Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Cold and flu

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.

The runny nose, sore throat or bunged up feeling of a cold is caused by one of many viruses that infect the upper part of the breathing system (upper respiratory tract). Although a cold can make you feel miserable, in most people they are self limiting. This means the body fights off the infection and cure comes without the need for specific medical treatment.

Influenza - or flu - causes similar symptoms to a cold but tends to be a more severe illness. Although it is also self-limiting in most people, flu can be dangerous for people who are frail or have a weakened immune system.

Generally, there are two peaks for influenza occurrence in Hong Kong - one in February and the other in July, but this can be influenced by imported cases of flu from other countries. In the UK and North America, for example, most flu cases occur between December to March.

The viruses responsible for colds are spread from person to person as droplets in the air from sneezing or coughing, or from touching infected surfaces then transmitting the viruses from the hands to the mouth. Handshakes or touching a door handle are possible routes for transmission of cold viruses.

Infected people can spread the viruses from two days before the illness and up to four days after the symptoms start. Colds can occur all year round but are more common in the winter months. On average, adults catch two to three colds each year. School age children can have up to twelve or more colds in a year.

Symptoms

Colds - the virus multiplies in the soft, warm surfaces found in the nose, throat, sinuses, the windpipe (trachea) and the breathing tubes (the bronchi). The main symptoms are blocked or runny nose, sneezing, sore throat and cough. There may also be a fever, aching muscles and fatigue. The symptoms usually last for a week

Flu - These are the same as colds but the muscle aching is usually more severe and the fatigue may last for a few weeks after the illness has cleared up

To most healthy adults, flu can be just like a nasty cold. However, young children, the elderly and people with certain chronic medical conditions are susceptible to potentially serious complications. These are mostly related to a secondary bacterial infection of the lungs (pneumonia) or of the ears, nose and throat. In children under about six years old, fits - known as febrile convulsions - can occur as a result of the high body temperature. People living in residential or nursing homes, and people with the following conditions are at risk:

  • Asthma
  • Chronic chest problems such as chronic bronchitis and emphysema
  • Diabetes
  • Heart disease
  • Kidney diseases and kidney failure
  • People with reduced immunity, such as people with HIV or people who have had their spleen removed
Treatment

There is no cure for colds or flu. Antibiotics, which do work to kill bacteria, do not work on viruses. However, home treatment can help to relieve the symptoms and ensure a speedy recovery.

 

Drink plenty of fluids to prevent dehydration

For adults, paracetamol, aspirin or ibuprofen can help to relieve fever and pain. Always follow the instructions carefully and take care not stay within the safe daily doses. It is easy to accidentally exceed these by using more than one product (tablets, capsules, a hot lemon drink…) containing the same active ingredient such as paracetamol

For children under 12 years old aspirin can be dangerous (in rare cases, it can cause Reyes syndrome). It should also be avoided in older children and adolescents. Childrens formulations of paracetamol (eg Calpol) and ibuprofen (Nurofen Junior) are available

 

Avoid tobacco smoke

Decongestants such as pseudo-ephedrine may clear congestion. Ask your pharmacist for advice on products that contain a decongestant

Steam inhalations with menthol or eucalyptus, or herbal products such as camomile, may help. Take care with the hot water

Eating a balanced diet with plenty of fruit and vegetables is sensible. Vitamin C is often claimed to help, but there is no firm evidence for this

Rest. Avoid strenuous exercise, as this can increase the chance of catching a secondary bacterial infection. Contrary to the advertising claims for some cold and flu medicines, if you are unwell with a heavy cold and, especially, flu, carrying on as normal is not advisable

 

Antiviral medicines

For people in general good health, who are not elderly, no specific medical treatment - apart from the home care suggested above - is required for flu. For vulnerable groups, where it is important to prevent complications or spread, prescription only medicines may be required.

There are several anti-viral treatments, taken as tablets or as an inhaler (similar to the ones used for asthma). They have been shown to reduce the duration of flu but only by around one day, and then only if treatment is started within two days of the onset of the illness. GPs are not currently routinely prescribing antiviral medicines for flu.

Antibiotics may be given to treat any bacterial infections such as a chest infection, ear infection or sinusitis.

Prevention
  • Isolation of people with colds and flu to prevent it spreading to other people, if practical
  • Regular hand washing and immediate disposal of tissues
  • Aim for a healthy lifestyle a balanced diet, rich in fruit and vegetables, and regular (preferably daily) physical activity
  • Do not smoke - smokers are more likely to catch a cold
Immunisation

Having a flu jab each year significantly reduces the chance of catching the illnesses. It is recommended for people at risk from the complications of flu and for everyone over 65.

When to call the doctor

If the following symptoms develop with a cold, you should consult a doctor promptly:

  • Severe vomiting or diarrhoea
  • Earache
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Skin rash
  • Uncontrollable cough
  • Cough with green sputum - phlegm
  • Extreme lethargy or drowsiness

Pharmacists can give advice on over-the-counter cold and flu remedies.

Common Questions

1. Why isn't there a cure for the common cold?

There isn't a cure for the common cold because it's difficult to produce a vaccine or medicine that protects against all the different types of cold virus.

Colds are very common and most people will have at least one cold every year. This is because there are at least 200 different viruses that can cause a cold. The rhinovirus is the most common and there are more than 100 different types of this virus. So, even if your body develops immunity to one type of virus, a different one can give you another cold. This is why scientists haven't yet been able to develop a vaccine or medicines to prevent a cold.

2. Is being stressed linked to catching a cold?

Yes. You're more likely to get a cold if you're under stress.

There is a link between stress and how likely you are to get an infection. Research suggests that if you're under stress in your day-to-day life then you're more likely to develop an infection than someone who isn't stressed. This means that you’re more likely to catch a cold and develop symptoms if you're stressed.

Doctors don't yet know exactly why stress may make you more likely to develop infections, but it's thought that it affects how well your immune system works to fight off infection.

3. How long will I be infectious for?

You're at your most infectious during the first two or three days of a cold, when you are sneezing and have a cough and a runny nose. Although your symptoms will go within a week or two, you can remain infectious for several weeks.

When you catch the cold virus from someone, it usually takes about two days for you develop symptoms. You will be most infectious at the start of a cold when you have symptoms such as a runny nose, cough and sneezing. This is because you can pass the virus on by coughing and sneezing as well as by direct contact, for example when you blow your nose the virus will be on your hands.

Your symptoms are likely to be at their worst during the first two or three days of a cold and then you should gradually start to feel better. Most adults and older children usually have symptoms for about a week, in younger children symptoms can last for up to two weeks. However, you can remain infectious for several weeks.

Further Information
Source
  • Common cold. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published May 2007.
  • Common cold centre. Cardiff University. www.cardiff.ac.uk, accessed 1 September 2010
  • Common cold medications. Cardiff University. www.cardiff.ac.uk, accessed 2 September 2010
  • Arroll B, Kenealy T. Antibiotics for the common cold and acute purulent rhinitis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2005, Issue 3. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD000247.pub2.
  • Aspirin. Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 55th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2010
  • Common cold. Clinical Evidence. www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published June 2008.
  • Phls.co.uk/facts
  • Clinical evidence issue 5, June 2001 pages 490-496
  • Clinical evidence issue 5, June 2001 page 1046

You might also like

Breast cancer

Breast cancer is a tumour in the breast that contains cancerous cells. A breast tumour is a lump created by an abnormal and uncontrolled growth of cells. It can either be malignant (cancerous) or benign (not cancerous). Nine out of 10 breast lumps are benign.

Learn more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

感冒和流行性感冒

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

感冒期間流鼻水、喉嚨痛或鼻塞,是由於呼吸系統上部(上呼吸道)感染了病毒。感冒或稱傷風令人感到不適,但對大部分人來說,感冒會自然消退,因為身體可自行抵抗病毒,以至無需特別治理便可痊癒。

流行性感冒(或稱流感)的病徵與感冒相似,但前者較為嚴重。雖然對大部分人來說,流感會自動消退,但這疾病對體弱或免疫力弱的人來說,卻是危險的。

在香港,患流感的兩個高峰期分別為二月和七月。而在英國和北美國家,患流感的高峰期介乎12月和3月之間。

感冒病毒由人散播,如打噴嚏或咳嗽時濺出的唾沫在空氣中擴散,或手指接觸沾上病毒的物件,繼而傳到口中。握手或接觸門柄也會感染感冒病毒。

受感染的人會在病徵出現前2天至出現後4天傳播病毒。一年四季都有機會染上感冒,但冬天時節較普遍。成年人每年平均患23次感冒,而學童每年患感冒的次數則可多達12次或以上。

 
病徵

感冒病毒會在鼻腔、喉嚨、鼻竇、氣管和支氣管的柔軟而溫暖的表層上繁殖。感冒主要的病徵是鼻塞、流鼻水、打噴嚏、喉嚨痛和咳嗽。病者也可能會發燒、肌肉痠痛和疲倦。病徵通常會持續一星期。

流感病徵與感冒一樣,但肌肉痠痛的情況會更加嚴重。患者在康復後的數星期內或會仍然感到疲倦。

流感對大部分健康的成年人來說,只是較嚴重的感冒。可是,對小孩、老人和患有慢性疾病的人士來說,流感很容易會引致嚴重的併發症,其中大多數都與肺部的繼發性細菌感染(肺炎),或與耳朵、鼻或喉嚨的繼發性細菌感染有關。六歲以下的患者會因體溫過高而抽搐,稱為「熱性抽搐」;居於老人院或護理院的長者,以及患有以下疾病的人士,都有機會患上此病:

  • 哮喘
  • 慢性肺部疾病,如慢性支氣管炎及肺氣腫
  • 糖尿病
  • 心臟病
  • 腎病和腎衰竭
  • 免疫力較弱的人,如愛滋病患者或脾臟被移除的患者
治療

目前並沒有方法醫治感冒和流感。抗生素可殺死細菌,但不能消滅病毒。然而一些簡單的日常護理方法可減輕病徵,令患者盡速復原。

喝大量飲料,防止缺水

成年人可服食退燒藥物如撲息熱痛、阿士匹靈或異丁苯乙酸,以紓緩發熱和痛楚,但請小心依照指示服藥,謹記每天服用的劑量不可超出該藥物的安全標準。若不小心同時服食超過一種含有同一種活躍成分(如撲熱息痛)的飲品、食品或藥物(包括片劑、膠囊、熱檸檬飲品等),很容易會服用多於指定劑量的藥物

阿士匹靈對12歲以下的兒童會有害處(在某些情況下,它能導致雷氏綜合症,但這情況十分罕見),年紀較大的小孩和青年人也應避免服用。現時市面上有專為小孩配製的撲熱息痛(如Calpol)及異丁苯乙酸(Nurofen Junior

避免吸煙

減充血劑,如假麻黃素,可清除鼻塞。你應請教藥劑師,以知悉那種含有減充血劑的產品較為有效

混和薄荷醇、桉樹或草藥產品(如黃春菊)的蒸氣吸入療法有助減輕病情,但小心被熱水灼傷

保持均衡飲食,並進食大量生果和蔬菜。很多人都認為維他命C有助治療傷風感冒,但並無實證

多休息,避免做劇烈運動,因為這樣可能會增加你患上繼發性細菌感染的機會。假如患上嚴重感冒,尤其是流感而令你感到不適, 最好減低活動量


抗病毒藥物

對一般健康的人士而言(長者除外),除日常護理外,他們不需特別方法醫治流感。較易染病的人應服用醫生處方的藥物,防止併發症或病菌傳播。

有幾種使用片劑或吸入劑的抗病毒治療方法(類似治療哮喘的藥物),可縮短患流感的時間,但只能縮短一天左右,而且要在患病最初兩天內開始服用才有效。普通科醫生通常都不會開處抗病毒藥物來治療流感

醫生或會使用抗生素醫治細菌感染,如肺部感染、耳道感染或鼻竇炎

預防
  • 盡可能與感冒和流感的患者保持距離,以防止病毒擴散
  • 定時洗手;用過的紙巾要立即丟棄
  • 保持健康的生活方式,均衡飲食,多吃生果蔬菜及定時運動(最好是每天)
  • 不要吸煙,因為吸煙者較易患上感冒
免疫

每年接受流感防疫注射,可大大減低患病機會。

65歲以上的長者和容易感染流感併發症的人士應接受防疫注射。

何時需要看醫生?

如果以下病徵與感冒一起出現,你應立刻去看醫生:

  • 嚴重嘔吐或肚瀉
  • 耳朵疼痛
  • 呼吸困難
  • 皮膚出疹
  • 咳嗽不止
  • 痰帶有綠色
  • 常常沒精打采或昏昏欲睡



假如在藥房購買感冒和流感藥物,可徵詢藥劑師的意見。

 
常見問題

1. 感冒為甚麼不能根治?  

感冒不能根治是因為難以製造可以防治所有不同類型感冒病毒的疫苗或藥物。  

感冒非常普遍,一般人每年最少有一次,這是因為現時最少有200種可引致感冒的病毒,其中最常見的是鼻病毒,而單是這類病毒便有超過100種,所以即使身體對一種病毒產生了抗體,遇到另一種時仍會感染生病。正因如此,科學家至今仍未能研製可以防治感冒的疫苗或藥物。  

2. 壓力大會較易感冒嗎?  

會,承受壓力時較容易患上感冒。  

受壓可能提高感染病毒的機會。研究顯示日常生活壓力大的人比沒有壓力的人更易受到感染,換言之壓力大的人較易感冒和出現病徵。  

醫學界尚未確知為甚麼壓力會促成感染,但據估計壓力會影響免疫系統對抗疾病的能力。  

3. 傳染性會維持多久?  

感冒病人在最初兩至三天傳染性最高,這時候經常打噴嚏、咳嗽和流鼻水。一星期左右這些徵狀會漸漸消失,但病人的傳染性可能持續多個星期。  

經別人傳染感冒病毒後,一般一兩天後便會出現徵狀。開始時經常打噴嚏、咳嗽和流鼻水,此時傳染性最強,因為病毒可透過咳嗽和打噴嚏傳播,此外還可透過直接接觸傳播,例如抹鼻涕時病毒會沾在手上。  

感冒的不適徵狀在頭兩至三天最嚴重,其後便慢慢好轉。大部分成人和較年長兒童的病徵一般維持約一星期,幼童則可能兩星期也感不適,但傳染性卻可能持續數星期。
索取更多資料
來源
  • Common cold. Clinical Knowledge Summaries. www.cks.nhs.uk, published May 2007.
  • Common cold centre. Cardiff University. www.cardiff.ac.uk, accessed 1 September 2010
  • Common cold medications. Cardiff University. www.cardiff.ac.uk, accessed 2 September 2010
  • Arroll B, Kenealy T. Antibiotics for the common cold and acute purulent rhinitis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2005, Issue 3. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD000247.pub2.
  • Aspirin. Joint Formulary Committee, British National Formulary. 55th ed. London: British Medical Association and Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, 2010
  • Common cold. Clinical Evidence. www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published June 2008.
  • Phls.co.uk/facts
  • Clinical evidence issue 5, June 2001 pages 490-496
  • Clinical evidence issue 5, June 2001 page 1046

相關文章

乳癌

乳癌指乳房出現含有癌細胞的腫瘤。乳房腫瘤是由于細胞生長異常失控而形成的腫塊,可以是惡性(癌性)或良性(非癌性)。每10宗乳房腫瘤病例中九宗為良性。

了解更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。