Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Parkinson's disease

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional. 

Parkinson's disease is a condition affecting the nervous system. It causes muscle tremor, stiffness and slowness of movement that becomes progressively worse over time. The condition was first described by Dr James Parkinson in 1817.

It affects approximately one in a hundred people over 65 year old, and one in ten people over 80. The symptoms of Parkinson's disease often begin around the age of 55.

In Parkinson's disease, production of a substance called dopamine in the brain is reduced. Dopamine is a neurotransmitter involved in passing messages within the brain and from the brain to the muscles. The part of the brain affected is called the substantia nigra, which co-ordinates muscle movement.

No one knows exactly what causes Parkinson's disease, but studies with identical twins suggest that genetic factors play a part. Also, some patients with generalised brain disease get Parkinson-like symptoms, which suggests that earlier damage to the brain might have a role in causing the disease. Parkinson's disease is not contagious.

The main symptoms of Parkinson's disease are:

  • trembling (tremor) - though not always present, this is often the first sign of Parkinson's disease. It often starts in the arms and may spread to the face, jaw and legs
  • stiffness (rigidity) – this makes the limbs feel weak and difficult to move. This may be intermittent or continuous. People with advanced Parkinson's disease may lose use of the limb altogether
  • slowness – bradykinesia (slow movement) and akinesia (no movement) are common in people with Parkinson's disease. Walking may start with a hesitant step, followed by a shuffle without swinging the arms

As the disease progresses, other symptoms that develop include:

  • problems with posture and balance – people with Parkinson's disease often stoop, fall forwards and lean to one side when sitting
  • bowel and bladder problems – constipation is very common and there may be frequent urge to urinate
  • speech changes – the voice becomes weak, and weakness of the swallowing muscles may cause drooling
  • loss of facial expression – a mask-like appearance with loss of emotional expression gradually develops. Blinking and smiling are reduced
  • small writing – commonly develops over time
  • anxiety and depression – this occurs in about a third of people with Parkinson's disease
  • intellect – slowness of thought and memory problems can develop in the later stages

There is no blood test for Parkinson's disease. Diagnosis is usually based on symptoms, and by ruling out other conditions that cause similar symptoms. This can often be done with an X-ray examination called computerised tomography (a CT scan), which is useful in detecting diseases that affect large areas of the brain. Then, if symptoms are reduced by treatments given for Parkinson's disease, its fairly certain that the person has Parkinson's disease.

Symptoms similar to Parkinson's disease can be a side-effect of some medications, such as anti-sickness drugs and drugs used in the treatment of mental illness. If this is the case, changing the medication should reduce symptoms.

Treatment with medication is aimed at restoring the levels of dopamine in the brain and controlling symptoms.

There are six main groups of drugs:

  • drugs which replace dopamine – these are the most commonly used treatments. They are combinations of levodopa – a drug which breaks down in the body to form dopamine, plus a chemical which ensures the optimum dopamine concentration in the brain. They are effective at treating symptoms, although there are some side-effects. These include nausea, dizziness and constipation. Also, they can cause long term problems such as unwanted movements of the face and limbs (dyskinesia) and they may become less effective over time.
  • drugs which mimic the action of dopamine – e.g. bromocriptine. Using these early on in the course of Parkinson's disease may delay the long-term problems of the dopamine replacement drugs. Side-effects can include nausea and hallucinations.
  • drugs which block the action of acetylcholine – e.g. benzhexol. These help to correct the balance between dopamine and another chemical in the brain called acetylcholine. Side-effects can include dry mouth and blurred vision. They are not appropriate for people over 70 as they can cause memory loss, and urine retention in men.
  • drugs which prevent the breakdown of dopamine – e.g. selegiline. This gives a little relief from symptoms and is also a mild antidepressant. Low blood pressure and irregular heartbeat are the most significant side effects.
  • amantadine – acts like a dopamine replacement drug but works on different receptors. It can cause side-effects such as sedation at high doses.
  • COMT (catechol O-methyl transferase) inhibitors – e.g. tolcapone. This is a new class of drugs that stops the breakdown of dopamine. They are usually given when dopamine replacement drugs start to lose their effectiveness. They can affect liver function, so blood tests are needed for the first few months.
Surgery

This is currently used as a last resort when drugs no longer give benefits. Electrodes guided by X-rays (stereotactic surgery) are used to destroy the tiny areas of the brain responsible for tremor and abnormal movements.

A device called a deep brain stimulator can also be used to give the same effect as stereotactic surgery, without destroying brain tissue. Radiosurgery is a new technique currently available at only a few specialised centres. It uses high energy radiation to focus on very precise areas of the brain. A new treatment, where brain tissue from human foetuses is transplanted into diseased areas of the brain, is at the experimental stage.
Other therapies

Other therapies that have an important role in managing and coping with Parkinson's disease include physiotherapy, speech therapy, and occupational therapy. Staying active will help to maintain normal muscle tone and function. A doctor or physiotherapist can recommend an appropriate range of exercises and activities.

A diagnosis of Parkinson's disease can be very upsetting. However, most people remain reasonably active, and symptoms may progress no further than slight tremor. However, some people do become debilitated, needing help with washing, eating and dressing.

1. Will doing exercise help to improve my symptoms?

Yes, doing suitable exercise can help to improve some of the symptoms of Parkinson's disease. It's also good for your general health and wellbeing.

One of the main symptoms of Parkinson's disease is stiffness and rigidity of your muscles and joints. Doing some form of exercise is important to keep your muscles supple, reduce stiffness and rigidity and reduce your risk of falls. Exercising can also improve your mood and help relieve depression, which can sometimes develop as a result of Parkinson's disease. Doing regular exercise will also help to improve your general health and fitness. This means that you may stay active for longer and therefore keep your independence for as long as possible.

People with Parkinson's disease can participate in many sports and activities, including swimming, walking and cycling. Group exercise sessions can be particularly good as they also offer you the chance to socialise. But it's important to only carry out exercise that is safe for you to do.

Ask your doctor for advice on what kind of exercise is suitable for you. He or she may refer you to a physiotherapist who will show you how to do some simple exercise routines that you can then do at home. A physiotherapist can also give you advice on how to move around your home more easily.

2. How quickly does Parkinson's disease progress?

The rate at which Parkinson's disease progresses varies from person to person.

Parkinson's disease is a progressive disease, meaning that your symptoms will gradually get worse over time. It's caused by a reduction in the number of cells that make a chemical transmitter in your brain called dopamine. This causes a reduction in the amount of dopamine in your brain. Once around 60 to 80 percent of the dopamine in your brain has been lost, you will begin to get the symptoms of Parkinson's disease.

The amount of dopamine in your brain will continue to fall very slowly, and as this happens the symptoms of the disease will get worse. Everyone is different, and the rate at which this happens will be individual to you. 

3. Is there a cure for Parkinson's disease?

No, there is currently no cure for Parkinson's disease. However, there are medicines that can help to treat the symptoms of the disease.

Several types of medicine can be used to control the symptoms of Parkinson's disease. They do this by increasing the amount of dopamine in your brain, stimulating the areas of the brain where dopamine works or blocking the action of other chemicals that reduce the effectiveness of dopamine. Your doctor will prescribe medication that is suitable to control your symptoms.

Lots of research is being done to find more effective treatments for Parkinson's disease, including gene therapy and stem cell therapy.

Gene therapy is a technique in which normal genes are delivered directly to the parts of your brain that are affected by Parkinson's disease. This could help to protect your brain cells from the damage caused by Parkinson's disease and help the cells produce more dopamine.

Stem cells are special cells that may help to repair the cells in your brain. It's hoped that in the future it will be possible to use stem cells to replace the cells in your brain which have been lost because of Parkinson's disease. The stem cells would be healthy and able to produce dopamine.

These therapies are still at a very experimental stage and may not be available for some time. They offer some hope to better control the symptoms of Parkinson's disease or even cure the disease in the future.

 

2. How quickly does Parkinson's disease progress?

The rate at which Parkinson's disease progresses varies from person to person.

Parkinson's disease is a progressive disease, meaning that your symptoms will gradually get worse over time. It's caused by a reduction in the number of cells that make a chemical transmitter in your brain called dopamine. This causes a reduction in the amount of dopamine in your brain. Once around 60 to 80 percent of the dopamine in your brain has been lost, you will begin to get the symptoms of Parkinson's disease.

The amount of dopamine in your brain will continue to fall very slowly, and as this happens the symptoms of the disease will get worse. Everyone is different, and the rate at which this happens will be individual to you.

Further Information

Sources

  • Parkinson's disease. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Lees AJ, Hardy J, Revesz T. Parkinson's disease. Lancet 2009; 373(9680):2055–66
  • About Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK.www.parkinsons.org.uk, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Parkinson's disease. eMedicine.www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Hamza TH, Zabetian CP, Tenesa A et al. Common genetic variation in the HLA region is associated with late-onset sporadic Parkinson's disease. Nature Genetics 2010; 42:781–85
  • Diagnosis and pharmacological management of Parkinson's disease: a national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), 2010, 113.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Parkinson's disease: national clinical guideline for diagnosis and management in primary and secondary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006.www.nice.org.uk
  • Diagnosis and scans. Parkinson's UK, 2008.www.parkinsons.org.uk
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2010
  • Deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2003.www.nice.org.uk
  • Depression and Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK, 2009.www.parkinsons.org.uk
  • Keeping moving: exercise and Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK, 2009.www.parkinsons.org.uk

You might also like

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Learn more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

柏金遜症

柏金遜症是一種影響神經系統的疾病。它會導致肌肉震顫、僵硬及動作緩慢,而且情況會變得愈來愈嚴重。詹姆士.柏金遜博士於1817年發現此症。據一般估計,每10065歲以上的人士中,便有1個是柏金遜病患者;而在80歲以上的老年人中,每10個便有1個患有此病症。柏金遜症的病徵通常會在55歲左右出現。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

柏金遜症會令腦部減少製造一種稱為「多巴胺(dopamine)」的物質。多巴胺(dopamine)是神經傳遞素,負責腦內部的信息傳遞,以及把信息由腦部傳送到肌肉。腦部出現問題的部分稱為「黑質(substantia nigra)」,負責協調肌肉活動。

柏金遜症的成因未明,但根據科學家對同卵雙胞胎進行的研究顯示,遺傳基因可能是導致柏金遜症的原因之一。患有廣泛性腦部疾病的病人也有和柏金遜症相似的病徵,可見早期的腦部損壞也是柏金遜症的成因之一。柏金遜症是沒有傳染性的。

柏金遜症的主要病徵有:

  • 震顫這是大多數柏金遜症患者的最先有的病第一表徵。震顫通常由手臂開始,及後會擴展至面部、顎及腿部。
  • 僵硬令病者四肢無力,活動困難。這種情況可以是間歇性,也可能會持續出現。晚期患者更可能會出現四肢癱瘓。
  • 行動緩慢柏金遜症患者通常表現為行動遲緩,或動作困難。他們開始走路時會猶疑不決,行走時會拖著腳步、雙手下垂而不擺動。

以下病徵會在病情惡化時出現:

  • 難於保持姿勢及平衡柏金遜症患者通常會駝背,身體前傾,坐著時身體會側向某一方。
  • 腸道及膀胱問題便秘情況十分常見,也可能出現尿頻。
  • 聲線的轉變聲線變得微弱,負責控制吞嚥的肌肉無力,或會導致垂涎。
  • 缺乏面部表情面部表情愈來愈少,好像帶著面具一般;眨眼和微笑的次數亦會減少。
  • 書寫困難常見且會漸趨嚴重。
  • 焦慮及抑鬱約三分之一的病人會出現此情況。
  • 智力問題末期患者的思考可能會變得遲鈍,記憶力亦會減退。

現在仍沒有血液測試可用於柏金遜症的確診。診斷通常基於臨床病徵,並在排除其他可能疾病之後做出。在大部分大腦受到侵襲的病症﹐電腦斷層掃描的X光檢查(CT scan) 有助於診斷。若柏金遜症的療法能有效減輕病者的病徵,即可確定該病者患有柏金遜症。

某些藥物﹐如抗運動病藥物和治療精神病的藥物等可因副作用而引起與柏金遜症相似的病徵,如遇到這種情況,改用另一種藥物應可緩解病徵。

藥物治療的目的主要在於恢復腦內多巴胺(dopamine)的水平及控制病情:

藥物主要分為六組:

  • 多巴胺(dopamine)的替代藥物這是最常用的療法。包括左旋多巴(levodopa)(可於體內分解並形成多巴胺)和另一種能確保腦部多巴胺含量保持適中水平的化學物。此組藥物能有效治療病徵,但有一定的副作用,如噁心、暈眩及便秘。此外,可能引致其他長期生理問題,如面部和四肢不隨意活動,稱為「運動障礙」;藥物的功效也可能會隨時間而減退。
  • 模擬多巴胺(dopamine)作用的藥物如溴麥角環(bromocriptine)。若病人於患上柏金遜症的初期服用此藥,可令多巴胺替代藥物所引致的長期生理問題延遲出現。這些藥物的副作用包括噁心和幻覺。
  • 阻止乙醯膽鹼(acetylcholine)作用的藥物如苯海索(benzhexol)。苯海索有助糾正多巴胺(dopamine)和腦部另一種物質──乙醯膽鹼(acetylcholine)的平衡。其副作用包括口乾及視線模糊。70歲以上的病人不宜服用﹐因會導致記憶力減退,及男性尿瀦留。
  • 防止多巴胺(dopamine)分解的藥物如司立吉林(selegiline)。這類藥物有助紓緩病徵,也可當為效力溫和的抗抑鬱藥,其主要副作用包括低血壓和心律不整。
  • 金剛烷胺(Amantadine) ─ 作用和多巴胺(dopamine)的替代藥物相似,但卻作用於不同的受體。服用大量金剛烷胺(Amantadine)會令人昏昏欲睡。
  • 兒茶酚氧位甲基轉移酵抗制劑(COMT (catechol O-methyl transferase) inhibitors) tolcapone。這是一種能阻止多巴胺(dopamine)分解的新藥物,通常會在多巴胺(dopamine)替代藥物開始失去功效時使用。它能影響肝臟功能,所以病人在開始使用的數月內需作血液測試。
外科手術

當藥物治療無效時,才會採用外科手術的治療方法。在X光透視引導下(立體定位手術),將電極插入腦部以破壞負責產生震顫和不正常動作的細胞。

腦內刺激儀同樣可以產生與立體定位手術相同的效果,而且不會破壞腦細胞。放射手術是一項湛新的技術,現時只有數間專科中心提供這項服務。在手術過程中,高能量放射線會非常準確地投射在腦內指定的位置上。目前,將胎兒腦幹細胞移植到腦部受影響的部位的新療法正處於實驗階段。

其他治療

其他在醫治柏金遜症過程中起著重要作用的療法,包括物理治療、語言治療及職業治療。保持活動有助於維持肌肉的正常張力及功能﹐所以醫生或物理治療師會建議患者作適當的鍛煉及活動。

雖然患上柏金遜症令人困擾,但病人一般仍可如常過著積極的人生。大部份病人的病徵通常只限於輕微震顫;但確有某些病人會變得身體衰弱,影響日常的起居生活﹐而需要別人的幫助。

1. 做運動是否有助改善病情

是。做適當運動有助改善柏金遜症的若干徵狀。而且適當運動對整體健康和身心都有益處。  

柏金遜症的其中一個主要徵狀是肌肉及關節僵硬,令身體活動困難。  

做適合的運動非常重要,因為有助保持肌肉柔軟,減少僵硬,降低跌倒的風險。做運動亦有助改善情緒,舒緩部分柏金遜症患者出現的抑鬱情況。定期運動亦有助改善整體健康及體能。換言之,做運動令您保持活力,保持更長的獨立活動能力。  

柏金遜症患者可以參加多種不同的運動及活動,例如游泳、步行及騎自行車,集體運動尤其適合,因同時為患者提供更多社交機會。但有一點很重要,只應進行對患者是安全的運動。  

您可徵詢醫生的意見,了解您適合做哪些運動。醫生或會為您轉介物理治療師,為您示範如何做一些簡單的日常運動,以便在家中鍛鍊。物理治療師還會給您提供使家居生活輕鬆易為的建議。  

2. 柏金遜症的病發過程有多快

柏金遜症的病發速度因人而異。  

柏金遜症是一種漸進性疾病,意思是患者的徵狀會隨著時間逐漸惡化。病因是腦部減少了製造一種名為「多巴胺」的神經傳遞素腦細胞,令患者腦部的多巴胺份量大大減少。一旦腦部失去六成至八成的多巴胺,便會開始出現柏金遜症的徵狀。  

腦部多巴胺份量會不斷緩慢地減少而達至十分低的水平,柏金遜症的徵狀也會隨之惡化。病情惡化的速度因個人情況而定。  

3. 有治癒柏金遜症的方法嗎

沒有,目前尚未有治癒柏金遜症的方法。不過,有一些藥物能治療柏金遜症引起的徵狀。  

有幾種藥物可以用來控制柏金遜症的徵狀。該等藥物透過增加大腦多巴胺的份量,刺激腦部多巴胺運作的區域,或者阻礙其他化學物減弱多巴胺效力的化學作用。您的醫生會為您處方適合的藥物,以控制病情。  

多項研究現正進行中,致力尋求更有效地醫治柏金遜症的方法,包括基因治療及幹細胞治療。  

基因治療是將正常基因直接注入受柏金遜症影響的大腦部分。這種治療技術有助腦細胞免被柏金遜症損害,並助腦細胞製造多巴胺。  

幹細胞是很特別的細胞,可幫助修補大腦的細胞。希望不久將來,可使用幹細胞替代因患柏金遜症而失去的腦細胞。幹細胞是健康的細胞,有能力製造多巴胺。  

這些治療方法仍處於非常初步的實驗階段,雖然未有推出的時間,但帶來了控制柏金遜症徵狀或甚至治癒柏金遜症的希望。    

索取更多資料

來源

  • Parkinson's disease. Clinical Knowledge Summaries.www.cks.nhs.uk, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Lees AJ, Hardy J, Revesz T. Parkinson's disease. Lancet 2009; 373(9680):2055–66
  • About Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK.www.parkinsons.org.uk, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Parkinson's disease. eMedicine.www.emedicine.medscape.com, accessed 5 November 2010
  • Hamza TH, Zabetian CP, Tenesa A et al. Common genetic variation in the HLA region is associated with late-onset sporadic Parkinson's disease. Nature Genetics 2010; 42:781–85
  • Diagnosis and pharmacological management of Parkinson's disease: a national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), 2010, 113.www.sign.ac.uk
  • Parkinson's disease: national clinical guideline for diagnosis and management in primary and secondary care. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006.www.nice.org.uk
  • Diagnosis and scans. Parkinson's UK, 2008.www.parkinsons.org.uk
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 60th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2010
  • Deep brain stimulation for Parkinson's disease. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2003.www.nice.org.uk
  • Depression and Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK, 2009.www.parkinsons.org.uk
  • Keeping moving: exercise and Parkinson's. Parkinson's UK, 2009.www.parkinsons.org.uk

相關文章

乳癌

乳癌指乳房出現含有癌細胞的腫瘤。乳房腫瘤是由于細胞生長異常失控而形成的腫塊,可以是惡性(癌性)或良性(非癌性)。每10宗乳房腫瘤病例中九宗為良性。

了解更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。