Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Folate deficiency anaemia

Folate deficiency anaemia is a type of anaemia caused by not having enough folate in the body. Anaemia is a condition in which blood can’t carry enough oxygen to fully meet the needs of the body. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Folate is a B vitamin. You need folate for many important processes inside your body, including making red blood cells. If you don’t have enough folate, your body won't make as many red blood cells as normal. They will also be abnormally large and won't last as long as they should.

If you don't have enough red blood cells, your tissues and organs may not get enough oxygen. This leads to the symptoms of anaemia. 

Common symptoms of all types of anaemia include:

  • feeling tired
  • looking pale
  • increased breathlessness on exertion
  • feeling your heart racing or thumping (called palpitations)

If you have folate deficiency anaemia, you may also develop problems, such as:

  • a sore tongue
  • indigestion
  • a reduced sense of taste
  • diarrhoea

These symptoms may be caused by problems other than folate deficiency anaemia. If you have any of these symptoms, see your GP for advice. 

If you have anaemia, your heart has to work harder to get oxygen to your vital organs. If left untreated it can lead to problems with your heart and lungs. Having a deficiency in folate can also increase your risk of certain cancers. 

There are a number of causes of folate deficiency. Some of the most common causes are listed below.

  • Poor diet. Your body can't store folate, so you need to eat foods every day that contain folate to make sure your body has sufficient levels.
  • Medicines. Certain epilepsy medicines and methotrexate, which is used to treat rheumatoid arthritis, can interfere with the way that folate is used in your body.
  • Alcohol. Drinking too much alcohol can reduce your body's ability to absorb and use folate.
  • Bowel disease. Coeliac disease or an inflammatory bowel disease, such as Crohn's disease, can interfere with how your body absorbs folate.
  • Chronic haemolytic anaemias. These include certain inherited conditions such as thalassaemia and sickle cell anaemia, which cause red blood cells to break down too quickly. This increases your body’s need for folate and can lead to a deficiency if you don’t get enough in your diet.
  • Pregnancy. If you’re a woman and become pregnant, you require more folate to meet the needs of your developing baby. If you don’t have sufficient folate intake, you may become deficient and your unborn baby may develop a neural tube defect. This happens when your unborn baby's nerves and spinal cord don't develop properly in the first months of pregnancy. 

Your GP will ask about your symptoms, and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history. If your GP suspects you have anaemia, you will be asked to have a blood test. Your blood will be sent to a laboratory to be tested for the following.

  • A full blood count. This is to check the level of haemoglobin in your blood, how many of each of the different types of blood cell you have, the size of your red cells and the amount of haemoglobin in each red cell.
  • A blood film. This involves looking at your blood under a microscope to check the size and shape of your red blood cells and to assess the different white cells that are present.
  • Vitamin B12, iron and folate. The levels of each of these will be measured.

If your blood tests show that you have anaemia with enlarged red blood cells and low levels of folate, you could have folate deficiency anaemia.

You may need to have further tests to help identify the cause of your anaemia. Your GP may refer you to a haematologist (a doctor who specialises in identifying and treating conditions of the blood) or a gastroenterologist (a doctor who specialises in identifying and treating conditions that affect the digestive system). 

Your GP will try to identify why you’re deficient in folate so that any underlying cause can be treated.

Self-help

If you’re not getting enough folate in your diet, your GP will give you advice on how to adjust it, or refer you to a dietitian. If your alcohol intake is excessive, he or she will suggest you reduce this.

Medicines

Your GP will also prescribe folic acid tablets. Before you start, he or she will check the levels of vitamin B12 in your blood. This is because although the treatment helps you to feel better, it may hide an underlying vitamin B12 deficiency. If this happens, you may develop problems with your nervous system.

Folate comes in a synthetic (artificial) form called folic acid. This is a water-soluble vitamin that your body can use instead of folate. You will usually need to take 5 milligrams per day, for at least four months. Some people may need to take folic acid for a long time, sometimes for life. Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your supplements and if you have any questions, ask your GP or pharmacist for advice.

If you're taking folic acid to treat anaemia, your GP will monitor your blood count and folate level. You will be asked to have a blood test shortly after you start taking the supplements and again about eight weeks later to confirm that you’re responding to the treatment.

Special considerations

If you're pregnant and don't get enough folate in your diet, there is an increased risk of your baby developing a neural tube defect. It can result in spina bifida, which is where your baby's spine doesn’t form properly.

If you're planning to have a baby, you should take a supplement of 400 micrograms of folic acid before you become pregnant, and also in the first 12 weeks of pregnancy. This will help to reduce the risk of your baby having a neural tube defect. If you have previously had a child with this problem, ask your GP for advice as you may need to increase your intake of folic acid during your pregnancy. See our common questions for more information.

It's also important to eat folate-rich foods, such as broccoli, Brussels sprouts, asparagus, peas, chickpeas and brown rice. Although liver is a good source of folate, pregnant women shouldn't eat liver or liver pâté because it contains lots of vitamin A. Large intakes of vitamin A during pregnancy are linked to an increased risk of birth defects. 

You can reduce your risk of developing folate deficiency anaemia by eating a healthy, balanced diet that contains enough folate. The recommended daily amount for adults is 200 micrograms. For most people, having enough vegetables, fruit and grains will be sufficient without the need to take supplements.

Good sources of folate include broccoli, Brussels sprouts, asparagus, peas, chickpeas and brown rice. It's also found in small amounts in leafy green vegetables like spinach, watercress and curly kale, some fruits (especially oranges and satsumas) and liver. Folate is damaged by heat, so fruit and vegetables will contain more folate when they are raw compared to when they are cooked. Breads or breakfast cereals that have been fortified with vitamins also contain a good source of folate. Fortified means that folic acid has been added during manufacturing.

If you have a condition that affects how well you absorb nutrients, or if you’re pregnant, you may need to take supplements. Ask your GP for advice. 

Why do women who are pregnant need to take a higher dose of folic acid?

Answer

If you're pregnant, or are planning to have a baby, you will need to take folic acid supplements. This is to reduce the risk of your child having a neural tube defect.

Explanation

It's important to start taking folic acid supplements early, preferably as soon as you start trying for a baby, and for at least the first 12 weeks of your pregnancy. This will reduce the risk of your baby having a neural tube defect. A neural tube defect is when your unborn baby's nerves and spinal cord don't develop properly in the first months of pregnancy. It can result in spina bifida (where your baby’s spine doesn’t close properly) or anencephaly (where your baby’s brain and skull don’t close properly).

If you're at a particularly high risk of having a child with a neural tube defect, you will need to take a higher dose of folic acid. For example, your unborn baby may be at greater risk if you or your partner has a neural tube defect, such as spina bifida, or if you have previously had a pregnancy affected by a neural tube defect. Your unborn baby may also be at greater risk of having a neural tube defect if you have coeliac disease, diabetes, sickle cell anaemia, thalassaemia, or if you take anti-epilepsy medicines.

The recommended dose of folic acid for women at normal risk of having a baby with a neural tube defect is 400 micrograms daily. If you're at a high risk of having a baby with a neural tube defect, you will need to take a dose of 5 milligrams daily.

It's also important to make sure you get enough folate from the food you eat. Good sources of folate include broccoli, Brussels sprouts, asparagus, peas, chickpeas and brown rice. It's also found in small amounts in leafy green vegetables like spinach, watercress and curly kale, some fruits (especially oranges and satsumas) and breads or breakfast cereals that have been fortified with vitamins. Fortified means that folic acid has been added during manufacturing.

Although liver is a good source of folate, pregnant women shouldn't eat liver or liver pâté because it contains a lot of vitamin A. Large intakes of vitamin A during pregnancy are linked with an increased risk of birth defects.

For more information about folic acid supplements, talk to your GP.

Do men need to take folic acid supplements when planning for a baby?

Answer

No, men don't need to take folic acid supplements when trying for a baby. However, men should eat a healthy, balanced diet and may wish to make some lifestyle changes to improve their fertility.

Explanation

There is limited evidence to suggest that men should increase their folate intake when trying for a baby, so it isn’t usually advised.

However, if you and your partner are planning to have a baby, it’s important for both of you to make some lifestyle adjustments to increase your chances of conceiving. Eating a healthy, balanced diet is a good start. The recommended daily amount of folate for adults is 200 micrograms per day. If you eat a balanced diet, you should get all the folate you need. Folate is found in foods such as broccoli, Brussels sprouts, asparagus, peas, chickpeas and brown rice.

Is there a difference between folate and folic acid?

Answer

Yes, both are terms used for vitamin B9 but they come from different sources.

Explanation

Folate is the natural form of the vitamin B9 and is found in fresh green vegetables such as broccoli, Brussels sprouts, asparagus and peas. It's also found in some fruits (especially oranges and satsumas), as well as in liver.

Folic acid is a synthetic (artificial) type of the B vitamin used in supplements and is added to fortified foods such as breakfast cereals and spreads. Your body absorbs folic acid more efficiently because it's water-soluble and doesn't need to be broken down before it can be absorbed. 

Further Information

Sources

  • Anaemia – vitamin B12 and folate deficiency. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published January 2011
  • Vitamin B12 and folate deficiency. Lab Tests Online UK. www.labtestsonline.org.uk, published 20 October 2011
  • Pre-conception – advice and management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published September 2010
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 62nd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Your health in pregnancy. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published October 2009
  • Folic acid – food factsheet. The British Dietetic Association. www.dba.uk.com, published May 2010
  • Neural tube defects – factsheet 59. Centre for Genetics Education. 

You might also like

Diabetes type 1

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

Diabetes type 2

Diabetes mellitus (sugar diabetes) is a long-term condition where the body cannot control the amount of glucose in the blood properly.

Read more

Benefits of exercise

Regular exercise is an important part of a healthy lifestyle. People who lead an active life are more likely to live longer and less likely to develop serious diseases such as heart disease, cancer and diabetes. Exercise not only makes you physically fitter, it also improves your mental health and general sense of wellbeing.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

葉酸缺乏性貧血

葉酸缺乏性貧血是體內葉酸不足引起的貧血症。貧血指血液不能攜載足夠氧分應付身體的需要。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

葉酸鹽(Folate)是一種維他命B。人體許多重要機能都需要葉酸鹽,包括製造紅血球,如葉酸鹽不足,身體便無法製造正常數量的紅血球,紅血球亦會異常大,壽命也偏短。

紅血球不足,身體組織及器官便得不到足夠養分,造成貧血徵狀。

葉酸缺乏性貧血的常見徵狀包括:

  • 疲倦
  • 臉色蒼白
  • 操勞時氣促加劇
  • 感覺心跳急促或砰跳(心悸)

 

葉酸缺乏性貧血患者亦可能出現以下不適:
  • 舌頭潰痛
  • 消化不良
  • 味覺減弱
  • 腹痛

這些徵狀不一定是葉酸缺乏性貧血所致,但如有發現應諮詢醫生。

貧血患者的心臟必須加倍工作才可將氧分輸送到各主要器官。貧血病若不治療,可能引致心臟及肺部問題,此外缺乏葉酸亦會增加某些癌症的風險。

葉酸缺乏性貧血有多種成因,當中最常見的成因如下:

  • 飲食不善。葉酸鹽無法儲存於體內,必須每天從飲食攝取,確保葉酸充足。
  • 藥物。某些腦癇(癲癇)藥物及用於治療類風濕關節炎的氨甲喋呤(Methotrexate)均可能干預身體利用葉酸鹽。
  • 酒精。過量飲酒可能妨礙身體吸收及使用葉酸鹽。
  • 腸疾病。乳糜瀉或炎症腸道疾病如克隆氐病(Crohn’s Disease)等均會干預身體吸收葉酸鹽。
  • 慢性溶血性貧血(Chronic Haemolytic Anaemias)。這包括某些遺傳性疾病,例如地中海貧血(Thalassaemia)和鐮狀細胞性貧血(Sickle Cell Anaemia),這些疾病可能導致紅血球分解過快,令身體對葉酸鹽的需求增加,假如飲食中的葉酸不足便會引致葉酸缺乏。
  • 妊娠。女性懷孕時需要更多葉酸鹽應付胎兒發育的需要。如葉酸鹽攝取量不足,便可能缺乏,令尚未出生的胎兒神經管畸型,即懷孕頭數月胎兒的神經和脊髓發育不健全。

醫生會詢問您的徵狀和為您檢查,此外也可能詢問您的病歷。如醫生懷疑病人患有葉酸缺乏性貧血,便會安排驗血。血液樣本會交送化驗所進行下列測試:

  • 全血計數,測計血色素數量及每種血細胞的數目,同時檢測紅血球的大小和每個紅血球的血色素數量。
  • 血塗片測試。即在顯微鏡觀察血液樣本,檢查紅血球的大小和形狀,以及評估現有的不同白血球。
  • 維他命B12、鐵質及葉酸測試。量度三者的水平。

如驗血顯示貧血、紅血球大而葉酸水平低,便可能患上葉酸缺乏性貧血。

醫生可能安排其他檢測,以確定葉酸缺乏性貧血的成因,或會轉介病人見血液專科醫生(專門確定及治療血液疾病的醫生)或腸胃專科醫生(專門確定及治療消化系統疾病的醫生)。

醫生會嘗試確定缺乏葉酸的成因,針對病因進行治療。

自我護療

假如日常飲食的葉酸鹽攝取量不足,醫生會指導如何調節,又或轉介病人見營養師。假如酒精攝取量過高,則會建議少飲酒。

藥物

醫生或會處方葉酸片。患者開始服藥前首先會檢測血液的維他命B12水平,這是因為患者接受藥物治療後可能感覺舒適一點,以致忽視了隱性缺乏維他命B12,這種情況日後可能導致神經系統疾病。

口服葉酸是(人工)合成的葉酸片。這種水溶性維他命能取代葉酸鹽,被身體吸收利用。服藥的劑量通常是每日5毫克,療程最少四個月。部分人士必須長期服用葉酸片,或甚至終身服藥。服藥前應細閱維他命補充劑說明書的病人須知指示,如有疑問請諮詢醫生或藥劑師。

患者服用葉酸片治療貧血,醫生會監察血計數和體內葉酸水平。開始服藥後不久,醫生會安排一次驗血,其後約八星期再行驗血,以確定治療有效。

特別考慮

孕婦如從飲食攝取的葉酸鹽不足,胎兒可能出現神經管畸形,演變成小兒脊柱裂,即脊柱畸形。

計劃生育的婦女應在懷孕前服食400微克的葉酸補充劑,然後在妊娠頭12星期繼續服用,以減輕胎兒神經管畸形的風險。如曾經有子女神經管畸形,應諮詢醫生是否需要在妊娠期間增加葉酸攝取量。詳細說明請參閱常問問題一節。

除了服用補充劑,日常也必須多吃葉酸含量豐富的食物,例如西蘭花、芽甘藍、蘆荀、豌豆、鷹嘴豆和糙米。動物肝臟的葉酸也很豐富,但肝類或鵝肝醬的維他命A含量太高,孕婦不宜多吃。孕婦如攝取大量維他命A可能會引致畸胎。

飲食注意健康均衡,攝取足夠葉酸鹽,便可預防葉酸缺乏性貧血。成人每日建議攝取量為200微克,大部分人只要進食足夠的蔬菜、水果及榖糧,便毋須另服補充劑。

葉酸鹽含量豐富的食物包括西蘭花、芽甘藍、蘆荀、豌豆、鷹嘴豆和糙米,此外綠色葉菜如菠菜、西洋菜和捲葉甘藍、某些水果(特別是橙和蜜柑)和肝類也含有少量葉酸鹽。葉酸鹽遇熱便會遭破壞,所以新鮮蔬果的葉酸鹽含量比經烹調的多。此外,強化維他命的麵包或早餐榖類也可提供葉酸。強化指在生產過程中加入葉酸。

如有任何疾病影響吸收營養或正在懷孕,都可能需要服用葉酸補充劑。請諮詢醫生意見。

問:孕婦因何要服用更高劑量的葉酸?

答:懷孕或正計劃生育的婦女需要服用葉酸補充劑,藉此減輕胎兒神經管畸形的風險。

生育前應儘早服用葉酸補充劑,最好是一開始試圖成孕時便服食,然後一直服用至懷孕頭12周。這樣可降低胎兒神經管畸形的風險。神經管畸形指胎兒的神經和脊髓在頭數月發育不全,可能導致脊柱裂(脊骨閉合障礙)或無腦畸形(胎兒的腦部和顱骨閉合障礙)。

孕婦如誕下神經管畸形嬰兒的風險特別高,必須服用較高劑量的葉酸。例如,若孕婦或配偶有神經管畸形(例如小兒脊柱裂),又或若孕婦以往曾在懷孕期間胎兒出現神經管畸形,胎兒風險便相應提高。此外,乳糜瀉、糖尿病、鐮狀細胞性貧血、地中海貧血患者或服用抗腦癇(癲癇)藥物的婦女亦較易出現胎兒神經管畸形。

胎兒神經管畸形風險正常的婦女,建議每日應攝取400微克葉酸。如胎兒神經管畸形風險較高,便需每日服5毫克。

除了服用補充劑,日常也必須多吃葉酸鹽含量豐富的食物,例如西蘭花、芽甘藍、蘆荀、豌豆、鷹嘴豆和糙米。此外綠色葉菜如菠菜、西洋菜和捲葉甘藍、某些水果(特別是橙和蜜柑)和強化維他命的麵包或早餐榖類也含有少量葉酸。強化指在生產過程中加入葉酸。

動物肝臟的葉酸也很豐富,但肝類或鵝肝醬的維他命A含量太高,孕婦不宜多吃。孕婦如攝取大量維他命A可能會引致畸胎。

如對葉酸補充劑有疑問,應諮詢醫生。

問:男性計劃生下一代需要服食葉酸補充劑嗎?

答:不需要。男性計劃生下一代毋須服用葉酸,但男士亦應注意飲食健康均衡,以及改善生活習慣,藉此增強生育能力。

現時並無太多證據顯示男性計劃生下一代時也應多攝取葉酸鹽,所以一般不會作出相關建議。

然而,計劃生育時夫婦二人均須改善生活習慣,以提高成孕機會。首先飲食要注意健康均衡,成人的建議葉酸鹽攝取量為每日200微克,所以只要飲食均衡,便可攝取足夠的葉酸鹽應付身體所需。西蘭花、芽甘藍、蘆荀、豌豆、鷹嘴豆和糙米等食物都含有葉酸鹽。

問:葉酸鹽和葉酸有分別嗎?

答:有,兩者都是維他命B9,但來源不一樣。

葉酸鹽是天然維他命B9,可在綠色蔬菜找到,包括西蘭花、芽甘藍、蘆荀和豌豆,部分水果(橙和蜜柑含量特別豐富)和肝類亦有葉酸鹽。

葉酸是(人工)合成維他命B,可用於補充劑或加入強化維他命食品,例如早餐榖類和三文治醬。由於葉酸屬水溶性,毋須分解便可吸收,所以可更易被身體吸收使用。

更多資料

來源

  • Anaemia – vitamin B12 and folate deficiency. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published January 2011
  • Vitamin B12 and folate deficiency. Lab Tests Online UK. www.labtestsonline.org.uk, published 20 October 2011
  • Pre-conception – advice and management. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published September 2010
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 62nd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2011
  • Your health in pregnancy. Department of Health. www.dh.gov.uk, published October 2009
  • Folic acid – food factsheet. The British Dietetic Association. www.dba.uk.com, published May 2010
  • Neural tube defects – factsheet 59. Centre for Genetics Education. 

相關文章

一型糖尿病

糖尿病是一種慢性疾病,表現為血液中的糖分失控。當體內缺乏天然胰島素時,就會引致糖尿病。

閱讀更多

二型糖尿病

二型糖尿病是終身疾病,患者的身體對天然荷爾蒙胰島素無反應,以致無法完善調節血糖數量,其成因通常是肥胖所致。二型糖尿病又稱非胰島素依賴型糖尿病。

閱讀更多

運動的好處

經常運動是健康生活的關鍵之一,注重運動的人往往較長壽,而且患上心臟病、癌症及糖尿病等危疾的風險也較低。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。