Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Diabetes in Pregnancy

This factsheet is for women who have diabetes that develops in pregnancy (gestational diabetes), or who would like information about it. It doesn't give advice for women who already have diabetes and would like to become pregnant.

Diabetes can develop during pregnancy in women who haven't previously had the condition. This is called gestational diabetes, and it affects around two to seven out of 100 pregnant women. It can lead to problems for the mother and baby if it isn't properly controlled.

Diabetes is a condition in which your blood sugar (glucose) level is high because there isn't enough insulin in your blood, or your body isn't responding to insulin properly. Insulin is a hormone that allows your body to break down sugar in your blood to be used as energy.

During pregnancy, various hormones block the usual action of insulin. This helps to make sure your growing baby gets enough sugar. Your body needs to produce more insulin to cope with these changes. Gestational diabetes develops when your body can't meet the extra insulin demands of the pregnancy.

Gestational diabetes usually begins in the second half of pregnancy, and goes away after your baby is born. If gestational diabetes doesn't go away after your baby is born, it's possible that you already had a slowly developing form of what is known as type 1 diabetes, and that it was picked up by chance during your pregnancy. The other form of diabetes is called type 2 diabetes and both type 1 and 2 are lifelong conditions. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Gestational diabetes doesn't usually cause any symptoms. Sometimes you may have symptoms of high blood sugar, including:

  • increased thirst
  • needing to urinate often
  • feeling tired

However, these are also common symptoms of a normal pregnancy. 

Gestational diabetes isn't an immediate threat to your health. However, poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy puts you at a higher risk of various problems. These include:

  • a condition called pre-eclampsia, which causes high blood pressure
  • premature labour
  • having too much amniotic fluid (the fluid around your unborn baby)

If you have gestational diabetes, you're more likely to need a caesarean delivery than women who don't have diabetes.

You're also more likely to develop gestational diabetes in future pregnancies, and are at a higher risk of developing type 2 diabetes later in life. 

If you have high blood sugar levels, your baby may grow to be larger than usual. This is because he or she has to make extra insulin to control the increased blood sugar, which causes more fat and tissue to be stored. This can make delivery difficult.

For example, there is an increased risk of shoulder dystocia. This is when your baby's head has been born but one of his or her shoulders is stuck behind your pelvic bone, preventing his or her body being delivered. This in turn can damage nerves in your baby's neck or result in a fracture of one of his or her arms or shoulders. Very rarely, it can cause brain damage if the blood supply to your baby's brain is blocked off for too long.
Your baby may have low blood sugar (hypoglycaemia) after birth. This is because he or she makes extra insulin to respond to your high blood sugar levels. Shortly after birth, your baby may continue to make extra insulin causing his or her blood sugar level to be too low.
It's recommended that you breastfeed your baby within 30 minutes of delivery to keep his or her blood sugar levels at a safe level. Otherwise, your baby may be given a sugar solution through a drip (directly into a vein). Midwives or doctors will check your baby's blood sugar level regularly.

Your newborn baby is at risk of jaundice (yellowing of the skin and whites of the eyes). This usually fades without the need for medical treatment. However, sometimes your baby may need treatment with a special ultraviolet light after being born.

There is a higher likelihood that your baby will be born with a birth defect. Sometimes, babies can be born with respiratory distress syndrome, in which the baby has problems breathing because his or her lungs haven't developed as they should. This usually clears up with time, although it may mean that your baby needs to be ventilated with a machine.

There is also a slightly higher chance of stillbirth or death as a newborn, but this is rare as long as blood sugar levels in both you and your baby are well controlled.

There is an increased risk of your baby becoming obese as a child and an increased risk of him or her developing diabetes during childhood. 

It's not yet known why some women develop gestational diabetes and others don't, but you're more at risk if you:

  • have a family history of gestational diabetes (ie your mother, grandmother or sister had it)
  • have previously given birth to a large baby, weighing over 4.5kg (9lb) are overweight or obese
  • have polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)

Women whose families originate from certain areas are also at a higher risk. These include women from South Asia (specifically India, Pakistan or Bangladesh), the Middle East (specifically Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Jordan, Syria, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, Lebanon or Egypt) and black Caribbean women

Gestational diabetes can be diagnosed using a glucose tolerance test, which is carried out in the morning, after you have eaten nothing overnight. Your doctor will give you a solution of glucose to drink and take blood samples at different intervals to see how your body deals with the glucose over time.

If you're at risk of developing diabetes in pregnancy, you will be offered a glucose tolerance test by your doctor or midwife between 24 and 28 weeks. If you have had gestational diabetes before, you will be offered a test at 18 weeks, and another one at between 24 and 28 weeks if the first is normal. 

Your GP will refer you to a clinic where the doctors and nurses are experienced in looking after pregnant women with diabetes. You will need to have more frequent antenatal appointments than women who don't have gestational diabetes.

Self-help

It's important that you control your blood sugar level. Most women can control it through a carefully planned diet and regular exercise.

Your doctor or a dietitian will be able to give you advice on what to eat. An important part of your diet will be to eat plenty of slowly absorbed carbohydrates such as wholemeal bread and pasta, oats, brown rice, potatoes, lentils and beans. These types of food have a low glycaemic index (GI) and can help even out blood sugar levels when you have diabetes.

Your meal plan will probably consist of these slow absorbing carbohydrates and a variety of lean proteins such as oily fishy, as well as at least five portions of fruit and vegetables each day. You can still eat the odd chocolate bar or packet of crisps but you need to make sure it's all part of a healthy, balanced diet low in fat, sugar and salt.

Regular moderate intensity exercise, such as walking or cycling, helps to reduce blood sugar levels and promote a sense of wellbeing. At least 30 minutes of activity that gets you slightly breathless each day is recommended by the Department of Health.

You will need to regularly test your blood sugar levels. Your doctor at the specialist clinic will give you advice on how to test your blood sugar level, how often to do it, and the levels that you're aiming for. You will probably need to do a test every day.

Medicines

Around one to two women out of 10 won't be able to control their gestational diabetes with diet and exercise and will need insulin injections or tablets. Your doctor or a specialist nurse will teach you how to do this.

It's possible to have too much insulin and this can cause low blood sugar (hypoglycaemia - sometimes called a 'hypo'). Common symptoms of this are paleness, shaking, hunger and sweating. Your doctor or specialist nurse will explain how to recognise the symptoms of hypoglycaemia, and what to do if it happens. For example, keeping a sugary soft drink handy is a good idea.

Occasionally, low blood sugar can cause you to lose consciousness, and you will need an injection if this happens.

It's a good idea for your family and friends to know what to do if your blood sugar gets very low and you pass out.

After your baby is born

You and your baby will have your blood sugar levels monitored after he or she has been born to make sure they are back to normal.

Doctors recommend that it's best to breastfeed your baby within 30 minutes of delivery to keep your baby's blood sugar levels at a safe level and then every two to three hours.

If you were taking any medication for diabetes, you can stop these after your baby is born. You will be given a blood sugar test at your six-week check-up. 

Healthy lifestyle choices reduce the risk of you getting type 2 diabetes if you have had gestational diabetes. Aim to eat a balanced diet, take regular exercise and maintain the correct weight for your height. 

1. How could gestational diabetes affect me during my pregnancy?

Being pregnant increases your chances of developing certain health problems. If you have gestational diabetes as well, the risk of some of these conditions is even greater.

Health problems linked to gestational diabetes include the following.

  • Early miscarriage. Diabetes that isn't well controlled can increase your chances of having a miscarriage in the first three months of pregnancy.
  • Pyelonephritis - an infection of your kidneys. Symptoms include a fever, feeling or being sick, pain in your middle and upper back, going to the toilet to pass urine often and finding it painful when you do. You will need to be treated in hospital with antibiotics.
  • Pre-eclampsia. This is a potentially very serious condition that causes high blood pressure and can damage your liver, kidneys, brain and the placenta. The main signs are high blood pressure and protein in your urine. It's important to attend all your antenatal appointments to have your urine and blood pressure checked so doctors can pick up any signs of pre-eclampsia early.
  • Too much amniotic fluid. Amniotic fluid is the fluid around your baby and having too much can lead to early labour and problems for you and your baby. Your doctor and midwife may either monitor you closely or admit you to hospital for treatment, depending on how severe the problem is.
  • Low (hypoglycaemia) and high (hyperglycaemia) blood sugar levels. Both high and low blood sugar levels can be very serious for you and your baby. It's important that you check your blood sugar levels regularly and that you and your friends and family know what to do if you become unwell.

Your midwife or doctor can give you advice and information about how to recognise the signs of low and high blood sugar levels and how to treat them.

If you feel unwell at all during your pregnancy, ask your doctor or midwife for advice.

2. Will gestational diabetes affect how my baby is born?

If your diabetes is well controlled and you don't have any other major health problems, a normal birth is possible. However, you're likely to be offered a planned birth either with induced labour or a caesarean section when your pregnancy has reached 38 weeks.

Having diabetes means that your baby may be larger and you may be more likely to have a slow or very painful labour. These are the reasons why you're more likely to need to have a caesarean section than other women who don't have diabetes. Your midwife and doctor will monitor your pregnancy closely and will discuss your options with you. If your baby is large your doctor is likely to recommend that he or she is delivered at 38 weeks.

During the final part of your pregnancy, your doctor and midwife will talk to you about pain control during your labour. Epidurals can be used safely in women who have diabetes. An epidural completely blocks feeling from the waist down and you will stay awake during the delivery. Once you're in labour your doctor and midwife will aim to keep your blood sugar levels between 4 and 7mmol/l.This might mean having insulin and glucose through a drip to help keep the levels well controlled.

You and your baby will be closely monitored all of the time that you're in labour to make sure that everything is happening safely. You will have your baby in a hospital that has the facilities to care for you both, should there be any problems or if you need treatment quickly. There should also be a doctor who specialises in caring for newborn babies present at the birth.

3. How long will it take for the diabetes to go away once the baby is born?

Usually diabetes that develops during your pregnancy (gestational diabetes) goes away within a few weeks of the birth of your baby. However, for some women their blood sugar levels don't return to normal and they are diagnosed with diabetes that needs life-long treatment.

You should be able to stop treatment for diabetes, including any insulin injections, after your baby is born. However, your nurse or doctor may give you information about a healthy lifestyle and ask you to make changes, such as being more active or losing weight. Leading a healthy lifestyle can help you to reduce your risk of developing diabetes in the future.

 

You will be asked to have your blood sugar level tested six weeks after the birth of your baby, to make sure that it has gone back to its pre-pregnancy levels. If the results of this test are normal, you will be asked to have regular checks in the future to monitor your blood sugar levels. This is because, having had gestational diabetes, you're more at risk of developing diabetes in the future than other women. This includes type 1 or type 2 diabetes and diabetes in pregnancy if you have another baby. You can reduce the likelihood of this by eating the right foods, being active and maintaining the right weight for your height.

If your test result shows that you still have raised blood sugar levels, you will be asked to have further tests to see whether you have type 1 or type 2 diabetes. If tests confirm this, your doctor will discuss your treatment options with you.

Further Information

Sources

  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 826
  • Management of diabetes. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), March 2010. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Diabetes in pregnancy. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Chamberlain G, Steer P. Turnbull's obstetrics. 3rd ed. London: Churchill Livingstone, 2001:275–80
  • Reece E, Leguizamón G, Wiznitzer A. Gestational diabetes: the need for a common ground. The Lancet 2009; 373(9677):1789–97. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(09)60515-8
  • Gestational diabetes. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 10 October 2011
  • Diabetes – type 2 – management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published July 2010
  • Greer I. Pregnancy: the inside guide. 1st ed. London: Collins, 2003
  • Kim C. Gestational diabetes: risks, management, and treatment options. Int J Womens Health, 2010; 2:339–51. doi:10.2147/IJWH.S13333
  • Shoulder dystocia. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2005
  • Respiratory distress syndrome. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 10 October 2011
  • Blood glucose targets. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, published January 2009
  • Dietary interventions and physical activity interventions for weight management before, during and after pregnancy. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
  • Your food choicesdiabetes. The British Dietetic Association. www.bda.uk.com ,published November 2007
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 62nd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Hypoglycaemia. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, published December 2009
  • Insulin therapy in type 2 diabetes – management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published November 2010
  • Pre-eclampsia: what you need to know. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published 1 November 2007
  • Hypers. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 10 October 2011
  • Pediatric polyhydramnios and oligohydramnios. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 14 February 2008

You might also like

Preparing for Pregnancy

A woman's body goes through many changes over the nine months of pregnancy and the developing baby makes increasing demands.

Read more

Pregnancy health

During pregnancy, your body undergoes a number of changes as your baby develops inside your womb. Some of these changes can be early signs of pregnancy.

Read more

Postnatal depression

The arrival of a new baby makes a huge change to a woman's life. As well as the usual joy of the new arrival, the extra work involved in being a mother to young baby calls for an enormous life adjustment.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

妊娠糖尿病

本資料的適用對象是在懷孕期間患上糖尿病的婦女(妊娠糖尿病),或需要相關資料的其他人士。不過不適用於懷孕前已經患上糖尿病的女性患者。

以往從未有糖尿病的婦女懷孕時,可能會患上糖尿病,這稱為妊娠糖尿病。每100名孕婦約有二至七人出現這種情況,假如不妥善控制,可能危及母親和胎兒。

糖尿病指血液胰島素不足或身體對胰島素有異常反應導致血糖 (葡萄糖)水平偏高。胰島素是一種荷爾蒙,促進人體分解血液糖份,轉化為能量。

為確保胎兒發育期間得到足夠的糖分,孕婦體內會分泌多種妨礙胰島素功能的荷爾蒙。您的身體須要製造更多胰島素,才可適應這些變化。假如身體無法供應額外胰島素應付懷孕的需要,便會演變成妊娠糖尿病。

妊娠糖尿病一般在妊娠後期出現,嬰兒出生後便會消失。如分娩後仍有妊娠糖尿病,可能是孕婦本來便有發展緩慢的一型糖尿病,因懷孕而被發現。糖尿病還有二型,一型和二型都是終身疾病。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

妊娠糖尿病通常沒有任何徵狀,但患者有時亦會出現高血糖的病徵,包括:

  • 經常口渴
  • 小便頻密
  • 感覺疲倦

然而以上徵狀亦常見於正常懷孕的婦女。

妊娠糖尿病對健康不會構成即時危害,但假如懷孕期間不妥善控制,便會增加出現其他問題的風險,包括:

  • 子癲前症,導致高血壓
  • 早產
  • 羊水 (包圍胎兒的液體) 過多

患上妊娠糖尿病的孕婦需要剖腹分娩的機會比普通孕婦高。

此外日後再次懷孕也較易出現妊娠糖尿病,其後患上二型糖尿病的風險亦相對較高。

孕婦血糖高,胎兒須要製造額外胰島素來控制高血糖,導致體內積聚更多脂肪和組織,所以一般特別重磅,分娩時份外困難,例如肩難產的風險較高,即胎兒頭部已露出但肩部卡在產婦的盤骨後方,無法順產,以致胎兒頸部神經受損或一側臂部或肩部骨折。在罕有的情況下,若胎兒大腦供血停頓阻塞太久,則會引致大腦受損。

小寶寶出生後或會血糖低(低血糖症),這是因為他/她須要製造額外胰島素來適應您的高血糖,以致出生後不久身體仍在製造大量胰島素,導致血糖過低。

在這種情況下產婦應在分娩後30分鐘內哺乳,以維持嬰兒的血糖在安全水平,此外亦可用吊瓶滴注糖水(直接滴注靜脈),再由助產士或醫生定時量度嬰兒的血糖水平。

新生嬰兒可能有黃疸(皮膚及眼白呈黃色),這通常毋須治理,數日後便會消失,但偶爾有些新生嬰兒也須要照特製紫外光燈。

孕婦有妊娠糖尿病,嬰兒相對有先天性缺陷的風險會較高。有些嬰兒會患上先天性呼吸困難綜合症,因肺部發育不全而呼吸困難。這種疾病一般會隨着年齡增長而好轉,但嬰兒年幼時或須使用氧氣機。

胎死腹中或嬰兒夭折的風險也相對較高,但只要孕婦和胎兒的血糖水平控制得宜,便絕少出現這種情況。

小寶寶發育成為兒童後容易肥胖,童年患上糖尿病的機會也較大。

目前尚未清楚為甚麼有些孕婦會出現妊娠糖尿病,其他孕婦則不會,但以下婦女是高危一族:

  • 家族有妊娠糖尿病遺傳病史(即您的母親、祖母或姊妹曾患此症)
  • 曾分娩超過4.5公斤(9磅)的重磅嬰兒
  • 本身超重或肥胖
  • 卵巢多囊綜合症患者

此外,家族原籍某些地方的婦女也是高風險人士,包括南亞(即印度、巴基斯坦或孟加拉)、中東(即沙地阿拉伯、阿聯酋、伊朗、約旦、敘利亞、阿曼、卡塔爾、科威特、黎巴嫩或埃及)及黑皮膚的加勒比婦女。

妊娠糖尿病可透過葡萄糖耐量測試診斷。測試前一晚便開始禁食,檢測在早上進行。先喝下葡萄糖劑,然後由醫生每隔指定時距抽血化驗,看看身體在這段時間對葡萄糖的耐受性。

孕婦如妊娠糖尿病風險偏高,醫生通常會安排在懷孕24至28個星期接受葡萄糖耐量測試。假如以往曾患妊娠糖尿病,便會先在懷孕18個星期測試一次,如結果正常,則在24至28個星期再進行測試。

自我護療

患者必須完善控制血糖水平。只要小心規劃飲食和定時運動,大部分孕婦均可順利過渡。

醫生或營養師可建議患者如何安排飲食,每日餐單中必需含有大量身體可慢慢吸收的碳水化合物,例如全麥麵包及意大利粉、燕麥、糙米、馬鈴薯、扁豆和豆類。這類食物血糖指數低,可平衡糖尿病患者的血糖水平。

醫生或營養師所建議的每日餐單通常也包括這類身體可慢慢吸收的碳水化合物,以及多脂魚類等精益蛋白,還有每日最少五份水果和蔬菜。患者偶爾可吃巧克力或薯片,但必須確保整體飲食的脂肪、糖分及鹽分均衡。

經常做適量的運動,例如步行或踏單車,有助降低血糖水平和促進身心健康。衛生署建議市民每天最少做30分鐘令自己輕微氣喘的運動。

妊娠糖尿病患者應定期量度血糖水平。正確的量度方法、每隔多久量度一次和理想的血糖水平,可請教醫生。一般患者須要每天量度血糖。

藥物

每十名妊娠糖尿病患者約有一至兩名無法透過飲食和運動控制病情,這類患者須要注射胰島素或服藥。醫生或專科護士可提供相關的指導。

胰島素也有過量的風險,以致血糖過低(低血糖症)。常見的徵狀是面色蒼白、發抖、飢餓感及出汗。醫生或專科護士會指導患者如何辨別低血糖症的徵狀,以及一旦血糖過低時如何處理。不妨攜帶甜飲品以備不時之需。

低血糖患者有時會昏倒,如有這種情況必須接受注射。

患者宜告訴家人和朋友倘若血糖過低暈倒應如何處理。

產後

產婦和嬰兒均須密切監察血糖水平,確保一切回復正常。

醫生建議最好在嬰兒出生後30分鐘內餵母乳,以維持小寶寶的血糖在安全水平,然後每兩至三個小時哺乳一次。

產婦如正服用糖尿病藥物,產後應暫時停服。醫生為您進行產後六個星期檢查時會再次量度血糖水平。

曾患妊娠糖尿病的婦女只要養成健康的生活習慣,便可降低患二型糖尿病的風險。平常飲食要注重均衡,還要經常運動和維持配合身高的理想體重。

1. 妊娠糖尿病在懷孕期會產生甚麼影響?

孕婦患上某些疾病的風險相對較高,假如同時亦有妊娠糖尿病,便更容易患上其他疾病。

妊娠糖尿病可能引發的問題包括:

  • 懷孕早期流產。糖尿病如控制不善,懷孕首三個月流產的風險可能增加。
  • 腎盂炎 - 一種腎臟炎症,徵狀包括發燒、作嘔或嘔吐、中背及上背痛、尿頻和排尿感到痛楚。患者必須入院接受抗生素治療。
  • 子癲前症 - 本症可能非常嚴重,導致高血壓,更有可能損害肝、腎、大腦及胎盤。主要徵狀為高血壓及蛋白尿。孕婦必須按時接受產前檢查驗尿和量血壓,以便醫生及早發現任何子癲前症的徵兆。
  • 羊水過多 - 羊水是包圍胎兒的液體,過量便會導致早產,對產婦及嬰兒均構成危害。醫生和助產士會視乎嚴重程度,密切監察羊水過多的產婦,或安排入院治療。
  • 低血糖症及高血糖症 - 兩者均可能嚴重影響孕婦和胎兒。孕婦應定期量度血糖水平,並告訴家人和朋友一旦您感到不適時應如何處理。

助產士或醫生會指導患者如何辨別低血糖症及高血糖症的徵狀和怎樣處理。

懷孕期間如感不適,請諮詢醫生或助產士。

2. 妊娠糖尿病會影響分娩方式嗎?

孕婦的糖尿病只要控制得宜,便不會出現其他嚴重問題,可以正常分娩,但到了懷孕第38周,醫生通常會安排計劃分娩,即催生或剖腹分娩。

糖尿病孕婦的胎兒一般也會重磅,令作動陣痛特別漫長和劇烈,所以須要剖腹的機會比普通產婦高。助產士及醫生會密切監察患者的懷孕過程,共同考慮可行的分娩方式。假如胎兒重磅,醫生多會建議在38周分娩。

進入懷孕最後階段,醫生和助產士會跟預產婦女研究分娩時鎮痛的方案。妊娠糖尿病孕婦亦可安全使用無痛分娩,即注射麻醉劑令產婦腰以下位置全無感覺,但整個分娩過程會保持清醒。產婦開始陣痛後,醫生及助產士需要維持孕婦的血糖水平在4至7mmol/1,因此可能會用吊瓶滴注胰島素和葡萄糖,以控制血糖水平。

陣痛作動期間,醫生會全程監察產婦和胎兒,確保一切平安。產婦應在設施齊全的醫院分娩,萬一出現問題或急需治療亦可有備無患,此外亦需要有擅長照顧新生嬰兒的專科醫生在場。

3. 產後多久糖尿病才會消失?

一般來說,在懷孕期出現的糖尿病(妊娠糖尿病)會在分娩後數星期自動消失,但亦有部份婦女產後血糖依然不回落,經診斷證實為長期性糖尿病,須終身治療。

通常小寶寶出生後,媽媽便不需要再接受糖尿病治療,包括注射胰島素,但護士或醫生或會囑咐日後生活要注意健康,同時改變日常習慣,例如多做運動及減肥等。健康生活和飲食有助降低日後患糖尿病的風險。

孕婦產後六個星期須量度血糖,以確保血糖水平已回復產前的狀況。如測試結果正常,醫生會囑咐病人此後定期量度,自行監察血糖水平,因為曾患妊娠糖尿病的婦女日後有糖尿病的可能性相對較高,包括一型和二型糖尿病,再次懷孕時也較易再患妊娠糖尿病。患者可透過適當的飲食、加強運動和保持體重與身高均稱減低有關的風險。

若測試顯示血糖水平依然偏高,醫生會安排其他檢測,以確定屬於一型或二型糖尿病。如經檢測核實,醫生會解釋可選擇的治療方案。

更多資料

來源

  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 826
  • Management of diabetes. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), March 2010. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Diabetes in pregnancy. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Chamberlain G, Steer P. Turnbull's obstetrics. 3rd ed. London: Churchill Livingstone, 2001:275–80
  • Reece E, Leguizamón G, Wiznitzer A. Gestational diabetes: the need for a common ground. The Lancet 2009; 373(9677):1789–97. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(09)60515-8
  • Gestational diabetes. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 10 October 2011
  • Diabetes – type 2 – management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published July 2010
  • Greer I. Pregnancy: the inside guide. 1st ed. London: Collins, 2003
  • Kim C. Gestational diabetes: risks, management, and treatment options. Int J Womens Health, 2010; 2:339–51. doi:10.2147/IJWH.S13333
  • Shoulder dystocia. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published December 2005
  • Respiratory distress syndrome. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 10 October 2011
  • Blood glucose targets. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, published January 2009
  • Dietary interventions and physical activity interventions for weight management before, during and after pregnancy. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
  • Your food choicesdiabetes. The British Dietetic Association. www.bda.uk.com ,published November 2007
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 62nd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Hypoglycaemia. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, published December 2009
  • Insulin therapy in type 2 diabetes – management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published November 2010
  • Pre-eclampsia: what you need to know. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published 1 November 2007
  • Hypers. Diabetes UK. www.diabetes.org.uk, accessed 10 October 2011
  • Pediatric polyhydramnios and oligohydramnios. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 14 February 2008

相關文章

懷孕前的準備

女性的身體於懷孕的9個月期間會有很多轉變,而成長中的嬰兒對母體的需求也日益增加。要懷孕過程順利,應保持身體在最佳的健康狀態。

閱讀更多

妊娠健康

婦女懷孕期間,胎兒在子宮發育,身體會經歷多種變化。有些轉變只屬妊娠早期徵狀,另亦有較常見的妊娠不適,但這些問題一般頗輕微,而且往往很快便消失。

閱讀更多

產後抑鬱症

分娩為女性的人生帶來巨大轉變。除了為新生命來臨感到喜悅外,身為母親為了照顧嬰兒要勞心勞力,生活上必須作出重大調整。這種壓力可增加女性患上抑鬱症的機會。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。