, and you can help yourself by preparing questions to ask about the risks, benefits and any alternatives to the procedure. This will help you to be informed, so you can give your consent for the procedure to go ahead, which you may be asked to do by signing a consent form. 

Your doctor will use an ultrasound device to check the position of your baby and the placenta in your womb. An ultrasound uses sound waves to produce an image of the inside of part of your body. This helps to find the best place to remove some amniotic fluid without damaging the placenta, the umbilical cord or your baby. Your doctor will use ultrasound throughout the procedure to monitor your baby.

Your doctor will insert a long, thin, needle through the wall of your abdomen (tummy) and into the sac of fluid that surrounds your baby. You may feel a sharp, stinging sensation when the needle pierces the amniotic sac but this should only last a few seconds. A small amount of fluid will be removed and sent to the laboratory for testing.

The fluid that is removed is usually an amber or yellow colour. Sometimes the test will need to be repeated, for example if there is blood in the sample. 

If you need them, you can take over-the-counter painkillers such as paracetamol. Follow the instructions in the patient information leaflet that comes with the medicine and ask your pharmacist for advice. 

Certain conditions (for example, Down's syndrome and Edward's syndrome) can be identified within a couple of days of amniocentesis.

For other conditions it can take a laboratory two to three weeks to provide a final result.

For most women the test will give a very clear result as to whether or not the chromosomes are normal, or for other conditions, positive or negative. Occasionally a different condition is detected than the one that was originally being checked for. Rarely, your baby may be born with a disorder despite you having a normal result. 

Amniocentesis is commonly performed and generally safe. For many women, the benefits of a clear diagnosis of any problem with their baby are greater than the potential risks. However, in order to make an informed decision and give your consent, you need to be aware of the possible side-effects and the risk of complications of this procedure.

Side-effects

Side-effects are the unwanted but mostly temporary effects you may get after having the procedure. You may have some mild pain or cramps, like period pain, and spotting (light bleeding from the vagina) for a few hours afterwards.

If you have any other side-effects such as feeling shivery and unwell, heavy bleeding or contractions, contact your doctor immediately.

Complications

Complications are when problems occur during or after the procedure. Most women are not affected, but the risks of amniocentesis include the following.

  • Injury to you or your baby from the needle - using ultrasound to guide the needle reduces this risk. Puncture of the placenta is the most common injury, but this usually heals without any further problems.
  • You may develop an infection because the needle has punctured the bowel or because of skin contamination, but this is very rare.
  • There is a slight risk that your blood will be exposed to your baby's blood. This is only an issue if your blood is rhesus-negative and your baby's is rhesus-positive. This risk is reduced when you're given an injection of the appropriate antibodies after your test.

In about one in 100 women, one of these complications of amniocentesis leads to miscarriage.

The exact risks are specific to you and differ for every person. Ask your doctor to explain how these risks apply to you. 

How can I know if amniocentesis is right for me?

Answer

Your doctor will explain to you the risks and benefits of having amniocentesis. Only you can decide whether the test is right for you.

Explanation

Making a decision about whether or not to have a diagnostic test during pregnancy can be difficult. You may find it helpful to discuss the options with your partner or family.

To help you make the decision that is best for you, your doctor should discuss the following information with you:

  • the types of tests available and what the results will tell you
  • how reliable the tests are
  • the risk of having an uncertain result and needing a repeat test
  • your risk of miscarriage from having the test
  • how long the results will take and how you will get them
  • your options if your baby is found to have a disorder

Your doctor will be able to tell you about the disorders that can be detected by amniocentesis. You may also want information about what is involved in ending a pregnancy and how you may feel afterwards.

If you think you're likely to decide to end your pregnancy if the results are abnormal, you might want to find out sooner about any possible disorders. In this case, you may decide that amniocentesis isn't the best option. You may want to have an alternative diagnostic test such as chorionic villus sampling, which can be done earlier in your pregnancy to detect genetic disorders. Talk to your doctor about your options.

Will amniocentesis harm my baby?

Answer

There is a small risk that you may miscarry as a result of having amniocentesis.

Explanation

Amniocentesis may cause a miscarriage if the needle punctures the placenta or causes an infection in the womb. About one in 100 women who have amniocentesis will miscarry as a result of the procedure.

This risk is also dependent on the skill of the doctor as well as the technique. A more experienced doctor may have a higher success rate and a lower rate of procedure-related miscarriage.

If you have any concerns about amniocentesis, speak to your doctor or midwife.

Can I have amniocentesis if my blood group is rhesus-negative and my baby is rhesus-positive?

Answer

Yes, you can have the amniocentesis test if you're rhesus (RhD)-negative and your baby is rhesus (RhD)-positive. You will be given an injection, which helps to stop your immune system from reacting to your baby's blood.

Explanation

As well as the blood groups A, B, AB and O, RhD is another way to categorise the type of blood you have. If your blood group is RhD-positive, this means you have RhD antigens on the surface of your red blood cells. RhD-negative means you don't have these antigens.

An antigen is a type of protein that can cause your immune system to react. If your immune system doesn't recognise an antigen, it will produce antibodies to attack it. Antibodies are proteins made by your immune system that usually fight against viruses and bacteria. So, if your doctor tells you that you are A positive, it means your blood group is A, and you are RhD-positive.

Your baby won't necessarily have the same blood type as you. Therefore, a mother who is RhD-negative can carry a baby who is RhD-positive. There is a risk that during a procedure such as amniocentesis or chorionic villus sampling (CVS), some of your baby's blood may enter your bloodstream. If this happens, your immune system will react to the RhD antigen on your baby's blood cells and make antibodies against it (anti-D antibodies). This process is called sensitisation or alloimmunisation.

To prevent this, you will usually be given an injection of an antibody called anti-D after amniocentesis. The injection helps to stop your immune system from reacting to your baby's blood but it won't harm your baby. You may be offered further injections if necessary.

As your pregnancy continues (or in a future pregnancy), your immune system may produce more anti-D antibodies. These can cross the placenta and cause red blood cells to be removed from your baby's bloodstream. Your baby can develop anaemia if the red blood cells are removed faster than they are produced. Severe anaemia can cause fetal heart failure, fluid retention or swelling (hydrops) or cause your baby to die soon after birth, although this is rare. During your pregnancy, your baby can have blood transfusions to help reduce the risk of anaemia.

What is the difference between amniocentesis and chorionic villus sampling (CVS)?

Answer

Although amniocentesis and CVS are similar, there are some significant differences.

Explanation

Amniocentesis involves taking a small sample of the amniotic fluid surrounding the baby in your womb. This is done through your abdomen (tummy). CVS involves taking a small sample of the placenta from your womb. This can be done in two ways: through your cervix (neck of the womb) or through your abdomen). Both tests use ultrasound to check the position of your baby.

Amniocentesis is usually done after 15 weeks of pregnancy. CVS is usually done between 10 and 14 weeks of pregnancy. This time difference may affect what is involved if you choose to end the pregnancy.

The risk of having a miscarriage after amniocentesis or CVS is rare. However, the risk is slightly higher after CVS (two in 100) than after amniocentesis (one in 100). The exact risks are specific to you and will differ for every person. Ask your doctor to explain how these risks apply to you.

These decisions may be difficult, and it's a good idea for you to discuss the issues with your partner, family, doctor, genetic counsellor or your midwife before deciding to have either amniocentesis or CVS. 

Further Information

Sources

  • Amniocentesis: what you need to know. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published June 2006
  • Beers MH, Fletcher AJ, Porter R, et al. The Merck Manual of Medical Information: Home Edition. 2nd ed. London: Simon and Schuster Ltd, 2004:1430-34, 1453, 1527-28
  • Routine antenatal anti-D prophylaxis for women who are rhesus D negative. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE). 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Chorionic villus sampling: what you need to know. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published June 2006

You might also like

Diabetes in Pregnancy

Gestational diabetes develops when your body can't meet the extra insulin demands of the pregnancy.

Read more

Having fine needle aspiration

Fine needle aspiration is a quick and straightforward procedure.

Read more

Pregnancy health

During pregnancy, your body undergoes a number of changes as your baby develops inside your womb. Some of these changes can be early signs of pregnancy.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

羊膜穿刺手術(抽羊水)

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

羊膜穿刺手術指測試羊水探測發育中胎兒(胚胎)是否有遺傳性異常。

負責手術的醫生會與孕婦會面解釋護理詳情。羊膜穿刺手術是按照個人需要而設,所以具體程序可能與下文所述不同。

羊膜穿刺手術指抽取子宮內包圍胎兒的羊水樣本,交送化驗所檢測。

羊水含有發育中胎兒的細胞和多種物質,可讓醫生知道胎兒的健康及發育狀況。

為孕婦進行羊膜穿刺手術,目的通常是檢定染色體是否有異常情況,例如唐氏綜合症(Down’s Syndrome)(21-三體)及愛德華氏綜合症(Edward’s Syndrome)(18-三體)。

染色體是含有基因的結構,它們是遺傳自父母的生命指令,通常人體細胞共有46條染色體,由父母各自遺傳23條。細胞分裂時偶爾會發生錯誤,最常發生於是精子或卵子形成時,錯誤可能導致出現多於46條染色體。大部分唐氏綜合症患者的第21對染色體有額外一條染色體,而愛德華氏綜合症患者則是第18對染色體有額外一條染色體。

羊膜穿刺手術有時亦會用於檢測其他疾病。孕婦妊娠期間如受感染,例如巨細胞病毒(Cytomegalovirus),可進行羊膜穿刺手術檢測胎兒是否也受感染。此外醫生亦可能建議有個別疾病家族遺傳史的孕婦接受羊膜穿刺手術,包括:

  • 肌肉骨骼疾病,例如杜興氏肌肉營養不良症(Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy)
  • 血液失調疾病,例如血友病(Haemophilia)、地中海貧血(Thalassaemia)或鐮狀細胞性貧血(Sickle Cell Anaemia)

如有以下情況,通常須要接受羊膜穿刺手術:

  • 篩查檢測顯示胎兒天生缺陷或患唐氏綜合症的風險偏高
  • 孕婦年齡超過35歲而早前並無接受篩查檢測 — 35歲後誕下有遺傳疾病嬰兒的風險提高
  • 家族有某種疾病的遺傳史
  • 可能出現遺傳疾病,例如孕婦或配偶患有鐮狀細胞性貧血等遺傳性疾病

羊膜穿刺手術亦可確定胎兒性別。若男女雙方患有任何特定性別的疾病(Sex-specific Disease),例如血友病或杜興氏肌肉營養不良症(兩者均以男嬰居多),應接受羊膜穿刺手術確定性別。

有時候醫生會透過羊膜穿刺手術檢查嬰兒是否有溶血性疾病風險。Rh因子是ABO血型以外的另一種血型分類方式,人的血液分為Rh因子陽性或Rh因子陰性,表示紅血球載有或不載有D抗原。抗原是一種可引發免疫系統反應的蛋白,如免疫系統不認識某種抗原,便會產生抗體對抗。抗體是我們免疫系統製造的蛋白,一般用於對抗病毒和細菌。

胎兒的血型不一定與父母相同,因此孕婦可能是Rh因子陰性而嬰兒則屬Rh因子陽性。在這種情況下,母親血液接觸胎兒的血液時,免疫系統便會對胎兒體內血球的抗原作出反應,製造抗體對抗(抗D抗體)。這些抗體會進入胎兒的血液,醫學上這稱為致敏化,可造成健康問題(例如貧血)。

羊膜穿刺手術可監察孕婦的免疫系統是否對胎兒的血液作出反應,同時提供更多關於胎兒健康狀況的資料。

血液為Rh因子陰性的孕婦進行羊膜穿刺手術後通常會注射抗D抗體,皆因手術期間少量胎兒血液可能滲進孕婦的血液系統,促使身體製造抗D抗體。注射抗體可制止免疫系統對胎兒血液作出反應,但不會傷害胎兒。如需要的話醫生可能為孕婦注射多次抗體。

羊膜穿刺手術通常在懷孕15周後進行,即在第二個的三個月期。

決定進行羊膜穿刺手術之前,值得先考慮好如何應對各種可能出現的結果。

如結果顯示胎兒染色體正常而無其他明顯問題,當然令人放心,但要明白羊膜穿刺手術並不能檢測所有疾病,亦不能保證胎兒出生時完全健康。

如手術結果顯示胎兒有問題,孕婦便要作出決定。具體決定將視乎孕婦和家人對羊膜穿刺手術的結果及尚未出生嬰兒的看法,以下是必須考慮的因素:

  • 是否繼續或終止懷孕(人工流產)
  • 分娩地點 — 例如若嬰兒出生後可能需要接受手術,醫生會建議入院分娩,以便有經驗的醫護人員照料

作出這些決定十分困難,所以應與配偶、家人、醫生、遺傳學顧問或助產士商談,然後才決定是否進行羊膜穿刺手術。

醫生或助產士可解釋如何為手術檢測作好準備。

接受羊膜穿刺手術通常只需留院一天,手術最長半小時。檢測過程或有一點不舒服,故醫生可能施用局部麻醉。

醫生會在手術之前、期間和之後告訴孕婦每個程序,並且說明或會感到痛楚不適。這樣孕婦可以知道手術的詳情,如對手術的風險、好處及是否有其他可考慮方案存有疑問也可以提出,以作好準備。孕婦掌握詳細資料後便可同意進行手術。醫生或會要求簽署正式的同意書。

醫生會利用超聲波裝置檢查子宮內胎兒和胎盤的位置。超聲波指透過聲波進行體內造影,輔助醫生找出抽取羊水的最佳位置,確保不會傷及胎盤、臍帶或胎兒。手術全程醫生會用超聲波監察胎兒情況。

醫生會將幼長的針刺穿過腹壁,插進包圍胎兒的囊液。針刺穿羊水囊時,孕婦會感到一陣刺痛,但這只會維持數秒。接着醫生會抽取少量羊水交送化驗所測試。

抽出的羊水樣本通常是淺啡或黃色。有些情況下孕婦需要重複檢測,例如樣本含血液時。
如需要的話,手術後可服用鎮痛成藥,例如撲熱息痛(Paracetamol)。服藥前應細閱隨附說明書的病人須知指示,如有疑問請諮詢藥劑師。

某些疾病(例如唐氏綜合症及愛德華氏綜合症)可在羊膜穿刺手術後兩天知道結果。

其他疾病或需在化驗室進行詳細檢測,需時兩至三星期才有最後報告。

大部分女性的檢測結果也十分清晰,可確實知道胎兒染色體是否正常或是否有其他疾病、陽性或陰性等,但偶然亦會找到其他並非有意檢測的疾病。在一些罕見病例,儘管懷孕時已接受檢測而結果正常,嬰兒出生時亦有問題。

羊膜穿刺手術是常見外科程序,一般很安全。對許多婦女來說,手術雖有潛在風險,但卻可以清楚診斷胎兒有沒有任何問題,所以絕對利大於弊。然而,若要作出充分知情的決定及給予同意,孕婦必須了解手術可能引起的副作用和併發症。

副作用

副作用是手術後短暫性不適反應。手術後數小時,腹部或有類似經期的輕微痛楚或絞痛和陰道輕微出血。

如有其他副作用,例如發冷顫抖和不適、大量流血或收縮痛楚,應立即通知醫生。

併發症

手術期間或之後的問題稱為併發症。雖然大部分婦女均不受影響,但羊膜穿刺手術可能導致下列問題:

  • 刺針弄傷孕婦或胎兒 — 利用超聲波引導刺針便可減低損傷風險。最常見的損傷是刺穿胎盤。但傷口通常可自行癒合,不會造成任何其他問題。
  • 若刺針刺穿腸道或皮膚受污染,可能引致感染,但這類情況極罕見。
  • 孕婦血液有接觸胎兒血液的輕微風險,但只有母體血液屬Rh因子陰性而胎兒屬Rh因子陽性才涉及風險。如孕婦檢測後注射適量抗體,便可減輕風險。

每100名婦女當中,約有一人因為羊膜穿刺手術引致併發症而流產。

手術的風險因人而異,有關個人的具體風險請諮詢醫生。

問:怎樣可確定自己適宜做羊膜穿刺手術?

答:醫生可解釋羊膜穿刺手術的風險和好處。只有您才可決定檢測是否適合自己。

決定是否在妊娠期間接受診斷性測試是個困難決定,不妨跟配偶或家人商量才作出決定。

醫生會提出以下事項,助您作出最切合個人情況的決定:

  • 可選擇的檢測類型及結果可顯示甚麼
  • 檢測的可靠度
  • 若結果不能確定而需要重複檢測會造成的風險
  • 檢測後流產的風險
  • 需時多久知道結果,如何得知結果
  • 如發現胎兒有問題您如何作出決定

醫生會解釋羊膜穿刺手術能檢測哪些疾病,孕婦也可查詢如何終止懷孕和事後會有何感受。

若您相信一旦發現胎兒不正常便會終止懷孕,那及早檢測疾病是好事。在這種情況下,羊膜穿刺手術或許不是最佳的選擇,您可考慮其他診斷性測試,例如絨毛膜取樣(Chorionic Villus Sampling)。這類測試可在妊娠初期進行,以檢測遺傳疾病。請諮詢醫生各種可選擇的方案。

問:羊膜穿刺手術對胎兒有害嗎?

答:孕婦接受羊膜穿刺手術有輕微的流產風險。

羊膜穿刺手術的針如刺破胎盤或導致子宮感染,可能導致流產。每100名婦女當中,約有1人因手術引致併發症而流產。

醫生的技巧和技術也會造成風險。經驗較豐富的醫生成功率較高,與手術相關的流產率較低。

如對羊膜穿刺手術有任何疑問,請諮詢醫生或助產士。

問:孕婦屬Rh因子陰性血型而胎兒屬Rh因子陽性血型,可否接受羊膜穿刺手術?

答:可以,媽媽屬Rh因子陰性而胎兒屬Rh因子陽性也可以進行羊膜穿刺手術。醫生會為您注射藥物,防止免疫系統對胎兒血液作出反應。

Rh因子是A、B、AB及O類以外另一種血型分類方式。Rh因子陽性血型的人,紅血球表面有RhD抗原;Rh因子陰性血型的人沒有RhD抗原。抗原是一種可導致免疫系統反應的蛋白,如免疫系統不能辨識某種抗原,便會產生抗體對抗。抗體是我們免疫系統製造的蛋白,一般用於對抗病毒和細菌。若醫生說您是A陽性,意指您的血型是A型和Rh因子陽性。

胎兒的血型不一定與母親相同,因此Rh因子陰性的孕婦可以懷有Rh因子陽性的嬰兒。進行羊膜穿刺或絨毛膜取樣這類手術時,可能有少量胎兒血液滲入母親的血液系統。於這個情況下,母親的免疫系統便會對胎兒體內血球的RhD抗原作出反應,製造抗體對抗(抗D抗體),這稱為致敏化或同種異體免疫。為防止這種情況,醫生通常會在手術後為孕婦注射抗D抗體。注射抗體可制止免疫系統對胎兒血液作出反應,但不會傷害胎兒。如需要的話醫生可能為孕婦注射多次抗體。

隨着妊娠進展(或日後再懷孕),免疫系統會製造更多抗D抗體。這些抗體或會越過胎盤導致胎兒血液內的紅血球流失。如紅血球流失太快以致身體來不及製造足夠新紅血球補充,胎兒便會貧血。嚴重貧血可導致胎兒心臟衰竭、體液滯留或水腫,或導致胎兒出生後不久夭折,但這種病例十分罕見。懷孕期間胎兒也可接受輸血以減低貧血風險。

問:羊膜穿刺手術和絨毛膜取樣有何分別?

答:羊膜穿刺手術和絨毛膜取樣很相似,但兩者也有多處重大分別。

羊膜穿刺手術指抽取子宮內包圍胎兒的羊水樣本,刺針直接插進腹部。絨毛膜取樣指在子宮內的胎盤抽取樣本,方法有二:透過宮頸(子宮頸部)或腹部。兩種均用超聲波檢查胎兒位置。

羊膜穿刺手術通常在懷孕15周後進行;絨毛膜取樣則在懷孕10至14周之間進行,如孕婦決定終止懷孕,兩者的時間差別會影響人工流產的做法。

羊膜穿刺手術或絨毛膜取樣導致流產的風險極低,但絨毛膜取樣後流產的風險(每100名孕婦中兩人)略高於羊膜穿刺手術(每100名孕婦中一人)。風險因人而異,您可詢問醫生個人的具體風險。

作出這些決定十分困難,所以應與配偶、家人、醫生、遺傳學顧問或助產士商談,然後才決定是否進行羊膜穿刺或絨毛膜取樣手術。

索取更多資料

來源

  • Arulkumaran S, Symonds I, Fowlie A. Oxford handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology. 1st ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2004
  • Placenta praevia, placenta praevia accreta and vasa praevia: diagnosis and management. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published January 2011
  • Caesarean section. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2011. www.nice.org.uk
  • The management of breech presentation. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2006
  • Management of HIV in Pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published June 2010
  • Management of genital herpes in pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published September 2007
  • Birth after previous caesarean birth. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published February 2007
  • Maternity data 2010–11. HESonline. www.hesonline.nhs.uk, published 2011
  • Blott M. The day-by-day pregnancy book. 1st ed. London: Dorling Kindersley; 2009
  • Allman K, Wilson I. Oxford handbook of anaesthesia. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2007
  • Cesarean delivery. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 1 July 2011
  • What happens during a planned or emergency caesarean section? NCT. www.nct.org.uk, accessed 23 February 2012
  • Venous thromboembolism: reducing the risk. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), January 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Caesarean section: consent advice no.7. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published October 2009
  • Buhimschi C, Buhimschi I. Advantages of vaginal delivery. Clin Obstet Gynecol 2006; 49(1):167–83. www.journals.lww.com
  • Crowther CA, Dodd JM, Hiller JE, et al. Planned vaginal birth or elective repeat caesarean: patient preference restricted cohort with nested randomised trial. PLoS Med 2012; 9(3):e1001192. doi:10.1371/journal.pmed.1001192
  • Lavender T, Hofmeyr G, Neilson J, et al. Caesarean section for non-medical reasons at term. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 3. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD004660.pub2

相關文章

妊娠糖尿病

本資料的適用對象是在懷孕期間患上糖尿病的婦女(妊娠糖尿病),或需要相關資料的其他人士。不過不適用於懷孕前已經患上糖尿病的女性患者。

閱讀更多

針吸細胞活檢術

針吸細胞活檢術既快捷且直接,其目的在於對身體檢查時或照X光片時發現的乳房腫塊屬於良性還是惡性做出判斷。

閱讀更多

妊娠健康

婦女懷孕期間,胎兒在子宮發育,身體會經歷多種變化。有些轉變只屬妊娠早期徵狀,另亦有較常見的妊娠不適,但這些問題一般頗輕微,而且往往很快便消失。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。