Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Childbirth - Caesarean delivery

Caesarean delivery is an operation to deliver a baby through the abdomen (tummy). A caesarean delivery can be a planned operation or it may be needed in an emergency.

To meet your individual needs, your care may differ from what is described here. It's important to discuss your caesarean delivery with your doctor and midwife. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

If it's not possible for you to give birth to your baby vaginally, you will need an operation called a caesarean. This operation is also sometimes called a caesarean section.

You may plan in advance to have a caesarean delivery, which is called an elective caesarean. Or, you may start giving birth vaginally and then need to have an emergency caesarean because of complications during labour. You may also need to have an emergency caesarean before you go into labour.

Some of the reasons why you may have a caesarean delivery are listed below.

  • Labour has been going on for some time and isn't progressing.
  • Your baby isn't getting enough oxygen, or there is another problem putting his or her health at risk - this is called fetal compromise or fetal distress.
  • The placenta partly or completely covers your cervix (the neck of your womb). This is called placenta praevia.
  • You are expecting more than one baby, for example twins or triplets.
  • Your baby is lying with his or her feet first or bottom first, rather than with the head downwards which is the usual position for a vaginal birth. This is called a breech position. It makes giving birth vaginally more difficult or sometimes impossible.
  • There is a high risk that you may have heavy bleeding if you have a vaginal delivery.
  • You have an infection such as HIV or genital herpes simplex virus.
  • You have had a previous caesarean delivery, although after one child it's often possible to have a vaginal delivery afterwards.

There are two main types of caesarean delivery.

Lower uterine segment caesarean is the most common type. A cut is made across the lower part of your abdomen and womb, usually parallel to your bikini line. There is usually a smaller amount of blood lost with this type of caesarean and the scar that forms afterwards tends to be smaller and stronger.

A classical caesarean is rarely performed nowadays. A cut is made vertically down the middle of your womb. The cut through your abdomen may also be vertical or a bikini line cut may be used. It's likely that you will only need this type of caesarean delivery if there are reasons why a cut can't be made in the lower segment of your womb, for example if you have fibroids or if your baby is very premature. 

If you are considering an elective caesarean, it's important to be aware of the possible alternatives.

For example, it's sometimes possible to give birth vaginally if you are expecting twins, if your baby is in the breech position or if you have had a previous caesarean delivery.

Your midwife or doctor can give you more information about the risks and benefits of both options. 

If you are having an elective caesarean, your obstetrician or midwife will arrange for you to have a blood test before the operation. This is to see whether you have anaemia. Anaemia is when there are too few red blood cells or not enough haemoglobin in the blood.

Planned caesareans are usually done using local anaesthesia, either an epidural or a spinal block. These types of anaesthesia completely block feeling from the waist down and you will stay awake during the operation.
An epidural takes time to work but it can be topped up regularly. You may have already had an epidural if you started a vaginal delivery. If so, this can be topped up with another dose if you then need a caesarean delivery. A spinal block takes effect more quickly but is a one-off dose and only lasts for a set length of time.

If you need to have an emergency caesarean, you may not have much time to prepare for your operation. However, even if this happens, your obstetrician will try to explain the reasons why you need to have a caesarean delivery.

You may need a general anaesthetic if you need to have an emergency caesarean. This means you will be asleep during the operation. You may also need a general anaesthetic if you have a planned caesarean, for example if you have a low-lying placenta (placenta praevia).

Your obstetrician or another healthcare professional will usually ask you to sign a consent form. This confirms that you understand the risks, benefits and possible alternatives to the procedure and have given your permission for it to go ahead. 

If you're having a planned caesarean delivery, you may be able to choose some aspects of the delivery. For example, you may be able to choose the music playing during the operation, whether you see your baby delivered or not, or how and when your baby is passed to you when he or she is born.

You will be put on a drip so that during the operation you can be given medicines and fluids to keep you hydrated. You will then be given either a local or general anaesthetic.

You may have a tube called a catheter inserted into your bladder to make sure that it's empty. This is important because your obstetrician will be operating very close to it. A catheter will also help you to feel more comfortable and pass urine if you have an epidural or spinal anaesthetic.

Once the anaesthetic has taken effect, your abdomen will be cleaned with antiseptic. Your obstetrician will make a cut through your abdomen. Your baby will then be carefully removed. If you have had a local anaesthetic, you may feel some pushing or pulling during the operation. However, you shouldn't feel any pain. Usually, you will be able to see and hold your baby immediately after delivery.

As your baby is being delivered, you will be given an injection of Syntocinon into a vein. This is an artificial form of oxytocin, a hormone (a chemical found naturally in your body) that causes your womb to contract. When your womb has contracted (after a minute or two) your obstetrician will deliver the placenta.

He or she will then close the cuts in your womb with dissolvable stitches. Your obstetrician will close your abdomen using stitches or clips and he or she will put a dressing over your wound. The stitches in your womb don't need to be removed. Depending on the technique your obstetrician uses, you may need to have the abdominal stitches taken out or they may dissolve.

It usually takes about five to 10 minutes to deliver your baby. From start to finish, the operation lasts about 30 to 40 minutes if there are no complications. It often takes longer if you have had surgery before because of scar tissue. 

You will be given painkillers after your caesarean delivery. You may have these given to you through the needle used for your epidural or you may have a device called patient-controlled analgesia. This is a machine that allows you to give yourself painkilling medicines when you need them, by pressing a button. Strong painkillers called opioids, for example diamorphine, are given this way.

If there are no complications during your operation and you are recovering well, you can eat or drink when you feel like it.

If you have an epidural, the catheter that drains your urine usually stays in place for at least 12 hours after the last top-up. If you have a spinal block, your catheter can be removed once you are able to walk around.

The dressing will be taken off after about 24 hours. After this, your wound will probably be left uncovered.

If you had an unplanned caesarean you should have the chance to talk to your obstetrician and midwife about why you needed to have the operation. They will be able to explain the reasons for your caesarean and give you information about any possible consequences the operation may have for you and your baby.

It's usual to stay in hospital for about three to four days after having a caesarean delivery. However, if you are making a good recovery with no signs of fever or infection and have support at home, you may be able to leave hospital sooner. 

You will be given medicines for pain relief while you are in hospital and advice about what to use once you leave. Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your pharmacist for advice.

During the operation, you may have been given antibiotics. This is to prevent any infection of your wound, your womb or your urinary system (your bladder and the tubes that run to and from it). It's important that you complete any course of antibiotics even if you don't have any signs of infection.

Your wound will heal best if you wear loose, cotton clothes and clean and dry it carefully every day. You probably won't have a dressing on it unless your midwife or obstetrician advises it.

The length of time it takes to recover fully from a caesarean will vary for every woman. It's important that you don't try to do too much before you are ready. This includes lifting and carrying heavy objects, doing vigorous exercise and driving. You can have sex once you have fully recovered from your operation. 

Caesarean deliveries are commonly performed and generally safe. However, in order to make an informed decision and give your consent, you need to be aware of the possible side-effects and the risk of complications.

Side effects

These are the unwanted but mostly temporary effects you may get after having the procedure. Side-effects for a caesarean delivery include:

  • pain and discomfort from your wound
  • scarring

Complications

This is when problems occur during or after the operation. Most women aren't affected. The possible complications of any operation include an unexpected reaction to the anaesthetic, excessive bleeding or the development of a blood clot, usually in a deep vein in your leg (deep vein thrombosis, DVT).

Specific complications of caesarean delivery include:

  • an infection in your womb, urinary system or the wound
  • injury to a nearby organ, such as your bladder or bowel - this is more likely if you have had surgery before
  • a small cut to your baby from when the obstetrician enters the womb
  • possible complications in future pregnancies, including a slightly increased risk of having a stillbirth

Your midwife or obstetrician can give you more information about these complications. The exact risks are specific to you and differ for every person, so we haven't included statistics here. Ask your obstetrician to explain how these risks apply to you. 

Can my birthing partner be with me while I'm having a caesarean?

Answer

Yes, it's very likely that your birthing partner will be able to stay with you during the operation if you both want him or her to be present.

Explanation

If you have an epidural or a spinal block, your birthing partner is likely to be able to stay with you in the operating theatre while the caesarean is taking place. Usually a screen will be placed over your chest so that you can't see what is happening while the obstetrician is operating. Once your baby has been delivered, you will probably both be able to see and hold him or her straight away.

If you need to have a general anaesthetic, your birthing partner may still be able to be with you while the operation is taking place. However, this won't always be possible.

If I get pregnant again, will I have to have another caesarean delivery?

Answer

No, not necessarily. Many women are able to give birth vaginally after a caesarean.

Explanation

There are many reasons why you may have a caesarean delivery and this can affect whether you will need another one with a subsequent pregnancy. Many women will be able to have a vaginal delivery if they have had a caesarean delivery before. If you give birth vaginally after having had a caesarean delivery, this is known as a VBAC (vaginal birth after caesarean). It's not known whether the benefits outweigh the risks of aiming for a VBAC rather than having a planned caesarean. Your obstetrician and midwife will help you to make a decision.

There are a number of advantages of having a vaginal birth including:

  • a greater chance of having an uncomplicated normal birth in future pregnancies
  • less abdominal pain after birth
  • lower risk of developing a blood clot
  • a shorter stay in hospital and reduced recovery time

However, there are also risks associated with having a vaginal birth after a caesarean delivery. The main ones are listed below.

  • There is a slightly increased risk of your baby dying during delivery. However, this risk is still extremely small.
  • Uterine rupture is a very rare complication. This is when the scar on your womb from your caesarean tears. This is slightly more likely to happen with a VBAC than with a planned caesarean delivery.

If you have a vaginal delivery after a previous caesarean delivery, your baby will be closely monitored while you are in labour. You will have a caesarean if you need one.

Ask your midwife or obstetrician for more information about having a VBAC.

Is there a limit to the number of caesarean deliveries I can have?

Answer

No, there is no limit to the number of caesarean deliveries you can have. However, with each caesarean you have, your risk of certain complications during pregnancy and birth increases.

Explanation

Having a caesarean leaves a scar on your womb and the other tissues inside your abdomen. This means that the risk of certain problems during pregnancy is increased. It's important that you're aware of possible problems. Some of the main complications of repeated caesarean deliveries include:

  • injury to your bladder or bowel
  • a large loss of blood
  • a hysterectomy
  • placenta praevia - this means the placenta is attached on or near your cervix (the neck of your womb)
  • placenta accreta - this is when the placenta grows through the wall of your womb and into its muscular layer
  • uterine rupture - this is a very rare complication but it's when the scar on your womb from your caesarean tears

Repeated caesarean deliveries slightly increase your risk of having a stillbirth in subsequent pregnancies. Your midwife or obstetrician can give you more information about having repeated caesarean deliveries.

Can I drive after having a caesarean?

Answer

Yes, you can, but you are unlikely to feel well enough to drive straight away. You will probably be advised to wait four to six weeks.

Explanation

There is no specific time that you must wait after having a caesarean delivery before you can drive. You should consult with your doctor about when it's safe to start driving again after surgery.

You're likely to have pain and discomfort for some weeks after the operation. You may find that wearing a seat-belt puts pressure on your wound. It's best not to drive until you are confident that any tenderness or soreness won't distract you while you are driving, or prevent you from stopping in an emergency. You will probably be advised to wait four to six weeks.

General anaesthesia temporarily affects your co-ordination and reasoning skills, so you must not drive, drink alcohol, operate machinery or sign legal documents for 48 hours after a caesarean. If you're in any doubt about driving, contact your motor insurer so that you're aware of their recommendations, and always follow your doctor or obstetrician's advice. 

Further Information

Sources

  • Arulkumaran S, Symonds I, Fowlie A. Oxford handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology. 1st ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2004
  • Placenta praevia, placenta praevia accreta and vasa praevia: diagnosis and management. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published January 2011
  • Caesarean section. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2011. www.nice.org.uk
  • The management of breech presentation. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2006
  • Management of HIV in Pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published June 2010
  • Management of genital herpes in pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published September 2007
  • Birth after previous caesarean birth. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published February 2007
  • Maternity data 2010–11. HESonline. www.hesonline.nhs.uk, published 2011
  • Blott M. The day-by-day pregnancy book. 1st ed. London: Dorling Kindersley; 2009
  • Allman K, Wilson I. Oxford handbook of anaesthesia. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2007
  • Cesarean delivery. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 1 July 2011
  • What happens during a planned or emergency caesarean section? NCT. www.nct.org.uk, accessed 23 February 2012
  • Venous thromboembolism: reducing the risk. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), January 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Caesarean section: consent advice no.7. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published October 2009
  • Buhimschi C, Buhimschi I. Advantages of vaginal delivery. Clin Obstet Gynecol 2006; 49(1):167–83. www.journals.lww.com
  • Crowther CA, Dodd JM, Hiller JE, et al. Planned vaginal birth or elective repeat caesarean: patient preference restricted cohort with nested randomised trial. PLoS Med 2012; 9(3):e1001192. doi:10.1371/journal.pmed.1001192
  • Lavender T, Hofmeyr G, Neilson J, et al. Caesarean section for non-medical reasons at term. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 3. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD004660.pub2

You might also like

Childbirth - Vaginal Delivery

Vaginal birth is the usual way for babies to be born. The process of giving birth to a baby is known as labour. There are three stages to labour that will for last different lengths of time. Pain relief helps to manage pain during labour.

Read more

Miscarriage

A miscarriage is a pregnancy that ends before 24 weeks, which is before most developing babies are able to survive outside the womb (uterus).

Read more

Diabetes in Pregnancy

Gestational diabetes develops when your body can't meet the extra insulin demands of the pregnancy.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

剖腹產

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

剖腹產是透過切開腹部將嬰兒產出的手術。手術日期可以預先計劃,亦可在緊急情況下施行。

醫生會因應產婦的個人需要提供護理,具體程序可能與下文所述不同,所以必須與醫生及助產士商討手術詳情。

孕婦如無法經陰道自然分娩,便須接受稱為剖腹產的手術。

孕婦可事前計劃剖腹產,這稱為選擇性剖腹產,亦可能是自然分娩期間出現併發症,以致須要緊急剖腹產,此外並可能在開始陣痛前便發生緊急情況,必須剖腹產。

孕婦剖腹產的原因包括:

  • 陣痛持續頗長時間但仍無進展
  • 胎兒供氧不足,又或有其他問題危害胎兒健康,這稱為胎兒窘迫(Fetal Compromise/Fetal Distress)。
  • 胎盤局部或全部覆蓋宮頸(子宮頸部),這稱為前置胎盤(Placenta Praevia)。
  • 孕婦懷有多胞胎,例如雙胞或三胞胎。
  • 與頭部向下的正常陰道分娩位置不同,胎兒足部或臀部向下,這稱為臀位分娩(Breech Position),導致陰道分娩較困難或甚至不可行。
  • 孕婦自然分娩有大量出血的可能。
  • 孕婦受愛滋病或生殖器單純皰疹病毒(Genital Herpes Simplex Virus)感染。
  • 之前曾剖腹產,但婦女生產一胎後通常可自然分娩。

剖腹產分為兩種。

  • 最常見的方法是子宮下段剖腹產(Lower Uterine Segment Caesarean),即在下腹和子宮開一個切口,一般沿比堅尼線平行橫切。這種剖腹手術通常流血較少,其後形成的疤痕也較小和強韌。
  • 傳統剖腹產手術現已甚少見。這種手術指垂直切開子宮中央,而腹部的切口則可以是垂直或沿比堅尼線橫切。通常孕婦是基於某種原因不能在子宮下段開刀,例如有子宮肌瘤或胎兒非常早產,醫生才會選擇這種剖腹手術。
  • 孕婦考慮進行選擇性剖腹產手術前,也應了解其他可行的選擇方案。
  • 例如,有些懷有雙胞胎、臀位分娩或以前曾剖腹產的孕婦亦可以自然分娩。
  • 助產士或醫生可詳細解釋箇中風險和優點。

 

進行選擇性剖腹產手術的產婦或可參與決定手術某些部分,例如手術期間播放的音樂、是否可觀看嬰兒出生、嬰兒出生後何時及如何將嬰兒遞到媽媽懷裡等。

手術期間產婦須要插吊瓶,以便輸藥和輸液保持水分充足,然後醫生會施用局部或全身麻醉。

醫生或會將導管插入產婦的膀胱,確保沒有尿液。這個步驟很重要,因為產科醫生施手術的位置非常接近膀胱。使用硬膜外或椎管內麻醉的產婦插上導管會感覺更舒適,同時方便排出小便。

麻醉藥發揮效用後,醫生會用消毒殺菌劑清潔腹部,然後在腹部開切口,小心取出嬰兒。如使用局部麻醉,手術期間產婦可能感覺到一些推拉動作,但卻不會感到痛楚,嬰兒出生後,媽媽會立即看到寶寶和抱在懷裡。

陣痛期間,醫生會在產婦的靜脈注射Syntocinon。這是人工催產素,即導致子宮收縮的荷爾蒙(人體內的天然化學物)。子宮收縮後(一至兩分鐘),產科醫生便可開始取出胎盤。

接着,醫生會用可溶解手術縫線縫合子宮切口。他/她會用針線或夾子閉合腹部,然後在傷口貼上敷料。子宮的縫線毋須拆線,腹部的縫線則視乎醫生採用的材料而定,可拆線或自行溶解。

接生一般須時五至十分鐘。如無併發症,手術由開始到結束約30至40分鐘。如以往曾動過手術而有疤痕組織,手術時間或會稍長。

產婦剖腹分娩後須使用鎮痛劑。鎮痛劑可以利用硬膜外麻醉的針輸入體內,又或使用稱為病人自控鎮痛泵的裝置,後者是一部機器,讓病人根據需要按下按鈕自行施用鎮痛藥物。這種裝置可配合嗎啡類藥物(如戴阿墨酚(Diamorphine))等強效鎮痛劑使用。

只要手術無引起任何併發症而產婦復原良好,便可開始飲食。

如使用硬膜外麻醉,排尿導管在最後一次添加麻醉藥後一般會保留在體內最少12小時。如使用椎管內麻醉,產婦可以下床步行時便可拆除導管。

敷料約在24小時後拆除,其後傷口便不用蓋着。

即使剖腹手術並非事前計劃,產科醫生及助產士亦會先向產婦解釋為甚麼須要動手術。他們會說明做手術的原因和手術可能對產婦或胎兒造成甚麼後果。

剖腹產後一般須留院三至四天,但如產婦康復進展良好亦無發燒或感染跡象,而且家中有人支援協助,則可提早出院。

產婦剖腹分娩後須使用鎮痛劑。鎮痛劑可以利用硬膜外麻醉的針輸入體內,又或使用稱為病人自控鎮痛泵的裝置,後者是一部機器,讓病人根據需要按下按鈕自行施用鎮痛藥物。這種裝置可配合嗎啡類藥物(如戴阿墨酚(Diamorphine))等強效鎮痛劑使用。

只要手術無引起任何併發症而產婦復原良好,便可開始飲食。

如使用硬膜外麻醉,排尿導管在最後一次添加麻醉藥後一般會保留在體內最少12小時。如使用椎管內麻醉,產婦可以下床步行時便可拆除導管。

敷料約在24小時後拆除,其後傷口便不用蓋着。

即使剖腹手術並非事前計劃,產科醫生及助產士亦會先向產婦解釋為甚麼須要動手術。他們會說明做手術的原因和手術可能對產婦或胎兒造成甚麼後果。

剖腹產後一般須留院三至四天,但如產婦康復進展良好亦無發燒或感染跡象,而且家中有人支援協助,則可提早出院。

產婦住院期間醫生會處方鎮痛藥紓緩不適,以及指導她們出院後可服用哪種藥物。服藥前應細閱隨附的病人須知說明書,如有疑問請諮詢藥劑師。

手術期間醫生或會給產婦服用抗生素,防止傷口、子宮及泌尿系統(膀胱及接駁該處的進出管道)感染。服用抗生素必須完成整個療程,即使沒有任何感染跡象亦如是。

產後應穿着寬鬆的棉質衣服及每日小心清理和抺乾傷口,這有助傷口癒合。除非助產士或產科醫生囑咐,否則傷口毋須用敷料覆蓋。

產婦剖腹產後完全康復的時間因人而異。手術後不宜太操勞,直至可應付為止,這包括提舉或拿重物、進行劇烈運動和駕駛。手術完全康復後,便可恢復性生活。 

 

剖腹產是常見手術,一般也很安全,但為確保您擁有充分資訊決定是否同意進行手術,您應了解這個程序的副作用和可能出現的併發症。

副作用

副作用是手術後的不適反應,然而副作用通常只維持一段短暫時間。剖腹產的副作用包括:

  • 傷口痛楚及不適;
  • 疤痕

併發症

這指手術期間或事後出現的問題。大部分婦女均不會出現併發症。手術可能引起的併發症包括對麻醉藥有不良的反應、出血過量或形成血凝塊,通常位於腿部深靜脈(深靜脈血栓)。

因剖腹產手術引致的併發症包括:

  • 子宮、泌尿系統或傷口感染
  • 周圍器官如膀胱或腸道受損 — 以往曾做手術的婦女較容易發生這種情況
  • 產科醫生從子宮取出胎兒時造成輕微割傷
  • 日後懷孕可能出現併發症,包括懷死胎的風險輕微增加

您的助產士或產科醫生可提供上述併發症的詳細資料。由於具體風險因人而異,本文並未列出有關統計數字,請諮詢外科醫生有關風險對您的影響。

問:剖腹產時親屬可以在旁嗎?

答:可以,假如您想親屬在場,醫生應會允許他/她全程在旁。

若採用硬膜外或椎管內麻醉,手術期間親屬應可留在手術室。通常醫生會在您胸部位置架起布屏,不讓您看到手術情況,小寶寶出生後,您和親屬應可立即看到和抱他/她。

若須全身麻醉,親屬亦可能獲准在手術期間留在產婦身旁,但這並非必然。

問:日後如再次懷孕,是否一定要剖腹產?

答:不一定,許多曾剖腹產的婦女也可以經陰道自然分娩。

剖腹分娩的原因很多,日後生產是否必須剖腹視乎具體原因而定,許多曾剖腹產的婦女也可以通過陰道自然分娩,這稱為剖腹產後陰道分娩(VBAC)。婦女選擇VBAC而不接受計劃剖腹產手術究竟是否利多於弊,目前未能確定。外科醫生和助產士可助您作出決定。

經陰道分娩有多個好處:

  • 日後懷孕自然分娩而無任何併發症的機會較高
  • 產後腹痛較輕微
  • 形成血凝塊風險較低
  • 住院期和康復期較短

然而,曾剖腹產的婦女經陰道分娩也要面對一些風險。主要風險如下:

  • 胎兒在接生過程中死亡的風險輕微上升,但這種風險極小。
  • 發生極罕見的子宮破裂併發症(Uterine Rupture),即剖腹留下的子宮疤痕撕裂。VBAC子宮破裂的風險略高於計劃剖腹分娩。

以往曾做剖腹手術的婦女經陰道生產時,陣痛期間醫生會密切監察胎兒,一旦在有需要時即時剖腹產。

有關VBAC詳情請諮詢助產士或外科醫生。

問:我最多可做幾次剖腹產手術?

答:次數沒有具體限制,但每次剖腹分娩後,某些妊娠和分娩併發症的風險都會增加。

剖腹產後子宮和腹內其他組織會留下疤痕,以致妊娠期間出現某些問題的風險相應提高,孕婦應認識這些潛在風險。以下是多次剖腹分娩可能引致的主要併發症:

  • 膀胱或腸道受損
  • 大量失血
  • 須切除子宮
  • 前置胎盤 — 即胎盤附於或接近宮頸(子宮頸部)
  • 胎盤植入 — 即胎盤穿透子宮壁進入肌層
  • 子宮破裂 — 極罕見的併發症,即剖腹留下的子宮疤痕撕裂

多次剖腹產會略為提高日後懷孕時死胎的風險。有關多次剖腹產的詳情可諮詢您的助產士或外科醫生。

問:剖腹分娩後可以駕車嗎?

答:可以,但手術後相信也須一段時間才可復原及適宜駕駛。建議休息四至六個星期。

剖腹產後休息多久才可駕車並無具體指引,建議您諮詢醫生,確定手術後何時可恢復駕駛,以策安全。

手術後數星期或會感到痛楚或不適,配戴汽車安全帶可能會對傷口造成壓力,所以最好待至自己完全準備好,即使傷口微痛或隱痛也不會導致駕駛分神,或妨礙緊急剎車,才可以再次駕車。醫生通常會建議您休息四至六個星期。

全身麻醉後協調和推理能力會短暫受影響,所以接受剖腹產手術後48小時不可駕車、喝酒、操作機器或簽訂法律文件。如對駕駛有任何疑問,請聯絡汽車保險公司,了解他們的建議,此外並要嚴格遵從醫生或外科醫生的囑咐。

更多資料

來源

  • Arulkumaran S, Symonds I, Fowlie A. Oxford handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology. 1st ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2004
  • Placenta praevia, placenta praevia accreta and vasa praevia: diagnosis and management. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published January 2011
  • Caesarean section. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), November 2011. www.nice.org.uk
  • The management of breech presentation. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2006
  • Management of HIV in Pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published June 2010
  • Management of genital herpes in pregnancy. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published September 2007
  • Birth after previous caesarean birth. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published February 2007
  • Maternity data 2010–11. HESonline. www.hesonline.nhs.uk, published 2011
  • Blott M. The day-by-day pregnancy book. 1st ed. London: Dorling Kindersley; 2009
  • Allman K, Wilson I. Oxford handbook of anaesthesia. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2007
  • Cesarean delivery. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 1 July 2011
  • What happens during a planned or emergency caesarean section? NCT. www.nct.org.uk, accessed 23 February 2012
  • Venous thromboembolism: reducing the risk. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), January 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Caesarean section: consent advice no.7. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published October 2009
  • Buhimschi C, Buhimschi I. Advantages of vaginal delivery. Clin Obstet Gynecol 2006; 49(1):167–83. www.journals.lww.com
  • Crowther CA, Dodd JM, Hiller JE, et al. Planned vaginal birth or elective repeat caesarean: patient preference restricted cohort with nested randomised trial. PLoS Med 2012; 9(3):e1001192. doi:10.1371/journal.pmed.1001192
  • Lavender T, Hofmeyr G, Neilson J, et al. Caesarean section for non-medical reasons at term. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 3. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD004660.pub2

相關文章

分娩 — 經陰道生產

經陰道分娩是自然的生產方法。誕下嬰兒的過程稱為分娩,共分三個階段,持續時間不一。產婦可使用多種鎮痛劑減輕分娩的痛楚。

閱讀更多

流產

流產指妊娠未滿24周便終止懷孕,即胎兒發育未健全無法在子宮外存活。

閱讀更多

妊娠糖尿病

本資料的適用對象是在懷孕期間患上糖尿病的婦女(妊娠糖尿病),或需要相關資料的其他人士。不過不適用於懷孕前已經患上糖尿病的女性患者。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。