Get Bupa now

Mon-Fri, 9am - 6pm
2517 5860

Customer Services

24 hours, 7 days a week

Individual Schemes

2517 5333

Bupa Gold Schemes

2517 5383

Bupa group members

2517 5388

Psoriasis

This information was published by Bupa's health information team and is based on reputable sources of medical evidence. It has been peer reviewed by Bupa doctors. The content is intended for general information only and does not replace the need for personal advice from a qualified health professional.   

Psoriasis is a common skin condition that causes raised patches of inflamed skin. It varies in severity from person to person and can come and go over time. You can’t catch psoriasis or pass it on to other people.

 

Your skin is made up of several layers, the top one of which constantly sheds old cells and replaces them with new ones from underneath. This happens in a cycle that usually takes about 28 days. If you have psoriasis, the rate at which your skin is replaced in the affected area increases and the cycle can be as short as two to six days. New skin cells move to the surface before they have properly matured and build up on your skin in thick patches called plaques. There is also a build-up of a type of blood cell (called T-cells) under your skin, which causes inflammation.

Psoriasis affects about two in 100 people. It can begin at any age, but commonly develops either in early adult life between the ages of 15 and 30 or later between 50 and 60. It affects similar numbers of men and women.

Psoriasis is a life-long condition and it’s unlikely that you will ever be completely free of it. However, it tends to fluctuate in severity over time, often for no apparent reason. This means that you may have flare-ups when the symptoms are more severe, but at other times the condition may hardly be noticeable.

Psoriasis isn't contagious, so you can't catch it from other people and it doesn't spread from one part of your body to another.

There are a number of different types of psoriasis.

Plaque psoriasis

Plaque psoriasis is the most common type of psoriasis, where you get pinkish-red, scaly plaques (raised patches), especially on your knees and elbows.

Insert Photo: Plaque psoriasis (All original photos can be downloaded from our file sharing website. Contact the Health Information Team for log in details).

Flexural psoriasis

Flexural psoriasis is also known as inverse psoriasis. It affects areas where your skin folds, such as your armpits and groin area. Your skin tends to be thinner and more sensitive in these areas. Flexural psoriasis causes patches of bright red, shiny skin – these may be slightly itchy or uncomfortable. You may have flexural psoriasis at the same time as having plaques elsewhere on your body.

Pustular psoriasis

This is a rare, severe form of the condition in which small pus-filled spots (pustules) develop on your skin. If this happens all over your body, it's called generalised pustular psoriasis. This can be a life-threatening condition and you’re likely to need to be treated in hospital.

Erythrodermic psoriasis

Erythrodermic psoriasis is another rare and severe form of the condition in which your skin becomes red and inflamed all over – it looks like sunburn. The inflammation can result in serious complications and usually needs to be treated in hospital. Erythrodermic psoriasis usually only develops in people who already have another type of psoriasis.

Guttate psoriasis

In this form of psoriasis, small, scaly, inflamed spots of skin suddenly appear all over your body – their appearance is sometimes described as looking like rain droplets. It tends to affect children and young adults, often after a throat infection.

Symptoms of psoriasis

Psoriasis occurs in different forms, but you will usually have thickened, red patches of skin, which may have silver/white scales. The patches can vary in size and are clearly defined from the surrounding skin. Your skin may feel itchy, painful or sore. If you have mild symptoms, you may not be aware that you have psoriasis.

Some types of psoriasis can affect your scalp and cause redness and flaking. It can also affect your fingernails, which can become pitted, thickened or loosened from the nail bed.

If you have any of these symptoms, see a doctor.

Some people with psoriasis develop pain or stiffness in their joints, which may be a result of a condition called psoriatic arthritis. Usually the joints in your hands and feet are affected, although you may also get it in your back, knees and hips.

The exact reasons why you may develop psoriasis aren’t fully understood at present. It appears that your genes are the most important factor in causing the condition because you're more likely to get psoriasis if other people in your family have it. However, this doesn’t mean you will definitely get the condition.

Environmental factors also play an important role in triggering psoriasis. These include a bacterial throat infection, the effects of certain medicines or stress. For many people, there is no obvious cause.

The genetic and environmental triggers lead to immune cells in your skin setting off inflammation. This causes your skin to start producing new cells faster than usual, leading to psoriatic plaques. What makes your immune system act like this isn't clear.

Your doctor will ask about your symptoms and examine you. He or she will probably be able to diagnose psoriasis from your symptoms and by looking at your skin and nails. Your doctor may refer you to a dermatologist (a doctor who specialises in identifying and treating skin conditions) if a definite diagnosis can’t be made or if your psoriasis is:

  • extensive or severe
  • affecting your education or work
  • not responding to treatment

If you have generalised pustular psoriasis or erythrodermic psoriasis, you may need to go to hospital for urgent treatment.

Although there is no cure for psoriasis, there are a number of treatments that can help relieve your symptoms. Treatments vary in how effective they are for different people and you may need to try several before you find one that works for you.

Self-help

Your doctor may advise you to use emollients – creams or lotions that moisten, soften and soothe your skin. Having a warm bath may help to soften your psoriasis – your doctor may suggest adding bath oil.

Medicines

Topical treatments

These are treatments that you apply to your skin. Your doctor may prescribe you a medicated cream or ointment – the type and strength will depend on your psoriasis, but common treatments include the following.

  • Coal tar preparations can reduce inflammation and scaling, and are often used to treat psoriasis affecting your scalp. However, they can be smelly and messy.
  • Creams that contain dithranol can be very effective, but they are messy and can irritate healthy skin, so they aren’t often prescribed.
  • Steroid preparations are often used for localised psoriasis (for example, on your elbows or knees). You may be able to use stronger steroids on your palms and soles, or your scalp. Generally, steroid creams are only used short-term.
  • Vitamin D derivatives (such as calcipotriol or tacalcitol) can be easier to use than some of the other products, but may irritate your skin.
  • Vitamin A derivatives (retinoids) can be useful, but they are prone to causing skin irritation.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

Oral medicines

If topical treatments don't control your symptoms, or if your psoriasis is extensive, you may be prescribed medicines that you take as tablets, such as:

  • methotrexate
  • acitretin
  • ciclosporin
  • hydroxycarbamide

These medicines work by suppressing your immune system, or by slowing down the production of skin cells. They can have severe side-effects and need to be prescribed by a doctor.

Women will be warned not to become pregnant while taking these medicines and, in some circumstances, for some time afterwards. With some of the tablets, men will also be advised that they shouldn't get their partner pregnant. This is because these medicines can cause serious damage to an unborn baby.

Biological medicines are newer treatments for psoriasis that can be very effective, but tend to be restricted to people with severe psoriasis, or if other treatments haven’t worked. They are given as an injection into your skin, or through a drip into a vein in your arm. These medicines include:

  • etanercept
  • adalimumab
  • infliximab
  • ustekinumab

Your doctor can discuss these treatments with you. You will need to have various pre-treatment tests before you can try these medicines and you will be monitored with blood tests while you're receiving the treatment.

Always ask your doctor for advice and read the patient information leaflet that comes with your medicine.

Availability and use of medicines may vary from country to country.

Light therapy

Depending on the type and extent of your psoriasis, your doctor may recommend that you have ultraviolet (UV) light therapy.

You have the light therapy in a machine that looks similar to a shower cubicle, containing fluorescent tubes.

  • Ultraviolet B (UVB) light therapy involves shining artificial UVB light on to your skin. UVB light occurs naturally in sunlight. You will usually have the therapy two to three times a week for up to eight weeks.
  • Sometimes UVB light therapy is used in combination with topical treatments such as coal tar preparations. This combination may be effective at helping to control your symptoms by making your skin more sensitive to UVB light.
  • Psoralen and UVA light therapy (PUVA) involves combining a medicine (psoralen) that sensitises your skin to sunlight with a controlled dose of UVA light. You may have psoralen as a tablet or applied directly to your skin. You usually have the treatment twice a week for up to 10 weeks.

Availability and use of different treatments may vary from country to country. Ask your doctor for advice on your treatment options.

Sources

  • Psoriasis – an overview. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, published May 2012
  • Psoriasis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published June 2012
  • Psoriasis: signs and symptoms. American Academy of Dermatology. www.aad.org, accessed 13 June 2012
  • Guttate psoriasis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published May 2012
  • Psoriasis. DermNet NZ. www.dermnetnz.org, published May 2012
  • About psoriasis. The Psoriasis Association. www.psoriasis-association.org.uk, accessed 13 June 2012
  • Psoriasis. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published May 2010
  • Etanercept and efalizumab for the treatment of adults with psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006. www.nice.org.uk
  • Infliximab for the treatment of adults with psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Ustekinumab for the treatment of adults with moderate to severe psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Ultraviolet light therapy. The Psoriasis Association. www.psoriasis-association.org.uk, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Personal communication, Dr M Ardern-Jones, Consultant Dermatologist/Senior Lecturer, Sir Henry Wellcome Laboratories, Southampton General Hospital, June 2012
  • Psoriasis – a simple explanation. The Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance. www.papaa.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Frequently asked questions. The Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance. www.papaa.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Frequently asked questions: psoriasis in spring, summer, fall and winter. The National Psoriasis Foundation. www.psoriasis.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Ebetrex 10mg/ml solution for injection, pre-filled syringe. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published March 2012
  • Hydrea 500mg hard capsules. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published June 2012
  • Neoral soft gelatine capsules, Neoral oral solution. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published February 2012
  • Neotigason 10mg capsules. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published July 2011
  • Condoms (male and female): your guide. The Family Planning Association. www.fpa.org.uk, published March 2011
  • Sunbeds. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, accessed 15 June 2012
  • Exposure to artificial UV radiation and skin cancer. International Agency for Research on Cancer, 2006, Working Group Report 1. www.iarc.fr
  • What is skin camouflage? Skin Camouflage Network. www.skincamouflagenetwork.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2012
  • Find out about the skin camouflage team. Changing Faces. www.changingfaces.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2012

You might also like

Talk to us

Contact our health management consultant to get details and advice.

2517 5860

Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm

Simply fill in your details below and we will be in touch today or by the next working day. You may also call us directly.

立即投保

星期一至五9am – 6pm
2517 5860

客戶服務

每天24小時

牛皮癬

牛皮癬是常見的皮膚病,導致皮膚出現紅腫發炎斑塊。牛皮癬的嚴重程度因人而異,而且或會不時發作及消失。這種疾病不會傳染。

以下容由保柏健康資訊顧問團隊提供,一切料均根可靠而有醫學證明的料而編寫並經保柏的醫學顧問考,不能取代合格的醫護員給下之人建  

皮膚由多個皮層組成,最表層的老化細胞不斷脫落,由下層的新細胞更替。這個更新周期一般需時28日。牛皮癬患者的皮膚患處更新周期加快,最短可能縮至2至6天,新皮膚細胞尚未發育完全便移至表面,在皮膚形成厚塊(斑塊),此外皮下並會積聚一種名為T細胞的血細胞,引致發炎。

每100人當中約兩人患有牛皮癬,初次發病的年齡因人而異,但一般病例均為15至30歲的年青成人或50至60歲的中年人,男女患者數目相若。

牛皮癬會終生影響患者,很難完全根治,但病情往往有時候嚴重但有時候較緩和,原因不明。換言之,嚴重時患者可能會突然觸發徵狀,平時則難以察覺。

牛皮癬並非傳染疾病,不會從別人身上感染到,患者也不會把疾病傳給他人。

牛皮癬分為多種類型。

斑塊狀牛皮癬(Plaque Psoriasis)

斑塊狀牛皮癬是最常見的一類牛皮癬,患者皮膚出現粉紅或紅色鱗狀斑塊(突塊),膝及手肘最明顯。

屈側型牛皮癬(Flexural Psoriasis)

屈側型牛皮癬又稱逆向型牛皮癬,患處位於皮膚摺疊處,例如腋下及腹股溝,這些位置的皮膚較薄和敏感。屈側型牛皮癬會導致皮膚呈現鮮紅色的閃亮斑塊,或會輕微痕癢或不適。屈側型牛皮癬患者的身體其他部位可能同時出現斑塊。

膿皰型牛皮癬(Pustular Psoriasis)

膿皰型牛皮癬是罕見的嚴重牛皮癬,患者出現含膿的皮皰(膿皰),假如佈滿全身便稱為泛發性膿皰型牛皮癬(Generalised Pustular Psoriasis),嚴重者足以致命,患者一般須要住院。

紅皮型牛皮癬(Erythrodermic Psoriasis)

紅皮型牛皮癬是另一種罕見的嚴重牛皮癬,患者全身皮膚紅腫發炎,似被太陽曬傷。皮膚發炎或會引致多種嚴重併發症,患者一般須要入院治療。紅皮型牛皮癬通常只見於本身已患有另一種牛皮癬的患者。

滴狀牛皮癬(Guttate psoriasis)

滴狀牛皮癬會導致細小的鱗狀炎皰,突然佈滿全身,外貌像雨點。這種牛皮癬通常只見於兒童及年青成人,一般是喉部感染後觸發。

牛皮癬的徵狀

牛皮癬形態繁多,但患者的皮膚一般會厚化和出現銀/白鱗狀的紅色斑塊。斑塊的大小不盡相同,與周圍皮膚外貌明顯不同。此外皮膚並會感到痕癢或疼痛。徵狀輕微的患者或會不察覺患上牛皮癬。

某些類型的牛皮癬或會影響頭皮,令頭皮發紅及脫皮,此外亦可能影響指甲,導致出現坑紋、厚化或甲床剝離。

如有任何上述徵狀,應諮詢醫生。

部分牛皮癬患者會感覺關節疼痛或僵硬不適,造成牛皮癬關節炎(Psoriatic Arthritis)。一般只限於手部及足部,但亦有背部、膝部及髖關節受影響的病例。

醫學界對牛皮癬的具體成因尚未能確定,但相信遺傳基因是最大因素,因為家族成員有這種疾病的人士患牛皮癬風險較高。儘管如此,這類人士也不一定會患牛皮癬。

環境因素亦常會觸發牛皮癬,包括咽喉細菌感染、某些藥物或壓力等,但許多患者沒有特別的觸發因素。

遺傳基因和環境觸發因素會影響皮膚的免疫細胞造成發炎,使皮膚開始以異常快的速度製造新細胞,形成牛皮癬斑塊。究竟是甚麼緣故導致免疫系統如此,目前尚未清楚。

醫生會詢問患者徵狀並進行檢查,一般也可從徵狀和觀察皮膚及指甲診斷牛皮癬。如不能確診或牛皮癬屬下列情況,醫生可能轉介患者到皮膚專科醫生:

  • 範圍廣泛或情況嚴重
  • 影響學業或工作
  • 治療無效
泛發性膿皰型牛皮癬或紅皮型牛皮癬患者或須入院接受緊急治療。

牛皮癬雖然沒法根治,但卻有多種療法可以舒緩徵狀。這些治療的成效因人而異,有些患者可能須要嘗試多種方法才找到最適合的方案。

自我護療

醫生或會建議患者使用潤膚膏 — 即潤膚霜或潤膚液,這類產品可軟化及舒爽皮膚。此外沖溫水浴亦可軟化牛皮癬,醫生或會建議洗澡時添加浴油。

藥物

局部治療

 

患者可選用外塗的治療藥物。醫生可處方藥霜或軟膏,具體類型及藥效強度視乎牛皮癬種類而定。以下是常用的外用治療藥物:
  • 焦油劑可消炎及減少皮屑,常用於治療頭皮上的牛皮癬,但這類藥物或有難聞氣味,也容易弄髒衣物。
  • 含地蒽酚(Dithranol)的藥霜功效極佳,但容易弄髒衣物及刺激健康皮膚,所以醫生一般不會處方。
  • 類固醇劑常用於治療局部牛皮癬(例如手肘或膝蓋)。手掌及腳掌或頭皮患處或可使用強效配方。類固醇藥霜一般只宜短期塗用。
  • 維他命D衍生素(例如卡泊三醇(Calcipotriol)或他卡西醇(Tacalcitol))使用上比其他產品方便,但可能刺激皮膚。
  • 維他命A衍生素(視黃醇(Retinoids))亦可能有效,但容易導致皮膚刺激反應。
使用藥物前必須諮詢醫生意見,並詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明。

 

口服藥物

如局部治療沒法控制徵狀,或牛皮癬範圍廣泛,醫生或會處方口服藥片,例如:

  • 甲氨蝶呤(Methotrexate)
  • 阿維A(Acitretin)
  • 環孢素(Ciclosporin)
  • 羥基脲(Hydroxycarbamide)
這些藥物可抑制免疫系統,或緩和皮膚細胞更生速度,但卻有嚴重副作用,所以必須經醫生處方。

 

醫生會提醒女性患者服用這類藥物期間不要懷孕,有些情況下服藥後一段時間也不宜生育。部分藥片亦會影響男性,醫生會提醒患者服藥期間不要令配偶成孕,否則可能對胎兒造成嚴重損害。

生物藥物是較新興的牛皮癬治療方案,而且成效可能極佳,但卻一般限於嚴重牛皮癬患者,又或曾嘗試其他療法無效的患者。生物藥物是液劑,可用針筒注射或在臂部靜脈輸液。這類藥物包括:

  • 依那西普(Etanercept)
  • 阿達木單抗(Adalimumab)
  • 英夫利西單抗(Infliximab)
  • 優特克單抗(Ustekinumab)
醫生會與患者商談這些藥物治療方案,開始療程之前必須接受多次治療前檢測,治療期間還要定期驗血監察。

 

服藥前必須諮詢醫生意見,並詳閱藥物隨附的病人須知說明。

上述各種藥物是否可以使用或醫生會否使用因國家而異。

光效治療

醫生會視乎患者的牛皮癬類型及影響範圍,建議接受紫外光治療。

光效治療機像花灑浴間,內設多支光管。

  • UVB紫外線光效治療:用人工UVB紫外線照射皮膚。UVB紫外線存在於天然陽光,患者一般每星期治療兩至三次,為期最長8星期。
  • UVB紫外線光效治療亦可配合其他局部治療同時進行,例如使用焦油劑。這種混合局部治療的方法或可增強皮膚對UVB紫外光的敏感度,有助控制徵狀。
  • 補骨脂素(Psoralen)配合UVA紫外線光效治療:結合一種使皮膚對陽光更敏感的藥物(補骨脂素)與定量UVA紫外線治療。補骨脂素可採用藥片或直接塗於皮膚。治療通常每星期兩次,最長為期10星期。
上述各種治療方法是否可以進行或醫生會否使用因國家而異,請諮詢醫生有何治療方案可供選擇。

來源

  • Psoriasis – an overview. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, published May 2012
  • Psoriasis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published June 2012
  • Psoriasis: signs and symptoms. American Academy of Dermatology. www.aad.org, accessed 13 June 2012
  • Guttate psoriasis. eMedicine. www.emedicine.medscape.com, published May 2012
  • Psoriasis. DermNet NZ. www.dermnetnz.org, published May 2012
  • About psoriasis. The Psoriasis Association. www.psoriasis-association.org.uk, accessed 13 June 2012
  • Psoriasis. Prodigy. www.prodigy.clarity.co.uk, published May 2010
  • Etanercept and efalizumab for the treatment of adults with psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2006. www.nice.org.uk
  • Infliximab for the treatment of adults with psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2008. www.nice.org.uk
  • Ustekinumab for the treatment of adults with moderate to severe psoriasis. National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), 2010. www.nice.org.uk
  • Ultraviolet light therapy. The Psoriasis Association. www.psoriasis-association.org.uk, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Personal communication, Dr M Ardern-Jones, Consultant Dermatologist/Senior Lecturer, Sir Henry Wellcome Laboratories, Southampton General Hospital, June 2012
  • Psoriasis – a simple explanation. The Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance. www.papaa.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Frequently asked questions. The Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Alliance. www.papaa.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Frequently asked questions: psoriasis in spring, summer, fall and winter. The National Psoriasis Foundation. www.psoriasis.org, accessed 14 June 2012
  • Ebetrex 10mg/ml solution for injection, pre-filled syringe. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published March 2012
  • Hydrea 500mg hard capsules. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published June 2012
  • Neoral soft gelatine capsules, Neoral oral solution. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published February 2012
  • Neotigason 10mg capsules. electronic Medicines Compendium. www.medicines.org.uk, published July 2011
  • Condoms (male and female): your guide. The Family Planning Association. www.fpa.org.uk, published March 2011
  • Sunbeds. The British Association of Dermatologists. www.bad.org.uk, accessed 15 June 2012
  • Exposure to artificial UV radiation and skin cancer. International Agency for Research on Cancer, 2006, Working Group Report 1. www.iarc.fr
  • What is skin camouflage? Skin Camouflage Network. www.skincamouflagenetwork.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2012
  • Find out about the skin camouflage team. Changing Faces. www.changingfaces.org.uk, accessed 18 June 2012

相關文章

立即投保

致電我們的健康管理顧問,了解更多詳情及建議。

2517 5860

投保專線: 星期一至五9am–6pm

請留下聯絡資料,我們會於今天內或下個工作天聯絡您。您亦可直接致電我們。