Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Miscarriage

A miscarriage is a pregnancy that ends before 24 weeks, which is before most developing babies are able to survive outside the womb (uterus). 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Miscarriage is very common, and occurs in about one in five pregnancies. Most happen in the first 12 weeks of pregnancy.

Recurrent miscarriages are when you lose three or more pregnancies in a row. This is uncommon and affects only one in every 100 couples.

If you have a miscarriage, even recurrent miscarriages, it's unlikely that you have an underlying medical problem, and most women go on to have a successful pregnancy in the future. 

There are different types of miscarriage as described below.

  • Threatened miscarriage. This is when you have bleeding early in your pregnancy and your cervix (the opening to your womb) is tightly closed. Your pregnancy is likely to continue if an ultrasound scan shows the heartbeat of your developing baby.
  • Inevitable miscarriage. This is when you have bleeding early in your pregnancy and your cervix is open, which means your pregnancy will be lost.
  • Incomplete miscarriage. This is when a miscarriage has started but there is still some tissue left in your womb. Your cervix is usually open.
  • Complete miscarriage. This means that your pregnancy has been lost. Your womb is empty and your cervix has closed.
  • Delayed or missed miscarriage. This means that although your developing baby has died, you haven’t had any bleeding and didn’t lose any tissue straight away. 

The most common symptom of a miscarriage is bleeding from your vagina. This can vary from light spotting to bleeding that is heavier than your period. You may see blood clots or a brown discharge. You can also have cramps and pain in your abdomen (tummy), pelvis or back.

Some people don’t have any symptoms and their miscarriage may only be discovered in a routine scan.

If you have bleeding from your vagina at any time during pregnancy, you should contact your GP or midwife immediately for advice. 

About half of all early miscarriages happen because of a problem in the way your genetic material (chromosomes) combined when your egg and your partner's sperm joined during fertilisation. You may never find out why this has happened, but it's more likely to be due to chance than to any underlying problem with either you or your partner.

Other factors that can make a miscarriage more likely include:

  • problems with your immune system
  • having an infection, such as listeria or malaria
  • your age – half of all pregnancies in women over the age of 42 end in miscarriage
  • a physical problem with your reproductive system
  • health problems, such as poorly controlled diabetes, a kidney disease or polycystic ovarian syndrome
  • drinking alcohol while you're pregnant
  • smoking while you’re pregnant

There isn't any evidence to show that stress is a risk factor for miscarriage, but it's a good idea to take time during the day to relax.

Moderate exercise or having sex while you're pregnant doesn't increase your risk of miscarriage.

Often you won't know what has caused your miscarriage. If you have already started to miscarry there is nothing that can be done to prevent it.

Your doctor will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history.

Your GP may refer you to a gynaecologist (a doctor who specialises in women's reproductive health), or to an early pregnancy assessment unit at a hospital to have further tests, including those listed below.

  • An ultrasound scan uses sound waves to produce an image of the inside of your womb.
  • Blood and urine tests can measure hormones associated with pregnancy called beta-human chorionic gonadotrophin and progesterone.
  • An examination of your pelvis to check the source of any bleeding. 
If you have recurrent miscarriages, your GP may refer you and your partner to a gynaecologist to have some tests to rule out a specific cause. Possible causes include a hormonal disturbance, inherited problems, abnormalities of your womb, or a condition where your body's own defence mechanism attacks itself, leading to blood clots forming in the placenta. 

If your miscarriage is complete, you won't usually need any further treatment. For an incomplete or missed miscarriage, or when you have a lot of bleeding, you may need treatment with medicines or surgery to remove the remaining fetal tissue. However, some women may prefer to let nature take its course (this is called expectant management).

Your chances of having a healthy pregnancy in the future are just as good whichever method you choose. 

Expectant management

This allows the pregnancy to leave your body naturally. It can take some time before any bleeding starts and it’s normal for this to continue for up to three weeks, along with tummy cramps. You may need to take medicines or have surgery if this method isn’t successful.

Medicines

Medicines will open your cervix and allow fetal tissue to pass out. You may be advised to swallow tablets or a pessary can be inserted directly into your vagina. The effects of the tablets usually begin within a few hours. You will experience symptoms similar to a heavy period, such as cramps and vaginal bleeding. The bleeding can continue for several weeks, although it won’t be heavy for very long.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

You may need to have surgery if medicines are unsuccessful.

Surgery

Whether or not you need surgery to remove any tissue will depend on the stage of your pregnancy, the amount of bleeding you're having, and your own preferences.

Surgery for miscarriage is a short procedure to empty your womb. It's known as an evacuation of retained products of conception (ERPC). Your surgeon will pass a soft plastic tube through your cervix into your womb and the remaining tissue will be removed by suction.

The operation is usually done as a day case under general anaesthesia. This means you will be asleep during the operation. Alternatively, you may be given the option of local anaesthesia. This blocks pain from the area and you will stay awake during the operation.

ERPC is commonly performed and generally safe. However, in order to make an informed decision and give your consent, you need to be aware of the possible side-effects and the risk of complications. These include:

  • excessive bleeding
  • a perforation or small hole made in your womb during the procedure (which may require surgery to repair it)

Ask your surgeon to explain these risks to you.

Late miscarriages

If you have a miscarriage between 14 and 24 weeks, you will probably have to go through labour and delivery. The miscarriage may be spontaneous, or labour may need to be induced. You will have some bleeding and possibly period-like pain in the days after the delivery and for several weeks. Your breasts may produce milk.

It may be possible to have a post-mortem on your baby, which may provide information about what caused the miscarriage and possibly help your doctor to care for you if you have a future pregnancy. 

Every pregnancy is at risk of miscarriage; however, if you drink alcohol or smoke, your risk of having one is higher (see Causes of miscarriage).You can help to reduce your risk of pregnancy problems by eating a balanced diet, losing any excess weight and by not drinking too much or smoking. 

The physical effects of a miscarriage tend to clear up quickly. Your next period is likely to follow between four and eight weeks later but it may take several cycles to re-establish a regular pattern.

You may feel physically ready to return to normal activities (such as exercising and going back to work) around a week after an operation, or a few days after treatment with medicines or expectant management. However, the emotional impact of having a miscarriage can be much greater than the physical effects.

A miscarriage can cause a range of feelings. Everyone reacts differently and there is no right or wrong way to feel. It can be equally difficult for your partner and it’s important to get the support you both need. You could consider contacting support groups where you can talk with people who may have similar experiences to you.

You may decide to begin trying for another baby right away or you may think this is too soon and you need longer to recover emotionally. There is no right or wrong thing to do, you need to do what you feel is best for you and your partner. You may be advised by your doctor to wait until you have had at least one period before trying again, although it's safe to have sex when the bleeding and any other symptoms have completely settled and you both feel ready. 

Is there anything I can do to reduce my risk of having a miscarriage?

Answer

Although you cannot prevent a miscarriage, there are a number of things you can do to reduce your risk of having one.

Explanation

Drinking alcohol while you're pregnant has been shown to increase your risk of having a miscarriage. If you choose to drink alcohol during pregnancy, drink no more than one to two units once or twice a week. One unit equals half a pint of ordinary strength lager or beer, or one shot (25ml) of spirits. A small glass (125ml) of wine is equal to one and a half units.

Although there is no absolutely safe level of alcohol consumption during pregnancy, there is no evidence to suggest that this low level of alcohol causes any harm to your unborn baby. You shouldn't get drunk or binge drink while you're pregnant, as this can be harmful to your baby.

Listeriosis is an illness with mild, flu-like symptoms which can be caused by listeria bacteria in certain foods. Listeriosis can cause a miscarriage. To reduce your risk of a listeria infection, don’t eat or drink:

  • milk which isn't pasteurised or UHT
  • ripened soft cheese such as camembert, brie and blue-veined cheese
  • pâté (any type, including vegetable pâté)
  • undercooked ready-made meals

It's safe for you to eat hard cheeses (such as Cheddar), cottage cheese and processed cheese.

If you’re pregnant and get malaria, this can increase your risk of a miscarriage. It’s best not to visit any countries where there is a risk of malaria while you're pregnant. If you have to travel to a country where malaria is present, speak to your GP for advice before you travel.

Smoking can also increase your risk of a miscarriage. If you smoke, then you should stop before you try for another pregnancy.

When can I try for another baby after a miscarriage?

Answer

You will probably be fertile in the first month after a miscarriage. However, the best time to try again for another baby is when you and your partner feel physically and emotionally ready.

Explanation

Most miscarriages occur as a one-off event and there is a good chance you will have a successful pregnancy in the future. If your miscarriage has finished, then you won't need any further medical treatment. If your miscarriage is incomplete and there is still some fetal tissue in your womb (uterus), you will need treatment before trying for another baby. Your doctor will advise you to wait until your symptoms have completely gone and you have stopped bleeding before you have sex.

You will probably have a period within four to eight weeks after your miscarriage but it may take several cycles to re-establish a regular pattern. As ovulation occurs before your period, you will be fertile during this time. If you don't want to become pregnant, use contraception.

Losing a pregnancy is a deeply personal experience that affects everyone differently. It can affect you, your partner and other members of your family. The best time to try again for another baby is when you and your partner feel physically and emotionally ready. If you have any concerns about trying for another baby, it may help to talk to your GP or a counsellor.

Can having a stitch in my cervix reduce my risk of having a miscarriage?

Answer

If you're at high risk of having a late miscarriage. And tests have found that you have a weakness in your cervix (opening of your womb) which allows it to dilate too soon, your doctor may suggest that you have a stitch inserted in your cervix (a cervical stitch or cerclage). This will keep it closed during your pregnancy and reduce your risk of a miscarriage.

Explanation

The cervix normally stays tightly closed during pregnancy. Occasionally it starts to open early, leading to a miscarriage. If you have a miscarriage in the second or third trimester of pregnancy, this may indicate that you have a weakness in your cervix which allows it to dilate (open) too soon. Your gynaecologist (a doctor who specialises in women's reproductive health) may suggest that you have a stitch inserted in your cervix (a cervical stitch or cerclage). This will give it more support and will help to keep your cervix closed during your pregnancy and reduce your risk of a miscarriage.

The operation is usually performed after 12 weeks of pregnancy and removed after 37 weeks. A cervical stitch can also be used before you get pregnant or in an emergency situation if you appear to be at risk of having a miscarriage.

The operation is often carried out through the vagina, but it may also be carried out through the abdomen (tummy) as either open surgery or keyhole surgery. A cervical stitch can carry some risks such as bleeding, infection and miscarriage. Your gynaecologist will explain these to you.

You will need to give birth by caesarean section if you have the cervical stitch.

Evidence to support this technique is limited and research suggests that it shouldn't be used if you're only at a low or medium risk of having a miscarriage. Seek routine antenatal care early in your pregnancy if you have a history of second- or third-trimester miscarriage.

Seek medical help immediately if you have painful or regular womb contractions or vaginal bleeding during the second and third trimester of pregnancy.

Did my miscarriage happen because of something I did?

Answer

That's very unlikely. Miscarriages are very common and the things that most often cause miscarriages can't be prevented.

Explanation

It's very unlikely that your miscarriage happened because of something you did. Miscarriages are very common. The main cause of miscarriage is a problem with the way your genetic material (chromosomes) combined when the sperm fertilised the egg. This is often due to chance so there is nothing you can do to prevent it. Also, once a miscarriage starts, there isn't anything you can do to stop it.

Some of the things that haven't been shown to increase your risk of miscarriage include:

  • being under stress
  • doing moderate exercise during pregnancy
  • having sex during pregnancy

So having a stressful day, going to the gym or having sex won't have caused your miscarriage.

You may find it helpful to talk about your miscarriage with your doctor or other people who have had a similar experience.

What's a missed miscarriage? Is it a 'real' miscarriage?

Answer

Yes. A missed miscarriage is where the developing baby dies but the fetal tissue stays in the womb. Sometimes there aren't any symptoms, and you may not realise you have had a missed miscarriage until you have a routine scan.

Explanation

A missed miscarriage is where the tissue isn't expelled from the womb.

Women who have a missed miscarriage sometimes continue to have pregnancy symptoms, such as feeling tired, because pregnancy hormones are still being produced by the placenta. Many women who have a missed miscarriage only find out during a routine scan.

Some women do have symptoms, and these can include:

  • decreasing pregnancy symptoms, such as tiredness and feeling sick
  • discharge from the vagina that starts off brown in colour and then becomes bright red

If you have a missed miscarriage, it's important that the fetal tissue is removed from your womb to prevent you getting an infection.

Your doctor may recommend medicines or surgery to remove the tissue. Or, you can wait for your womb to expel the fetal tissue, this is called expectant management.

With expectant management, it can take some time for the bleeding to start (due to the tissue being expelled) and it's normal for the bleeding to carry on for about three weeks. The bleeding may be heavier than your period and you may also get a cramping pain. Seek urgent medical attention if:

  • you're concerned about the pain or the amount of bleeding
  • you start having vaginal discharge with an unpleasant smell
  • you start feeling faint
  • you get flu-like symptoms, such as a high temperature
  • you have pain in your shoulders

Further Information

Sources

  • Neilson JP, Gyte G, Hickey M, et al. Medical treatments for incomplete miscarriage (less than 24 weeks). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007223.pub2
  • Devaseelan P, Fogarty PP, Regan L. Human chorionic gonadotrophin for threatened miscarriage. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, issue 5. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007422.pub2
  • Miscarriage. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 31 August 2010
  • Couples with recurrent miscarriage: what the RCOG guideline means for you. Royal College of
  • Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published August 2004
  • Listeria factsheet. Health Protection Agency (HPA). www.hpa.org.uk, published April 2009
  • Antenatal care: routine care for the healthy pregnant woman. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), March 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Early miscarriage: information for you. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published January 2008
  • Early pregnancy loss. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 31 August 2010
  • Leaflets. The Miscarriage Association. www.miscarriageassociation.org.uk, accessed February 2010
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2010
  • Laparoscopic cerclage for prevention of recurrent pregnancy loss due to cervical incompetence. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2007 Interventional procedure guidance 228. www.nice.org.uk
  • Drakeley AJ, Roberts D, Alfirevic Z. Cervical stitch (cerclage) for preventing pregnancy loss in women (review). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2003, issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD003253 

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

流產

流產指妊娠未滿24周便終止懷孕,即胎兒發育未健全無法在子宮外存活。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

流產極之常見,每5宗妊娠便約有一宗流產,大部分都發生在頭12周。

慣性流產指連續3次流產或更多。這較為罕見,每100對夫婦中只約有一對出現這種情況。

婦女流產或甚至慣性流產一般並非任何相關疾病所致,大部分女性日後均可成功懷孕分娩。

以下是不同類型的流產:

  • 先兆流產:妊娠早期出血,宮頸(子宮端口)緊閉。如超聲波檢查顯示發育中的胎兒有心跳,妊娠應可繼續。
  • 不可避免流產:妊娠早期出血,宮頸張開,顯示妊娠不能繼續。
  • 不全流產:開始流產但子宮仍殘留一些組織,宮頸通常張開。
  • 完全流產:妊娠已終止,子宮完全清空,宮頸閉合。
  • 延遲或過期流產:發育中的胎兒胎死腹中,但孕婦並無出血,亦非即時流失組織。

最常見的流產徵狀是陰道出血,出血量或多或少,可少至數滴,亦可大量出血多於經期。

孕婦或會排出血塊或深褐色分泌物,另腹(肚)、髖或背部或會抽搐疼痛。

有些孕婦流產全無徵狀,待至定期檢查時才發現。

妊娠期間如陰道出血,應立即聯絡醫生或助產士尋求指導。

約半數早期流產是因為卵子與配偶的精子結合受孕時基因物質(染色體)出錯,成因可能永遠也沒法確定,但往往是事出巧合,而非男女任何一方有相關疾病。

其他可能增加流產風險的因素:

  • 免疫系統問題
  • 感染,例如李斯特菌或瘧疾
  • 年齡 — 半數42歲以上孕婦會流產
  • 生殖系統生理問題
  • 健康問題,例如糖尿病控制欠佳、腎病或卵巢多囊綜合症
  • 懷孕期間飲酒
  • 懷孕期間吸煙

現時沒有研究證據顯示壓力是流產的風險因素,但孕婦每日應抽些時間鬆弛身心。

妊娠期間做溫和運動或性交不會增加流產風險。

流產的原因往往難以確定,一旦開始流產,很難阻止。

醫生會詢問孕婦的徵狀和進行檢查,此外也可能詢問其病歷。

醫生或會轉介孕婦見婦產科醫生(治理女性生殖系統疾病的專科醫生)或醫院的妊娠早期評估中心接受更多檢測,其中包括:

  • 超聲波掃描:利用聲波產生子宮造影。
  • 驗血及驗尿:量度妊娠相關荷爾蒙的水平,即β-人類絨毛膜促性腺激素及黃體酮。
  • 檢查骨盆查找出血源頭。
醫生或會轉介慣性流產的婦女和配偶見婦產科醫生,透過多項檢測排除個別成因。這些成因包括荷爾蒙紊亂、遺傳因素、子宮異常或身體本身的防禦機制自我攻擊,導致胎盤出現血凝塊。

完全流產毋須任何跟進治療。不全或過期流產又或大量出血則可能需要服藥或接受手術清除殘留的胎兒組織,但有些婦女選擇讓身體自然排出(稱為待期治療)。

無論選擇哪種療法,亦不會影響日後健康懷孕生育的機會。

待期治療

這指讓胎兒組織自行排出體外,孕婦可能須等候一段時間才開始出血,例如三星期也屬正常,然後開始感到抽搐腹痛。如這種自然療法失敗,孕婦或須服藥或接受手術。

藥物

服藥可令宮頸張開,讓胎兒組織通過。醫生或會建議吞下藥片或直接在陰道放入栓片,通常數小時便會發揮藥效,徵狀與血量多的經期相似,例如抽搐腹痛和陰道出血,出血可能持續數星期,但量多的時間不會太長。

服藥前必須諮詢醫生,並請嚴格依照藥品說明書的病人須知說明。

如服藥無效,可能要進行手術。

手術

流產孕婦是否要動手術取出任何組織,主要視乎妊娠階段、出血量和個人選擇而定。

流產手術是過程很短的宮內手術,稱為滯留受孕產物清除術(ERPC)。外科醫生會將塑膠軟管經宮頸探進子宮,利用真空吸出殘留組織。

這種外科程序一般為全身麻醉的日間手術,即孕婦在手術期間處於睡眠狀態,但亦可選擇局部麻醉,阻截手術部位的痛楚感覺,期間全程清醒。

ERPC是常見手術,一般十分安全,然而若要作出充分知情的決定和給予同意,孕婦必須了解手術可能引致的副作用和併發症,包括:

  • 大量出血
  • 手術中或會在子宮刺孔或切口(或需再透過手術修復)

孕婦應請外科醫生解釋有關的風險。

延遲流產

懷孕14至24周之間流產,或會經過陣痛及分娩過程。這類流產可能是自發性,亦可能需要引產。流產後數天和其後數星期,孕婦會有少量出血及類似經痛的不適,乳房可能製造母乳。

胎兒可以安排驗屍,以提供資料判斷流產成因,這有助醫生在孕婦日後再懷孕時提供護理。

每名孕婦也有流產的風險,但飲酒或抽煙的孕婦風險較高(見「流產的成因」一節)。您可注意飲食均衡,減去過量體重,避免飲太多酒或抽煙,即可減低流產風險。

流產的生理影響一般很快過去,大概四至八星期內月經便會來潮,但其後可能需要多次月經周期才會恢復正常。

流產手術後約一星期,或透過藥物或待期治療流產後數天,身體便會漸漸復原,可以應付正常活動(例如做運動及復工),但心理影響往往遠大於生理問題。流產會引起許多不同的感受,這因人而異,而且沒有對錯之分。此外,配偶也可能感到很難過,所以倆口子應儘量找人支援。您可聯絡支援小組,跟其他有相同遭遇的人談談。

您或想立即再次懷孕,又或者認為時間太早,自己需要更長時間調節情緒。這方面沒有對或錯,您應採取自覺最適合的方法,醫生或會建議婦女流產後最少有一次經期才再懷孕,但只要出血完全停止而身體沒有其他不適徵狀,恢復性生活也十分安全。

問:有沒有方法減低流產風險?

答:流產沒法預防,但孕婦可採取一些行動減低流產的風險。

研究證實妊娠期間飲酒會增加流產風險。孕婦如飲酒,每星期只可飲一至兩次,每次不可超過一至兩份。一份指一品脫普通強度的啤酒,或一小杯(25毫升)烈酒。一小杯葡萄酒(125毫升)等於一份半。妊娠期間飲酒分量雖無絕對安全的標準水平,但並無研究證據顯示飲用少量酒精飲品會對胎兒造成損害。孕婦不可喝醉或狂飲,否則會危害胎兒。

李斯特菌病是某些食物所含李斯特菌引致的疾病,徵狀輕微,與感冒相似。李斯特菌病可能引致孕婦流產,若要減低感染李斯特菌的風險,應避免以下飲食:

  • 未經巴氏殺菌或超高溫殺菌的牛奶
  • 熟透軟芝士,例如卡蒙伯爾、布里及藍紋芝士
  • 泥醬(任何類別,包括植物泥醬)
  • 未煮透的即食食品

孕婦可安全進食硬芝士(例如車打)、白軟乾芝士和加工芝士。

妊娠期間如染上瘧疾,或會增加流產風險,所以孕婦不宜到任何有瘧疾風險的國家旅遊。如需到這些國家,啟程前應先請教醫生如何採取預防措施。

抽煙亦會提高流產風險。吸煙的孕婦流產後應先戒煙,才可再次懷孕。

問:流產後多久可再次懷孕?

答:流產後首月便應有生育能力,但最好是待至您和配偶身心也準備好,才嘗試再度懷孕。

大部分流產都是個別事件,日後通常可成功生育。已完全流產的孕婦不需要其他藥物治療,若流產不全而仍有胎兒組織殘留在子宮,便需先接受治療,才可嘗試再度懷孕。醫生會囑咐您待至所有徵狀完全消失並停止出血,才可恢復性生活。

婦女流產後一般4至8星期便會再次月經來潮,但其後可能需要多次月經周期才會恢復正常。由於經期來臨之前便會排卵,這段期間婦女有生育能力,假如不想懷孕便應避孕。

失去胎兒的個人感受非常深刻,影響因人而異,您、配偶和其他家人都可能受影響。如想再嘗試懷孕,最好待至兩人身心都準備好。如有關於再嘗試懷孕的任何疑問,不妨跟醫生或輔導員談談。

問:我可以縫合宮頸減低流產風險嗎?

答:妊娠後期流產風險偏高的孕婦,如經檢測顯示宮頸鬆弛(子宮開張)以致過早舒張,醫生或會建議在宮頸縫針(宮頸縫合或環扎),令宮頸在妊娠期間保持閉合,減低流產風險。

妊娠期間宮頸通常保持閉合,但偶爾亦會過早張開導致流產。孕婦在第二或第三個三月孕期流產,顯示宮頸鬆弛以致子宮過早舒張(張開)。婦產科醫生(治理女性生殖系統疾病的專科醫生)或會建議在宮頸縫針(宮頸縫合或環扎),令宮頸在妊娠期間保持閉合,減低流產風險。

這種手術一般在妊娠12周後進行,37周後拆除。宮頸縫針亦可在懷孕前進行,又或在可能流產的緊急情況下進行。

手術一般透過陰道進行,此外也可以開腹或以微創形式在腹部進行。宮頸縫針也有一些風險,包括出血、感染和流產。婦產科醫生可解釋詳情。

做了宮頸縫針,必須剖腹生產。

有關這種手術成效的科學憑證不多,研究顯示假如只有低至中度流產風險,不宜採取這種方法。以往曾在第二或第三個三月孕期流產的婦女,應在妊娠早期定期接受產前檢查,由醫生護理。

若在第二或第三個三月孕期感到腹痛、子宮經常收縮或陰道出血,應立即就醫。

問:流產是不是因為我做了甚麼不對的事?

答:可能性很低。流產極之普遍,許多導致流產的事況都不能預防。

婦女因為做了甚麼特別的事造成流產可能性極低。流產極之普遍,其中主要成因是卵子受精時基因物質(染色體)出錯,而且往往是事出巧合,沒法預防。再者,流產一旦開始,實在沒有辦法阻止。

據研究顯示,以下情況並不會增加流產風險:

  • 壓力
  • 妊娠期間做溫和運動
  • 妊娠期間性交

因此有時生活壓力大、到健身室做運動或性交都不會引致流產。

不妨跟醫生或其他有相同遭遇的人談談流產經歷,這樣有助紓解情緒。

問:何謂過期流產?這是不是「真」流產?

答:是,過期流產即胎死腹中但胎兒組織滯留於子宮。有些孕婦全無徵狀,直至例行掃描檢查才發現流產。

過期流產指胎兒組織沒有從子宮排出體外。

有些過期流產的孕婦仍有妊娠徵狀,例如疲倦等,這是因為胎盤仍在製造妊娠荷爾蒙。許多過期流產的孕婦直至例行掃描檢查才發現流產。

部分孕婦會出現流產徵狀,包括:

  • 妊娠徵狀減少,例如疲倦和作嘔等
  • 陰道有分泌物,開始時褐色,漸漸變紅

過期流產後必須清除子宮內的胎兒組織,防止感染。

醫生或會建議透過服藥或手術清除殘留的胎兒組織,但有些婦女選擇讓身體自然排出,這稱為待期治療。

待期治療可能須等候一段時間才開始出血(因為組織排出體外),3星期也屬正常。出血量可能比一般經期多,同時也會感到抽搐腹痛。如有下列情況,必須立即就醫:

  • 腹痛或出血量嚴重令您擔憂
  • 陰道開始有難聞分泌物
  • 開始感覺頭暈
  • 出現類似感冒的徵狀,例如發高燒
  • 肩部疼痛

索取更多資料

來源

  • Neilson JP, Gyte G, Hickey M, et al. Medical treatments for incomplete miscarriage (less than 24 weeks). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007223.pub2
  • Devaseelan P, Fogarty PP, Regan L. Human chorionic gonadotrophin for threatened miscarriage. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, issue 5. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007422.pub2
  • Miscarriage. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 31 August 2010
  • Couples with recurrent miscarriage: what the RCOG guideline means for you. Royal College of
  • Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published August 2004
  • Listeria factsheet. Health Protection Agency (HPA). www.hpa.org.uk, published April 2009
  • Antenatal care: routine care for the healthy pregnant woman. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), March 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Early miscarriage: information for you. Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. www.rcog.org.uk, published January 2008
  • Early pregnancy loss. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 31 August 2010
  • Leaflets. The Miscarriage Association. www.miscarriageassociation.org.uk, accessed February 2010
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2010
  • Laparoscopic cerclage for prevention of recurrent pregnancy loss due to cervical incompetence. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2007 Interventional procedure guidance 228. www.nice.org.uk
  • Drakeley AJ, Roberts D, Alfirevic Z. Cervical stitch (cerclage) for preventing pregnancy loss in women (review). Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2003, issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD003253 

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。