Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Pharyngitis (sore throat)

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.   

Key points

  • Pharyngitis most commonly occurs in school-aged children during the winter months.
  • Pharyngitis is usually caused by an infection with a virus but can sometimes be caused by group A Streptococcus bacteria.
  • The most common symptom of pharyngitis is a sore throat.
  • Antibiotics aren’t routinely prescribed to treat a sore throat.
  • Pharyngitis usually gets better without treatment within three to seven days.

 

Pharyngitis is the medical term used to describe an infection or inflammation of your throat.

Your throat starts at the back of your mouth and nose and connects to your oesophagus (the pipe that goes from your mouth to your stomach), windpipe (trachea) and voice box (larynx).

Pharyngitis

Pharyngitis can be an acute or chronic inflammation of your throat. When describing an illness, the terms ‘acute’ and ‘chronic’ refer to how long a person has had it, not to how serious the condition is.

  • Acute pharyngitis is typically over within three to seven days. It’s a common condition, particularly in children aged five to 15 years old during winter and early spring.
  • Chronic pharyngitis (or a persistent sore throat) lasts for longer, sometimes for several weeks.

The symptoms of pharyngitis vary depending on how inflamed your throat is. The most common symptom is a sore throat, which may be mild or severe. Other symptoms that you may also have at the same time include:

  • difficulty and pain when swallowing
  • a fever (a temperature higher than 37.5°C)
  • a runny or blocked nose
  • a cough
  • a headache
  • enlarged and tender glands in your neck
  • pain or discomfort in your abdomen (tummy)
  • feeling sick or vomiting
  • enlarged and painful tonsils (tonsillitis)

You probably won’t need to see your GP if you have these symptoms as you can usually manage them at home. Speak to your pharmacist for advice about what medicines to take. However, if your symptoms get worse, for example you have difficulty swallowing fluids, are vomiting or painkillers aren't helping, contact your GP for advice. You should always see your GP if you have a persistent sore throat that lasts for several weeks.

Most people with pharyngitis won’t have any complications. However, on rare occasions, pharyngitis caused by a bacterial infection can lead to:

  • tonsillitis – see our frequently asked questions for more information of ear infection (otitis media)
  • a sinus infection (sinusitis)
  • a throat abscess (retropharyngeal abscess) – this is most common in young children
  • an abscess behind your tonsils (peritonsillar abscess or quinsy)

If you have an abscess, you may have severe pain, drool and find it very hard to swallow – see your GP if you have these symptoms. An abscess can also affect your breathing. It’s important that you seek immediate medical attention if you’re finding it hard to breathe.

You’re more likely to develop complications if you have a weakened immune system, for example if you have HIV/AIDS, or are taking medicines that suppress your immune system.

Pharyngitis is usually caused by an infection with a virus and, less commonly, by bacteria. Most people with acute pharyngitis have a viral infection such as the common cold virus. The most common type of bacterial infection is group A Streptococcus (known as strep throat). Strep throat occurs most often in children. There is no evidence that sore throats caused by a bacterial infection are more severe than those caused by a virus, or that they last any longer.

Other, rarer causes of an acute sore throat may include:

  • a thrush infection of your throat
  • a sexually transmitted infection passed on through oral sex
  • a blood disorder, such as leukaemia or anaemia
  • certain medicines such as carbimazole, clozapine and sulfasalazine

Irritants and allergens can also inflame the linings of your throat and cause chronic pharyngitis. For example, you may be more likely to have a persistent sore throat if you smoke, drink alcohol to excess or have a medical condition affecting your mouth, nose or upper respiratory system (such as hay fever, sinusitis or a chronic cough).

You probably won’t need to see your GP if you or your child has a sore throat. However, if you’re worried that your symptoms are more severe or not getting better, contact your GP – he or she may be able to advise you.

Your GP will usually be able to diagnose pharyngitis by asking about your symptoms and possibly also examining you. He or she may look inside your throat to check for signs of infection and feel your neck to check for any swelling. You won't usually need any other tests but if your GP suspects you have a bacterial infection and you’re at risk of complications, he or she may take a swab sample from the back of your throat to help confirm this. However, this isn't usually necessary.

Your GP may also ask you to have a blood test to check for glandular fever if you have a sore throat that lasts for longer than a week.

If you have had a sore throat for longer than three weeks with no obvious cause, your GP may refer you to a doctor who specialises in ear, nose and throat conditions. 

For most people, a sore throat will get better on its own within a week of the symptoms starting without any specific treatment. However, there are things you can do to help ease your symptoms and make you feel more comfortable.

Self-help

Although there is little scientific evidence to support it, you may find gargling a few times a day for three to four minutes with salt water or soluble aspirin dissolved in water helps your sore throat. Never give aspirin to children under the age of 16. Drinking warm liquids (particularly with lemon and honey) and sucking on throat lozenges may also help to soothe your throat.

Medicines

Over-the-counter painkillers

You can take over-the-counter painkillers such as ibuprofen or paracetamol to relieve pain and reduce your temperature. Don’t give aspirin to children under 16. Always read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine and if you have any questions, ask your pharmacist for advice. If your symptoms don’t improve or get worse, contact your GP.

Antibiotics

Your GP is unlikely to prescribe antibiotics, even if your sore throat is thought to be caused by a bacterial infection, as they won't usually relieve your symptoms or help you to recover any sooner. You may be prescribed antibiotics if you have a severe infection or if your GP thinks you're at risk of complications. You may also be given antibiotics if you're admitted to hospital because of a complication, such as an abscess.

If you're prescribed antibiotics, make sure that you take the full course. Your GP will usually give you penicillin to take by mouth for 10 days. If you’re allergic to penicillin, your GP will prescribe an alternative antibiotic. Always ask your GP for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

1. What is the difference between pharyngitis and tonsillitis?

Answer

Pharyngitis is inflammation of your throat (pharynx), whereas tonsillitis is inflammation of your tonsils. A sore throat is a symptom of both pharyngitis and tonsillitis.

Explanation

Pharyngitis and tonsillitis are very similar conditions and can be hard to distinguish. A sore throat can be a symptom of either condition, so they are sometimes both referred to as an ‘acute sore throat’. The only real difference between the two conditions is the part of your throat that is affected.

  • Pharyngitis means inflammation of your pharynx. This is the part of your throat that starts at the back of your mouth and nose and connects them to your oesophagus (the pipe that runs from your mouth to your stomach), windpipe (trachea) and voice box (larynx).
  • Tonsillitis is inflammation of your tonsils, which are the glands at the back of your throat.

You can develop tonsillitis on its own or at the same time as pharyngitis as part of a more general infection of your throat.

The two conditions are treated in a similar way. However, if you have recurrent or chronic tonsillitis, your doctor may recommend surgery to remove your tonsils. Recurrent and chronic pharyngitis can be more difficult to treat, but understanding the causes can help to manage the condition. For example, if you drink alcohol regularly or smoke, drinking less and stopping smoking may help improve your symptoms.

2. Can I catch pharyngitis from someone who has it?

Answer

Yes, it's possible that you could catch the infection that has caused pharyngitis in another person.

Explanation

Pharyngitis is usually caused by an infection with a virus (such as the common cold) or group A Streptococcus bacteria.

You’re most likely to catch the infection that causes pharyngitis by coming into contact with an infected person, for example by shaking hands with someone who has a sore throat, or by touching something an infected person has recently touched. You pick up the virus or bacteria on your hands and then, when you touch your nose or mouth, you may pass it to yourself.

The best way to reduce your risk of infection is to regularly wash your hands and try to stay away from people who have symptoms of cold or flu. If you have cold or flu symptoms, cover your mouth when coughing or sneezing, throw used tissues in the bin and wash your hands regularly to reduce the risk of spreading the infection.

3. Why aren't antibiotics usually prescribed to treat pharyngitis?

Answer

Antibiotics aren't usually helpful in relieving the symptoms of pharyngitis, or in reducing the duration of your illness.

Explanation

Pharyngitis is most often caused by a viral infection such as the common cold. Antibiotics only work against bacteria and so aren't effective at treating viral infections.

Your GP won't usually prescribe antibiotics, even if your sore throat is thought to be caused by a bacterial infection. This is because antibiotics haven’t been found to be much more effective than painkillers in relieving your symptoms or in helping you to recover any sooner.

Taking antibiotics when they aren't necessary can increase your risk of developing antibiotic resistance – this means that the medicine isn’t effective at getting rid of the infection. Antibiotics can also cause unpleasant side-effects such as diarrhoea and a rash.

Your GP may think it necessary to prescribe antibiotics if you have a severe illness that is likely to be caused by a bacterial infection, or if he or she thinks you're at increased risk of complications.

If you're prescribed antibiotics, make sure that you take the full course. Your GP will usually give you penicillin to take by mouth for 10 days. If you’re allergic to penicillin, your GP will prescribe a different antibiotic. Always ask your GP for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

Further information

Sources

  • Acute pharyngitis. BMJ Best Practice.www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 19 October 2012
  • Sore throat – acute. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. cks.nice.org.uk, published October 2012
  • Viral pharyngitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 26 September 2011
  • Pediatric pharyngitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 15 June 2012
  • Management of sore throat and indications for tonsillectomy. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), April 2010. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Vincent MT, Celestin N, Hussain AN. Pharyngitis. Am Fam Physician 2004; 69(6):1465–70
  • Spinks A, Glasziou PP, Del Mar CB. Antibiotics for sore throat. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000023.pub3
  • Sore throat (treatment). ENT UK. www.entuk.org, published 23 January 2012
  • Tonsillitis. BMJ Clinical Evidence. www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published 26 October 2009
  • WHO guidelines on hand hygiene in health care. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published 2009

You might also like

Antibiotics

Some antibiotics work by killing bacteria. They usually do this by interrupting the chemical processes that the bacteria use to make their cell walls. Penicillin is an example of an antibiotic that works in this way.

Read more

Cold and flu

Influenza - or flu - causes similar symptoms to a cold but tends to be a more severe illness. Although it is also self-limiting in most people, flu can be dangerous for people who are frail or have a weakened immune system.

Read more

Healthy Eating

The amount and type of food you eat has a major influence on your health. Eating a well-balanced diet can reduce your risk of various diseases as well as help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Read more

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

咽喉炎(喉嚨痛)

以下內容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切資料均根據可靠而有醫學證明的資料而編寫,並經保柏的醫學顧問核實。內容僅供參考,不能取代合資格的醫護人員給予閣下之個人建議。   

重點

  • 咽喉炎最常在冬季見於學齡兒童
  • 咽喉炎通常因感染病毒引起,但亦有感染甲型鏈球菌的病例
  • 咽喉炎最常見的病徵是喉嚨疼痛
  • 醫生一般不會處方抗生素治療喉嚨痛
  • 咽喉炎通常無須治療也會在3至7天自行痊癒

咽喉炎是醫學術語,意指喉嚨感染或發炎。

口鼻後端就是咽喉,它與食道(由口部通至胃部的管道)、氣管(氣道)及聲帶(喉)連接。

咽喉炎

咽喉炎分為急性或慢性喉嚨發炎。疾病屬於「急性」及「慢性」指患者患病的時間長短,與病情嚴重程度無關。

  • 急性咽喉炎一般為時3至7天。這是十分常見的疾病,5至15歲兒童在冬季及初春特別常見
  • 慢性咽喉炎(或喉嚨持續疼痛)為時較長,有時數星期不癒

咽喉炎的徵狀視乎喉部發炎的程度而定。最常見徵狀是喉嚨輕微或嚴重疼痛,其他可能出現的徵狀包括:

  • 吞嚥困難及痛楚
  • 發燒(體溫超過攝氏37.5度)
  • 流鼻水或鼻塞
  • 咳嗽
  • 頭痛
  • 頸部腺體發大及一觸即痛
  • 腹部(肚)疼痛或不適
  • 作嘔或嘔吐
  • 扁桃體發大及疼痛(扁桃腺炎)
遇到上述徵狀,一般人也可自行在家休養,不須要看醫生。至於合適的藥物,您可諮詢藥劑師的意見。不過若徵狀加劇,例如吞流質有困難、嘔吐或服鎮痛藥也無效,則應諮詢醫生的意見。如咽喉持續疼痛數星期,必須立即求醫。 

大部分情況下患咽喉炎不會出現併發症,不過在罕見情況下細菌感染引致的咽喉炎或會導致:

  • 扁桃腺炎,請參閱常見問題。
  • 耳炎(中耳炎)
  • 鼻竇感染(鼻竇炎)
  • 咽喉膿瘡(咽後膿瘡) — 最常見於兒童
  • 扁桃體後膿瘡(扁桃體周圍膿腫或扁桃腺炎)

 

膿瘡會引致嚴重痛楚,患者並會流口水,吞嚥極度困難。若出現這些徵狀應見醫生。膿瘡亦會影響呼吸,假如有呼吸困難必須立即就醫。

免疫系統弱的患者較易出現併發症,例如愛滋病患者/愛滋病帶菌者或正在服用抑制免疫系統藥物的人士。

咽喉炎一般是病毒感染引起,但亦有較少見的細菌感染病例。大部分急性咽喉炎均由普通感冒病毒等病毒感染導致,而最常見的細菌感染則是甲型鏈球菌(稱為鏈球菌性咽喉炎)。鏈球菌性咽喉炎最常見於兒童患者。現時並無證據顯示細菌感染引起的喉嚨痛比病毒感染的病例更嚴重,又或持續更長時間。

其他較罕見的急性喉嚨痛包括:

  • 咽喉感染念珠菌
  • 透過口交傳染的性傳播感染
  • 血液系統疾病,例如血癌或貧血
  • 某些藥物,例如卡比馬(Carbimazole)、氯氮平(Clozapine)及柳氮磺胺吡啶(Sulfasalazine)

 

刺激物和致敏原亦會令喉部內膜發炎,導致慢性咽喉炎。例如,吸煙、過量飲酒或患有影響口腔、鼻或上呼吸系統疾病(例如鼻敏感、鼻竇炎或久咳)的人士,持續喉嚨痛的風險也相應較高。

成人或兒童患喉嚨痛通常也不須要看醫生,但若徵狀較嚴重或沒有緩和令您擔心,則應徵詢醫生意見。

一般來說,醫生只須詢問病人徵狀或檢查一下,便可診斷咽喉炎。醫生或會檢視咽喉內部,看看是否有感染跡象,以及觸按頸部檢查有否腫大。除此之外,通常不須要再做其他檢測,但假如醫生懷疑病人受細菌感染並有出現併發症的風險,便可能在喉部較深處抽取抹片樣本以助確診。不過一般病例也不須要抽取抹片樣本。

此外,若患者喉嚨痛持續超過一星期,醫生可能安排病人驗血檢測是否患上淋巴腺熱(Glandular Fever)

假如病人喉嚨無明顯成因而疼痛超過三星期,醫生或會轉介患者到耳鼻喉專科醫生就診。

大部分人喉嚨痛,即使不就醫徵狀也會在一個星期內自行消失,但您也可採取一些措施舒緩不適徵狀。

自我護療

儘管現時並無科學證據支持,但感到喉嚨痛不妨每天用鹽水或可溶性阿士匹靈(Aspirin)沖水潄口三至四分鐘,這樣或可紓減痛楚,不過16歲以下兒童切勿服用阿士匹靈。多喝暖飲品(特別是檸檬及蜜糖熱飲)及含一片喉糖亦可舒緩喉痛。

藥物

成藥

布洛芬(Ibuprofen)或撲熱息痛(Paracetamol)等鎮痛成藥有止痛及退燒作用。16歲以下兒童切勿服用阿士匹靈。服藥前必須詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明,如有疑問應諮詢藥劑師的意見,如徵狀沒有改善或惡化則應聯絡醫生。

抗生素

即使患者的喉嚨痛相信是細菌感染引致,醫生一般亦不會處方抗生素,因為服抗生素無助舒緩徵狀,也不會令病人加快痊癒。醫生只會在病人嚴重感染或有併發症風險的情況下處方抗生素。此外,若病人因膿瘡等併發症入院治療,醫生亦可能處方抗生素。

如醫生處方抗生素,病人必須完成整個療程。醫生通常會處方10天的口服盤尼西林(Penicillin),若患者對盤尼西林過敏,則會處方另一種抗生素。有關藥物治療應諮詢醫生,服藥前必須詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明。

1. 咽喉炎與扁桃腺炎有何分別?

咽喉炎是喉嚨(咽喉)發炎,扁桃腺炎是扁桃體發炎。兩種疾病都有喉嚨疼痛的徵狀。

咽喉炎及扁桃腺炎是兩種非常相似的疾病,有時難以區分。由於兩種情況下患者都會喉嚨疼痛,因此都稱為「急性喉嚨痛」。咽喉炎及扁桃腺炎的真正分別是受感染的咽喉部分不同。

  • 咽喉炎是咽喉發炎,即由口鼻後端開始與食道(由口部通至胃部的管道)、氣管(氣道)及聲帶(喉)連接的咽喉部分。
  • 扁桃腺炎是扁桃體發炎,即喉嚨後端的腺體。

 

患者可能只患有扁桃腺炎,也可能因為整個咽喉感染而同時患有扁桃腺炎和咽喉炎。

咽喉炎及扁桃腺炎的治療方法大同小異,但若屬於經常復發或慢性扁桃腺炎,醫生或會建議進行手術切除扁桃體。復發性或慢性咽喉炎較難治療,不過只要掌握成因,便可更有效地控制病情。例如,經常飲酒或吸煙的患者如減少飲酒及戒煙,便可舒緩徵狀。

2. 咽喉炎會傳染嗎?

會,接觸咽喉炎患者可能感染致病的病毒或細菌。

咽喉炎通常是病毒(例如普通感冒病毒)或甲型鏈球菌感染導致。

咽喉炎最常見的傳播渠道是接觸受感染的患者,例如與有喉嚨痛的人握手或觸摸受感染人士剛碰過的物件。這樣病毒或細菌便會沾到手上,只要碰到口鼻便會受感染。

要減低感染風險,最佳的方法是勤洗手和遠離有傷風感冒病徵的人。假如您出現傷風感冒病徵,咳嗽及打噴嚏時應掩蓋嘴巴,用過的紙巾必須丟進垃圾桶,同時勤洗手避免傳播致病病毒或細菌。

3. 為甚麼醫生一般不會處方抗生素治療咽喉炎?

抗生素無助舒緩徵狀,也不會令病人加快痊癒。

咽喉炎通常是病毒感染引致,例如普通感冒,而抗生素只可對付細菌,治療病毒感染功效並不理想。

即使醫生相信病人的咽喉炎是細菌感染所致,通常亦不會處方抗生素,因為沒有證據顯示抗生素對舒緩不適徵狀的效果比鎮痛藥好,也不會令病人加快痊癒。

非必要地服用抗生素可能增加病人對抗生素產生抗藥性的風險,即藥物無法有效消除感染。此外,抗生素並可能引致腹瀉及紅疹等不良副作用。

假如患者因細菌感染引發嚴重疾病,又或出現併發症的風險特別高,醫生才會按需要處方抗生素。

如醫生處方抗生素,病人必須完成整個療程。醫生通常會處方10天的口服盤尼西林,若患者對盤尼西林過敏,則會處方另一種抗生素。有關藥物治療應諮詢醫生,服藥前必須詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明。

更多資料

來源

  • Acute pharyngitis. BMJ Best Practice.www.bestpractice.bmj.com, published 19 October 2012
  • Sore throat – acute. NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries. cks.nice.org.uk, published October 2012
  • Viral pharyngitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 26 September 2011
  • Pediatric pharyngitis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published 15 June 2012
  • Management of sore throat and indications for tonsillectomy. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), April 2010. www.sign.ac.uk
  • Vincent MT, Celestin N, Hussain AN. Pharyngitis. Am Fam Physician 2004; 69(6):1465–70
  • Spinks A, Glasziou PP, Del Mar CB. Antibiotics for sore throat. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2006, Issue 4. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD000023.pub3
  • Sore throat (treatment). ENT UK. www.entuk.org, published 23 January 2012
  • Tonsillitis. BMJ Clinical Evidence. www.clinicalevidence.bmj.com, published 26 October 2009
  • WHO guidelines on hand hygiene in health care. World Health Organization. www.who.int, published 2009

相關文章

抗生素

有些抗生素會殺滅細菌。這些藥物通常會中斷細菌建造細胞壁的化學過程,令細菌死亡。盤尼西林就是這種藥理的抗生素。

閱讀更多

感冒和流行性感冒

感冒期間流鼻水、喉嚨痛或鼻塞,是由於呼吸系統上部(上呼吸道)感染了病毒。

閱讀更多

健康飲食

日常進食的食物分量和種類對健康有莫大影響。注意日常飲食均衡,便可減低多種疾病的風險,還可維持健康體重。

閱讀更多

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。