Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Heart failure

Heart failure is a term used to describe the condition when the heart isn't pumping blood around the body as well as it should be.

 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

About heart failure

Heart failure is the result of damage to your heart muscle. This damage may weaken your heart, but it doesn't mean that your heart is about to stop. Your heart's pumping action may be weaker, which makes it more difficult to pump as much blood and oxygen as you need around your body. As your heart can’t keep up with your body's demand for oxygen, you develop symptoms of heart failure.

You're more likely to get heart failure the older you get. About one in every 100 people under 65 has heart failure, but this figure increases to between six and seven in every 100 people aged between 75 and 84, and up to 22 in every 100 people over 85.

Heart failure is usually a chronic condition. A chronic illness is one that lasts a long time, sometimes for the rest of the affected person's life. When describing an illness, the term 'chronic' refers to how long a person has it, not to how serious a condition is.

Symptoms of a heart failure

Your symptoms will depend on whether the left, right or both sides of your heart are affected. Your symptoms may change depending on how far advanced your condition is. It's important to be able to recognise the symptoms of heart failure and if you feel your symptoms are getting worse, see your GP.

Common symptoms of heart failure include:

  • extreme tiredness
  • breathlessness
  • swollen feet, ankles or abdomen (tummy)

Left-sided heart failure affects your lungs and your ability to breathe. Symptoms may include breathlessness at rest or during exercise, coughing, wheezing and extreme tiredness. If you have very severe heart failure, you may cough up froth or blood and you're more likely to get chest infections.

Right-sided heart failure affects the fluid balance in your body. You might get symptoms such as swollen feet, ankles and abdomen, or extreme tiredness, feeling sick and weight gain.

These symptoms aren't always caused by heart failure, but if you have them, see your GP.

Complications of a heart failure

People with heart failure are more likely to have:

  • a poor quality of life – this is because it's harder to carry out everyday activities
  • an irregular heart beat (arrhythmia)
  • sexual problems
  • depression – up to one third of people with heart failure have depression
  • deep vein thrombosis
  • stroke
Causes of a heart failure

There are many causes of heart failure, of which some of the most common include:

  • coronary heart disease – the most common cause
  • high blood pressure (hypertension)
  • damaged heart valves
  • disease of the heart muscle as a result of genetic causes – for example, cardiomyopathy
  • drinking alcohol excessively
  • severe lung disease
  • an overactive thyroid gland (hyperthyroidism)
  • anaemia
Diagnosis of a heart failure

Your GP will ask you about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history.

There are a number of tests your GP may recommend that you have. Some examples are listed below.

  • Blood and urine tests can check your blood count, your liver and kidney function and other indicators of heart failure.
  • An ECG measures the electrical activity of the heart to see how well it's working.
  • An echocardiogram uses an ultrasound probe to check the structure of your heart and see how well it's functioning.

If your GP thinks your symptoms could also be the result of lung problems, he or she may recommend you have:

  • a chest X-ray to confirm if you have heart failure and to rule out other conditions
  • lung function tests, such as peak flow measurements or spirometry tests, to show how well your lungs are working
Treatment of a heart failure

Treatment of heart failure is aimed at relieving your symptoms, making your heart stronger and improving your quality of life.

Self-help

You can improve your symptoms by making various changes to your lifestyle, including:

  • eating a healthy, balanced diet
  • cutting down on salt
  • stopping smoking
  • taking regular exercise
  • drinking alcohol in moderation or not at all if alcohol has caused your heart failure
  • maintaining a healthy weight
  • monitoring how much fluid you drink and weighing yourself daily
  • managing stress
  • having the annual flu vaccine

If you need help with any of these lifestyle changes, talk to your GP. He or she may be able to arrange for you to attend a rehabilitation programme and offer information and support.

Medicines

There is a range of medicines available that can be used to relieve the symptoms of heart failure and help you live longer. Different medicines treat different symptoms, so you may be given more than one medicine. It’s important you take each one correctly so that each can do its job properly.

Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your GP or pharmacist for advice.

Angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors

ACE inhibitors widen your blood vessels making it easier for your heart to pump blood around the body. ACE inhibitors are given to most people with heart failure. Side-effects may include a dry cough and low blood pressure, which may make you feel dizzy. If you get a cough when taking ACE inhibitors, see your GP.

Angiotensin II receptor blockers

Angiotensin II receptor blockers (also called angiotensin receptor antagonists) work in a similar way to ACE inhibitors. These medicines lower your blood pressure and stop your symptoms from getting worse. You may be given these if you can't take ACE inhibitors because of the side-effects.

Beta-blockers

There are many different types of >beta-blocker but only certain ones are used to treat heart failure. Beta-blockers cause the arteries to widen and they slow down the heart rate. This helps to lower your blood pressure and the amount of work your heart does. If you have asthma or other heart problems, you may not be given beta-blockers. Side-effects can include tiredness, cold hands and feet, disrupted sleep and impotence in men.

Diuretics

Diuretics can help to reduce swollen feet and ankles, and prevent fluid build-up on the lungs, allowing you to be more active and breathe more easily. Diuretics cause your body to get rid of excess fluid by making you urinate more often. Your heart won't have to work as hard if there's less fluid to pump around the body. If you have gout, diuretics can make it worse. They can also lower your blood pressure, which may make you feel dizzy.

Aldosterone antagonists

Spironolactone or eplerenone are two types of common aldosterone antagonists. They work in a similar way to diuretics by affecting the balance of water and salts going into your urine. These medicines can cause sickness and may affect how well your kidneys work. Your GP may want to do regular blood tests to check your kidney function if you take this medicine.

Digoxin

Digoxin helps if you have a rapid or irregular heart beat by slowing down your heart rate. Side-effects may include sickness and diarrhoea. If you get these side-effects, see your GP.

Anticoagulants

Anticoagulants, also known as blood thinners, reduce how well your blood can clot. They do not actually thin the blood. Anticoagulants such as warfarin are used to help prevent harmful blood clots from forming. You're more likely to get blood clots if you have heart failure because your heart's pumping action is weaker causing the blood to pool in the body. Blood clots can block narrow blood vessels and stop blood getting to parts of your body. If blood can't get to your brain, this can cause a stroke. Your GP will consider your risk of having a stroke before prescribing you anticoagulants.

Antiplatelets

Antiplatelets, such as aspirin, stops blood clots from forming by preventing blood platelets sticking together. Aspirin is not usually taken with warfarin. Side-effects may include sickness and stomach pain.

Other treatments

Pacemaker

A pacemaker is a small device that sends electrical signals to your heart to stimulate it to beat at a specific rate. There are several different types of pacemaker. A pacemaker is usually implanted under the skin of your upper chest and is fitted under local anaesthesia – this completely blocks the feeling from your chest area and you will stay awake during the operation.

Cardiac re-synchronisation therapy

Cardiac re-synchronisation therapy restores the normal pumping action of the heart. A specific type of pacemaker is fitted under the skin of your upper chest. The device sends electrical currents to leads connected to the different parts of your heart so they contract in synchronisation with each other.

Implantable cardioverter defibrillator

An implantable cardioverter defibrillator is similar to a pacemaker, and is usually implanted under the skin below your collarbone. They can monitor your heart rhythm and deliver a small electric shock to return your heartbeat and rhythm back to normal if it detects a problem. Implantable cardioverter defibrillators are usually fitted under local anaesthesia.

Surgery

Transplantation

If you have very severe heart failure, a heart transplant may be an option. Heart transplants can be very successful but they aren't suitable for everybody because of the risks of surgery. There are also a limited number of donor hearts available.

Valve replacement

If your heart failure is caused by one or more of the valves in your heart not working properly, replacing these valves may improve your symptoms.

Coronary artery bypass graft

If your heart failure is caused by coronary heart disease, you may be offered a coronary artery bypass graft. This aims to bypass your blocked arteries to increase the blood flow to your heart. This can help to improve the pumping action of your heart.

Prevention of heart failure

You're less likely to get heart failure if you take steps to follow a healthy lifestyle.

You can reduce your chance of getting heart failure by:

  • ·not smoking
  • losing excess weight
  • doing regular physical activity – aim for 30 minutes on at least five days a week
  • eating a healthy, balanced diet without too much salt
  • ·not drinking more than four units of alcohol a day for men or three units for women

If you have a condition that can lead to heart failure, for example high blood pressure, it's important to get treatment as soon as possible to try to prevent heart failure developing.

Common Questions
  • 1. What can I do to help ease my symptoms?

Although medicines can help, there are many things you can do yourself to try to manage your symptoms.

The most common symptoms people with heart failure get are breathlessness, tiredness and swollen feet and ankles. Below are some practical tips on how to cope with your symptoms.

You may have difficulty breathing while lying on your back or sleeping because of the fluid that builds up in your lungs. Keeping yourself propped up with pillows may help you breathe more easily and stop the breathlessness disturbing your sleep. You may also get some wheezing and coughing as a result of the build-up of fluid in your lungs. Try not to have too much salt in your diet. Too much salt makes the body hold on to more fluid than usual, causing congestion of your lungs and making you short of breath. Contact your GP if you get severe or persistent breathlessness.

You may feel tired all the time and find it difficult to carry out everyday activities like shopping, walking or climbing a flight of stairs. This happens because your heart can't pump enough blood around your body and the blood that it does pump goes to your vital organs, for example your heart and brain, instead of to your exercising muscles. It's important to pace yourself and give yourself plenty of time to do daily activities. Try breaking up big tasks into small parts and ask for help from your friends and family. Keep a diary to monitor your levels of tiredness so you can notice any changes.

Swollen feet and ankles are caused by your body holding on to water and salt. This causes the excess fluid to leak out of your blood vessels and into surrounding areas of your body. You may get swelling of your feet, ankles and lower legs, but it can also spread much further to include the whole of your leg, groin and the lower part of your abdomen.

Try not to sit or stand for long periods of time and keep your feet raised when resting – use a stool or chair to rest your feet on. You may also find it easier to wear comfortable shoes and socks that aren't too tight. It's also important to keep active by walking and regularly moving your calves and feet.

2. Do I have to stop exercising if I have heart failure?

Most people with heart failure can still do regular exercise. In fact, exercise can improve your symptoms. Speak to your GP before starting an exercise programme.

Exercise guidelines differ depending on how serious your heart failure is and what treatment you're having. Studies have shown that if you have heart failure, keeping active may improve your quality of life because it enables you to do everyday activities more easily.

Exercise should be done as part of a rehabilitation programme. Rehabilitation programmes are designed to be specific to your needs. You can expect a cardiac rehabilitation programme to usually last between 11 and 16 sessions. They usually involve group-based education and exercise sessions. The education sessions will provide you with advice and support on many lifestyle areas including managing your weight, help giving up smoking and relaxation techniques. The exercise sessions are likely to involve a gentle warm-up followed by a range of exercises designed specifically for you to improve your fitness, and then end with a cool-down period.

Speak to your GP if you would like more information about cardiac rehabilitation programmes.

3. Will I need to take medicines for the rest of my life?

Yes, it's likely that you will need to take one or more medicines for the rest of your life. Don't stop taking your medication or change how much or how often you take it without speaking to your GP first.

Medicines are likely to help ease your symptoms of heart failure, although there is no cure for the condition. Finding the right combination of medicines to suit you may take some time depending on your symptoms, how severe your heart failure is and if you have other medical conditions.

Most medicines can cause side-effects and your GP will monitor you closely. It's important to see your GP or pharmacist if you have any questions or worries about your medicines.

4. Can I travel with heart failure?  

You may be able to carry on driving depending on how serious your heart failure is. Speak to your GP and contact your motor insurer so that you're aware of their recommendations. If your heart failure is under control, you can probably travel safely by air.

You can drive your car as long as you have no symptoms that could distract you. If you drive lorries or buses, you may need regular exercise tests to make sure you're well enough to continue doing so. If your symptoms are more serious, you may not be able to carry on driving. If you feel unwell, dizzy or your symptoms get worse, don't drive.

Most people with heart failure can travel by air, but you should tell the airline you're travelling with beforehand.

During the flight, your legs and ankles may swell and breathing may get more difficult if you have severe heart failure. Try to do some stretches and walk around the cabin regularly. It's important to be aware that places at high altitude and places that are hot or humid may make your symptoms worse.

When travelling, it's important to take your medication as you usually would.

Resources
  • About heart failure. American Heart Association.www.heart.org, accessed 20 January 2011
  • Heart failure. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 17 November 2010
  • Heart failure. BMJ Clinical Evidence.www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published 25 February 2010
  • Chronic heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Heart failure – chronic. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, published November 2010
  • Prevalence of heart failure. British Heart Foundation Statistics Website.www.heartstats.org, published 18 October 2010
  • Management of chronic heart failure. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), February 2007.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Faris RF, Flather M, Purcell H, et al. Diuretics for heart failure. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 1. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003838.pub2
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 436
  • ESC guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of acute and chronic heart failure 2008. European Society of Cardiology, 2008.www.escardio.org
  • Understanding NICE guidance, chronic heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Understanding heart failure.www.heartfailurematters.org, published June 2009
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society; 2010
  • Treatment. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 November 2010
  • Cardiac resynchronisation therapy for the treatment of heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), May 2007.www.nice.org.uk
  • Recovery. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 November 2010
  • Cardiac rehabilitation: a national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), 2002.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Standards and core components for cardiac rehabilitation. British Association for Cardiac Rehabilitation, 2007.www.bcs.com
  • For medical practitioners: at a glance guide to the current medical standards of fitness to drive. Department for Transport.www.dft.gov.uk, published February 2011

You might also like

Coronary heart disease

Coronary heart disease is due to fatty deposits building up on the walls of the arteries to the heart. It causes angina, which is chest pain.

Learn more

Having your heart valve replaced

Your operation involves replacing a damaged valve in your heart with one made of synthetic material (a mechanical valve) or animal tissue (usually from a pig).

Learn more

Obesity in adults

Obesity is a condition in which excess body fat affects a person's health. It usually happens because a person eats too many calories (energy) and doesn't do enough physical activity. Obesity increases the risk of a number of health problems including cancer, heart disease and type 2 diabetes.

Learn more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

心臟衰竭

心臟衰竭指心臟泵血輸送到身體各部分的功能發生問題。

 

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

關於心臟衰竭

心臟衰竭是心肌受損所致,心臟功能可能會因此減弱,但卻不會導致心臟停止跳動。患者心臟的泵血功能可能較弱,難以輸送足夠血液和氧份供應身體各部分。由於心臟無法滿足身體的氧份須要,患者會出現心臟衰竭徵狀。

隨著年齡增長,心臟衰竭的風險亦相應提高,每10065歲以下人士中,約有一人會出現心臟衰竭,患者會隨年齡增長遞增,75歲至84歲人群的風險比率為每100人中約有六至七人患上,85歲以上人士的數字更高達每100人約22人患上。

心臟衰竭通常是慢性疾病。慢性疾病指長期持續的病症,有時患者會終身受病症影響。「慢性」是指疾病的持續時間,與疾病的嚴重性無關。

心臟衰竭的徵狀

患者的徵狀視乎受影響的心臟部位,即左邊、右邊或兩邊,此外亦視乎疾病的發展階段。最重要是患者能意識到心臟衰竭徵狀,假如徵狀加劇便應見醫生。

心臟衰竭的常見徵狀包括:

  • 極度疲累
  • 呼吸困難
  • 足、足踝或腹部腫脹

左心衰竭會影響肺部和呼吸,徵狀包括休息或運動時氣促、咳嗽、氣喘及極度疲累。嚴重心臟衰竭的患者或會吐白沫或咳血,也較易胸部感染。

右心衰竭會影響身體的體液平衡,徵狀包括足、足踝或腹部腫脹或極度疲累、作嘔和消瘦。

以上徵狀不一定是心臟衰竭所致,但若有發現也應見醫生。
心臟衰竭的併發症

心臟衰竭患者常會出現下列併發症:

  • 生活質素下降因為日常活動出現障礙
  • 心跳不規則(心律不整)
  • 性生活問題
  • 抑鬱多達三分之一心臟衰竭患者出現抑鬱
  • 深靜脈血栓
  • 中風
心臟衰竭的成因

心臟衰竭的成因很多,以下是較常見的原因:

  • 冠心病最常見病因
  • 高血壓
  • 心瓣受損
  • 因遺傳患上心肌疾病例如心肌病
  • 過量飲酒
  • 嚴重肺病
  • 甲狀腺功能亢進
  • 貧血
診斷心臟衰竭

醫生會詢問患者的徵狀和為他/她檢查,此外亦會詢問患者的病歷。

醫生或會建議做多項檢測,包括:

  • 血尿化驗以檢查血球數量、肝及腎功能和其他心臟衰竭指標
  • 心電圖(ECG) 檢查心臟電流活動,評估心臟是否運作正常
  • 超聲心動圖檢查(Echocardiogram) — 利用超聲波探頭檢查心臟結構,評估心臟功能是否正常

如醫生認為徵狀可能是肺部疾病引致,便會建議進行下列檢查:

  • 胸部X(Chest X-ray) — 確認患者是否心臟衰竭,並排除其他疾病
  • 肺功能測試(Lung Function Tests),例如測定肺最高呼氣量或肺量計檢查,鑑定肺部功能是否正常
治療心臟衰竭

心臟衰竭的治療以紓緩徵狀、強化心臟和改善生活質素為主。

自我護療

患者可自行改變生活習慣紓緩不適徵狀:

  • 飲食要健康均衡
  • 少吃鹽
  • 戒煙
  • 經常運動
  • 如心臟衰竭是飲酒引致,今後飲酒便要節制,最好戒酒
  • 保持健康體重
  • 監察飲用流質的份量,每日量體重
  • 紓減壓力
  • 每年注射流感預防針

有關如何作出上述生活改變,可請教醫生,他/她或可安排您參加復康計劃及提供其他資訊和支援。

藥物

心臟衰竭的藥物有多種,它們可紓緩不適徵狀和延長患者壽命。由於藥物所針對的徵狀各有不同,醫生或會處方多種藥物,患者必須正確服用每種藥物,才可確保它們發揮應有的療效。

服用藥物前必須細閱藥品隨附的說明書,如有疑問請諮詢醫生或藥劑師意見。

血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑(Angiotensin-converting Enzyme (ACE) Inhibitors) 
血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑(ACE Inhibitors)可擴闊血管,幫助心臟將血液暢順輸送到身體各部分。大部分心臟衰竭患者也會獲處方血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑,這類藥物的副作用包括乾咳及低血壓,患者或會感頭暈。服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑期間如有咳嗽,請見醫生。

血管緊張素II受體對抗劑(Angiotensin II Receptor Blockers) 
血管緊張素II受體對抗劑(又名血管緊張素受體拮抗劑(Angiotensin Receptor Antagonists))的功效與血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑相似,可降低血壓和防止徵狀惡化。如患者服用血管緊張素轉化酵素抑制劑出現副作用,醫生便可能處方這種藥物。

β受體阻劑(Beta-blockers) 
β
受體阻劑有多類但只有某些適用於治療心臟衰竭。β受體阻劑會令動脈擴張和緩化心律,從而降低血壓和減輕心臟的工作負荷。如患者有哮喘或其他心臟問題,醫生通常不會為處方β受體阻劑。這類藥物的副作用包括疲倦、手腳冰冷、睡眠斷續和男性陽萎。

利尿劑(Diuretics) 
利尿劑有助減輕足和足踝腫大及防止體液在肺部積聚,讓患者可以過更活躍的生活,呼吸亦更暢順。利尿劑會令身體排出多餘體液,所以服用後會出現尿頻。心臟不用將大量體液輸送到身體各部分,工作量自然減輕。但痛風症患者服用利尿劑可能會加劇病情,此外利尿劑亦可能降低血壓,造成頭暈昏眩。

醛固酮受體阻斷劑(Aldosterone Antagonists) 
安體舒通(Spironlactone)和依普利酮(Eplerenone)是兩種較常用的醛固酮受體阻斷劑,藥效與利尿劑相似,可調節融入尿液的水及鹽份平衡。這類藥物或會導致嘔吐和影響腎臟機能,所以醫生或要定期為服用這種藥物的患者驗血檢測腎功能。

地高辛(Digoxin) 
心跳快速或不規則的人服用地高辛可減慢心律,副作用包括嘔吐和腹瀉。如出現這些副作用請見醫生。

抗凝血劑(Anticoagulants) 
抗凝血劑又稱薄血藥,可降低血凝固功能,實際上不會薄化血液。這類藥物包括華法林(Warfarin),常用於防止血凝塊形成。心臟衰竭患者因為心臟泵血功能不善,導致血液在體內集結,因此較易出現血凝塊。血凝塊會導致血管狹窄,妨礙血液流到身體各部分。如血液無法輸送至腦部便會造成中風。醫生會先評估病人中風的風險,然後才處方抗凝血劑。

抗血小板藥(Antiplatelets) 
阿士匹靈(Aspirin)這類抗血小板藥可防止血小板凝結,從而抑制血凝塊形成。阿士匹靈一般不會與華法林(Warfarin)一同服用,副作用包括作嘔及胃痛。

其他治療方法

心臟起搏器(Pacemaker)

心臟起搏器是可將電流訊號傳送到心臟的小型裝置,它可刺激心臟以指定速率跳動。市面上有幾種起搏器,一般也植入上胸皮下,植裝手術只需局部麻醉,病人胸部毫無感覺,但整個過程也清醒。

心臟再同步治療法(Cardiac Re-synchronisation Therapy)
心臟再同步治療法可令心臟泵血功能恢復正常。醫生會在病人上胸皮下植入一種指定的起搏器。這個裝置會發出電流至接駁心臟不同部分的導管,令它們互相同步收縮。

植入式心臟除顫器(Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator)
植入式心臟除顫器與心臟起搏器相似,通常在鎖骨附近皮下植入,可監察心律和在探測到問題時發出輕微電震令心律恢復正常。植入式心臟除顫器的植入手術一般只需局部麻醉。

手術

心臟移植
極嚴重心臟衰竭患者可考慮接受心臟移植。這種療法可以非常成功,但由於手術存在多項風險,並非所有人也適合,此外捐贈心臟的供應也不多。

心瓣置換手術
若心臟衰竭是因一個或多個心瓣功能異常引致,患者接受心瓣置換手術或可紓緩徵狀。

冠狀動脈搭橋手術
如患者因冠心病導致心臟衰竭,醫生會建議做冠狀動脈搭橋手術,以繞過阻塞動脈,增加輸往心臟的血液流量,從而改善心臟的泵血功能。

預防心臟衰竭

養成健康的生活習慣,便可減低心臟衰竭的風險。

為降低心臟衰竭風險,您應:

  • 戒煙
  • 減去多餘體重
  • 經常運動每星期最少五天,每次30分鐘。
  • 注意飲食健康均衡,少吃鹽
  • 男士每日喝酒不超過四個單位,女士不超過三個單位

假如患有可能導致心臟衰竭的疾病,例如高血壓,必須儘早就醫,以防演變成心臟衰竭。

常見問題

1. 怎麼才可以紓緩徵狀?

藥物固然有幫助,但日常也可以作出一些措施控制徵狀。

心臟衰竭最常見的徵狀是呼吸困難、疲倦、足和足踝腫脹。以下推薦一些實用貼士助您應付不適徵狀。

仰臥或睡覺時肺部積聚體液,可能引致呼吸困難。您可用枕頭墊高身體,令呼吸更暢順,防止因氣促而失眠。肺部積液亦可能引致氣喘及咳嗽,平常飲食忌吃太多鹽,否則體內會積聚更多水份,導致肺充血和氣促。若持續呼吸困難或問題嚴重,請見醫生。

您可能總是感到疲倦,日常活動如購物、步行或上樓梯也應付不來。這是因為心臟泵血功能減弱,輸出的血液只能供應心和腦等主要器官,而不是您運動的肌肉,所以進行日常活動時應慢慢來,避免過勞。不妨將大件工作分多個階段進行,並請朋友或家人幫忙,另應以日記寫下每日的疲倦程度,監察是否有變化。

足部和足踝腫大是因為身體積存水份及鹽份,導致過多體液從血管溢流至附近的身體部分。患者可能足部、足踝或小腿腫脹,腫脹部位也可能蔓延至整條腿、腹股溝及下腹。

切勿長時間坐著或站著,休息時抬高雙腳用小凳或椅子承托腿部,此外穿鞋襪也要注重舒適,不宜太緊,同時要保持活躍,經常步行和移動小腿及雙腳。

2. 心臟衰竭患者是否不能運動?

大部分心臟衰竭病人都可以經常運動,其實運動有助紓緩徵狀。開始運動保健計劃之前請先諮詢醫生。

有關運動的指引因人而異,視乎心臟衰竭的嚴重程度和正在接受的治療而定。研究發現心臟衰竭患者若多做運動,平常起居活動也會較輕鬆,所以有助改善生活質素。

運動應納為復康計劃一部分。復康計劃是針對患者的須要設計,心臟疾病患者的復康計劃通常有1116節,內容一般包括小組教育及運動環節,在生活上許多方面提供指導和支援,例如如何管理體重、戒煙和鬆弛身心的方法等。運動環節通常先做溫和的熱身運動,然後再做一系列專為患者設計的動作,藉此鍛煉體力,最後是緩和運動。

您的醫生可提供更多關於心臟疾病復康計劃的詳情。

3. 我要終生服藥嗎?

對,您大概要終生服用一種或多種藥物。如事前未與醫生商討,切勿停藥或自行調改劑量或服藥的次數。

藥物應可紓緩心臟衰竭的徵狀,但卻不能治癒這種疾病。醫生或需花點時間配搭和試驗,才可找出最適合您的藥物組合,這主要視乎病情有多嚴重和是否有其他疾病。

大部分藥物都可能產生副作用,醫生會緊密監察病人的情況。若對藥物有任何疑問或憂慮,應諮詢醫生或藥劑師。

4. 心臟衰竭患者可以駕車或旅遊遠行嗎?

假如病情不太嚴重,心臟衰竭患者也可以繼續駕車,您可請教醫生和聯絡汽車保險公司查詢,徵詢他們的建議。

若心臟衰竭病情受控,患者坐飛機旅遊應沒有問題。

只要沒有任何徵狀擾亂心神,患者可以駕車。駕駛貨車或巴士的司機必須定期接受運動檢測,確保健康狀況良好適合駕駛。徵狀較嚴重的患者便不宜駕駛。若感不適、頭暈或徵狀加劇,切勿駕駛。

大部分心臟衰竭患者都可以坐飛機,但事前應告知航空公司您的病況。

在航程中腿部和足踝可能腫脹,嚴重心臟衰竭患者更可能呼吸困難。您應不時伸展四肢和在機艙內走動。患者應注意,身處高海拔和炎熱或潮濕地方徵狀會加劇。

出外時切記帶備慣服的藥物。

來源
  • About heart failure. American Heart Association.www.heart.org, accessed 20 January 2011
  • Heart failure. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 17 November 2010
  • Heart failure. BMJ Clinical Evidence.www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published 25 February 2010
  • Chronic heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Heart failure – chronic. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, published November 2010
  • Prevalence of heart failure. British Heart Foundation Statistics Website.www.heartstats.org, published 18 October 2010
  • Management of chronic heart failure. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), February 2007.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Faris RF, Flather M, Purcell H, et al. Diuretics for heart failure. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 1. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD003838.pub2
  • Simon C, Everitt H, van Dorp F. Oxford handbook of general practice. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010: 436
  • ESC guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of acute and chronic heart failure 2008. European Society of Cardiology, 2008.www.escardio.org
  • Understanding NICE guidance, chronic heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), August 2010.www.nice.org.uk
  • Understanding heart failure.www.heartfailurematters.org, published June 2009
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society; 2010
  • Treatment. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 November 2010
  • Cardiac resynchronisation therapy for the treatment of heart failure. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), May 2007.www.nice.org.uk
  • Recovery. British Heart Foundation.www.bhf.org.uk, accessed 22 November 2010
  • Cardiac rehabilitation: a national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), 2002.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Standards and core components for cardiac rehabilitation. British Association for Cardiac Rehabilitation, 2007.www.bcs.com
  • For medical practitioners: at a glance guide to the current medical standards of fitness to drive. Department for Transport.www.dft.gov.uk, published February 2011

相關文章

冠心病

冠心病是由心臟動脈壁脂肪積聚所致,會引起心絞痛,即胸痛。

了解更多

進行更換心瓣手術

手術時,心臟裡受損的心瓣膜會用合成物料(機動性心瓣膜)或動物組織(一般是用豬隻組織)製成的心瓣膜更換。

了解更多

成人肥胖症

肥胖症是因體內脂肪過多而危害健康的情況,成因通常是攝取過多卡路里(熱量)而運動不足。肥胖會增加患上多種疾病的風險,包括癌症、心臟病及二型糖尿病。

了解更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。