Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Gout

Gout is a condition that cause swelling and pain in your joints, usually in your arms or legs. 

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Gout is a type of arthritis, which causes inflammation of your joints. It causes pain and swelling, usually in one joint in your body – commonly your big toe. However, it can affect any of your joints, including those found in your:

  • feet and ankles
  • knees
  • hands, fingers and wrists
  • elbows

Gout is caused by a build up of uric acid crystals in your affected joints.

It's more common in men, particularly those aged 30 to 60, and in older people. 

You may only ever have gout once in your life and it may go away without any treatment.

The first symptoms of gout in your affected joint include:

  • severe pain
  • swelling and warmth around the area
  • red and shiny skin around the area, which may peel later on

You may also have a mild fever.

If you have gout that reoccurs over many years, you may have further symptoms. This can include firm, white lumps developing beneath your skin – these are made of uric acid crystals and are called tophi. Tophi usually take up to 10 years to develop from your first episode of gout. Having tophi can lead to a range of problems, including:

  • the tophi becoming inflamed, which can cause discomfort
  • tophi breaking down and leaking out a white, paste-like substance

You may want to discuss with your GP treatments to ease discomfort from having tophi. However, taking antibiotics for inflamed or leaking tophi won’t help because tophi aren’t caused by bacteria.

These symptoms may be caused by problems other than gout. If you have any of these symptoms, see your GP for advice. 

Having gout won’t always lead to further problems, but you can reduce your risk of having complications by having treatment and making changes to your lifestyle and diet.

The most common complication of gout is progressive joint damage, which leads to long-term pain, deformed joints and eventually, disability. This may be prevented by changes to your diet and by taking medicines that lower your uric acid levels. There is also some evidence that prolonged high levels of uric acid in your body can increase your risk of vascular diseases, which may lead to a heart attack or stroke.

Other complications that you may have are as follows.

  • Gout affecting several of your joints (called polyarticular gout). This happens more often in older people with gout.
  • Getting kidney stones (if uric acid crystals collect in your urinary tract). This happens to between one and three in 10 people who have gout.
  • Damage to your kidneys (if uric acid crystals collect in your kidney tissue). 

You can develop gout if you have too much uric acid in your body. Uric acid is a chemical that everyone has in their blood. It's a waste product formed from substances called purines, which are found in every cell in your body and certain foods. Uric acid is formed in your body when the purines in foods you eat are broken down. It’s also formed when old cells in your body are broken down and replaced by new cells. Excess uric acid is passed through your kidneys and out of your body in your urine. However, the level of uric acid in your blood can rise if:

  • your kidneys don't pass uric acid quickly enough
  • your body produces too much uric acid

If the level of uric acid in your body is too high, it can form tiny crystals that collect in your tissues, particularly in and around your joints. This is what may cause your swelling and pain. These crystals tend to form at a cooler body temperature, which is why gout is more common in your fingers and toes.

You may have high levels of uric acid, but not get gout, or you may get gout, but not have high levels of uric acid. It's not known why some people develop gout and others don't. However, there are certain factors that can increase your likelihood of getting gout. You're more likely to get gout if you:

  • are a man aged 30 to 60
  • are a woman who has been through the menopause
  • eat a diet that contains high levels of purines, which are found in red meat, seafood and some other foods
  • drink too much alcohol, especially beer
  • don’t drink enough fluids daily and become dehydrated
  • take certain medicines, such as diuretics (water tablets), which increase the flow of urine from your body
  • have a family history of gout
  • have kidney disease meaning that your kidneys don't pass enough uric acid out in your urine
  • are overweight, have diabetes or high blood pressure
  • have psoriasis (itchy, dry and flaky skin), which can sometimes cause your body to produce too much uric acid
  • are taking certain types of cancer medicines

Your GP will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she will also ask you about your medical history and that of your family. Your GP will usually take a sample of your blood, which will be sent to a laboratory to measure the levels of uric acid. Your blood sample may also be tested to find out whether there may be another reason for your symptoms.

Your GP may refer you to a rheumatologist (a doctor specialising in conditions that affect the joints) for further tests.

Your doctor may remove some fluid from your swollen joint with a needle. This usually causes no more discomfort than a blood test. If uric acid crystals can be seen in the fluid under a microscope, you have gout. If calcium crystals are seen, you have a similar condition called pseudogout. The crystals formed when you have pseudogout are made of a calcium salt called calcium pyrophosphate. See our frequently asked questions for more information. You may need to have an X-ray of your joint in order to rule out other conditions and to find out if any damage has occurred, but this isn’t used to diagnose gout.

You will usually have symptoms of gout for up to two weeks and then they will go away, even without treatment. You may only have one episode of gout in your lifetime, but it might return. If you have no treatment to prevent gout, the risk of it returning within three years is over eight in 10. If you don’t have treatment, having gout may become more frequent and last for longer.

Self-help

There are a number of steps you can take to reduce the pain and swelling from having gout.

  • Raise and rest your joint. Don’t do any vigorous physical activity. Rarely, your doctor may give you a splint to wear to stop you moving your joint.
  • Keep your joint cool and don't cover it. Ice the affected joint using an ice pack or ice wrapped in a towel for about 20 minutes at a time to reduce swelling and bruising. Don’t apply ice directly to your skin as it can damage it. If you need to repeat this, let your joint return to its normal temperature first.
  • Drink enough water.

Medicines

There are medicines your doctor can prescribe to help to ease your pain and swelling from gout.

Your doctor may prescribe non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), such as ibuprofen and naproxen, which may relieve pain and inflammation. If you have a heart condition, high blood pressure, kidney or lung disease, or if you're over 65, these medicines may be harmful, so you need to talk to your doctor before taking them. Don’t take aspirin because this medicine can affect your uric acid levels and make your gout last longer.

If NSAIDs aren't suitable for you, your doctor may prescribe a medicine called colchicine instead. Colchicine also reduces inflammation, but in a different way to NSAIDs. You may have side-effects from this medicine including diarrhoea, but this can be reduced by taking lower doses.

Occasionally, your doctor may prescribe steroid tablets if you can't take NSAIDs or colchicine. Alternatively, he or she may recommend a steroid joint injection if you have gout in a large joint (such as your knee). 

Identifying things that cause you to have gout symptoms can help you to eliminate these triggers and reduce your chances of having it again. Gout can be prevented from reoccurring so often and so severely by making changes to your diet and taking medicines if needed.

Diet

What you choose to eat and drink can have an impact on gout. There are some foods that are very high in purines, which can increase the amount of uric acid in your blood. It’s best not to eat much of these foods very often. These include:

  • liver and kidneys
  • oily fish, such as mackerel, sardines and anchovies
  • shellfish, including mussels, crab and shrimp
  • certain vegetables, such as asparagus, cauliflower, lentils, mushrooms and spinach
  • oats and oatmeal

If you’re planning to make changes to your diet, ask your doctor or a dietitian for advice to ensure you still get all the nutrients you need. Eating a well-balanced diet will help you to manage your symptoms. See our frequently asked questions for more information.

Aim to drink less alcohol – especially cutting out beer, stout, port and fortified wines because these can have the greatest effect on causing gout symptoms. Drinking enough water every day will help to dilute your blood and urine, lowering the uric acid levels in your body.

If you need to lose excess weight, doing regular exercise will help you towards your goal. The recommended healthy level of physical activity is 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week in bouts of 10 minutes or more. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week.

Medicines

In addition to changing your diet, you may need medicines to prevent gout. These help control the levels of uric acid in your blood. The aim is to prevent you getting gout again and if you do, make it last for a shorter time and be less severe. These medicines aren't used to treat symptoms of gout and are usually prescribed several weeks after your last gout symptoms have gone.

Your doctor may prescribe you a medicine called allopurinol to take daily. An alternative is febuxostat if there is a reason why you can’t take allopurinol. Both of these medicines prevent gout by stopping the formation of uric acid. Both allopurinol and febuxostat may actually cause more symptoms of gout when you first start taking them. To help prevent this happening, your doctor may prescribe NSAIDs, colchicine or steroid tablets for you to take alongside allopurinol or febuxostat for up to three months. Make sure you drink enough fluids when taking these medicines.

Your doctor may prescribe you other medicines, such as probenecid, to increase the amount of uric acid that is removed from your body in your urine.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

1. I've been diagnosed with gout. Are there any foods I shouldn’t eat?

Answer

To reduce your gout symptoms and how often you get it, you can help yourself by not eating foods that contain very high levels of purines. Purines are substances that are broken down into uric acid and can make gout worse. Foods that contain high levels of purines include certain meats, seafood and pulses.

Explanation

Gout is caused by a build up of uric acid, a waste product formed from purines (which are found in every cell in your body and certain foods). Your diet plays an important role in causing gout and making changes can reduce your risk of it coming back.

If you have gout, certain foods that are very high in purines can make it worse. These foods include:

  • meats, such as red meat and offal (eg liver and kidneys)
  • game (eg pheasant and rabbit)
  • seafood (shellfish including mussels and shrimp)
  • oily fish, such as sardines and herring
  • yeast-containing food and drink, such as Marmite and beer
  • mushrooms and foods made from mushrooms (eg Quorn)
  • certain vegetables (eg cauliflower, asparagus and spinach)
  • beans and pulses (eg lentils)

There is no need to cut out all of these foods completely because they still contain other essential nutrients (for example, protein and iron in red meat), but reducing how much of them you eat can help with gout. Instead, you could eat more sources of protein that are low in purines, such as milk, cheese and eggs.

You may find that other foods make your gout worse. These can include strawberries, oranges and tomatoes. If these foods affect you, it's probably best not to eat them. If you have gout, cutting down on how much alcohol, especially beer, you drink can improve your symptoms. Drinking excessive amounts of alcohol can trigger symptoms of gout, even if you’re already taking medicines to prevent it.

Reducing how much food and drink you have that contains high levels of fructose, such as sugar-sweetened soft drinks, fruit juice and sweet fruits like raisins, can help to prevent gout. This is because fructose can raise the level of uric acid in your blood, which makes gout worse.

Maintaining a low purine, healthy, balanced diet will help you to manage your gout symptoms. However, depending on your condition, you may need to take medicines prescribed by your doctor to help treat your symptoms and prevent gout from coming back again.

2. I've been diagnosed with pseudogout. What's the difference between that and 'real' gout?

Answer

You're diagnosed with pseudogout when the pain and swelling in your joint is caused by a build up of different crystals to the ones that cause 'real' gout. Pseudogout may also be called calcium pyrophosphate crystal arthritis.

Explanation

You can develop gout if you have too much uric acid in your body. Uric acid is a chemical that everybody has in their blood. If the level of uric acid in your body is too high, it can form tiny crystals that collect in your tissues, particularly in and around your joints. This is what may cause your swelling and pain.

The crystals formed when you have pseudogout aren't uric acid crystals, as they are with 'real' gout. They are made of a calcium salt called calcium pyrophosphate. These crystals can often be seen on an X-ray of your affected joints.

Pseudogout is most common in people over 65, with men and women affected in equal numbers. Any joint can be affected, but often it will be your knee or wrist. Pseudogout usually starts with severe pain, stiffness and swelling, and settles on its own, getting better within two weeks. Sometimes, if you have another illness, it can set off pseudogout, but often there is no apparent reason for it starting.

Like gout, pseudogout can return, or become a long-term (chronic) condition. A chronic illness is one that lasts a long time, sometimes for the rest of the affected person’s life. When describing an illness, the term ‘chronic’ refers to how long a person has it, not to how serious a condition is.

Although you can be treated for pseudogout with similar medicines to those used for gout, if you get chronic pseudogout, there are fewer treatment options to prevent it or reduce the frequency of it happening. Some patients may need to take NSAIDs or steroids long term because there is no treatment to lower the levels of the crystals that cause pseudogout.

If you think you may have gout or pseudogout, contact your GP for advice.

3. I have had gout a few times and I am now taking allopurinol. Can I expect any serious side-effects?

Answer

In general, serious side-effects from allopurinol are very rare and this medicine is suitable for long term use. However, as with any medicine, look out for anything unusual and see your GP if you're worried.

Explanation

Allopurinol is a medicine that prevents gout by stopping the formation of uric acid.

You may get symptoms of gout during the first few months after you first start taking allopurinol. Your GP or rheumatologist (a doctor who specialises in conditions that affect the joints) may prescribe you a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID), or a medicine called colchicine to take alongside allopurinol to try to prevent this.

Further information

Sources

  • Gout. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 16 May 2011
  • Gout and pseudogout. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 26 March 2012
  • All about gout. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2009
  • Gout. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published November 2007
  • What is the outlook? Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 4 May 2012
  • All about gout and other health problems. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2011
  • Crystal arthropathy – suspected. Map of Medicine. www.eng.mapofmedicine.com, published 13 January 2012
  • What are calcium crystal diseases? Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 30 March 2012
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 63rd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Schlesinger N, Schumacher R, Catton M, et al. Colchicine for acute gout. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD006190
  • All about gout and diet. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2009
  • Calcium pyrophosphate deposition. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 24 August 2011



This leaflet is for information only. For a detailed opinion or personal advice, please consult with your own doctor

You might also like

Motor neurone disease

Motor neurone disease (MND) is a rare condition which is caused by the breakdown of the nerve cells in the brain that control movement muscles.

Read more

Bone cancer

There are many types of bone cancer, although they are all very rare. In Hong Kong, no exact data, but assumed about 60 people get bone cancer every year.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

痛風

痛風會導致關節腫痛,通常臂部及腿部最易受影響。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

痛風是關節炎引起,令關節腫大和疼痛,通常只會影響身體一個關節,最常見是大姆趾,但亦可能影響任何其他關節,包括:

  • 足部及足踝
  • 膝部
  • 手部、手指及手腕
  • 手肘

 

痛風的成因是關節患處尿酸晶體積聚。

痛風患者以男性較多,當中30至60歲人士及長者特別常見。

有些人一生中只有一次痛風病發,而且毋須治療自行康復。

關節有痛風的初期徵狀包括:

  • 關節劇痛
  • 患處周圍腫大及發熱
  • 關節皮膚泛紅發亮,其後可能脫皮
此外並可能發低燒。

 

痛風不時復發且持續多年的患者可能有其他徵狀,包括皮膚下有結實白色硬塊。這些由尿酸晶體組成的硬塊稱為痛風石(Tophi),由痛風初發開始慢慢形成,最長可達10年。痛風石可引致多種問題:

  • 痛風石發炎,造成不適
  • 痛風石破裂流出白色糊狀物
患者可諮詢醫生關於各種治療,以舒緩痛風石造成的不適。但是,痛風石發炎或破漏並非細菌感染造成,所以服抗生素沒有效用。

 

上述徵狀可能是其他疾病所引致。如發現這些徵狀應請教醫生。

痛風不一定會引發其他問題,但患者應接受治療和改變生活及飲食習慣,藉此減低併發症風險。

最常見的痛風併發症是關節逐漸受損,造成長期疼痛或關節變形,最終導致殘障。患者可改變飲食習慣和服用降尿酸藥物以作預防。此外亦有證據顯示體內尿酸水平持續偏高會增加血管疾病風險,可能引致突發性心臟病或中風。

其他併發症包括:

  • 痛風蔓延至多個關節(稱為多關節型痛風(Polyarticular Gout)),這種情況較常見於年長人士。
  • 如尿酸晶體積聚在尿道,可能形成腎石。每10名痛風患者中有一至三人出現這種情況。
  • 如尿酸晶體積聚於腎組織,可能損害腎臟。

人體內尿酸過多便會出現痛風。尿酸是每個人體內血液自然存在的化學物,它是由嘌呤(Purines)形成的廢物,我們身體每個細胞也有嘌呤,另有些食物也含有嘌呤。食物所含的嘌呤被身體分解後,便會在體內形成尿酸,此外老細胞分解被新細胞取代時亦會形成嘌呤。我們的身體通常會透過腎臟將過量尿酸輸送到尿液,然後排出體外,不過遇到下列情況,血液中的尿酸便會升高:

  • 腎臟排疏尿酸的速度不夠快
  • 身體製造過量尿酸

 

尿酸水平太高會結成微細晶體,慢慢在身體組織積聚,其中關節內部和周圍最多,這也是關節腫痛的原因。這些晶體是在體溫較低的環境下形成,所以手指和腳趾痛風的病例最常見。

並非每個尿酸水平高的人也有痛風,有些痛風患者尿酸水平根本不高。至於為甚麼有些人患痛風而其他人不會,醫學界尚未能確定,不過某些因素或會增加痛風的風險。以下類別的人士較易患痛風:

  • 30至60歲男性
  • 更年期後婦女
  • 日常飲食攝取大量嘌呤。嘌呤常見於紅肉、海鮮及其他某些食物
  • 過量飲酒,特別是經常飲啤酒
  • 日常少飲水和飲品,導致缺水
  • 服用某些藥物,例如利尿劑(去水丸),令體內尿流量增加
  • 家族有痛風遺傳病歷
  • 腎病患者,腎臟不能透過小便排出所有尿酸
  • 超重、糖尿病或高血壓患者
  • 患有牛皮癬(Psoriasis)(皮膚痕癢、乾燥及脫屑)疾病,導致身體製造過量尿酸
  • 正服用某類抗癌藥物

醫生會詢問患者的徵狀及進行檢查,此外亦會詢問患者和家族的病歷。醫生通常會安排抽血交送化驗所檢測,以量度尿酸水平,驗血亦可查找是否有其他原因造成不適徵狀。

醫生可能轉介病人到風濕病專科醫生(專門治療關節疾病的醫生)進行其他檢測。

醫生或會用針刺入腫大關節讓液體流出,這個程序一般不會造成太大痛楚,就像抽血化驗差不多。若經顯微鏡檢測發現液體含尿酸晶體,便可診斷為痛風。如發現鈣晶體,則屬於另一種類似的病症,名為假痛風(Pseudogout)。假痛風的晶體由一種稱為焦磷酸鈣(Calcium Pyrophosphate)的鈣鹽形成,詳情請參閱「常見問題」一節。

醫生或會安排患者照關節X光,以排除其他疾病的可能性,同時確定關節是否受損,但X光並非診斷痛風

痛風的徵狀通常最長持續兩星期,其後毋須治療也會自行消失。有些患者一生只有一次痛風,但亦有復發的病例。患者如不接受治療預防痛風,三年內的復發率是10人中超過八人。痛風不治療,發病可能愈來愈頻密,每次持續時間也更長。

自我護療

痛風患者可採取多種方法舒緩痛風發作引起的腫痛。

  • 提高關節讓其休息,不要做劇烈運動。在罕有情況下,醫生會為患者安裝夾板,制止關節移動。
  • 保持關節清爽,切勿包裹。用冰袋或毛巾包着冰塊冷敷關節有助消腫,每次冷敷約20分鐘。為免灼傷皮膚,冰塊切勿直接敷用。如須再次冰敷,應先讓腫痛部位回復正常溫度,才可敷理。
  • 多飲水。

 

藥物

醫生可處方一些藥物減輕痛風引致的痛楚及腫脹。

醫生或會處方非類固醇消炎藥,例如可減輕痛楚和發炎的布洛芬(Ibuprofen)及奈普生(Naproxen)。如患者有心臟病、高血壓、腎病、肺病或年過65歲,這些藥物或會造成損害,所以服用前應諮詢醫生。阿士匹靈(Aspirin)會影響尿酸水平,令痛風病徵持續更長時間,所以患者不宜服用。

如患者不適宜服用非類固醇消炎藥,醫生可處方秋水仙鹼(Colchicines)。這種藥亦有消炎作用,但治療方法與非類固醇消炎藥不同。秋水仙鹼可能引起副作用,例如引致腹瀉,但只要調低劑量便可舒緩。

假如患者不宜服用非類固醇消炎藥或秋水仙鹼,醫生有時也會處方類固醇藥片,又或建議痛風影響大型關節(例如膝部)的病人注射類固醇。

患者應認識導致痛風徵狀的成因,從而消除這些觸發因素和減少痛風復發的風險。只要改變一下日常飲食和按需要服藥,便可預防痛風經常復發及減輕病況。

飲食

日常飲食對痛風有極大的影響。有些食物的嘌呤含量極高,會導致血液尿酸水平上升,因此不宜多吃。這類食物包括:

  • 動物肝腎
  • 脂肪魚類,例如鯖魚、沙甸及鯷魚
  • 貝類,包括青口、蟹及蝦
  • 某些蔬菜,例如露荀、椰菜花、扁豆、菇類及菠菜
  • 燕麥及麥片粥

 

假如計劃調整日常飲食,應諮詢醫生或營養師的意見,確保可攝取身體所需的各種營養。飲食營養均衡有助控制徵狀。詳情請參閱「常見問題」一節。

飲酒不應過量  特別是啤酒、黑啤、砵酒及加度葡萄酒,因為這類酒精飲品最易引發痛風徵狀。每日應飲足夠的水稀釋血液和尿液,從而降低體內尿酸水平。

若有須要減肥,應經常運動以達到減磅目標。建議的健康運動水平是一星期做150分鐘(兩個半小時)溫和運動,每次10分鐘或以上。例如,您可每星期最少做五天運動,每次30分鐘。

藥物

除了改變飲食習慣,患者亦可考慮服用預防性藥物。服藥可控制血液尿酸的水平,防止痛風復發,即使復發也會時間較短及病況較輕。這類藥物的使用並非治療痛風的徵狀,一般在上次痛風徵狀消除後數星期才處方。

醫生或會處方一種名為別嘌呤醇(Allopurinol)的藥物,患者須每天服用,假如病人有任何原因不能服用別嘌呤醇,醫生可能處方非布索坦(febuxostat)。兩種藥物都可抑制尿酸形成,初期服用時或會引發更多痛風徵狀,為防止這種副作用,醫生可能處方非類固醇消炎藥、秋水仙鹼或類固醇藥片指示病人與別嘌呤醇或非布索坦一併服用,患者須服用三個月,同時大量飲水和其他流質飲品。

醫生或會處方其他藥物,以從尿液排疏更多尿酸,例如丙磺舒(probenecid)。

病人服藥應諮詢醫生的意見,並細閱藥物的病人須知說明。

1. 我被診斷患有痛風,有甚麼食物不宜進食?

痛風患者可避免進食嘌呤含量高的食物,藉此減輕痛風徵狀和發作的頻密度。嘌呤是可分解成為尿酸的物質,會令痛風惡化。嘌呤含量高的食物包括某些肉類、海鮮及豆類。

痛風是尿酸積聚導致的疾病,而尿酸是由嘌呤(身體每個細胞及某些食物均含嘌呤)形成的廢物。不良的飲食習慣是導致痛風的主要原因,只要妥善調節,便可減低痛風復發的風險。

痛風患者進食某些嘌呤含量高的食物會令病情惡化,包括:

  • 肉類,例如紅肉及內臟(例如肝腎)
  • 野味(例如野禽及兔)
  • 海鮮(貝類,包括青口及蝦)
  • 脂肪魚類,例如沙甸及鯖魚
  • 含酵母的飲食,例如啤酒
  • 菇類及菇類製造的食品(例如Quorn素肉)
  • 某些蔬菜(例如椰菜花、露荀及菠菜)
  • 豆類(例如扁豆)

 

這些食物亦含有其他養分(例如紅肉含蛋白質及鐵質),所以患者毋須完全戒食,但減少食量有助舒緩痛風。患者可從其他嘌呤含量低的食物攝取蛋白質,例如奶、芝士和蛋。

此外,其他食物亦可能激化痛風,包括草莓、橙及蕃茄。假如發現這些食物對您造成影響,最好避免進食。痛風病人也應減少飲酒,特別是啤酒,這有助舒緩不適徵狀。過量飲酒可能觸發痛風徵狀,即使已服藥預防亦會如此。

除此之外,患者也應減少含高果糖的飲食,例如甜汽水、果汁和葡萄乾等甜水果,這樣可防止痛風發作,因為果糖會令尿酸水平上升,加劇痛風。

日常飲食少含嘌呤而健康均衡,對控制痛風徵狀幫助甚大。但視乎個人情況,患者或須服用醫生處方藥物治療不適徵狀和防止痛風復發。

2. 我被診斷患有假痛風,這跟「真」痛風有何分別?

假如導致關節腫痛的晶體跟「真」痛風的不同,便會診斷為假痛風。假痛風又稱焦磷酸鈣晶體性關節炎(Calcium Pyrophosphate Crystal Arthritis)。

身體的尿酸過多便會出現痛風,而尿酸是每個人血液自然存在的化學物。尿酸水平過高會結成細小晶體,積聚在身體組織,特別是關節內部和周圍,導致關節腫痛。

假痛風患者體內形成的晶體並非導致「真」痛風的尿酸晶體,而是一種名為焦磷酸鈣的鈣鹽。從X光片可看到受影響關節的晶體。

假痛風最常見於65歲以上人士,男性和女性的發病率相若。它可以影響任何關節,但最常見是膝部或手腕關節。假痛風發作時,患者會感到關節劇痛、繃硬和腫脹,這些徵狀會漸漸消減,大概兩星期內逐漸好轉。有時其他疾病也會引發假痛風,但一般病例沒有任何明顯成因。

一如痛風,假痛風亦可復發或成為慢性長期疾病。慢性疾病指持續多時的疾病,有些病例會終生影響患者。「慢性」疾病純粹指患病的時間長短,與嚴重程度無關。

假痛風也可用痛風藥物治療,但若要治療慢性假痛風或防止其經常復發,則治療選擇不多。由於沒有其他療法可降低導致假痛風的晶體數量,有些病人或須服用非類固醇消炎藥或類固醇藥。

如您懷疑自己患有痛風或假痛風,請諮詢醫生。

3. 我曾試過數次痛風發作,現在正服用別嘌呤醇,這會引起副作用嗎?

別嘌呤醇一般無副作用,適合長期服用,但服食任何藥物也應留意任何不尋常反應,如有疑慮則應請教醫生。

別嘌呤醇是一種可抑制尿酸形成預防痛風的藥物。

開始服用別嘌呤醇頭數月痛風可能會發作。醫生或風濕病專科醫生可處方非類固醇消炎藥或秋水仙鹼與別嘌呤醇一同服用,以防止痛風發作。

部分患者服用別嘌呤醇後會出紅疹,如遇到這種情況,應立即告知醫生或風濕病專科醫生。

更多資料

來源

  • Gout. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 16 May 2011
  • Gout and pseudogout. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 26 March 2012
  • All about gout. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2009
  • Gout. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published November 2007
  • What is the outlook? Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 4 May 2012
  • All about gout and other health problems. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2011
  • Crystal arthropathy – suspected. Map of Medicine. www.eng.mapofmedicine.com, published 13 January 2012
  • What are calcium crystal diseases? Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 30 March 2012
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 63rd ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Schlesinger N, Schumacher R, Catton M, et al. Colchicine for acute gout. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD006190
  • All about gout and diet. UK Gout Society. www.ukgoutsociety.org, published 2009
  • Calcium pyrophosphate deposition. BMJ Best Practice. www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 24 August 2011

相關文章

運動神經元病

運動神經元病(Motor Neurone Disease, 簡稱MND)是罕有的疾病,起因是腦部控制肌肉動作的神經細胞壞死。

閱讀更多

骨癌

骨癌分為多類,但全部均為罕見病症。本港沒有確切的骨癌病例資料,但估計每年約有60人患上此症。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。