Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Prostate cancer

Your prostate is a gland that produces the liquid part of semen. It's about the size of a walnut and lies at the base of your bladder.
 
The front of your prostate surrounds your urethra - the tube that carries urine from your bladder and out through your penis. Any change in the size or shape of your prostate, such as changes that occur if you have prostate cancer, can narrow this tube, making it difficult for you to pass urine.

The exact reasons why you may develop prostate cancer aren't fully understood at present. But you're more likely to develop prostate cancer if:

  • you're over 50
  • you have close relatives who have had prostate cancer
  • several women in your family have had breast cancer - you may have inherited a faulty gene which may increase your risk of prostate cancer
  • your diet is high in fat, meat and dairy products

You may have:

  • difficulty in starting to pass urine
  • a weak, sometimes intermittent flow of urine
  • dribbling of urine before and after urinating
  • a frequent or urgent need to pass urine
  • rarely, blood in your urine or semen and pain when passing urine

These symptoms aren't always caused by prostate cancer but if you have them, see your doctor. These symptoms are similar to those produced by a common benign (non-cancerous) condition called benign prostatic hyperplasia, where your prostate becomes enlarged.

If prostate cancer spreads to other parts of your body, other symptoms can develop such as:

  • pain in your bones, such as your back and hips
  • weight loss
  • impotence

Your doctor will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she may also ask you about your medical history. Your doctor may do some of the following tests, or refer you to a urologist.

  • A blood test to examine the amount of prostate-specific antigen (PSA) in your blood. PSA is a protein that is made by both normal and cancerous prostate cells. The test can be inaccurate as a high PSA level doesn't always indicate cancer and can be caused by other prostate conditions.
  • A digital rectal examination (DRE) - an examination of your prostate. Your doctor will feel your prostate through the wall of your rectum (back passage). If you have prostate cancer, it may feel harder than usual, or knobbly.
  • A prostate biopsy, where your doctor uses a needle to remove a small piece of tissue from your prostate. The sample will be sent to a laboratory to find out if you have cancer and if so, how fast it's growing.
  • An ultrasound to examine your prostate gland, using a small device inserted into your rectum.
  • CT scan, MRI scan and bone scans can help your surgeon see how far the cancer has spread (if at all). Doctors are currently trialling a new urine test to look for a protein made by PCA3 (prostate cancer gene 3). However, it's not available at the moment.
Your treatment will depend on a number of factors, including your age, whether the cancer has spread, and if so, how far. There are various treatments available. Your surgeon may use treatments on their own or you may have a combination of different treatments.
Active monitoring

Sometimes, particularly for slow-growing tumours, no treatment is the best course of action. This is often called active monitoring or watchful waiting. Your condition will be closely monitored by your doctor with routine check-ups. If tests show that the cancer is growing or causing symptoms, your doctor may suggest that you start having treatment.

Surgery

Surgery is a common treatment for prostate cancer. It's most suitable for otherwise healthy men (usually, those under 70) whose cancer hasn't spread beyond their prostate. There are several types of surgery used, including:

  • radical prostatectomy - a major operation to remove the whole of your prostate and some surrounding healthy tissue
  • keyhole surgery (a laparoscopic prostatectomy) where your prostate is removed through smaller incisions and robot-assisted surgery
  • very rarely, an orchidectomy - where your surgeon removes your testicles to get rid of the main source of the male sex hormone testosterone, which can help the cancer grow

Sometimes, if part of the prostate cancer is pressing on your urethra, you may have an operation called transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) to relieve your symptoms and make it easier for you to pass urine.

Non-surgical treatments
  • Radiotherapy, which uses X-rays to destroy cancer cells.
  • Hormone therapy, which blocks the action of testosterone. This can slow the growth and spread of prostate tumours but won't kill the cancer cells. Hormone therapies include taking a medicine called bicalutamide or having injections of a medicine called goserelin.
  • Chemotherapy, which uses medicines to destroy cancer cells. Your doctor may recommend a medicine called docetaxel combined with a steroid called prednisolone if hormone therapy isn't working (hormone refractory cancer).
  • High intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU). This treatment uses heat to target and destroy cancer cells. It may only be available as part of a clinical trial and only if the cancer is in its early stages or if your cancer has come back.
  • Cryotherapy, which uses liquid nitrogen to freeze and kill cancer cells. This may only be available as part of a clinical trial and only if your cancer is in its early stages or if your cancer has come back.

Research suggests that you may be able to reduce your risk of developing prostate cancer through certain lifestyle changes such as:

  • stopping smoking
  • eating a healthy, balanced diet with at least five portions of fruit and vegetables a day - especially tomatoes, which contain a substance called lycopene that may be protective
  • consuming less meat and dairy products
  • being physically active - you should exercise for 30 minutes at least five times a week
This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.
 
The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.
 
Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

 

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Limited Time Offer】

Enjoy up to 23% discount* + Earn 1 MoneyBack point for every HK$5 premiums in our selected health insurance products.

*The offer is applicable to designated schemes. Please contact us at 2517 5860 for details.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

前列腺癌

前列腺是製造精液的腺體,約合桃般大小,位於膀胱底部。
 
前列腺前端包圍着尿道,即將尿液由膀胱輸送到陰莖排出體外的管道。前列腺的大小或形狀若有變化,例如前列腺癌患者的前列腺變大,尿道便會縮窄,造成排尿困難。

 

 

 

前列腺癌的確切成因目前尚未清楚,但以下風險因素會增加患病機會:

  • 年過50
  • 近親曾患前列腺癌
  • 家族多位女性曾患乳癌您可能遺傳有缺陷基因,前列腺癌風險相對提高
  • 日常飲食高脂肪、多肉及多乳類產品

患者可能感到:

  • 排尿困難
  • 尿流微弱並有時會間歇性停流
  • 排尿前後滴尿
  • 尿頻、尿急
  • 血尿或血精及排尿感痛楚(較罕見)

以上徵狀不一定是前列腺癌,但假如發現這些徵狀,也應就醫。這些徵狀與常見的良性(非癌性)前列腺肥大(Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia)非常相似。

如前列腺癌擴散到身體其他部位,患者或會出現其他徵狀:

  • 骨痛,例如背部及臀部
  • 體重下降
  • 陽萎

醫生會詢問患者的徵狀和進行檢查,此外或會查詢以往病歷及進行以下部分檢測,或轉介病人到泌尿專科醫生。

  • 驗血檢查血液中的前列腺特殊抗原(PSA)含量。PSA是正常和癌性前列腺細胞均會製造的蛋白質。由於PSA水平高不一定表示有癌症,可能是其他前列腺問題引致,所以這項檢測並非絕對準確。
  • 肛門指檢(DRE) — 檢驗前列腺。醫生會透過直腸(肛門)壁指檢前列腺,如有前列腺癌,手感會比正常硬或有結節感。
  • 前列腺活組織檢查(Prostate Biopsy) — 醫生用針抽取一小片前列腺組織,樣本將交送化驗室檢測,鑑定是否有癌細胞,若有的話則進一步鑑定癌細胞的生長速度如何。
  • 超聲波掃描(Ultrasound Scan) — 在直腸插入細小裝置檢查前列腺。
  • 電腦斷層掃描(CT Scan)、磁力共振掃描(MRI Scan)及骨骼掃描(Bone Scan)可助外科醫生觀察癌細胞的擴散程度(如有的話)。醫學界現正研究驗尿新方法,針對檢測PCA3(前列腺癌基因3)製造的蛋白質,但目前尚未正式應用。
具體治療方法視乎多項因素而定,包括患者的年齡、癌細胞是否已擴散到其他部位、若已擴散程度如何。目前有多種適用於前列腺癌的療法,外科醫生或會選擇其一或綜合多種療法。
主動監測

在一些病例,特別是生長緩慢的腫瘤,不治療就是最好的處理方法,即常稱主動監測或靜態觀察。醫生會安排患者定期檢查,密切監察病況,如檢測顯示癌腫瘤正在增大或引起不適徵狀,醫生便會建議展開療程。

手術

前列腺癌通常採用手術治療,這種療法最適合無其他疾病而癌細胞尚未擴散到前列腺以外部位的男性(通常70歲以下)。手術分為多種:

  • 根治性前列腺切除手術(Radical Prostatectomy) — 屬大型手術,將前列腺及周圍健康組織完全切除。
  • 微創手術(Keyhole Surgery)(腹腔鏡前列腺切除手術Laparoscopic Prostatectomy) — 小切口的機械人輔助手術,切除前列腺。
  • 睪丸切除手術(Orchidectomy)(極罕有) — 切除睪丸徹底清除可促進癌細胞生長的男性荷爾蒙睪丸酮。

在一些前列腺癌腫瘤某部分壓着尿道的病例,醫生或會建議進行經尿道前列腺切除手術(TURP),以紓緩不適徵狀,令排尿更暢順。

非手術治療
  • 放射性治療(Radiotherapy) — 利用X光殺滅癌細胞。
  • 荷爾蒙療法(Hormone Therapy) — 可抑制睪丸酮的作用,減慢前列腺腫瘤生長和擴散,但不會殺死癌細胞。荷爾蒙療法包括口服藥物比卡魯胺(Bicalutamide)或注射戈舍瑞林(Goserelin)
  • 化療(Chemotherapy) — 利用藥物殺滅癌細胞。如荷爾蒙療法無效(激素難治性癌症),醫生或會建議服用多西紫杉醇(Docetaxel)配合一種名為潑尼松龍(Prednisolone)的類固醇。
  • 高強度聚焦超聲波(HIFU) — 利用熱力標靶及殺滅癌細胞。這種療法可能只限於臨床試驗計劃,並且只適用於早期或復發癌症。
  • 冷凍手術(Cryotherapy) — 利用液化氮冷凍及殺滅癌細胞。這種療法可能只限於臨床試驗計劃,並且只適用於早期或復發癌症。

研究顯示男性在日常生活作出以下改變,便可減低前列腺癌風險:

  • 戒煙
  • 飲食注意健康均衡,每日最少進食五分蔬果,其中蕃茄特別有益,因為蘊含具保護作用的蕃茄紅素
  • 少吃肉類和乳類產品
  • 保持活躍每星期最少做運動五次,每次30分鐘
 
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。
 

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【限時優惠】

投保特選醫療保障計劃可享高達77折* + 賺取HK$5 = 1 易賞錢積分!

*優惠視乎投保產品而定,詳情請致電2517 5860查詢。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。