Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Bowel cancer

Bowel cancer, also known as colorectal cancer, is the name for any cancer of your large bowel and rectum (back passage). Very rarely, cancers can occur in your small bowel.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

 

 

Your large bowel (also called your colon) is the last section of your digestive system. Food passes through your small bowel (the longer, thinner part of your bowel) where nutrients are absorbed. Food waste then travels through your large bowel, where it becomes more solid faeces.

Your large bowel has three sections: the ascending; transverse; and descending colon. Your rectum, at the end of your large bowel, is where faeces collects before passing through your anus as a bowel movement.

Bowel cancer

Usually, large bowel cancers develop from small, non-cancerous (benign) growths of tissue called polyps that can extend from the lining of your bowel wall. Sometimes polyps can become cancerous (malignant) over time. If the cancer isn't treated, it can grow through the wall of your bowel and spread to other parts of your body.

Bowel cancer is often painless in the early stages, but there are symptoms, including:

  • blood in your faeces, which may be mixed into your faeces or appear as flecks on the surface, or you may see it in the toilet or on toilet paper - get into the habit of looking into the toilet before flushing
  • persistent changes in your bowel habit for several weeks - especially going to the toilet more often or having diarrhoea
  • weight loss without any obvious reason and/or loss of appetite
  • tiredness or breathlessness for no apparent reason - this may be caused by the small amount of blood loss from your bowel, resulting in anaemia (when there are too few red blood cells or not enough haemoglobin in your blood)
  • pain, or a lump or swelling in your abdomen (tummy)

These symptoms aren't always due to bowel cancer. However the symptoms shouldn't be ignored so if you have them, see your GP. If bowel cancer is caught early there is a better chance of curing it.

 

The causes of bowel cancer aren't fully understood at present. One of the main factors is increasing age - more than eight out of 10 people diagnosed with bowel cancer are over 60.

Your risk of bowel cancer also increases if you have:

  • a family history of bowel cancer
  • one of two inherited bowel conditions that increase your risk - familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP) or hereditary non-polyposis colorectal cancer (HNPCC), also known as Lynch syndrome
  • a long-term bowel condition, such as Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis
  • a diet that is low in fibre and fruit and vegetables and high in red and processed meats
  • an inactive lifestyle, or are obese
  • diabetes

Your GP will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history. Your GP may refer you to a doctor or surgeon who specialises in colorectal disease.

Tests for bowel cancer include the following.

  • A colonoscopy, which is a test that allows a doctor to look inside your large bowel. The test is done using a narrow, flexible, tube-like telescopic camera called a colonoscope.
  • A sigmoidoscopy, which is a procedure used to look inside your rectum and the lower part of your bowel.
  • A barium enema, which involves placing a fluid containing barium (a substance which shows up on X-rays) into your bowel via your rectum. X-ray images of your abdomen then show the inside of your bowel more clearly.

If your doctor diagnoses bowel cancer, you may need further tests to find the size and position of the cancer.

These tests may include:

  • an ultrasound scan of your abdomen to see if the cancer has spread
  • a CT scan to show the position of the tumour
  • an MRI scan to show two- and three-dimensional pictures of your bowel
  • a chest X-ray to check the health of your heart and lungs
  • blood tests to assess your general health

Screening for bowel cancer

Screening is important for detecting bowel cancer in its early stages.

You may choose to have regular screening if you:

  • are over 60 years old
  • have a close relative who has had bowel cancer
  • have FAP, HNPCC, or other diseases of the bowel lining such as ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease

The type of treatment you have will depend on the size of the tumour, its position and whether it has spread.

Surgery

Surgery is the most common treatment for bowel cancer.

If you have surgery, the part of your large bowel that contains the cancer will be removed and the two open ends joined together. Lymph nodes (glands found throughout your body that are part of your immune system) near your bowel are often removed because they are the first place the cancer usually spreads to.

Sometimes, depending on the location and size of the cancer that is removed, the two ends of your bowel can't be rejoined. If this happens, the opening nearest the beginning of your bowel will be brought out on to the skin surface of your abdomen. A colostomy is an opening of your large bowel onto the surface of your tummy (abdomen) and an ileostomy is an opening of your small bowel onto the surface of the abdomen. The opening of the bowel is known as a stoma.

A bag is worn over the stoma, which collects your bowel movements outside your body. Most people who have surgery don't need a colostomy, but if you do, it's usually temporary.

If you have cancer in your rectum, you may need surgery to remove the part of your rectum that contains the cancer, as well as the fatty tissue and lymph nodes around your rectum. You're more likely to need a colostomy if you have cancer of the rectum than if you have cancer of the colon.

Non-surgical treatments

Chemotherapy and radiotherapy

Sometimes it's not possible to remove all the cancer by surgery, so you may need to have additional treatment with chemotherapy and/or radiotherapy.

These treatments are given to destroy any remaining cancer cells and to prevent it spreading further. Chemotherapy and radiotherapy are also sometimes used to shrink the tumour before surgery or to kill any cancer cells that are left after surgery.

Chemotherapy and radiotherapy can both have side-effects.

Monoclonal antibodies
Monoclonal antibodies (MABs) are medicines that are designed to recognise and target markers that are commonly carried by cancer cells. There are three main MAB treatments for bowel cancer:

  • bevacizumab
  • cetuximab
  • panitumumab

These medicines seek out cancer cells and stop them growing. They are sometimes used alongside chemotherapy. They can be used for various stages of cancer - ask your doctor for more advice.

 

There is evidence that taking the following steps can help to reduce your risk of getting bowel cancer.

  • Try to do 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week in bouts of 10 minutes or more. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week. Alternatively, you can do 75 minutes of vigorous intensity activity.
  • Eat five or more portions of fruit and vegetables every day.
  • Cut down on the amount of processed and red meat you eat.
  • Maintain a healthy weight.
  • Eat foods high in fibre such as wholegrain bread, cereals and pasta.
  • If you smoke, quit.

Getting enough vitamin D may reduce your risk of developing a number of cancers, including bowel cancer – although more research needs to be done to be certain. Vitamin D is also well known to be important for bone health.

Vitamin D is produced naturally by your body when your skin is exposed to sunlight and can also be obtained from some foods, such as oily fish.

You may get enough vitamin D during summer by spending frequent short spells in the sun without wearing sunscreen (the exact time you need is different for everyone, but is typically only a few minutes in the middle of the day). However, do not let your skin redden. If you don't get much sun exposure and particularly during winter months, taking up to 25 micrograms of vitamin D a day (two high-strength 12.5 microgram capsules) can help to make sure you get enough.

Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your supplements and if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, ask your pharmacist or GP for advice first. Talk to your GP before taking vitamin D supplements if you are taking diuretics for high blood pressure or have a history of kidney stones or kidney failure.

 

1. Why are people with bowel conditions such as Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis more likely to develop bowel cancer?

Inflammatory bowel diseases such as Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis are thought to cause prolonged damage to your bowel over a long period of time which could result in bowel cancer.

Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis are both chronic diseases that cause your bowel to become inflamed. A chronic illness is one that lasts a long time, sometimes for the rest of your life. When describing an illness, the term chronic refers to how long a person has it, not to how serious a condition is.

It's thought that over time the damage caused to the lining of your bowel increases the risk of cancerous cells developing. If you have had Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis and it has affected your entire bowel for more than eight years or affected the left side of your bowel for more than 15 years, then you're at a higher risk of bowel cancer than the average person. It has been estimated that bowel cancer is caused by ulcerative colitis in about one in every 100 people diagnosed with bowel cancer.

If you have Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis and are at a higher risk of bowel cancer, it's important that you're screened regularly. If you have had your condition for between 10 and 20 years, it's recommended that you should be screened every three years. When you have had it for between 20 and 30 years this will be increased to every two years. After 30 years you will be screened every year. Your doctor will advise you on what is recommended and why.

Screening involves having a colonoscopy. A colonoscopy is a test that allows a doctor to look inside your large bowel. The test is done using a narrow, flexible, tube-like telescopic camera called a colonoscope. This type of screening means that if you do develop bowel cancer, it can be detected and treated early.

If you have any questions about Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis or bowel cancer, talk to your doctor.

2. Can calcium help reduce the risk of developing bowel cancer?

Possibly. Research has suggested that people who have more calcium in their diet are less likely to develop polyps in their bowel. These polyps may lead to the development of bowel cancer. However no research has directly shown that taking calcium supplements has any effect on your risk of getting bowel cancer.

Calcium is an important part of your diet. It helps build strong bones and teeth, regulates your muscle contractions (including your heartbeat) and makes sure your blood clots normally. More recently, research has suggested that it may also help prevent certain cancers, including bowel cancer.

Recovery from amputation isn't easy and you will need to be committed and determined. A team of health professionals will help you make as full a recovery as possible.

Studies have found that people who have high amounts of calcium in their diet may be less likely to develop bowel cancer than those who have little calcium in their diet. On average, adults need about 700mg of calcium per day. The research found that taking 1200mg of calcium supplements a day helps to prevent polyps (growths) developing in your large bowel. These polyps are dangerous because over time they can change and become cancerous.

So far, these findings have only shown that calcium supplements may contribute to the prevention of bowel polyps. More research needs to be done to establish whether increasing calcium in your diet prevents bowel cancer.

It's important to make sure that you're getting enough calcium in your diet to keep you healthy and prevent long-term health conditions. Good sources of calcium include milk, cheese and other dairy products, green leafy vegetables (such as broccoli), soya products, nuts and anything made with fortified flour, and sardines and pilchards.

At this stage, it's too early to say whether extra calcium in your diet will help protect against bowel cancer. However, there is evidence to show that taking the following steps will reduce your risk.

  • Try to do 150 minutes (two and a half hours) of moderate exercise over a week in bouts of 10 minutes or more. You can do this by carrying out 30 minutes on at least five days each week. Alternatively, you can do 75 minutes of vigorous intensity activity.
  • Eat five or more portions of fruit and vegetables every day.
  • Cut down on the amount of processed and red meat you eat.
  • Maintain a healthy weight.
  • Eat foods high in fibre such as wholegrain bread, cereals and pasta.
  • If you smoke, try to quit.

3. What is the difference between a colostomy and an ileostomy?

A colostomy and ileostomy are both surgical procedures that involve bringing part of your bowel to your abdomen wall to create an artificial opening (stoma). The difference between them is in the part of the bowel that the stoma joins: a colostomy is when your large bowel is joined to the opening, whereas an ileostomy is when your small bowel is joined to the opening.

Procedures with a name ending in 'ostomy' usually involve part of your bowel being joined to an artificial opening called a stoma in your abdomen. The first part of the word refers to the part of the bowel affected, ie 'col' in the word colostomy refers to your colon (large bowel) and 'ile' in ileostomy refers to your ileum (small bowel). A bag is worn over the stoma to collect bowel movements. The stoma is usually placed low down on your abdomen so it's hidden under your clothing.

These procedures are carried out if parts of your bowel can't be re-joined after having surgery for conditions such as Crohn's disease, bowel cancer or diverticulosis. A colostomy is usually temporary when used after surgery for bowel cancer. An operation is normally carried out a couple of months after your initial treatment to rejoin your bowel and remove the stoma. This is called a stoma reversal. Occasionally, if your bowel can't be rejoined, the stoma is permanent.

Having a stoma can be both physically and mentally challenging. However, most people are able to carry on with their lives as they did before and participate in activities such as swimming. There are patient support groups available, such as the Colostomy Association and the Ileostomy and internal pouch support group that can provide support and advice on having a stoma.

If you have any questions or concerns about colostomy or ileostomy, talk to your surgeon, GP or nurse.

 

Further Information

Sources

  • High risk groups for bowel cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • The bowel. Cancer Research Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Practice guidance: bowel cancer. Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. www.rpsgb.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • About bowel cancer screening. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel cancer. Medical Research Council. www.mrc.ac.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Symptoms of bowel cancer. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Information about bowel cancer. British Society of Gastroenterology. www.bsg.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Dai Z, Xu YC, Niu L. Obesity and colorectal cancer risk: A meta-analysis of cohort studies. World J Gastroenterol 2007; 13(31):4199-206.
  • How bowel cancer is diagnosed. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel cancer screening - the facts. NHS Cancer Screening Programmes. www.dh.gov.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel screening: Scottish bowel screening programme. NHS Scotland. www.bowelscreening.scot.nhs.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel Screening Wales. Bowel Screening Wales. www.wales.nhs.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Screening: colorectal screening. National Cancer Screening Service. www.cancerscreening.ie, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Which treatment for bowel cancer? Cancer Research Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Surgery for large bowel cancer. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Chemotherapy and monoclonal antibodies. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Cetuximab for the first-line treatment of metastatic colorectal cancer. 2009. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)
  • Exercising for prevention. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Eating for protection. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Protecting against bowel cancer. Cancer Research Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Who is screened for bowel cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • British Society of Gastroenterology. Guidelines for colorectal cancer screening in high risk groups. Gut 2002; 51:1-28
  • Protecting against bowel cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Weingarten M, Zalmanovici A and Yaphe J. Dietary calcium supplementation for preventing colorectal cancer and adenomatous polyps. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2008(3). www.cochrane.org
  • Calcium. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 14 September 2009.
  • What is a stoma? Ostomy Lifestyle. www.ostomylifestyle.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • If you need a colostomy for bowel cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Consensus vitamin D position statement. British Association of Dermatologists, Cancer Research UK, Diabetes UK, the Multiple Sclerosis Society, the National Heart Forum, the National Osteoporosis Society and the Primary Care Dermatology Society, December 2010
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011. www.dh.gov.uk

You might also like

Indigestion

Indigestion is the term used to describe pain and discomfort in the upper abdomen or chest that can develop after a meal. The medical term for it is dyspepsia.

Read more

Irritable bowel syndrome

Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) is a long-term condition that causes re-occurring pain or discomfort in the abdomen (tummy) and an altered bowel habit.

Read more

Colonoscopy

A colonoscopy is an examination of the lining of the colon (large bowel) using a flexible, tube-like telescope called a colonoscope. This instrument is carefully passed through your rectum (back passage) and into the colon.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

腸癌

腸癌又稱結(直)腸癌,指大腸及直腸(肛門)的癌症,小腸出現癌症的病例非常罕見。

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。 

大腸(又名結腸)是消化系統最末端部分。食物通過小腸(較幼長的一段腸臟),養份會被身體吸收,其餘食物渣滓會進入大腸,變成較固體的糞便。

大腸分為三段:升結腸、橫結腸及降結腸。糞便會積聚在大腸最末端的直腸,然後經肛門排出體外,即排便。

大腸癌

大腸癌一般最初由細小的非癌性(良性)組織增生開始,即瘜肉。這些瘜肉可沿着腸壁生長,有時會漸漸變成癌性(惡性),假如不治療便會穿破腸壁擴散到身體其他部位。

早期腸癌患者往往不感到任何痛楚,但身體卻會出現一些徵狀:

  • 大便帶血,既可混於糞便或在糞便表面呈血斑狀,又或者染紅廁盆或廁紙 — 最好養成習慣每次沖廁前看看廁盆
  • 數星期內大便習慣持續改變 — 特別是大便次數增加或腹瀉
  • 沒有明顯原因而體重下降及/或食慾不振
  • 無故疲倦或氣促 — 原因是腸出血造成貧血(紅血球太少或血液中的血紅素不足)
  • 痛楚,或腹部有腫塊或脹大

以上徵狀不一定是腸癌,但卻不容忽視,如察覺到應看醫生。腸癌如及早發現,治療成功率會相應提高。

醫學界目前尚未完全掌握腸癌的成因,其中一項主要因素是年齡增長 — 每十名確診腸癌的患者中超過八人年過60歲。

以下人士患腸癌的風險相對偏高:

  • 家族有腸癌遺傳史
  • 有任何以下兩種遺傳腸疾病之一 — 家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症及遺傳性非瘜肉結直腸癌綜合症,又稱林奇氏綜合症
  • 長期腸疾病患者,例如克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎
  • 日常飲食纖維蔬果攝取量不足,多吃紅肉及加工肉類
  • 少活動或肥胖
  • 糖尿病患者

醫生會詢問您的徵狀和為您檢查,亦會詢問您的病歷。醫生可能轉介病人到結(直)腸疾病專科醫生。

診斷腸癌的檢測包括:

  • 結腸鏡檢查:將幼小軟管伸縮攝影鏡(結腸鏡)探進體內,以便醫生觀察大腸
  • 乙狀結腸鏡檢查:即內窺檢查直腸及大腸下段
  • 鋇劑灌腸攝影:經直腸將鋇劑(可在X光下顯像的物質)灌入腸臟,透過腹部X光造影清晰顯示腸臟內部

經醫生診斷患上腸癌的病人或須接受其他檢測,以確定癌腫瘤的大小和位置。

這類檢測包括:

  • 腹部超聲波掃描,確定腸癌是否已擴散
  • 電腦斷層掃描,顯示腫瘤位置
  • 磁力共振掃描,顯示腸的平面及立體圖像
  • 胸部X光,檢查心肺功能是否健康
  • 驗血,評估整體健康情況

 

腸癌檢查

隱血檢查有助及早發現腸癌。

以下人士宜定期接受腸癌檢查:

  • 年齡超過60歲
  • 有近親曾患腸癌
  • 患有家族性結直腸瘜肉綜合症、遺傳性非瘜肉結直腸癌綜合症或其他腸壁疾病,例如潰瘍性大腸炎或克隆氏症

具體治療方法須視乎腫瘤的大小、位置及是否已擴散。

手術

手術是治療腸癌的最常見方法。

手術治療指將出現癌細胞的大腸部分切除,然後將兩個開口端駁好。大腸附近的淋巴結(佈滿身體各處的腺體,屬於免疫系統一部分)通常是癌細胞擴散的第一個地方,所以許多時亦會一併切除。

視乎切除的癌腫瘤大小和位置,有時切口兩端不能重駁,此時便須將近端的腸孔口拉至腹部皮膚表面造口。結腸造口術指在腹部表面開大腸孔口,而迴腸造口術則指在腹部表面開小腸孔口。這些孔口稱為造口。

造口會連接一個袋,用於接收排便。大部分接受手術的患者也不須要開造口,即使需要也多屬暫時性。

若患上直腸癌,便可能要動手術切除出現癌細胞的直腸,以及直腸周圍的脂肪組織和淋巴結。相對結腸癌病人,直腸癌患者開造口的機會較高。

非手術治療

化療及放射性治療

單克隆抗體(標靶療法)是一類藥物,可識別和標靶癌細胞常會含有的標記。腸癌共有三種常見的標靶療法:

單克隆抗體

有時候手術也不能完全清除癌腫瘤,此時便需再接受化療及/或放射性治療。

這類治療的目的是殺滅餘下的癌細胞,防止癌症擴散。此外,醫生有時亦會在進行手術前先利用化療及放射性治療將腫瘤縮細,或在手術後殺滅餘下的癌細胞。

化療及放射性治療可能引起副作用。

  • 貝伐珠單抗 (Bevacizumab)
  • 西妥昔單抗 (Cetuximab)
  • 柏尼單抗 (Panitumumab)

這些藥物會尋找癌細胞並抑制它們生長。標靶藥物有時會配合化療進行治療,也會用於不同病期的癌症,詳情請諮詢醫生。

有證據顯示,以下措施有助減低患腸癌的風險:

  • 每星期做150分鐘(兩個半小時)適量運動,可分為每次10分鐘或更久。例如每星期五天每天最少做30分鐘運動,亦可連續做75分鐘大體力運動。
  • 每日進食五份或更多蔬果。
  • 少吃加工肉類及紅肉。
  • 保持健康體重。
  • 進食高纖食物,例如全麥麵包、早餐麥片及意大利麵。
  • 吸煙者應戒煙。

攝取足夠維他命D可能有助減低多種癌症的風險,包括腸癌,但這點仍須作更多研究才可確定。醫學界也認為維他命D可促進骨骼健康。

皮膚接觸陽光,人體便會自行製造維他命D,此外亦可從食物攝取,包括高油份魚類。夏季不使用任何防曬用品而不時短時間接觸陽光(確切的日曬時間因人而異,但一般只需在日間接觸陽光幾分鐘便足夠),便可攝取足夠的維他命D,但注意不要讓皮膚曬紅。冬季接觸陽光的機會不多,不妨每日服不超過25微克維他命D(兩粒強效12.5微克維他命丸),確保攝取量充足。

孕婦或哺乳婦女服用營養補充劑之前必須詳細閱讀隨附的說明資料,並諮詢醫生意見。此外正在服用抗高血壓利尿劑或以往曾患腎石或腎衰竭的人士服用維他命D之前也要先徵詢醫生意見。

1. 為甚麼有克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎等腸疾病的人較易患上腸癌?

醫生界認為腸臟炎症如克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎會漸漸對腸臟造成長期損害,可能引致腸癌。

克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎都是會令腸臟發炎的慢性疾病。慢性疾病指持續多年或甚至終身的疾病。「慢性」意指病人患上這個疾病的時間,而非疾病的輕重。

醫學界相信若腸壁長期受損,細胞癌變的機會便會增加。克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎患者如腸臟整體受疾病影響超過八年或腸左側受影響超過15年,患上腸癌的機會便比普通人高。據估計,每100名確診腸癌的病例中約有一宗是潰瘍性大腸炎引致。

克隆氏症或潰瘍性大腸炎患者的腸癌風險相對較高,所以應定期接受檢查。假如患病已10至20年,建議每三年做一次隱血檢查,假如已患病20至30年應每隔兩年檢查一次,患病30年的人士則應每年檢查。醫生可就個別病人作出具體建議和作詳細解釋。

醫生會為病人照結腸鏡進行檢查,透過結腸鏡觀察大腸內部,即將幼小軟管伸縮攝影鏡(結腸鏡)探進體內。這種檢查可及早發現腸癌,把握時機治療。

如有任何關於克隆氏症、潰瘍性大腸炎或腸癌的疑問,應請教醫生。

2. 補充鈣能減少腸癌風險嗎?

可能。研究發現日常飲食鈣攝取量充足的人腸臟較少有瘜肉,而瘜肉或會導致腸癌,但研究並無確實證據服用鈣補充劑可減低腸癌風險。

鈣是飲食中的重要元素,有助強健骨骼和牙齒、調整肌肉收縮(包括心肌)和確保血液正常凝固。近年研究發現鈣可預防某些癌症,包括腸癌。

研究顯示日常飲食攝取大量鈣質的人士,患腸癌的機會低於比鈣攝取量不足的人。平均來說,成年人每日須攝取700毫克鈣。研究發現每日攝取1200毫克鈣補充劑可預防大腸瘜肉(生長)。瘜肉會漸漸轉變成為癌性,因此屬危險警號。

截至目前為止,研究結果只能指出服食鈣補充劑可預防大腸長瘜肉,醫學界還需進一步研究,才可確定日常飲食多攝取鈣是否可預防腸癌。

姑勿論如何,日常飲食多攝取鈣都是健康之道,還可預防多種長期疾病。含鈣的食物包括牛奶、芝士及其他奶類產品、綠色葉菜(如西蘭花)、豆製品、果仁、任何用自發粉製造的食品和沙甸魚。

雖然現時尚未能確定高鈣飲食是否有助預防腸癌,但有證據顯示以下措施可減低患腸癌的機會:

  • 每星期做150分鐘(兩個半小時)適量運動,可分為每次10分鐘或更久。例如每星期五天每天最少做30分鐘運動,亦可連續做75分鐘大體力運動。
  • 每日進食五份或更多蔬果。
  • 少吃加工肉類及紅肉。
  • 保持健康體重。
  • 進食高纖食物,例如全麥麵包、早餐麥片及意大利麵。
  • 吸煙者應戒煙。

 

3. 結腸造口術和迴腸造口術有何分別?

結腸造口術和迴腸造口術都是在腹部表面開切一個人工孔口(造口),兩者的分別在於造口連接腸臟的位置:結腸造口術指連接大腸,而迴腸造口術則指連接小腸。

一般來說,「造口術」(ostomy)泛指將腸連接到腹部人工開切造口的手術。英語中colostomy和ileostomy的前部分,即col和ile,分別指大腸和迴腸(小腸)。造口會連接一個袋,用於接收排便。造口的位置通常會儘量偏低,方便患者用衣服遮蓋。

有些克隆氏症、腸癌或憩室病患者接受切除手術後腸兩端無法駁回,所以須要開切造口。腸癌病人的造口一般也是暫時性,第一次手術後約兩個月患者便可再進行手術,將大腸接駁然後縫合造口,這項手術稱為造口吻合術。此外也有些病人大腸沒法再接駁,需要永久造口。

病人開了造口身心也不免承受壓力,但大部分患者也可以恢復正常生活和活動,包括游泳等。患者可參加病友組織,例如結腸造口協會和迴腸造口及造袋病人支援組織,尋求相關的支援和指導。

如有任何關於結腸造口或迴腸造口的問題或疑慮,可請教外科醫生、醫生或護士。

更多資料



來源

  • High risk groups for bowel cancer. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • The bowel. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009

     

     

     

  • Practice guidance: bowel cancer. Royal Pharmaceutical Society of <country-region></country-region> Great Britain. www.rpsgb.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • About bowel cancer screening. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel cancer. Medical Research Council. www.mrc.ac.uk,  accessed 14 September 2009
  • Symptoms of bowel cancer. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Information about bowel cancer. British Society of Gastroenterology. www.bsg.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Dai Z, Xu YC, Niu L. Obesity and colorectal cancer risk: A meta-analysis of cohort studies. World J Gastroenterol 2007; 13(31):4199-206.
  • How bowel cancer is diagnosed. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel cancer screening - the facts. NHS Cancer Screening Programmes. www.dh.gov.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel screening: Scottish bowel screening programme. NHS Scotland. www.bowelscreening.scot.nhs.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Bowel Screening <country-region></country-region> Wales. Bowel Screening <country-region></country-region> Wales. www.wales.nhs.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Screening: colorectal screening. National Cancer Screening Service. www.cancerscreening.ie, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Which treatment for bowel cancer? Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Surgery for large bowel cancer. Cancer Backup. www.cancerbackup.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Chemotherapy and monoclonal antibodies. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Cetuximab for the first-line treatment of metastatic colorectal cancer. 2009. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)
  • Exercising for prevention. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Eating for protection. Beating Bowel Cancer. www.beatingbowelcancer.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Protecting against bowel cancer. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> Uk. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Who is screened for bowel cancer. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • British Society of Gastroenterology. Guidelines for colorectal cancer screening in high risk groups. Gut 2002; 51:1-28
  • Protecting against bowel cancer. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Weingarten M, Zalmanovici A and Yaphe J. Dietary calcium supplementation for preventing colorectal cancer and adenomatous polyps. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2008(3). www.cochrane.org
  • Calcium. Food Standards Agency. www.eatwell.gov.uk, accessed 14 September 2009.
  • What is a stoma? Ostomy Lifestyle. www.ostomylifestyle.org, accessed 14 September 2009
  • If you need a colostomy for bowel cancer. Cancer Research <country-region></country-region> UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 14 September 2009
  • Consensus vitamin D position statement. British Association of Dermatologists, Cancer Research <country-region></country-region>UK, Diabetes <country-region></country-region> UK, the Multiple Sclerosis Society, the National Heart Forum, the National Osteoporosis Society and the Primary Care Dermatology Society, December 2010
  • Start active, stay active: a report on physical activity from the four home countries’ Chief Medical Officers. Department of Health, 2011.<country-region></country-region> UK. www.dh.gov.uk, accessed 14 September 2009

相關文章

消化不良

「消化不良」指用餐後上腹部或胸口感到痛楚和不適。胸口有時或會感到灼熱,稱為「胃灼熱」。

閱讀更多

腸易激綜合症

腸易激綜合症是長期疾病,導致腹部經常性疼痛或不適和排便習慣改變。

閱讀更多

結腸鏡檢查

結腸鏡檢查是利用可彎曲的管狀結腸鏡檢查結腸(大腸)壁,醫生會謹慎的把儀器從你的直腸插入結腸。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。