Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Childbirth - Vaginal Delivery

Vaginal birth is the usual way for babies to be born. The process of giving birth to a baby is known as labour. There are three stages to labour that will for last different lengths of time. Pain relief helps to manage pain during labour. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Most women are healthy and have a straightforward pregnancy and labour. About nine out of 10 women give birth vaginally to a single baby after 37 weeks of their pregnancy with the baby being born head first.

There are three stages that you will go through when you give birth vaginally. Labour varies according to a number of factors, such as whether or not it's your first pregnancy, the size of your baby and its position in your womb. 

Before active labour starts, your body goes through some changes in preparation, so it's not always easy to tell exactly when labour has started.

When your baby is ready to be born, the balance of hormones (chemicals found naturally in your body) changes and makes your cervix (the neck of your womb) become softer and shorter.

You may also have what is called a show. This is when the plug of mucus that acts as a seal in your cervix during pregnancy falls out as your cervix changes shape. This may happen any time between several days and a few hours before labour starts.

Hormones also cause you to have contractions. The muscles in your womb tense and relax becoming shorter so that your cervix stretches and opens (dilates). Contractions feel like a wave. They start gently and gradually build, becoming intense and then easing off. It may take some time for the contractions to become regular but they will gradually get stronger and closer together.
At first you may only have a contraction every 15 to 30 minutes. After a while, they will be more frequent and stronger, occurring every two to three minutes. The length of time that each contraction lasts is usually between 10 and 40 seconds, but this will be different for every woman.
When you have a contraction, you will feel a build-up of tension across your abdomen (tummy), pain in your back and possibly also between your thighs and low down in your pelvis. You may also find that your waters break.

This is a normal part of labour and is when the bag of fluid that surrounds your baby breaks as your cervix widens. It's also referred to as your membranes rupturing. The fluid may rush out in one go or in a steady leak. Your waters can break at any time during labour. However, if your waters break when you're not in labour and labour doesn't start within the next few hours you should contact your midwife or doctor for advice on what to do next.

The first stage of labour continues until your cervix is fully dilated, about 10cm, allowing the baby to move lower through your pelvis. For women having their first baby, labour lasts on average for about 8 hours, most of which is the first stage of labour. Labour is unlikely to last for longer than 18 hours. It's likely to take less time if it's not your first baby, because your pelvis and vagina have been stretched before. 

The second stage of labour is when you give birth to your baby. It usually lasts about one to two hours.

As the baby's head gets lower, you will eventually feel a strong urge to push and this helps the baby to be born. This is a unique feeling which your body does of its own accord. You will still be having contractions to help you push, though they may be less frequent but longer. You may feel more comfortable if you are upright, kneeling, sitting or squatting.

As you push, your baby moves further down through your pelvis until his or her head stays at the entrance to your vagina between contractions. This is called 'crowning' and means your baby is about to be born. Usually, the head is born first followed by the shoulders and the rest of the body. 

This is when the placenta and membranes that held your baby in the womb are passed out of your body. You can let this happen naturally or you can be given a medicine to help the process. 

Active management of the third stage by your midwife or doctor

Your midwife or doctor can help the third stage to progress more quickly and safely.

As your baby's shoulders are being born, you will be given an injection of a hormone called oxytocin, or a combination of oxytocin and a medicine called ergometrine. Within about two minutes, these cause your womb to contract strongly to help reduce serious bleeding. The umbilical cord is clamped and cut as soon as your baby is born. The midwife or doctor will then deliver the placenta by pulling gently with one hand on the part of the umbilical cord that is still attached to it.

This takes about 10 to 20 minutes. Research has shown that this method reduces your risk of serious bleeding. However, it's possible that you will have some side-effects as a result of the medicines. These can include headache and feeling or being sick if you were given an injection of ergometrine.

Natural (physiological) management of the third stage

You may choose for the placenta to be delivered without any medicines. After your baby is born, you will be encouraged to cuddle him or her and try breastfeeding. This causes hormones to be released which help your womb to contract and push out the placenta. The umbilical cord isn't clamped and cut until the placenta has been delivered. This can take anything from a few minutes to up to an hour.

There are a number of reasons why this type of third stage may not be possible, including:

  • if you had an epidural or pain relieving drugs during labour
  • if you have had a long labour
  • if you had heavy bleeding during this pregnancy or with a previous birth
  • if there were problems during labour or if you had an assisted delivery

Your midwife or doctor will give you more information about your options. 

Complications are when problems occur during or after a vaginal delivery. Sometimes labour doesn't go as planned and you may need help for your baby to be born safely. 

Induction is when you are helped to go into labour. Around one in five women will have their labour induced. There are a number of reasons why this may be suggested, including:

  • there is a problem with you or your baby and you need to have your baby early
  • your pregnancy is overdue (more than 41 weeks)
  • your waters have broken but labour hasn't started

There are several methods that can be used to induce labour. Membrane sweeping is when your midwife or doctor puts their finger inside your cervix and makes a circular movement. This separates the membranes around the baby from your womb and releases hormones, which can start your labour. If this doesn't happen there are a number of other ways that your labour can be started. These are explained below.

  • Prostaglandins. This is the way that most women will have their labour induced. Prostaglandins are hormones which are usually produced by your body to trigger the beginning of labour. They stimulate your cervix to get softer and shorter. You will have either tablets or a gel placed into your vagina.
  • Rupture of membranes. This is when you artificially have your waters broken. It's done using a special plastic hook. Rupturing your membranes causes hormones to be released which can start your labour.
  • Oxytocin. This causes your womb to contract. You will receive it through a drip inserted into your arm. Oxytocin is usually given if your membranes have already ruptured.

Having labour induced can be more painful than going into labour naturally. Talk to your midwife or doctor about pain relief during your labour. 

This is sometimes called augmentation of labour. If labour is taking a long time and isn't progressing at the rate that would usually be expected, you may be offered treatment to speed up the dilation of your cervix and strengthen your contractions. You may be given oxytocin through a drip to help your womb contract more strongly. If your waters haven't broken, then your midwife or doctor may also suggest having the membranes ruptured to speed up labour.

Assisted delivery

Sometimes your midwife or doctor may need to use instruments to help you give birth to your baby. Some of the main reasons why you may need help are listed below.

  • Your baby isn't getting enough oxygen, or there is another problem putting his or her health at risk. This is called fetal compromise or fetal distress.
  • Your baby is in a position that means it's difficult for him or her to be born without help.
  • You have been pushing for a long time, are very tired and can't manage without assistance.
  • You have a health condition that means you may not be able to keep pushing.

You will be given local anaesthesia before an assisted delivery. This completely blocks feeling from the waist down and you will stay awake during the procedure. The two types of assisted delivery are listed below.

  • Forceps - these are like large tongs with curved ends that fit around your baby's head. Your midwife or doctor will pull gently on them while you push.
  • Vacuum extraction (ventouse) - this uses suction. A cup is placed on your baby's head and attached to a vacuum machine. The air is sucked out which attaches the cup strongly to the baby's head. Your midwife or doctor then pull gently on the cup as you push.

If you need an assisted birth, your midwife or doctor will give you more information about your options.

Pain relief

All women cope differently with labour. You may have one idea about the pain relief you wish to have before labour, but change your mind once it's actually happening. There is evidence to show that having someone with you throughout labour can reduce your need for painkillers.

Self-help

There are a number of other methods of pain relief that you can try if you don't wish to use medicines. These methods include:

  • using breathing and relaxation techniques or massage
  • being in warm water, such as in a birthing pool
  • moving around, standing up, kneeling and leaning forward

Using a TENS (transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation) machine can also help in early labour, though it isn't recommended later on. Two electrodes are placed on your back and electrical impulses are sent to the nerves to block pain signals going from your womb to your brain.

If you decide to use medicines, all these methods can also be used at the same time.

Medicines

There are a number of medicines you can choose for pain relief. They can be used in combination if necessary. It's important to talk to your midwife or doctor about these and be sure that you are aware of the risks and benefits of each.

Gas and air (Entonox)

This is a mixture of nitrous oxide (laughing gas) and oxygen. As you feel a contraction starting, you breathe in the mixture through a mouthpiece or a mask placed over your nose. It's a mild painkiller and will make your less aware of your pain although not all women find it effective. Some women find that Entonox can make them feel sick and light-headed.

Opiates

These medicines include diamorphine and pethidine. They are strong painkillers but may have a limited effect during labour. They can cause side-effects including feeling sick or dizzy. Opiates may also affect your baby making him or her sleepy both at birth and for a few days afterwards. This can reduce your baby's ability to breathe after birth and this may need urgent treatment. Opiate drugs can also make it harder for you to breastfeed.

Epidural

This method involves having an injection of local anaesthetic into your lower back, just above your waist. An epidural completely blocks feeling from the waist down. It's very effective and nine out of 10 women who have one have no pain at all. However, there are side-effects. If you have an epidural, your second stage of labour may take longer because you won't feel the urge to push. It may also make moving around more difficult because you have less feeling in your back and legs. 

Can I have a drink or something to eat while I'm in labour?

Answer

Yes, although you may not feel like eating anything once you are in active labour. It's a good idea to try to drink some water or other fluids as you will probably sweat a lot during the birth.

Explanation

You can eat during labour, unless you have had opiate painkillers, such as pethidine or diamorphine, or if there is a high chance that you will need to have a general anaesthetic.

Unless you are advised not to, eating something in the early stages of labour may be helpful because you will use up a lot of energy giving birth to your baby. It may help to have carbohydrates such as cereal, bread or a banana as these release energy slowly over a longer period of time.

You are likely to feel thirsty during labour. If you can, it's best to drink isotonic drinks or water. Isotonic drinks provide you with energy and help to replace any minerals, such as salt, that you lose when you sweat.

Are Braxton Hicks contractions the same as the contractions that I will have during labour?

Answer

No, Braxton Hicks contractions are different from the contractions that result in the birth of your baby.

Explanation

Braxton Hicks contractions are also sometimes called practice contractions. After about 30 weeks of pregnancy you may start to get this kind of contraction. As pregnancy progresses, you may feel them more often and they may get stronger.

Braxton Hicks contractions are different from the contractions that occur during labour, which are more powerful and come at regular intervals. Braxton Hicks contractions are irregular and you probably won't find them as painful although they may be uncomfortable.

Are there any benefits to using water during labour?

Answer

Yes, there is evidence to show that being in water during labour may reduce your need for pain-relief medicines and may make your contractions less painful. It may also reduce the need for labour to be speeded up.

Explanation

You may find water helpful as a method of pain relief. There is evidence that being immersed in water during the first stage of labour may help you to feel more relaxed and this could mean you need less medicine for pain relief. You may also be able to progress with labour without needing help. All midwives should receive training so that they are able to care for you if you wish to use water during labour.

You may also want to give birth to your baby while you are in water. You should speak to your midwife or doctor for more information about giving birth in water as there is a lack of evidence to show whether or not there are any increased risks to you or your baby.

Some hospitals and birth centres have birthing pools.

What will happen if I'm having twins or triplets?

Answer

If you are pregnant with twins you may be able to give birth vaginally to one or both of your babies. If you are having triplets these will be delivered by caesarean.

 

Explanation

If you are pregnant with twins, triplets or even quadruplets, this is called a multiple pregnancy. Women who become pregnant after in vitro fertilisation treatment have a higher chance of having twins.

If you are pregnant with triplets or quadruplets, you will be advised to have them delivered by caesarean. If you are expecting twins, you are more likely to need a caesarean delivery than if you were pregnant with one baby. However, it's often possible for at least one if not both of your twins to be born vaginally. If the first twin is in the head downwards position, then it's likely that normal labour and birth can go ahead.

After the first baby is born, you may stop having contractions. If they don't start again, you will probably be given oxytocin to encourage your womb to start contracting. Your midwife or doctor will examine you to see which way your second baby is pointing. He or she may try to turn the baby if it's not in a good position to be born normally, or you may have to have a caesarean.

Is complementary therapy helpful for pain relief during labour?

Answer

Acupuncture or hypnotherapy may be helpful to reduce pain during labour. However, there is a lack of evidence to show whether other kinds of complementary therapies are effective.

Explanation

Many women give birth with little use of medicines for pain relief. Aromatherapy massage and other complementary therapies may help you to relax and reduce your anxiety, and therefore you may find you need less pain-relief medicine during labour.

There is some evidence that acupuncture and hypnotherapy may help to reduce pain in labour. However, there is no evidence that other types of complementary therapy can help to reduce your pain. It's important to speak to your midwife or doctor before trying any complementary therapy. If you do decide to use a complementary therapy, make sure that you only go to a registered practitioner. 

Further Information

Sources

  • Intrapartum care: care of healthy women and their babies during childbirth. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), September 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Maternity data 2010–11. HESonline. www.hesonline.nhs.uk, published 2011
  • Arulkumaran S, Symonds I, Fowlie A. Oxford handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology. 1st ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2004
  • Blott M. The day-by-day pregnancy book. 1st ed. London: Dorling Kindersley; 2009
  • Guide to labour. NCT. www.nct.org.uk, accessed 22 February 2012
  • Begley C, Gyte G, Devane D, et al. Active versus expectant management for women in the third stage of labour. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2011, Issue 11. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007412.pub3
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 63rd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Induction of labour. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), July 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Your third trimester: how your body is preparing for labour. Emma's Diary. www.emmasdiary.co.uk, accessed 7 February 2012
  • Home births. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists/Royal College of Midwives. www.rcog.org.uk, published April 2007
  • Olsen O, Jewell D. Home versus hospital birth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 1998, Issue 3. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000352
  • The Pregnancy Book 2009. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published 29 October 2009
  • Cluett E, Burns E. Immersion in water in labour and birth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2009, Issue 2. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000111.pub3
  • Multiple pregnancy: the management of twin and triplet pregnancies in the antenatal period. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), September 2011. www.nice.org.uk
  • Smith C, Collins C, Cyna A, et al. Complementary and alternative therapies for pain management in labour. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003521.pub2

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

分娩 — 經陰道生產

經陰道分娩是自然的生產方法。誕下嬰兒的過程稱為分娩,共分三個階段,持續時間不一。產婦可使用多種鎮痛劑減輕分娩的痛楚。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

大部分女性都很健康,可以簡單自然地妊娠和分娩。每十名女性中約九人懷孕37周後便經陰道以胎兒頭部向下的順產方式誕下單胞胎。

經陰道生產分為三個階段。分娩的具體情況視乎多種因素而定,例如是否第一胎、胎兒大小及在子宮的位置。

進入分娩活躍期之前,身體會作出一些適應變化,所以很難確切界定分娩開始的時間。

小寶寶準備出生時,荷爾蒙(人體內的天然化學物)平衡會發生變化,令宮頸(子宮頸部)軟化和縮短。

孕婦亦可能「見紅」,即因為宮頸形狀改變令妊娠期間密封宮頸的黏液栓脫落。「見紅」可在分娩前數天至數小時發生。

荷爾蒙亦會導致收縮陣痛。此時子宮肌肉會收緊和放鬆,逐漸縮短,令宮頸拉長打開(擴張)。陣痛是一浪接一浪的,開始時溫和,漸漸加重,變得劇烈,然後緩和,過了一段時間後收縮會變得有規律,但陣痛同時會愈來愈強烈和頻密。

最初陣痛約15至30分鐘一次,不久便會變得更頻密和劇烈,增至兩至三分鐘一次。每次陣痛通常持續10至40秒,但亦因人而異。

陣痛時整個腹部會拉緊,背部疼痛,兩腿間及骨盤位置亦會感痛楚,此時可能會穿羊水。這是分娩的正常環節,即宮頸拉闊後包圍胎兒的液體囊穿破。羊水可一次湧出或慢慢滲漏及可能在分娩期間任何時間破穿,但若孕婦還未作動便穿羊水,而其後數小時仍未開始陣痛,便應聯絡助產士或醫生諮詢如何應對。

分娩第一階段一直持續至宮頸完全張開至約10厘米,以便胎兒沿骨盤往下移。初次生育的女性平均陣痛約8小時,當中大部分時間是第一階段分娩陣痛,而陣痛不應持續超過18小時。第二胎或以後,骨盤及陰道都曾經拉伸,所以陣痛時間相對較短。

分娩第二階段指小寶寶出生,通常為時一至兩小時。

隨着胎兒頭部往下移,產婦最終會自然使勁推動,推助嬰兒出生。這是身體自行作出的動作,感覺很獨特。產婦會感覺陣痛,助她推動。此時陣痛不會太頻密但持續時間較長,若坐起來,跪着、坐着或蹲着可能較舒服。

隨着媽媽使勁推擠,嬰兒便慢慢沿骨盤往下移,直至在每次陣痛之間頭部到達陰道口,這稱為兒頭初露(Crowning),顯示寶寶即將出生。通常嬰兒頭部會先露出,接着是肩膊及身體。

在這個階段,在子宮包圍胎兒的胎盤和薄膜會排出體外。產婦可自然排出胎盤及薄膜,亦可使用藥物輔助。

助產士或醫生主動處理第三階段

助產士或醫生可輔助產婦,令第三階段更迅速安全。

寶寶的肩膊出來後,醫生可為產婦注射催產素(Oxytocin)荷爾蒙,或催產素及麥角新鹼(Ergometrine)混合劑。約兩分鐘後,子宮便開始強烈收縮,這樣可減少大量出血。嬰兒誕生後,助產士或醫生會立即剪斷臍帶,接着用單手握着仍附於胎盤的臍帶,輕輕拉出胎盤。

整個過程約10至20分鐘。研究顯示這種方法可減低大量出血風險,但產婦仍可能受藥物副作用影響。例如注射麥角新鹼後可能頭痛、嘔心或嘔吐。

自然(生理)方法處理第三階段

產婦可選擇不用任何藥物而讓胎盤自然排出。寶寶出生後,醫生多會鼓勵媽媽抱着他/她及嘗試哺乳,這有助分泌荷爾蒙,促進子宮收縮排出胎盤。臍帶將待至胎盤排出後才剪斷。整個過程為時數分鐘至一小時不等。

有些產婦不能以自然方法處理完成第三階段,原因包括:

  • 分娩期間曾使用硬膜外麻醉藥或鎮痛藥物
  • 分娩時間長
  • 這次或以往生育曾大量出血
  • 分娩過程中出現問題或須輔助生產

助產士或醫生可提供詳細資料,助您作出選擇。

併發症指經陰道分娩期間或其後出現問題。有時產程並不按計劃進展,需要醫生輔助確保寶寶安全出生。

催生即輔助產婦開始產程。每5名婦女中約1人需要催生。醫生可能基於下列原因建議催生:

  • 產婦或胎兒出現問題,必須提早生產
  • 妊娠期過長(超過41周)
  • 羊水已穿但仍未開始進入產程

催生可採取多種方法。掃膜催生(Membrane Sweeping)指助產士或醫生探指入宮頸打圈掃動,使胎兒周圍的薄膜與子宮分離,釋放荷爾蒙,令產婦開始分娩。如這種方法無效,亦可採取多種其他方法催生,以下逐一介紹:

  • 前列腺素(Prostaglandins) — 這是最常用的催生劑。前列腺素是荷爾蒙,身體通常會自行製造來觸發分娩產程,可刺激宮頸軟化及縮短。前列腺素分為口服藥片或塗於陰道的啫喱裝。
  • 破膜(Rupture of Membranes) — 即人工刺穿羊水。醫生利用特製塑膠鈎刺破薄膜,釋放荷爾蒙,令產婦開始分娩
  • 催產素(Oxytocin) — 可令子宮收縮。催產素是透過臂部插管吊瓶輸液,通常適用於已穿羊水的產婦。

催生可能比自然分娩更痛楚,您可諮詢助產士或醫生如何紓緩分娩痛楚。

加快產程又稱引產(Augmentation of Labour),如產婦已進入產程多時尚未能按預期速度進展,醫生或會施以療法加快宮頸擴張和加強收縮陣痛,例如以吊瓶輸滴催產素加強子宮收縮。如尚未穿羊水,助產士或醫生亦可能建議刺穿薄膜加快分娩。

輔助分娩

助產士或醫生或會使用儀器輔助生產。以下是需要輔助分娩的主要原因:

  • 胎兒供氧不足,又或有其他問題危害胎兒健康,這稱為胎兒窘迫(Fetal Compromise/Fetal Distress)
  • 胎兒位置不良,難以自行分娩
  • 產婦已推動多時,非常疲倦,必須靠他人輔助才可繼續
  • 產婦有健康問題,不能持續使勁推擠

輔助分娩之前先要局部麻醉,確保腰部以下全無感覺,但產婦在整個過程一直清醒。以下介紹兩種輔助分娩程序:

  • 產鉗助產(Forceps) — 這是一對巨型夾鉗,末端彎曲,恰好貼着嬰兒頭部。產婦使勁推擠時,助產士或醫生會輕輕將嬰兒拉出。
  • 真空吸取器(拔罐)(Vacuum Extraction (Ventouse)) — 使用吸力的儀器。助產士或醫生將吸杯放在嬰兒頭部,接至真空機將空氣吸出,令真空杯緊緊附着嬰兒頭部,然後在產婦使勁推擠時輕輕將嬰兒拉出。

如須輔助分娩,助產士或醫生會詳細解釋各種可行方案。

鎮痛

女性承受痛楚的能力各異,您可能在產前認為某種鎮痛劑很適合,到了實際分娩時則改變主意。有研究證據顯示,分娩時有人陪伴在側,或可減少使用鎮痛劑。

自我護療

若不想使用藥物,亦可採用其他方法鎮痛,包括:

  • 透過呼吸及放鬆技巧或按摩
  • 浸在溫水中,例如使用分娩池
  • 周圍走動、站起來、跪着或把身體向前傾

此外,產程初期使用經皮神經電刺激器(TENS)也有幫助,但進入後期則不建議使用。使用時將兩塊電極片放在背上,向神經輸出電脈衝,阻截子宮向大腦發出的痛楚訊息。

即使決定使用藥物,也可同時採用上述鎮痛法。

藥物

產婦可選擇多種鎮痛藥物,如有需要更可混合服用,詳情請諮詢助產士或醫生,並確保了解每種藥物的風險和優點。

氣體及空氣(安桃樂笑氣(Entonox))

這是一種一氧化二氮(笑氣)與氧氣混合氣體,在開始陣痛時透過吸入器或口罩吸入。這是溫和鎮痛劑,可令您忘記痛楚,但並非每位女性也覺得有效,有些產婦會作嘔和頭昏。

鴉片類藥物(Opiates)

這類藥物包括戴阿墨酚(Diamorphine)和哌替啶(Pethidine),屬於強效鎮痛劑,但對紓緩分娩陣痛功效可能不大。這類藥物或會引起副作用,包括作嘔或頭暈,此外也可能令嬰兒初生和其後數天渴睡,影響嬰兒出生時呼吸的能力,以致需要緊急治療。鴉片類藥物亦可能妨礙哺乳。

硬膜外麻醉(Epidural)

硬膜外麻醉涉及在腰部對下的背部注射局部麻醉藥,可完全阻截腰部以下的痛楚感覺,效果極佳,每10名婦女中約9人完全不感到痛楚,但仍會造成副作用。使用硬膜外麻醉時,由於感受不到需要推動胎兒下移,分娩第二階段時間會較長,此外因為背部和腿部麻木,所以移動也較困難。

問:分娩期間可以喝水或進食嗎?

答:可以,雖然進入活躍分娩階段您大概不想進食,但喝些水或其他飲品也是好主意,因為生產會令您大量出汗。

除非服用了戴阿墨酚或哌替啶等鴉片類藥物,又或極可能需要全身麻醉,否則分娩期間可以進食。

除非醫生建議不要進食,否則在產程早期吃點東西對分娩有幫助,因為期間您會消耗大量體力。碳水化合物如早餐穀類、麵包或香蕉都很適合,這些食物可在一段長時間慢慢釋放熱能。

分娩後應會口渴。如可以的話最好選擇電解質飲品或水。電解質飲品可提供熱能和補充鹽等隨着排汗流失的礦物質。

問:分娩宮縮是否與無痛子宮收縮(Braxton Hicks Contractions)一樣?

答:不,無痛子宮收縮與分娩宮縮不一樣。

無痛子宮收縮又稱實習宮縮(Practice Contractions),妊娠約30周後或會開始出現這種宮縮,並隨着妊娠進展變得頻密和強烈。

無痛子宮收縮與分娩時的宮縮不一樣,後者更強烈而定時。無痛子宮收縮乃不規則的宮縮,可能引起一些不適但應該不會感到痛楚。

問:水中分娩有幫助嗎?

答:有,研究證據顯示在水中分娩可減少依賴鎮痛劑,紓緩宮縮痛楚,而且往往毋須催快產程。

水可發揮紓緩痛楚的效果。研究證明在分娩第一階段時浸在水中會感覺更輕鬆,可能不須使用太多鎮痛藥物,毋須輔助也可順利推進產程。所有助產士均已接受有關的培訓,以助產婦在分娩過程中用水紓緩不適。

您亦可選擇在水池中分娩。由於目前尚無證據顯示這會否令產婦及嬰兒承受更大風險,所以建議與助產士或醫生仔細商討了解詳情。

部分醫院及留產所設有分娩池。

問:懷有雙胞胎或三胞胎如何分娩?

答:懷雙胞胎的孕婦可經陰道分娩一個或兩個嬰兒。如懷三胞胎則需剖腹生產。

懷有雙胞胎、三胞胎或甚至四胞胎稱為多胎妊娠。經體外受精懷孕的婦女懷雙胞胎的機會率較高。

醫生建議三胞胎或四胞胎的孕婦剖腹生產。懷雙胞始的孕婦需要剖腹分娩的機會比單胎高,但許多時雙胞胎孕婦也可經陰道分娩最少其中一個嬰兒,如首個雙胞胎嬰兒頭部向下,應可自然分娩。

首個雙胞胎嬰兒出生後,宮縮陣痛可能停頓,假如不自行恢復,則可能須注射催產素刺激子宮開始收縮。助產士或醫生會檢查產婦第二個嬰兒朝向的位置,倘若位置不佳妨礙自然分娩便可能嘗試使嬰兒轉身,又或剖腹取出嬰兒。

問:分娩期間採用輔助療法有幫助嗎?

答:針炙或催眠或可紓緩分娩時的痛楚,至於其他輔助療法則並無研究結果證明有效。

許多女性只須使用少量鎮痛劑便可順利分娩。香氛按摩及其他輔助療法或可助您放鬆和減少焦慮,因而分娩時不需要使用太多鎮痛劑。

有研究顯示針炙或催眠或可紓緩分娩時的痛楚,至於其他輔助療法則並無研究結果證明能有效止痛。試用任何輔助療法之前應先諮詢助產士或醫生。如決定採用任何輔助療法,請確保由註冊治療師負責。

索取更多資料

來源

  • Intrapartum care: care of healthy women and their babies during childbirth. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), September 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Maternity data 2010–11. HESonline. www.hesonline.nhs.uk, published 2011
  • Arulkumaran S, Symonds I, Fowlie A. Oxford handbook of obstetrics and gynaecology. 1st ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2004
  • Blott M. The day-by-day pregnancy book. 1st ed. London: Dorling Kindersley; 2009
  • Guide to labour. NCT. www.nct.org.uk, accessed 22 February 2012
  • Begley C, Gyte G, Devane D, et al. Active versus expectant management for women in the third stage of labour. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2011, Issue 11. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD007412.pub3
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 63rd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Induction of labour. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), July 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Your third trimester: how your body is preparing for labour. Emma's Diary. www.emmasdiary.co.uk, accessed 7 February 2012
  • Home births. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists/Royal College of Midwives. www.rcog.org.uk, published April 2007
  • Olsen O, Jewell D. Home versus hospital birth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 1998, Issue 3. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000352
  • The Pregnancy Book 2009. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published 29 October 2009
  • Cluett E, Burns E. Immersion in water in labour and birth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2009, Issue 2. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000111.pub3
  • Multiple pregnancy: the management of twin and triplet pregnancies in the antenatal period. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), September 2011. www.nice.org.uk
  • Smith C, Collins C, Cyna A, et al. Complementary and alternative therapies for pain management in labour. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003521.pub2

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。