Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Incontinence in Women

Incontinence is defined as an involuntary loss of urine that's enough to cause a social or hygiene concern. It is about 4 times more common in women than in men. By the age of 75, at least 16% of women experience some incontinence, but younger women can also be affected.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Urine is produced by the kidneys and collected in the bladder, which expands like a balloon as the volume increases. When full, the bladder empties to the outside through the urethra. Most people need to pass water every 3-4 hours during the day and up to once or twice in the night. For normal urination, the muscular wall of the bladder has to contract at the same time as a valve mechanism at the outlet of the bladder relaxes. Most incontinence in adults results from problems with one or other of these processes and are responsible for most incontinence in women.

 
  • Stress incontinence – causes urine to leak when there is an increase in pressure from within the abdomen such as when coughing, sneezing, laughing or carrying heavy weights etc. It develops when the normal control mechanism for keeping the outlet of the bladder closed is weakened. This can happen when the urethra moves out of the normal position (prolapses), as it can when the pelvic floor muscles are weakened. Stress incontinence is much more common in women than men and can be triggered by childbirth, hysterectomy and the menopause. Other causes include constipation.
  • Urge incontinence – There is a desperate urge to pass frequent, small amounts of urine. This is caused by the muscle of bladder wall – known as the detrusor muslce– being overactive. This means it contracts to squeeze out urine before the bladder is completely full. Urge incontinence can also be caused by a bladder infection. Diabetes can cause excessive production of urine and very frequent trips to the toilet.
  • Mixed incontinence- Some women get both urge and stress incontinence. The two may or may not be linked.
  • Overflow incontinence – This happens when the amount of urine held by the bladder builds up to the point where the bladder can no longer expand. It can be caused by an obstruction in urinary tract or damage to the nerves that supply the bladder.

 

Other causes of incontinence:

  • Medication – Some drugs for blood pressure (particularly alpha-blockers such as prazosin and doxazosin) and muscle relaxants like diazepam can cause incontinence.
  • Problems with the urinary system – fistulas (abnormal openings between the ureter, urethra or bladder and into the uterus or vagina) and bladder stones.

Anyone who passes urine accidentally – e.g. when they cough, have a full bladder or just leaks for no reason, has incontinence. Although many people try to manage on their own – often because it's a source of embarrassment, medical advice should be sought sooner rather than later as help is available.

What will the doctor want to know?

The GP will probably ask about the following things:

  • The length of time incontinence has been a problem
  • The time of day leakage occurs
  • Whether there is any pain passing urine
  • The number of times urine is passed in 24 hours
  • Whether coughing, sneezing, etc. causes a leak
  • If you have an urgent need to go, or go frequently
  • Whether any medications are being used
  • If the problem is getting worse
  • What effect it is having on the person's life

 

To make it easier to answer these questions, it's a good idea to keep a note of the amount of urine passed, the time of day and whether leakage occurred (a frequency/volume diary) for 7 days before the consultation.

 

The doctor will probably carry out a physical examination. This may include:

  • Examination of the abdomen to feel the bladder
  • Checking for leakage on coughing
  • Testing the sensation around the bridge of skin between the vagina and anus (the perineal area)
  • A pelvic examination to check the vagina, and the size of the cervix, and uterus, ovaries and bladder.

 

Routine tests

A sample of urine (mid-stream urine, or MSU) is examined for signs of infection, bladder stone or other abnormalities.

Other investigations

A urodynamic assessment may be carried out by a urologist or a uro-gynaecologist – doctors who specialises in urinary problems. A catheter (fine tube) is passed into the bladder to fill it with sterile fluid. The pressure inside the bladder and flow and volume of urine are measured during urination and the amount of urine left in the bladder is assessed. 
In ambulatory urodynamics, the urinary system is monitored 'on the move', with catheters connected to a portable computer.

 

Self help

  • Lifestyle – Cutting down what you drink can actually make the problem worse because it increases the chances of infection. But caffeine-based drinks should be avoided as they can irritate the bladder. Smoking can also be an irritant and should also be avoided. Try to include lots of fibre, such as fruit, vegetables and whole grain cereals, in the diet to avoid constipation.
  • Bladder training techniques – This is useful for an overactive bladder and urge incontinence. The bladder is emptied at set intervals, and the time between intervals is gradually increased. Protective pads and suitable clothing – this can help leaks less embarrassing. Special products are available from pharmacists.
  • Pelvic floor exercises (Kegel exercises) – These are useful for mild to moderate stress 6 and urge incontinence7. Exercises involve contracting the muscles that start and stop the urine flow.
  • Biofeedback – A variation of pelvic floor exercises, this uses sensors that indicate when the correct pelvic floor muscles are being contracted. This helps the person do the exercises more effectively.
  • Vaginal cones – These can be bought as a set from certain pharmacies. A cone is held in the vagina for increasing periods of time, and helps to strengthen the pelvic floor muscles. As the muscles improve, a heavier cone can be used.

 

Your GP or hospital doctor should be able to refer you to a specialist for further advice.

Medication

Four main drugs are used – oxybutynin, flavoxate and tolterodine and newer drugs, trospium chloride and propiverine. They all work by making the detrusor muscles less likely to contract involuntarily.

There are some common but usually not serious side effects, which can include dry mouth, constipation, blurred vision and drowsiness. Tolterodine, trospium chloride and propiverine may have fewer side-effects than the other drugs.

  • Imipramine and amitriptyline, which are drugs also used in depression, are used for urge incontinence and for night-time bedwetting, even for people who are not depressed. This type of (tricyclic) antidepressant, may also cause side-effects such as dry mouth and blurred vision.
  • Hormone replacement therapy (HRT) may be useful in menopausal women with overactive bladders or mixed incontinence.

 

Surgery

Surgery is sometimes needed for moderate to severe stress incontinence. The aim is to support the bladder neck and urethra. A number of different procedures are available. Typically, the longer, more complex operations have the greatest effect but can involve a stay of 5 days in hospital.
Less invasive sling procedures may be suitable, although their long term effectiveness is less well proven. A sling made of muscle, fibrous tissue or synthetic material, is looped under the urethra and attached to the pubic bone or the abdominal wall.

 

The Continence Foundation
www.continence-foundation.org.uk

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse
 
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health/kidney/nkudic.htm

American Foundation for Urologic Disease
http://www.afud.org

National Womens Health Information Center
http://www.4woman.gov/faq/urinary.htm

National Association for Continence
http://www.nafc.org/

You might also like

Cystitis

Cystitis is a painful condition that is common in women - its been estimated that more than half the women will get cystitis at some time.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

女性尿失禁的問題

尿失禁是指不自主地排出尿液,這情況足以引起社交或衛生問題。女性患尿失禁比男性高四倍。在年屆75歲的女性中,最少有16%有失禁的問題,而較年輕的女性也可能有這方面的問題。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

尿液由腎臟製造,並由膀胱收集;膀胱會隨尿量增加而膨脹。當尿液注滿膀胱後,膀胱便會把尿液經由尿道排出體外。大部分人在日間需要每隔三至四小時排尿一次,在晚上則需起床排尿一至兩次。在正常的排尿過程中,當膀胱壁的肌肉收縮,位於膀胱出口的肌肉會同時放鬆,就如活門般運作。大部分成年人尿失禁的原因是以上其中一個過程出現問題,這也是大部分女性尿失禁的原因。
  • 壓力性尿失禁──當腹部內的壓力增加,如咳嗽、打噴嚏、大笑或提起重物時,尿液便會洩漏。當尿道因骨盆底肌肉變弱而脫離正常的位置(脫垂)時,用來保持膀胱流出口關閉的機能便會變弱,形成壓力性尿失禁。壓力性尿失禁於女性中較為常見,可由分娩、子宮切除手術和更年期誘發。其他原因包括便秘。
  • 急迫性尿失禁──這種失禁令人常常有急切的排尿需要,但每次只排出少量尿液。這是由於膀胱壁的肌肉「逼尿肌」過度活躍而引致。它在膀胱未注滿前收縮,把尿液擠出。急迫性尿失禁也可由膀胱感染引起。糖尿病可引致尿液過量製造,令患者需要經常排尿。
  • 混合性尿失禁──有些女性同時有急迫性和壓力性尿失禁。兩者可能有關係,也可能沒有。
  • 溢流性尿失禁──當尿液於膀胱內累積,直至膀胱不能再膨脹時,便會出現溢流性尿失禁。它可由輸尿管阻塞或膀胱神經損壞導致。

尿失禁的其他原因:

  • 藥物── 一些治療血壓問題的藥物(尤其是甲型神經阻斷劑(alpha-blockers),如prazosin和doxazosin)以及肌肉鬆馳劑(如diazepam),均可導致尿失禁。
  • 泌尿系統的疾病──廔(輸尿管、尿道或膀胱通往子宮或陰道的不正常開口)及膀胱石。

任何人在咳嗽、膀胱脹滿時或在沒有任何原因的情況下漏尿,即顯示他們患有尿失禁。由於這是令人尷尬的問題,很多人會自己想辦法處理。但事實上,他們應盡早尋求醫生的建議,以取得相關的協助。

醫生需要知道些甚麼?

醫生可能會詢問以下問題:

  • 尿失禁的情況出現了多久
  • 漏尿在日間出現的時間
  • 排尿時有沒有痛楚
  • 24小時內排尿的次數
  • 咳嗽或打噴嚏時會否造成漏尿
  • 有沒有經常或急於想小便
  • 有沒有正在服用任何藥物
  • 失禁的情況有沒有惡化
  • 失禁的問題對患者的生活有甚麼影響

 

你可在應診前七天記錄排尿的份量和時間,並留意有沒有漏尿的情況,以便解答以上問題。

醫生可能會為你做身體檢查,包括:

  • 檢查腹部,觸摸膀胱的部位
  • 檢查你咳嗽時有沒有漏尿的情況出現
  • 測試陰道和肛門(肛週位置)之間皮膚的知覺
  • 作骨盆檢查,包括檢查陰道、子宮頸的大小、子宮、卵巢和膀胱

 

例行測試

檢查尿液(中段尿)的樣本有沒有出現感染、膀胱石或其他問題。

其他檢查

尿動力學檢查會由專門醫治泌尿問題的醫生(泌尿科專科醫生或泌尿及婦科專科醫生)負責。醫生會把導管(幼管)插入膀胱,再注滿無菌液體,以量度膀胱內的壓力及排尿時尿液的流動和體積,並計算剩餘在膀胱內尿液的份量。

於流動性的尿動力學檢查中,導管會連接到手提電腦,從而監察泌尿系統。

自助療法

  • 生活模式──事實上,減少喝水會令問題惡化,因為這樣會增加受感染的機會。可是,咖啡因會刺激膀胱,所以應避免飲用含咖啡因的飲料。香煙也是刺激物,應避免吸食。患者應盡量進食含大量纖維物的食物,如水果、蔬菜和全榖物,以防止便秘。
  • 鍛練膀胱的功能──這對過度活躍的膀胱和尿失禁的問題有幫助。每隔一段時間把膀胱排空,並逐漸延長排尿的時間間距。使用保護性護墊和適合的衣著,可幫助緩和漏尿的尷尬情況,也可於藥房購買一些有關的特別產品。
  • 骨盆底運動(凱格爾運動Kegel exercise)──對輕微至中度壓力性和急迫性尿失禁患者有幫助。這些運動可幫助收縮用來控制尿液流動的肌肉。
  • 生理反饋──骨盆底運動的一種。用感測器顯示出適當的骨盆底肌肉何時收縮,令患者可更有效地進行此項運動。
  • 陰道圓錐──可從指定藥房購買。把圓錐放進陰道內,並逐漸延長停留在陰道的時間,以增強骨盆底肌肉:肌肉增強後,可使用較重的錐筒。

 

普通科醫生或醫院裡的醫生會轉介你給專科醫生,以尋求進一步的治療。

藥物

使用的藥物主要有四種,分別為oxybutynin、flavoxate、tolterodine及較新的 trospium chloride 和 propiverine。它們可減少迫尿肌不自主地收縮的情況出現。

藥物會帶來一些常見但並不嚴重的副作用,包括口乾、便秘、視力模糊和昏昏欲睡。Tolterodine、trospium chloride和propiverine的副作用比其他藥物少。

  • Imipramine和amitriptyline是治療抑鬱症的藥物,可用於治療急迫性尿失禁和夜間尿失禁,對沒有患上抑鬱症的人也有幫助。這種三環抗抑鬱劑可能會帶來口乾和視力模糊等副作用。
  • 荷爾蒙替代療法對患有膀胱過度活躍或混合性尿失禁的更年期女性可能有幫助。

 

手術

中度至嚴重的壓力性尿失禁有時要用手術治理。手術的目的是為膀胱頸和尿道提供支撐。手術有數種不同的程序。一般來說,較複雜的手術最有效,但病人或需留院五天。

醫生或會運用侵入性較低的懸吊手術,吊帶由肌肉、纖維組織或合成物料製成,會套在尿道下,並連接到恥骨或腹壁。可是,還未有足夠證據証明這種手術有長期療效。

The Continence Foundation
www.continence-foundation.org.uk

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse
 
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health/kidney/nkudic.htm

American Foundation for Urologic Disease
http://www.afud.org

National Womens Health Information Center
http://www.4woman.gov/faq/urinary.htm

National Association for Continence
http://www.nafc.org/

相關文章

膀胱炎

膀胱炎是女性常有的痛症──估計有超過半數女性會或早或遲患上膀胱炎。

閱讀更多

膀胱頸懸吊術

女性應力性尿失禁是由骨盆底部肌肉和膀胱頸瓣膜軟弱所導致的。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。