Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Chicken pox

Chicken pox gets its name from the Latin word "cicer", meaning chick peas because the spots were thought to look like chick peas on the skin. Chicken pox is an infection caused by the varicella-zoster virus, one of the herpes viruses. Other herpes viruses include herpes simplex, that produces cold sores, and the Epstein-Barr virus that causes glandular fever. Like other herpes viruses, after the symptoms caused by the varicella-zoster virus have cleared up, the virus lies dormant in the body, but capable of reactivation. Varicella refers to its capacity to cause chicken pox and zoster to the reactivated form that causes shingles in later life.
 
Most children may catch chicken pox in the pre-school or early school years. It is most common in winter and early spring, with widespread outbreaks most years. Only about 10% of people reach adult life without having been infected. The time between catching the infection and the appearance of the rash, (the incubation period) is usually about two weeks.

The rash, which is commonly the first sign of infection in children passes through four stages, from reddish spots flush with the skin surface, to raised papules, to small blisters filled with clear fluid (the vesicles), and, lastly, to pustules which crust over and heal. But the first thing most parents and children usually notice is an itchy rash consisting of multiple small blisters. Over the first few days, new crops of these vesicles appear, especially on the chest, back and face. Vesicles in the mouth, on the eye, and around the genital area and anus can be painful. Older children and adults are more likely to have a fever, headache, or muscle pains before rash breaks out. Generally, chicken pox caught in childhood is a milder illness that that caught as an adult.
Chicken pox is very infectious. A child who has not yet had it before, and who comes into contact with an infected person, will almost certainly catch it. Children with chicken pox are infectious from about two days before to six days after the appearance of the rash, by which time the last crop of blisters should have crusted over.
 
The virus is spread either by direct contact with a person with active chicken pox or shingles, or by indirect contact with clothes or other articles infected with vesicle fluid, saliva, nasal discharge etc, or by airborne spread of small droplets of infected mucous or vesicle fluid. To prevent further spread of chicken pox children should be kept off school for six to seven days until all the blisters have crusted over. Shingles cannot be caught from chicken pox.
Chicken pox is a miserable illness but is almost always harmless. Complications can, however, occur. The most common is a bacterial infection of the blisters. This should be treated promptly with antibiotics. Occasionally there is bleeding into the blisters due to the virus interfering with blood clotting mechanisms. This is short-lasting and easily treated. In the recovery phase, some children may become clumsy and unable to walk properly. This is due to inflammation in a specific part of the brain. Although alarming, the symptoms will settle as the rash disappears. No treatment is needed and recovery will be complete. The varicella virus itself can cause a severe pneumonia. This can become life-threatening when complicated by additional bacterial infection but usually only occurs in adults.
 
There is about a two per cent risk of the varicella-zoster virus affecting the foetus if chicken pox is caught in early pregnancy. The greatest risk appears to be between the 13th and 20th week. In such an event the doctor will fully discuss the risks and how to determine if the baby has been harmed. If the mother has the first signs of the rash in the few days before or after delivery, the baby is at risk of developing severe chicken pox. This risk can be minimised by injecting the baby with varicella-zoster immunoglobulin. This is prepared from blood donors who have had chicken pox and whose blood thus contains high levels of antibody against the virus. Chicken pox in the second half of pregnancy, but before the last week, carries no risk to the baby.
 
Other groups at risk of severe complications from chicken pox are those with an impaired immune system. This includes patients receiving therapy for cancer and those on oral corticosteroid treatment (for example, people with severe asthma). If they have not had chicken pox before, these people must see their doctor immediately after any contact with the infection for appropriate treatment.
 
Chicken pox does not strike twice, except in very rare and unusual cases. One infection gives lifelong immunity.
Routine treatment for chicken pox aims to relieve the symptoms, as we know that it is generally a benign illness. The itchiness and irritation can be reduced by keeping the skin cool with light clothing and tepid baths or sponging. Calamine lotion applied to the spots, or antihistamine tablets may also help - ask your pharmacist for advice. Paracetamol or ibuprofen can be taken if the lesions are painful and will lower fever. Aspirin is generally not suitable for children under 12. It is especially unsuitable for children with chicken pox because the combination of chicken pox and aspirin can damage the liver. Although it can be difficult to resist, avoiding scratching spots as it can lead to scarring. Specific antiviral treatment is available but only used in special circumstances, for example, for children being treated for leukaemia or other cancers.
 
The fever should settle within three to four days and the rash should then be showing signs of healing. New crops of vesicles are noticeably smaller and don't develop fully. If the fever persists, or the rash continues to spread significantly, or if there is a general reddening of the skin or some spots become angry and weeping, suggesting secondary infection, then see your doctor.
Chicken pox vaccine is effective in preventing chicken pox and related complications. There are totally 2 doses. Please consult your doctor for advice before having the vaccine.
 

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

水痘

水痘的名稱源於拉丁文「cicer」,意思是鷹咀豆,因為那些斑點像鷹咀豆長在皮膚上。水痘由帶狀疱疹病毒(Varicella-Zoster Virus)引起,是疱疹病毒的一種。其他疱疹病毒包括引致唇疱疹的單純疱疹病毒及引致腺熱的愛-巴氏病毒。像其他疱疹病毒一樣,帶狀疱疹病毒引起的病徵消失後,病毒會潛伏於體內,有可能再度活躍。英文名稱「Varicella」,意謂能引發水痘;「Zoster」意指再度活躍的細菌形式,日後會引致帶狀疱疹(生蛇)。
 
 
大部分兒童於入學前或入學頭數年有機會患上水痘。冬天和初春時這種病最為普遍,大規模出現病例的情況屢見不鮮。只有約10%的人進入成年時期而還未受過感染。由受感染至出現皮疹的時間(潛伏期)通常為兩星期左右。

兒童受感染的最先表徵通常是皮疹,有四個階段:皮膚表面滿布紅色斑點;凸起的丘疹;充滿清晰液體的細小水泡(小囊);結痂和痊癒的膿疽。但大部分家長和小孩首先注意到的是由數個細小水泡組成的痕癢皮疹。頭幾天會出現另一堆這樣的小囊,尤其會長在胸部、背部和臉上。長在口內及眼睛、生殖器和肛門周圍位置的水泡可能會引起疼痛。年紀較大的小孩和成年人較容易在皮疹出現前發燒、頭痛或肌肉痛楚。一般而言,兒時患上水痘比成年時患上病情較輕微。
水痘傳染力極強。一個從未患過水痘的小孩,跟帶菌的人接觸,就有很大機會受病毒感染。患有水痘的小孩在皮疹出現前兩天至消退後六天(那時最後一堆水泡應已結痂)是會傳染的。
 
病毒的傳播途徑包括:與具有活性水痘或帶狀疱疹患者直接接觸;接觸到受病毒感染的水囊液體、唾液和鼻子分泌物等衣服或物件;或吸入經空氣散播的細小飛沫,而這些飛沫含有受感染的黏液或水囊液體。為了防止水痘進一步擴散,患病兒童六、七天內不應上學,直至所有水泡都結痂。
水痘令人煩惱,但十之八九是無害的。不過,水痘可能會引發併發症,最普遍的是水泡被細菌感染,這時候須立即以抗生素來治理。偶爾水泡會因為病菌破壞血液凝固系統而滲血,但為時不長,也很容易醫治。康復期間,有些小孩會變得遲鈍及走動有困難。原因為腦部某部位發炎。雖然這個徵狀值得關注,但皮疹消退後,病徵自會消除。無需治療就會完全復原。帶狀疱疹可導致嚴重肺炎。如再加上細菌感染,更會危及生命,但通常只限於成年人。
 
如果在懷孕初期染上水痘,胎兒受帶狀疱疹病毒感染的風險約為2%。懷孕期第13至20週時風險最大。如有此情況,醫生會和你仔細討論嬰兒受感染的機會,以及如果嬰兒真的受感染,該如何處理。如果孕婦在生產前後數天出現皮疹表徵,嬰兒或會染上嚴重水痘。注射帶狀疱疹免疫球蛋白可減低染病危險。蛋白會從患過水痘的捐血者身上提取,因為他們的血液含有充足抗體可對抗病毒。由懷孕期中段直至臨盆前的一週患水痘,對嬰兒沒有影響。
 
除極罕見和不尋常的病例外,染上水痘一次便終生免疫,不會再染第二次。
水痘是良性疾病,一般的水痘治療旨在減輕病徵。輕薄衣物、溫水浴或用海綿擦拭可紓緩皮膚痕癢和過敏。塗上異極礦藥水(Calamine lotion)或使用抗組胺(antihistamine)的片劑可能有幫助,請徵詢藥劑師的意見。服用撲熱息痛 (Paracetamol)或異丁苯乙酸(Ibuprofen),可減輕損傷部位疼痛,和幫助退燒。阿斯匹靈一般不適用於12歲以下的小孩,水痘加上阿士匹靈可損壞肝臟,因此患有水痘的小孩尤其不宜服用。雖然痕癢難當,也別去搔斑點,因為這樣做會留下疤痕。特效的抗病毒治療只會在特別情況下才使用,例如給正接受白血病或其他癌症治療的小孩使用。
 
發燒應該會在三、四天內消退,皮疹也會逐步康復。新出的水泡明顯會較細小,也不會充分成形。如果發燒持續、皮疹明顯繼續擴散、皮膚整體上呈紅色,又或部分斑點惡化或滲出液體,則表示有繼發的感染,須看醫生。
 
免疫系統有缺陷的人亦有較大機會因水痘而承受嚴重的併發症。這類人士包括接受癌症治療及接受口服類固醇治療(例如因患有嚴重哮喘)的病人。如果他們從未患過水痘,則在接觸過任何感染物後,必須立即看醫生,尋求適當治療。
水痘疫苗有效預防水痘及其引起之併發症。水痘疫苗共2針。接種疫苗前宜先諮詢醫生意見。
此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。