Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Fractures

A broken bone is known as a fracture. This can be a crack, buckle or crumple in the structure of the bone, or a complete break, producing two or more fragments. Bone has tough structure and is normally able to tolerate strong forces, but bones can be fractured if they suffer direct impact or if they are exposed to strong twisting or bending. This can happen as a result of a fall or collision. Bone also has a blood and nerve supply. This explains why fractured bones are painful, and result in bleeding and subsequent bruising. 
 
Elderly people are at increased risk of fractures because they tend to be more prone to falls and have reduced bone strength. Children are also more likely to have falls and accidents, which can result in a fracture, partly because they are less aware of hazards.

Bones can fracture in a number of different ways. This can be a simple crack across the shaft of a bone – known as a transverse fracture. In long bones, such as the femur (thigh bone) a more complex, spiral, fracture is more common. This leaves surfaces that are less likely to reunite easily. Usually, an injury results in a single fracture, and is known as a simple fracture. Sometimes, especially in more serious accidents, a bone can fracture in a way that produces several fragments. This is called a comminuted fracture. 
 
After a fracture, the broken fragments of bone usually separate to some degree. Sometimes, the broken fragments can be wedged together. This is called an impacted fracture. Bones can also fracture as a result of exposure to repeated small stresses and strains. This is known as a stress fracture and is most often seen in the lower leg or foot bones, especially in athletes. Sometimes the broken end of a bone protrudes through the skin. This is known as a compound (open) fracture and it can lead to infection. 
 
Also, fractures in children tend to be different to those in adults. The bone is softer, and more able to bend. When fractures occur, the bone is not always broken completely. The bone can buckle and split and result in what is known as a greenstick fracture (like snapping a young, green twig). Another type of fracture common in children is called a growth plate fracture. Bone grows in length from special areas near the ends of longer bones, known as the growth plates (epiphyseas). Fractures can sometimes involve these areas and interfere with future growth of the bone. 
 
From about middle-age onwards, the bones begin to become less dense and more liable to fracture. Osteoporosis refers to a condition of brittle bones where this process is accelerated. It particularly affects women after the menopause.
 

The most obvious symptom of a fractured bone is pain, especially on movement. There is often swelling and bruising at the site of the fracture. The fractured bone may have an abnormal bent appearance and this may be obvious. It may be impossible to move a fractured part of the body, either as a direct result of the fracture or because of the pain it causes.

Someone who has fractured a bone can appear pale and clammy and experience nausea or light-headedness. This is often due to pain. When large bones, such as the pelvis or thighbone (femur) are fractured, there will be internal bleeding from the bone and this can cause similar symptoms.

 

For someone who is conscious, breathing and does not have open wounds, the most important aspect of first aid treatment is to minimise movement of the fractured bone. This helps minimise pain and can also prevent further injuries caused by movement of the sharp ends of broken bone. How a fracture is immobilised depends on where the fracture is. It may be necessary to use a sling or form a splint. These techniques can be learnt from first aid courses and manuals. It's important to seek medical advice for anyone with a suspected broken bone.

Most fractures can be clearly diagnosed by X-ray, although some types, such as a fracture of the base of the thumb, or a stress fracture, do not show up reliably. After serious accidents, or where a person has circulation or breathing problems, or other serious injury that affects these essential processes, doctors treat these first. Fractures are then treated as follows:

  • Re-aligning the broken bone, if necessary. This may needs to be done with the use of an anaesthetic, painkillers or both of these and is known as reducing the fracture.
  • Immobilising the broken bone. Plaster casts, splints or slings may be used. Some fractures require surgery, and the use of metal screws, wires, pins or plates to hold the broken pieces of bone together. This is may be necessary where the broken ends of bone cannot easily be brought back together or kept close enough to allow them to knit together.

The repair of a fracture by the body is a gradual, continuous process. The time it takes for the broken ends of the bone to knit back together (unite) varies depending on the type of fracture and where the fracture is. As a general rule, fractures need to be immobilised for between two and eight weeks. After this it is important to begin gentle movement and exercise as this helps to build up strength in the healing bone over the following months. Physiotherapy may be needed to promote healing and a return to mobility of the affected bone. 

Occasionally there can be complications with fractures. Very serious fractures can heal with some limitations – such as pain or stiffness – in the use of the limb or joint involved. Some fractured bones do not knit back together well and can lead to a slow recovery, with surgery needed to help the bones to unite. Infection can also complicate and delay the healing of fractures. This is more common if the fracture was an open or if surgery has been required to fix the bone.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Limited Time Offer】

Enjoy up to 23% discount* + Earn 1 MoneyBack point for every HK$5 premiums in our selected health insurance products.

*The offer is applicable to designated schemes. Please contact us at 2517 5860 for details.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

骨折

骨頭的折斷稱為「骨折」。骨折時,骨的結構會出現裂縫、變形或凹陷,甚至完全斷裂,造成兩塊或以上的碎片。骨的結構堅韌,一般可以承受重力,但若受到直接衝擊、強力扭轉或折曲,例如跌倒或碰撞,骨頭便會折斷。由於骨骼有血液及神經供應,所以骨折時會感到疼痛,而且會出血和瘀傷。 
 
老年人骨折風險增高,因為他們容易跌倒,而且骨骼日漸脆弱。小孩也容易跌倒和發生意外,導致骨折,原因之一是他們不太懂得危險。

骨折分為幾類。一是骨的桿部出現簡單裂縫,稱為「橫斷骨折」。長骨,如股骨(大腿骨),較常出現比較複雜和螺旋狀的骨折,令骨的表面較難重新接合。一般而言,創傷只會導致單一的骨折,稱為「簡單性骨折」。然而有些時候,尤其在較嚴重的意外中,骨折會產生數塊碎片,稱為「粉碎性骨折」。 
 
骨折後,斷骨碎塊通常會分開。有時,碎塊會擠在一起,稱為「嵌入性骨折」。重覆的輕微壓力和拉力也可引致骨折,稱為「應力性骨折」,骨折部位通常為小腿和腳骨,運動員尤其容易有這種骨折。有時斷骨的末端會突出於皮膚之外,稱為「複合性骨折」或「開放性骨折」,可導致感染。 
 
另外,兒童骨折和成年人骨折不同。小孩的骨較軟、較易彎曲。骨折時,骨不一定會完全折斷;骨可能會變形和裂開,造成「青枝骨折」(因狀似折開青幼的樹枝而得名)。另一種常見的兒童骨折稱為「生長板骨折」。骨的生長由接近長骨末端的特別位置開始,這位置稱為「生長板」。骨折有時會在這些位置出現,妨礙骨骼日後的生長。 
 
由中年時期開始,骨的密度開始降低而更容易產生骨折。骨質疏鬆症是指骨質脆弱的情況漸漸惡化,使骨骼變得脆弱的疾病。這疾病尤其影響更年期後的女性。
骨折最明顯的表徵是痛楚,尤其是在移動身體時感到痛楚。骨折的位置通常會腫脹和瘀傷,並有可能出現不正常的扭曲現象,有時這現象會頗為明顯。骨折的部分可能會難以活動,這可能是骨折產生的直接結果,又或因痛楚而起。
骨折會使人臉色蒼白、發冷、噁心或輕微頭痛,這些通常由痛楚引起。若折斷的是較大的骨,如骨盆或大腿骨(股骨),可能會造成內出血,也可導致上述表徵。
 
 
如骨折的人清醒、呼吸正常、傷口沒有外露,急救的首要步驟應是盡量避免移動斷骨。這會減輕痛楚,也可避免斷骨尖銳的末端因移動而引致更大創傷。固定骨折部位的方法視乎位置而定,可能需要使用吊帶或夾板。這些技術可從急救課程及指引中學習。任何懷疑有骨折的人都應徵求醫生的意見。
大部分骨折都可用X光清晰診斷,但有些情況卻未必可以清楚看見,如拇指底部骨折或壓力骨折。嚴重意外發生後,如果傷者的血液循環或呼吸出現困難,或有其他嚴重創傷而影響這些重要系統,醫生會首先治理這些問題。然後,骨折會依照下述方法治理:
  • 因應情況把斷骨重新排列——可能需要使用麻醉劑或止痛藥,或兩者並用。這程序稱為「骨折復位」。
  • 固定骨折部位——工具包括石膏模、夾板或吊帶。有些骨折需要動手術,以及使用金屬螺旋、電線、針或板來把碎裂的骨連在一起。若斷骨的末端難以接合或難以放置在足以將兩端重新接合的距離,便需要使用這方法。
 
身體自行修復骨折的過程是循序漸進的。斷骨兩端癒合需時多少,視乎骨折類型和位置而定。一般而言,斷骨需要固定兩至八個星期。其後應做少許不太劇烈的運動,以增加骨的強度。為了促進痊癒和回復斷骨的活動能力,可能需要進行物理治療。 
 
骨折有時會出現併發症。患嚴重骨折的人在痊癒後,運用手腳或關節時仍可能會有些毛病,如疼痛或僵硬。 
 
有些斷骨不能完好接合,阻礙康復,這情況可透過手術,將骨接合起來。感染也會使骨折惡化,延緩痊癒。如果骨折的傷口外露,或需要動手術固定斷骨,便較易出現感染。
 
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【限時優惠】

投保特選醫療保障計劃可享高達77折* + 賺取HK$5 = 1 易賞錢積分!

*優惠視乎投保產品而定,詳情請致電2517 5860查詢。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。