Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Benign prostatic hypertrophy

The prostate is a gland, about the size of a walnut, only found in men. It is located just below the bladder and surrounds the tube known as the urethra through which urine flows from the bladder out through the penis. The prostate is divided into three zones - central, transitional and peripheral. One of the main functions of the prostate is to produce an important liquefying component of semen, which allows the sperm to move freely.

Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) is a caused by overgrowth of prostate cells in the central part of the prostate. This enlargement constricts the urethra so the flow of urine is reduced and men find it increasingly difficult to empty their bladder.

BPH is very common and affects about one third of men over 50, and it is different from prostate cancer. However, their symptoms overlap, so you should see your doctor if you start to experience problems passing urine. A separate fact sheet on Prostate Cancer contains more information.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

You should consult your GP (General Practitioner) if you notice any of the following symptoms:

  • hesitancy (difficulty in starting to pass urine)
  • a weak stream
  • the need to strain to pass urine
  • the feeling that your bladder isnt empty after urination
  • the need to pass urine urgently
  • frequent trips to the toilet, including having to get up several times in the night
  • feeling a burning sensation or pain when passing urine

Your doctor will ask you questions about your symptoms, your general health and other relevant information to help work out how bad and how bothersome your symptoms are to you.

A digital rectal examination (DRE) will be performed to examine the size and consistency of your prostate by inserting a finger into your rectum. Although this can be uncomfortable, it is not painful. Many men find the prospect of a DRE embarrassing, but should bear in mind that its a simple procedure, performed routinely by GPs.

Your doctor will also feel the abdomen to find out if the bladder is distended, which may mean that you are not emptying it fully (chronic urinary retention, which is painless).

Other tests will be carried out to make sure that your urinary problems are due to BPH and not other conditions. A urine test will be done to check for infection or blood.

Blood tests, including a prostate specific antigen (PSA) test may be carried out. This measures the amount of an enzyme produced by the prostate and high levels can indicate the presence of prostate cancer. Other blood tests include assessing your kidney function and checking for blood sugar to rule out diabetes. Both of these problems can have urinary symptoms.

Other less common tests may include: urine flow tests; ultrasound to measure urine left in the bladder and to check for bladder stones; urodynamic measurements using a small catheter inserted into your bladder through your penis to measure the pressure within your bladder; transrectal ultrasonography (TRUS) where an ultrasound probe is passed into the rectum to give a view of the prostate. A biopsy (samples of the prostate) may be collected using a needle if cancer is suspected.

 

The mainstays of treatment for BPH are drugs or surgery. However, some men with mild symptoms opt for watchful waiting, where no treatment is undertaken but instead your condition will be monitored closely with routine check-ups. If your condition deteriorates you can then opt for treatment.

Drug treatment

There are two main classes of drugs that are prescribed for BPH:

  • Alpha-blockers
  • Five alpha reductase inhibitors (often written 5 alpha-reductase inhibitors)

Alpha-blockers work by relaxing the muscles at the neck of the bladder and in the prostate. In this way they reduce the pressure on the urethra and so help increase the flow of urine. They do not cure BPH but help to alleviate some of the symptoms. Around 60% of men find their symptoms improve significantly within the first 2-3 weeks of treatment with an alpha-blocker. There are several different five alpha blockers. Currently, these are doxazosin (Cardura), terazosin (Hytrin), tamsulosin (Flomax), alfuzosin (Xatral) and prazosin (Hypovase). They can also be used to treat high blood pressure. The most common side-effects of alpha-blockers are tiredness, dizziness and headache.

5 alpha-reducatase inhibitors work by inhibiting the production of a hormone called DHT, which contributes to prostate enlargement. Finasteride (Proscar) is the mostly commonly used drug of this type for BPH. Unlike alpha blockers, 5 alpha-reductase inhibitors are able to reverse BPH to some extent and so may delay your need for surgery.

Potential side-effects of finasteride include a reduced sex drive and difficulty in maintaining an erection. Several months of treatment may be needed before improvement is noticed.

Plant extracts

A range of plant extracts claim to alleviate BPH, although formal evidence that they are effective is often scanty. However, there is some scientific evidence that an extract of saw palmetto (called Serenoa repens) can be beneficial and it is a popular treatment for BPH, especially in Germany. If you decide you want to try a plant remedy, its always best to discuss this first with your doctor or pharmacist as interactions with conventional medicines are possible.

Surgery

There are three main surgical options for BPH:

  • Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP)
  • Transurethral incision of the prostate (TUIP)
  • Open prostatectomy

Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) is the most common operation for BPH. The procedure usually takes place under a general anaesthetic. A long thin instrument called a resectoscope is passed into the urethra. With a light source and lens on the end, it acts like a telescope, allowing the surgeon to view the prostate either directly or on a video monitor. A precisely controlled electric current, applied by a loop of wire at the end of the resectoscope, is used to shave off sections of the enlarged prostate.

TURP is an effective procedure with over 90% of men reporting an improvement after the operation. However, as with any surgical procedure, there is a risk of side-effects and complications. The most common side-effect (an unwanted effect that accompanies a successful treatment) of this procedure is retrograde ejaculation - where semen passes into the bladder during orgasm instead of out of the penis. This is sometimes called a dry orgasm. This is usually not a problem although it may reduce fertility. Complications of the operation can include some urinary incontinence or damage to the urethra, resulting in a stricture that can cause difficulty in passing urine.

Transurethral incision of the prostate (TUIP) may be appropriate for men who have a smaller enlarged prostate. It is a quicker operation than a TURP and involves removal of less tissue. It is performed under general or spinal anaesthetic. As with a TURP an instrument is passed up through the penis, but instead of removing a portion of the prostate, small cuts are made in the neck of the bladder and the prostate. This reduces the obstruction of the flow of urine.

Open prostatectomy is only recommended for those men whose prostate is very large. It is a major operation and carried out under a general anaesthetic. An incision is made in the lower abdomen in order to remove the central part of the prostate.

Other treatments

Laser therapy (using a laser probe to cut away prostate tissue) and transurethral microwave thermotherapy (using heat to remove some of the prostate tissue via a probe) are becoming more common in the treatment of BPH.

 

Although it is not known why only some men develop BPH, it is clear that advancing age is the prime risk factor. Testosterone is certainly involved in the development of BPH in some way and it is likely that the female hormone, oestrogen, plays a part. Studies suggest that men in the Far East are protected against BPH by a diet high in soya which contains oestrogen-like substances.

At present, there is little you can do to prevent BPH. You can visit your doctor if you develop urinary problems to ensure that any problems are dealt with promptly and appropriately and while treatment is simpler.

 

American Prostate Society
http://www.ameripros.org/bph.html

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health/urolog/pubs/prostate/index.htm

You might also like

Cataract Removal

This involves taking out the cloudy lens and replacing it with a clear, artificial implant. The procedure usually takes 15-20 minutes and is most often performed as a day case.

Read more

Diabetes type 2

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

High Cholesterol

Cholesterol is a type of fat (lipid) made by the body. It's essential for good health and is found in every cell in the body. However, having a high cholesterol level in the blood (hypercholesterolaemia) can increase the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

良性前列腺肥大

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

前列腺約胡桃般大小,只存在於男性身上,位於膀胱之下,包圍著尿道─尿液由膀胱流至陰莖的管道。前列腺分為三個區域:中心、過渡及周邊地方。前列腺其中一個主要作用是生產精液裏的液態成分,讓精子能自由活動。

良性前列腺肥大是由前列腺中心的前列腺細胞過度生長引起。增大的前列腺壓迫尿道,減弱尿液的流速。患病的男性會發現膀胱越來越難以排空。

良性前列腺肥大是很普遍的,50歲以上的男士有三分之一受影響。雖然有些病徵與前列腺癌的非常相似,但這並非前列腺癌。所以如果你排尿開始有困難,便應該看醫生。

如果你發覺有以下任何一種病徵,便應看醫生:

  • 猶豫(開始排尿時感到困難)
  • 尿液流速緩慢
  • 排尿時需用力
  • 感到尿液未被完全排清
  • 頻頻去洗手間,甚至要在夜間起床數次
  • 有灼熱的感覺或排尿時感到痛楚

醫生會詢問你的病徵和身體整體的狀況,以及其他相關資料,找出病徵對你有甚麼壞的影響以及為你帶來甚麼不便。

肛門指檢用以檢查你的前列腺的大小和一貫性。醫生會把一隻手指,放進你的直腸進行檢查。雖然這可能使你感到不舒服,但你並不會感到痛楚。許多男性覺得肛門指檢的做法令人十分尷尬,但你要記著這只是普通科醫生常常執行的簡單程序。

醫生也會檢查你的腹部,查看膀胱有沒有膨脹。膨脹的膀胱可能表示它還未完全排空(長期的尿液滯留是無痛的)。

其他測試則用來確保你的排尿問題是由於良性前列腺肥大,而非由其他疾病引致。尿液樣本檢驗是測試會否有感染或血液在尿液內。

血液測試,包括前列腺特定抗原測試,量度由前列腺產生的一種?的數量。若?處於高水平,即表示你患有前列腺癌。其他血液測試包括評估你的腎功能以及檢查血糖,看看你有沒有患糖尿病。有這兩種問題的患者都會出現泌尿方面的症狀。

其他較少用的測試,包括尿液流量測試;以超音波測量留在膀胱的尿液及檢查有沒有腎石;尿動力的量度(使用細小的導管,通過你的陰莖插入膀胱,以量度膀胱內的壓力),還有經直腸超音波檢查(即把超音波探測裝置放入直腸,以觀察前列腺)。若懷疑是癌症,醫生可能會用針取出前列腺的活體組織作為化驗樣本。

良性前列腺肥大主要採用的治療方法是藥物或手術。可是,一些只有輕微病徵的男士會選擇「邊觀察邊等待」,即先不作治療,而是在例行檢查中密切地監察病情進度,如有惡化,才選擇接受治療。

藥物療法

現在主要有兩種藥物治療良性前列腺肥大:

  • 甲型交感神經阻斷劑
  • 5 alpha-還原抑制劑

 

甲型交感神經阻斷劑能放鬆膀胱頸部和前列腺內的肌肉,減低尿道的壓力,加快尿液的流速。它們並不能治癒良性前列腺肥大,但有助減輕某些病徵。約60%的男性發現他們的病徵會在甲型交感神經阻斷劑治療的首兩至三個星期內顯著改善。現時有幾種不同的5 alpha- 還原抑制劑,它們是doxazosin(Cardura)、terazosin(Hytrin)、tamsulosin(Flomax)、alfuzosin(Xatral)及prazosin(Hypovase)。它們也可用來醫治高血壓。甲型交感神經阻斷劑最常見的副作用是疲倦、頭暈和頭痛。

5 alpha -還原抑制劑能抑制引致前列腺增長的激素DHT的產生。此類藥物中,治療良性前列腺肥大最常採用的是Finasteride(Proscar)。這種藥和甲型交感神經抑制劑不同,它們能某程度上減輕良性前列腺肥大,令你不必要馬上做手術。

Finasteride 可能引起的副作用包括性慾降低,勃起有困難。你可能需要數月的治療才會見效。

植物提煉

一些植物提煉據稱可減輕良性前列腺肥大,雖然証明它們有效的證據不多。可是,有些科學證據顯示棕櫚的提煉頗有療效。很多人,特別是在德國,都把它拿來治療良性前列腺肥大。如果你決定嘗試植物療法,最好先與你的醫生或藥劑師商量,因為它可能會與傳統的藥物產生不良影響。

手術

醫治良性前列腺肥大,主要有三種手術可供選擇:

  • 經尿道前列腺切除術
  • 經尿道前列腺切開術
  • 開刀前列腺切除術

 

經尿道前列腺切除術是治療良性前列腺肥大最常見的手術。手術通常在全身麻醉下進行。一條名為「前列腺切除鏡」的幼長儀器會放入尿道,它的末端有一個小光源和晶體,像望遠鏡一樣,讓醫生可以直接或間接地透過螢光幕檢視前列腺。前列腺切除鏡末端有一圈電線,供應精確操控的電流,用來切除前列腺增大的部分。

經尿道前列腺切除術很有效,超過90%男士發現手術後有好轉。可是,它跟任何手術一樣,都會有副作用和併發症。最常見的副作用是逆行性射精,是指精子在高潮時不流到陰莖而流進膀胱,有時稱之為「乾性高潮期」。雖然這樣會減低生殖力,但通常不構成問題。手術的併發症包括有輕微小便失禁,或尿道受損以致尿道狹窄,令排尿時有困難。

經尿道前列腺切開術適用於前列腺增大較輕微的男士,這手術比經尿道前列腺切除術更快速,移除的組織也較少。手術在全身或脊神經麻醉下進行。跟經尿道前列腺切除術一樣,儀器會經陰莖尿道放入,但不會用來移除前列腺的部分,而是在膀胱頸和前列腺之間的位置作一些切口。這手術能減輕尿液阻塞。

開刀前列腺切除術只建議供前列腺非常大的男士使用。這是一個重大的手術,需在全身麻醉下進行。切口會開在下腹,以移除前列腺的中心部分。

其他治療

激光療法(使用激光探測器切除前列腺組織),和經尿道微波溫熱療法(通過探測裝置輸送熱量,以移除前列腺組織)都是越來越常用的良性前列腺肥大療法。

雖然現在還未知道為甚麼只有某些男性會患上良生前列腺肥大,但年齡越大,患此病機會明顯越高。睪酮肯定與良性前列腺肥大的形成有關,而女性激素(雌激素)也有可能有影響。有研究認為中東的男性受大豆成分偏高的飲食保護,能避免患上良性前列腺肥大,因為大豆含有像雌激素的物質。

目前,只有很少方法可預防良性前列腺肥大,但如果你出現泌尿方面的病徵,便應看醫生。一旦發現有任何問題,也可迅速而適當地處理;而及早作出治療,總比較簡單。

American Prostate Society
http://www.ameripros.org/bph.html

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health/urolog/pubs/prostate/index.htm

相關文章

白內障手術

手術取出模糊的水晶體,用一個清晰的人造移植品來代替。一般需時十五至二十分鐘,常於日間進行,手術後毋須留院。

閱讀更多

二型糖尿病

二型糖尿病是終身疾病,患者的身體對天然荷爾蒙胰島素無反應,以致無法完善調節血糖數量,其成因通常是肥胖所致。二型糖尿病又稱非胰島素依賴型糖尿病。

閱讀更多

高膽固醇

膽固醇是人體製造的一種脂肪(脂質),存在於每個細胞內,是維持健康的重要元素,血液中的膽固醇含量過高(高膽固醇症)會增加患上心臟病和中風的風險。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。