Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Back pain

Back pain is an extremely common complaint - its estimated that over 60% of people suffer from it at some time in their lives. And its one of the main reasons for taking time off work.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

Back pain can strike anyone at any age, although figures show you are most vulnerable if you are between 45 and 59.

But the seriousness of the condition varies. If the pain lasts for less than three months, you have what is called acute back pain. If your problem goes on for longer, you are suffering from chronic back pain

back pain

If you experience acute back pain, its quite likely to have a simple cause – this is the case with 95% of all cases of acute back pain. Most people who suffer from this sort of back pain are adults up to 55 years old who are otherwise healthy. The pain is short-lived, and has quite a simple physical cause - though it may well be due to strain over time, rather than the result of overdoing it just once. The pain is based in the lower back, and maybe also in the buttocks and thighs. It will come and go at different times, and depending on what you are doing.

You may get simple back pain if:

  • you have a poor posture
  • you do not get enough exercise
  • you stand or bend down for long periods
  • your chair does not provide enough back support
  • your mattress does not provide enough back support
  • you lift, carry, push or pull loads that are simply too heavy for you, or you go about these tasks in the wrong way
  • you trip or fall over

Nerve root pain accounts for fewer than 5% of all cases of back pain. Here the pain is caused by compression of the nerves that run up the middle of the vertebrae in your back. It is usually caused by a damaged disc, or because a vertebra has slipped out of line with the others. The pain will normally be in your lower back, plus more severe pain down one or both of your legs to your calves, feet or toes.

In a relatively small number of cases, back pain may have a more serious underlying cause. This includes abnormality of the spine, an infection or collapse of the vertebrae, fibromyalgia (a condition that affects the muscles), tuberculosis or cancer. These kinds of problem are more likely to be the case if your back pain starts gradually, gets worse over time, and seems unrelated to how active you are. You'll also be very likely to have other symptoms including, for example, incontinence or general tiredness or lethargy. You're also more at risk if you have had certain other conditions, especially tuberculosis or cancer, in the past.

Most attacks of simple back pain last only a few days and get better on their own. But you should see a doctor straightaway if you have any of the following symptoms as well as your back pain:

  • fever
  • redness or swelling on your back
  • pain down your legs and below your knees
  • numbness or weakness in one or both of your legs
  • loss of bladder or bowel control
  • You should also see a doctor if:
  • your pain lasts longer than a week
  • its the result of an injury, a fall or blow to your back, or
  • you are under 20 or over 55 years old, and the pain lasts for more than a few days

In most cases, your doctor will only need to discuss your symptoms and examine you. Your doctor is likely to refer you for more tests only if your pain lasts longer than six weeks, or if he or she suspects there is some underlying cause of the pain.

These tests might include:

  • X-rays
  • CT (computerised tomography) scans
  • MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) scans
  • A myelogram (a special kind of X-ray)
  • Blood tests

Your psychological well-being can also play a role in back pain. If your condition turns out to be chronic, your doctor may refer you for psychological and social assessment.

Activity

Research shows that bed rest does not help simple back pain - its much better for you to return to normal physical activity as soon as possible. Staying active may hurt more at first, but it helps your back to heal quickly, and reduces the risk of the problem occurring again.

If you really cant cope, and feel you have no option but to take to your bed, try to limit it to two or three days before you are up and about again.

Painkillers

Paracetemol or ibuprofen are usually enough to relieve simple back pain. Muscle relaxants such as diazepam may help if you have muscle spasms, but do not take them for more than a week. And try applying a hot water bottle or an ice pack to the painful area - these can both offer some relief.

Manipulation and exercises

Osteopathy and chiropractic - treatments involving manipulation of your spine - may provide short-term relief for simple back pain within the first six weeks. However, you should only consult an osteopath or chiropractor who is a registered practitioner. Back exercises and physiotherapy may be helpful if your pain lasts longer.

Complementary approaches

The Alexander Technique may help improve your posture. Acupuncture can help with the pain. And, because back pain can sometimes be a sign of emotional problems, counselling may also be helpful.

Surgery

If you have a chronic back problem that is not helped by manipulation, exercises or medication, surgery may solve or help the problem. If your pain is caused by a , say, damaged disc, this could be surgically removed.

Good back care can greatly reduce your risk of back pain. To look after your back, make sure you:

  • take regular exercise
  • use a chair with a backrest, and sit with your feet flat on the floor or on a foot rest
  • sleep on a firm mattress

Also, follow these tips for lifting and carrying things:

  • Lift only a manageable weight, or ask for help.
  • When lifting, bend your knees, keep your back straight and your feet apart.
  • Do not lift and twist at the same time.
  • Lift and carry objects close to your body.
  • Bend your knees, not your back, when you put things down

Your spine is made up of many small bones called vertebrae. These are separated by discs, which allow the spine to bend. This structure of vertebrae and discs is supported along its length by muscles and ligaments. Your spinal cord threads through the centre of each vertebra, carrying nerves from your brain to the rest of your body.

1. I do a lot of lifting and carrying at work. How can I prevent back injury in the workplace?

There are a number of things you can do to help prevent back injury from lifting and carrying. Always try to think and plan things through before you attempt any strenuous activities.

Lifting objects (also known as manual handling) is often part of our daily life and can be a common cause of back pain. Workplace activities that are known to cause or aggravate back pain include:

  • stooping, bending over or crouching
  • lifting, pushing or pulling bulky, heavy or awkward objects
  • stretching, twisting and reaching
  • spending prolonged periods in one position, leading to postural strain
  • jobs in which your whole body is subjected to vibration, jolting and jarring (such as drilling)

In order to prevent back pain caused by lifting and carrying, it may be helpful to:

  • stretch your back before lifting heavy objects
  • always bend from your knees, not your back
  • turn using your whole body; don't twist your back
  • carry objects close to your body
  • ·not carry too many things at once
  • ask someone to help you lift particularly heavy objects
  • use mechanical handling equipment to lift things for you whenever possible

As a general rule, it's best to lift with care and not to lift more than you can easily handle. Always think before doing.

If you have back pain and have been off work, it's important to try to get back to work as quickly as possible as this may actually help your recovery. Talk to your employer about making a gradual return to work and whether your duties can be adapted to prevent further back injury.

Also, if your job involves a lot of lifting, you can attend a lifting and manual handling course. These are usually offered by most large employers.

2. I have seen many different kinds of mattresses, back supports and insoles advertised for sale. Are any of these effective at preventing or curing back pain?

There are a number of support aids available for people with back problems. Some of these can be useful, others are of no benefit and some may even do more harm than good. You shouldn't use any products to try and treat your back pain until you have talked to your GP or an occupational therapist (a health professional who can give practical assistance to help you manage with everyday tasks and increase your independence).

The following are examples of different support aids available.

  • Medium-firm mattresses. Ideally, your mattress should be soft enough to support and conform to your body shape, yet firm enough to allow you to turn from side to side easily, without twisting your back. Evidence suggests that a medium-firm mattress may give better support than a firm surface for people with chronic low back pain.
  • Back supports, corsets and braces. Some people use these when driving or sitting for long periods of time. Evidence suggests, however, that these types of aid may not provide any benefit to people with chronic low back pain. As different types of support are used for different types and causes of back pain, it's important to remember that using the wrong type might actually make your back pain worse.
  • Insoles. These are support aids that people place in their shoes to help with their posture. There is limited evidence to show that using insoles will prevent or treat back pain.

3. What are pain-management programmes for back pain?

Your GP may recommend you try a pain-management programme if you have lived with persistent back pain for some time. You can attend a pain clinic or, if you prefer, get in contact with a self-help group.

If you have non-specific, ongoing low back pain, a pain-management programme may be able to help you find ways of controlling and living with your symptoms. Exercising and regaining your physical confidence are important parts of the pain-management approach, as are learning about the physical and psychological factors that contribute to pain.

Pain-management programmes are usually provided as an outpatient service. You may attend the sessions with a group of people and will be led by a team of health professionals, including a physiotherapist.

Alternatively, you may decide to try a self-help group who can provide further support and information.

4. When I have back pain, I just want to lie down. Why is it important to keep active?

There is clear evidence that bed rest or being inactive won't help back pain.

It was once thought that staying in bed would ease a painful back. Now the advice is to keep as active as you can and get back to your normal activities as soon as possible. Evidence shows that staying in bed can cause your joints to stiffen, your muscles to lose strength and generally cause you to take longer to recover. Staying active can reduce the time you need off work and can reduce the chances of ongoing, chronic problems.

5. Are there any easy and safe exercises I can do to help relieve my back pain or prevent it returning?

Yes. Doing regular exercise can help to reduce and relieve your back pain, and even prevent it from returning. Always speak to your GP or physiotherapist before starting a new exercise programme.

There's a whole range of physical activities you can take part in to keep your back healthy. Research suggests it may help if you have back pain that lasts for longer than six weeks. You may be able to try:

  • walking, jogging or running
  • yoga, pilates or tai chi
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • hydrotherapy (exercises in water)
Always remember to speak to your GP or physiotherapist before starting a new training programme, especially if you haven't done any regular physical activity for some time.

Further Information

Sources

  • Back pain. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 17 August 2010
  • About back pain. BackCare. www.backcare.org.uk, accessed 17 August 2010
  • Back pain - low (without radiculopathy). Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published November 2009
  • Musculoskeletal lower back pain. Best Practice. http://bestpractice.bmj.com, accessed 24 August 2010
  • Low back pain: Early management of persistent non-specific low back pain. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE). May 2009. http://guidance.nice.org.uk/CG88
  • Furlan AD, Imamura M, Dryden T, et al. Massage for low-back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 4. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001929.pub2
  • Furlan AD, van Tulder MW, Cherkin D, et al. Acupuncture and dry-needling for low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005, Issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001351.pub2
  • Chou R, Qaseem A, Snow V, et al. Diagnosis and treatment of low back pain: A joint clinical practice guideline from the American College of Physicians and the American Pain Society. Ann Intern Med 2007; 146:478-91
  • van Duijvenbode I, Jellema P, van Poppel M, et al. Lumbar supports for prevention and treatment of low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 2. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001823.pub3
  • Sahar T, Cohen MJ, Ne'eman V, et al. Insoles for prevention and treatment of back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2007, Issue 4. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD005275.pub2
  • Dahm KT, Brurberg KG, Jamtvedt G, et al. Advice to rest in bed versus advice to stay active for acute low-back pain and sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 6. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007612.pub2
  • Hayden J, van Tulder MW, Malmivaara A, et al. Exercise therapy for treatment of non-specific low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005, Issue 3. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD000335.pub2

You might also like

Motor neurone disease

Motor neurone disease (MND) is a rare condition which is caused by the breakdown of the nerve cells in the brain that control movement muscles.

Read more

Hip replacement

If your specialist has recommended that you have a total hip replacement, this leaflet provides some standard information and advice about the procedure. However, you should always follow the instructions of your own specialist.

Read more

Fractures

A broken bone is known as a fracture. This can be a crack, buckle or crumple in the structure of the bone, or a complete break, producing two or more fragments.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

腰背痛

腰背痛是一種極度普遍的病症,估計有超過60%的人士會患上腰背痛, 同時亦是員工請病假的一個主因。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

腰背痛可以出現在任何年齡的人士,根據資料顯示,45至59歲之間的人士最容易患上腰背痛。 而病情的嚴重性則按個別情況而有所不同。如果痛楚持續少於3個月,你所患的便是急性腰背痛;如果痛楚持續較長,你所患的便是慢性腰背痛。

腰背痛

如果你患有急性腰背痛,當中有95%是由簡單的原因所引致。

大部分患上此類腰背痛的都是55歲以下的成年人,他們除了有腰背痛之外,身體大致上是健康的。這種痛楚只維持一段短時間,而引致痛楚的原因很簡單──通常是因為身體長期受勞累,極少是因為一時間粗勞過度。

痛楚通常集中在腰背下方,也可能會在臀部和大腿上出現。它會在不同時間出現和消失,按你身體的活動情況而定。

如果你有以下習慣,你有可能會患上一般腰背痛:

  • 姿勢不正確
  • 運動不足
  • 長時間站立或彎腰
  • 椅子不足以支托背部
  • 床褥不足以承托背部
  • 舉起、搬運或拖拉過重物件,或以不正確的姿勢移動重物
  • 摔倒

神經根痛楚在所有腰背痛病例中僅佔不足5%。這種痛楚是因背部椎骨中間的神經線受壓而引起,通常是因椎間盤受損或因其中一塊椎骨脫離其他椎骨而導致的。

痛楚通常在腰背下方出現,嚴重時也會在其中一條腿或兩腿的小腿、足部或腳趾出現。

在少數病例裏,腰背痛或有更嚴重的潛在病因,包括脊柱不正常、椎骨感染或塌陷、纖維肌痛(影響肌肉的病症)、肺結核,甚至癌症。

在上述的情況下,腰背痛往往會慢慢開始,隨時間而惡化,並與你的活動情況無關。另外,你或會有其他病徵,如失禁、渾身乏力或昏昏欲睡。如你曾患其他疾病,尤其是肺結核或癌症,你患上腰背痛的機會將更大。

多數的一般腰背痛只會持續數天,之後會漸漸消失。但假如除了腰背痛外,你還有以下病徵,你應立刻看醫生:

  • 發燒
  • 背部紅腫
  • 其中一條腿或兩腿同時感到麻痺或軟弱無力
  • 喪失控制大小便的能力
  • 如有以下情況,你亦應該看醫生:
  • 痛楚持續超過1星期
  • 痛楚是由受傷而引致的,如跌倒或背部受到撞擊,或
  • 你的年齡在20歲以下或55歲以上,而痛楚持續數天

在多數的情況下,醫生只會問你有關病徵以及替你檢查。如果痛楚維持超過6個星期,或者醫生懷疑痛症有潛在病因,他們或會要求替你作進一步測試。

測試範圍包括:

  • X光
  • 電腦斷層掃描
  • 磁力共振掃描
  • 脊髓造影術(一種特別的X光)

 

血液檢驗

心理狀況也有機會影響腰背痛。如果你的病症屬慢性,醫生可能會轉介你作心理評估或社交評估。

良好的腰背護理可大大減低患上腰背痛的機會。要保護腰背,你必須:

  • 定時做運動
  • 坐有椅背的椅子,坐下時雙腳平放在地上或腳踏上
  • 睡承托力高的床墊

 

當你舉起或搬運東西時,請依照以下的提示:

  • 只提體力範圍以內的重物;若有過重物件,請找別人幫忙
  • 提起重物時,請彎膝,並保持腰背挺直和足部分開
  • 不要同時提起重物和彎腰
  • 盡量將重物貼近身體
  • 放下東西時,只可彎膝,不可彎腰
脊柱由多條椎骨組成,這些小骨被椎間盤分隔,讓脊柱可彎曲。整個椎骨和椎間盤的結構由肌肉和?帶支持。脊髓通過每塊椎骨的中心,讓神經由腦部通往身體其他部分。

1. 我工作時經常提舉和搬運重物,怎樣可預防在工作間弄傷背部?   

您可採取多種預防措施避免提舉和搬運重物時弄傷背部。進行任何費力的活動之前,應先想一想,好好計劃一下步驟。

日常生活中經常發生的提舉重物(又稱人力搬運),是引致背痛的常見原因。以下是可能導致或加劇背痛的工作間活動:

  •  彎腰、 俯身或下蹲            
  • 提舉、推動或拉動體積龐大、笨重或難以抓牢的物件
  • 伸展、扭動或延伸動作
  • 長時間維持同一姿勢,造成姿勢性勞損
  • 進行全身顫動、搖動及震動的作業(例如鑽孔)

 

以下措施可防止提舉及搬運物件時引致背痛:

  • 提舉重物之前先伸展背部
  • 須要屈曲身體時只可屈膝,不可彎背
  • 轉身時要整個身軀移動,不要扭動腰背
  • 將搬運的物件緊貼身體
  • 不要一次過搬運太多物件
  • 提舉重物時請人幫忙
  • 儘量使用機械起重裝置提升重物

 

記着金科玉律,提舉物件時必須小心,每次只可搬運您可輕鬆應付的物件。行動之前先計劃一下。

假如有背痛並已停工一段時間,應儘快復工,這其實有助康復。與僱主商討如何續漸復工,以及是否可在職務上作出安排,防止再弄傷背部。

假如您的工作經常要搬運重物,不妨參加人力提舉及搬運培訓課程。許多大機構僱主都為員工提供這類培訓。  

2. 市面上有許多不同類型的床褥、護背用品和鞋墊的銷售廣告。這些物品可預防或治療背痛嗎?

市面有多種專為背痛患者而設的護背用品,有些對背痛有幫助,其他則沒有任何利好作用,有些更會造成損害。試用任何產品治療背痛之前,應先諮詢醫生或職業治療師(專業保健人員,可提供實用支援,助您處理日常工作,加強獨立能力)。

以下是不同類型護背用品的例子:

  • 中硬型床褥。最理想的床褥是柔軟度足以支撐身體,順貼體形,但亦有一定硬度,可輕易兩邊轉側而不須扭動腰背。有證據顯示,對慢性腰背痛患者來說,中硬型床褥的承托效果比硬表面更佳。
  • 護背用品、腰封及吊帶。有些人駕車或須要坐多個小時便會使用這類物品,但證據顯示這類輔助用品對慢性腰背痛患者不一定有好處。由於不同類型的背痛和病因須要不同的護背用品幫助,所以必須小心選擇,否則誤選不合適的產品只會令背痛加劇。
  • 鞋墊。在鞋內加墊可改善姿勢,但現時沒有太多證據顯示鞋墊可預防或治療背痛。  

 

3. 甚麼是背痛的疼痛管理計劃?

醫生或會建議背痛長時間持續不減的病人參加疼痛管理計劃。您可參加痛症診所或聯絡病人自助組織。   

假如您一直有非特定的持續腰背痛,不妨參加疼痛管理計劃掌握控制和應對不適徵狀的方法。疼痛管理的重要環節包括運動和對自己的體能重拾信心,此外亦會講解引致疼痛的生理及心理因素。   

疼痛管理計劃一般為門診服務,由包括物理治療師的專業醫護人員團隊主持,有多名參加者一起參與。    此外,您亦可參加病人自助組織,從中獲取更多支援和資訊。

4. 背痛發作時我只想躺下來,為甚麼要保持活躍?

證據明確顯示臥床或整天不動並不會紓緩背痛。  

過去醫學界曾以為臥床可減輕背痛,但現在醫生都叮囑病人儘量多活動及儘快恢復正常生活。證據顯示臥床會令關節僵硬和肌肉乏力,延長康復的時間。保持活躍可縮短病假的時間,也可減低持續慢性背痛的風險。 

5.  有沒有簡單安全的運動可以紓緩背痛或防止背痛復發?   

有。經常運動有助減輕及消除背痛,甚至可防止背痛復發。展開新的運動計劃之前,請先諮詢醫生或物理治療師。 

要保持腰背健康,其實可以做各式各樣的運動。研究學者指背痛逾六星期的患者如做些運動可能有助病情。不妨試試以下的運動:

  • 步行、緩步跑或跑步
  • 瑜珈、普拉提或太極 
  • 游泳 
  • 踏單車
  • 水療 (在水中做運動) 

 

展開新的鍛煉計劃之前,請先諮詢醫生或物理治療師,特別是很久沒有定期運動的人士,更須注意。

索取更多資料

來源

  • Back pain. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 17 August 2010
  • About back pain. BackCare. www.backcare.org.uk, accessed 17 August 2010
  • Back pain - low (without radiculopathy). Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published November 2009
  • Musculoskeletal lower back pain. Best Practice. http://bestpractice.bmj.com, accessed 24 August 2010
  • Low back pain: Early management of persistent non-specific low back pain. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE). May 2009. http://guidance.nice.org.uk/CG88
  • Furlan AD, Imamura M, Dryden T, et al. Massage for low-back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 4. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001929.pub2
  • Furlan AD, van Tulder MW, Cherkin D, et al. Acupuncture and dry-needling for low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005, Issue 1. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001351.pub2
  • Chou R, Qaseem A, Snow V, et al. Diagnosis and treatment of low back pain: A joint clinical practice guideline from the American College of Physicians and the American Pain Society. Ann Intern Med 2007; 146:478-91
  • van Duijvenbode I, Jellema P, van Poppel M, et al. Lumbar supports for prevention and treatment of low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 2. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD001823.pub3
  • Sahar T, Cohen MJ, Ne'eman V, et al. Insoles for prevention and treatment of back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2007, Issue 4. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD005275.pub2
  • Dahm KT, Brurberg KG, Jamtvedt G, et al. Advice to rest in bed versus advice to stay active for acute low-back pain and sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 6. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007612.pub2
  • Hayden J, van Tulder MW, Malmivaara A, et al. Exercise therapy for treatment of non-specific low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2005, Issue 3. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD000335.pub2

相關文章

運動神經元病

運動神經元病(Motor Neurone Disease, 簡稱MND)是罕有的疾病,起因是腦部控制肌肉動作的神經細胞壞死。

閱讀更多

髖關節置換手術

當醫生建議您接受髖關節置換手術時,您可參考本單張提供的有關此檢查的一般資料和建議。但在任何情況下,您當以醫生的指示為準。

閱讀更多

骨折

骨頭的折斷稱為「骨折」。骨折時,骨的結構會出現裂縫、變形或凹陷,甚至完全斷裂,造成兩塊或以上的碎片。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。