Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Steroid joint injections

If you have a painful joint, for example from injury or arthritis, your doctor may offer you a joint injection of a steroid medicine. Steroids reduce inflammation and so can help reduce pain and swelling in your joint and allow it to move more easily.

Steroid (also called corticosteroid) injections may be used for treating many different joints including the knee, shoulder, elbow, ankle, wrist and hip. They can be given by your GP, rheumatologist or orthopaedic surgeon. Joint injections may be done at your GP’s surgery, clinic or in a hospital. The steroids used for joint injections are similar to those produced naturally by your body. The mildest is hydrocortisone. Prednisolone, methylprednisolone and triamcinolone are stronger and have longer-lasting effects.

Your pain relief can last for anything from one week to two months or longer, depending on the type of steroid that’s been injected. Some short-acting steroids act quickly (within hours) and may work for at least a week. Other, long-acting steroids may take about a week to start working, but their effects last for a few months. Sometimes a mixture of these may be used. Your doctor or another healthcare professional will discuss with you which is the best option in your circumstances.

The injections can be repeated every three months if you need them. General advice is that joints are injected no more than four times in one year.

Steroid joint injections don’t cure the underlying problem in your joint, but they may ease symptoms and allow you to cope with physiotherapy treatment better.

Your doctor or another healthcare professional will explain how to prepare for your procedure. You may also be given an information leaflet with details about steroid joint injections. There aren’t usually any special preparations you need to make before a steroid a joint injection. Plan to wear comfortable clothing which allows easy access to the affected joint.

The injection may also contain a local anaesthetic, or you may be given a separate injection of local anaesthetic before your steroid injection. This helps to temporarily relieve pain from the area as you have the steroid injection. Ask your doctor or healthcare professional whether you’ll be able to drive after your joint injection. It might be best if you make arrangements beforehand for someone to drive you home.

Your doctor or healthcare professional will discuss with you what will happen before, during and after your procedure, and any pain you might have. This is your opportunity to ask questions so that you understand what will be happening. You don’t have to go ahead with the procedure if you decide you don’t want it. Once you understand the procedure and if you agree to have it, you’ll be asked to sign a consent form.

Your doctor will examine the area and thoroughly clean the skin over your affected joint with an antiseptic.

They will then inject the steroid. If you're having a local anaesthetic, your doctor may give this as a combined injection with the steroid using a single syringe. Alternatively, you may have two separate injections. For certain joints, such as a hip joint, your doctor may use ultrasound or X-rays during the procedure to help guide the injection into the right spot.

If you have arthritis, you may have too much fluid in your joint, making it feel tight and uncomfortable. If this is the case, your doctor may draw the fluid out with a syringe before your injection. This is known as joint aspiration.

After a local anaesthetic it may take several hours before the feeling comes back into your joint. Take special care not to bump or knock the area.

You may need pain relief to help with any discomfort as the anaesthetic wears off.

You will usually be able to go home when you feel ready. Before you go home, your doctor may assess the movement you have in your joint and give you some exercises to do at home.

If you have had an injection in your spine, you will need someone to drive you home. With other joints, such as your shoulder or knee, you may be ok to drive. Check with your doctor to confirm if you’re able to drive.

You will feel some discomfort as the local anaesthetic wears off. At first, the pain may be worse than before the injection, this is called a ‘steroid flare’.

If you need pain relief, you can take over-the-counter painkillers such as paracetamol or ibuprofen. Always read the patient information that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your pharmacist for advice.

If you're having physiotherapy, your physiotherapist may encourage you to move the joint. Alternatively, you may be advised to keep movements to a minimum for a day or two. It's important to follow your doctor or physiotherapist's advice.

Most people have no problems after steroid joint injections. However, contact your GP if you have a high temperature or persistent swelling, redness or if the pain in your joint doesn't settle within the first couple of days.

As with every procedure, there are some risks associated with steroid joint injections. We have not included the chance of these happening as they are specific to you and differ for every person. Ask your doctor to explain how these risks apply to you.

Side-effects

Side-effects are the unwanted but mostly temporary effects you may get after having the procedure. Side-effects of steroid joint injections include:

  • an increase in pain and swelling in the injected area – this usually settles within a few days
  • thinning or a change in the colour of the skin around the injection site – this tends to be more common with stronger or repeated injections
  • a flushed or red face

Complications are when problems occur during or after the procedure. Complications of steroid joint injections can include:

  • infection – you may need treatment with antibiotics
  • damage to nerves or tendons – this is more likely with repeated injections
  • changes in the menstrual cycle in women
  • changes in your mood or insomnia
  • cartilage damage – this tends to be more common with repeated injections
The alternatives to steroid joint injections will depend on what is causing your pain. Alternative treatments include steroid tablets, anti-inflammatory drugs, painkillers and physiotherapy. Speak to your doctor about the options available to you.
1. How often can I have a steroid injection?

Answer

You can have a steroid injection every three months with no more than four injections a year.

Explanation

A steroid injection can be repeated every three months. However, long-term use of steroids can affect your mood, interfere with your menstrual cycle if you're a woman and weaken your bones and muscles. Repeat injections can also damage the joint. For this reason, no more than a maximum of four injections in a year are recommended.

If you still have pain or swelling after a course of steroid injections, speak to your doctor about alternative medical or surgical treatments.

 

2. Can my child have a steroid joint injection?

Answer

Steroids interfere with growth and are rarely used for children. Steroid injections are sometimes used to relieve pain in certain conditions in under 18s, such as juvenile idiopathic arthritis.

Explanation

Steroids can interfere with bone growth and therefore steroid joint injections are only recommended for people under the age of 18 rarely, for example children with juvenile idiopathic arthritis. Young children or children having several injections may have the steroid injections under general anaesthesia or sedation.

If your child has joint pain or swelling, speak to your doctor about alternative treatments.

 

3. Can steroid joint injections manage my symptoms over the long term?

Answer

No, steroid injections can't be used long-term.

Explanation

Steroids are used mainly to manage symptoms and not to treat the underlying cause of the condition. For example, the aim of a steroid joint injection is to ease pain and swelling and reduce stiffness so that it's easier to move your affected joint. Steroid joint injections are usually given along with other therapies to help treat or manage the condition causing these symptoms. For example, your doctor will usually recommend physiotherapy to help strengthen the joint area.

Steroids aren't recommended for long-term use because of their effects on the mind and body. For example, they can affect your mood, interfere with your menstrual cycle if you're a woman and weaken the cartilage in your joints.

If you still have pain or swelling after a course of steroid injections, speak to your doctor about alternative treatments.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only.  It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites.

Further Information

Arthritis Research UK
0300 790 0400
www.arthritisresearchuk.org

Sources

  • Local steroid injections. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 28 February 2013
  • Joint injection/aspiration. American College of Rheumatology, February 2012. www.rheumatology.org
  • Salinas JD. Corticosteroid injections of joints and soft tissues. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 29 July 2011
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 64th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary for Children. July 2012. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Guideline for the non-surgical management of hip and knee osteoarthritis. The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, 2009. http://www.racgp.org.au
  • Osteoarthritis. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nice.org.uk, published August 2008
 

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

關節注射類固醇

此資料由保柏的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。

此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。

第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。 

 

在疼痛的關節注射類固醇有助鎮痛及消腫,例如損傷或關節炎造成的腫痛。

負責注射的醫生會向患者講解護理詳情,由於治療是根據個人需要而設計,因此具體程序或與下文所述不同。

  • 關節注射類固醇有助鎮痛及消腫。
  • 注射的藥物可能含有局部麻醉劑。
  • 治療某些關節時,醫生或會用超聲波或X光輔助,確保注射位置準確。
  • 類固醇可每三個月注射一次,一年不可注射超過四次。

遇到一個或多個關節有、關節炎或發炎的患者,即包括肩、膝、手肘或手腕關節,醫生或會建議注射類固醇。關節注射類固醇有助舒緩關節腫痛,讓關節移動更暢順。

關節注射的類固醇與人體自然分泌的物質相似。藥力較溫和的類固醇有氫化可的松(Hydrocortisone),而藥力較強效持久的類固醇則有潑尼松龍(Prednisolone)、甲基強的松龍(Methylprednisolone)及曲安西龍(Triamcinolone)。

注射後鎮痛作用可維持一個星期至兩個月或更長時間,主要視乎注射的類固醇類型。如有需要患者可每三個月注射一次,一般來說每年不應超過四次。

醫生會向患者講解怎樣為治療作好準備。普通科醫生、風濕病專科醫生、整形外科醫生、運動專科醫生、專科護士或物理治療師均可為病人注射類固醇,患者可到醫院或醫生診所注射。
注射的藥物或含有局部麻醉藥,醫生亦可能在注射類固醇之前另行注射局部麻醉藥,以暫時舒緩注射類固醇部位的痛楚。

醫生會在注射之前、期間和之後向患者講解所有程序,以及說明或會感到痛楚不適。患者可藉此知道注射的詳情,如對注射的風險、好處和是否有其他可考慮方案存有疑問亦可以提出,以作好準備。患者掌握詳盡資料後便可同意注射類固醇。醫生或會要求簽署正式的同意書。

醫生會檢查注射部位,然後用消毒巾清潔皮膚。
接着便會注射類固醇。若須局部麻醉,醫生可能將麻醉藥混和類固醇在同一針筒一併注射,此外亦可分別注射。治療某些關節時,例如髖關節,醫生或會用超聲波或X光輔助,確保注射位置準確。

如患者有關節炎,關節可能過量積液,以致繃緊不適。在這種情況下,醫生或會先用針筒抽出體液才注射類固醇,這稱為關節穿刺(Joint Aspiration)。

局部麻醉後注射類固醇,關節需要數小時才能恢復感覺,此時應小心避免碰撞患處。
隨着麻醉藥藥力減退,患者或須服鎮痛藥止痛。
通常患者休息一會,如無感覺異樣便可回家。回家前,醫生或會評估關節的移動情況,同時指導患者如何在家做運動。
如在脊椎注射類固醇,便須請別人幫忙駕車接載回家。其他關節如肩部或膝部則應可自行駕車。患者應詢問醫生是否適宜駕車。
隨着局部麻醉藥藥力減退,患者會感到有點不適。初時患處或會比注射前更疼痛,這稱為「類固醇加劇發作(Steroid Flare)」。
如須服用鎮痛藥,可購買止痛成藥如撲熱息痛(Paracetamol)或布洛芬(Ibuprofen)。服藥前必須詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明,如有疑問應諮詢藥劑師。
如接受物理治療,物理治療師可能建議患者移動關節,此外亦可能指示頭一至兩天儘量不要移動關節。患者應遵照醫生或物理治療師的建議。
大部分人接受關節注射類固醇後均無問題,但若發高燒、患處持續紅腫或超過兩天關節依然疼痛,則應通知醫生。

任何的醫療程序,關節注射類固醇亦涉及一些風險。風險類別會因人而有所不同,所以本文並未說明其有關的可能性。如欲了解個人的具體風險,請諮詢醫生。

副作用

副作用是接受治療後出現的不良反應,通常只屬短暫性質。關節注射類固醇的副作用包括:

  • 注射部位腫痛加劇通常數天便會好轉。
  • 注射部位周圍的皮膚變薄或變色通常見於較強效或多次的注射治療。
  • 面部通紅或發紅。

併發症指注射期間或之後出現的問題。關節注射類固醇可能引起的併發症包括:

  • 感染患者或須服抗生素治療。
  • 神經或腱受損較常見於多次注射。
  • 女性月經周期改變。
  • 情緒變化或失眠。
  • 軟骨受損往往見於多次注射。
患者能否以其他療法代替關節注射類固醇,主要視乎關節疼痛的成因。其他選擇方案包括口服類固醇藥片、消炎藥、鎮痛藥及物理治療。患者應諮詢醫生以了解適合的治療方案。
1. 我可每隔多久注射一次類固醇?

類固醇可每三個月注射一次,一年不可超過四次。

類固醇可每三個月注射一次,但長期使用類固醇或會影響情緒和干擾女性患者的月經周期,此外亦會弱化骨骼及肌肉,多次注射更可能損害關節,因此建議每年不可注射超過四次。

若完成整個注射類固醇療程後患處依然疼痛或腫大,應諮詢醫生關於其他可行的內科或外科治療方案。

2. 關節注射類固醇適合小朋友嗎?

類固醇會妨礙發育,所以很少應用於兒童。不過,醫生有時也會處方類固醇為患有某些疾病的18歲以下患者止痛,例如幼年特發性關節炎患者。

類固醇會妨礙骨骼發育,所以醫生極少建議未滿18歲的患者注射,除非是幼年特發性關節炎等罕有病例,才會考慮施用。為年幼病人注射類固醇或為兒童患者連續多次注射類固醇時,醫生或會使用全身麻醉藥或鎮靜劑。

如小朋友的關節腫痛,應諮詢醫生關於其他可行的治療方案。

3. 關節注射類固醇能否長期控制我的徵狀?

不能,類固醇不能長期使用。

類固醇一般用於控制徵狀而非根治引致不適的基本成因。例如,在關節注射類固醇的目的是鎮痛消腫和舒緩僵硬感覺,讓患者的關節移動更暢順。關節注射類固醇通常會配合其他治療,藉以治理或控制引起不適徵狀的疾病。例如,醫生通常會建議病人接受物理治療,以強化關節部位。

類固醇對精神及生理均有影響,因此不宜長期使用。例如,類固醇或會影響情緒和干擾女性患者的月經周期,此外亦會弱化關節軟骨。

若完成整個關節注射類固醇療程後患處依然疼痛或腫大,應諮詢醫生關於其他可行的治療方案。

索取更多資料

Arthritis Research UK
0300 790 0400
www.arthritisresearchuk.org

來源

  • Local steroid injections. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 28 February 2013
  • Joint injection/aspiration. American College of Rheumatology, February 2012. www.rheumatology.org
  • Salinas JD. Corticosteroid injections of joints and soft tissues. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 29 July 2011
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 64th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary for Children. July 2012. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Guideline for the non-surgical management of hip and knee osteoarthritis. The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, 2009. http://www.racgp.org.au
  • Osteoarthritis. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nice.org.uk, published August 2008

索取更多資料

Arthritis Research UK
0300 790 0400
www.arthritisresearchuk.org

來源

  • Local steroid injections. Arthritis Research UK. www.arthritisresearchuk.org, accessed 28 February 2013
  • Joint injection/aspiration. American College of Rheumatology, February 2012. www.rheumatology.org
  • Salinas JD. Corticosteroid injections of joints and soft tissues. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 29 July 2011
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary. 64th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Joint Formulary Committee. British National Formulary for Children. July 2012. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; 2012
  • Guideline for the non-surgical management of hip and knee osteoarthritis. The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, 2009. http://www.racgp.org.au
  • Osteoarthritis. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nice.org.uk, published August 2008

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【電話查詢優惠】

致電 2517 5860 ,查詢個人醫保計劃,隨時可享高達85折 + 賺取 HK$1.5 = 1 「亞洲萬里通」里數!*

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。