Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Migraine

Migraine is a type of severe headache, often one-sided, which may also be accompanied by nausea, vomiting or increased sensitivity to light. Migraine headaches are one of the most common types of headache. It is most common in people aged between 25 and 55.

There are two main types of migraine – common and classic.
 
Classic migraine is a migraine with aura. This affects about a quarter of all migraine sufferers. People sense when a migraine is coming on. Nervous system symptoms – called an aura – develop before the migraine symptoms. These may include:
  • yawning
  • hunger and thirst
  • visual disturbances – such as seeing flashing lights or zig-zag lines
Occasionally, the symptoms can be more severe – there may be a tingling around the mouth or in one arm, difficulty in speaking, or weakness in an arm or leg. Aura symptoms usually settle down within an hour. Some people get the aura without the subsequent headache. This is more common in older people.
 
Around three quarters of people who get migraines are affected by common migraine. The headache comes on quite suddenly, without any warning at all. There are the usual migraine symptoms – headache, sickness, sensitivity to light, but there are no aura symptoms.
The brain contains a natural chemical called serotonin. When a migraine happens, something triggers a drop in serotonin levels. This causes an area of the brain to send messages to a nerve in the face and to blood vessels in the head. The blood vessels widen, and it's this that causes pain. The serotonin drop also affects the way other parts of the brain work, which can result in other symptoms that some people experience as an "aura".
 
In women who suffer from migraines, hormone changes may also be involved. In some women, migraines occur a few days before, during, and immediately after a period. About 70% of women who have migraines can relate their migraine headaches to their menstrual period.
 
About 80% of people who get migraine headaches have a family history of migraines, which suggests that there may be a genetic basis to migraines.
 
Some people find that their migraines are triggered by something. Triggers might include:
  • certain foods – such as chocolate, cheese, red wine, citrus
  • fruits, coffee, tea, tomatoes, potatoes
  • too much or too little sleep
  • changes in hormone balance in women – such as periods, the pill, menopause
  • stress or even relaxation
  • irregular meals
  • caffeine withdrawal
  • physical activity
  • smoking
  • flashing lights
  • noise
  • weather – high pressure conditions, changes in pressure, hot dry winds, seasonal changes, exposure to sun and glare
  • exercise – too much or too little
  • sexual arousal
  • smells – paint, fumes from car heaters or perfume
Often, several triggers work together to provoke a migraine. Unfortunately, avoiding triggers may not prevent migraines, as most migraines are not caused by a single, identifiable trigger.
A severe migraine attack can cause a persistent throbbing or pounding pain, with sensitivity to light, sound and movement. The pain may be just on one side of the head, though there may be pressure on both. Attacks can last for up to 72 hours. There may also be nausea, be sickness or diarrhea, and a feeling of exhaustion.
 
It is possible that migraine symptoms are caused by something more serious. So, always see a doctor if you experience any of the following:
  • aura symptoms that are always on the same side of the body, or last less than five minutes or more than an hour
  • aura symptoms without a headache
  • a sudden change in the character of your migraine – attacks coming more often, for instance, or treatment not helping
  • headache after you exercise
  • your first ever attack when you're over 50
  • stomach pains
  • nervous system problems – difficulty in walking, or disturbance of vision between attacks
  • a high temperature
Over-the-counter medicines
Mild migraine attacks settle in a few hours. It's best to rest in a quiet, darkened room, and take simple painkillers, such as paracetamol, aspirin or ibuprofen. Preparations containing the anti-sickness drug buclizine may help with any nausea and sickness.
 
Prescription medicines
There are many prescription drugs available if these simple remedies don't help. Drugs called metoclopramide and domperidone can stop nausea and vomiting. A combination of aspirin and metoclopramide is also now available, to help with pain and nausea. And the findings of a drug in trial called tolfenamic acid suggest that it is effective.
 
The triptan group of drugs work by correcting the serotonin imbalance. These are available as tablets, injections, nasal sprays or dissolvable wafers. But they should not be used after a heart attack or stroke, or in people who suffer from high blood pressure. Some people get side-effects from these drugs, such as dizziness, a feeling of pressure in the neck or chest area, nausea and vomiting.
If avoiding triggers doesn't seem to help, and you get at least two severe migraines a month, you might want to consider taking daily preventive treatment. These include:
  • a-blockers, such as propranolol
  • tricyclic antidepressants, such as amitriptyline
  • pizotifen
The anti-epileptic drug sodium valproate may also be effective, but is not a common treatments due to the side-effects. Another option is the drug methysergide, but this can have dangerous side-effects and should only be administered under hospital supervision. For menstrual migraine, hormone treatment with oestrogen may help.
 
Whatever the approach, it will take some time, and support from a doctor, for each individual to find a treatment that best helps manage their migraine.

This information was published by Bupa Group's Health Content Team and has been reviewed by appropriate medical or clinical professionals. To the best of their knowledge the information is current and based on reputable sources of medical evidence, however Bupa (Asia) Limited makes no representation or warranty as to the completeness or accuracy of the Content.

The information on this page, and any information on third party websites referred to on this page, is provided as a guide only. It should not be relied upon as a substitute for professional medical advice, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. Bupa (Asia) Limited is not liable for any loss or damage you suffer arising out of the use of, or reliance on, the information.

Third party websites are not owned or controlled by Bupa and any individual may be able to access and post messages on them. Bupa is not responsible for the content or availability of these third party websites. Last updated August 2017.

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri 9am-9pm (except public holidays)

【Get Quote or Details】

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly at 2517 5860.

By clicking “Submit” below you give consent for the personal information submitted on this page to be used as described in paragraph 1 of Personal Data Information Collection Statement.

立即投保

星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

偏頭痛

偏頭痛屬於劇烈的頭痛,通常集中於頭的一邊,可能會帶有噁心、嘔吐或對光線敏感等徵狀。偏頭痛在各種頭痛中屬於最常見的一種,此病症在25歲至55歲的人士當中最為普遍。

偏頭痛主要分為兩類,分別是普通偏頭痛和典型偏頭痛。
典型偏頭痛 ─ 有先兆的偏頭痛。這類偏頭痛大約影響四分之一的偏頭痛患者。患者會預感到偏頭痛將會發作,在偏頭痛發作前會出現神經系統徵狀,稱為前兆。這些前兆包括:
  • 打呵欠
  • 飢餓和口渴
  • 視力受到干擾 ─ 例如看到閃光或「之」字形線條。
在某些情況下,病徵會更為嚴重。患者可能會感到嘴部周圍或手臂麻木刺痛、說話困難,或手臂、小腿軟弱無力。前兆病徵通常會在1小時內消失。有些人在出現前兆後並無偏頭痛發生,這種情況在長者身上較常見。
普通偏頭痛 ─ 大約四分之三偏頭痛患者屬普通偏頭痛。這種頭痛出現得頗突然,發作前通常沒有任何徵兆。它的常見病徵包括頭痛、身體不適及對光線極度敏感,但不會有前兆徵狀。

腦部含有一種稱為血清素(serotonin)的自然化學物。偏頭痛發生的時候血清素水平會因某些因素而下降,使得腦的某個部分向面部神經線及頭部血管發出信號,使血管擴張,形成痛楚。血清素的下降也會影響腦部其他部分的運作,而引發其他病徵,有些人稱之為偏頭痛的「前兆」。

在女性,偏頭痛可能與荷爾蒙的變化有關。有些女性會在月經前、經期或之後出現偏頭痛,70%的女性偏頭痛患者發現其偏頭痛與月經週期有關。

約80%患有偏頭痛的人,家族裏都曾經有人患上偏頭痛,這顯示偏頭痛可能與基因有關。

根據一部份患者的報告,引起偏頭痛的誘發因素包括:

  • 某些食品,如巧克力、芝士、紅酒、西柚、咖啡、茶、蕃茄和馬鈴薯等
  • 睡眠過多或睡眠不足
  • 由經期、避孕藥及停經引致的女性荷爾蒙變化
  • 壓力或甚至鬆弛狀態
  • 飲食不定時
  • 停止使用咖啡因時
  • 體力勞動
  • 吸煙
  • 閃光
  • 噪音
  • 天氣──高壓環境、氣壓轉變、乾燥的熱風、季節變化、日曬及被強光直接照射
  • 運動過度或缺乏運動
  • 性興奮
  • 油漆、汽車引擎噴出的廢氣或香水等氣味

通常,偏頭痛由數個誘因同時引發。由於大部分偏頭痛並非由單一、且可確定的誘因引致,避免這些誘因並不能有效預防偏頭痛。

偏頭痛嚴重發作時會引起持續性的跳痛或重擊痛,帶有對光、聲及運動的過敏。儘管頭的兩側會同時受壓,但頭痛可能只出現在頭的一側。偏頭痛發作可持續達72小時,同時帶有噁心、嘔吐或肚瀉,甚至感到筋疲力竭。
引起偏頭痛的原因可能比想像中嚴重。所以,當出現以下任何情況,你應看醫生:
  • 前兆病徵反復出現在身體的同一部位;或持續時間少於5分鐘或超過1小時
  • 有前兆病徵但沒有頭痛
  • 偏頭痛的性質突然改變,例如發作的次數增加,或治療無效
  • 運動後頭痛
  • 首次發作年齡超過50歲
  • 胃痛
  • 出現神經系統症狀,如行動困難或發作間期視覺出現干擾現象
  • 體溫較高
可於藥房購買的藥物
輕微的偏頭痛發作會在數小時內緩解。患者最好在安靜及避光的房間裡休息,並服用普通的止痛藥,如撲熱息痛(paracetamol)、阿士匹靈(aspirin)或異丁笨乙酸(ibuprofen)。含有抗嘔吐藥(buclizine)的復方藥物也可減低噁心和嘔吐。
 
需醫生處方的藥物
如果以上的簡單療法無效,可服用需醫生處方的藥物。Metoclopramide和domperidone有助於控制噁心和嘔吐。現時,市面已有阿士匹靈和domperidone的復方藥供應,以幫助病者減輕痛楚和噁心。而目前正在進行的臨床測試顯示tolfenamic acid亦可能有效。
Triptan系列的藥物能矯正血清素不平衡的現象;患者可選擇不同形式的Triptan系列藥物,包括片劑、注射劑、鼻噴霧劑和溶化性威化餅。此類藥物不可在心臟病發作後或中風後使用,也不適用於患有高血壓的病者。另外,有些人可能會產生副作用,如頭暈、頸部或胸腔受壓感、噁心和嘔吐。

如果避免誘因對病情沒有幫助,而你每月最少會出現兩次嚴重的偏頭痛,你可以考慮每天服用預防性藥物。這些藥物包括:

  • 乙型神經阻斷劑(beta-blockers),如propanolol
  • 三環抗抑鬱劑(tricyclic antidepressants),如amitriptyline
  • Pizotifen

抗癲癎劑丙戊酸鈉(sodium valproate)也可治療偏頭痛,但由於它有一定的副作用,所以並不常用。另一個選擇是methysergide,但它可能帶來危險的副作用,所以只可在住院監察下使用。含有雌激素的荷爾蒙治療可紓緩月經性偏頭痛。
無論使用哪一種治療方法,患者都需要一定的時間,亦需要醫生的支持,才能找出最適合自己的療法。

此資料由保柏集團的健康資訊顧問團隊發布,並已經合適的醫療或臨床專業人員審閱。盡該等人員所知,有關資料為近期資料,並根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫。然而,保柏(亞洲)有限公司並不就此內容是否完整或準確作出任何陳述或保證。
 
此頁內資料及本頁所提述的第三方網站內任何資料均僅供指導之用,不應依賴此內容以替代合適或專業的醫療建議,亦無意取代醫學診斷或治療。保柏(亞洲)有限公司對閣下因使用或依賴此資料所蒙受的任何損失或損害概不負責。
 
第三方網站並非由保柏擁有或控制,任何人士均有可能查閱該等網站並在該處發表訊息。保柏對該等第三方網站的內容或能否查閱該等網站概不負責。最後更新於2017年8月。

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–9pm (公眾假期例外)

【索取報價及詳情】

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可致電2517 5860聯絡我們。

按「傳送」即代表本人同意在此網頁提交之個人資料會用於個人資料收集聲明第一段所述的目的。