Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Work-related stress

Working can be positive because it may give your life structure and provide satisfaction. A certain amount of pressure at work is a good thing because it can help you perform better and prepare you for challenges and actions. However, if pressure and demands become too much, they can lead to work-related stress, such as feeling inadequate or having poor working conditions. Work-related stress can be caused by a number of things. You might feel under pressure at work because of your workload, deadlines, the environment you work in or your colleagues.

There are a number of factors that cause work-related stress, including:

  • poor working conditions, such as noise or bad lighting
  • long working hours
  • relationships with colleagues
  • having too much or too little to do
  • lack of control in the working environment
  • not feeling valued for the work you do
  • bullying at work
  • being under pressure to meet deadlines

You may feel stressed if you're in the wrong job for your skills, abilities and expectations. Sometimes there is no single cause of work-related stress. It can be caused by a build-up of small things over time.

Work-related stress can cause psychological, emotional, physical and behavioural problems. Because everyone reacts to stress in different ways depending on their personality and how they respond to pressure, symptoms may vary. However, some common psychological symptoms include:

  • feeling that you can't cope
  • being unable to concentrate
  • lacking confidence
  • a loss of motivation and commitment
  • disappointment with yourself

You might also have emotional symptoms, such as:

  • negative or depressive feelings
  • increased emotional reactions (for example, you're tearful or sensitive)
  • irritability or having a short temper
  • feeling overwhelmed
  • mood swings

You may also get physical symptoms. These may include:

  • diarrhoea or constipation
  • indigestion
  • headaches
  • weight changes
  • chest pains
  • joint or back pain

Your behaviour might also change and may include:

  • eating more or less
  • sleeping too much or too little
  • isolating yourself from others
  • drinking alcohol, smoking or taking illegal drugs to relax

These symptoms and signs may be caused by problems other than work-related stress. If you have any of these symptoms and signs, see a doctor for advice.

To be able to tackle work-related stress, it's important to recognise the symptoms or any changes in your behaviour. The sooner you realise that it's causing you problems, the sooner you can take action to make things better.

Remember that some days will be more stressful than others so it's important not to overreact to small changes in your behaviour. However, if you feel stressed over a long period of time or any changes in your behaviour continue, you should seek help.

Don't be afraid to ask your doctor or your company for help or advice if you're feeling stressed because of work. You may have a human resources department at work that can help.

Your doctor will usually be able to recognise the symptoms of stress and give you advice about how to deal with it. Your doctor can also refer you to a counsellor if you need one.

There are a number of ways to reduce the negative impact of work-related stress. Most of them involve the way you work and your working environment. If these don't work, your doctor may recommend other options, such as cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) or medicines to help treat work-related stress.
 
Self-help
Try to recognise what you find stressful at work and what helps you work better. Some things you may need to discuss with your colleagues or manager. However, there are several things you can do to help yourself:
  • Make your working environment as comfortable to work in as you can. If it isn't, ask for help from the relevant person at work.
  • Try to develop good relationships with your colleagues – this can help to create a support network at work.
  • Learn to say no if you can't take on extra work or responsibility – make sure you're able to explain why.
  • Take a walk or get some fresh air during the day – exercise and daylight are good for both your mental and physical health.
  • Eat a balanced diet, rich in fruit and vegetables, and drink enough water.
  • Try not to drink too much alcohol – drinking too much is likely to make you feel worse and more stressed in the long run.
  • Work regular hours and take the breaks and holidays you're entitled to – it's important to take time off work.
  • Maintain a healthy work-life balance. Don't neglect your family or relationships outside of work.
If you feel stressed or anxious at work, talk to someone you trust about what upsets you or what makes you feel stressed. This person could be someone at work or outside of it. It's important to talk directly to your manager if you're stressed because of work. He or she has a duty to help you resolve the problem or cause. Explain how you're feeling and discuss your workload.
 
Try to do regular exercise as this can help to reduce stress. Exercise helps reduce stress hormones (chemicals produced by the body) and stimulates the release of endorphins in your body (the hormones that make you feel good). The World Health Organization recommends doing 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise (this means your breathing is faster, your heart rate is increased and you feel warmer) over a week. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week. You can incorporate exercise into your daily routine – do something you enjoy like gardening, walking or dancing. Everyday tasks, such as housework, can also be good exercise.
 
If you feel you're being bullied or harassed at work, speak to your manager or your company's human resources department. Most companies have policies in place to deal with this type of problem.
 
You may find it helpful to learn relaxation techniques, such as breathing exercises and meditation, to help you relax and manage stressful situations.
 
Some people find yoga or Pilates effective at reducing stress and anxiety. Yoga postures and controlled breathing exercises help you control your body and relax your mind.
 
Talking therapies
CBT is a talking treatment that can help reduce anxiety and stress. It aims to change the way you think or behave and helps you to challenge negative thoughts or feelings.
 
Medication
Sometimes, depending on how severe your stress is, your doctor may prescribe you antidepressant medicines. Although antidepressants are primarily used to treat depression, many can be prescribed for other conditions, such as different forms of anxiety.
 

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

 

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Limited Time Offer】

Enjoy up to 23% discount* + Earn 1 MoneyBack point for every HK$5 premiums in our selected health insurance products.

*The offer is applicable to designated schemes. Please contact us at 2517 5860 for details.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

工作壓力

工作壓力是當工作量超出個人負擔能力時出現的負面反應,有時工作上遇到難題亦會產生壓力,例如自覺無法勝任或工作環境惡劣。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

工作有很多好處,它可以為您帶來有規律的生活模式,還可以帶來滿足感。工作上有些微壓力其實一點也不壞,因為這樣可以激勵您做得更好,讓您為未來的挑戰及行動作好準備。不過,若壓力和要求太沉重,則可能造成工作壓力。

工作壓力有許多觸發因素。工作量、工作限期、工作環境或同事的言行都會令人承受壓力。

工作壓力或會導致心理、情緒、生理及行為問題。由於每個人的性格都不同,面對壓力的反應、應對壓力的方法和徵狀也不一樣,但以下的心理徵狀十分常見:

  • 感覺應付不來
  • 無法專注
  • 缺乏信心
  • 缺乏推動力和堅持意志
  • 對自己感到失望

除此之外並會出現情緒問題,例如:

  • 負面或抑鬱感覺
  • 情緒反應過激(例如易哭或對事物特別敏感)
  • 易怒或易發脾氣
  • 感覺透不過氣來
  • 情緒大上大落

有時亦會出現生理問題,例如:

  • 腹瀉或便秘
  • 消化不良
  • 頭痛
  • 體重改變
  • 胸口痛
  • 關節疼痛或背痛

行為也可能出現變化,例如:

  • 食量增加或減少
  • 渴睡或睡眠不足
  • 孤僻離群
  • 為求放鬆而飲酒、吸煙或服用禁藥

這些徵狀亦可能是與工作壓力無關的其他因素引致。如發現有上述徵狀,應諮詢醫生的意見。

承受工作壓力的人往往會有以下的表現:

  • 總是趕忙完成手上工作
  • 同一時間做多件事情
  • 不休息或不吃午飯
  • 把工作帶回家
  • 運動或放鬆的時間不足
  • 減少與家人相聚
  • 假期時並不放假
  • 延長工作時間

許多因素也會引致工作壓力,其中包括:

  • 工作環境欠佳,例如噪音太大或光線不足
  • 工作時間長
  • 與同事關係不和睦
  • 工作量太多或太少
  • 沒法控制工作環境
  • 自感工作表現不被重視
  • 工作期間遭受欺凌
  • 趕限期承受壓力

假如現有工作崗位不適合,與個人工作技能、能力和期望不符,亦可能產生壓力。有些人的工作壓力沒有特別成因,或許是微不足道的事情日積月累所致。

若要有效應對工作壓力,必須懂得識別徵狀和行為上的變化,愈早發現問題的成因,便可愈快行動尋求改善。

不要忘記有些日子總是壓力堆着來,所以即使行為偶爾輕微改變也不須反應過敏。但是,假如長期受壓或行為持續改變,便應尋求協助。

如因工作承受壓力,別害怕向醫生或僱主求助或諮詢意見。公司的人力資源部或可提供支援。

醫生通常可識別壓力徵狀並指導如何應對,如有需要並可轉介輔導治療師。

減低工作壓力有多種方法,大部分都與工作方式和工作環境有關。假如無效,醫生或會建議其他方案,例如透過認知行為治療或處方藥物舒緩工作壓力。

自我護療

嘗試想想壓力最大的工作環節,以及甚麼會令您工作時更得心應手。有些事情可以與同事或上司商談,但與此同時亦可採取一些措施自我調節:

  • 儘量使工作環境舒適,假如沒法自行改善,便應向相關的同事或部門反映。
  • 嘗試拓展同事間的友好關係 — 這有助建立互相支援的工作人際網絡。
  • 假如額外工作或職責令您不勝負荷,必須學懂如何拒絕 — 記着解釋為甚麼不能執行這些職務。
  • 每天找時間散散步或呼吸新鮮空氣 — 運動和陽光對身心都有益。
  • 注意飲食均衡,多吃蔬果和多飲水。
  • 儘量不要飲太多酒 — 長遠來說,攝取過量酒精會令您感覺更差,壓力更大。
  • 工作時間應有規律,注意按時休息和休假 — 工作同時必須爭取時間休息。
  • 確保工作及個人生活平衡發展,工作之餘也不要忽略家人或伴侶。

假如工作令您感到壓力沉重和焦慮,不妨找一位可以信任的人傾訴,說出甚麼令您煩惱和感到有壓力。傾訴對象可以是同事或其他人。工作上面對壓力,必須直接向上司反映,上司有責任助您解決問題或成因。您應說出自己的感受,與上司商討工作量的問題。

儘量經常多做運動,這有助減輕壓力。運動可減少壓力荷爾蒙(身體製造的化學物)和刺激身體釋放安多酚(令人感覺愉快的荷爾蒙)。世界衛生組織建議每星期合共做150分鐘(兩個半小時)適度運動(即呼吸和心跳加快,感覺有些熱)。您可考慮每星期最少做五天運動,每次30分鐘,另日常亦可多點勞動,做一些自己喜歡的活動,例如做園藝、散步或跳舞。日常事務如家務也是很好的運動。

假如在工作場所遭受欺凌或騷擾,應通知上司或公司人力資源部。大部分企業均有相關政策處理這類問題。

不妨學習一些鬆弛技巧,例如深呼吸和打坐靜思,幫助自己放鬆,調節情緒面對造成壓力的事態。

有些人覺得瑜珈或普拉提有助舒緩壓力及焦慮情緒。瑜珈的姿勢和呼吸訓練可助您控制身體和放鬆心情。

談話治療

認知行為治療是一種可舒緩焦慮及壓力的談話治療,目的在於改變患者的思維或行為,幫助他們克服負面想法或感受。

藥物

視乎壓力的嚴重程度,醫生或會為患者處方抗抑鬱藥物。抗抑鬱藥物主要用於治療抑鬱症,但有時亦可處方治療其他疾病,例如各類焦慮症。

輔助治療

按摩和香氛治療可促進全人健康,營造舒適的環境,有助鬆弛身心。現時沒有足夠科學證據鑑定香氛治療能否有效治療壓力,或許確有療效。香氛治療並非所有人也適合。

其他可能有助舒緩壓力的輔助治療包括針炙、想像療法及腳底按摩,但目前尚未有足夠研究結果顯示這些療法是否有成效。開始任何輔助療程或治療之前請先諮詢醫生的意見。

上述各種療法是否可以進行或醫生會否使用因國家而異。患者應諮詢醫生關於可選擇的治療方案。

來源

  • Mind guide to managing stress. Mind. www.mind.org.uk , published 2009
  • Personal communication, Dr Gabrielle Pendlebury, Honarary Research Fellow, Institute of Psychiatry, 27 October 2011
  • All about stress. Stress Management Society. www.stress.org.uk , accessed 15 September 2011
  • Work related stress. Health and Safety Executive. www.hse.gov.uk , accessed 29 September 2011
  • Mind guide to surviving working life. Mind. www.mind.org.uk , published 2010
  • Where’s daddy?: the UK fathering deficit. The Work Foundation. www.theworkfoundation.co.uk , accessed 28 September 2011
  • Stress. Mental Health Foundation. www.mentalhealth.org.uk , accessed 15 September 2011
  • Human resource manager. Health and Safety Executive. www.hse.gov.uk , accessed 19 October 2011
  • Stress. British Heart Foundation. www.bhf.org.uk , accessed 15 September 2011
  • Alcohol: a cure for stress? Drinkaware. www.drinkaware.co.uk , published February 2010
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk
  • Top ten stress busting tips. International Stress Management Association UK. www.isma.org.uk , accessed 15 September 2011
  • Medical and alternative treatment. Mind. www.mind.org.uk , published 2009
  • FAQs. Aromatherapy Trade Council. www.a-t-c.org.uk , accessed 11 October 2011
  • Hangovers at work – advice for employers. Drinkaware. www.drinkaware.co.uk , published May 2010
  • Hvidtfeldt UA, Tolstrup JS, Jakobsen MU, et al. Alcohol intake and risk of coronary heart disease in younger, middle-aged and older adults. Circulation 2010; 121(14):1589–97.doi:10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.109.887513
  • High blood pressure (hypertension). Mayo Clinic. www.mayoclinic.com , published August 2010

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。