Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Preparing for Pregnancy

Preparing for Pregnancy

A woman's body goes through many changes over the nine months of pregnancy and the developing baby makes increasing demands. Being as fit and healthy as possible maximises the chances of a healthy pregnancy. 
Many women re-evaluate their health and lifestyle once they know they are pregnant. However, by the time a woman has missed her first period, she is already two weeks pregnant, so it's best to prepare for a pregnancy before trying to conceive.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

Conceiving

Stopping contraception 
Contraception allows couples to plan the timing and spacing of children. It is important to consider plans for pregnancy when deciding on a method of contraception. Some methods such as the condom and diaphragm can be stopped immediately. Also, there is no significant delay in return to fertility after stopping the pill or having a coil removed. However, women who use the contraceptive injection need to be aware that because the contraceptive is released slowly over time, return to fertility can be delayed for up to nine months.

Timing of conception

Although there are a number of ways of predicting the most fertile time in a woman's cycle, which is generally the five days leading up to ovulation, the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists discourages couples from attempting to time intercourse. Instead they advise regular intercourse, two or three times a week, throughout the woman's cycle. 70% of normal, healthy couples conceive within six months, and 95% of couples conceive within two years.

Healthy lifestyle

Weight

Being very overweight or underweight can make it more difficult to conceive. Dieting is not recommended during pregnancy as this can affect the supply of nutrients to the baby. It is normal and healthy to gain weight gradually over the course of a pregnancy. The Department of Health advises pregnant women to eat according to their appetite, and to keep an eye on weight gain. Women who are the correct weight for their height, with a normal body mass index (BMI), should put on around 11.4-15.9 kg during pregnancy. Women who are underweight, with a BMI of less than 19.8, should gain more weight than average (up to 18.2kg), and those who are overweight, with a BMI of more than 26, should gain less (6.8-11.4kg).

 

Diet

Eating a healthy diet before pregnancy means that the body has adequate stores of vitamins and minerals. A nutritious, well-balanced diet includes foods rich in protein such as meat, fish, eggs and pulses; dairy foods which supply calcium; starchy foods such as cereals, bread, potatoes and pasta; plus plenty of fruit and vegetables that supply vitamins and fibre. It is best to avoid a lot of sugary, salty or fatty foods.  A well-balanced vegetarian diet should provide all that is needed, but vegans may need to take advice on supplements such as calcium, vitamin D and vitamin B12.

Folic acid (a B vitamin) is the only vitamin supplement that is recommended for women who are otherwise eating a balanced diet.  Folic acid is needed for the development of healthy red blood cells, and adequate intake decreases the chance of a baby being born with neural tube defects. A baby's brain and spinal cord are formed from the neural tube. One example of a neural tube defect is spina bifida, where an area of spinal cord is not properly enclosed. This can cause problems such as paralysis of the legs and lack of control of bladder and bowels. The baby's neural tube is completely formed by the fourth week of pregnancy – when many women have not even realised they are pregnant.

It is therefore best to start taking folic acid supplements while preparing for pregnancy or as soon as a woman realises she is pregnant. 400 micrograms is the recommended daily dose, which should be over and above the usual recommended dietary intake of 200 micrograms.  Folic acid occurs naturally in fresh dark green vegetables such as broccoli, peas, green beans and spinach. Many breakfast cereals are fortified with folic acid and it is also found in wholemeal bread.

A higher dose of folic acid is recommended for some women. It is very important that women who have previously had a baby with a neural tube defect, or who have epilepsy or diabetes, consult a GP  about folic acid supplementation before trying to conceive.

What to avoid

Smoking

Most people are aware of the positive health benefits gained from giving up smoking. It is particularly beneficial to stop smoking before becoming pregnant. Smoking may reduce fertility. Smoking during pregnancy is also linked with low birthweight and associated with other risks for the baby such as being born prematurely, death around the time of birth and sudden infant death syndrome (cot death).

Although it can be very difficult to give up smoking, many women find pregnancy is a strong motivation. Many strategies to help people quit are available, such as nicotine replacement therapy or other medications, and GPs can provide advice about these.

 

Alcohol

Most people also realise that excess alcohol is bad for their health. Too much alcohol may also decrease fertility. Heavy drinking can also cause problems for a developing baby, and lead to poor growth, intellectual impairment or birth defects (fetal alcohol syndrome). The standard advice from doctors is that women who are trying to conceive, or at any stage during pregnancy, should avoid getting drunk, and should drink no more than one or two units of alcohol once or twice per week.  It's particularly important to follow this advice during the first three months of pregnancy, when important organs such as the brain are forming.

 

Stress

Ideally, minimise factors that lead to stress and anxiety when preparing for pregnancy. Eating well and getting plenty of exercise and sleep all help.

Hazards at work

Some working environments can have an impact on fertility and others can pose a risk to a developing baby. Chemicals, lead, anaesthetic gases and X-rays can all be hazardous and advice should be sought from a GP or HR representative if you are routinely exposed to these.

Issues to discuss with a GP

Existing medical conditions

It is always best to get advice about any existing medical conditions before trying to conceive. Some conditions are affected by pregnancy and others can have an impact on the developing baby. Prescription medicines may need to be modified. Whether the problem is longstanding such as asthma, diabetes and epilepsy or whether there is a history of an important past event such as a thrombosis (e.g. DVT), specialised, personal advice is needed from a GP as far in advance of pregnancy as possible.

 

Rubella

Rubella (German measles) used to be a common childhood illness but most people are now immunised against it. If women catch Rubella during pregnancy, especially in the first three months, this can cause malformations in the developing baby.

Women can have their immunity checked by a blood test before they plan to conceive. If women need to be immunised, then it is recommended that they should not become pregnant for at least one month following the immunisation.

 

Genetic counselling

Women or their partners who have a personal or family history of genetic or chromosomal disorders, such as cystic fibrosis or Down’s syndrome, may need to be referred for specialist genetic counselling. Information and advice with regard to future pregnancies can then be tailored to their personal situation.

Advice for the father

All general life-style advice addressed to women, such as eating healthily, stopping smoking and avoiding excess alcohol, are just as relevant to men as their fertility can also be affected by these factors. Men are also advised to wear loose-fitting underwear as excess heat can be harmful to the quality of sperm.

Further Information

The Family Planning Association of HK
8/F Southorn Centre, 130 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong
Tel: 28344907
http://www.famplan.org.hk/

WebMD
http://my.webmd.com/content/healthwise/99/24631

You Might Also Like

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

懷孕前的準備

女性的身體於懷孕的9個月期間會有很多轉變,而成長中的嬰兒對母體的需求也日益增加。要懷孕過程順利,應保持身體在最佳的健康狀態。

很多女性在懷孕後,才會重新評估自己的健康和生活模式。可是,當女性發現沒有月經來時,她其實已經懷孕2週。因此,女性應該在計劃受孕前作好充分準備。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

受孕
停止避孕
避孕可讓夫婦計劃生育兒女的時間。選擇避孕方法前,應先考慮生育計劃。有些避孕方法(如使用避孕套和子宮環)是可以隨時停止的。停止服用避孕藥或移除子宮環後,亦不會影響生育能力。可是,注射避孕藥的女性需要留意,由於避孕藥會隨時間逐步釋放,她可能要待九個月後才可恢復生育能力。
受孕的時間
雖然有多種方法可預測女性週期中最容易受孕的時間(一般是排卵前五天內),可是,英國皇家並不鼓勵夫婦計算性交的時間。他們建議夫婦在整個女性週期中,每星期定期性交23次。在正常和健康的夫婦中,有70%可在6個月內受孕,而95%配偶則可在2年內成孕。
健康的生活模式

體重

過重或過輕均會增加懷孕的難度。節食會令嬰兒營養不足,因此婦女懷孕時不應節食。懷孕期間體重逐漸增加是正常和健康的現象。衛生署建議懷孕婦女餓了便應進食,並留意自己的體重有否增加。體重和高度合乎比例、體質指標(body mass index)屬正常的女性,通常會在懷孕期間增重11.4–11.9 千克;體重過輕、體質指標低於19.8 的女性,增重幅度會高於平均水平(可多達18.2 千克),而那些過重、體質指標高於26 的女士,增加重量應較少(6.8–11.4 千克)。

 

飲食

懷孕前保持飲食健康,可確保身體儲存充足的維他命和礦物質。營養豐富而均衡的飲食包含高蛋白質的食物,如魚、肉、雞蛋和豆類;提供鈣質的奶類食品;澱粉質食物如全穀物、麵包、馬鈴薯和麵條;再加上大量的水果和蔬菜,以提供維他命和纖維素。應盡量避免進食太甜、太鹹或油膩的食物。均衡的素食可提供身體所需的物質,但素食者仍應攝取鈣質、維他命D 和維他命B12等補充品。

對於均衡飲食的女性,唯一需要補充的維他命是葉酸(維他命B的一種)。身體依靠葉酸製造健康的紅血球細胞。攝取足夠的葉酸,可減低嬰兒出現神經管缺損的機會。嬰兒的腦部和脊髓由神經管形成。有一類神經管缺損是脊柱裂脊髓的一部分沒有被完整包圍,可導致嬰兒雙腿癱瘓和喪失控制大小便的能力。嬰兒的神經管會在妊娠的第四週內成形,很多女性於那時還沒察覺自己已經懷孕。

因此,女性最好在準備懷孕前或剛發現自己已懷孕時盡早開始服用葉酸補充品。每天的建議攝取量為400毫克,比平常的200毫克為高。天然的葉酸蘊藏在深綠色的新鮮蔬菜裡,如花椰菜、豌豆、綠豆和菠菜。很多穀物早餐已加入葉酸,葉酸也可在全麥麵包中吸收。

有些女性需攝取較高劑量的葉酸。女性如曾經生下患有神經管缺損的嬰兒,或患有癲癇症或糖尿病,應在準備懷孕前,向醫生徵詢有關補充葉酸的意見。

應避免的事項

吸煙

大部分人都知道戒煙對健康有益,而懷孕前戒煙對健康好處更大,因為吸煙不但降低生育能力,而且在懷孕期間吸煙更可能導致嬰兒出生時體重過低以及其他危機,如早產、夭折以及猝死(嬰兒在床上死亡)。

雖然戒煙可能會很困難,但很多女性卻因著懷孕而下定決心戒煙。戒煙有很多方法,如尼古丁替代療法或其他藥物治療,醫生可提供有關的建議。

 

酒精

大部分人都知道過量的酒精會損害健康。太多酒精可減低生育能力。酗酒也會影響成長中的胎兒,導致成長不良、智力受損或出生缺陷(胎兒酒精症候群)。醫生建議準備或正在懷孕的女性避免喝醉,以及每星期喝酒不超過一至兩次,每次以一至兩個單位的酒精為限。由於嬰兒的腦部等重要器官會在懷孕首三個月內形成,所以孕婦於這期間應加倍留意。

 

壓力

準備懷孕時,應盡量減少壓力和焦慮。良好的飲食習慣以及充足的運動和睡眠,均有助懷孕順利。

工作上的危險

工作環境可以影響生育能力,甚至對成長中的胎兒構成危險。化學物、鉛、麻醉氣體和X光都對人體有害,如你需要經常接觸這些物質,應尋求醫生的意見。

與醫生討論的問題

現在的身體狀況

準備懷孕前,應先清楚自己現在有沒有疾病。有些疾病會受懷孕影響,有些則會對成長中的胎兒有影響。醫生可能需為孕婦重新開處藥物。無論你有沒有患上長期疾病,如哮喘、糖尿病和癲癇症,或其他嚴重疾病,如血栓症(例如深層靜脈栓塞),均須於懷孕前盡早尋求醫生的專業意見。

 

德國痲疹

德國痲疹從前是常見的兒童疾病,但現在很多人已對它產生免疫力。女性在懷孕期間(尤其於懷孕期首三個月)染上德國痲疹,可導致胎兒畸形。

女性可於準備懷孕前,透過血液測試檢查自己的免疫力。如果需要接受防疫,則應在接受防疫後最少一個月內避免懷孕。

 

遺傳基因的輔導

女性、其配偶或兩者的家庭成員如患有基因或染色體毛病(如纖維性變性或唐氏綜合症),可能需要轉介給專科醫生,讓醫生根據個別的情況提供與遺傳基因有關的輔導,為日後的懷孕提供資料和建議。

 

給父親的建議

以上提供給女性的生活模式建議,如健康飲食、戒煙和避免過量喝酒,亦同樣適用於男性,因為他們的生育能力也受這些因素影響。過熱會影響精子的質素,因此男性應穿著鬆身內褲。

更多資料

香港家庭計劃指導會

灣仔軒尼詩道130號,修頓中心地下、八、九、十樓

電話: 28344907
http://www.famplan.org.hk/

WebMD

http://my.webmd.com/content/healthwise/99/24631

相關文章

乳癌

乳癌指乳房出現含有癌細胞的腫瘤。乳房腫瘤是由于細胞生長異常失控而形成的腫塊,可以是惡性(癌性)或良性(非癌性)。每10宗乳房腫瘤病例中九宗為良性。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。