Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Asthma in adults

The symptoms of asthma are caused when airways (the tubes which carry air to and from your lungs) narrow and become inflamed.
 
This may happen if there's too much mucus being produced in your airways, or swelling or spasm in the lining of your airways. You feel breathless, wheezy, and may develop a dry cough. The symptoms can be severe and distressing, and you might even need to be admitted to hospital.
 

The symptoms of asthma can be set off by a variety of different triggers. These include:
  • exposure to allergens
  • physical exertion
  • breathing in cold air
  • an infection
  • a reaction to certain medicines
With many people with asthma, especially children, an allergy to house dust mites and animal hair or fur is common. If you have allergic asthma, you or other family members may well also suffer from eczema or hay fever.
 
Other possible allergens include:
  • chemicals found in the workplace (it might be helpful to note if your symptoms come on only when you're at work)
  • other environmental pollutants, such as cigarette smoke
All these triggers can irritate the airways in your lungs, making you more prone to an attack. But why your symptoms come on at particular times, and why some people are affected and not others, is not yet known.

asthma

 

Your doctor will probably use a device called a peak flow meter to help work out whether you have asthma, and to monitor progress of your treatment. With a peak flow meter, you blow into a tube as hard as you can and as quickly as possible.

This gives your doctor a measure of how severe your breathing is affected. If measured regularly, over time, these readings can also help reveal how well or badly your asthma is being controlled.

Your doctor may also suggest some tests to see how your lungs are working to help with a diagnosis.

It's worth remembering, though, that asthma is not always easy to diagnose. After all, anything that causes congestion of your lungs or airways can lead to problems that look like the symptoms of asthma.

For example, a child may show all the classic symptoms of asthma, but in fact he or she may have inhaled something which is blocking his or her airways (a coin or a button, for example).

In some cases, the symptoms of asthma in an adult may be a sign of heart disease, especially if you get wheezy when you have not ever had an asthma attack in the past. Some forms of heart disease can cause congestion of the lungs, and have symptoms like asthma.

Although it's not easy to eliminate them altogether, it's important to try to avoid anything you suspect might make your asthma worse, or bring on an attack. But there's also a range of treatments which may help keep your symptoms in check. And your peak flow should be measured regularly. Your doctor may do this for you, but you may also be able to do it yourself.
 
Inhalers
There is a choice of devices to help control asthma - you may find you like one type more than another. The most commonly used one is an inhaler - or puffer - to breathe in a drug which should help with your asthma. But whatever device you use, it is important that your doctor or nurse checks that you are using it effectively.
 
There are two main types of medication that can be delivered via your inhaler - a reliever and a preventer.
 
A reliever helps to open up your airways quite quickly - so this type is for when you are having an asthma attack and already feeling the onset of symptoms. Common reliever drugs include salbutamol (Ventolin), terbutaline and ipratropium.
 
Preventer drugs, which can be used together with relievers, are for suppressing the symptoms on a day-to-day basis. Most preventers are inhaled steroids that act to reduce the inflammation in your airways. You will probably be prescribed a preventer only if you regularly have to use a reliever twice a day or more.
 
Unlike relievers, preventers aren't meant to have an immediate effect and must be used as prescribed, whether or not you have any symptoms.
 
Common preventer drugs include beclomethasone, budesonide and fluticasone. In the inhaled form, steroids have much fewer side-effects than steroids in tablet form.
 
Tablets
If your asthma is quite severe or unpredictable, you may be put on a course of steroids in tablet form. These work in the same way as inhaled preventers, by reducing inflammation.
 
Your doctor may also give you tablets called leukotriene antagonists - a relatively new treatment that is mostly used together with relievers and preventers. Other useful medicines include theophyllines (tablets) and sodium cromoglygate (inhaler).
 
Nebulisers
If your asthma is severe, you may be put on a nebuliser. This is a machine that makes a mist of water and medication that you breathe in. The medication is usually relievers, but may sometimes be preventers.
 
The main advantage of a nebuliser is that it can deliver more of the drug exactly where it's needed than a conventional inhaler. This is particularly critical if you have a very serious attack of asthma and need reliever delivered quickly into your lungs.
 
They are also sometimes used to treat young children, who may have problems using an inhaler or taking tablets.
 
Spacers
Spacers offer an alternative for people who find an inhaler awkward to use. They’re also good for getting more of the drug into the lungs.
 
A spacer is a long tube which clips on to the inhaler. At the other end the tube is a mouthpiece or mask which you breathe into.
 

If you suffer from asthma - or you have a child who does - it's worth remembering that it is something you can control yourself to a large degree.

Talk to your doctor and find other information to help you understand what might be causing the asthma, and how to avoid coming into contact with those particular triggers.

Plan ahead - always be prepared, so you are ready to help yourself when you do feel the symptoms coming on. This should help you cut down your risk of more serious attacks, and of needing to go to hospital.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

成人哮喘

哮喘的病徵因氣道(輸送空氣進出肺部的管道)收窄和發炎引起。
 
 
如果氣道內有太多黏液,氣道壁膜腫脹或抽搐,哮喘便會發作。你會感到呼吸困難、氣喘或乾咳。病徵或會嚴重得令人煩厭,你甚至可能需要入院。

引發哮喘的誘因有很多種,例如:

  • 接觸敏感原
  • 體力勞動
  • 吸入冷空氣
  • 感染
  • 藥物過敏

患有哮喘的人,特別是小孩子,普遍敏感於屋塵蝨和動物的毛髮。如果你有敏感性哮喘,你或你的家人也可能患有濕疹或花粉熱。

其他有可能引發病徵的敏感原包括:

  • 在工作場所中的化學物(留意病徵是否在你工作時才出現)
  • 其他環境污染物,如二手煙

以上誘因都能刺激肺內的氣道,使哮喘容易發作。至於為何病徵只會在特定的時間出現,以及為何只是某些人受影響的原因仍然未明。

哮喘

醫生可能會用最高流速計檢查你有沒有哮喘,以及監察你的治療進度。你向流速計的管內盡力及盡快吹氣,醫生就能獲知你呼吸受影響的程度。如果一直定時量度,這些讀數也可顯示哮喘是否受到控制。
 
醫生也可能會為你作一些測試,看看你肺部如何運作,幫助診斷。 但是,哮喘不一定容易診斷,因為任何使肺部或氣道堵塞的東西都可引致和哮喘病徵相似的毛病。例如,一個小孩可能有所有哮喘的典型病徵,但其實可能是吸入了阻塞氣道的東西,如硬幣或鈕扣。
 
 
在有些病例裏,成人的哮喘病徵可能是心臟病的表徵,尤其是你以前從來沒有哮喘發作卻出現氣喘。有些心臟病可引致肺部堵塞,使患者有和哮喘相似的病徵。
哮喘儘管很難根治,你應盡量避免令哮喘惡化或發作,何況更有一連串治療可控制病徵。最高流速須定時量度,醫生或會幫你量度,你也可自己動手。
 
吸入器
你可選擇不同儀器控制哮喘。你可能會偏好某類儀器,最常使用的是吸入器,用來吸入治療哮喘的藥物。但無論你使用哪種儀器,醫生或護士應會幫助你學會使用該儀器。
可透過吸入器吸收的藥物主要有兩種﹕「舒緩劑」和「預防劑」。
 
舒緩劑能快速疏通導氣管,所以這種藥物適用於哮喘發作時及已感覺病徵出現時。一般舒緩劑藥物包括沙丁胺醇 (Ventolin),特布他林及異丙托品。
 
預防劑每天服用可以抑制病徵,也可與舒緩劑共用。大多數預防劑是以吸入形式服用的類固醇,可減輕氣道的發炎程度。醫生只會在你需要定時每天使用舒緩劑兩次或以上時,才會給你開預防劑的處方。預防劑不像舒緩劑般立時生效,而且無論你有否病徵,都必須按照處方所示使用。
 
普通預防劑包括倍氯米松(beclomethasone)、布地奈德(budesonide)及氟替卡松(fluticasone)。吸服的類固醇,比片劑的副作用少。
 
片劑
如果你的哮喘頗嚴重或難以預測,你可能要服食片劑形式的類固醇。功效和吸入性預防劑一樣,可減輕發炎程度。
 
醫生可能會給你名為「白三烯拮抗劑(leukotriene antagonists)」的片劑。這是較新的治療,多與舒緩劑和預防劑一起使用。其他有幫助的藥物包括茶鹼(theophyllines)(片劑)及色甘酸鈉(sodium cromoglycate)(吸入劑)。
 
噴霧器
如果你哮喘嚴重,你可能需要使用噴霧器吸入由水和藥物混合的噴霧。藥物通常是舒緩劑,有時會是預防劑。噴霧器的主要好處是比傳統吸入器能準確輸送更多藥物到所需部位。若你的哮喘嚴重發作,急需舒緩劑輸送到肺部,噴霧器便可大派用場。
 
噴霧器有時也會用來醫治幼童,因為他們使用吸入器或服用片劑或會有困難。
 
貯藥腔
貯藥腔給予不會操作吸入器的人使用,也可使更多藥物輸入肺部。
貯藥腔是一個長管,一端接駁到吸入器上,另一端則是用作吸入的吸嘴或面罩。

如果你或你的小孩患有哮喘,謹記哮喘發作與否幾乎可以由你自己控制。

請與醫生討論,找出其他有可能令你哮喘發作的敏感原以及如何避免接觸它們。

預防措施為隨時有可能病發而做好準備,這樣,萬一病徵出現,你也可以從容應付,減少哮喘嚴重發作的機會,不用動輒入院治療。

此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。