Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Eczema

This information was published by Bupa's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

Eczema, also known as dermatitis, is a term used to describe skin conditions that are characterised by irritation or inflammation of the skin. Eczema is the commnonest ithcy rash in childhood.
There are two main categories of eczema. Contact eczema (exogenous eczema) occurs when substances or chemicals cause irritation that leads to an allergic reaction in the skin. "Constitutional" eczema (endogenous eczema), happens when there is a genetic, or inherited, tendency to develop the condition.

 

Eczema makes the skin itchy and dry and sometimes scaly. The skin can crack, becoming red and inflamed and leaving it prone to infection. Infection by bacteria living on the surface of the skin can cause weeping of fluid ("wet" eczema) and crusting or scabbing. The areas affected may differ depending on the type of eczema.

Often the cause of the eczema is unknown, or there may be a number of different factors all working together. Eczema often runs in families, but it is not spread from one person to another.

Chemicals, detergents, soap or shampoo can all irritate the skin. Some substances may not be irritants but if the skin becomes sensitised – or allergic – to them they may cause a reaction.

There are various types of eczema, with slightly different causes and symptoms.

atopic eczema – This is the most common form of eczema. Atopy is the term that describes a family predisposition to a variety of allergic conditions, including asthma, hay fever and eczema. Atopic eczema usually affects the face, trunk, the backs of the knees and the front of the elbows. It usually starts in childhood, affecting 15-20% of children. Most grow out of the condition by adulthood, but it continues in 2-3% of adults.

allergic contact eczema – this develops when the body immune system reacts against a substance in contact with the skin. The rash usually starts at the site of contact with the substance but may then spread to other areas. For example, the nickel found in some jewellery may cause eczema on the ear lobes, wrists, and around the neck. Other causes of this type of eczema include rubber or perfume.

irritant contact eczema – this is caused by frequent contact with everyday substances such as detergents in soaps or shampoos. The hands are most commonly affected.

seborrhoeic eczema – this is less common. The rash is greasy and affects the scalp, face, armpits, groin and skin below the breasts. Some specialists think that a yeast known as pityrosporum may cause this condition. One form of the condition affects babies scalps and is known as "cradle cap".

varicose eczema – this occurs on the lower legs and is associated with varicose veins and related problems with circulation. The skin, often around the ankles, become scaly, itchy and inflamed.

discoid eczema – this affects the arms and legs, usually in middle-aged men. The eczema occurs in numerous round patches.

Home treatment

If the irritants that are causing the eczema are known, the best treatment is to avoid them. For example soaps, washing powders, bubble baths and shampoos, as well as any chemicals you may work wit, may be the cause.

There are many products for eczema available without prescription from a pharmacist. These are usually emollients, which work by reducing water loss from the skin to keep it moist. They can be applied directly to the skin as creams or lotions. A good time to apply a cream is just after a bath. Oils or washes are also available that can be used in the shower or added to the bath.

Seborrhoeic eczema may be treated with creams or shampoos which contain anti-fungal medication or compounds containing selenium or coal tar are often effective. Putting mittens on babies can also help stop them scratching.

Medications

If emollients alone do not treat the condition, the next step is to use a steroid cream or ointment. Steroids calm flare-ups of eczema by suppressing the body inflammatory response. There are different strengths of steroid and should be used for only a few days at a time. Apply them sparingly and use the mildest cream that works. Only mild steroids should ever be applied to the face. Using too much steroid cream can cause thinning of the skin, making it more fragile and leading to blemishes, wrinkles or visible small blood vessels. Mild steroid creams, such as 1% hydrocortisone, are available over the counter from the chemist, but stronger ones need a prescription from a doctor. Emollients should still be used at the same time as steroid creams. The pharmacist will be able to give you more advice.

Antihistamine tablets or medicines may be prescribed to reduce the itching of eczema. These may be sedating for night use, or non-sedating for use during the day.

Antibiotics may be needed if there is a bacterial infection complicating the eczema.

Severe eczema may occasionally need treatment with steroid medication in the form of tablets.

Hospital admission may be necessary in very severe cases. Sometimes the affected skin may need to be wrapped in bandages soaked with diluted potassium permanganate solution.

Diet

There is no evidence that any dietary changes can help eczema sufferers. Some people believe that the exclusion of egg or cows milk from children diet may help, but exclusion diets can lead to a calcium or protein deficiency and may cause more harm than good.

Other treatments that may help are non-steroid creams, herbal creams and homeopathy. Evening Primrose Oil capsules can be used (over the age of 1 year).

Some people find that Chinese herbal medicines seem to help, but the active ingredient is poorly understood. Information about the quality and safety of the preparations is hard to obtain and there is a possibility of side effects such as liver damage.

If treatment is failing

There are a few conditions that may be confused with eczema, but need different treatments:

  • psoriasis – this can look like most of the forms of eczema, but it is less itchy and is usually in well-defined patches.
  • dungal infections – these occur particularly on the feet or in the groin.
  • scabies – this is a very itchy skin condition, which is caused by a mite infesting the skin.

1. Can the sun make my eczema better?

Yes, many people find that their eczema improves when they have been out in the sun. However, it's important to be careful not to be in the sun for too long and always use sunscreen.

Ultraviolet radiation, which is given off by the sun, can stop your immune cells causing inflammation of your skin. This helps to calm the symptoms of your eczema.

However, too much ultraviolet radiation can damage your skin. This is known as sunburn and can increase your risk of skin cancer. Because of this, you need to be careful not to stay in the sun for too long and you should always wear sunscreen. Always make sure your child wears sunscreen and cover exposed skin with clothing if there is a chance he or she could burn.

Sunbeds aren't a safe alternative and give out harmful ultraviolet radiation, which can also cause skin cancer.

You can have special medical ultraviolet light treatment for your eczema, called phototherapy. Controlled doses of ultraviolet radiation are applied to your skin over several weeks. The dose of ultraviolet radiation that you're given is increased gradually so that your skin doesn't burn. This treatment is given in hospital, usually by a dermatologist, if you have severe eczema. Your GP will be able to advise you on whether this would be a suitable treatment for you.

2. Can I go swimming with eczema?

Yes, you can go swimming if you have eczema. However, the water and chlorine from the swimming pool may irritate your skin and make your eczema worse.

The effect of swimming depends on how severe your eczema is, how much chlorine there is in the swimming pool and how long you spend in the pool. If the swimming pool contains a lot of chlorine, it's more likely to irritate your skin.

To reduce the harmful effects that swimming may have on your skin, apply a thick layer of emollient before you swim. Shower straight after swimming to rinse the water off your skin.  Apply more emollient after swimming once you have dried. You may need to use extra emollient or steroid cream if you find that swimming has made your eczema worse.

3. Could my eczema be caused by a food allergy?

It's rare for food allergies to cause eczema. However, about one in 10 children find that certain food and drink make their eczema worse. A healthy, balanced diet is important, especially for children, so speak to your GP or dietitian before making any changes to your or your child's diet.

Some people may find that certain foods or drinks may cause their eczema to get worse. However, it's rare that diet alone will trigger your eczema, therefore food allergy tests aren't often offered to you if you have atopic eczema.

Young children under the age of two who have eczema are more likely to have a food allergy but it's unclear how this affects eczema. Eczema caused by food allergies in adults is much less common than in children.

The effect diet has on eczema may vary from person to person. To help spot certain triggers, try to keep a diary noting down what you eat and drink, and your eczema symptoms.

If you're pregnant or breastfeeding, don't change your diet without advice from your GP or dietitian.

Further information

 

Sources

  • About eczema? National Eczema Society. www.eczema.org, accessed 23 February 2011
  • Eczema, dermatitis and allergies. DermNet NZ. www.dermnetnz.org, published 6 March 2011
  • Eczema. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, published April 2009
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010:610–15
  • Nummular dermatitis. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com, published September 2009
  • Eczema - atopic. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published July 2008
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 61st ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Atopic eczema in children. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), December 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Frequency of application of topical corticosteroids for atopic eczema. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for atopic eczema. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Atopic dermatitis. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com, published September 2009
  • Sun awareness and skin cancer. British Skin Foundation. www.britishskinfoundation.org.uk, accessed 2 March 2011
  • Skin cancer (non melanoma). CancerHelp UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, published 28 April 2011
  • Pediatric contact dermatitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 19 April 2010
  • Personal communication, Dr M Arden-Jones, Consultant Dermatologist, University of Southampton School of Medicine, 15 April 2011 

Related information

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm, Sat 9am-1pm (except public holidays)

【Call us to enjoy special offers】

Enjoy up to 30% off! Contact us at 2517 5860 for details.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

濕疹

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

濕疹又稱「皮炎」,用於描述皮膚在受到刺激或炎症影響後所出現的狀態。小兒最常見的痕癢性皮疹即為濕疹。

濕疹主要分為兩大類:接觸性濕疹(外源性濕疹)﹕因某些物質或化學品刺激皮膚產生過敏反應所致﹔「體質性」濕疹(內源性濕疹)﹕受基因或遺傳的影響而發病。

濕疹令皮膚發癢和乾燥,有時會產生鱗屑。皮膚會裂開、變紅和發炎,並因而容易受到感染。皮膚受到存活於皮膚表面的細菌的感染後,可流出液體(濕性濕疹)、硬化或結痂。不同類型的濕疹所影響的部位也可能不同。

一般而言,濕疹的成因不明,或由很多因素引致。濕疹通常在家族中遺傳,但不會通過人與人之間的接觸而傳播。化學品、清潔劑、肥皂或洗髮水都可刺激皮膚。有些本來不具有刺激性的物質,在皮膚變得敏感後也會令皮膚產生反應。

濕疹有不同的類型,它們的成因和病徵亦會稍微不同。

特應性濕疹—這是最常見的類型。「特應性」一詞是用來形容某家族具有容易患上不同敏感症的傾向,包括哮喘、花粉熱和濕疹。特應性濕疹通常影響面部、軀幹、膝部背面和肘部前方。這種濕疹通常在童年時期出現,估計約有15%至20%的小孩發病,其中大部分在成年後會自行痊癒,但約有2%至3%的兒童其濕疹會持續到成年。

過敏性接觸濕疹—當身體的免疫系統對接觸皮膚的物質產生抗拒反應時產生。皮疹通常首先出現於與引起反應的物質接觸的皮膚位置,隨後可能會擴散到其他部位。例如:首飾中含有的鎳可能會使耳垂、手腕和頸部周圍出現濕疹。其他可能引起此型濕疹的物質包括橡膠及香水等。

刺激性接觸濕疹─此型濕疹是因皮膚經常接觸某種物質而引致,如肥皂或洗髮水中含有的清潔劑等。雙手最容易出現這種濕疹。

脂溢性濕疹—較為少見。皮疹屬油性,影響位置包括頭皮、面部、腋窩、腹股溝和胸部以下的皮膚。有些專家認為一種稱為「皮屑牙胞菌(pityrosporum)」的酵母菌,是導致這種濕疹的原因。當這種濕疹影響嬰兒的頭皮時,稱為「乳痂」。

靜脈曲張性濕疹—通常於小腿出現,與靜脈曲張及循環系統疾患有關。皮膚(通常位於踝部)會有鱗屑、發癢和發炎。

硬塊型濕疹—影響手臂和腿部,患者通常為中年男性。這種濕疹的特徵是會出現大量圓形塊狀皮疹。

家居療法

如果患者知道是甚麼物質引致濕疹,最好避免接觸到那些東西。肥皂、洗衣粉、泡沬浴、洗髮水,以及任何有機會接觸到的化學物,都可能是引致濕疹的東西。很多用來治理濕疹的產品都無需醫生處方,可於藥房購買。這些通常是可直接塗於皮膚的潤膚乳,用來維持皮膚水份,保持皮膚濕潤,其最佳使用時間是剛洗澡後。現在也有一些油劑或清洗液,可於沐浴時使用或倒進盆浴中。脂溢性濕疹可使用含有抗真菌藥物的藥膏或洗髮水治理、而含有硒(selenium)或煤焦油 (coal tar) 等物質的藥膏或洗髮水通常也具有療效。另外,替嬰兒戴上手套也可防止他們因抓癢而損傷皮膚。

藥物治療

如果單純使用潤膚乳無效,可考慮使用含有類固醇的藥霜或藥膏。類固醇通過抑制身體的炎性反應來減低濕疹的發生。不同的類固醇具有不同的作用強度,每次使用應限於數天之內。患者應選擇具有療效的藥力及最溫和之藥霜,在面部只宜使用藥力溫和之類固醇。類固醇藥膏使用過度可造成皮膚變薄﹑變脆﹑出現斑點﹑皺紋及明顯可見的小血管。藥力溫和的類固醇藥膏,如1%濃度的氫化可的松(Hydrocortisone)軟膏可在藥房買到,但藥力較強的類固醇藥膏則需要醫生處方。在使用類固醇藥膏的同時應繼續使用潤膚乳,藥劑師會給您更多的建議。

醫生可能會處方抗組織胺(Antihistamine)片劑或藥物,用於減低濕疹所帶來的痕癢。這些藥物有些帶有催眠成份適於夜間服用,而日間應使用沒有催眠成份的藥物。

若濕疹合併細菌感染,可能需要服用抗生素。

嚴重濕疹有時需要以片劑形式的類固醇藥物治療。

假若病情非常嚴重,患者可能需要入院治療。受感染的皮膚有時需要以浸有稀釋高錳酸鉀(potassium permanganate) 溶液的繃帶包紮。


飲食

現時沒有証據顯示改變飲食有助於濕疹患者。有些人相信小孩子戒吃雞蛋或戒喝牛奶會有幫助,但這會令孩子缺乏鈣質或蛋白質,害處更多。

其他可能有效的治療包括︰非類固醇藥膏、草藥藥膏和順勢療法,也可採用月見草油膠囊(Evening Primrose Oil capsules)(適合1歲以上患者)。

有些人認為中藥可有效治理濕疹,但其中的有效成分鮮為人知,藥物配製時的質素和安全資料亦難以確定。某些中藥可能具有副作用,例如對肝臟造成損害。


如果治療無效

某幾種疾病可能會和濕疹混淆,但其實各自需要不同的治療:

  • 牛皮癬─與許多濕疹的皮膚表現極為相似,但較少發癢;皮疹通常呈形狀清晰的塊狀
  • 真菌感染─通常出現於足或腹股溝部
  • 疥癬—令人非常痕癢的皮膚疾病,由寄居在皮膚上的蟎所引致

1. 曬太陽對濕疹有幫助嗎?  

有的,許多濕疹患者發現日光浴可紓緩濕疹,但切記不要暴露於陽光下太久,而且必須塗防曬品。  

陽光含有紫外光,可以制止免疫細胞引起的皮膚發炎,紓緩濕疹徵狀。  

但攝取過量紫外光對皮膚有害(即曬傷),還可能提高皮膚癌風險,所以曬太陽切記不可過久,而且必須塗防曬品。小朋友在陽光下玩耍可能會曬傷,請確保他們塗上防曬品及遮蓋外露皮膚。  

日光浴床也不一定安全,這類裝置會放射有害的紫外線,亦可能引致皮膚癌。  

濕疹患者可接受特別的醫學紫外光療程,即彩光。醫生會小心控制紫外線的劑量,在數星期的療程內逐漸增加紫外線劑量,防止皮膚受損。嚴重濕疹病人可到醫院接受彩光治療,通常由皮膚專科醫生負責。您可諮詢醫生這類治療是否適合您。  

2. 有濕疹可以游泳嗎?  

可以,有濕疹也可以游泳,但泳池的水和氯或會刺激皮膚,令濕疹加劇。  

游泳對濕疹影響視乎疾病的嚴重程度及泳池水的氯含量而定,還視乎您在泳池逗留的時間。如泳池的氯含量過高,皮膚產生刺激反應的機會相對較大。  

要減輕游泳對皮膚造成的刺激,可在游泳前塗上一層厚厚的潤膚劑,游泳後立即沖走皮膚上的池水,抹乾皮膚後應再塗上潤膚劑。如游泳令濕疹惡化,則須塗用大量潤膚劑或類固醇乳霜。  

3. 濕疹可以是食物過敏引致嗎?  

食物過敏引致濕疹的病例很罕見,但每十名有濕疹的小朋友中約有一名發現某些飲食令濕疹加劇。均衡健康的飲食非常重要,尤其是兒童,所以改變小朋友的日常飲食之前應先諮詢醫生或營養師。  

有些患者發現某些飲食會令濕疹惡化,但純粹因為飲食激發濕疹的病例很罕見,因此醫生一般不會安排特應性濕疹(Atopic Eczema)患者接受食物過敏測試。  

患有濕疹的兩歲以下幼童對食物過敏的可能性較高,但這對濕疹的影響尚未能確定。成人因食物過敏出現濕疹的病例遠少於兒童。  

飲食對濕疹的影響因人而異,若要找出誘發濕疹的食物,不妨每日記錄所有飲食,以及您的濕疹徵狀。  

孕婦或正在哺乳的婦女如未諮詢醫生或營養師,不應改變日常飲食。  

索取更多資料

 

來源

  • About eczema? National Eczema Society. www.eczema.org, accessed 23 February 2011
  • Eczema, dermatitis and allergies. DermNet NZ. www.dermnetnz.org, published 6 March 2011
  • Eczema. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, published April 2009
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010:610–15
  • Nummular dermatitis. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com, published September 2009
  • Eczema - atopic. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published July 2008
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 61st ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Atopic eczema in children. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), December 2007. www.nice.org.uk
  • Frequency of application of topical corticosteroids for atopic eczema. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for atopic eczema. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2004. www.nice.org.uk
  • Atopic dermatitis. The Merck Manuals. www.merckmanuals.com, published September 2009
  • Sun awareness and skin cancer. British Skin Foundation. www.britishskinfoundation.org.uk, accessed 2 March 2011
  • Skin cancer (non melanoma). CancerHelp UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, published 28 April 2011
  • Pediatric contact dermatitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 19 April 2010
  • Personal communication, Dr M Arden-Jones, Consultant Dermatologist, University of Southampton School of Medicine, 15 April 2011 

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。