Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

How to choose the right insurance

My employer has provided medical insurance, why do I need to buy another one for myself?

In general, group medical insurance only provides basic cover to employees. If an employee suffers from a serious illness or accident needing hospitalisation, the group medical insurance may not be able to cover the high medical expenses in full. According to statistics from the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers in 2014, reimbursement by the group medical insurance is about 70% (at ward level room). In other words, employees will need to pay 30% of the medical expenses out of their own pockets.

Medical costs at private hospital keep going up these days. Some hospital and surgical expenses cost upwards of tens to hundreds of thousands of dollars. An individual health insurance can help employees cope with the additional medical expenses. Moreover, employees will lose their group medical protection once they resign or retire. Retired employees are often older and suffer from more illnesses. Thus, insurance companies may not be able to provide them with affordable medical insurance.

You can choose your own individual medical insurance according to your budget and needs. Some medical insurance schemes in the market provide deductible options. That means you will receive reimbursement for the hospital expenses after you first pay the amount agreed as your deductible. This type of medical insurance is suitable for people with group medical cover. On the one hand, you can use your group medical cover to offset the deductible. On the other hand, it can lower the cost of your individual subscription without sacrificing a comprehensive cover.

Using Bupa HealthPlus as an example, you can lower your subscription up to 45% by choosing a deductible. This scheme provides up to HK$3 million benefit per year to cover hospital expenses at semi-private room level.

 

Useful tip:

If you are on a tighter budget, you may consider Bupa Wise Choice. It is a very affordable scheme specially designed for employees who are already covered by a group medical insurance. As an example, the monthly subscription for a 30-year-old individual is only HK$46 at ward level, with a benefit of HK$180,000 per year*. Even if you resign or change jobs, you can continue to enjoy lifetime protection by transferring your membership to Bupa CarePro#.

* Based on the annual subscription of 2016.

# Transfer to the same room level of Hospital and Surgical Benefit is guaranteed.

Insurance schemes / Key features
  • Full cover for hospital expenses at semi-private room level
  • Three deductible options – lowers your subscription up to 45%
  • Covers follow-up outpatient consultations after surgery or cancer treatment
  • Specially designed for employees who are already covered under their job’s group medical insurance
  • Receive 80% reimbursement in medical expenses that exceed your group cover or the deductible
  • Modest subscription rate

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

如何選擇合適的保險

公司都有包團體醫保,咁點解仲要自己買?如果只靠公司那份醫療保險,是否足夠?

一般來說,公司團體醫保往往只提供基本保障,若僱員不幸罹患嚴重疾病或遭遇到意外而需要入院時,公司醫保可能未必能夠全數支付高昂的醫療費用。根據香港保險業聯會2012年的統計數字,團體保險的償付百分率約七成(以大房計),換言之,僱員須要自付三成醫療費用。

現時私家醫院的醫療費用日趨增長,手術及住院費用動輒數萬至幾十萬元,個人醫保可協助僱員應付額外的醫療開支。此外,僱員離職或退休後亦會失去了公司的醫療保障,退休僱員更可能會因為年紀大、病痛多而失去購買個人醫療保險的機會。

市民可因應自己的預算和需要選購合適自己的個人醫保。市場上有些醫保設有墊底費選擇,當合資格賠償超過墊底費後,便開始支付您的住院費用。這類醫保特別適合已有團體保障的人士,一方面您可用團體醫保的賠償抵銷墊底費,另一方面又可以較低保費獲得更全面的保障。

以保柏的「悅康健」計劃為例,選擇墊底費可減低保費高達45%,計劃更提供高達每年港幣300萬元的保障額,全數賠償入住半私家房的一系列住院費用。

實用小提示:

如果預算有限,您亦可考慮保柏專為團體醫保僱員而設的「智康健」計劃,此計劃保費十分相宜,以30歲人士投保為例,每月只需港幣46元保費*,便可享有每年港幣18萬元的大房級別保額。此外,即使您離職或轉職,也可轉移會籍至「保柏卓康健」計劃#,續享終生保障。

*2016年度年繳保費計算

#保證批核會籍轉移至「住院及手術保障」的相同住房級別

保險計劃 / 主要特點
  • 全數賠償入住半私家房的住院費用
  • 三種墊底費選擇,可減低高達45%保費
  • 提供手術或癌症治療後的康復門診保障
  • 專為已有團體醫療保險的僱員而設
  • 超過團體醫療保險賠償或此計劃墊底費的住院費用,可獲8成賠償
  • 保費划算

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。