Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Cervical cancer

There are two main types of cervical cancer. Sometimes, cervical cancer can be a mixture of the two types. Squamous cell cancer (the most common) develops in the flat cells covering your cervix. Adenocarcinoma develops in the gland cells that produce mucus, found in the passageway from your cervix to your womb.

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.  

Cervical cancer

There are two main types of cervical cancer - squamous cell cancer (the most common) and adenocarcinoma, although they are often mixed. They are named after the types of cell that become cancerous. Squamous cells are flat cells covering your cervix; adenomatous cells are found in the passageway from your cervix to your womb. Other rarer cancers of the cervix include small cell cancer.

If your smear detects abnormal cells on your cervix, they are usually at an early pre-cancer stage, and don't cause any symptoms. Treating the abnormal cells prevents cancer developing.

  • abnormal vaginal bleeding, for example between periods or after sex
  • smelly vaginal discharge
  • pain during sex
  • vaginal bleeding after the menopause
  • pain in your pelvis

These symptoms aren't always due to cervical cancer but if you have them, see your GP.

The main cause of cervical cancer is the human papilloma virus (HPV). There are over a hundred different types, or strains, of HPV and each type has a specific number. Some types of HPV cause warts and verrucas, and others increase the risk of cervical cancers.

You may have caught this common virus through sex and be unaware that you have it as it usually causes no symptoms. Your immune system may get rid of the infection so you may never be aware of it. Only a very small proportion of women with HPV will develop cervical cancer.

Although HPV is from the same family as the virus that causes genital warts, having genital warts doesn’t make you more likely to develop cervical cancer. Cervical cancer is caused by a different type of HPV.

Risk factors of cervical cancer include:

  • smoking
  • having sex at an early age
  • having other sexually transmitted infections such as chlamydia and herpes
  • having many sexual partners, or have a partner who has had many partners
  • taking the contraceptive pill long-term
  • having a weakened immune system

If you have had an abnormal screening result, or have symptoms of cervical cancer, your doctor will refer you to a gynaecologist (a doctor who specialises in women’s reproductive health).

You may have a number of tests including the following.

  • A colposcopy – your doctor uses a lighted magnifying instrument called a colposcope to examine your cervix and take a small sample of tissue (a biopsy) to be sent to a laboratory for testing to see if the abnormal cells have spread.
  • A cone biopsy – your doctor will take a cone of your cervix tissue under general anaesthesia, The sample will be sent to a laboratory for testing.
  • LLETZ (large-loop excision of the transformation zone) or loop diathermy – your doctor uses a heated loop of wire to remove the abnormal cells which are then sent to a laboratory for testing.
  • A CT, MRI, PET or ultrasound scan – to check your health and show how far the cancer has spread (if at all).

If you’re pregnant, it’s safe for you to have a colposcopy. If any pre-cancerous cells are found, treatment is normally arranged for after your baby has been born. If your doctor suspects you have cancer, you may have a cone biopsy, although this can cause a miscarriage and affect future pregnancies. The results will show what stage your cervical cancer is and how far it has spread.

 

Your treatment will depend on the stage of your cervical cancer and your general health. You may have a combination of treatments. Your surgeon or oncologist will advise you which treatment is best for you.

Surgery

If you have very early stage cervical cancer, a cone biopsy may be all you need.

The most common surgical treatment for cervical cancer is a hysterectomy, including removal of the top few centimetres of your vagina and the lymph nodes in your pelvis.

If you have early stage cancer and still wish to have more children, a radical trachelectomy might be possible. Your surgeon will remove most of your cervix but leave the opening behind, so that you may still have a baby afterwards.

Radiotherapy

Radiotherapy is a treatment to destroy cancer cells with radiation. A beam of radiation is targeted on the cancerous cells, which shrinks the tumour. You may have only radiation, or you may have radiation following surgery.

You may have radiation combined with chemotherapy if the cancer is more advanced or has spread to other areas. This reduces the risk of the cancer coming back. Radiotherapy can be given either from outside the body (external beam radiotherapy) or internally (brachytherapy). These treatments are usually given in sequence.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is a treatment to destroy cancer cells with medicines. It’s used with radiotherapy, or to help to shrink a tumour before radiotherapy or surgery. It can also control symptoms if cancer comes back after an initial treatment.

 

The following steps may help to reduce your risk of cervical cancer.

  • Condoms – using these during sex gives you some protection.
  • Regular smears – Department of Health recommends cervical smear screening at 3-yearly intervals for women aged 25-64 after two consecutive normal annual smears have been obtained. Screening may be discontinued in women aged 65 or above if three previous consecutive smears within 10 years are normal. Women who have never had sex or who have total hysterectomy need not receive cervical screening. For women at high risk of developing cervical cancer, for example, immuno-compromised women, annual screening is advised.
  • HPV vaccine – HPV vaccine can protect against the HPV strains most likely to cause cervical cancer. There are two HPV vaccines available in Hong Kong. One is Quadrivalent HPV vaccine and another is Bivalent HPV vaccine. The Quadrivalent HPV vaccine indicated in girls and women from the age of 9-45 years and males from the age of 9-15 years, while the Bivalent HPV vaccine indicated in female from the age of 10-25 years.

Question: Does human papilloma virus (HPV) cause cancer in men?

Answer: Yes, the human papilloma virus (HPV) is associated with cancer of the penis, anus, and head and neck (tonsils, tongue, and the area at the back of the throat, known as the pharynx).

Explanation: HPV is a common virus that can be passed on through sex but doesn't usually cause symptoms. There are over 100 types of HPV – some of these can cause genital warts and some types are known to increase the risk of developing a particular cancer and are called 'high-risk' HPV. Your immune system usually removes the virus from your body, or the virus can remain in your body without causing any harm for a long time.

High-risk HPV may be a cause of cancer of the penis. It's important to be aware of the symptoms. These include:

  • a change in the colour, or a thickening, of the skin of your penis
  • discharge or bleeding from your penis
  • growths or sores, especially under your foreskin

High-risk HPV can cause changes in the cells around your anus. These changes may develop into anal cancer after many years. It's important to be aware of the symptoms. These include:

  • bleeding from your rectum (back passage)
  • pain, discomfort, and itching around your anus
  • small lumps around your anus
  • faecal incontinence

High-risk HPV may be linked to cancers affecting your tonsils, tongue and pharynx (the area at the back of your throat). This type of HPV virus is most likely transmitted during oral sex.

Symptoms of head and neck cancer include:

  • an ulcer that doesn't heal
  • difficult or painful swallowing
  • pain when you chew
  • a constant sore throat
  • a lump in your mouth
  • numbness in your mouth or lips

If you have any of the symptoms listed above, they aren't always due to cancer, but if you have them see your GP. 

Question: Will treatment for cervical cancer affect my sex life? 

Answer: It's usually safe to start having sex again within a few weeks of finishing radiotherapy or having surgery for cervical cancer. However, treatment for cervical cancer may cause an early menopause and radiotherapy can cause side-effects that may affect your sex life.

Explanation: If you haven't yet had your menopause, radiotherapy or surgery to remove your womb and ovaries (hysterectomy) will cause an early menopause. The symptoms are the same as those of a natural menopause. These include:

  • hot flushes and sweating
  • a dry vagina
  • low mood
  • tiredness
  • loss of interest in sex

Your GP may prescribe hormone replacement therapy (HRT) or other medicines to help with these symptoms. Topically applied gels and creams may help if you have a dry vagina.

Radiotherapy may also cause a narrowing of your vagina, a dry vagina, and pain during sex. Talk to your GP about how to manage these symptoms.

You may want to use condoms if you’re having chemotherapy just as a precaution. This is because doctors don’t know whether these medicines can pass to your partner though your vaginal or cervical mucus.

Finally, treatment may make you feel anxious about having sex again and you may not feel like doing so until you have come to terms with your illness.

Question: Will I still need cervical screening tests if I have had the HPV vaccine? 

Answer: Yes, if you have had the human papilloma virus (HPV) vaccine you will still need regular cervical screening tests.

Explanation: There are many different types of HPV. They can be divided into those that are associated with an increased risk of developing certain types of cancer and those that aren't. The HPV vaccine doesn't protect against all types of HPV that are associated with cervical changes and cancer. Therefore, the vaccines don't provide complete protection against the disease. It's thought that the vaccines will prevent at least seven out of 10 of the most common type of cervical cancer (squamous cell cancer).

Therefore, it's important to attend routine cervical screening appointments even if you have had the HPV vaccine.

 

Further Information

Sources

  • Cervical cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 17 September 2010
  • Management of cervical cancer: A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) SIGN 99. 2008. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Cervical cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 17 September 2010
  • HPV and Cervical cancer (in the UK) (WHO/ICC HPV Information Centre). World Health Organization. June 2010. www.who.int
  • HPV and cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support. www.macmillan.org.uk, published December 2010

You might also like

Common vaginal infections

Itchiness, soreness and a vaginal discharge can be signs of infection. However, it is quite normal and healthy for women of childbearing age to have a vaginal discharge.

Read more

Pregnancy health

During pregnancy, your body undergoes a number of changes as your baby develops inside your womb. Some of these changes can be early signs of pregnancy.

Read more

Miscarriage

A miscarriage is a pregnancy that ends before 24 weeks, which is before most developing babies are able to survive outside the womb (uterus).

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

子宮頸癌

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。

子宮頸癌

子宮頸癌分為兩大類型:鱗狀細胞癌(最常見)和腺癌,但兩者常會同時混合。這兩類型子宮頸癌是按照癌變的細胞類型命名,鱗狀細胞是覆蓋子宮頸的扁平細胞;腺細胞則位於子宮頸連接子宮的通道。其他較少見的子宮頸癌包括小細胞癌(Small Cell Cancer)。

女性經抹片檢查發現子宮頸細胞異常,通常是尚在癌前初期階段,患者沒有任何徵狀。此時治療異常細胞可避免發展成為癌症。

若異常細胞已演變為子宮頸癌,患者可能出現下列徵狀:

  • 不正常陰道出血,例如經期之間或性交後
  • 難聞陰道分泌物
  • 性交痛楚
  • 更年期後陰道出血
  • 盆骨區疼痛

以上徵狀不一定是子宮頸癌,但假如發現這些徵狀,也應就醫。

子宮頸癌的主要成因是人類乳頭瘤病毒(HPV)。人類乳頭瘤病毒有逾百種或株,每種以不同數字區分。有些人類乳頭瘤病毒會引發疣及瘤,有些會提高子宮頸癌風險。

人類乳頭瘤病毒很普遍,很容易透過性交染上。由於通常沒有徵狀,患者可能不自知,而身體的免疫系統會消除感染,所以患者可能從未察覺過它的存在。只有極少數染有人類乳頭瘤病毒的女性會演變為子宮頸癌。

雖然人類乳頭瘤病毒與引致生殖器疣的病毒屬同一科,但有生殖器疣並不表示較易患子宮頸癌。子宮頸癌是另一類型人類乳頭瘤病毒所致。

子宮頸癌的風險因素包括:

  • 吸煙
  • 很年輕便開始性行為
  • 患有其他性病,例如衣原體和疱疹
  • 多個性伴侶,或伴侶有多個性伴侶
  • 長期服用避孕藥
  • 免疫系統脆弱

女性如抹片檢查結果異常或有子宮頸癌徵狀,醫生會轉介到婦科醫生(專門診治女性生殖系統疾病的醫生)。

患者會接受多項檢測,包括:

  • 陰道鏡檢查(colposcopy) — 醫生使用名為陰道鏡的照明放大儀器檢查子宮頸,並抽取一小片組織樣本(活組織)交送化驗所檢測,確定異常細胞是否已擴散。
  • 宮頸錐形切除術(cone biopsy) — 醫生在病人全身麻醉下切除子宮頸一塊錐形組織,交送化驗所檢測。
  • 大環切除變質部分(LLETZ)或環形電凝(Loop Diathermy) — 醫生利用熱線圈切除異常細胞,交送化驗所檢測。
  • 電腦斷層掃描(CT Scan)、磁力共振掃描(MRI Scan)、正電子掃描(PET Scan)或超聲波掃描(Ultrasound Scan) — 檢查病人健康狀況及癌症擴散的程度(如有的話)。

孕婦亦可安全進行陰道鏡檢查。如發現任何癌前細胞,醫生通常會安排在分娩後治療。若醫生懷疑病人有癌症,可能會安排切除宮頸錐形活組織,但手術或會導致流產及影響日後成孕。檢測結果會顯示子宮頸癌的分期和擴散程度。

具體的治療方法視乎子宮頸癌的病期和患者的健康狀況,醫生或會混合多種療法。有關哪種療法最適合,可諮詢外科醫生或腫瘤科醫生。

手術

極早期子宮頸癌患者只須進行宮頸錐形切除術。

子宮頸癌最常見的手術療法是子宮切除術(Hysterectomy),手術並會切除陰道最頂幾厘米及盆骨的淋巴結。

早期子宮頸癌患者若希望日後生育子女,可考慮根治性切除手術(Radical Trachelectomy),即由外科醫生切除宮頸大部分範圍但留下頸口,以便日後生育。

放射性治療

放射性治療是利用輻射線殺死癌細胞,原理是以輻射束瞄準癌細胞,令腫瘤縮小。患者可以只接受放射性治療或在手術後進行放射性治療。

對付較晚期或已擴散到其他部位的癌症,可以放射性治療配合化療,藉以減低癌症復發的風險。放射性治療可採取體外(體外放射治療)或體內(短距離放射治療)形式,兩者通常順序進行。

化療

化療是利用藥物毀滅癌細胞,既可配合放射性治療進行,亦可在放射性治療或手術前進行,將腫瘤縮小,此外也適用於初步治療後復發的癌症,可控制徵狀。

以下措施有助減低子宮頸癌風險:

  • 安全套 — 性交時使用安全套可發揮一定保護作用。
  • 子宮頸細胞檢驗 —衞生署建議,25 至64 歲女性如連續兩年接受每年一次的子宮頸細胞檢驗而結果正常,則可轉為每三年接受檢查一次。65 歲或以上的女性,如果過去十年內連續三次檢查結果均屬正常,可以停止再接受檢查。無性經驗,或接受了全子宮切除手術的女性,無須接受子宮頸檢查。女性若有罹患子宮頸癌的高度危險,例如免疫能力不足或缺損者,宜每年接受檢查一次。
  • 人類乳頭瘤病毒(HPV)疫苗 —注射疫苗可預防最可能引發子宮頸癌的人類乳頭瘤病毒株。本港現時提供「4合1」及「2合1」兩種人類乳頭瘤病毒疫苗,前者適用於9至45歲女性及9至15歲男性,而後者適用於10至25歲女性。

問:人類乳頭瘤病毒會導致男性患癌嗎?

答:會,人類乳頭瘤病毒會引致陰莖癌、肛門癌、頭部及頸部(扁桃體、舌及喉背咽部)癌症。

人類乳頭瘤病毒是透過性行為傳播的病毒,但通常沒有任何徵狀。人類乳頭瘤病毒有逾百種,有些人類乳頭瘤病毒會引發生殖器疣,有些會提高個別癌症的風險,故稱為「高危」人類乳頭瘤病毒。人體的免疫系統通常可消除這些病毒,又或病毒可長期留在體內而不會造成任何傷害。

高危人類乳頭瘤病毒或會引致陰莖癌。男士亦應了解有關的徵狀,以策萬全:

  • 陰莖膚色改變或皮膚厚化
  • 陰莖排出分泌物或出血
  • 增生腫塊或瘡,特別是包皮下

高危人類乳頭瘤病毒可導致肛門周圍細胞變異,或許多年後演變成為肛門癌。大家亦應了解有關的徵狀,以策萬全:

  • 直腸(肛門)出血
  • 肛門痛楚、不適及發癢
  • 肛門周圍有小凸塊
  • 大便失禁

高危人類乳頭瘤病毒也可能引致扁桃體、舌及咽癌(喉背部位),這種人類乳頭瘤病毒通常是透過口交傳播。

頭及頸癌的徵狀包括:

  • 潰瘍持久不癒
  • 吞嚥困難或疼痛
  • 咀嚼時感痛楚
  • 持續喉嚨痛
  • 口部有凸塊
  • 口或唇麻木

以上徵狀不一定是癌症,但假如發現這些徵狀或有疑問,也應就醫。

問:治療子宮頸癌會影響性生活嗎?

答:子宮頸癌患者接受放射性治療或動手術,一般數星期後便可安全地恢復性生活,但治療子宮頸後更年期或會提早來臨,而放射性治療的副作用也可能影響性生活。

尚未屆更年期的患者接受放射性治療或以手術切除子宮及卵巢(子宮切除術)後,更年期會早至,徵狀就如自然更年期一樣,包括:

  • 潮熱及冒汗
  • 陰道乾澀
  • 情緒低落
  • 疲倦
  • 性慾下降

醫生可處方荷爾蒙補充療法或其他藥物紓緩這些徵狀,如陰道乾澀則可局部塗用潤滑啫喱及乳霜。

放射性治療亦可能令陰道收窄、乾澀,以致性交時感痛楚,如有這些徵狀應請教醫生。

正接受化療的患者可考慮使用安全套,以作預防措施,皆因醫生不能肯定化療藥物會否通過陰道或子宮黏液傳給患者的伴侶。

最後,患者治療後可能對恢復性生活感到疑慮,所以會對性事失去興趣,直至心理上可面對疾病為止。

問:我已接種人類乳頭瘤病毒疫苗,仍須進行子宮頸抹片檢查嗎?

答:需要,即使已接種人類乳頭瘤病毒疫苗,仍要定期進行子宮頸抹片檢查。

人類乳頭瘤病毒種類繁多,大致可分為會提高患某種癌症風險的病毒和不會提高癌風險的病毒。人類乳頭瘤病毒疫苗不能防範所有可能引致子宮頸變異和癌症的人類乳頭瘤病毒,因此不能為子宮頸癌提供百分百保障。在十種最常見的子宮頸癌(鱗狀細胞癌)當中,醫學界相信疫苗最少可預防七種。

所以即使已接種人類乳頭瘤病毒疫苗,仍要定期進行子宮頸抹片檢查。

 

更多資料

來源

  • Cervical cancer. Cancer Research UK. www.cancerhelp.org.uk, accessed 17 September 2010
  • Management of cervical cancer: A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) SIGN 99. 2008. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Cervical cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support.www.macmillan.org.uk, accessed 17 September 2010
  • HPV and Cervical cancer (in the UK) (WHO/ICC HPV Information Centre). World Health Organization. June 2010. www.who.int
  • HPV and cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support. www.macmillan.org.uk, published December 2010

相關文章

常見的陰道感染

痕癢、疼痛和陰道分泌物都是陰道感染的表徵。可是,處於生育年齡的女性有陰道分泌物是健康和正常的。

閱讀更多

妊娠健康

婦女懷孕期間,胎兒在子宮發育,身體會經歷多種變化。有些轉變只屬妊娠早期徵狀,另亦有較常見的妊娠不適,但這些問題一般頗輕微,而且往往很快便消失。

閱讀更多

流產

流產指妊娠未滿24周便終止懷孕,即胎兒發育未健全無法在子宮外存活。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。