Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Gastroscopy

Your doctor has recommended that you have a gastroscopy and this fact sheet provides some information about the procedure. If it does not answer all your questions, or if you have any worries, please do not hesitate to ask your specialist or nurse for more information.
It is natural to feel a bit nervous about having any medical procedure, but often knowing what to expect can help.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

A gastroscopy is an examination of the upper part of the gastrointestinal tract - the oesophagus (gullet), stomach and duodenum (the first part of the small intestine). This is done using a flexible, tube-like telescope called an endoscope, which is about the thickness of a little finger. The endoscope is passed through the mouth and into the oesophagus. The procedure may also be simply referred to as an endoscopy.

 

A gastroscopy is useful for finding out what is causing your symptoms, or as a check-up for certain gastrointestinal conditions. During the procedure, the doctor may take a biopsy - a sample of the lining of the gullet, stomach or duodenum - for examination in the laboratory.

 

Gastroscopy is routinely performed as an outpatient or day case, requiring no overnight stay in hospital. A general anaesthetic is not generally required, but you may be given a sedative to help ensure that you are relaxed and comfortable.

A gastroscopy usually takes about 10-15 minutes. The procedure will not hurt but may feel uncomfortable to begin with. As the endoscope passes through your oesophagus, and not the trachea (windpipe), you will be able to breathe normally throughout the procedure.

 

Preparing for the procedure

For the doctor to get a clear view through the endoscope, the stomach needs to be empty. To achieve this, you will need to avoid eating for three to four hours before the test but can sip clear fluids for up to two hours before the test.

 

Sedation and pain relief

Modern endoscopes are thin and quite easy to swallow. The doctor may spray a local anaesthetic into the back of your throat or give you a lozenge to suck to numb the throat area.

In some cases, you and your doctor may decide that you need a sedative. Your doctor will explain what to expect, but it generally involves an injection into a vein in the back of the hand. Almost immediately, this will make you feel relaxed and drowsy.

 

 

Gastroscopy is a very commonly performed and generally safe procedure. For most people, the benefits of having a clear diagnosis, or quick and effective treatment are much greater than any disadvantages. However, like all invasive medical procedures, there are some risks. These can be divided into the risk of side-effects and the risk of complications.

 

Side-effects

These are the unwanted, but usually mild and temporary, effects of a successful procedure. After a gastroscopy, you may feel bloated, but this usually clears up quite quickly. If you have a sedative, it may make you feel sleepy.

 

Complications

Your doctor will be very experienced at performing endoscopies but, even so, a few are not successfully completed and may need to be repeated.

Other complications are uncommon, but it is possible for the oesophagus, stomach or intestine to be damaged or, in rare and extreme cases, perforated during the procedure. This can lead to bleeding and infection, which may require treatment with medicines or surgery.

The chance of complications depends on the exact type of procedure you are having and other factors such as your general health. You should ask your specialist to explain how these risks apply to you.

You will rest in a full-length chair or on a bed for about half an hour, or longer if you’ve had a sedative.

The effects of any sedative may last longer than you expect, so you should not drive, operate machinery or drink alcohol for 24 hours after your examination. This means that you will have to arrange for someone to take you home and stay with you for the first day.

Once home, its sensible to take it easy for the next 24 hours. Most patients feel able to resume normal activities on the following day.

If a sedative has been given, the procedure will not start until it has taken effect. With you resting comfortably on your side, on a bed or examining couch, the endoscope will be carefully inserted into your mouth. The natural swallowing action will help the endoscope pass into the gullet and down towards the stomach.

Air will be passed through the tube and into the stomach to make the lining easier to see. When this happens, you may briefly feel a sensation of fullness or nausea. At the end of the endoscope, a tiny light and lens enable the doctor to see if any disease is present. If necessary, the doctor will take a small biopsy of tissue for analysis. This is a quick and painless process, using specialist instruments that can be passed inside the endoscope. 

When the examination is finished, the endoscope is removed quickly and easily.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

You might also like

Radiotherapy

About radiotherapy Radiotherapy can be used to treat many different types of cancer. Radiotherapy works by destroying the DNA inside cancer cells, preventing them from reproducing and so shrinking cancerous tumours. Normal cells will also be affected but they are better able to repair themselves.

Read more

MRI scan

An MRI scan uses magnets and radiowaves to produce detailed images of the inside of the body. It can help to diagnose and monitor many different medical conditions.

Read more

Gallbladder removed

This factsheet is for people who are planning to have gallbladder surgery (cholecystectomy), or who would like information about it.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Call us to enjoy special offers】

Enjoy up to 15 % off & earn 1 Asia Mile for every HK$1.5 premium for designated schemes!
Call us at 2517 5860 for details.*

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

胃鏡檢查

胃鏡檢查利用一條可彎曲的管狀望遠鏡,名為「內窺鏡」,檢查消化道、食道、胃和十二指腸(小腸第一節)。「內窺鏡」約尾指般粗,會從口腔放入食道。這程序也稱為「內窺鏡檢查」。
 
胃鏡檢查有助找出病因,或用作檢查消化道是否有某些疾病。醫生檢查時可能會從食道壁、胃壁或十二指腸壁取一片活組織作樣本,用於實驗室化驗。
 
胃鏡檢查通常以門診或日診方式進行,病人無須留院,也無須全身麻醉,但可能須要服用鎮靜劑,使你感到放鬆和舒適。

胃鏡檢查一般需時約10-15分鐘。過程中,你不會感到痛楚,但起初可能會感到不適。由於內窺鏡是放進食道,而不是氣管,整個過程都不會阻礙呼吸。
 
胃鏡檢查前的準備
為了使醫生看得清楚,胃內必須是空的。因此檢查前3-4小時內應避免進食,但檢查前兩個小時可以喝些清水。
 
鎮靜劑和減輕痛楚
現今的內窺鏡幼細而容易吞嚥。醫生可能會於你的咽喉後部噴麻醉劑,或給你含服糖錠來令咽喉麻木。
 
在某些情況下,你和醫生可能會認為需要鎮靜劑。醫生會向你解釋使用鎮靜劑的情況。通常鎮靜劑會被注射進手背的靜脈,你會頓時感到放鬆和昏昏欲睡。
胃鏡檢查一般都很安全。對大部份病人來說,診斷清楚明確,治療快捷有效,帶來的好處遠多於壞處。然而,所有的外科手術都附帶若干的風險,包括手術所產生的副作用及併發症。
 
副作用
成功的治療常附帶一些副作用,但大多數副作用都是暫時性的。胃鏡檢查後,你可能會感到胃脹。不過,胃脹通常很快消失。而鎮靜劑可能會令你感到昏昏欲睡。
 
胃鏡檢查的併發症
做內窺鏡檢查的醫生經驗豐富,但即使如此,仍可能有少數檢查會有錯失,需要重做。
 
其他併發症比較罕見,但是檢查可能會弄損或刺穿食道、胃或腸,引致出血和感染,而需要以藥物或手術治療。
併發症是否出現取決於檢查的類別及其他因素如身體狀況。你應向醫生查詢這手術對你的風險程度。
如果服用了鎮靜劑,醫生會在藥效發揮時才開始檢查。你只需放鬆地側臥在床。內窺鏡會被小心地放入口腔中,自然的吞嚥動作有助內窺鏡進入食道和胃部。
空氣會由管子注入胃裏,使胃壁易於察看。這時你可能會感到胃脹和作嘔。內窺鏡末端有很幼細的燈和透鏡,讓醫生察看胃部有沒有異常。如有需要,醫生會提取一片活組織作分析。這程序迅速而沒有痛楚,使用的是能通過內窺鏡的專用儀器。
檢查完成後,內窺鏡會快捷輕易地被取出。
你會被安排在長椅上或床上休息約半小時。如服用了鎮靜劑,休息時間會稍長一些。鎮靜劑的效力可能比預期的長,所以你不應於檢查後的二十四小時內駕車、操作機器或飲酒。換言之,當天你需要安排別人送你回家和整天陪伴你。
 
回家後的二十四小時,你應該盡量休息。病人大多在檢查翌日便能恢復正常活動。
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【限時優惠】

投保特選醫療保障計劃可享高達77折* + 賺取HK$5 = 1 易賞錢積分!

*優惠視乎投保產品而定,詳情請致電2517 5860查詢。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。