Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Polycystic ovary syndrome

Polycystic ovaries are small cysts - fluid-filled sacs - on the surface of the ovaries. Some women may also have additional symptoms such as excessive body hair (hirsutism), obesity, infrequent or absent periods and infertility. These are related to hormone-related imbalances and the condition is known as polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS).
 
Women with symptoms of PCOS are at an increased risk of cancer of the womb lining, although the risk is still very rare. Obese women with PCOS are also at greater risk of heart disease and diabetes in later life.

The precise cause of PCOS isn't known although it may, to some degree, be inherited. The complex balance between a number of hormones, the body's natural chemical messengers, is a key factor. In women with PCOS, levels of luteinising hormone, produced by the pituitary gland, and testosterone, produced by the ovaries, are often higher than normal. It's these changes that lead to irregular periods, excess body hair and the other features of PCOS. The way the body responds to insulin, known as insulin resistance, is also a factor. Higher levels of insulin caused by insulin resistance can also increase testosterone levels and this promotes obesity.
 
Most women with PCOS start to notice problems in their late teens or twenties. A range of symptoms is possible, but most women experience one or two of the following:
  • absent, infrequent or irregular periods
  • infertility - absent or irregular ovulation makes it impossible or difficult to conceive without treatment
  • enlarged ovaries - polycystic ovaries are usually 1.5 to 3 times larger than normal. This can sometimes cause abdominal pains.
  • obesity or weight gain - commonly fat-distribution is around the abdomen, giving a typical apple (rather than pear) shaped appearance
  • hirsutism (excess hair) - can develop on the face, chest, stomach, breasts, thumbs or toes
  • alopecia (thinning hair) - a male-pattern baldness can develop, with thinning at the top of the head and the temples
  • acne - increased male hormones can lead to acne and dandruff
  • increased blood levels of male hormones such as testosterone (known as hyperandrogenism)
An ultrasound scan can show that the ovaries are enlarged or polycystic, usually with 10 or more cysts, 6-8 mm in diameter, on the surface of the ovary. An affected ovary is around three times larger than usual. Sometimes only one ovary is affected. If obvious features such as acne and hirsutism are present, there may not be any need to do blood tests, but raised levels of a luteinising hormone and testosterone will confirm the diagnosis.
 
Women with PCOS can have a number of different hormone-related imbalances and in some countries, such as the US, it is hormone levels and symptoms, rather than the presence of cysts that are the key to confirming a diagnosis.
 
The problems caused by PCOS come on gradually. If there's a sudden development of male features such as rapid body hair growth or enlargement of the clitoris, blood tests should be done to rule out conditions such as adrenal gland over activity or ovarian tumours. The doctor may refer women with suspected PCOS to a hospital specialist in endocrinology (medicine relating to the hormones) or, if applicable, a fertility specialist.
Lifestyle
Lifestyle changes may be beneficial and losing excess weight is particularly helpful. Increasing levels of physical activity (such as brisk walking for half an hour per day) and eating a balanced diet, low in fat, makes getting to and staying at a healthy weight easier. Stopping smoking is also beneficial.
 
Acne can be helped by peeling agents such as retinoin (Retin A), and antibiotic liquids or creams applied directly to the skin.
 
Hirsutism can be controlled with depilatory creams, bleaching, shaving, waxing and plucking. Laser treatment and electrolysis can give more lasting results but need to be performed by suitable qualified professionals. Laser treatment is more appropriate than electrolysis for larger areas.
 
Medical treatments
Several drugs are useful in dealing with individual symptoms.
 
Tablet forms of antibiotics and isotretinoin (Roaccutane, a powerful drug that can only be prescribed by a specialist), can help to control acne.
 
Oral contraceptives (the pill) can reduce acne and hirsutism by damping down the production of testosterone. They also make periods more regular. A combination of the female hormone ethinyl oestradiol and the drug cyproterone acetate, which suppresses male hormone activity, is usually used. This is available on prescription under the brand name Diane-35.
 
Infertility is usually treated with the drug clomiphene, which stimulates egg production. Up to 60% of women fall pregnant after six cycles of treatment. Weight loss improves the chance of the treatment being successful. If clomiphene doesn't work, injections of hormones such as human menopausal gonadotrophin or follicle-stimulating hormone can be tried. Using laser to drill hole in the ovaries in order to reduce hormone production has been attempted, but further studies are needed to see whether this is going to be an effective option.
 
Preliminary trials of Metformin, a drug used for the treatment of diabetes, suggest that it may reduce hirsutism and improve fertility.
 
Other drugs which might help PCOS patients by reducing male hormone activity are currently being studied.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

多囊性卵巢症候群

卵巢表面存在載滿液體的小囊,稱為「多囊性卵巢」。其中部分女性可能會出現體毛過多(多毛症)、癡肥、月經稀少甚至停經,以及不育等其他病徵。這些病徵與荷爾蒙失調有關,稱為「多囊性卵巢症候群」。具有多囊性卵巢症候群病徵的女性患子宮內膜癌的風險增加,但仍屬罕見。肥胖女性具有多囊性卵巢症候群病徵者,則在較年長時患上心臟病及糖尿病的機會增加。

雖然遺傳可能在某種程度上與多囊性卵巢症候群有關﹐但引起此病症的真正成因仍然未明。體內多種荷爾蒙(人體內傳遞信息的化學物質)之間的複雜平衡為一關鍵性因素。在患有多囊性卵巢症候群女性的體內,由腦下垂體製造的促黃體激素,及由卵巢製造的睪丸酮,通常都高於正常水平。正是這些變化導致了經期不規則、體毛過多及其他囊性卵巢症候群的病徵。身體對胰島素的反應降低,即產生「胰島素抵抗性」,也是其中病因之一。胰島素抵抗性會增高體內的胰島素水平,進而提昇睪丸酮的水平,促成肥胖。

大部分多囊性卵巢症候群患者的病徵於青春期後期或二十多歲時始發,多數患者只會出現以下眾多病徵中的一到兩項:

  • 不育:無排卵或不規則排卵,如不接受治療則難以或甚至不能受孕
  • 卵巢增大:多囊性卵巢通常比正常的卵巢大1.5倍至3倍,有時可導致腹痛
  • 肥胖或超重:脂肪通常會分佈於腹部周圍,形成典型的蘋果身形(而不是啤梨身形)
  • 多毛症(體毛過多):過多的體毛可出現於面部、胸前、腹部、乳房、拇指及腳趾
  • 禿髮(毛髮稀疏):患者會出現典型的男性禿髮,頭頂和鬢角的毛髮會變得稀疏
  • 痤瘡:男性荷爾蒙的增加可引致痤瘡和頭皮屑的出現
  • 血液中男性荷爾蒙(如睪丸酮)水平上升,稱為「雄性激素過多症」
通過超音波掃描會觀察到增大的或是「多囊」的卵巢,位於卵巢表面的囊泡一般在10個以上,直徑由6毫米至8毫米不等。受影響的卵巢大約比正常的卵巢大三倍,有時只是一個卵巢受影響。如果出現明顯的痤瘡及多毛症等病徵,可能無需作血液測試,但血液中促黃體激素及睪丸酮的水平增高,則有助於確定診斷。

患有多囊性卵巢症候群的女性可以有不同的荷爾蒙失衡現象。在某些國家,例如美國,使用荷爾蒙的水平及患者的相關病徵,而不是囊泡的有無作為診斷依據。

由多囊性卵巢症候群導致的問題會逐漸出現。假若身體突然出現男性特徵,如體毛迅速生長或陰蒂增大,則應進行血液測試以排除患上某些病症(如腎上腺過度活躍或卵巢腫瘤)的可能性。醫生或會按需要轉介有關疑似患者往內分泌科(與荷爾蒙有關的專科)醫生或生育科醫生。

生活方式
生活方式的改變,特別是減去多餘的體重尤其有益。增加運動量(如每天快速步行半小時)、保持飲食均衡及多吃低脂食品,均易於使身體達到及保持健康體重。戒煙同樣有益。

直接於皮膚上塗用維A酸乳膏(Retinoin﹔Retin A)等具脫皮成份的藥物,及抗生素藥水或藥霜有助於痤瘡的治理。

多毛症可通過使用脫毛膏、脫色、剃刮、脫毛蠟及拔毛等方法處理。激光治療和電灼法能達致更持久的脫毛效果,但需由合資格的專業人員進行;激光治療比電灼法更適合用來脫掉較大範圍的毛髮。

藥物治療
對於個別病徵可使用不同藥物處理。

口服抗生素及A酸(一種必須經專科醫生處方才可使用的強力藥物﹕保膚靈 Roaccutane)片劑可幫助控制痤瘡。

口服避孕藥(避孕丸)可通過減少睪丸酮的產生而減輕痤瘡和多毛症,同時令經期更有規律。通過使用女性荷爾蒙炔雌醇(Ethinyl Oestradiol) 及環丙氯地孕酮 (Cyproterone Acetate)的混合物來抑制男性荷爾蒙的活動也是常用的方法之一,商品為Diane-35的藥即為此種混合物。

不育一般可用口服排卵藥Clomiphene治療,多達60%的婦女在完成6次療程後順利懷孕。減輕體重有助於提高治療的成功率。如果 Clomiphene無效,可嘗試注射人類絕經後促性腺激素或促卵泡激素等荷爾蒙。也有研究者嘗試通過使用激光在卵巢上"鑽孔"以減少荷爾蒙的生成,但其成效仍有待進一步證實。

對Metformin(一種用於糖尿病治療的藥物)進行的初步試驗顯示此藥可能有助於減輕多毛症及改善生育能力。其他通過減低男性荷爾蒙活動以治療多囊性卵巢症候群的藥物仍有待進一步研究。

此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。